Chapter 5: Working with objects. Smart Notebook
โฆษณา
โฆษณา
Chapter 5:
71
Chapter 5
Working with objects
Moving objects to another page
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
Grouping objects automatically
After creating an object, you can select it and work with it as described in this chapter.
N O T E
The tasks described in this chapter are for all objects, not just basic objects.
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Selecting objects
Before you can work with an object, you must select it. You can select an individual object, multiple objects or all objects on a page. When you select an object, a selection rectangle appears around it.
The green circle above the object is a rotation handle (see Rotating objects on page 84).
The downward arrow in the object’s upper-right-hand corner is a menu arrow. Press the menu arrow to display a menu of commands.
N O T E
Pressing an object’s menu arrow gives you access to the same menu as right-clicking the object.
g
To select an object
1. Press Select
.
2. Press the object that you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the object.
N O T E
If you press an object and a lock symbol appears instead of the menu arrow, the object is locked.Depending on the type of lock, you might have to unlock the object before you
can manipulate it (see Locking objects on page 79).
72
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To select multiple objects
1. Press Select .
2. Press the interactive screen and drag until a rectangle surrounds the objects you want to select.
OR
Hold down CTRL and then press the objects you want to select.
A selection rectangle appears around the selected objects.
N O T E
If you draw a rectangle around multiple objects and some of the objects are locked (see
Locking objects on page 79), you select only the unlocked objects.
g
To select all objects on a page
Select Edit > Select All.
A selection rectangle appears around all objects on the page.
N O T E
If some of the objects are locked (see Locking objects on page 79), you select only the
unlocked objects.
g
To select all locked objects on the page
Select Edit > Select All Locked Notes.
A selection rectangle appears around all locked objects on the page.
Changing objects’ properties
You can change an object’s properties. The properties that you can change depend on the object that you select. You can also select several objects and change their properties at the same time.
Changing the fill
You can change an object’s fill by selecting the object and then setting the fill in the Properties tab or by clicking Fill , setting the fill, and then selecting the object.
g
To change an object’s fill by first selecting the object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
73
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Press Fill Effects.
4. Select a fill style:
Fill style
None (transparent)
Solid colour
Gradient of two colours
Pattern
Picture
Procedure
o
Select No fill.
a. Select Solid fill.
b. Do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
a. Select Gradient fill.
b. For each colour, do one of the following: o
Select one of the 40 colours in the palette.
o o
Press More and then select a colour in the dialogue box.
Press the eyedropper and then select a colour on the screen.
c. Select an option in the Style drop-down list.
a. Select Pattern fill.
b. Select a pattern.
c. Press Foreground colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
d. Press Background colour, select a colour in the dialogue box and then press OK.
a. Select Image fill.
b. Press Browse.
c. Browse to and select the picture you want to use as a background and then press Open.
N O T E
If you insert a large picture, a dialogue box may appear and prompt you to either reduce the picture’s file size or retain the picture’s file size.For more information, see
Reducing file sizes on page 22.
d. Select Keep image size to keep the picture’s size, regardless of whether the picture is larger or smaller than the object.
OR
Select Scale image to fit to resize the picture to fit the object.
74
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
5. Optionally, drag the Object transparency slider to the right to make the object transparent.
T I P
You can also change an object’s properties using the property selectors on the toolbar.
g
To change an object’s fill by first pressing the Fill button
1. Press Fill and then select a colour.
2. Select the object.
3. Repeat step 2 for each object that you want to apply the fill to.
Filling digital ink drawings
In addition to filling shapes, regular polygons and irregular polygons, you can fill areas enclosed by digital ink using the Fill button.
75
N O T E S
l
To fill an area, you must enclose it with a single digital ink path.
l
l
When you fill an enclosed area, the fill becomes a separate object, which you can move away from the original enclosed area. You can fill the enclosed area and move the resulting fill object multiple times.
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Changing other properties
In addition to fill, you can change objects’ line style and text style.
g
To change an object’s line style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Line Style.
