User Interface. Phase One Capture Pilot, Capture One 10
Реклама
Реклама
Online Help
Capture One 10
User Interface
The section covers the user interface make up, customization of the interface and tool descriptions
User Interface Overview
The main Capture One User Interface elements are a Tool Tab bar, the Viewer and
Image Browser.
Viewing Photos
Capture One provides a wide range of possible ways to view and inspect images.
Users can customize the Image Viewer and the Image Browser to fit the needs of your particular workflow.
Toolbar
The interface is divided into a number of elements, all providing a set of tools. The
Toolbar provides graphical shortcuts to some of the most useful functions of Capture
One.
Tool Tabs
Each Tool Tab contains a number of utilities that include a set of tools to adjust image files.
Online Help
Capture One 10
User Interface Overview
The main Capture One User Interface elements are a Tool Tab bar, the Viewer and Image Browser.
- Basic overview
- Overview in detail
Basic overview
Overview in detail
• The Viewer displays a large preview of one image or a number of selected images.
• The Image
Browser
displays thumbnails of selected images from a folder, Album, Smart Album, Project, Group as well as a Catalog.
• The
Cursor tools provide easy access to a number of closely related sub-features, referred to as Tools.
• The
Tool Tabs
give access to all of the core tools needed to edit images, such as color balance, exposure and sharpness.
• The
Toolbar provides graphical shortcuts to some of the most useful functions of Capture One.
• Tools: Each tool tab
has a number of related tools to help adjust an image file.
•
Viewer Modes : Access the Multi view, Primary view and Toggle Proof Margin Viewer modes.
•
Browser Modes
: Access and select the Filmstrip, Grid View and List View browser thumbnail viewing options.
•
Search the Browser
: Insert text into the search field at the top of the Browser to filter
• Sort the Browser: Choose the order of thumbnails in the Browser from a number of criteria including: name, star rating,
ISO etc.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Viewing Photos
Capture One provides a wide range of possible ways to view and inspect images. Users can customize the Image Viewer and the Image Browser to fit the needs of your particular workflow.
The Viewer
The Viewer displays a large preview of one image or a number of selected images.
The Browser
The Image Browser displays thumbnails of selected images from a folder, Album,
Smart Album, Project, Group and a Catalog.
Loupe Tool
The Loupe tool can be used to complement the other focus functions. Use it to quickly check focus while simultaneously viewing the whole image.
Full Screen
The Full Screen feature displays the maximum view of a preview image. It is possible to work in Full Screen mode and have access to a selected set of tools.
Slideshow
The Slideshow feature allows you to present photos or videos with transitions in a full screen view.
Online Help
Capture One 10
The Viewer
VIEWING IMAGES / VIEWING PHOTOS / THUMBNAILS / IMAGE BROWSER / VIEWING VIDEOS / LOUPE / FULL SCREEN / SLIDESHOW / CAPTURE PILOT
The Viewer displays a large preview of one image or a number of selected images.
- Introduction to the Viewer
- The Viewer Modes
- Primary View
- Multi view
- Toggle Proof Margin
- Select and view multiple images
- RGB, Lightness, Exposure and rating information
- Quick tip: Zoom Viewer
- Viewing videos
Introduction to the Viewer
The Viewer gives you the option to view a single image or multiple images at once. The Viewer is a fundamental element of the Capture
One user interface. The Viewer window enables users to view image files and check the effect of any adjustments that have been made. It also is easy to make image comparisons. Up to 12 different images can be selected and seen in the Viewer at one time making it effortless to compare images side-by-side.
The Viewer Modes
The Viewer has three primary modes:
Multi view, Primary view and
Toggle Proof Margin. These modes are accessed by pressing the icons located in the top-left corner of the Viewer. (See icons circled in blue). The active icon will turn orange once it is selected.
Primary View
The
Primary view mode enables a single image to be displayed in the
Viewer. The displayed image is selected from the thumbnail selection in the Browser. The active thumbnail will have a thick white border around it.
Multi view
The
Multi view mode enables you to see up to 12 images in the Viewer.
The displayed images are selected from the thumbnails in the Browser.
