About InDesign Program Versions. Adobe 65023809 - Creative Suite 4 Master Collection, Creative Suite 4
ಜಾಹಿರಾತು
ಜಾಹಿರಾತು
You can also check “All Spots to Process” to output all spot inks as process. This is a nondestructive option: the spot inks are not actually redefined as process colors, but print and export as process builds (all conversions and ink alias operations performed in the Ink Manager are nondestructive). Caution: if there are several different definitions of what should be one spot color, outputting the colors as CMYK may result in inconsistent color, even if you’ve mapped all the extra spot colors to one ink. If this is the situation, the best way to achieve color consistency is to edit all objects and placed artwork to use one spot color or one consistent CMYK recipe. This may require that you edit placed artwork in the original applications, such as Photoshop and
Illustrator, to achieve consistent color.
About InDesign Program Versions
InDesign CS4 can open a file created in any previous version of the program, with certain considerations. For example, in some environments, customers may request that the printer return final versions of files, reflecting any corrections requested by the customer or performed by the printer to facilitate imaging. If you haven’t updated all of your workstations to CS4, beware of attempting to work on customer files with an older version of InDesign. While it’s possible to export a file from InDesign CS4 as an InDesign Interchange file, opening that file in InDesign
CS3 may result in some content being modified—or lost. Some content, such as Conditional Text, doesn’t exist in CS3; hidden conditional content will be deleted when an Interchange file from
CS4 is opened in InDesign CS3. All of the conditional attributes will be lost if the file is opened in
InDesign CS3, resaved, then reopened in InDesign CS4. Thus, file fidelity will be lost in attempting to “round-trip” such files. Consequently, it’s best to keep InDesign files in their original version throughout the life of the job.
Cross-platform issues
While InDesign files and popular graphics formats originating on a PC can be opened on a Mac
(and vice versa), fonts can still be an issue. Windows-format TrueType fonts can be used under
Macintosh OS X, and OpenType fonts are fully cross-platform. PostScript Type 1 fonts, however, are platform-specific. Attempting to replace a font with what seems to be the cross-platform equivalent can easily result in a changed appearance, or worse, text reflow. Using a font-conversion utility to convert a PC font to a Mac font (or vice versa) may result in a font with changed font metrics, which may result in text reflow. Additionally, you may find that the End User
License Agreement (EULA) for the font forbids such conversions. It is strongly recommended that you keep files on their original platform unless you’ve determined that OpenType fonts are used throughout the job.
Managing missing fonts
When you open an InDesign file that’s missing fonts, the Missing Fonts alert lists those fonts needed by InDesign that are not available. Note, however, that this initial list does not reference any fonts needed by placed graphics. Clicking the Find Font button takes you to the Find Font dialog box, in which all fonts required by the document itself are listed, as well as fonts needed by placed art (indicated by an icon). Click the Find First button to navigate to the first use of the font in the document. (The Find Font dialog box is available at any time by choosing Type > Find Font.)
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 20
Missing Fonts Alert
When you open an InDesign file that uses fonts currently unavailable on the system, you’re presented with an alert listing the missing fonts .
However, only fonts used by InDesign are listed: fonts used in support artwork are not listed here .
Using the Find Font feature
InDesign’s Find Font feature lists fonts used by InDesign, as well as any fonts used by placed graphics . Here, the font Balloon is used by a placed Illustrator file, but is not available on the system . (Illustrator embeds fonts with suitable permissions, but won’t embed fonts whose vendors disallow embedding .)
To replace a needed font in the Find Font dialog box, select the font name in the top window of the dialog box, and then choose a replacement font family and style in the Replace With fields.
Replacing fonts does not, by default, change style definitions. To do that, check the Redefine Style option. Keep in mind that replacing fonts will change the appearance of text and possibly cause reflow. It’s preferable to use the correct fonts originally specified by the designer, unless you have been given permission to replace fonts.
While you can designate replacement fonts for text created in InDesign, you cannot replace fonts in placed graphics; for that, you’ll have to open the artwork in the originating application and make the change, resave, and update in InDesign. Again, consult the file’s creator to obtain the correct font, or permission to substitute an available font.
