Henry Ling Adobe Acrobat, Adobe Reader, Acrobat Distiller, QuarkXPress, Adobe Photoshop, Pages, Serif PagePlus, CutePDF Writer, doPDF, OpenOffice, InDesign CS2, CS3, CS4, CS5, CS5.5, CS6, CC, Word 2007, 2010, 2013, 2016, Publisher 2007 software User guide
โฆษณา
โฆษณา
Henry Ling Limited
Supplying files
A brief history of PostScript and PDF
A summary of the specifications we want
Go straight here for tips on how to use Acrobat/Reader to view and examine PDF files
How to create a PDF file from any program (see below for specific programs)
Go straight here to configure InDesign’s colour management and create a suitable PDF
Go straight here to configure QuarkXPress’s colour management and create a suitable PDF
Go straight here for information on using Photoshop to colour manage image files suitable for printing by us
Go straight here for tips for using Word to create a file suitable for printing by us
Go straight here for tips for using Publisher to create a file suitable for printing by us
Go straight here for tips for using Pages (the page layout program in Apple’s iWork suite) to create a suitable PDF
Go straight here for tips for using Serif PagePlus to create a file suitable for printing by us
Introduction to colour management theory and why it is important
Configure a free PDFing tool to create a file suitable for printing by us
Appendix III: Configuring Microsoft Word/Microsoft Publisher .............................. 28
Additional settings for various versions of Word/Publisher
Version History;
1.0 Nov 2004
1.1 Jun 2005
2.0 Dec 2007
2.1 Jun 2008
2.2 Oct 2008
2.3 Feb 2009
2.4 Sep 2009
2.5 Aug 2010
2.6 Aug 2011
2.7 Dec 2011
Altered Word PDFing instructions
2.8 Aug 2012
Altered PDF printers and Word PDFing instructions
2.9 Apr 2013
Added Serif PagePlus instructions
2.95 Jan 2014
Updated InDesign, Quark and Word/Publisher sections
3.0 Jan 2015
Removed PostScript and PageMaker instructions, general updates throughout
3.1 Jul 2015
Included Adobe DC and Quark 2015 instructions
3.2 Feb 2017
Added Quark 2016 instructions and updated Microsoft
Word/Publisher sections
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Introduction
The purpose of this document is to confirm the procedures and settings required to make a file suitable for print with little or no additional work required on the part of Henry Ling Limited.
It is intended that this guide not only saves our customers time but ultimately money. Please note that this guide contains links, underlined in
italic, to files, web sites and also to other sections of this guide – click the link to follow it.
When a job has been created for print using a page layout program there are two possible ways to submit the job for printing; sending the document(s) with all the fonts and images you have used in the job, or by creating a ‘finalised’ file in a format designed for that purpose. Henry
Ling Limited encourages customers to submit work in this finalised format as this will decrease any possible delays or problems in production.
Common problems when sending documents rather than final files to a printer include not sending all of the images used in your document and not sending the correct font files required for us to output your pages. Also, some problems with images may not be apparent until the final file is made. We do accept documents but find that often with the help of the information contained in this guide most customers who want to can benefit from the cost and time savings that supplying finished files can bring. This does
not necessarily involve buying any additional software.
This section covers the general principles of this process – customers familiar with these procedures can skip to the section covering their programs.
The original ‘finalised’ format, the
PostScript page description language, was designed specifically to address the problems of reproducing complex jobs on a variety of hardware. Developed by Adobe in 1985 to
2 accurately describe pages to a laser printer, it was adopted by the print industry as a standard way to transfer files from the creator to the printer. Rather than the information describing the pages going directly to a laser printer it is saved as a file and sent to us to be output by us using our hardware. This is a ‘final file’, as it contains all the fonts and images for your job and the instructions required for our hardware to reproduce your pages exactly as they appeared on your computer. PostScript quickly became the cornerstone of the prepress industry and is still used today.