Toggle Proof Margin
The
Toggle Proof Margin enables users to switch between two different
Viewer margin settings (which is the distance between the edge of your image file and the frame of the Viewer). These settings can be adjusted by going to Capture One>Preferences... Go to the Appearance menu where you can adjust Margin distance from 3px (default) up to
40px. The Proof Margin can also be adjusted using the slider from 0 to
100 pixels. (The default is 25px).
Select and view multiple images
Up to 12 images can be displayed in the Viewer. There are a number of ways to select multiple thumbnails as follows:
Click on a single thumbnail, press shift (on your keyboard), then click on another thumbnail. All the thumbnails in between will also be selected
Click on a single thumbnail, press Cmd (on your Mac keyboard), and click on another thumbnail. Only the selected thumbnails will be displayed in the Viewer
Go to Edit>Select All to select all the thumbnails in the Browser.
Alternatively, press cmd and A on your (Mac) keyboard
Tip: To deselect the active thumbnails simply click on a non-active thumbnail. Alternatively, go to Edit>Deselect All (Keyboard shortcut: shift
Cmd A).
RGB, Lightness, Exposure and rating information
The Viewer has a number of features to aid photographers in postproduction. These include the RGB and Lightness, or CMYK, readout values that are displayed in the center of the Viewer toolbar.
(See circled).
The bottom left corner of the Viewer displays camera data that includes the exposure settings (ISO, shutter and f-stop) as well as the focal length of the camera lens used to capture the image. The bottom right corner displays the color tag and star rating applied to the image. Click on the box or dot/star to alter the rating or tag. Find out more about star rating and color tags here
.
Quick tip: Zoom Viewer
Tip: If you have more than one image in the Viewer you can zoom all images simultaneously by holding down SHIFT and dragging the zoom slider (in the top right corner of the Viewer) or by scrolling the mouse wheel.
Viewing videos
Video files are displayed with a movie camera icon (center of the thumbnail) in the Browser. Once the thumbnail has been selected, it is possible to play the video in the Viewer. By moving your mouse cursor over the movie file (in the Viewer) a control panel will appear.
You can view videos in full screen
or add movies to a slideshow
. Please note that it is only possible to play videos in this software as Capture One provides no video editing capabilities. If you don’t want to see videos appearing in the Browser, select View>Global filters>Always Hide Movie Files.
Online Help
Capture One 10
The Browser
IMAGE BROWSER / THUMBNAILS / VARIANTS / LOUPE
The Image Browser displays thumbnails of selected images from a folder, Album, Smart Album, Project, Group and a Catalog.
- Browsing thumbnails
- Filmstrip View
- Grid View
- List View
- Browser view modes
- Zoom slider: Thumbnail size
- Learn more
- Thumbnail icon: Adjusted
- Thumbnail icons: Offline and View Only
- Thumbnail icon: Processed
- Thumbnail icons: Appearance Warning and Read Only
- Thumbnail icon: Variants
- Thumbnail icon: Video
Browsing thumbnails
When browsing images you have three different thumbnail view options:
Filmstrip, Grid View and List View to suit your personal preference.
Choose your preferred thumbnail view option from the Image Browser toolbar. (See thumbnail options circled in blue in the top left corner).
The Image Browser will show thumbnails as they are edited, and the entire view and mask if the image is cropped. Use the Image Browser to navigate an image collection and to select files. A number of actions can be performed in the Image Browser, which include adding a star rating and color tag
and the use of the Loupe function to examine thumbnails in close-up detail.
Tip: It is easy to maximize the Image Browser by hiding The Viewer .
Simply go to View>Hide Viewer.
Filmstrip View
Filmstrip View leaves more space for the Image Viewer and supports a fast workflow for sessions with fewer images. Adjust the size of the thumbnails by dragging the browser window up or down. (This will make the size of the thumbnails adapt automatically to fit the selected browser size).
Grid View
Grid View is ideal to browse numerous images quickly especially when using the arrow keys to scroll UP/DOWN or LEFT/RIGHT.
List View
The List View displays more file information (such as aperture and shutter speed settings) and provides a sequential view of the images in a folder or album.
Browser view modes
There are several Image Browser viewing options to help you get the best user experience as follows:
Go to View>
Show Browser to see the Image Browser at the same time as The Viewer. Once selected, this option will change to
Hide Browser.