When you preflight a file in InDesign, the application checks for fonts needed by placed artwork and reports any missing fonts. When you package a file, InDesign gathers up all necessary fonts—including those required by (but not embedded in) placed artwork, provided that all required fonts are active on the system.
“Missing Font” messages
A common cause of missing font messages is moving a file from one platform to another. Even if you’ve deemed this safe because only OpenType fonts are used in the file, you may be surprised by InDesign’s insistence that it’s missing the font Times. This is because the InDesign default paragraph style, Basic Paragraph, uses a platform-specific version of Times. It’s likely that the
“missing” font is used in a miscellaneous space or paragraph return. You can either manually change each instance (being careful to determine that this won’t alter the appearance of text), or you can change the definition of the Basic Paragraph style. Double-click the style named [Basic
Paragraph] and change its Basic Character Formats to use a font that is available on your system.
Note, however, that if you perform this change and return the file to your customers, they’ll face the same issue when they reopen the file on their own platform.
Cross-Platform—Missing Times message
Because the Basic Paragraph style on a PC uses Times
Roman,and the Basic Paragraph style on Mac OS uses
Times Regular, this message may appear when you open a InDesign Mac document on a PC (left), or a PC
InDesign document on the Mac (right) .
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 21
Fixing the Missing Times Problem
Double-click the [Basic Paragraph] style in the Paragraph Styles panel, select Basic Character Formats in the left column, and change the font family to a version of Times active on your system (usually the TrueType version on a Mac) .
If there’s no result when you click the “Find First” button—that is, if InDesign doesn’t take you to a spot in the document and highlight the text that uses the missing font—check paragraph styles and character styles. If there’s no visible evidence of text needing the font, there will probably be no problems with output. However, if you suspect that the phantom font is a symptom of a corrupt file, try exporting the file to InDesign Interchange to clean it up:
1. Choose File > Export, and choose InDesign CS3 Interchange (INX) as the format. A file with the extension .inx is created.
2. Close the current document.
3. Go to File > Open and navigate to the InDesign Interchange (.inx) file.
4. Examine the file to ensure that no unwanted alterations have taken place; then choose Type >
Find Font to see if the phantom font is gone.
5. If all is well, choose File > Save As and save the file with a new name, indicating that it’s derived from your customer’s original file but is a revised version.
Note: Exporting to InDesign Interchange is primarily intended for sharing files with users of
InDesign CS3, but it is also a valuable method for dealing with a file that has developed internal corruption. The process of exporting to InDesign Interchange can often solve problems with files, such as spurious missing font messages and unnecessary swatches that cannot be removed.
Improvements and Enhancements to the Links Panel
In addition to providing new methods for locating, updating, and relinking graphics used in an
InDesign file, the Links panel has been greatly enhanced in CS4 to provide detailed information about linked and embedded graphics. Common functions, such as relinking graphics, are also easier to perform with the new interface.
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 22
Category columns
A
B
Links Panel main window
C
D
E
Link Info window
Links Panel Enhancements
Sort the Links panel by file name, status, page, and more, by clicking the sorting icons at the top . Display the
Link Info window section of the Links panel by clicking the disclosure triangle
(circled) . Customize display options by choosing Panel Options from the Links panel menu .
A.
“One or more instances modified” icon B.
Modified icon C.
Missing-link icon
D. Embedded-link icon E.
Show/Hide Link Information
Enhancements to the Links Panel include:
• Links Panel main window: Thumbnails are displayed for each link, making it easy to quickly identify graphics in the Links list. The links list can be sorted by file name, page, status, and more, by clicking on the column header icons at the top of the
Links panel.
Graphics placed multiple times in a document are now displayed as single entries, with a disclosure triangle by the file name to allow you to view all instances of the graphic.
The Modified icon for multiple instances of a graphic is different from the Modified icon for a single placed file, making it obvious that some — but not all — instances have been modified.
For graphics not placed on a document page, the Links panel also displays PB for items on the pasteboard, a Master page identifier (such as A for a graphic on the A
Master spread), OV for a graphic anchored in overset text, and HT for a graphic anchored in hidden Conditional text.