After ten years Adobe refined the PostScript language to address its shortcomings and launched a new improved format – PDF
(Portable Document Format). PDF is now the format of choice as it has several advantages over PostScript; much smaller file sizes, can easily be viewed on screen, can be printed to non-PostScript printers (e.g. desktop inkjets), it’s more reliable and more flexible. For these reasons we prefer files supplied as PDFs. Some methods of creating PDFs involve making a
PostScript file first (as PDF is still based on the
PostScript language) which is then processed by Adobe’s Acrobat Distiller program to make a
PDF file based on the settings you have defined to suit your requirements. Alternatively some programs can create PDF files directly.
Creating ‘final’ files
Depending on the number of copies ordered we have the option of using our digital presses, for short-run work, or litho press (using printing plates) for longer runs. Either way the requirements are the same. Before making your final file the job will have to be correctly formatted, including the final edit of the text and images. Your document should be made to the correct size (the trimmed size of your publication) with the margins (the white space surrounding your text) as you want to see them in the finished job. When you create a PDF file you are in effect locking it down so it can’t be changed (or more importantly, so it can’t change without you knowing it) so it is best to check and adjust the basics before making your final file. There are facilities for editing PDF files but they are relatively limited and not usually recommended if the original application files are available.
It’s important to note that when any element on the page is intended to print up to the very edge of the page it will actually have to extend
3mm beyond the trimmed area in your file so when the job is trimmed to size any small variations in the folding or cutting won’t result in a white line down the edge of the page where the printed area stopped just before the edge of the page. This extra image area is known as ‘bleed’.
See illustration below.
See page opposite for the basic specification we require for ‘finished’ files.
Bleed
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Basic specification for files
See the individual sections for settings specific to your program, but the following is our basic requirements;
• PDF files made to the PDF/X-1a standard. PDF/X is an ISO standard for graphic content exchange – click here to find out more. If your software can’t create PDF/X files we will accept any
PDF with all fonts embedded and subsetted.
See this guide for files that will setup your programs, to create suitable PDF files. The files made by our settings are suitable for both digital or litho
(“conventional”) printing.
• Pages should be supplied with crop marks where possible. Text pages should be supplied as single pages not spreads.
Covers should be supplied as spreads, i.e. the first page of your file is the Outside
Back Cover/spine/Outside Front Cover, the second page (if applicable) Inside
Front Cover/spine/Inside Back Cover.
• Files must be produced as composite, i.e. each colour not separated onto its own ‘page’.
• Your page size should match the trimmed size of the job, with all the text positioned correctly within that page. Any blank pages required in your publication should be included in the
PDF. Bleed allowance is 3mm.
• Any colour in the PDF should ideally be either grey, CMYK or properly specified
Pantone colours. Where your software allows, using our settings will convert any RGB colours to CMYK when the
PDF is made, but not Pantone colours so please don’t include any unwanted
Pantone colours in your PDFs. See
Appendix I for more information
regarding CMYK/RGB colours and colour management.
• Overlapping colour objects should be set to overprint or knockout correctly.
See Adobe Acrobat section for more on
this. Please do not apply any trapping.
• We recommend the following resolutions for your images; 300dpi for normal halftones (photographs), 500dpi for fine-art halftones/those containing text or fine lines and 1270dpi for line work (1-bit bitmap images). If your job will be printed digitally the resolutions can safely be lower. NB All resolutions stated are at their finished size (i.e. as they appear on the page). This may be different to the resolution the images were scanned at. If an image is enlarged on the page it will reduce the effective resolution of the image, and if it is reduced the effective resolution is increased (half the size, double the resolution, and vice versa).
• For best quality reproduction, by either digital or litho (“conventional”) printing on coated paper, greyscale halftone images (black and white photographs) should have their highlights no less than 3% and their shadows no more than 97%. Highlight dots smaller than this are too small to hold on press and shadow dots larger will spread and ‘fill in’ to 100% black – both can lead to a loss of detail in those areas. For colour work the maximum amount of CMYK at any point in the shadow area (known as the TIC – Total
Ink Coverage) should be 330%. Contact us if you are planning to use uncoated paper.