Select View>
Browser Auto Mode to hide the Browser from view until you move your curser to the *bottom of the page where it will automatically pop up. When you move the curser away the Browser will disappear from view. Once selected, this option will change to
Browser Manual Mode.
Select View>
Place Browser Right to change to position of the browser thumbnails to the right side of the user interface. Once selected, this option will change to
Place Browser Below.
Go to View>
Browser Zoom to select a different thumbnail size.
Go to View>
Browser Labels for three options. Off will hide the star rating and color tag.
Edit mode enabling users to alter the star rating and color tag directly in the browser.
Status Mode
displays the star rating and color tag but disables any editing capability.
Select View>Hide
Browser Toolbar to remove the thumbnail view and thumbnail sorting options as well as the search facility and thumbnail zoom slider from the toolbar.
*Move your curser to the right to reveal thumbnails if you have selected the
Place Browser Right option.
Zoom slider: Thumbnail size
Adjust and set the thumbnail size by dragging the zoom slider (located in the top right corner of the Browser window) or by selecting View>Browser Zoom.
Please note that the zoom slider is not present when using the Film Strip mode.
Learn more
The Browser has an easy to use
search function. Find out how to perform a text, color tag or star rating search here
.
Discover how to use the
Loupe Tool
in the Image Browser.
Thumbnail icon: Adjusted
Adjusted: An icon will appear as soon as any image adjustments have been applied. All the adjustments are listed within the
Adjustments
Clipboard
.
Thumbnail icons: Offline and View Only
Offline: A question mark icon will appear when an image is offline. Image files that are located inside a catalog and files that are referenced in their current location can be browsed offline. Find out more about
Offline Browsing
.
View Only: An eye icon means the file has a View Only permission status. This means users have the right to view the image but are unable to make any modification to it.
Thumbnail icon: Processed
Processed: An orange cog icon will appear in a thumbnail while the file is being processed. The icon will turn white once processing is complete.
This icon also signifies that the file has a 'Variant Process History' that the user can access by selecting Adjustments>Process History.
Thumbnail icons: Appearance Warning and Read Only
Appearance Warning: An exclamation mark signifies that there may be a problem with the appearance of an image. This can be caused when an image has settings from a future version of Capture One.
Read Only: A crossed over pencil will appear in the bottom right corner of an image if a file is unsupported or if you don’t have the access rights to edit a file. You might see this read-only icon if you try to edit images files located on a camera or a CD.
Note: JPEG files will have a read-only icon if the Enable JPEG Editing option is unchecked.
Thumbnail icon: Variants
Variants: Collapse or expand a Variant group if you have a number of variants for a certain image. Click on the small icon in the top left corner of a thumbnail. Find out more about Variant Groups .
Thumbnail icon: Video
Video: Video files are displayed with a movie camera icon in the center of the thumbnail. Once the thumbnail has been selected, it is possible to play the video in the Viewer. Find out more about viewing videos .
Online Help
Capture One 10
Loupe Tool
LOUPE / VIEWING IMAGES / FULL SCREEN
The Loupe tool can be used to complement the other focus functions. Use it to quickly check focus while simultaneously viewing the whole image.
- Introduction
- To use the Loupe
- Change Loupe settings
- Learn more
Introduction
The Loupe tool is used to check focus or inspect close-up details of an image. It can be used in the Viewer or Image Browser area of the session window. Click and hold down the left mouse button to activate the Loupe. Location mode, Size and zoom level of Loupe can be customized.
To use the Loupe
The Loupe tool is used to check focus or inspect close-up details of an image. It can be used in the Viewer or Image Browser area of the session window. Click and hold down the left mouse button to activate the Loupe. Location mode, Size and zoom level of Loupe can be customized.
1. Open the zoom cursor group
in the toolbar; click and hold the mouse button until a menu appears.
2. Choose the
Loupe cursor tool.
3. Click and hold the mouse in the areas of an image where you wish to inspect details.
4. Drag the mouse to move the Loupe.
5. The Loupe can be used within the
Viewer
as well as the
Image Browser on a thumbnail.
