Optimizing Your Workflow. Phase One Capture Pilot, Capture One 10
Werbung
Werbung
Online Help
Capture One 10
Optimizing Your Workflow
This section provides background information about customization and workflow tips to aid in a Capture One workflow that meets your needs
Workflow Basics
Learn how to copy adjustments from one image to another, view before and after images and how to reset and undo image adjustments.
Preferences and Customization
Customize Capture One to support your specific workflow, needs and preferences. You can customize the toolbar and setup your own workspaces.
Keyboard Shortcuts
Get an overview of all the keyboard shortcuts and create your own with this easy to follow guide.
Change the Default Settings
Capture One automatically selects a recommended default setting for all image files from recognized cameras. It is also possible to apply a user defined default setting.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Workflow Basics
WORKFLOW / COPY AND APPLY / CUSTOMIZATION / PREFERENCES / WORKSPACES
Learn how to copy adjustments from one image to another, view before and after images and how to reset and undo image adjustments.
- Local copy and apply
- Quick local copy and apply
- Local copy and apply using the clipboard
- Global copy and apply
- Reset and undo
- Mouse functionality
- Primary variant or selected variants
- Variants and clones
- Quick guide: Primary and selected variants
- Select multiple variants
- Select primary variant only
- Select images by variant position
- Select primary variant from multiple images
- Edit primary variant only
- Deselect primary variant
- Navigate image selections by sets
- Select images by file name
- Create an album from a selection
- Navigate by user collection
Local copy and apply
Copy and apply adjustments made with a tool to one or more images.
1. Press the
Edit Selected
variants icon.
2. Select the image that you want to copy the adjustment from in the browser. (The thumbnail will have a thick white border).
3. Now select the image thumbnails that you want to apply the adjustment to. (The thumbnail(s) will have a thin white border in the browser).
4. Press the small double-ended arrow icon on the tool. A dialog box will appear.
5. Press Apply at the bottom of the dialog box. The adjustment will be applied to the selected images.
Quick local copy and apply
Instantly copy adjustments made with a tool to one or more images.
1. Press the
Edit Selected
variants icon to enable multiple editing. The icon will turn orange when enabled. (See circled in the toolbar.)
2. Select the image that you want to copy the adjustment from. (The thumbnail will have a thick white border in the browser.)
3. Now select the image thumbnails that you want to apply the adjustment to. (The thumbnail(s) will have a thin white border in the browser.)
4. Hold down the shift on your keyboard and press the small doubleended arrow icon on the tool. (See example circled at the top of the
Levels tool).
5. The adjustment will be instantly applied to the selected images.
Local copy and apply using the clipboard
Copy adjustments made with a tool to the Clipboard and apply to one or more images.
1. Select the image that you want to copy the adjustment from. (The thumbnail will have a thick white border
in the browser).
2. Press the small double-ended arrow icon on the tool. A dialog box will appear.
3. Press Copy at the bottom of the dialog box.
4. Select the image thumbnails that you want to apply the adjustment to in the
Browser
. Press the
Edit Selected
variants icon.
5. Select the
Adjustments Tool Tab
. Notice that the copied adjustments will have a check mark next to them in the Adjustments Clipboard tool. Deselect any adjustments with a check mark if you do not want them applied to the selected images.
6. Press Apply at the bottom of the Adjustments Clipboard tool. The adjustment will be applied to the selected images.
Global copy and apply
Perform a Global Copy and Apply of adjustments made in all tools to other images.
1. Press the left arrow (located in the top right of the user interface) to copy all the adjustments made to an image.
2. Alternatively, go to the
Cursor Tools
and select the Copy Adjustments arrow.
3. Select all the images that you want to apply the settings to in the
Browser
.
4. Apply the adjustments by pressing the right-arrow (Paste) in the top toolbar or in the Cursor Tools.
5. All changes made to an image can also be saved as a Style. For more information, see the section on how
To create a Style
.
Reset and undo
Reset (Global): Press this icon to reset all applied adjustments to an image.
Reset (Local): Most tools have an individual reset icon. Press this icon to reset any adjustments made by a specific tool.
Undo/Redo: Press the icon on the left to undo the last adjustment or action. You can continue to press this icon to undo all previous adjustments or actions. The Redo icon (on the right) will become active as soon as the undo button is pressed.
Find out more about Customizing the toolbar .
Mouse functionality
The Viewer: Place the mouse cursor over an image in the Viewer; moving the scroll wheel up will zoom in and out of an image accordingly.
The Browser: Place the mouse cursor anywhere in the Image Browser.
Use the mouse scroll wheel to scroll up and down in the image collection.
Sliders and Input Fields: Place the mouse cursor over a slider in any given tool and use the scroll wheel to fine-tune the slider settings. Place the mouse cursor over any input field and adjust it by moving the scroll wheel up or down.
