Device Debug User Interface. MICROCHIP FlashPro4
Publicité
Publicité
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Device Debug User Interface
Inspect Device Dialog Box
information on how to configure the FlashPro to get access to this feature.
The Inspect Device dialog box enables you to access all the Device Debug features, such as the FlashROM,
Embedded Flash Memory (NVM) and Analog Block. If you have multiple devices and programmers connected, choose your target device/programmer from the dropdown menu and use the ID code to verify that you are inspecting the correct device.
of your device state, analog block test values, user information, factory data and security information. Use this dialog box to save or print your information for future reference.
the channel configuration for your analog block and compare the channel configuration with any other analog block file.
View Flash Memory Content - Opens the Flash Memory dialog box . This dialog box enables you to view
the details for each flash memory block in your device.
blocks in your FlashROM and the client partitions in FlashROM configuration files.
Figure 164 · Inspect Device Dialog Box
Device Status Report
This dialog box displays the Device Information report. The Device Information report is a complete summary of your device state, analog block test values, user information, factory serial number and security
258 FlashPro User's Guide
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Analog Block Configuration Dialog Box (SmartFusion and Fusion Only)
Figure 165 · Device Status Report
Analog Block Configuration Dialog Box (SmartFusion and Fusion
Only)
Enables you to:
• View the channel configuration on your analog system, identify if/how the channels are configured.
• Compare with the design configuration from the Analog System Builder for Fusion and SmartDesign
MSS Configurator for SmartFusion
The values displayed for each channel vary depending on the device family and channel you select; the
Channel configuration register read from the ACM is shown for each analog channel. Individual, decoded bit fields of the register are listed immediately beneath (as described in Fusion and SmartFusion handbook).
The dialog box may display the following values:
Fusion Device
• Analog MUX select
• Internal chip T monitor
FlashPro User's Guide 259
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
• Scaling factor control
• Current monitor switch
• Current monitor drive control
• Direct analog input switch
• Pad polarity - G, T, V, C pad polarity, positive or negative
• Select low/high drive
• Prescaler op amp mode
SmartFusion Device
• Gain select
• Channel state
• Direct Input state
• Current Monitor state
• Current monitor strobe state
• Comparator state
• Hysteresis select
• Analog MUX select
• DAC input select
• Temperature monitor state
• Temperature monitor strobe state
• Vref switch state
To use the compare feature, select the Compare with checkbox. If the loaded PDB file contains Analog
Block configuration information the comparison appear automatically.
To use a specific Project File, click Browse and navigate to the Analog System Builder directory for for
Fusion or SmartDesign for SmartFusion. In a typical IDE project, this directory is located at:
• Fusion - <project_root>/smartgen/<analog_block_core_name>
• SmartFusion - <project root>/component/work/<SmartDesign project>/MSS_ACE_0
After specifying the compare directory the differences (if any) are indicated in red on a channel by channel basis, as shown in the figure below.
260 FlashPro User's Guide
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Embedded Flash Memory (NVM) Content
Figure 166 · Analog Block Configuration Dialog Box for a Fusion Device (Differences in Red)
Embedded Flash Memory (NVM) Content
The NVM content dialog is divided into two sections. The top section shows the data that is retrieved from the PDB that you specified. The bottom section shows the data that is retrieved from the actual device. The
View Flash Memory Content diagnostic enables you to:
•
View content of Flash Memory pages (as shown in the figure below)
•
Compare device content with original design content (requires a PDB that contains your EFC data)
year retention threshold
Fusion Devices: Choose your block from the From block dropdown list This action populates the Select dropdown list with the names of the clients in the selected block that is configured in the Flash Memory
System Builder.
SmartFusion Devices: Block selection is unused and unavailable.
Choose a client name from the Select dropdown list and click Read from Device to view the values. You can also view a specific page range by selecting the <Page Range> option in the Select dropdown list and then specifying the start page and the end page.
You must click Read from device each time you specify a new page range to update the view.
If you do not have your original design programming database (PDB) file, then you can also examine and retrieve a range of pages. Specify a page range if you wish to examine a specific set of pages.
FlashPro User's Guide 261
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Figure 167 · Flash Memory Dialog Box for a SmartFusion Device (Device Debug)
Embedded Flash Memory: Browse Retrieved Data
The retrieved data table displays the content of the selected client or the page range selection. Corrupted pages content is displayed in red. Read-only page content, corresponding to clients defined with the Prevent read option in Flash Memory System Builder, is displayed on gray background. If content cannot be read
(e.g. pages are read-protected, but security has been erased), it is displayed as XX. The mouse tooltip summarizes abnormal content status (as shown in the figure below).
The corresponding page number and address (relative to the current block) are displayed in the left column.
The client size specified in the Flash Memory System Builder is shown at the top of the content table.
In the Retrieved Data View you can enter an Address value (such as 0010) in the Go to Address field and click the corresponding button to go directly to that address.
Click View Detailed Status for a detailed report on the page range you have selected.
For example, if you want to view a report on pages 1-3, set the Start Page to 1, End Page to 3 and click
Read from Device, then click View Detailed Status; the figure below is an example of the data for a specific page range.
262 FlashPro User's Guide
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Embedded Flash Memory: Browse Retrieved Data
Figure 168 · Flash Memory Details Dialog Box (Device Debug)
FlashPro User's Guide
Figure 169 · Flash Memory Browse Retrieved Data
263
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Embedded Flash Memory: Compare Memory Client
After you retrieve the data from the device, the Compare Client Content button enables you to compare the content of the selected client from the device with the original programming database (PDB) file. The differences are shown in the Compare Memory Client dialog (as shown in the figure below).
NOTE: This option is not available when you select to retrieve the data based on a page range.