• Link Info window (an expansion to the Links panel) : Click the disclosure triangle at the bottom of the Links panel to display extensive information about a selected link, including scale factor, dimensions, effective ppi, and much more. This feature replaces the Link Information option formerly available through the Links panel menu, and provides much more information than the previous feature.
• Panel Options: Available through the Links panel menu, Panel Options include row size, thumbnails, and controls for displaying an extensive list of information for each link. The options allow you to customize the information displayed in the
Links panel. You can choose whether to have the selected information displayed in a column in the main Links panel window, or as a listed item in the Link Info window below. These options govern what is displayed in the Links Panel, as well as the Link info window that is part of the Links panel. If you add multiple new options under
Show Column, you will have to widen the display of the Links panel to view all the columns. By default, the most commonly needed options are displayed in columns in the main window of the Links panel, and the remainder are displayed in a list in the Info panel.
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 23
Links Panel Options
Choose which information is displayed in the Links panel, as well as the Link Info window (part of the Links panel) . Note that the more options you select in Show
Column, the wider the Links panel can become . You can sort the Links list by the icon at the top of any column . Readilyavailable information on color space,
ICC profiles, effective resolution, scaling, rotation, and transparency can speed your evaluation and troubleshooting for customer files .
• Utilities: Available through the Links panel menu, Utilities include Copy Links To
(which copies selected links to a designated folder) and options for copying the full directory path of a selected link.
• Other features: The Links panel menu offers options to Edit Original, Reveal in
Finder or Reveal in Bridge, and to embed or unembed graphics.
Managing links and relinking imported files
If your client has used the InDesign Package feature to organize and submit files, and you haven’t altered the directory structure of the submitted folders or renamed any of the support files, all graphic links should be current. If, however, you have moved the support files, renamed the
Links folder created during the Package process, or renamed the files themselves, you will have to refresh the links to support files.
To update modified links, select one of the links in the Links panel which displays a yellow triangle alert (indicating it has been modified). Then, from the Links panel menu, choose Update
All Links. All modified links will then be updated.
Missing Graphics
Missing and Modified Graphics
The red stop signs indicate links that are missing—they’ve been moved or renamed . The yellow triangle indicates a file that has been modifed since the InDesign file was last opened .
Modified
Graphic
To link to missing files, select the name of one missing graphic in the Links panel (Window >
Links), click the Relink button on the bottom of the panel ( ), and navigate to the first of the missing files, and relink. If all missing files are stored in the same directory (and have not been renamed), all of them will be updated automatically. If the files are distributed over several directories, you’ll have to relink to one file in each directory; the remaining files in the directories will be updated automatically.
If all links are current, but you wish to relink to different graphics with the same file names (for example, high-resolution versions of the currently linked low-resolution files), you can quickly relink to a folder containing the replacement graphics. Select the names of all the missing links in the Links panel, and then choose Relink to Folder from the Links panel menu. Navigate to the folder containing the correct files , and click the Choose button.
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 24
Relink to Folder
To quickly relink graphics to graphics with the same name, but in a different folder
(for example, to substitute high-resolution images for low-resolution images), select the link names and choose Relink to Folder from the Links panel menu .
If you need to link to a different file format with essentially the same name but a different extension (for example, Image.
eps rather than Image.
tif ), Relink to Folder contains an additional, helpful option.
Relinking to Other File Types
The Relink to Folder dialog includes an option to retain the original filename, but change the extension .
By the way, you can use this option to relink to files whose names you’ve modified with added text: for example, if your original graphics were named with the convention Image.eps
, but the revised graphics are named with an added “.r1” to indication a first-round revision (e.g.,
Image.r1.eps
), you can set the Relink to Folder operation to link to graphics with an “r1.eps” extension. Note that you must use a dot separator in the name as in this example; other separators, such as an underscore or dash, will not be recognized by the Relink to Folder option for matching extensions (don’t enter the first dot in the Match same filename field; InDesign assumes that there is an initial dot).
If files have been completely renamed, you’ll have to manually relink to those files one by one, since InDesign cannot automatically recognize them as replacements.
Replacing FPO (For Position Only) images
If you’re using an OPI (Open Prepress Interface) workflow that swaps low-resolution images for high-resolution images, and the high-resolution images have the same names as the lowresolution images used by the designer, you can use the Relink to Folder method to link to the replacement files. Your OPI system vendor may also offer a plug-in for InDesign that facilitates this for you.