Always arrange to submit a sample PDF for testing in advance of sending your first job to us.
This will help to iron out any minor issues prior to the demands of deadlines. If you used Adobe
InDesign or have Adobe Acrobat we recommend where possible that you ‘preflight’ your files before submitting them. See program-specific sections of this guide for more information. This will check for basic errors such as missing fonts and low resolution images. Please check if any of the programs you plan to use include a preflight check feature.
This guide covers what specific settings to use in the most popular page layout programs we encounter but the above specification can be applied to other programs.
3
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Adobe Acrobat/Adobe Reader
4
Adobe’s PDF format is integral to our prepress processes. It offers reliable output and is undoubtedly the best way to transfer files to us.
We always recommend that you check through your PDF before submitting it. When viewing a
PDF in Adobe Acrobat or Adobe Reader;
• Turn off (untick) ‘Use Local Fonts’ This will simulate how the PDF file will appear to those who don’t necessarily have your fonts installed
(i.e. us). Any text in the PDF that looks strange or has been substituted by bullets is
not embedded so the PDF should be remade with different settings or by a different method. To turn off ‘Use Local Fonts’; Adobe
Reader 6 and 7 – in the Document menu;
Acrobat 6 and 7 – in the Advanced menu;
Acrobat/Adobe Reader 8–11 and DC in
Preferences > Page Display (Preferences settings are reached through the Edit menu in Windows and the Adobe Reader menu on a Mac).
• Always view files with ‘Overprint Preview’ on
This option simulates how the file will actually print. When one or more colour prints on top of another (“overprints”) the colours will combine to make a new colour, which may not have been your intention. A common example of an overprint problem is white text set to overprint. In print white is achieved by an absence of ink rather than with white ink, so overprinting white
(nothing) onto another colour means the white text effectively disappears.
See illustration, right. This will only be noticeable when the overprint setting is honoured, either when it is printed on a device which honours overprint instructions (don’t rely on desktop printers for this) or when viewed in Acrobat/Reader with
‘Overprint Preview’ on. To turn on ‘Overprint
Preview’; Acrobat 6 and 7 – in the menu; Acrobat 8 – in the
Production menu; Adobe Reader 7 and 8
(Overprint Preview not available in previous versions of Reader) –
DC – in change
Always.
your screen displaying colours as they will
Effects of Acrobat’s Overprint Preview feature
Set to overprint!
Overprint Preview turned off – white text displays (but will not print)
Preferences > Page
Display; Acrobat/Adobe Reader 9–11 and
Preferences > Page Display,
Use Overprint Preview to
• Assessing colours on-screen Unless you have a colour calibrated monitor, correct viewing conditions and are correctly using Acrobat’s colour management you should not rely on be printed. If you require colour accurate proofing please request hard copy colour proofs when ordering your job.
• Check all fonts are embedded You can check whether a PDF has all its fonts embedded or not – this is particularly useful when you are using a new method of creating the PDF. With
WHIte teXt
Advanced
Advanced > Print
Overprint Preview turned on
(how it will actually appear in print) the PDF open in Adobe Acrobat (or Adobe
Reader) press Ctrl-D ( ⌘
Output Preview
-D on a Mac) to get the Document Properties window open.
Go to the Fonts tab and you’ll see a list of all the fonts used in that file. Next to every one it needs to say “Embedded” or “Embedded
Subset” – any font that doesn’t have one of these descriptions after it is not embedded and that is a problem. The file needs to be made again with different settings. All fonts must be embedded for us to be able to use the file.