Curve Points: The mouse scroll wheel control can help fine-tune a
Curve. Pick Curve points and use the mouse scroll wheel to precisely adjust them as desired.
Primary variant or selected variants
Press the Edit Selected variants icon ( ) to toggle between editing the
Primary Variant (the thumbnail in the browser with the thick white border
) and editing Selected Variants (all selected images
in the Browser). If this button is not enabled then edit actions are only performed on the Primary
Variant. Learn how to select and view multiple images
.
It is important to ensure the Edit Selected variants feature is enabled when you want, for example, to copy adjustments from one image and apply them to other selected image files. See
Global Copy and Apply
and
Local Copy and Apply .
Variants and clones
Display Before and After Images
When you want to compare two versions of an image in pre and post production once you’ve applied your adjustments, you can either create a variant clone and reset the adjustments, or a create a new variant that acts in the same way (i.e., by resetting the adjustments to the Capture
One defaults).
1. To create a New Variant and create a preview of the same image that has had no adjustments applied, press F2/F7 (Mac/Windows).
Alternatively, go to Image>New Variant. (The New Variant is not a duplicate of your original RAW file, merely a preview with the default settings applied).
2. To create a Clone Variant of a selected image, press F3/F8
(Mac/Windows). Alternatively, go to Image>Clone Variant. (This will produce another preview of the selected image with the same adjustments you applied).
3. To display before and after images (in the Viewer), select both the primary variant and either the new variant or clone in the
Browser
.
Ensure the Multi View icon ( ) is selected.
4. Alternatively, press the Alt key and click
Local Reset
button ( ) while holding and releasing the mouse button down to toggle a chosen tool's adjustments on and off.
Quick guide: Primary and selected variants
Primary Variant: This, in essence, is the selected image that you want to edit. The Primary Variant has a thick white border when viewed in the browser. Use the Primary Variant to copy adjustments to other selected variants.
Selected Variant(s): A thin white border is present on all selected variants in the Browser. Press the Edit Selected variants icon (
) to apply adjustments to these files. These thumbnails can also be displayed in the Viewer. Learn how to select and view multiple images .
Also see Global Copy and Apply and Local Copy and Apply .
N.B. Only selected thumbnails (i.e., variants) have a white border.
Select multiple variants
Viewing multiple images from a collection or a variant group can be useful when you want to assess several images side-by-side for various reasons (e.g., color, focus accuracy, exposure density, etc.), or when you want to apply the same settings, rating or adjustments to images simultaneously. A maximum of 12 images are displayed in the viewer at any one time. (When more than 12 are selected, only 11 will be displayed.) For more information on variant groups, see the section on
Clones and Variants
.
1. Choose from one of the following:
From the main menu, select Edit > Select All (or press
Cmd+A/Ctrl+A (Mac/Windows)).
Click on the first variant in the series that you want to select, then press shift and click on the last image variant in the series.
Click on the relevant variant in the series that you want to select and press Cmd/Ctrl (Mac/Windows). Repeat to add images.
2. A selection of image variants can be de-selected at anytime from the main menu, select Edit > Deselect All (or press
Shift+Cmd+A/Ctrl+Shift+A (Mac/Windows)).
Select primary variant only
When working with a variant group, or simply any selection of image variants, you can easily isolate the primary variant from the rest. For example, you can use this option when you want to return to a particular image to edit in a selection. The following instructions are assuming
multiple image variants are selected already.
1. From the main menu, select Edit > Select Primary Variant Only, or shift-click on the primary variant in the browser (note there is no shortcut assigned by default, but it can be added, see
Working with shortcuts
for more information).
2. The Primary Variant is displayed by itself in the Viewer.
Select images by variant position
You can select variants by their position in the variant group. You can use this to isolate images from batches of cloned variant groups for a specific task. When you have created multiple variant groups with identical adjustments applied to each of the variants in the group, you can use this option when, for example, you want to export all the variants at position three from within a collection. For more information on variant groups, see the section on
Clones and Variants
.
1. Open all the variant groups that you want included in the selection.
2. Select the relevant variant from an open group or stack.
3. Right-click and choose Select By Same > Variant Position.
4. All those variants occupying the same position in the collection will be selected and displayed in the viewer. (Variants in closed groups will not be selected or displayed.)
Select primary variant from multiple images
When you want to assess images in a selection or variant group,
Capture One allows you to navigate the selection by one image at a time. This image is called the primary variant. Being able to select one image at a time is useful when you want to work on it without adjusting any of the others selected while observing and comparing the effect. The following instructions assume multiple image variants are selected already.
1. To navigate the selection/group, choose from one of the following options:
From the main menu, select Edit > Select
First/Previous/Next/Last (or press cmd/Ctrl+ relevant direction arrow (Mac/Windows).
