12
Creating & Running Reports
Topics
About Reports
Running Standard Reports
Customizing Standard Reports
Configuring a Savings Report
Running a Savings Report
Printing, Emailing and Exporting Reports
Scheduling Reports to Run Automatically
Running Consolidated Reports
Reports allow you to analyze system performance in order to troubleshoot usage, load balancing, and overall workflow. You can run either standard or dashboard reports.
Reports Manager provides a set of standard reports and allows you to customize report look and feel, schedule reports to run at a specific time automatically, and print or export generated reports to a number of file formats or as email attachments.
Dashboard reports are special reports that display data in table, pie, or bar graphs. Dashboard reports are viewed on a web browser, and are accessed via the Web Client. See the WebClient Help for details.
If you have deployed more than one CAS, you can generate reports using data from all CAS servers, or you can run reports on individual servers.
This chapter provides information about:
• working with standard reports
• setting report criteria
• customizing reports
• scheduling reports to run as automated tasks
• generating uplinked reports on transaction data uploaded from subsidiary accounting servers
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 361
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
About Reports
Reports Manager provides a number of standard reports designed to help you analyze your system performance.
These reports are organized into categories, such as Accounts, Analysis, Detailed activity, Summary activity, and Total activity.
Report Categories
Reports are organized into the following categories.
Report Category
Accounts
Analysis
Detailed activity
Summary activity
Description
Reports in this category provide data about accounts including:
• how, when, and where accounts are being used
• account balances and transaction histories
• how accounts are organized
Reports in this category are designed to help you maximize your device usage. They provide information about your devices including:
• their current status
• when and how often they are being used
• how often they are online or offline
• when and how often they experience faults such as paper jams or toner outages
• total and percentage usage of color, black and white, or monochrome in simplex or duplex pages by activity type, application, account or network user.
This category also includes a Savings report detailing how much money was saved by not releasing all jobs sent to the printer (e.g. expired or deleted jobs). Additionally this report details the environmental savings—such as the number of trees and amount of water saved, plus the volume of
CO
2
not released into the atmosphere. See
Configuring a Savings Report
on page 371.
Reports in this category provide detailed information about the documents users are creating. You can view information by:
• billing code account
• department account
• device
• network user
• user account
This category also includes reports on the documents currently in a print queue. These reports only contain data if you have enabled secure printing on one or more device queues.
These reports list the number of color, black and white, and monochrome pages created by accounts, devices, application, network user, organizational structure (membership and account), disposition of routed documents (by user account and device), etc
.
Summary of activity reports allow you to summarize that information by date, device, network user, or transaction type.
This category also includes reports on the documents currently in a print queue. These reports only contain data if you have enabled secure printing on one or more device queues.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 362
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Report Category
Total activity
Description
These reports list the number of color, black and white, or monochrome in simplex or duplex pages created by:
• account type
• billing code account
• department account
• device
• desktop device
• account or network user
• user account
• activity type
• application
• device and user location
Determine Which Report to Run
The following table lists some scenarios and the report to run in each case. Use the table to help determine which report provides the information you need.
If you want to...
View the account balance for a user
View all accounts assigned to a department or billing code
View a detailed list of a user’s activities
Manage users’ color quotas
Determine which deposit centers are used most frequently
Determine which devices are the most reliable
Create a maintenance schedule for your devices
Identify over- or under-used devices
Then run this report...
Accounts > Account adjustment
Accounts > Account listing
Accounts > Account statement
Account > Color quota summary
Account > Pay Station Deposit Center account adjustment
Analysis > Device availability, or Analysis > Device faults
Analysis > Device faults vs. usage
Analysis > Device usage
Identify high- and low-usage times of day for a device
View a list of all documents created for a billing code
Determine if a department prints enough color copies to justify buying a second color printer
Analysis > Hourly activity
Detailed activity > Detailed activity by billing code account
Total activity > Total activity by department account
View a detailed list of activity by a device within a certain location
Total activity > Total activity by device location
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 363
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Change the Currency Symbol Used When Viewing Reports
If your regional settings use a currency symbol other than the dollar sign ($), or if you use any character outside the standard ascii set (such as the umlaut “ö”), you need to adjust the browser encoding before you can see the correct symbol within a browser window.