Us supplying proofs to you as PDF files helps save time but because how the PDF is viewed/printed is out of our control problems can occasionally occur. For the ultimate in reliability a proof that has been created by the same methods that will create the final printing is the best prepress proof available. We can supply such a proof, either a hard copy proof of soft proof for viewing on screen. In both cases these are created by the same software that will process the files when they are actually printed. This is not necessary for every job but may be wise for the first job you place with us or if you have concerns about the outputting of a particular job.
The “Professional” version of Acrobat 6 and above has a feature called Output
Preview (Separation Preview in version 6) which allows you to preview a colour file to see how it will separate out. Colour in print is separated out into cyan, magenta, yellow and black (CMYK) impressions
(see Appendix I for more information on
CMYK) and/or plates for special ‘spot’ colours (colours which print on their own plates, usually Pantone colours).
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
You can use the Output Preview feature to preview how the colours will be separated when plated. This can be useful, for example, where you want to check for unwanted spot colours or
RGB text. Spot colours will show in a separate line, underneath the CMYK colours. Unticking
Process Plates will hide those colours, only showing spot colours on your pages. To find any
RGB elements in your file you can change Show:
All to Show: RGB, which will hide everything except RGB elements. To find text which is either
RGB black or CMYK black (made out of all four colours, which can be a problem) then make sure
Show: All is selected and untick the Process
Black plate. Any text still visible is either made out of RGB (which is displaying as CMYK in this preview, since that is how it will be separated) or
CMYK colours. See screenshot right.
To open the Separation/Output Preview window; in Acrobat 6 – Advanced > Separation
Preview; in Acrobat 7 – Advanced > Output
Preview; in Acrobat 8 and 9 Advanced > Print
Production > Output Preview; in Acrobat 10 and 11 – Tools > Print Production > Output
Preview (if Print Production doesn’t show in Tools, click the Show or hide panels button in the top right hand corner of the Tools area to display a list); in Acrobat DC – select
Print Production > Output Preview from the Tools area on the right-hand side (if Print
Production doesn’t show in the Tools area, go to the Tools menu in the toolbar, find Print
Production and press Add – this will add
Print Production to the list in the Tools area on the right-hand side).
Preflight
The “Professional” version of Acrobat (not
Reader) has a useful preflight feature where the
PDF file is checked against predefined criteria for things that will affect the quality of print, such as unembedded fonts, low resolution images and RGB colours. We have made available files that you can download and use to automatically setup Acrobat’s preflighting to our requirements.
See our Downloads page for these presets.
To install the file; Adobe Acrobat 6 – go to
Document > Preflight > Edit > Import; Adobe
Acrobat 7 and 8 – go to Advanced > Preflight >
Options > Import Preflight Profile; in Acrobat 9 – go to Advanced > Print
Production > Preflight; in Acrobat
10 and 11 – go to Tools > Print
Production > Preflight > Options>Import
Preflight Profile (if Print Production doesn’t show in Tools, click the Show or hide panels button in the top right hand corner of the Tools area to display a list); in Acrobat DC – go to Tools > Print
Production > Preflight > Options>Import
Preflight Profile (if Print Production doesn’t show in the Tools area, go to the Tools menu in the toolbar, find Print Production and press Add – this will add Print
Production to the list in the Tools area on the right-hand side).
Once the preset is loaded, open the PDF you want to preflight, select our preflight profile in the Preflight palette (Henry_Ling _preflight) and press Execute. This will examine the
PDF and create a report on what it finds. Some things cause the preflight to reject the file as they are so serious we would not accept the file
(e.g. unembedded fonts) whereas some things will only cause Acrobat to warn you about the contents of the file (e.g. images below a certain resolution). In most cases you can double-click on an item in the preflight report and Acrobat will take you to the page and highlight the offending element. If you are supplying a PDF with things found in the preflight report that you cannot address (e.g. low resolution images or RGB colours) please mention this when you supply the file(s).