Using a mouse or pen, click directly on the required image.
2. When you want to edit the Primary Variant, verify that the
Edit All
Selected Variants option is deselected in the menu or Toolbar. See
Edit primary variant below for more details.
Edit primary variant only
You can edit the primary variant from a selection of multiple images while observing the adjustments against the others in the viewer. Note the size of the images displayed is dependant upon the screen size and the number of selected images (up to 11 images can be shown in the viewer at any one time). The following instructions assume multiple image variants are already selected.
1. Navigate to the image in the selection/group.
2. From the main menu, deselect Edit > Edit All Selected Variants, or click on the multiple thumbnail icon in the Toolbar if active (orange), returning the icon to gray. Failure to deselect the Edit All Selected
Variants option or icon will, naturally, result in all of the selected images being adjusted simultaneously.
3. The Primary Variant is ready to be edited.
Deselect primary variant
Capture One offers an easy option to remove the primary variant from a selection of images. This is useful when you want to exclude that image from any further adjustments. For example, when the primary variant is ready for export or is to be used as a reference image. The following instructions assume multiple image variants are already selected.
1. From the main menu, select Edit > Deselect Primary Variant.
2. The Primary Variant is removed from the selection.
3. To return the Primary Variant back to that selection/group, from the main menu, select Edit > Undo/Undo Change Selection
(cmd+Z/Ctrl+Z (Mac/Windows)).
Navigate image selections by sets
Capture One allows you to navigate selected image variants by sets
(e.g., a pair, or three or four images). For example, when you have two or more images selected for comparison in the viewer, you can move to the next set by the same number without having to manually select each image every time. Besides being a time saver, this is a convenient way to assess and navigate a large collection of images in the browser. It can also be used when applying ratings, keywords, presets or styles to images.
1. Select a number of images in the browser (e.g., a pair, or four images).
2. Apply adjustments, ratings, or keywords as necessary.
3. From the main menu, select Edit > Select Next Set (or press option+right arrow/alt+right arrow (Mac/Windows)).
4. To navigate back, select Edit > Select Previous Set (or press option+left arrow/alt+left arrow (Mac/Windows)).
Select images by file name
It can occasionally be difficult to find an image, even when using keywords or other metadata. However, when you know the file name then Capture One can be used to search for a specific image. Capture
One can also search for multiple images using a list of file names. If a client is monitoring a session, or a request is made to locate an image after making a submission from a catalog, this option greatly simplifies the search. List separators can be chosen for the most common options.
1. When searching a catalog, from the Library, under Catalog
Collections, select
All Images. (When searching a session, from
Session Albums, select
All Images.)
2. From the main menu, select Edit > Select By Filename. A dialog box will open.
3. Type in (or copy and paste) the relevant file names that you’re searching for in the text box.
4. When searching a list, select the appropriate method to distinguish between file names from the
Delimiter fly-out menu.
5. Select
Ignore file extension when you are searching for variants in multiple file formats (i.e., both RAW and JPEG).
Create an album from a selection
Any selection of image variants or variant group can be made into an album. When making an album from a variant group, only one of the variants from that group requires selection.
1. Select the image variants in the Browser.
2. Right click one of the selected images, and select Create Albums
From > Selection... A new collection dialog opens.
3. Name the collection or album.
4. Check-mark
Select collection after creation, when you want
Capture One to automatically display the contents afterwards, either to confirm the successful creation and addition of images, or to work in that album. (When deselected, the album contents will not be automatically displayed, however, it can be manually selected to display the contents at any time.)
5. Check-mark
Add selected images after creation, when you want
Capture One to add the images. (When deselected, the album will be created but images have to be added manually afterwards. This option is intended to be used when setting up new albums from
scratch, typically before images are selected.)
6. Click on
OK to create the new Album.
Navigate by user collection
You can, of course, already navigate and select catalog collections and user collections (i.e., groups, projects, albums and smart albums), as well as session folders, simply by clicking on them with a mouse or pen, or, by touch when you’re using a suitably equipped screen. However, you can also navigate collections using the menu and by shortcuts, if you prefer. The following description assumes that User Collections have been previously created.
1. From the Library, navigate downwards using the menu and select
Edit>Select Collection>Next Collection (or press Ctrl+Shift+S
(Mac/Windows)). Repeat to move down collections, including subfolders (e.g., albums and smart-albums) if expanded.
2. To navigate back up collections, from the menu, select Edit>Select
Collection>Previous Collection (or press Ctrl+Shift+W
(Mac/Windows)).
3. To reveal or expand the Collection (when there’s a sub-folder hierarchy of albums, for example), from the menu select Edit>Select
Collection>Step in/Expand (or press Ctrl+Shift+D (Mac/Windows)).