1
2
3
Open a web browser.
From the View menu, select Character Encoding, then select Unicode (UTF8) from the menu.
Run a report to check the result.
Run one of these reports (which contain the currency symbol): Account adjustment, Account listing, Pay Station
Deposit Center account adjustment or Hourly activity.
Running Standard Reports
The process for running standard reports is the same for all reports—only the criteria available to limit the scope of the report change based on the report you are running.
To run a standard report, do the following:
1
2
Open Reports Manager.
Expand a category node and select the report you want to run. The Select report criteria dialog box opens.
NOTE: The authentication report under the Analysis node provides an authentication audit trail for both successful
and failed authentication attempts at all MFPs.
3
4
Select the criteria to limit the scope of the report. See
Report Criteria
on page 364.
Click OK to close the Select report criteria dialog box. The generated report displays in the Reports Manager window.
When the report is generated, you can print, email, or save it in one of several file formats.
You can also customize any standard report once it has been generated and save your customization as a new report
definition. For more information about customizing a standard report, see
Customizing Standard Reports
on page
366.
Report Criteria
The following table lists the criteria available to limit the scope of a standard report. Not all criteria are available in every report.
Criteria
Account status
Account type
Billing code
By billable
Description
Filters the report to include all accounts, or only overdrawn, locked, active, or deleted accounts.
Filters the report to include user, department, or billing code account types.
Filters the report by a specific billing code.
Filters the report by billable accounts.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 364
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Criteria
Custom group
Date
Department
Device name
Device type
Disposition type
Limit
Location
Order by
Summarize by
Transaction type
User
User ID
Vending account
(for Equitrac Express)
Description
Filters the report to devices assigned to a specific group.
Limits the report to a specific date range. Select one of the pre-defined date ranges, or select
Custom range and enter the start and end dates for the report.
Note: Date range format is dependent on system regional settings.
Filters the report by a specific department.
Filters the report by a specific device.
Filters the report by a specific device type.
Filters the report by the status of a document in a print queue.
The number of rows that are returned in the report.
Filters the report to the physical location of users and devices.
Orders transactions by account, balance or creation date.
Orders transactions; options vary by summary report.
Filters the report to include all, print, copy, fax send, fax receive, or scan transaction types. Select or clear multiple transaction types as desired.
Filters the report by a specific user.
Filters the report by User ID (by network user reports only).
Filters the report by a specific vending account.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 365
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Customizing Standard Reports
You can add your own logo to your reports, and change the specific columns that are included in the standard reports to create your own custom reports.
NOTE: The Program F
iles\Equitrac\Office or Express\Datab ase folder contains CAS_SQLServer_Views.sql which can be run to create views of the transaction data stored in the database. These views can be used for reporting purposes or to help better understand the underlying data captured.
Adding a Custom Logo
The Equitrac logo appears in all generated reports, by default. You can customize that logo by loading a different image to the accounting server. Reports Manager supports any graphics file format that Windows Internet Explorer supports, such as .bmp or .jpg. Every report you generate from that accounting server uses the same logo image.
The logo appears in the upper right corner of the report, and uses 25% of the total table width. As a best practice, prepare your logo to a maximum width of 180 pixels. Add the logo, then perform an onscreen test and a print test to ensure the logo is sized appropriately. As a guideline, the Equitrac logo used by default measures 154 x 40 pixels.
To customize the generated reports logo, do the following:
1
Copy your custom image file to Program Files\Equitrac\Office or Express\Accounting Service.
NOTE: This folder exists on the machine where CAS is installed and running.
2
3
Open a command prompt and go to Program Files\Equitrac\Office or Express\Accounting Service.
On the command line, type: eqrptload.exe -a <accounting server> -b imagefilename where imagefilename
is the custom image file you want to appear on all generated reports. For example: eqrptload.exe -a CASSRV1 -b Acmelogo.bmp
loads the acmelogo.bmp
file from the Accounting Service folder.
CAUTION: The image file must be in the working directory. Do not enter the full path to the image on the command
line.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 366
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Creating a Custom Format
In the Reports Manager window, you can customize a report’s format by modifying the column display.
NOTE: In the Configure Report Layout dialog box, applicable generated reports contain an Alt cost column that
displays secondary (dual) pricing data. Secondary (dual) pricing is a licensable option.