5
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Acrobat Distiller/PDF printers
Until relatively recently Adobe’s Acrobat Distiller was the industry standard method of creating
PDF files. This program converts PostScript files created by your page layout program into
PDF files. More and more programs can now export directly to PDF thus missing out the
PostScript > Distiller stage altogether. This is a perfectly valid method – see the relevant pages of this guide for details on how to setup InDesign and QuarkXPress to output suitable PDF files directly. See later in this section for instructions on enabling Microsoft Office programs to export directly to PDF.
As the PDF format is so flexible there are many options to configure when making a PDF file from most programs – choosing the right ones can make the difference between your job printing successfully first time and not.
This guide illustrates all the correct options to choose and provides files to download which will automatically configure the correct options
(if your software supports this feature). Where possible, if a program can export PDFs directly, we prefer PDFs made to the PDF/X-1a standard
(2001 or 2003). PDF/X is an ISO (International
Organization for Standardization) standard for graphic content exchange, to make the flexible
PDF format more reliable for print – click here to find out more about PDF/X. PDF/X files are just normal PDF files which have been made to the published ISO standard and verified as such by the software producing it. Supplying PDF/X files reduces the chance of problems with your job. PDF/X-1a files can only contain CMYK and
Pantone colours – no RGB colours are allowed.
Colour profiles are not supported but they contain an Output Intent, which is stating that the file has already been colour managed to be output
6 to that specific destination. The file is only valid
for that destination. See Appendix I for more on
colour management.
The PDF files made by our settings are suitable for both digital and litho printing.
Acrobat Distiller
To use Acrobat to create PDFs you need Acrobat
Distiller – this is a separate program but is installed with Adobe Acrobat. The free Reader program does not contain Distiller or any other method of creating PDFs. See next page for some free methods of creating press quality PDFs.
All the settings used to create a PDF in
Distiller can be saved into a file (.joboptions) which can be shared. See our Downloads page for our .joboptions files to make Distiller create
PDFs suitable for press. NB There are different joboptions files for the different versions of
Distiller, to handle the new features introduced with each new version. For Distiller version 6 or above you can just drag the joboptions file onto the main program window and release it – the joboptions will automatically be installed and will show in the Default Settings: area.
When Acrobat was installed you should have a printer called ‘Adobe PDF’. If you have this printer available to you this is the best method
to create PDFs (unless you own Adobe InDesign or
QuarkXPress), providing you configure the Adobe
PDF printer to our settings. If our joboptions file is installed into your copy of Distiller the ‘Henry_
Ling’ settings will be available and should be used. You can make these settings the default for
Adobe’s PDF printer (if for example you only ever create PDFs for us), otherwise you would have to double-check that the ‘Henry_Ling’ settings are selected each time you make a PDF.
To make these settings the default in
Windows, go to the Printers control panel and open the properties of the Adobe PDF printer;
• Windows XP and Vista – go to
Start > Settings > Control
Panel > Printers, then double-click the Adobe PDF printer and choose
Printer > Properties.
• Windows 7 and 10 – go to Start > Devices and Printers, then right-click on the
Adobe PDF printer and choose Printer properties.
• Windows 8 – right-click on Windows/Start button and choose Control Panel then
Devices and Printers. Right-click on the Adobe PDF printer and choose Printer properties.
Once you have the printer’s properties open, under the General tab choose Printing
Preferences, then under the Adobe PDF
Settings tab choose the ‘Henry_Ling’ setting as the conversion setting, see below. You need to
do the same in Printing Defaults under the
Advanced tab. That should mean any PDF you create by printing to Adobe’s PDF printer will be made using our settings.
On a Mac, choose the appropriate settings from the PDF Options part of the Print dialogue box, once the Adobe PDF printer is selected, and then save this as a preset from the
Presets: box at the top of the window. This can be used each time you want to make a PDF to our settings.
If for some reason a font cannot be embedded in the PDF by Distiller during the PDFing process the process will fail (when our settings are used) – see the log file that is produced for details on which font(s) can’t be embedded. This will happen if either the font is unavailable to
Distiller for some reason or that the font vendor has forbidden the embedding of their font.