But if you are replacing low-resolution FPO images scanned by the customer with high-resolution scans created in your shop, relinking won’t achieve the desired result, because the low-resolution images are not derived from your high-resolution scans. InDesign retains any transformations (such as cropping, rotation, and scaling) when relinking, but if your scans are not identical in origin or dimensions to the designer’s desktop scans, the position and scale of the images will likely be incorrect.
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 25
Updating customer's low-resolution FPO image
Using the customer’s placed low-resolution image as a guide (left), size and scan the artwork (center) . But if you simply relink to your high-resolution image, any transforms are also applied to the new image when it is imported (far right) . Position, scale, and rotation are incorrect as a result .
Here, the customer enlarged the image and rotated it slightly clockwise, and the transparency has been scanned to match . Placing the high-resolution scan in the same frame maintains those transformations, resulting in an oversized, rotated image . It will be necessary to manually remove the rotation and scaling, and reposition the image to match the customer’s art .
Consequently, you must manually position your scan to match the scale, crop, and position of the customer’s FPO scan. Here’s an easy method for accomplishing this:
1. Create a new frame containing your high-resolution scan (or place the image in the page and allow it to create its own frame).
2. Set the frame’s opacity to 50%.
3. Position the frame over the one containing the customer’s FPO image.
4. Rotate, reposition, and scale the frame until its content lines up with the customer’s image. The
Free Transform tool ( ) makes this easy.
5. Once the high-resolution image matches the FPO image, select the high-resolution image with the Direct Selection tool, and copy the image to the clipboard.
6. Switch to the Selection tool and delete the frame, leaving the original customer frame in position.
7. Select the customer frame (you don’t have to delete the image) and choose Edit > Paste Into.
InDesign replaces the customer’s FPO image with your high-resolution scan.
Embedded artwork
Support artwork is usually linked in InDesign files. However, you may find that a customer has embedded artwork in the file rather than linking to it, and has not supplied a copy of the original graphic. (To embed an image, select it, and then choose Embed File from the Links panel menu.) When you preflight a file that contains embedded graphics, the original graphic name is represented by “(Embedded)”, but the graphic’s page and type are still listed. The Links panel, however, lists the graphic’s original name. While embedding usually doesn’t cause problems in imaging, it increases the file size of the InDesign document, and it makes it more challenging to edit the artwork. The artwork must be unembedded in order to be edited in an external application such as Photoshop or Illustrator.
Select the name of the link in the Links panel, and choose Unembed File from the panel menu.
You’ll be asked if you want to link to the original file; click No (because you don’t have the original file) and navigate to the folder where you’d like to save the unembedded file. InDesign extracts the embedded art, saves an external file with the correct name, and updates the link to the newly created file. You can now edit the graphic as necessary. Note that the result is identical to the original placed graphic before embedding—there is no change in resolution or color space.
It’s simply been extracted from the InDesign file and saved to disk.
Embedded Images
An icon indicates that a graphic is embedded in the
InDesign file (left) . To edit the graphic, you must first unembed it and save it as an external file . Select the link in the panel, and choose Unembed File from the panel menu . Click No in the dialog box that appears (right) .
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 26
Copied and pasted artwork
Vector artwork that shows no entry in the Links panel has likely been copied and pasted from
Illustrator. This should present no problem during imaging. Pasting content from Illustrator offers the advantage of being completely editable within InDesign, but it has no relationship with the original Illustrator file. The artwork is now part of the InDesign file, independent of the
Illustrator file from which it was copied, as if it had been drawn in InDesign. Thus, editing the original file in Illustrator does not change the InDesign file.
Image content copied and pasted from Photoshop, however, presents some problems. Even if the original image was CMYK, the copied content is RGB. There is no link to the original file, and thus no editability and no way of determining the file name of the original file. Essentially, it’s a screen shot.
