Export and Processing. Phase One Capture Pilot, Capture One 10
Реклама
Реклама
Online Help
Capture One 10
Export and Processing
This section describes how to export copies of your original images, as well as process and export variants that you have created. Capture One also provides a variety of ways to showcase work. You can print photos, create a slideshow or export to a Web Contact Sheet.
Export Originals and Variants
With Capture One’s dedicated Export function, you can export copies of your original files, with or without adjustments, or you can quickly export variants straight from the browser using a single Process Recipe.
Process Variants
Pro
Find out how to output image variants using single or multiple customized Process
Recipes to control keywords, add or remove sharpening, and add a watermark to images. You can also find out how to manage the Batch Queue and reprocess images.
Web Gallery
The Web Contact Sheet lets you showcase your work by creating web photo galleries.
File Formats
Find out about the file format options in Capture One when exporting.
Colors in Capture One
Discover how Capture One deals with image color.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Export Originals and Variants
OUTPUT / RAW / JPEG / TIF / EIP
With Capture One’s dedicated Export function, you can export copies of your original files, with or without adjustments, or you can quickly export variants straight from the browser using a single Process Recipe.
- Export copies of original images
- Export image variants using a single recipe only
Export copies of original images
Capture One lets you quickly export virtually identical copies of the original RAW, JPEG, PNG or TIFF source files, with or without adjustments, directly from the browser. Note the original source files must be available to Capture One. Most users will likely want to export original image files with the adjustments (contained in a separate folder), as it allows you to send other Capture One users edited image files before processing, thus enabling them to make further amendments when necessary. Note Capture One will not re-compress JPEGs when exported. Although the file quality will not differ with JPEGs, or TIFFs, the file size may increase slightly if extensive metadata has been added.
With Capture One Pro, you can also export RAW files with adjustments as EIP files. Find out more information on the benefits of Capture One
Pro’s
EIP option
.
1. Select the image, or images, from the browser that you want to export.
2. From the main menu, go to File (or right click)>Export>Originals…
Alternatively, right click on a Session Folder, Session Album or
Catalog Collection and select Export>Originals… from the menu options. The Export dialog will appear.
3. From the
Destination drop down menu in the Location tab, navigate to a desired location to save the exported image files to. Add a folder and name it in the Sub Folder text field. See more about organizing images into folders and using the dynamic locations feature here.
4. Enter a name directly in the
Format text field, or choose a naming format by clicking on the action button (…) in the Naming tool and adding the appropriate tokens. Type a Job name if applicable, and add the Job Name token in the Format text field to add it on output.
5. Select or deselect any relevant fields in the Options tab. (The
Notify
When Completed option is selected by default).
6. Click on
Export Original to complete the process. When multiple images are selected, the task is added to the Batch Queue and is executed in the background, enabling users to continue their work during the export process.
Export image variants using a single recipe only
When using the Export Variants option, Capture One makes virtual copies of the originals, applies any adjustments made and saves them as either JPEG, TIFF, PNG, DNG or PSD file formats. In addition, the
Export feature offers options to resize, convert color spaces and embed profiles. Note, the original source files must be available to Capture One.
With Capture One Pro you can also add or disable sharpening and include metadata, such as EXIF data, Keywords and other IPTC data.
With the exception of being able to export images with watermarks and using multiple Process Recipes, the processing and naming options are practically identical to those offered under Capture One Pro’s dedicated Output Tool Tab, see here for more information.
1. Select the image or images, from the browser that you want to export.
2. From the main menu, go to File (or right click)>Export>Variants...
Alternatively, right click on a Session Folder, Session Album or
Catalog Collection and select Export>Variants… from the menu
options. The Export Variants dialog box will open.
3. From the
Destination drop-down menu in the Location dialog, navigate to a desired location to save the exported image files to. If desired, add a folder and name it in the optional Sub Folder text field.
4. In the
Naming dialog, enter a name directly in the Format text field, or choose a naming format by clicking on the Action button (…) and adding the appropriate tokens. Type a Job name if applicable, and add the Job Name token in the Format text field to enable it.
5. Go to the
Recipe dialog and select the file format, quality and other parameters as desired. See more here about Process Recipes.
6. Click on the
Export Variant button. When multiple images are selected, the task is added to the Batch Queue and is executed in the background, enabling users to continue their work during the export process.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Process Variants
Pro
PROCESS IMAGES / PROCESS RECIPE / WATERMARK / TIF / WEB CONTACT SHEET
Find out how to output image variants using single or multiple customized Process Recipes to control keywords, add or remove sharpening, and add a watermark to images. You can also find out how to manage the Batch Queue and reprocess images.
Using Process Recipes
Find out about Process Recipes, how to use them and customize them, or create new ones to suit your needs.
Recipe Settings
View or change the Process Recipe’s preconfigured settings for file format, ICC profile and image dimensions from the Basic tab.
Output Settings
Set the destination location for output and create and name folders and sub-folders from the Process Recipe’s File tab.
Managing Sharpening
During processing and outputting, you can apply sharpening based on the output device, or disable sharpening completely from the Process Recipe’s Adjustments tab.
Managing Keywords and other Metadata
The Process Recipe’s Metadata tab is used to manage ratings and color tags, copyright information, GPS and EXIF data and keywords.
Adding a Watermark
You can add a watermark to variants from the Process Recipe tool’s Watermark tab.
Batch Queue and Processing History
Capture One automatically processes and outputs batches of photos, arranging them in a queue or line as computer resources dictate. A history or record of images that have been previously output is maintained, making it easy to find individual photos for reprocessing.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Using Process Recipes
Find out about Process Recipes, how to use them and customize them, or create new ones to suit your needs.
- Overview of outputting images with process recipes
- Process image variants using recipes
- Process multiple file formats simultaneously
- Verify recipe settings
- Proofing recipes
- Modify or create process recipes
- Process summary warning
Overview of outputting images with process recipes
To simplify the task of processing and outputting, Capture One Pro has groups of preconfigured process settings called Recipes for various requirements, saved as presets in the Process Recipes tool. If you regularly use specific settings for a certain client, or printing service, you can save the settings as a recipe, instead of repeatedly specifying the settings.