To customize the content of a report, do the following:
1
In Reports Manager, select View > Configure report layout.
2
3
In the Columns to display list, select or clear the column checkbox for each column you want to display or hide in the generated report. The defaults are pre-selected from the list.
Customize the selected columns to display by doing the following:
• Click the Up or Down arrows to re-order the columns to appear in the generated report from left to right.
• Enter a new column title in the Label field. You cannot use the following special characters: '@', '&' or '<'.
• Enter the column width as a percentage of the overall width of the report. The column widths should add up to a total of 100%. If the selection exceeds 100% of the report’s total columns width, a Configure report layout warning pops up.
4
If the warning appears, you have three options:
• Yes – Automatically adjusts the new and existing columns to add up to 100% of the overall report width.
• No – Exits without adjusting the column widths to equal 100%. The column is added to the report, but since it exceeds the total columns width, it does not display
• Cancel – Return to layout dialog box and enter a different value.
Click OK to save the customized formatting and close the dialog box.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 367
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Saving a Custom Report
The standard reports available in Reports Manager are templates from which you can create and save customized reports, known as report definitions. When creating report definitions, you can configure Reports Manager to prompt for specific criteria at generation time and save the report definition as a personal or site report.
To save a customized format as a report definition, do the following:
1
2
3
4
5
Run a report. See
Running Standard Reports
on page 364 for details.
In Reports Manager, select File > Save Definition As to open the Save report definition as dialog box.
Indicate whether you want to select criteria each time you run the report, or if you want to save the current criteria selections as part of the report definition. If you save the current criteria selections, they are used each time the report is run.
• Select the Prompt for <criteria> option to prompt for filter criteria when the report is generated.
—Or—
• Select the Define in the report definition option and select an option from the drop-down list to save existing criteria selections in the report definition. For example, if you always want the report to include only copy transactions, select copy in the list.
Click Next to continue.
Enter a Name for this report definition.
NOTE: The custom report name cannot be greater than 50 characters.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 368
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
8
9
6
7
Select a Report type from the list.
• Select Personal report to save the report to the local machine. Only those with access to the local machine can access and generate personal reports.
• Select Site report to save the report to the server. Anyone can access and generate site reports.
When Site report is selected as the Report type, an additional option is available allowing users to run certain reports from User Dashboard. Select the Allow users to run this report from user’s personal webpage checkbox for any of the following reports:
• Account statement
• Detailed activity by network user
• Detailed activity by user account
• Detailed activity for queued documents by user account
• Detailed activity for routed documents by user account
Optionally, enter a Description in the field.
Click Finish to save the custom report.
NOTE: You can schedule events to generate automatic site reports from existing site report definitions. For more
information, see
Scheduling Reports to Run Automatically
on page 375. Personal reports cannot be scheduled.
NOTE: A secondary custom site report can be created from an existing custom site report, however, the secondary
report cannot be run in User Dashboard.
Running Custom Reports
Custom reports are displayed in Reports Manager as sub-items under the standard report they are based on.
To run a custom report, do the following:
1
2
In Reports Manager, select File > Open.
Expand the node for the standard report that your custom report is based on, and select the report to run.
3
If the criteria for the custom report have already been defined, the report displays in the Reports Manager window, otherwise the Select report criteria dialog box opens. If necessary, select the criteria to limit the scope of the
report. See
Report Criteria
on page 364.
When the report is generated, you can print it, email it, or export it in one of several file formats.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 369
Deleting Custom Reports
To delete a custom report, do the following:
1
2
3
In Reports Manager, select File > Open.
Expand the node for the standard report that your custom report is based on
Right-click the custom report, and select Delete.
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
NOTE: You cannot delete a custom report through the Reporting section in System Manager or Accounts Manager.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 370
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Configuring a Savings Report
A Savings report details the cost savings and environmental impacts associated with using an Equitrac system. These reports show how many pages have been printed from a workstation, but have NOT been released to the printer (e.g. expired or deleted jobs). Cost savings can be also measured by the number of force monochrome or forced duplex pages. Additionally this report details the environmental savings—such as the number of trees and amount of water saved, plus the volume of CO
2
NOT released into the atmosphere by not printing expired or deleted jobs, or by forcing simplex jobs to be duplexed.