If possible, obtain the original Photoshop image from the file creator and place, rather than copy and paste, it in the InDesign file. If you cannot obtain the original image, select the image
(or frame) in InDesign, and copy to the clipboard. Launch Photoshop and create a new, empty file (File > New). Accept the size Photoshop indicates—it’s based on the dimensions of the image content you copied to the clipboard. Paste the image; in Photoshop CS4, it becomes a
Vector Smart Object. Press Return or Enter after pasting. Then, choose Layer > Smart Objects >
Rasterize. Perform the desired edits, change color space if necessary, and save the file. To update the InDesign file with the new file, select the frame containing the pasted image, choose File >
Place, and navigate to the saved image you created. Above all, advise your customer not to copy and paste from Photoshop in the future. While Photoshop and InDesign allow it, it’s not a good production practice.
Determining image resolution and color space
To check the resolution and color space of an individual image, select it and consult the Info panel (Window > Info). However, not all formats can be determined in this manner: while the
Info panel displays information for TIFF, JPEG, PSD, and Photoshop EPS files, it cannot display information about PDFs or Illustrator AI or EPS files containing images. Pay special attention to the Actual ppi (pixels per inch) and Effective ppi values: Actual ppi describes the original resolution of the image as it was saved from Photoshop; Effective ppi describes the resolution of the image as it is used in InDesign. For example, a 300 ppi image that has been scaled at 200% in
InDesign would have an Actual ppi of 300 x 300, and an Effective ppi of 150 x 150. This information is useful in determining if an image has been scaled beyond a desired resolution.
Using the Info Panel
Selected images (PSD, TIFF, EPS, and JPEG) display their resolution and color space in the Info panel .
Layer overrides to placed files
The Layer Overrides (Object > Object Layer Options) in InDesign allow a designer to control the display of layers in Photoshop, Illustrator, or PDF files from within InDesign CS4. A designer can even apply different layer visibility overrides to different instances of the same source file. Wise use of this technique can reduce the number of images that need to be tracked, transported, and managed, while also giving designers new flexibility and simplified file management. Applying layer overrides does not alter the original layered file; it only affects how the file displays in
InDesign; files with layer overrides output as they appear on screen. Graphics governed by Object
Layer are indicated in the Links panel with a “Yes” in the Layer Overrides column, followed by a number indicating how many layers are affected.
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 27
Object Layer Options
Layered graphics whose appearance is affected by Object Layer Options are indicated by a
“Yes” in the Layer Overrides column . A number in parentheses indicates how many layers are affected .
When performing any edits in Photoshop to a file using Layer Overrides, be mindful that your actions may affect multiple instances of the image. Don’t delete any layers during edits—they may be needed in some instances of the image. Don’t flatten the original source files for images affected by layer overrides. If your shop has historically advised flattening Photoshop layered files placed in InDesign, be sure to advise customers and staff not to flatten when layer overrides are used.
Maintain the layer names, stacking order, and layer comp definitions in each layered source file unless you need to alter the file. When these layering attributes are altered in the original file after layer overrides are applied in InDesign, the link becomes invalid in InDesign and the appearance of the file may change when the link is updated. This does not create an output issue if the resulting changes in appearance are intentional. The Layer Options dialog box offers the choice of honoring InDesign’s overrides when updating a graphic or “starting over” with the saved file’s layer visibility settings. Even if you choose to honor InDesign’s overrides when updating, any new layers you’ve added will automatically be visible.
Raster-based Photoshop DCS and EPS files
Desktop Color Separation (DCS) files may still be used by some customers who need to include spot color plates in their color images. Because DCS files are pre-separated, it can be a challenge to integrate them into some prepress workflows. InDesign CS4 automatically merges DCS 2.0 files created from Adobe Photoshop during printing or export, so it’s easier to reuse legacy files.
These enhancements are made possible because InDesign reads Photoshop DCS and EPS files as images. Reading these file types as images yields another benefit: Photoshop EPS files can be color-managed if an ICC profile was embedded.
For an EPS or DCS file to benefit from these enhancements in Adobe InDesign CS4, the file must meet the following requirements:
• The file must be created by Photoshop.
• The file must be an 8-bit file. The CMYK, RGB, and gray color models are supported.
It can include spot colors, and it can be a multitone file (such as a duotone).
• A DCS file must not be saved with the Include Vector Data option selected. (Clipping paths are supported without this option selected.)