As Capture One works non-destructively, the application never alters the original image files in any way. When images are required in the various sizes, formats and color spaces to send to a client, or to publish on the web or send to a printing service, Capture One creates new files from the originals and applies all the saved settings and adjustments during processing, that you can use time and time again.
You can specify JPEG, TIFF, PNG, DNG or PSD file formats, set new image dimensions, convert color spaces and embed profiles, disable sharpening, add a watermark and include metadata, such as EXIF data,
Keywords and IPTC data. Capture One Pro can also rename and group images into a subfolder hierarchy within the export folder using the semiautomated dynamic locations feature.
When multiple copies of images are required in different formats, sizes
or color spaces, it is as simple as adding checkmarks to the appropriate recipes, and clicking "Process". Capture One can also export
copies of the original files (RAW, JPEG, TIFF, or PNG) with or without
any adjustments applied if necessary. Find out more about exporting
originals
.
Note you can export managed images files directly but, with
referenced files, Capture One must have access to the originals.
Process image variants using recipes
Capture One is supplied with several presets called Process Recipes for processing and exporting image variants, using common file formats, sizes and profiles. From the Output Tool Tab you can select one or more of the presets from the list in Process Recipes dialog, or specify other settings in the Process Recipe tool, located directly beneath. Note, selecting settings in the Process Recipe tool overrides the selection in the Process Recipes dialog.
1. Go to the
Output Tool Tab
.
2. Select the image variants for processing from the browser.
3. In
Process Recipes, checkmark the required recipe(s) for the selected variants. Selecting multiple recipes will simultaneously process and export new files with those recipe settings applied (Capture One Pro only).
4. From the
Process Summary tool, press Process.
5. Processing can be stopped at any time, then edited and re-started from the Batch Tool Tab .
Process multiple file formats simultaneously
Pro
Capture One can process and export an image variant or variants in multiple file formats, image sizes and color spaces, with or without a watermark, keywords or sharpening, all at the same time. Each recipe selected will create a new image file with the specified settings applied.
1. Go to
Output Tool Tab.
2. Select the image variants in need of processing.
3. Go to the
Process Recipes tool and checkmark the relevant recipes in the list.
4. From the Process Summary tool, click on the
Process button.
Verify recipe settings
Before exporting images using the recipes displayed in the Process Recipes tool, you can view the settings to check they are suitable for the intended purpose. When using Capture One there are several predefined recipes listed in the Process Recipes dialog. If you suspect they’re not all showing, click on the tool’s Action menu (…) > Add recipe > and select from the list, or long-click on the + (plus) icon to reveal the list and select the recipe directly. The recipe will be added to the list in the dialog.
1. Click on the desired recipe from the list shown in the Process Recipes tool; the selected recipe will be highlighted with an orange bar (turns silver colored, when clicking outside the dialog).
2. Check the settings below in the
Process Recipe tool correspond with the highlighted recipe. All the settings apply, including those located under each tab.
3. Verify and amend incorrect settings. For example, the highlighted recipe states JPEG sRGB, yet under the
Basic tab, the Format field shows TIFF. To update the recipe, alter the Format field to JPEG, set the Quality slider to 100% and confirm the profile selected is sRGB. Settings are automatically saved.
Proofing recipes
Capture One can also proof the scale, compression artifacts (if Jpeg is used) and sharpening from the selected recipe, and by adjusting the settings wih proof mode enabled see a real time effect on-screen such as the effect of down-sampling when resizing images for the Web.
1. Select the image variant in the browser that want you to proof the settings for.
2. Highlight the recipe (or create a new recipe) from the list in the Process Recipes dialog, located under the Output Tool tab.
3. Go the
Process Recipe tool, and under the various tabs select the processing settings, including the image size, profile, and output sharpening, where applicable.
4. Click on the Show Recipe Proofing (glasses) icon in the main tool bar, or from the main menu, select View>Show Recipe Proofing.
5. All the recipe settings applied to the image variant will be visible on screen for evaluation.
Modify or create process recipes
Pro
Capture One offers a number of predefined process presets, or Process
Recipes, when exporting images. However, if the process settings don’t meet your needs exactly, you can update the existing recipe or create your own. When you modify an existing recipe, the original is not altered nor can it be permanently deleted. Note, multiple recipes are only available in Capture One Pro or Capture One DB. Only steps 4 to 7 are relevant with Capture One Express (for Sony).
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab .
2. In Process Recipes tool click on the + (plus) icon using a short press.
An untitled recipe will be added to the list. The new recipe is based on the full-size TIFF (Adobe RGB) 8-bit preset. Alternatively, highlight a recipe to copy, click on the tool’s Action (…) icon and select
Duplicate Recipe.
3. Click on the new recipe and rename it. A descriptive name using the format, size and color space is recommended. Warning! Clicking on the - (minus) icon will remove the recipe from the list, and, if it’s a newly created recipe, it will be permanently deleted .
4. From the
Process Recipe tool’s Basic tab, choose the desired file format from the
Format drop-down menu. See more on file formats.
5. Select the appropriate output profile from the
ICC Profile drop-down menu. The choice of color space depends on the final purpose of an image file (e.g, sRGB for Web use, Adobe RGB for print).
6. Specify the required resolution in
Resolution field and from the Scale drop-down menu, either select the default Fixed 100% to use the resolution to resize the image (keeping the native pixel count unchanged), or select the print dimensions independently to resample the image. If not resizing images for the Web or to print, you can leave the setting to the defaults.
7. Select a compatible application from the
Open With drop-down menu
to automatically open and view a processed image. For example,
Phase One Media Pro, or Adobe Photoshop. This option is not recommended if multiple images are processed in one batch.