Free PDFing methods
There are free methods of creating PDFs available. None are perfect but some will make a suitable PDF – we recommend two such products.
The first is called CutePDF Writer (Windows only). CutePDF Writer is the easiest to use but will lower the resolution of high resolution images in some situations, so if that is a problem for your job use the alternative PDF printer mentioned next. CutePDF Writer installs a printer, of the same name, that you print to in order to make a PDF file. Click here to visit the CutePDF Writer web site – click the “Free
Download” link and run the installer program when it has downloaded. As free software the developer may put adverts and offers to other software in the installer file. Install carefully – if the installer says (near the top of the installer window) “Recommended Offer” you can safely press Cancel to continue with the install.
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Untick any options (or press Decline) relating to installing additional software/toolbars.
Halfway through the actual install process it will ask you if you want it to install another program
(PS2PDF Convertor) – say Yes (this is the part that does all the work). Once installed you need to change some of the default settings – see
Appendix II for details of the settings to use.
Our second recommended free PDF printer, doPDF (also Windows only), needs to be configured but once configured is better with images. Click here to visit the doPDF web site.
Click the Free PDF Converter link to download and run the installer. Choose not to open doPDF when the install completes (“Launch and visit site”).
Once installed you need to change one of the default settings – go to the Printers control panel and open the properties of the doPDF printer;
• Windows XP and Vista – go to
Start > Settings > Control
Panel > Printers, then doubleclick the doPDF printer and choose
Printer > Properties.
• Windows 7 and 10 – go to Start > Devices and Printers, then right-click on the doPDF printer and choose Printer properties.
• Windows 8 – right-click on Windows/Start button and choose Control Panel then
Devices and Printers. Right-click on the doPDF printer and choose Printer properties.
Once you have the printer’s properties open, click Printing Preferences from the
General tab. In the Graphic section, change the Resolution (dpi) setting to 600 (see top
right). This will ensure that any type of image
(halftone or 1-bit) will be kept at a suitable resolution. Press OK to that then change to the Advanced tab and choose Printing
Defaults. Change the Resolution (dpi) setting to 600 again. Press OK to that and OK again to close the printer’s Properties window
– doPDF is now configured. When you want to print to PDF, press Print from the File menu of the program you are using and select doPDF as the printer. When you press Print again another window will appear, where you choose what to call the file and where to save it. In this screen always tick on Embed fonts and High quality images (see below). The
7
resulting PDF will have all the fonts embedded
(which is essential) and the images will not have been overly compressed in the PDFing process.
If you have lots of high resolution images this may make a large file – if this is a problem we can discuss lowering the resolution once we see a sample file.
You can create PDF files on the Adobe web site – this is web-based and so is available to Mac and Windows users. However the settings used will not make a file suitable for professional printing and there’s no way to change them.
Other online services are available which will allow you to upload a Word document (for example) and it will be converted to PDF. This will also not be suitable – your layouts may change when the PDF is created, as fonts used in your document will not necessarily be available on the computer doing the conversion.
Please note that version 3.30 and above of the free office suite OpenOffice (available for Mac and Windows) can export files directly to PDF and will embed all the fonts properly providing you choose the Embed standard fonts option in the Export as PDF dialogue (in the
File menu). See screenshot right – note settings in Images area also.
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Microsoft Office in versions 2007 and above provides the ability to save files directly to
PDF – this can be made to embed all the fonts appropriately. To use this feature in Office 2007 you must first download and install this file from
Microsoft. See Microsoft Word/Microsoft Publisher section for specific settings to use.
Whichever method you use to create PDF files
(but especially if you are using a free one) check the file through in Acrobat (or the free Adobe
Reader) to confirm things look as you expect –
see the Adobe Acrobat/Adobe Reader section of this
guide for more information on this. If you are creating a PDF using a method not mentioned on this page then please definitely check that the
fonts are embedded in your PDF (see the Adobe
Acrobat/Adobe Reader section for more details).