4. Change the object’s line style.
g
To change an object’s text style
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties
.
3. Press Text Style.
4. Change the object’s text style (see Formatting text on page 56).
Saving tool settings
When you select a tool in the toolbar, you can change its default settings using the Properties tab and then save your changes by clicking Save Tool Properties.
When you save your changes to a tool’s default settings, the tool’s button displays those changes:
To restore the default settings, see Customising the toolbar on page 143.
Positioning objects
You can change the position of an object by moving it to another area of the existing page or to another page. You can also align objects and change the order of stacked objects.
Moving objects
You can move objects to another position on the page. You can also flick objects.
N O T E
You’re unable to move an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
76
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
T I P
You can manipulate multiple objects by selecting them and then creating a group (see Grouping
g
To move an object or objects
1. Select the object or objects.
2. Drag the object or objects to a new position on the page.
T I P
You can move an object in small increments by pressing the arrow keys on your keyboard.
g
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file
1. Press the coloured bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
2. Drag the file to its new position.
g
To flick an object
1. Select the object.
2. Quickly flick your finger in any direction.
Moving objects to another page
You can move objects to another page in a file.
g
To move an object or objects to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Select the object or objects that you want to move.
4. Drag the object or objects into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page that you want to move the objects to.
77
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To move an Adobe Flash Player compatible file to another page
1. If the Page Sorter isn’t visible, press Page Sorter .
2. If you don’t see the page that you want to move the object to, scroll in the Page Sorter until you see the page’s thumbnail.
3. Press the coloured bar at the top of the Adobe Flash Player compatible file.
4. Drag the file into the Page Sorter above the thumbnail of the page that you want to move the object to.
Aligning objects
You can move objects to another location on a page (see Moving objects on page 76). If you
want, you can display guidelines on a page to assist you in aligning objects with other objects, as well as the page’s vertical and horizontal centres. You can also set objects to align automatically with these guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
g
To display guidelines
1. Select View > Alignment.
The Alignment dialogue box appears.
2. Select tickboxes to specify which guidelines you want to display:
Tickbox
Show guides for active objects
Show vertical page centre guide
Show horizontal page centre guide
Snap objects to guides
Select this tickbox to:
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with another object.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s vertical centre.
Display a guideline when you move an object into alignment with the page’s horizontal centre.
Automatically align objects to guidelines when you move the objects on a page.
3. If you want to change the colour of the guidelines, press the coloured bar to the left of
Guide Colour and then select a colour.
4. Press OK.
Rearranging stacked objects
If objects overlap on a page, you can rearrange the order of the stack (that is, you can control which objects appear in front of others).
g
To move an object to the front of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Bring to Front.
78
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To move an object to the back of the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Send to Back.
g
To move an object one place forward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Bring Forward.
g
To move an object one place backward in the stack
1. Select the object.
2. Select the object’s menu arrow and then select Order > Send Backward.
Locking objects
You can lock an object to prevent its modification, movement or rotation. Alternatively, you can lock an object but allow its movement or its movement and rotation.
You can remove this lock at any time.
g
To lock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Locking > Lock in Place.
You’re unable to move, rotate or modify the object until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To lock an object but allow its movement
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Locking > Allow Move.
You can move the object but you’re unable to rotate or modify it until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
79
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To lock an object but allow its movement and rotation
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Locking > Allow Move and Rotate.
You can move and rotate the object but you’re unable to modify it until you unlock it.
N O T E
If you press a locked object, a lock icon appears instead of a menu arrow.
g
To unlock an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s lock icon and then select Unlock.
Cutting, copying and pasting objects
You can cut, copy and paste objects, including text, pictures, straight lines, arcs and shapes in a
.notebook file.
T I P S
l
You can paste text from other programs into SMART Notebook software and cut text
from SMART Notebook software and paste it into other programs (see Cutting, copying
and pasting content from other programs on page 100 and Cutting or copying text on page 59).
l
You can create an exact copy of an object by cloning it (see Cloning objects on the next page).
g
To cut and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Cut.