8. From the
File tab, select the output destination from the Root Folder drop-down menu. Select from the original image folder, another folder of your choice, or select Output Location to defer to the Output
Location tool.
9. From the
Adjustments tab, choose from the sharpening options as desired.
10. From the
Metadata tab checkmark the options for including ratings, copyright, GPS, EXIF data and manage keywords from the dropdown menu.
11. From the
Watermark tab, choose whether or not add a watermark to exported images.
12. Every setting is saved and will be available next time the recipe is selected.
Process summary warning
The Process Summary dialog provides an overview of all the chosen settings for an image variant, or variants, before processing. This includes the processed image size, file name, file format and predicted file size. Any red highlighted figures are there as a warning that something will not be processed as expected. Check the highlighted figures and make the necessary alterations (e.g. change the dimensions), before pressing the Process button.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Recipe Settings
View or change the Process Recipe’s preconfigured settings for file format, ICC profile and image dimensions from the Basic tab.
- Modifying recipes
- Specifying file format
- Specifying color space
- Proofing profiles
- Image dimensions and resolution
- Set dimensions only (resize)
- Set dimensions and resolution (resample)
- Open with an external application
Modifying recipes
When adopting one of Capture One’s pre-configured process recipes, the settings may require some adjustment to suit your specific needs. Modifying a recipe is simple, each field can be edited and the settings are saved for the next time. When you modify a built-in recipe, the original can be reselected at any time. However, rather than make adjustments each time, if it’s a group of settings that you are likely to use again it makes sense to save it as a new recipe. To create a new recipe from one that has been modified is simple, you only have to duplicate it and give it a new name.
Specifying file format
Capture One never alters the original source files, it creates copies instead, and you can specify which file format to create during processing.
1. Highlight the recipe (or create a new recipe) to edit from the list in the
Process Recipes dialog.
2. From
Process Recipe tool, choose the Basic tab and then, from the
Format drop-down, choose from one of the following options:
TIFF - preserves maximum quality. Selecting TIFF enables the option of 16 bit output for higher color accuracy and optimum quality. TIFF files can be compressed. A TIFF is a lossless format, as are both forms of TIFF compression;
LZW and ZIP.
PSD - ensures optimum quality and compatibility with
Adobe Photoshop (tm), and is highly suited for working with layers. Available with 8-or 16-bit depth color option
JPEG - creates a new 8-bit file with lossy compression to attain a smaller sized file (compared to a TIFF) for convenience. The Quality setting determines the amount of compression applied, and therefore file size. The lower the quality, the smaller the file and the greater the loss of information. JPEG compression also adds some noise to an image.
JPEG QuickProof - this setting creates images for evaluation purposes. Capture One creates the image file from the proxy and the settings files without additional calculations or filters. JPEG QuickProof should not be considered as a completed file; it is ideal for ultra quick evaluation purposes only.
JPEG XR (extended range) - this format supports higher compression ratios with equivalent quality to the original
JPEG format. It is fully compatible with Capture One from version 7 onwards, and certain Microsoft products.
JPEG 2000 - this format offers superior compression and handling of color space profiles. It is available in either 8-or
16-bit color depth.
DNG - creates a new lossless RAW file based on the
Digital Negative specification. There are no options for size
or compression with this format. All changes made to the image will be discarded when creating the DNG file.
PNG - this option supports lossless data compression and is suitable for final distribution, however, while PNG offers good compatibility with web-browsers file sizes are usually larger than JPEG.
Specifying color space
The choice of color space (determined by the ICC Profile) depends on the final purpose of an image file. The sRGB color space should be adopted for all images intended for the Web, and the wider color gamut
Adobe RGB color space is a common choice for printing. When selecting images for a printing service or client, however, a custom profile may be preferred. While Capture One is supplied with several common profiles, it can access any of the system profiles, including CMYK color space profiles.
1. Highlight the recipe (or create a new recipe) to edit from the list in the
Process Recipes dialog, located under the Output Tool Tab.
2. Go to the
ICC Profile in the Process Recipe tool, under the Basic tab.
3. Click on the ICC Profile fly-out menu and select the relevant profile from the list. (Select Show All to view all the profiles available on system).
4. The selection is saved automatically to the highlighted recipe.
Proofing profiles
Capture One uses a specially adapted color space internally with an extremely wide color gamut for processing calculations and for displaying previews, however Capture One can render previews with a specific ICC color space profile applied. Proofing the output profile on-screen is useful for determining any unexpected color changes, and is a crucial step in a color-managed workflow. For example, prior to sending a file to print, where a mistake will result in the waste of ink, paper and time.
You can specify Capture One to render previews with the output profile applied directly by selecting the desired profile from the Proof Profile option available from the main menu (View>Proof Profile). Note the profiles associated with the original images (i.e. camera profiles) are not altered by Capture One.
1. Select the image variant in the browser that you want to apply the color profile to.
2. From the main menu, select View>Proof Profile, then from the fly-out menu, choose from one of the following:
Under Output Recipe Profiles>Selected Recipe (or one of listed recipes, if desired).
Select the appropriate profile from the list.
3. When choosing one of the Output Recipe Profiles, select the profile from the fly-out menu under
ICC Profile, listed in the Basic tab.
4. Make the final adjustments to the selected image. (It is recommended to make final edits to a cloned variant using the selected profile. Select the image variant, then right click>Clone Variant).
5. Click on the Process button, to apply processing and export the selected variant.
Image dimensions and resolution
When exporting an image for the Web or for printing, you can use
Capture One to resize images, keeping the total pixel count unchanged while adjusting the resolution to alter the image dimensions, or when resampling, specify both the resolution and image dimensions independently. Resizing, after cropping to the required aspect ratio, is generally considered to deliver the best quality for printing, however as resampling is carried out on the original data (and of the highest quality) it is suitable for any type of use. Capture One can resample images from
10-250%.
Note, as Capture One tags the image with the resolution and the total number of pixels remains unchanged when resizing, it may not be necessary to alter the image dimensions (e.g., to allow a printer driver or third-party application to resample instead).