We recommend submitting a sample PDF for testing in advance of sending the completed job. This will help to iron out any minor issues prior to the demands of deadlines.
8
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Adobe InDesign
InDesign offers the ability to go straight to PDF without the need to own a separate PDF creation program, such as Acrobat Distiller. PDF export settings can be saved to a ‘preset’ file – load our preset file into InDesign, select it from the top of the Export PDF dialogue box when making a PDF and all the settings will automatically be set to our specifications. Our settings make PDF files to the PDF/X-1a standard. PDF/X is an ISO standard for graphic content exchange – to find out more click here.
To load our PDF export settings into your copy of InDesign see instructions appropriate for your software version on the following pages.
The files made by these settings are suitable for digital or litho (conventional) printing on coated paper. If you are producing files for a job on uncoated
paper please contact us. Please note that we require colour management to be turned on (which it is by default).
Using our PDF export presets will convert your documents to appropriate CMYK settings.
You can place RGB images and have InDesign convert them to CMYK when it makes the PDF.
This gives good results but where image quality/ colour fidelity is critical, converting the images to CMYK in an image editor, such as Photoshop, and fine-tuning and sharpening them before placing them in InDesign may be best.
InDesign features the ability to use transparency effects. These transparency effects are not supported in PDF/X-1a files so have to be ‘flattened’ (where transparent objects are converted to opaque objects with the same appearance) before the PDF can be made. Our settings will therefore flatten any transparency, using appropriate settings for our equipment, so you need to be aware of flattening issues if you use transparency. If you are going to use transparency effects in your design (this includes drop shadows) please read chapters 1 and 2 of Adobe’s own advice regarding handling transparency – click here to download this. See last page of the InDesign section for information on using the preflight feature in various different versions of InDesign.
Please note that any RGB black text (R:0, G:0,
B:0), either keyed directly into your document or contained within a PDF or EPS file placed in your document (for example, in a PDF created by Word), will be converted to all four CMYK colours when output using our settings, containing Cyan, Magenta and Yellow too. Using RGB like this should be avoided
– it’s problematic to print and affects legibility. To check if your document contains this, use
InDesign’s Separations Preview feature, which allows you to preview a colour file to see how it will separate out. Colour in conventional/ litho jobs is separated out into cyan, magenta,
yellow and black (CMYK) plates (see Appendix I
for more information) and/or plates for special
‘spot’ colours (colours which print on their own plates, usually Pantone colours).
Go to Window > Output > Separations
Preview to open the panel and select
Separations from the View: menu. To find text which is RGB black, click on the symbol next to the Black plate to deselect it. Any text still visible is either made out of RGB (which is displaying as
CMYK in this preview, since that is how it will be separated) or CMYK colours. See screenshot right.
Spot colours (if any) will show in a separate line, underneath the CMYK colours – click on the symbol next to CMYK to hide those colours, only showing spot colours on your pages.
9
InDesign CS2
Click here to download the settings required to make a suitable PDF file from InDesign CS2.
The files made by these settings are suitable for digital or litho (conventional) printing on
coated paper. If you are producing files for a job on
uncoated paper please contact us. The PDF export preset requires a particular colour profile to be available on your computer before they are loaded. The profiles are included with the preset files. To load the colour profiles we use in this guide – Adobe RGB for RGB (this may already be installed on your system) and ISO Coated v2 for
CMYK;
• Windows: Right-click the .icc file and choose
Install Profile. NB No confirmation is given.
• Mac OS X: The .icc file should be placed in
Macintosh HD > Users > [username] >
Library > ColorSync > Profiles.