Figure 170 · Compare Memory Client Dialog Box
FlashROM Content Dialog Box
Enables you to view the physical blocks in your FlashROM and the client partitions specified in the original design content (requires a PDB that contains your UFC data). If the project’s PDB does not contain UFC data, only the physical blocks are displayed.
Scroll through the table to view the Words and Pages for your physical blocks.
The Client Partitions section lists the names and configuration details of the clients set up in the FlashROM
Builder. It automatically finds all mismatched client regions. To view the differences between a client and the device content, select a region row in the Client Partitions table. This action will highlight the corresponding device content in the Physical Blocks table. The mismatch details are displayed below the Client Partitions table.
To copy to clipboard the content of the Physical Blocks table, select one or more cells in the table and type
Ctrl+C.
264 FlashPro User's Guide
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Device Debug Tcl Commands
Figure 171 · FlashROM Content Dialog Box
Device Debug Tcl Commands
The following table lists the Tcl commands related to Device Debug. Click the command to view more information.
Table 43 · Device Debug Tcl Commands
Command Action Type
Performs diagnostics of the page status and data information
Embedded
Flash
Memory
(NVM)
Compares the content of the analog block Analog Block
FlashPro User's Guide 265
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Command Action configurations in your design against the actual values in the device.
Compares the content of the FlashROM configurations in your design against the actual values in the selected device.
Type
FlashROM
Compares the memory client in a specific device and block
Embedded
Flash
Memory
(NVM)
Reads each channel configuration on your analog system, enabling you to identify if/how each channel is configured.
Analog Block
Displays a summary of the selected device
Reads the content of the FlashROM from the selected device
FlashROM
Reads information from the NVM modules
(page status and page data)
Embedded
Flash
Memory
(NVM)
read_id_code recover_flash_memory
Reads IDCode from the device without masking any IDCode fields
Removes ECC2 errors due to memory corruption by reprogramming specified flash memory (NVM) pages and initializing all pages to zeros.
Embedded
Flash
Memory
(NVM)
Samples analog channel; enables you to debug ADC conversion of the preconfigured analog channel (you must provide ADC conversion parameters )
Identifies the device you intend to debug.
Identifies the programmer you want to use for debugging (if you have more than one).
SmartDebug for SmartFusion2, IGLOO2, and RTG4
SmartDebug for SmartFusion2, IGLOO2, and RTG4 supports probe capabilities in the device architecture and device debug features for memory.
To open SmartDebug, in the Design Flow window expand Debug Design and double-click SmartDebug
Design (as shown in the figure below).
266 FlashPro User's Guide
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
SmartDebug for SmartFusion2, IGLOO2, and RTG4
Figure 172 · Debug FPGA Array Dialog Box
The SmartDebug application appears and lists your Device, the ID Code read from your device, and your
Programmer.
Figure 173 · SmartDebug Dialog Box
SmartDebug enables you to:
View Device Status – Displays the Device Summary Report. It is a summary of your device state, user information, factory serial number and security information. Use this dialog box to save or print your information for future reference.
View Flash Memory Content - Use this information to view, save or print the flash memory content in your design.
FlashPro User's Guide 267
NOTE: Links and cross-references in this PDF file may point to external files and generate an error when clicked. View the online help included with software to enable all linked content.
Debug FPGA Array – SmartFusion2, IGLOO2, and RTG4 devices have built in probe points that greatly enhance the ability to debug logic elements within the device. The enhanced debug features implemented into the devices give access to any logic element and enable designers to check the state of inputs and outputs in real time. Live Probe and Active Probe are only available for the SmartFusion2, IGLOO2, and
RTG4 families.
Live Probe , dedicated probes (two for SmartFusion2/IGLOO2 and one for RTG4) can be
configured to observe a Probe Point (any input or output of a logic element). The probe data can then be sent to an oscilloscope or even redirected back to the FPGA Fabric to drive a software logic analyzer.
•
Active Probe allows dynamic asynchronous read and write to a flip-flop or probe point. This enables
you to quickly observe the output of the logic internally or to quickly experiment on how the logic will be affected by writing to a probe point.
•
Memory debug lets you perform dynamic asynchronous reads and writes to a micro SRAM or large
SRAM block so you can quickly verify if the content of the memory is changing as expected.
•
through unused I/Os. You can attach an oscilloscope/logic analyzer to monitor them as live signals.
Debug SERDES - Enables you to examine and debug the SERDES blocks in your design. You can
File Menu
The File Menu lets you execute SmartDebug-specific Tcl scripts (File > Execute Script) and export
SmartDebug-specific commands to a script file (File > Export Script File). You may pass the Tcl script to
SmartDebug for batch-mode execution from Libero. Refer to run_tool (SmartFusion2, IGLOO2 and RTG4) for details.
View Log
SmartDebug displays the Log Window by default when it is invoked. To suppress the Log window display, select the View menu and toggle View Log.
The Log Windows contains four tabs:
• Message window – displays standard output messages
• Errors window – displays error messages
• Warnings windows – displays warning messages
• Info window – displays general information
Using SmartDebug with SmartFusion2 and IGLOO2
The most common flow for Device Debug is:
1. Create your design . You must have a FlashPro programmer connected in order to use SmartDebug.
2. Expand Debug Design and double-click Smart Debug Design in the Design Flow window.
SmartDebug opens for your target device.
3. Click View Device Status to view the device status report and check for issues.
4. Examine individual silicon features, such as FPGA debug.
Device Status Report - SmartFusion2 and IGLOO2
This dialog box displays the Device Information report. The Device Information report is a summary of your device state, user information, factory serial number and security information. Use this dialog box to save or print your information for future reference.
268 FlashPro User's Guide
Télécharger
Publicité