Like other process settings in Capture One, the combination of print dimensions and resolution (i.e., image size or document size) is saved as a component of a Process Recipe and the settings are applied on export.
Set dimensions only (resize)
1. Highlight the recipe (or, preferably, create a new dedicated recipe) to edit from the list in the Process Recipes dialog.
2. Go to
Resolution in the Process Recipe tool, under the Basic tab
and enter the required resolution (e.g., 300 px/in).
3. Set the
Scale fly out menu to Fixed 100%. (Note when any setting other than Fixed (100%) is selected from the Scale fly-out menu,
Capture One will resample the image based on the specified resolution and image dimensions.)
4. In the
Process Summary dialog, verify the dimensions in the Size field (e.g., 18.72 x 12.8 in (5616 x 3744 px).
5. To increase or decrease the dimensions, return to step 2 and enter a lower or higher resolution respectively, and verify the values again in the Size field located in the Process Summary (click inside the dialog, to update the value).
6. After verifying, click the
Process button in the Process Summary dialog to export the selected images.
Set dimensions and resolution (resample)
1. Highlight the recipe (or, preferably, create a new dedicated recipe) to edit from the list in the Process Recipes dialog.
2. Go to
Resolution in the Process Recipe tool, under the Basic tab and enter the required figure (e.g., 300 px/in).
3. From the
Scale fly out menu choose from one of the following options, and with the exception of Fixed, specify the measurement unit and the dimension:
Fixed - To resample, specify a percentage other than 100%; less than that value will downsample, any value above will upsample using interpolation to add pixels. (E.g., selecting
200% doubles the dimensions).
Width - Use this option when exporting an image or series of images of the same orientation where the width is to be of a fixed value. The height will be scaled automatically. For example, use this when exporting landscape (horizontal) images to the web with a fixed width, or when printing a portrait (vertical) oriented image, with a height that doesn’t match standard paper sizes (e.g., when using a using a rollfed printer). Note, when cropping with the crop tool set to
Original, the image’s original aspect ratio is maintained.
Height - Use this option when exporting an image or series of images of the same orientation where the height is to be of a fixed value. The width will be scaled automatically. Use this option, for example, when printing an landscape (horizontal) oriented image with a wider aspect ratio than standard paper sizes (e.g., when using a using a roll fed printer). Note, when cropping with the crop tool set to
Original, the image’s original aspect ratio is maintained.
Dimensions - When the aspect ratios of the image variant match the intended exported settings, this option applies the higher value to the longer edge of the image and the lower value to the shorter edge. When the aspect ratios don’t match, set the crop tool to
Output and crop the image, otherwise
Capture One will apply just one value. Use this option, for example, when exporting a mixed orientation of images for printing where both paper dimensions are fixed (i.e., when using sheet fed paper).
Width x Height - This option resizes one dimension to fit within the dimensions specified, retaining the original aspect ratio, and irrespective of orientation. Use this option when exporting images with different aspect ratios, and of mixed orientation where both paper dimensions are fixed (i.e., when using sheet-fed paper).
Long edge - Performs a similar function to the Width/Height options but this should be used instead when exporting a mix of portrait (vertical) and landscape (horizontal) images where the long edge is to be of a fixed value.
Short edge - Performs a similar function to the Width/Height options but this should be used instead when exporting a mix of portrait (vertical) and landscape (horizontal) images where the short edge is to be of a fixed value.
Never Upscale - Select this option to prevent Capture One from upsampling (i.e., enlarging) an image (works with all options except Fixed).
4. Verify the print dimensions in the Process Summary dialog in the Size field (e.g., 23.4 x 16.5 in (7020 x 4950 px)).
5. To increase or decrease the resolution, return to step 2 and enter a lower or higher resolution respectively, and verify the values in the
Size field in the Process Summary (click inside the dialog to update the value).
6. After verifying, click the
Process button in the Process Summary dialog to export the selected images.
Open with an external application
To automatically open a processed file in another application once it has been processed in Capture One, select an option from the
Open
With drop-down menu.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Output Settings
Set the destination location for output and create and name folders and sub-folders from the Process Recipe’s File tab.
- Overview of the output workflow
- Select output location using root folder
- Name or append variants using the root folder
- Select destination location using output location tool
- Naming or renaming variants on output
Overview of the output workflow
When outputting image variants using one or more process recipes, you have several tools at your disposal that can be used collectively to select the destination location, name and create folders and rename the variants. You can either specify the location and create folders from the File tab of the Process
Recipe tool on an ad hoc basis, or you can use the File tab settings in combination with the Output Location tool.
Setting the destination location using the Output Location tool, however, is the recommended workflow, as the Process Recipe dialog (and all the options available under the various tabs) is primarily intended for the creation of individual recipes. In either case, the Output Naming tool should be used to name or rename variants, though the File tab’s Sub Name option can be used to append file names with labels, such as color space, format, or resolution.
Select output location using root folder
The Process Recipe’s File tab has an option to specify the destination location for the processed variants, or, to simplfy the process when more than one recipe is selected, defer to the Output Location tool instead.
See below for more details.
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Click on a recipe from the Process Recipes dialog to highlight it (i.e., highlighted with an orange or gray bar), or create a new recipe from specific settings and then select it by highlighting it.
3. Select the
File tab in the Process Recipe tool.
4. From the
Root Folder fly-out menu, choose where to export the processed files for the selected recipe. Select from the following options:
Output Location (default) - this defers the placement of processed image variants to the
Output Location tool, see the section below for more details.
Image Folder - this option returns the processed image files back to the folder with the original unprocessed images.
Select Folder… - you can select an existing folder, or create a new folder, either locally or on an external drive, flash-disk or network drive. If you select the Desktop as the output location, be sure to create a new folder for the images from the resulting dialog, or add a folder in the
Sub Folder option.
Note, you can verify the folder location using the Arrowshaped icon, next to the fly-out menu.