The next sub-folder in the hierarchy will be revealed. Repeat to expand successive sub-folders, if not already expanded.
4. To select the next folder in the selected collection’s hierarchy, select
Edit>Select Collection>Next Collection (or press Ctrl+Shift+S
(Mac/Windows)). When selecting this option and the collection has not been expanded already, the next collection in the Library will be selected instead (as in step 1).
5. To close or collapse a collection, from the menu, select Edit>Select
Collection>Step out/Collapse (or press Ctrl+Shift+A (Mac/Windows)).
Online Help
Capture One 10
Preferences and Customization
Customize Capture One to support your specific workflow, needs and preferences. You can customize the toolbar and setup your own workspaces.
Global Application Preferences
Capture One Preferences enables customization of the application to help aid workflow.
Customize the Toolbar
Pro
Add or remove tools to create a customized toolbar.
Customized Workspaces
Pro
Capture One provides several different fully-customizable workspace layouts for working with your images.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Global Application Preferences
PREFERENCES / CUSTOMIZATION
Capture One Preferences enables customization of the application to help aid workflow.
- Open preferences
- General
- Appearance
- Image
- Capture
- Color
- Exposure
- Crop
- Focus
- Warnings
- Update
Open preferences
Go to Capture One > Preferences (Mac), or Edit >
Preferences (Windows), to edit and personalize Capture One’s global applications preferences.
General
Select General settings relating to the
Viewer, Catalog and Session,
Recent Captures Collection, Importing, Hardware Acceleration (Use
OpenCL), Activities, Favorites, Catalog Backup, Media Pro, and
Tangent Integration.
Viewer
Enable or disable the mouse scroll wheel to zoom into images displayed in the Viewer.
Catalog and Session
Open a new Catalog or Session in a new window in addition to the current open window. Deselect this check box to replace the current window with the new Catalog or Session.
Recent Captures Collection
Choose the duration after when a Recent Catpures folder will be created in the Library. This is useful to isolate groups of images when shooting tethered throughout the day. Select the duration from the fly-out menu.
Importing
When detecting a memory card in a card reader, choose between whether the importer dialog opens automatically, or ignores it.
Hardware Acceleration (Use OpenCL for)
Choose
Auto from both the Display and Processing drop down menus to improve performance. The
Auto setting will automatically determine whether your graphics card will produce a faster performance than the
CPU (Central Processing Unit) in your computer. Select
Never if you are experiencing stability problems. Note, OpenCL stands for Open
Computing Language.
Activities
Enable or disable the activities icon, when Capture One is busy.
Favorites
Choose the appropriate action for adding Session Folders to Favorites from the fly-out menu.
Catalog Backup
From the
Remind on close fly-out menu, select the frequency for backing up Capture One catalogs based on the volume of work. Backup catalogs do
not contain any source (i.e., original) image files, whether referenced or stored internally.
The
Location field displays the path to the current backup location. Click on the arrow icon to verify the setting. The default location for backing up catalogs is in the User’s Application Support folder in the Library (Mac), however, where possible, back up to an external disk is recommended.
This backup location, for example, can be the same disk as the source of the original images. Attach an external disk and click on the action button
(
…) then, either create a new folder, or navigate to one created earlier. Note the external disk should be backed up independently, as per your chosen backup regime.
Note when closing a catalog, a dialog will open reminding you to back it up. You can leave it to back up to the location defined as above, in the global preferences dialog, or to temporarily override the location (use this option when backing up to frequently changed external drives).
Additional options to Test Integrity and Optimize Catalog should be left enabled, unless you require a quick and temporary back-up.
To reset the only displayed settings, click the Defaults button at the bottom of the tab.
Media Pro
When importing Media Pro catalogs, metadata and Catalog Set information from Media Pro can be used by Capture One to update image variants and Albums, respectively. Select the intended action for each, as desired.
Tangent Integration
Capture One’s interface and the majority of the tool set can be controlled by grading hardware panels from Tangent. The implementation takes advantage of the Tangent Mapper SDK, exposing over 460 properties that can be mapped in almost infinite configuration. Support requires the
Tangent Hub application to be installed from www.tangentwave.co.uk
. (To download the Tangent Hub application, select support for your panel model, then from the Application Support drop-down, select Map
Unsupported Application and choose the appropriate OS installer.)
Appearance
Viewer
The background pattern and the color of the viewer can be adjusted to different shades of gray, white and black. The Capture One default is a dark neutral background. The size of margins and proof margins can also be adjusted here.
Local Adjustments
The Local Adjustment Mask Color can be altered. Click on the icon and select the color from the dialog.
Image
Adjust the functionality or handling of different types of files.