To configure a Savings report for environmental measures, do the following:
1
In System Manager, go to Configuration > User interaction > Savings report metrics.
NOTE: The default values based on average global consumption, however, these values can be changed to suit your
geographic location and environment.
2
3
4
5
6
Select U.S. or Metric from the Measurement system drop-down list.
Enter the number of Letter/A4 pages that One tree is equivalent to.
Enter the gallons (or litres) of water that One letter/A4 page uses. The volume unit depends on the measurement system used—U.S. (gallon) or Metric (kg).
Enter the pounds (or kg) of CO2 that One pound (or kg) of paper releases. The volume unit depends on the measurement system used—U.S. (pound) or Metric (kg).
Click OK to close the Savings report metrics dialog box.
NOTE: The Reset to defaults button resets ALL fields to their default values.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 371
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Running a Savings Report
To run a Savings report, do the following:
1
2
3
4
Open Reports Manager.
Expand the Analysis node and select Savings.
In the Select report criteria dialog box, select the criteria to limit the scope of the report. See
Report Criteria
on page 364.
The Savings report can be summarized by User, Department, or Printer.
Click OK to close the Select report criteria dialog box. The Savings report displays in the Reports Manager window.
The Cost column indicates a total cost for Deleted, Expired, Forced monochrome, Forced duplex pages, and number of sheets not printed. The cost savings can be further measured by listing the individual savings for forced monochrome, forced duplex, forced mono/duplex pages. These columns are not in the report by default, but they can be added to display the individual breakdown for each feature.
NOTE: The cost savings for forced monochrome and forced duplex are dictated by the price lists associated for those
features. For example, if the price lists for color pages and for black & white pages are set to the same amount, then the forced monochrome offers no savings and displays the cost as "0". However, if the price list for a color page is $0.05, and black & white is $0.01, and 20 color pages where printed with forced monochrome applied, then the cost savings is $0.80. (i.e. $0.04 price difference x 20 pages = $0.80).
When the report is generated, you can print, email, or save it in one of several file formats.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 372
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Printing, Emailing and Exporting Reports
When you generate a report, it is displayed in the Reports Manager window. You can either print the report, or export the report to a file or as an email attachment. When exporting a report, you can select a number of file formats, including XML, HTML, CSV-Unicode, or CSV-ANSI.
Printing a Report
You can print reports to a configured local or network printer. In the Reports Manager window:
• Select File > Print Setup to configure printer output settings.
• Select File > Print Preview to see a preview of the printed report.
• Select File > Print to send the generated report to the printer.
NOTE: The Print Preview option requires Internet Explorer version 9 (or higher).
Emailing a Report
You must ensure that System Manager is properly configured for a valid email server before emailing generated reports in Reports Manager. See
Configuring the Mail Server for Email Notifications
on page 257.
To email a report, do the following:
1
Select File > Mail to open the Send Mail dialog box. Alternately, click the Send Mail button at the top of the report window.
2
3
Enter email information:
• In the To field, enter the email address of the recipient. To email multiple recipients, separate email addresses by commas or semi-colons, without any spaces between addresses.
• In the Subject field, enter subject text.
• In the Message field, enter message text.
Select or clear attachment file formats.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 373
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
4
To use the selected columns options, ensure that you first open the Report Layout dialog box (View > Report
Layout) and choose the columns you want to show in the report. When you mail the report, all columns listed in the Report Layout dialog box are exported, regardless of the columns you choose to show. When you select either
Selected columns option in the Send Mail dialog box, only the columns currently displayed in the report are exported.
Click Send.
Saving a Report to a File
To save a report to a file, do the following:
1
2
3
4
In the Reports Manager window, select File > Save as.
Select a file location, file name, and file format.
You can save the file in XML, HTML, CSV-Unicode, or CSV-ANSI format.
Click Save.
To generate reports on a regular basis and save the reports to a selected destination, see
Scheduling Reports to
Run Automatically
on page 375.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 374
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
Scheduling Reports to Run Automatically
When adding a task to generate a report, you must specify:
• the report type
• the desired output destination (email recipient or file location)
• the report format (HTML, XML, CSV-Unicode, or CSV-ANSI)
Configuring the Mail
Server for Email Notifications
on page 257
. You can only email a report to a single address.