Name or append variants using the root folder
The Sub Name text field under the Process Recipe’s File tab can be used to name or rename variants. While this is a relatively simple task when processing variants using a single recipe, it is even more straightforward to use the Output Naming tool instead, especially when more than one recipe is selected. In that case, the recommended workflow is to adopt the Sub Name option to append a label, such as resolution, image size, or color space to the file name selected in the
Output Naming tool. For example, when you process a variant with one or more recipes, you can use this to add some useful properties to distinguish between the resulting variants (e.g., DSC1353_AdobeRGB_
300dpi and DSC1353_sRGB_1600px).
1. Go to the
Output Tool Tab
.
2. Click on a recipe from the
Process Recipes dialog to highlight it (i.e., highlighted with an orange or gray bar), or create a new recipe from
specific settings and then select it by highlighting it.
3. Select the
File tab in the Process Recipe tool.
4. From the Sub Name field add a name (e.g. TIFF Adobe RGB), or token (e.g. Recipe Format) from the Process Recipe Sub Name
Tokens dialog by clicking on the action button (…).
5. Go to the
Output Naming tool.
6. From the
Format action button (…), select the Sub Name token from the Naming Format dialog. Note this token should be added to others in this field to append file names, otherwise it will simply rename them.
Select destination location using output location tool
When the Output Location option is selected from the Root Folder fly-out menu of the Process Recipe tool, the destination location for processed variants is determined by the Output Location tool. When processing one recipe, you can use this tool for creating and naming folders instead of the File tab, avoiding repetitive editing of the recipe. However, when two or more recipes are selected, you can use the File tab settings to create a folder for each (e.g., JPEGs in one folder, TIFFs to another), and then use the Output Location tool to output those folders to the same destination folder.
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Highlight a recipe from the
Process Recipes dialog (i.e., the recipe is highlighted with an orange or gray bar), or create a new recipe and then select it by highlighting it.
3. Select the
File tab in the Process Recipe tool.
4. From the
Root Folder fly-out menu, select, or verify Output
Location from the list.
5. Go to the
Output Location tool.
6. From the
Destination menu, select from one of the following:
Choose Folder… and either, select an existing folder and click on
Set as Output Folder, or create a new folder from the dialog. If you select the Desktop as the output location from the dialog, be sure to have either, created a folder earlier in the
File Tab’s Sub Folder text field, or create one in the following step.
Output (Sessions only) - this option returns the processed variants to the Session Output Folder.
7. As an option to add a folder (or sub folder), in the
Sub Folder field, either select either a token from the naming dialog accessed via the adjacent icon, or type in a name.
8. Repeat steps 2 through 4 for each required recipe.
9. Check mark the required Process Recipes. (If all of the recipes’ settings have been selected under the various Process Recipe tabs, the variants are now ready to be processed and exported.)
10. Select
Process in the Process Summary tool.
Naming or renaming variants on output
Capture One’s Output Naming tool provides a wide range of options for naming processed variants on output. Although naming is independent of the process recipe, when two or more recipes are selected, and the exported image variants share the same destination folder, then they will be differentiated by a numerical value.
1. From the Output Tool Tab, go to the
Output Naming tool.
2. Enter a name directly in the
Format text field. Or, select the Naming
Format dialog by clicking on the Format action menu (…) icon, and make a selection from the tokens or presets available. A mixture of names and tokens (including counters) can be used. Note a token adopting the original image name is used by default.
3. When a counter token is selected, you can alter the value at which the counter starts along with the increment. You can also reset it.
Click on the action menu (…), next to the Help (?) button in the
Output Naming tool and make the selection from the relevant options.
4. To append the image name with a custom name, enter it directly in the
Job Name field. Note the Job Name token must be added to the
Format field for the name to be applied. You can use underscore
(_) to separate the token from the name, if desired.
5. Verify the file name and format in the
Sample field.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Managing Sharpening
During processing and outputting, you can apply sharpening based on the output device, or disable sharpening completely from the Process Recipe’s
Adjustments tab.
- Overview of output sharpening
- Apply output sharpening (print)
- Apply output sharpening screen (web)
- Apply capture and creative sharpening only
- Disable sharpening
- Disable cropping
Overview of output sharpening
As the third and final stage of a three-part sharpening workflow, Capture One Pro can add sharpening to image variants on output, based on the intended device: Print (inkjet or repro) or Screen (web or email).
Print sharpening relies on several factors, including the print size and resolution, viewing distance, and even the type of printer and paper. Therefore, the output sharpening for print tool differs slightly from the screen sharpening option. It offers the expected amount and threshold sliders, as well as a tool that allows you to set the viewing distance to calculate the radius. This tool is particularly useful when you know the distance that the print will be viewed from
(e.g., when displaying prints in an exhibition or gallery). However, if you prefer, you can also use the tool to set the radius based on the diagonal dimension of the print. As a rule, this can be set at either 100% or 150%.
When selecting the Output Sharpening for Screen option, the tab’s tools will change to replicate those found in the Sharpening tool under the Details Tool
Tab and includes sliders for amount, radius, and threshold. Each slider works in the same way.
Whether you are applying sharpening for print or screen, adjustments should be made after selecting the image variant’s size and resolution and with the recipe proofing option enabled. Note Capture One ships with recipes for an A3 300dpi print-ready TIFF and 1600px wide sRGB JPEG, complete with suggested sharpening settings.
Apply output sharpening (print)
When preparing an image variant for printing you will inevitably have to apply additional sharpening over what would normally look sharp on screen (i.e., after input and creative sharpening). When making adjustments, it is essential to specify the image variant’s dimensions and resolution under the Basic tab and to soft proof using the proof recipe option.
1. Select the image variant or variants in the browser.
2. Highlight the recipe to edit from the list in the
Process Recipes
dialog (or create a new recipe), located under the Output Tool tab.
3. From the
Basic tab, set the image size using the Resolution/Scale options as desired.
4. Enable
Recipe Proofing, and set the viewer magnification to 100% initially.