Cache
The image preview size (px)
value can be adjusted to set the size of the proxy file. The higher the Preview Image Size, the higher quality of the
Quickproof output recipe and preview image that Capture One generates. Preview sizes of 3840 px and 5120 px have been added to improve the interactive performance of the preview image when applying adjustments on UHD/4K and 5K screens. The 3840 px setting is also recommended for DCI 4K (4096 x 2160 px) displays. A large cache
setting will, however, increase the amount of time it takes to load previews and thumbnails in the application.
EIP Packing (Sessions only)
Check mark one of the options if an .EIP workflow is preferred. EIP packing can be made automatically on import or capture (Phase One digital backs only).
Editing
Many users shoot both RAW and JPEG simultaneously. To avoid working on JPEGs and TIFFs accidentally, remove the editing option to ensure these files are viewable but not editable. The effect of selection is immediate, Capture One does not need to be relaunched. When editing is disabled, JPEG, TIFF and PNG files can still be imported with their corresponding variants rendered and displayed in the browser and viewer. Note, however, when the variants are selected the editing tools are grayed out.
Make new files writable by everyone: When selected, new files
(created during import, capture or EIP conversion) will have write permissions for everyone, not just the file owner.
Default Processing Engine: Select the default processing engine for Capture One from the fly-out menu. The processing version selected will only be used by new files (created during import, capture or EIP conversion), existing files rendered with later versions will remain unaffected. You can check the processing version used to render selected variants in the Base Characteristics tool, located under the
Color Tool Tab.
Metadata
When working in different, third-party applications, metadata will be stored in different ways. Choose your preferred option. If left to the default settings, the metadata entered in Capture One will be preferred to third-party metadata.
Capture
Pro
Phase One and Leaf Credo Configuration
From the
Extension fly-out menu, choose between IIQ or TIF, when tethered and saving files to the computer. The IIQ extension is the default setting, however the TIF extension is compatible with older applications. It is important to emphasize that the TIF extension is a
RAW file like IIQ, not the TIF format known from Photoshop®, for example.
Leaf Aptus and Aptus II Configuration
When using a Leaf digital back, select the support applicable for your camera by model. If the list is not showing, select Leaf Credo under
Providers/Enabled Tethered Support (Mac/Windows), below.
Live Preview
Adjust the pause setting for Live Preview from 30 seconds to 20 minutes.
Providers/Enabled Tethered Support (Mac/Windows)
Select the appropriate support for your camera by brand. Capture One will automatically detect a supported model once connected. To prevent possible conflict between Capture One’s drivers, deselect the other brand options. Phase One industrial users should de-select support for
Phase One cameras, when adopting the Phase One SDK to capture instead.
Color
Transform
Select an option from the
Rendering Intent drop down menu.
(Rendering Intent refers to the conversion of one color to another.)
Perceptual (default): Compresses the total gamut from one device’s
color space into the gamut of another device’s color space when one or more colors in the original image is out of the range of the destination color space. This preserves the visual relationship between colors by shrinking the entire color space and shifting all colors – including those that were in gamut.
Relative Colorimetric: When a color in the current color space is out of gamut in the target color space, it is mapped to the closest possible color within the gamut of the target color space, while colors that are in gamut are not affected. Only the colors that fall outside of the destination gamut are changed. This Rendering Intent can cause two colors, which appear different in the source color space, to be the same in the target color space. This is called “clipping”. Relative colorimetric is the default method of color conversion built into Photoshop.
Absolute Colorimetric: Colors match exactly with no adjustment made for white point or black point that would alter the image’s brightness.
Absolute Colorimetric is valuable for rendering “signature colors”, those colors that are highly identified with a commercial product such as the yellow used by the Eastman Kodak Company™, or the red used by the
Coca-Cola Company™.
Saturation: Reproduces the original image color saturation (vividness) when converting into the target device’s color space. In this approach, the relative saturation of colors is maintained from gamut to gamut. This rendering intent is primarily designed for business graphics, where the exact relationship between colors (such as in a photographic image) is not as important as are bright saturated colors.
Monitor
A number of Eizo ColorEdge CG monitors with a built-in calibration sensor can now be re-calibrated from within Capture One. Calibrating and profiling your monitor on a regular basis is essential if you want your monitor to display colors as accurately and consistently as possible. This feature leverages the hardware calibrateable chassis electronics of the
ColorEdge CG models and their simple to use calibration sensor with
Capture One’s standardized target settings for predictable color reproduction.
The following Eizo monitor models are supported:
24-inch
CG245W, CG246, CG247, CG247X, CG248 (UHD 4K)
27-inch
CG275W, CG276, CG277
31-inch
CG318 (DCI 4K)
Calibrate EIZO: The following description assumes you have one of the supported monitors listed above connected to the computer using a suitable signal cable. A USB cable must also be attached for successful calibration. The cable should be connected to the monitor’s default enabled upstream port, typically USB port 1. Please refer to the monitor’s User’s Manual for additional information. In a multiple monitor set-up, Capture One identifies all of the compatible monitors connected and re-calibrates them in-turn, regardless of where the application is displayed. Note, if the calibration fails, first check the USB connection. If the connection is not at fault, try cycling the monitor. If calibration fails a second time, please exit all applications and restart the computer.