Change Loupe settings
1. Open the zoom cursor group in the cursor toolbar .
2. Release the mouse button to select a highlighted menu item.
3. Select
Use Centered Loupe if you want to operate the loupe directly under the mouse cursor. If this option is not selected, the loupe will open next to the cursor so the selected area is visible in the
Viewer
as well as enlarged in the loupe.
4. This cursor tool option also enables users to select the
Loupe Size to one of three settings and Loupe Zoom from 25% to 200% to help inspect image details.
Learn more
Press 'p' at any time to select the
Loupe cursor tool.
Use the scroll wheel (on a mouse) while the Loupe is open to change the zoom level and size.
Go to the Loupe menu option to reset the zoom to 100%.
Hold the Alt+Space keys (Mac) while scrolling to change the size of the Loupe.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Full Screen
FULL SCREEN / SLIDESHOW / VIEWING PHOTOS
The Full Screen feature displays the maximum view of a preview image. It is possible to work in Full Screen mode and have access to a selected set of tools.
- View images in full screen
- Full screen shortcuts
View images in full screen
1. Select View>Full Screen.
2. Move the cursor to the edges of the screen to reveal the
Browser
, toolbar
, menu
and editing tools
.
3. Exit full screen view by pressing Esc.
Full screen shortcuts
1. To instantly enter Full Screen mode, click on the (double arrow) icon in the top left corner. (See highlighted example.)
2. Toggle between Full Screen and the normal viewer by pressing
Ctrl+Cmd+F (Mac) or F11 (Windows). Note, shortcuts can be customized using the shortcut editor
.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Slideshow
FULL SCREEN / LOUPE / SLIDESHOW / CAPTURE PILOT
The Slideshow feature allows you to present photos or videos with transitions in a full screen view.
You can customize a slideshow by specifying transition type and duration.
- Create a slide show
- Edit slide show settings
- Use the slide show controls
- Rendering time
Create a slide show
1. Go to the
Browser
and select the initial image for the slide show. If no image is selected the slide show will start from the first image in the browser session.
2. Select View>Slide Show.
3. The slide show will automatically start.
Edit slide show settings
1. Move the (mouse) curser when the slide show has started.
2. Click the settings icon. (See example circled in blue).
3. Choose one of 10 transition options from the drop down menu.
4. Alter the duration time using the slider from 1 to 60 seconds.
5. Settings changes are applied instantly.
Use the slide show controls
1. Move the mouse (curser) when the slide show has started.
2. Click on the arrow icons to see the next or previous image.
3. Press
Pause to stop the slideshow.
The Pause function will also stop a movie file if it is the viewed slide.
4. Press Esc or the exit (cross) icon to terminate the slide show.
Rendering time
The performance and rendering time of displayed images depends on the specification of your computer and the size of an image file. The duration time between images may be longer than the specified time as the next slide will not appear until it is fully rendered.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Toolbar
TOOLBAR / TOOL TABS / CUSTOMIZATION / PERSONAL TAB / WORKSPACES
The interface is divided into a number of elements, all providing a set of tools. The Toolbar provides graphical shortcuts to some of the most useful functions of
Capture One.
- Cursor tools
- Tool Tabs
- Trash
Cursor tools
The Cursor tools are part of the Toolbar and provide easy access to a number of closely related sub-features. They are located at the top/middle of the user interface. (See the example right). The Cursor tools can also be activated by keyboard shortcuts. Read more on this in the
Shortcuts section
.
Tool Tabs
Tool Tabs are sets of related tools that include some of Capture One’s most common and frequently used features. They are located at the top/left corner of the user interface. (See the example right). Find out more on each Tool Tab here
.
Each Tool Tab contains a number of tools. Each tool has its own set of controls to adjust a selected image file or multiple files. The Toolbar can be customized to display a set of controls to suit your needs. See
Customize the Toolbar
.
Select a predefined workspace by selecting Window>Workspace.
Trash
Press the Trash icon to delete images. The deleted image file will be placed in that session’s trash folder. Files will not be permanently deleted unless you select File>Delete Permanently from the Capture One menu.
To delete the files directly in the OS trash, press Cmd+Delete.