5. Go to the Adjustments tab in the
Process Recipe tool.
6. From the Sharpening fly-out menu, select
Output Sharpening for
Print. The tab’s tools will change and include sliders for Amount,
Radius, and options for Distance.
7. Specify the viewing distance, if known, and click on the
Distance flyout menu to select units (inches or centimeters), otherwise select
%
of Diagonal and, as a general rule, select 100% or 150%.
8. Set threshold first and increase if noise is visible. Then adjust the amount using the slider or the up/down arrow keys, while looking at the effects on-screen (while soft-proofing) at 100% and then at 50%.
When halo artifacts or aliasing become visible or distracting, lower the amount and/or threshold in small steps until they’re acceptable.
9. The settings are automatically saved so they can be used again.
However, it is recommended that the settings are saved as a component of a new recipe, so that they’re less likely to be accidentally overwritten.
Apply output sharpening screen (web)
After applying capture sharpening and creative sharpening the on-screen image will typically look sharp, however you can use the output sharpening for screen option to counteract any softening effects caused by downsizing images for the web or email.
1. Select the image variant or variants in the browser.
2. Highlight the recipe to edit from the list in the
Process Recipes
dialog (or create a new recipe), located under the Output Tool Tab.
3. From the
Basic tab, set the image size using the Resolution/Scale options as desired.
4. Enable
Recipe Proofing.
5. Go to the Adjustments tab in the
Process Recipe tool.
6. From the
Sharpening fly-out menu, select Output Sharpening for
Screen.
7. The tab’s tools will change to replicate those found under Details Tool
Tab and include sliders for
Amount, Radius, and Threshold.
8. Adjust the sliders or specify the value and evaluate the effects onscreen (while soft-proofing) at 100%. Set the radius and threshold if necessary, then adjust the amount. When halo artifacts or aliasing become visible or distracting, lower the radius, and/or amount if necessary until they’re acceptable.
9. The settings are automatically saved so they can be used again, however, it is recommended that they are saved as a component of a new recipe, so that they are not overwritten accidentally.
Apply capture and creative sharpening only
Select the Disable Output Sharpening option when you want to leave any capture sharpening and creative sharpening applied to the variant in place.
1. Select the image variant or variants in the browser.
2. Highlight the recipe to edit from the list in the Process Recipes dialog
(or create a new recipe), located under the Output Tool Tab.
3. Select the
Adjustments tab in the Process Recipe tool.
4. From the Sharpening fly-out menu, select
No Output Sharpening.
5. When you need to apply the same setting to similar images, this option can be saved as a component of a new recipe.
Disable sharpening
When a client or printing service would prefer to add their own sharpening settings to your images, you can remove any sharpening previously applied in Capture One from your JPEG, PSD or TIFF files on export. Note, this setting disables diffraction correction, lens falloff and selective sharpening applied as a local adjustment, however clarity applied to the variant is not disabled.
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Select the Adjustments tab in the Process Recipe tool.
3. From the Sharpening fly-out menu, select
Disable All.
Disable cropping
Capture One lets you output image variants without cropping, by simply selecting Ignore Crop in the process recipe. For example, this is useful when supplying variants with and without a crop applied, as you can simply create an otherwise identical recipe to disable the crop on one of the variants.
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Select the
Adjustments tab in the Process Recipe tool.
3. Checkmark the
Ignore Crop box to remove any cropping applied.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Managing Keywords and other Metadata
The Process Recipe’s Metadata tab is used to manage ratings and color tags, copyright information, GPS and EXIF data and keywords.
- Specifying metadata on export
- Managing keywords on output
Specifying metadata on export
Capture One has the option of removing (or stripping) metadata from image variants on export. Like other recipe settings, specifying or controlling metadata is an integral part of each process recipe. Capture
One offers the option to remove specific metadata depending on your requirements. You can choose to remove the following: Rating and Color
Tag, Copyright, GPS coordinates, Camera (EXIF) metadata, Keywords
(see more below) and All Other (IPTC). The default setting includes
All
Metadata information, with the exception of Ratings and Color Tags.
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Select the Metadata tab in the Process Recipe tool.
3. Un-check the relevant boxes to remove any metadata associated with the image variants selected for processing and exporting.
Managing keywords on output
When exporting images, Capture One will include any assigned keywords from shared keyword libraries by default. However, you can select specific keyword libraries to assign to images during output. This is particularly useful when you have a controlled vocabularly for a particular use, for example, a news agency or stock library.
1. Select the appropriate recipe form the
Process Recipes list. The recipe is then highlighted in orange. (Note that if multiple recipes are to be used for output, the following selection will have to be made for each recipe).
2. From the
Process Recipe tool located under the Output Tool tab, select the Metadata tab.
3. Click on the Text field under Include Keywords and select From selected keyword libraries.
4. Choose the relevant library from the list. (Only shared libraries can be chosen.)
Online Help
Capture One 10
Adding a Watermark
You can add a watermark to variants from the Process Recipe tool’s Watermark tab.
- Add a watermark
- Create a text watermark
- Create a graphical watermark
Add a watermark
Capture One allows you to add watermarks to variants on output, to protect your copyright and deter others from unauthorized use of your images. The Process Recipes tool allows the option to create a watermark using the system’s fonts, or to import a ready-made graphics file or image with a transparent background. Capture One is compatible with all common image file formats that support transparency for use as a watermark.
Create a text watermark
Pro
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Choose the Watermark tab in the
Process Recipe tool.
3. Select
Text from the Kind drop down menu.
4. Type the watermark into the
Text field.
5. Press the Font
menu icon to adjust the font and color of the text.
6. Adjust
Opacity and Scale sliders to the desired level.
7. Adjust the placement of the watermark using the
Horizontal and
Vertical sliders or by selecting the hand cursor tool (h).
Create a graphical watermark
Pro
1. Go to the Output Tool Tab.
2. Choose the Watermark tab in the
Process Recipe tool.