1. From the main menu, open the preferences and select the Color tab.
2. Under Monitor, click on the
Calibrate EIZO button. A dialog opens asking whether you want to change the default color profile for your monitor(s). The dialog displays the target settings. Note these are standardized target settings and cannot be changed within Capture
One.
3. Select Yes to continue with the calibration. The monitor’s calibration sensor will appear from the bezel and the calibration will start.
4. When the calibration has ended a dialog opens and the sensor returns to the monitor’s bezel. The display is adjusted and updated with a new profile. The profile is saved to the computer and the
adjustment result is registered to the monitor’s specified (e.g., CAL) display mode used for customized calibrations. The monitor’s other display modes remain unaffected.
5. To return to an earlier calibration setting and profile, or to adopt another relevant to your workflow, it is recommended that you open the Eizo ColorNavigator software provided with the monitor and select it from there.
Exposure
Exposure Warning
Set the values of the Exposure Warning function by clicking and dragging the shadow and highlight sliders, as desired. When enabled, areas that fall outside the set values will be shown by a color overlay. By default, the highlight warning value is 250 and the shadow warning is not enabled.
Double click on the highlight and shadow color icons to change the overlay color. The default highlight color is red and the shadow is blue.
Levels Tool
The
Channel Mode allows you to switch between the relevant shadow and highlight pickers for the default combined RGB channel mode and separate red, green and blue channels.
Preset output
Target Levels for both modes can also be applied by clicking and dragging the appropriate sliders.
The
Auto Levels Clipping Thresholds sets a 0.10% threshold for
Shadows and Highlights by default. This allows a small number of pixels, for example specular highlights, to clip without reducing the overall contrast and dynamic range of an image. Type in the values to alter the settings. The range is adjustable between 0-10%, although in practical terms it’s unlikely that anything approaching 1% and above would be necessary. Note, the Auto Levels Clipping Thresholds deliver the specified percentage of clipped pixels precisely.
Click the Defaults button to reset the settings.
Crop
Adjusts the Crop tool preferences.
Mask
Choose when to
Show Mask, and adjust the Opacity and Brightness levels of the area outside the crop. There are also a range of
Frame and,
Label options.
Grids and Guides
There are number of options to alter the grid and guides tools. You can also change the color of a crop mask and guide line.
Focus
Pro
Focus Mask
The Focus Mask tool is used to evaluate whether an image was sharp at the time of capture, and does not depend on the image settings.
However, you can alter the threshold or level at which the Focus Mask will be triggered. To assess sharpness more critically, the threshold should be increased above the default 250 setting (i.e., the slider dragged to the right). The amount will vary by use case, however the threshold slider can be adjusted while observing the effect in the
Viewer. The color (default is a lime green) and the opacity of the mask are also adjustable.
Warning! While this is a useful tool to evaluate the sharpness of a capture initially, to assess critical sharpness you should check images in the Viewer or Focus tool at 100% magnification.
Warnings
Choose if and when you want to be notified and when certain actions happen. Check mark the boxes in the Files and Folders, Adjustments and Output sections to warn when, for example, you are about to permanently delete images.
Update
This tab will show the registered and unregistered Capture One applications. The frequency of how often Capture One should be checked for updates is also selectable here.
Capture One can register all Phase One products automatically or by prompt. Registering products will help support the development of future products and software features.
When an update is available it should be downloaded and installed ontop of the current installed application.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Customize the Toolbar
Pro
PERSONAL TAB / TOOL TABS / TOOLBAR / WORKSPACES
Add or remove tools to create a customized toolbar.
- Arrange the toolbar
- To customize the toolbar
Arrange the toolbar
To customize the toolbar
Capture One offers a wide range of customization options. You can add icons to the top tool bar or reorder the tab-menu.
1. Go to View>Customize Toolbar… Alternatively, right click (or press
Ctrl and click) on the toolbar and select
Customize Toolbar... The
Customize Toolbar window will open.
2. The Customize Toolbar feature is a placeholder for icons. Drag the icons from the placeholder to a position in the toolbar or remove icons from the Toolbar by dragging them to the placeholder.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Customized Workspaces
Pro
WORKSPACES / SESSIONS / PERSONAL TAB / WORKFLOW TIPS
Capture One provides several different fully-customizable workspace layouts for working with your images.