To delete the files permanently, press Ctrl+Cmd+Delete.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Tool Tabs
TOOLBAR / TOOL TABS / CUSTOMIZATION / PERSONAL TAB / WORKSPACES
Each Tool Tab contains a number of utilities that include a set of tools to adjust image files.
- Introduction
- Library
- Capture
- Color
- Exposure
- Lens and composition
- Composition
- Details
- Local Adjustments
- Adjustments
- Metadata
- Output
- Batch process
- Quick
- Black and White
- Add a customizable tool tab
Introduction
The Tool Tab bar is located at the top/left corner of the user interface.
(See the example right). Each Tool Tab contains a number of tools. Each tool has its own set of controls to adjust a selected image file or multiple files.
Library
The
Library Tool Tab
is a filtered file explorer that displays supported files. It allows access to images within Albums, Smart Albums and Favorites and to any image collections stored in folders on a computer or networked resource.
The Library Tool Tab is where all file navigation and organization takes place. Navigate via the hierarchical tree-view to a folder that contains the image files you wish to edit. Thumbnails of the images within your selected folder will be created and displayed in the
Image Browser
. You can also watch videos supported by your particular OS.
Find out more here
.
The Library tool also enables access to images within Catalogs, Folders, Session Folders, Session Albums and Session Favorites. Within a session, the
Library tool features an Output Folder, a Selects Folder, a Capture Folder, a Trash Folder and enables users to browse between recently used sessions.
The Library tool will feature fixed menus and albums and a Folders tool when a catalog is used.
Capture One applies non-destructive editing because any image adjustments will not affect the actual RAW file – only the Capture One settings file will change. Create a catalog
or session
to help organize your workflow.
Capture
Pro
The
Capture Tool Tab
is the gateway to tethered shooting with a Phase One digital back or supported DSLR. This tool tab has a host of features to aid workflow. Adjust your camera exposure settings remotely, apply adjustments and multiple styles during capture. Use the Camera tool to alter ISO and White
Balance settings and fire the shutter of a connected camera or activate its
Live View
functionality.
Use the
Capture Pilot tool
app to connect Capture One Pro to an iPad, iPod Touch and iPhone. The Capture Pilot app lets you present, rate and capture image files on an iOS device.
The Capture Pilot tool also has a web function
that lets you view, rate and color tag
captured images from a web browser on a computer, Android (mobile
device) or Windows Phone operating system.
It is also possible to wirelessly control Profoto studio lighting
from this Tool Tab.
Color
The Color Tool Tab has a number of tools to help control the colors of an image file. It enables users to set White Balance conventionally or by using the Skin
Tone tool.
The
Color Editor
enables adjustments to be applied to groups of colors, specific colors or on skin tones. Save a color setting (once it is achieved) and apply it to later work, even as an ICC profile or style directly in a tethered session.
The Color Tool Tab also features a
Black & White tool
allowing users to adjust individual tonal channels and save them as a Preset for future use.
Exposure
The
Exposure Tool Tab
provides controls to adjust exposure aspects of images. Basic controls (e.g. Exposure Compensation) affects the whole image, and more advanced controls (e.g.,
High Dynamic Range
) enables users to fine-tune adjustments.
Levels
and
Curves
can adjust overall lightness values as well as the individual Red, Green and Blue color channels. The
Clarity tool
can help reduce haze or (a negative value) can create a softening effect that is particularly affective when applied to a portrait image to smooth out skin tones.
Lens and composition
The
Lens Tool Tab
is designed to address a number of unwanted issues that are commonly associated with lens distortion. Capture One incorporates a number of preset profiles that are available for medium format and DSLR lenses that will greatly improve image results when used appropriately. Adjustments can also be applied manually to correct individual issues.
In addition, there are tools to control the layout of a photo. Crop , rotate, flip and apply keystone corrections . Aspect ratios can be applied to images to meet output format needs.
Composition
The Composition Tool Tab enables users to control the layout of a photo. Crop , rotate, flip , apply keystone corrections and utilize the Overlay tool when capturing an image for a specific layout or design.
Aspect ratios can be applied to images to meet output format needs.