3. Select
Image from the Kind drop down menu.
4. Drag and drop a file to the image area or browse for an image using the File link below the image area.
5. Adjust
Opacity and Scale sliders to the desired level.
6. Adjust the placement of the watermark using the
Horizontal and
Vertical sliders or by selecting the hand cursor tool (h).
N.B. Capture One supports all common image file formats for use as a watermark.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Batch Queue and Processing History
Capture One automatically processes and outputs batches of photos, arranging them in a queue or line as computer resources dictate. A history or record of images that have been previously output is maintained, making it easy to find individual photos for reprocessing.
- Edit the batch
- Process history
- Reprocess files (history tab)
Edit the batch
1. Go to the
Batch Tool Tab
.
2. Choose the
Queue tab.
3. A batch of files can be changed and reordered. Simply drag and drop files to the desired order during processing.
4. Highlight a file(s) and press backspace (on your keyboard) to remove it from the Batch Queue at any time.
5. Press the
Stop or Start button (at the bottom of the Batch Tool Tab) to stop or restart the queue at any time.
Process history
The Batch Tool Tab shows a history of all recent files that have been processed. When there is a need for further copies of these images, you can simply reprocess them.
Reprocess files (history tab)
1. Go to the Batch Tool Tab.
2. Select the
History tab.
3. Highlight any previously processed files and press the
Reprocess
Selected button.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Web Gallery
WEB CONTACT SHEET / JPEG
The Web Contact Sheet lets you showcase your work by creating web photo galleries.
Introduction
Create a web gallery from a selection of flexible templates for impressive web based image presentations. You can insert a title, a text description and a copyright and set the image size and quality (N.B. Smaller size files are preferable when e-mailing to a client).
Create a web contact sheet
1. Select the desired thumbnail files in the
Browser
.
2. Select File>Make Web Contact Sheet…
The Web Contact Sheet module opens in a window on top of the
Capture One window.
3. Select a
Theme. (A Classic (Dark/Light) theme is similar to a contact sheet featuring thumbnails). In this example the Full screen (Dark) option has been selected.
4. Fill in any TEXT fields. (Title, Description, Copyright and Web-link).
5. Set the desired thumbnail, preview and quality size.
6. Select a
Path folder in the Web Sheet Output tool.
7. Check mark the
Show after Export if you want to see the gallery in your web browser.
8. Press the
Export button in the bottom right corner.
Add an image caption
1. Select the desired thumbnail files in the
Browser
.
2. Select File>Make Web Contact Sheet…
The Web Contact Sheet module opens in a window on top of the
Capture One window.
3. Go to the
Images tool and select one of the options from the Caption drop down menu.
4. Check mark the
Show after Export if you want to see the gallery in your web browser.
5. Press the
Export button in the bottom right corner.
Online Help
Capture One 10
File Formats
Find out about the file format options in Capture One when exporting.
Output File Formats
Find out which file format suits your needs. Capture One enables users to export files into a number of different formats including TIFF, DNG, PNG, PSD and four types of
JPEG.
Enhanced Image Package (EIP)
Pro
Learn about the benefits of exporting RAW files using Capture One’s Enhanced Image
Package feature.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Output File Formats
RAW / OUTPUT / BATCH / EIP / IIQ / JPEG
Find out which file format suits your needs. Capture One enables users to export files into a number of different formats including TIFF, DNG, PNG, PSD and four types of JPEG.
- Choose a file format
- File format output options
Choose a file format
1. Go to the
Output Tool Tab
.
2. In the Process Recipe tool, select one of the options from the
Format
drop down menu.
3. It is also possible to select either 8 or 16 bit with some of the file formats. (It will automatically be disabled for incompatible image file formats).
Find out more on processing here
.
File format output options
JPEG is short for Joint Photographic Experts Group. It is a compressed format that in definition is a lossy-format, which means you lose some of the original information in the image file but benefit by having a much smaller file than TIFF or RAW.
The
JPEG QuickProof™ format option creates images for evaluation purposes. Capture One creates the image file from the proxy file and the settings file without additional calculations or filters. JPEG QuickProof should not be considered as a completed file; it is ideal for ultra quick evaluation purposes only.
JPEG XR (eXtended Range) delivers high-resolution files. It is a larger file size than a standard JPEG and supports lossless and lossy compression. It supports improved color accuracy with 16 bits per channel for a 48 bit image.
JPEG 2000 is, in essence, an improved file format standard that was developed with the aim to superseding the original JPEG in the year 2000. It delivers better compression of images by up to
20% according to the Joint Photographic Experts Group. (Source: www.jpeg.org
)
TIFF stands for Tagged Image File Format. It is a popular lossless format that provides high color depth. A TIFF is larger than a
JPEG but are ideal to preserve maximum quality. A TIFF also enables the option of 16 bit output per channel.
The
DNG (Digital Negative) format in Capture One, in essence, creates a new RAW file. There are no options for size or compression with this format. Alterations made in Capture One to the metadata and original (As Shot) White Balance will be saved
– this does not affect image quality. All other changes made to an image will be discarded when creating the DNG file.
PNG stands for Portable Network Graphics and employs lossless data compression. PNG is commonly associated with Internet usage. It does not support color spaces such as CMYK. A PSD
(Photoshop Document) is fully compatible with imaging editing procedures in Photoshop.
A
PSD file output using Capture One is, in essence, a flattened image file and has no adjustments layers that have been applied in the Local Adjustments tool tab.
Tip: Please check file format compatibility with other software solutions.
It is worth noting that many image editing programs will need a plug-in to support different formats such as JPEG XR and JPEG 2000.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Enhanced Image Package (EIP)
Pro
EIP / IIQ / RAW / PROCESS IMAGES / PROCESS RECIPE / OUTPUT NAMING
Learn about the benefits of exporting RAW files using Capture One’s Enhanced Image Package feature.