3. If you want to paste the object onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste
.
g
To copy and paste an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Copy.
3. If you want to paste the item onto a different page, display that page.
4. Press Paste .
80
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Cloning objects
You can create a duplicate of an object by using the Clone command, or you can create multiple copies of an object using the Infinite Cloner command.
N O T E
You can also copy and paste objects, including text, images, straight lines, arcs and shapes
(see Cutting, copying and pasting objects on the previous page).
g
To clone an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Clone.
A duplicate object appears on the page.
g
To clone an object using the Infinite Cloner
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Infinite Cloner.
3. Select the object again.
An infinity symbol appears instead of the object’s menu arrow.
4. Drag the object to another position on the page.
5. Repeat step 4 as many times as you want.
6. When you have finished cloning the object, select the original object.
7. Press the infinity symbol and then clear the selection of Infinite Cloner.
Resizing objects
You can resize objects on a page by using the resize handle or the scaling gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
N O T E
You’re unable to resize an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
81
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Using the resize handle
g
To resize an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s resize handle (the grey circle) and then drag it to increase or reduce the object’s size.
N O T E
To keep the shape’s original height-to-width ratio, hold down SHIFT whilst you drag the resize handle.
g
To resize multiple objects
1. Group the objects (see Grouping objects on page 85) and then select the group.
A selection rectangle appears around the group.
2. Press the resize handle in the lower-right-hand corner of the selection rectangle.
3. Drag the resize handle to increase or reduce the size of the objects.
Using the scaling gesture
g
To resize an object from its centre
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
82
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
g
To resize an object from its corner or side
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at the corner or side that you want to resize the object from.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the object’s size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the object’s size.
g
To resize multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Drag your fingers in opposite directions to increase the objects’ size.
OR
Drag your fingers toward each other to decrease the objects’ size.
N O T E
The objects resize from their centres regardless of where you press the screen.
83
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Rotating objects
You can rotate objects on a page by using the rotation handle or the rotating gesture (if your interactive product supports multitouch gestures).
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to rotate an object if it’s locked in place (see Locking objects on page 79).
l
You’re unable to rotate tables.
Using the rotation handle
g
To rotate an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s rotation handle (the green circle), and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object.
g
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
A selection rectangle appears around each object.
2. Press the rotation handle (the green circle) on any one of the selected objects, and then drag it in the direction you want to rotate the object. When you rotate one object, all other selected objects rotate automatically.
Using the rotating gesture
g
To rotate an object around its centre
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of the object.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the centre of the object to rotate it.
84
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To rotate an object around a corner
1. Select the object.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen in the corner that you want to rotate the object around.
3. Move your fingers in a circle around the corner to rotate the object.
g
To rotate multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Using one finger on each hand, press the screen at opposite ends of one of the objects.
3. Move your fingers in a circle.
N O T E
The objects rotate around their centres regardless of where you press the screen.
Flipping objects
You can flip an object on a page.
N O T E
You’re unable to flip an object if it’s locked (see Locking objects on page 79).
g
To flip an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
g
To flip multiple objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow on any one of the selected objects and then select Flip > Up/Down or Flip > Left/Right.
Grouping objects
You can create a group of objects, which lets you interact with all grouped items at the same time. Once you have created a group, you can select, move, rotate or resize the group as if it were an individual object. However, if you want to interact with an individual object in a group, you must ungroup the objects first.
85
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Grouping objects manually
You can group and ungroup objects manually using the menu or the group gesture.
Using the menu
g
To group objects
1. Select the objects.
2. Press the menu arrow of any one of the selected objects and then select Grouping >
Group.
g
To ungroup objects
1. Select the group.
2. Press the group’s menu arrow and then select Grouping > Ungroup.
Using the group gesture
N O T E S
l
You’re unable to use the group gesture with a mouse.
l
The group gesture works only when you initially contact your interactive product’s surface.
g
To group objects
Quickly shake your finger over the objects three times.
g
To ungroup objects
Quickly shake your finger over the group three times.