• DCS files must conform to the DCS 1.0 or 2.0 specification.
EPS and DCS files (such as copy-dot scans) not meeting these requirements can still be placed, but they won’t benefit from the enhanced workflow in InDesign. You can also elect to open DCS files in Photoshop and resave them as native Photoshop (.psd) files, and then replace the DCS files in InDesign.
Unlinking and relinking placed text files
Unlike placed graphics files, placed text files are always completely included in the document so that the text can be edited freely in InDesign. By default, text files are not linked to a source file, although that preference can be changed. If text files are placed as linked files, and are marked as missing in the Links panel or Preflight dialog box, it poses no problems for high-resolution printing because the text is completely included in the document.
Placed text stories can be unlinked from their source files using the Links panel. Unlinking causes InDesign to stop tracking the source text files. If a customer uses a workflow where text is only edited and formatted within Adobe InDesign after it’s placed, unlinking text files prevents
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 28
unnecessary alerts caused by modified or missing external text files that are no longer needed.
Depending on your customers’ editing workflow, you might consider adding an unlinking step to the customer checklists you provide for handing off jobs.
To unlink text files:
1. Select all text files in the Links panel. You can use the standard methods for multiple selection (Shift-clicking or Ctrl- clicking (Windows) or Command-clicking (Mac OS) items in the panel).
2. Choose Unlink from the Links panel menu. The unlinked items are removed from the Links panel, but the actual text content remains in the document.
While retaining links to external text files might sound attractive when text alterations are sent by a customer, note that updating a link to a supplied text file will eliminate any formatting performed in InDesign. This could wreak havoc if changed formatting is subsequently overlooked.
Customers who are prone to frequent or late-stage text editing should consider using an InCopy workflow instead.
For more information on InCopy, see the InCopy product page on the Adobe website: http://www.adobe.com/products/incopy .
InDesign Files as artwork
InDesign files—even multipage documents—can now be used as artwork; that is, you can place an InDesign file into another InDesign file, in the same manner as you would place a Photoshop or Illustrator file. This can facilitate ad placement, collaboration, even manual imposition. Files are displayed in the Links panel in the same way as placed Photoshop or Illustrator files, with one difference: support art required by the placed InDesign file is listed below the placed file, indented to highlight its relationship to the placed InDesign file.
The InDesign Preflight function checks placed InDesign files and reports on the status of artwork and fonts needed by those placed files. In addition, placed InDesign files as well as their support art and fonts are gathered if the file is packaged.
Placed InDesign File
A placed InDesign file is listed in the Links panel as any other art file . File names indented below the InDesign file indicate artwork linked to that file .
Placed InDesign file
Support files for placed InDesign file
While Type > Find Font will allow you to substitute fonts in the main “parent” InDesign file, you’ll have to open any placed InDesign files to perform font substitution in those files, and then update. To open a placed InDesign file, select the name of the file in the Links panel and click the
Edit Original icon (small pencil) at the bottom of the panel.
If you edit graphics contained in the placed InDesign files, you’ll need to update their links in the placed files, and then update the placed files themselves in the parent file.
PDFs as artwork
In much the same way as you’ve traditionally used EPS files as artwork, you can use PDFs
(including multi-page files) as artwork. If the PDFs were correctly created, there are no worries about missing support files or font embedding (provided that all fonts used to create the PDF will allow embedding). Any change to the original PDF file (such as regenerating the file, deleting or rearranging pages) will impact the appearance of the InDesign file.
For best results, PDF files intended for placement as art in an InDesign file should be saved as
Acrobat 5.0-compatible or later to avoid premature flattening of transparency. If the originating application has used fonts that forbid embedding, the PDFs will yield a “missing fonts” alert during Preflight, as well as marking those fonts as missing if you use Find Font. A file using such
PDFs as artwork won’t image correctly unless the necessary fonts are supplied, active, and avail-
PDFs as Placed Art
The Links panel shows which pages of a multipage placed
PDF are used, indicated by the number after the colon .
Adobe Creative Suite 4 Printing Guide 29
ಡೌನ್ಲೋಡ್ ಮಾಡಿ
ಜಾಹಿರಾತು