- Overview of EIP workflow
- Pack as .EIP in sessions
- Unpack .EIP files in Sessions
- Automatically convert all Phase One digital files to .EIP
- Share EIP files
- Export as EIP from sessions and catalogs
Overview of EIP workflow
Capture One’s Enhanced Image Package (EIP) option offers a reliable and non-destructive method of packing copies of the original RAW file, along with the associated settings in one convenient container suitable for sharing. The image file will be seen exactly as you created it, yet, when unpacked, the RAW file is available for further adjustment like any other. All RAW files supported by Capture One can be packed as EIP.
Packing an EIP file in effect puts a wrapper around the RAW file complete with the settings file, and ICC and LCC profiles, where appropriate, and then adds the adjustments in a seperate folder. EIP is an extension of a sessions workflow, primarily. After editing, the file can then be sent to another Mac or
PC running Capture One, opened and worked on by another user.
Catalogs can import EIPs but they do not have the ability to pack and unpack files as they do in a session workflow. The option to pack a copy of a RAW file as EIP on Export, however, is available when using a catalog based workflow and this is offered when working in sessions as well. See below for more details.
Pack as .EIP in sessions
1. Select the intended images that will be packed as .EIP
2. From the main menu, choose File>Pack as EIP.
3. The files are now automatically packed and will be named .EIP
Note: EIP is not recommended for use with catalogs.
Unpack .EIP files in Sessions
1. Select the images that need to be unpacked.
2. Choose File>Unpack EIP.
3. The files are now automatically unpacked and will display the original file extension.
Note: An EIP is not recommended for use with catalogs. Always unpack an EIP before using it in a catalog.
Automatically convert all Phase One digital files to .EIP
1. Choose Capture One>Preferences.
2. Open the Image tab.
3. Check mark
Pack as EIP when importing.
4. Check mark
Pack as EIP when capturing.
The image file is now integrated in the Enhanced Image Package. The
.EIP is simply replacing the image files. The setting files will be removed from the relevant folders and will also be included in the package.
Note: An EIP is not recommended for use with catalogs. Always unpack an EIP before using it in a catalog.
Share EIP files
Catalog users can benefit from EIP export for simplified transportation of RAW and settings files and profiles, off system. In the Export originals panel, you will find an option to Export as EIP. Sessions users can also choose to Export originals. In both cases this creates a workflow where the original RAW file and adjustments are copied and exported as a single EIP file.
Although EIP files can be imported into a catalog, with or without any previous adjustments applied like a session, EIP files cannot be unpacked in a catalog.
It is therefore recommended that EIP files are unpacked before using them in a catalog or that they continue to be handled in a session.
Export as EIP from sessions and catalogs
1. Select the intended images that will be shared as .EIP.
2. From the main menu, choose File>Export Images>Originals.
3. Add any folder and file name information using the Location and Naming tools where necessary, and check mark
Pack As EIP under the Options palette.
4. Click on Export Original. The files are now automatically packed and the extensions will be renamed .EIP.
Note: JPEG and TIFF files cannot be packed as EIP.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Colors in Capture One
COLORS / PROCESS IMAGES / PROCESS RECIPE
Discover how Capture One deals with image color.
- Introduction
- Purpose and color spaces
- Set a permanent color space
Introduction
Essential information regarding colors in Capture One:
Capture One deals with colors in two ways: internally and for output.
Capture One works in a very large color space, similar to that captured by camera sensors. A large color space ensures that little clipping of the color data can occur. Clipping is the loss of image information in a region of an image. Clipping appears when one or more color values are larger than the histogram (color space of the output file).
At the end of the workflow, the RAW data has to be processed to pixel based image files, in defined color spaces. These spaces are smaller than the internal color space used by Capture One.
When processing, some color data will be discarded. This is why it is paramount to perform color corrections and optimizations to images before processing to a smaller color space.
Capture One provides accurate color by reading the cameragenerated RAW information, file header and settings file.
A RAW file is assigned a color profile once Capture One has established which camera model has been used. The RAW data is then translated to the internal working color space of Capture
One and it is here that edits can be applied.
Image data is converted, by means of ICC profiles, to industry standard spaces such as Adobe RGB or sRGB during the processing stage.
Purpose and color spaces
Color Output Settings
Capture One Express can output to any RGB color space while Capture One PRO can also output CMYK. (It is necessary that the ICC profile is available on the local machine).
For Web
Images that are intended to be published on web sites should always be processed into the sRGB color space as few web-browsers are capable of color management and the subtleties of images will not only be lost but can also be incorrectly displayed. Images processed in larger color spaces like AdobeRGB will be displayed with less color (especially green), and are often slightly too dark when shown in browsers which only displays sRGB.
For Print
Images for print should be output to suit the requirements of the client or lab. Adobe RGB is a large color space that is capable of expressing a wider gamut of colors than sRGB. Adobe RGB is, therefore, the preferred choice for images that are likely to receive extensive processing or retouching.
Camera Profiling
Embedding the ICC color profile into the processed file (ICC Profile>Embed Camera profile) ensures that no color changes are made to the image data, which is particularly important for creating camera profiles.
Retouching/Manipulation
Image files that are intended to receive intensive retouching and manipulation can benefit by being processed and output in 16 bit to ProPhoto RGB, which is an even larger color space than Adobe RGB.
CMYK Color Spaces
Capture One Pro provides a selection of the most common CMYK color spaces. The photographer can convert to CMYK during processing to secure picture quality instead of applying this color space conversion in postproduction. CMYK is controlled on the
Output Tool Tab
.
Set a permanent color space
1. Select View>Proof Profile.
2. Select the desired profile or output recipe for permanent usage in the
Viewer
.
Note: A permanent Color Profile seen in the Viewer may produce moderately different colors than the actual output image.
The default setting displays the image in the viewer in the color space that is selected in the highlighted Process Recipe. To ensure image quality for off-set printing; highlight the CMYK process recipe and the colors are instantly converted to the color space selected in the process recipe. Perform final corrections before processing
.
Завантажити
Реклама