To add a scheduled Report task, do the following:
1
2
In System Manager, select Scheduled tasks in the left pane.
Select Add scheduled report under Current tasks, or click <Add...> in the right pane and select Report from the
Add new scheduled task
dialog box.
3
4
5
Enter a Name and Description for the task.
Select No from the Suspended drop-down list to run the task at the scheduled intervals. See
Suspending,
Resuming, or Removing a Scheduled Task
on page 360 for details on suspending a task.
Select the desired report from the Report name drop-down list, and click Destination.
NOTE: Only standard and customized site reports appear in the report name drop-down list; customized personal
reports are not included. See
Saving a Custom Report
on page 368 for details.
6
In the Report destination dialog box, select either Email or File as the report destination.
If you select Email, do the following: a b c d
Select the attachment file type. More than one Attachment type can be sent.
In the To field, enter the email address of the recipient. To email multiple recipients, separate email addresses by commas or semi-colons, without any spaces between addresses.
Enter a Subject and Message (optional) for the email.
Click OK.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 375
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
7
8
9
If you select File, do the following: a b
Select the File type.
Enter the Path\filename for the report, or click the ellipse button to select a destination.
c
Click OK.
Schedule
the task to occur either once, every day, every week, or monthly.
Enter a Start date and Start time for the task to run.
Click OK to save the scheduled task.
Running Consolidated Reports
If you deployed more than one accounting server, you can uplink the subsidiary CASs to the master CAS. This allows the subsidiary servers to upload data to the master CAS, while also keeping a copy on its local server. You can then run consolidated reports on the master CAS to view transaction and account data from all CAS servers, or you can run reports on individuals’ servers.
Optionally, you can set the subsidiary servers not to post transactions to the master CAS. This allows the master CAS to act as a license distribution server for users and embedded devices. The transactions remain local to each subsidiary server.
Configuring CAS Servers
Configuration is required on the master and subsidiary CAS servers.
1
In System Manager, go to Configuration > Network environment > Uplink.
2
3
Enter the Name of the designated master CAS.
Select the Uplink time of day for the subsidiary CAS to connect to the master CAS.
By default, Equitrac Office and Express sets the uplink time at 1:00 am—a time that CAS is not heavily accessed by
DRE, DCE, DME, or client workstations. If your site experiences a heavy load on CAS at 1:00 am, then change this to a different time. Sites with multiple subsidiary servers should stagger the uplink time.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 376
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
4
5
Press the Synchronize enterprise license button to initially license the subsidiary CAS from the master CAS.
Thereafter, at each uplink, the master CAS re-licenses the subsidiary CAS as long as the total number of licenses is not exceeded.
The Transaction set options allow you to configure how the subsidiary and master CAS handle data transactions.
NOTE: The Transaction set options must be set on the Master CAS, not the subsidiary CAS.
6
• Do not post transactions – the subsidiary servers do not send transactions to the master CAS. This option allows the master CAS to distribute user and embedded device licenses without transaction data being uploaded.
• Post individual transactions – the subsidiary servers send individual transactions to the master CAS. This option allows the master CAS to view transaction and account data from all CAS servers.
• Collate transactions – the subsidiary servers bundle transactions in one of two ways: Daily or Hourly.
Equitrac Office and Express collates daily transactions at the time you selected in Uplink time of day.
You can also select the By Network user option to send or to separate the transactions per network user.
Click OK to save the changes.
Running Subsidiary Reports Only
If you want to run reports from the master CAS that contain only the transaction data from the subsidiary CAS, do the following:
1
Open a command prompt, go to Program Files\Equitrac\Office or Express\Accounting Service and execute the following command: eqrptload.exe -a <accounting server> -f reports\uplinkreportlist.csv -u
2 where <accounting server> represents the system name of your accounting server.
For example: eqrptload.exe -a PRINTSV1 -f reports\uplinkreportlist.csv -u
When the command prompt displays the message
EQRptLoad success
, all of the uplinked reports loaded successfully. You can select any uplinked report in the Select report to open dialog box.
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 377
Chapter 12: Creating & Running Reports
EQ-AG-5.7-20160921
Nuance® Equitrac® Office and Express 5.7 Administration Guide | 378