- Workspace layout overview
- Customize the interface
- Create a dual monitor user interface
- Save a personal workspace
- Add a tool tab
- Remove a tool tab
- Add a custom tool tab
Workspace layout overview
Experiment with various workspaces by selecting Window>Workspace and select an option that best fits your workflow. In addition, you can change the layout of the current workspace by selecting the options in View menu (e.g. View>Place Tool Right). You can add an unlimited number of tools to a Tool Tab.
The tools will automatically collapse to make more space if an area of the interface becomes too crowded. It is recommended that you avoid overcrowding and keep tools open to help aid a smooth and efficient workflow.
Customize the interface
Capture One offers numerous customization possibilities. You can reposition the user interface to have the Browser or the tools on the right hand side.
1. Experiment with the default workspaces by choosing
Window>Workspace and select an option that best fits your workflow.
2. Go to Capture One>Preferences for further customization choices.
See
Preferences
.
Create a dual monitor user interface
There are numerous ways to create a customized layout. Follow this suggested set-up to create a dual monitor user interface. This example has a Viewer on one monitor and the Browser on the other.
1. Select Window>Viewer to create an extra Viewer. (Move the Viewer to a second monitor if necessary).
2. Select View>Hide Viewer. The Viewer within the main user interface will disappear and the browser thumbnails will replace it.
3. Move your cursor to the side of the Viewer to access the default Tool
Tabs. (More Tool Tabs can be added. Add another Tool Tab in the
Viewer by right-clicking on the Tool Tab bar and select Add Tool
Tab>Lens or Quick etc).
4. Individual tools can also be moved to float freely. Simply click on the bar at the top of any tool, then drag and drop it to a desired position.
(In the example shown, the Camera tool was moved on top of the
Viewer on the second monitor).
Save a personal workspace
Although there are numerous ways to customize your workspace, the
View menu is a good place to start. Here you will find a wide variety of options to help create a bespoke user interface. For example, some users prefer to have the Browser on the right side, the tools on the left side or the Viewer on full screen. (I.e. Select View>Place Browser Right).
1. Once you have created your desired workspace, choose
Window>Work Space>Save Workspace.
2. Name the workspace in the Save Workspace window.
3. The workspace is now available from Window>Workspace.
Add a tool tab
Add a non default Tool Tab or one that has been removed. Non default
Tool Tabs include the Black and White and Quick Tool Tab.
1. Go to View>Add Tool Tab>Quick.
2. The Quick icon will appear alongside the other Tool Tabs.
Remove a tool tab
1. Go to View>Remove Tool Tab and select the tool tab that is not needed.
2. Alternatively, right click on the
Tool Tabs
bar. Go to
Remove Tool Tab
and select the tool tab that is not needed.
Add a custom tool tab
1. Right click on the tool tab and select Add new Tool Tab>Custom Tool
Tab from the drop down menu. (Alternatively, go to View>Add Tool
Tab>Custom Tool Tab).
2. A dialog box will appear. Name the Tab, choose an icon and press
Add Tab. The icon will appear in the Tool Tab bar.
3. Right click on the icon and select Add Tool from the drop down menu and select a desired tool. Repeat this procedure to add more tools.
4. To rearrange the Tool Tab bar, press Cmd/Alt (Mac/Windows) and drag icons in the tab menu to the preferred position.
5. To remove any unwanted tool tabs from view, right click on the Tool
Tab bar and select Remove Tool Tab.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Keyboard Shortcuts
SHORTCUTS / PREFERENCES / CUSTOMIZATION
Get an overview of all the keyboard shortcuts and create your own with this easy to follow guide.
- Using keyboard shortcuts
- Selecting keyboard shortcut sets
- Create a custom shortcut set
- Edit shortcuts
- Assign shortcuts to cursor tools
- Copy shortcut set
- Delete shortcut commands and custom sets
Using keyboard shortcuts
Capture One has numerous keyboard shortcuts assigned by default to help speed up your workflow. Shortcuts are assigned not just to the main menu but to many other tools and features, including options for the workspace (such as selection of the tool tabs, cursor tools and displaying or relocating the browser), certain adjustments (including rotating images, rating and color tagging) and many others.
1. For a full list of the default keyboard shortcuts, from the main menu, select Help>Keyboard Shortcut Summary.
2. Capture One will open your default internet browser and display the summary in a new window (Mac shortcuts displayed, above). Note a network connection is NOT required.
Selecting keyboard shortcut sets
When opening Capture One for the first time the default shortcut set is used. However, Capture One offers the option to create and select custom sets of shortcuts, as well as shortcuts from an earlier version
(Capture One 3.7), if desired.
1. To select the version, from the main menu, select Capture One>Edit
Keyboard Shortcuts… /Edit>Keyboard Shortcuts (Mac/Windows). The
Edit Keyboard Shortcuts dialog opens.
2. Select the
Default (or optional Capture One 3.7) set from the fly-out menu.