Details
Image sharpness and noise reduction are controlled from the
Details Tool Tab
. This Tool Tab includes
Advanced Noise Reduction
,
Moiré
and D ust/Spot
removal tools.
The Details Tool Tab includes a combined navigation and focus tool that allow users to quickly inspect close-up detail anywhere on the image at any zoom level. The Focus window can be used to keep track of the sharpness at a 100% view. When capturing an image for a specific layout or design, the
Overlay tool
can be used to previsualize the effect.
Local Adjustments
Pro
The Local Adjustments Tool Tab enables users to create layers and work on targeted areas of an image (e.g. specific areas that are overexposed). You can alter the brush settings (size and hardness) and apply a graduation mask.
Note: Capture One Pro can detect the pressure applied from a pen and graphics tablet from manufacturers such as Wacom.
Adjustments
The
Adjustments Tool Tab
provides a clipboard with image adjustments that can be copied from one image and applied to other image(s). The default copy function contains only the parameters where actual adjustments are made to the settings of a source image.
It is possible to deselect specific adjustments as well as to save a set of adjustments as a
Style
for later use.
Metadata
The
Metadata Tool Tab
allows users to insert keywords
and specific information in addition to the basic metadata from a camera. It is also possible to create your own Metadata Presets (a collection of values).
Metadata can be very useful when organizing photos or used to simply brand photos with some indications of the image type or photo creator. It is possible to set up metadata stamps (e.g. copyright, client profiles) and apply these to multiple photos.
Output
Pro
The
Output Tool Tab
features a number of parameters to help define how images are processed.
The Process Recipe tool includes parameters such as file formats
, quality, color space, and resolution. The size of a processed file can also be configured.
Users can also decide what specific metadata will be included in the processed image file and systematically rename output files as desired. Users can also add watermarks and save process recipes as well as process to multiple formats at the same time.
Batch process
Pro
The Batch queue will automatically start when the
Process
button is pressed. Control the queue for processing and check which images have been processed previously in the Batch Tool Tab. Press backspace to delete images from the queue or drag-and-drop the listed image files into a preferred arrangement to change the process order. It is also possible to reprocess files
from the history tab.
Quick
The Quick Tool Tab features a selection of key tools to help achieve a faster workflow.
Base characteristics provide different ICC camera profiles and film curves. An ICC profile is automatically applied according to the make and model of the selected RAW file.
The Quick tool enables users to Set White Balance conventionally or by using the Skin Tone tool. It is also possible to control Exposure and High
Dynamic Range and process directly from this Tool Tab.
The Quick Tool Tab is not a default Tool Tab. To enable this Tool Tab...
1. Right click on the Tool Tab bar and select Add Tool Tab>Quick.
(Alternatively, go to View>Add Tool Tab>Quick).
2. The Quick icon will appear along side the other Tool Tabs. Cmd-click on the icon and drag it to an alternative position if desired.
Black and White
Pro
Capture One Pro features a dedicated Black and White Tool Tab that includes a number of powerful tools to help perform monotone conversions.
The Black and White Tool Tab is not a default Tool Tab. To enable this
Tool Tab...
1. Right click on the Tool Tab bar and select Add Tool Tab>Black &
White. (Alternatively, go to View>Add Tool Tab>Black & White).
2. The Black & White icon will appear along side the other Tool Tabs.
Press the Cmd key and drag the icon to an alternative position if desired.
Find out more about the
Black & White tools
.
Add a customizable tool tab
Pro
All of the tool tabs are customizable, however you can add your own tool tab and add any combination of tools to it.
1. Right click on the tool tab and select Add New Tool Tab>Custom Tool
Tab from the drop down menu. (Alternatively, go to View>Add Tool
Tab>Custom Tool Tab).
2. A dialog box will appear. Name the Tab, choose an icon and press
Add Tab. The icon will appear in the Tool Tab bar.
3. Right click on the icon and select Add Tool from the drop down menu and select a desired tool. Repeat this procedure to add more tools.
4. To rearrange the Tool Tab bar, press Cmd/Alt (Mac/Windows) and drag icons in the tab menu to the preferred position.
5. Right click on the Tool Tab bar and select Remove Tool Tab to remove any unwanted tool tabs from view.
Завантажити
Реклама