86
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
Grouping objects automatically
If you write or draw multiple lines, SMART Notebook software combines the lines into a single object automatically.For example, if you write the letters of a word, SMART Notebook software combines the individual letters, enabling you to interact with the whole word. If you want to write words on the same line but don’t want them combined, leave a large gap between them, use different pens, or briefly put the pen in the pen tray before writing another word (interactive whiteboards only).
If SMART Notebook software combined lines that you want to manipulate individually, ungroup the lines as described above.
Adding links to objects
You can link any object on a page to a webpage, another page in the file, a file on your computer or an attachment. An attachment is a copy of a file, a shortcut to a file or a link to a webpage that you add to the Attachments tab.
N O T E
g
To add a link to a webpage
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Webpage and then type the web address in the Address box.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
g
To add a link to another page in the file
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Page in this File and then select an option in the Select a page area.
87
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
g
To add a link to a file on your computer
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press File on this Computer and then type the file’s location and name in the File box.
4. If you want to attach a copy of the file, select Copy of file.
OR
If you want to insert a shortcut to the file, select Shortcut to file.
5. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
6. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
g
To add a link to an attachment
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Current Attachments and then select the attachment in the list.
4. If you want to open the link by pressing an icon, select Corner icon.
OR
If you want to open the link by pressing anywhere in the object, select Object.
5. Press OK.
If you selected Corner icon the icon appears in the lower left-hand corner of the object.
88
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects g
To remove a link
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Link.
The Insert Link dialogue box appears.
3. Press Remove Link.
Adding sounds to objects
You can add a sound to any object (except Adobe Flash Player compatible files and widgets) by attaching a sound file or recording a sound using a computer microphone. You can play the sound during the lesson by pressing an icon in the corner of the object or the object itself.
N O T E
SMART Notebook software supports the MP3 audio format.If you want SMART Notebook
software to support other file types, you can install additional encoders (see Installing encoders
for additional formats on page 98).
g
To add a sound file to an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialogue box appears.
3. Press Browse.
The Insert File dialogue box appears.
4. Browse to and select the sound file and then press Open.
5. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower left-hand corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
6. Press Attach Sound.
g
To add a recorded sound to an object
1. Connect a microphone to your computer and turn it on.
2. Select the object.
3. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialogue box appears.
89
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
4. Click Start Recording.
5. Record the sound using the microphone.
I M P O R T A N T
SMART Notebook software stops recording after one minute. Therefore, ensure that the sound is no more than one minute long.
6. Click Stop Recording.
7. Type a name for the sound in the Recording name box.
8. Optionally, click Preview Recording to hear the sound before adding it to the object.
9. Select Corner Icon if you want to play the sound file when you press an icon in the object’s lower left-hand corner.
OR
Select Object if you want to play the sound file when you press anywhere on the object.
10. Press Attach Recording.
g
To remove a sound from an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Sound.
The Insert Sound dialogue box appears.
3. Press Remove Sound.
Animating objects
You can animate an object to fly onto a page from the side, spin, fade in, shrink and more. You can set the animation to start when you open a page or when you press the object.
g
To animate an object
1. Select the object.
2. If the Properties tab isn’t visible, press Properties .
3. Press Object Animation.
4. Select options in the Type, Direction, Speed, Occurs and Repeats drop-down lists.
Deleting objects
Although you can erase digital ink (see Erasing digital ink on page 51), you’re unable to erase
some types of objects, including text, shapes, straight lines, arcs and pictures. To remove these types of objects from a page, you must delete them.
90
C H A P T E R 5
Working with objects
N O T E
You’re unable to delete locked objects (see Locking objects on page 79). To delete a locked
object from a page, you must unlock it.
g
To delete an object
1. Select the object.
2. Press the object’s menu arrow and then select Delete.
91
ดาวน์โหลด
โฆษณา