Create a custom shortcut set
Before editing the keyboard shortcuts, a copy or duplicate of the complete Default set (or optional Capture One 3.7 set) must first be created. Note, a number of essential shortcuts cannot be changed.
1. From the main menu, select Capture One>Edit Keyboard
Shortcuts… /Edit>Keyboard Shortcuts (Mac/Windows). The Edit
Keyboard Shortcuts dialog opens.
2. Select the Default (or optional Capture One 3.7) set from the fly-out menu.
3. Click on
Create. A second dialog box opens.
4. Name the new shortcut set in the text field. (e.g., My custom shortcuts), and press OK. The new set is added to the fly-out menu and is ready for editing.
5. Continue to make edits (see below), or click on
Close to shut the dialog (the set will be saved automatically).
Edit shortcuts
As a safeguard, only a custom set can be edited. The Default set and the optional Capture One 3.7 set cannot be modified or deleted, even accidentally.
1. From the main menu, select Capture One>Edit Keyboard Shortcuts…
/Edit>Keyboard Shortcuts (Mac/Windows). The Edit Keyboard
Shortcuts dialog opens.
2. Select a previously created custom shortcut set (see above for details on how to create a custom set).
3. Under the
Command column, click on the function that requires a new or different shortcut. Selecting a function that is subsequently highlighted in orange can’t be edited, however those that change instantly from orange to gray are editable.
4. Type in the chosen keyboard shortcut in the adjacent text field, under the
Key column. Repeat for each selection.The new shortcuts are effective immediately (and are updated in the main menu against the tools, where applicable).
5. Click on
Close to shut the dialog. All of the edits are saved automatically.
6. You can view a summary of the selected set from the main menu, select Help>Keyboard Shortcut Summary.
Assign shortcuts to cursor tools
Although certain groups of cursor tools are assigned keyboard shortcuts by default, you can assign new keyboard shortcuts to any cursor tool. By assigning the same shortcut to a group you can cycle through the selection using the shift key. For example, when assigning the P key to all of the pickers, you can cycle through the group using shift+P.
1. Create a custom shortcut set, as described above.
2. From the
Cursor Tools command, select the cursor group you want to change the shortcuts to. For example, Pickers.
3. Select each picker in turn, then click on the adjacent key column (the text box will turn from gray to black when active) and type P, for example.
4. Repeat for each cursor tool in the group.
5. When finished click on
Close to shut the dialog. All of the edits will be saved automatically.
Copy shortcut set
When more than one custom set is required with only some minor changes, or you want peace of mind after taking time creating a complex set, you can simply duplicate it.
1. From the main menu, select Capture One > Edit Keyboard
Shortcuts… / Edit > Keyboard Shortcuts (Mac/Windows). The Edit
Keyboard Shortcuts dialog opens.
2. From the fly-out menu, located top left, select the set to copy.
3. Click on
Duplicate at the top the dialog. A new dialog opens.
4. Type in a name for the new set in the text field, and click on
OK. The new set is added to the fly-out menu and is selected ready for editing.
5. Continue to make edits and when finished click on
Close to shut the dialog. The set will be saved automatically.
Delete shortcut commands and custom sets
Only custom sets can be edited and deleted, the Default set and the optional Capture One 3.7 set cannot even accidentally.
Warning!
Deleting a custom set is irreversible. After creating an extensively modified set of shortcuts, it is advisable to make a copy as a back-up
(see above for more details).
1. Open the Edit Keyboard Shortcuts dialog and select the custom shortcut set to be edited, as described above.
2. Under the
Command column, click on the chosen shortcut, then click on the adjacent delete (cross-shaped) button.
3. To delete a complete set of shortcuts, select the chosen custom set from the fly-out top left, then click on the
Delete button at the top right of the dialog box. The set is removed immediately.
4. Click on
Close to shut the dialog.
Online Help
Capture One 10
Change the Default Settings
Capture One automatically selects a recommended default setting for all image files from recognized cameras. It is also possible to apply a user defined default setting.
- Change the default setting
Change the default setting
Individual adjustments can be made to most Color, Exposure, Details and Metadata tool parameters and used as the default setting. Once selected, this user-defined default setting will be automatically applied to every subsequent file from a specific camera make and model. This procedure is recommended for advanced users only. There is a vast range of possible user-defined default settings.
1. For example, if your camera habitually overexposes captured image files, adjust the Exposure slider to an appropriate value.
2. Click on the action menu icon and select the Save as Default for
Canon EOS-7D (or other relevant camera model) option at the top of the tool tab.
3. Add any other Color, Exposure, Details and Metadata adjustments using the same procedure, if necessary.
4. This Default setting will now be applied to every subsequent file from this specific camera make and model.
Herunterladen
Werbung