NB In OSX 10.7+ the User’s Library folder is hidden by default. To temporarily make it visible in order to access it: with either the desktop or a Finder window as the front-most application, hold down the option/alt key and select the Go menu. Library will be listed as one of the items in the menu. Click it, and a Finder window will open showing the contents of the Library folder. When you close the Library folder’s Finder window, the folder will be hidden from view again. If you find the
Library folder does not contain the ColorSync or
Profiles folder just create them.
In OSX 10.9+ you can easily make it permanently visible – when in Finder with your Home folder (the folder named as per your user name) visible, select View, then select Show View Options, then check the box Show Library Folder.
Once the colour profile is installed open any document(s) you are producing which will be
10
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS printed by us and assign our colour profiles to the document. To do this go to Edit > Assign
Profiles and match the screenshot below. Save the document – when you output the file using our settings it will be colour managed. Do this with all documents that will be printed by us.
Other documents will be unaffected. For Mac users – if the profile is not in the list, install it into the following folder and check again –
Macintosh HD > Library > Application
Support > Adobe > Color > Profiles >
Recommended.
When these documents are reopened a Profile or Policy Mismatch window will probably appear, see screenshot top right, as the document now most likely has colour management settings that are different from how your InDesign is configured. This is asking how you want to handle the difference in profiles between your default colour profiles and the profiles now used by that document. You may be asked about this twice for each document – once for the RGB settings and once for the CMYK settings. To overcome these warnings always choose Leave the document as is. This keeps the profiles you have assigned to those documents. Choosing the other setting ( Adjust the document to match current colour settings) will undo that. If you had never seen the Profile or Policy Mismatch window before you will only see it when you open the documents you are preparing for us.
To install our PDF export preset, choose
Adobe PDF Presets from the File menu, then Define. Next, press Load and browse to find the .joboptions file you downloaded, then
Open. If you see a warning “The preset specifies source profiles that don’t match the current color settings file” you can safely ignore it – if you have assigned our profiles to your document(s) it will not be an issue. Installing the file creates a PDF Export Preset called Henry_Ling(PDFX-
1a), select this from the top of the Export
PDF dialogue box when making a PDF and all the settings will automatically be set to our specifications. This will create a PDF/X-1a:2003 compliant PDF file with crop marks turned on, composite CMYK colour space (any RGB colours will be converted to CMYK but any Pantone colours will be retained), graphics downsampled to an appropriate resolution, a 3mm bleed allowance on each edge and any transparency effects flattened at an appropriate resolution.
InDesign CS3–6 and CC
Click here to download the settings required to make a suitable PDF file from InDesign CS3,
CS4, CS5, CS5.5, CS6 and CC. The files made by these settings are suitable for digital or litho
(conventional) printing on coated paper. If you are producing files for a job on uncoated paper please
contact us. The PDF export preset requires a particular colour profile to be available on your computer before they are loaded. The profiles are included with the preset files. To load the colour profiles we use in this guide – Adobe RGB for RGB
(this may already be installed on your system) and ISO Coated v2 for CMYK;
• Windows: Right-click the .icc file and choose
Install Profile. NB No confirmation is given.
• Mac OS X: The .icc file should be placed in
Macintosh HD > Users > [username] >
Library > ColorSync > Profiles.
NB In OSX 10.7+ the User’s Library folder is hidden by default. To temporarily make it visible in order to access it: with either the desktop or a Finder window as the front-most application, hold down the option/alt key and select the Go menu. Library will be listed as one of the items in the menu. Click it, and a Finder window will open showing the contents of the Library folder. When you close the Library folder’s Finder window, the folder will be hidden from view again. If you find the
Library folder does not contain the ColorSync or
Profiles folder just create them.
In OSX 10.9+ you can easily make it permanently visible – when in Finder with your Home folder (the folder named as per your user name) visible, select View, then select Show View Options, then check the box Show Library Folder.
Once the colour profile is installed open any document(s) you are producing which will be
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS printed by us and assign our colour profiles to the document. To do this go to Edit > Assign
Profiles and match the screenshot below. Save the document – when you output the file using our settings it will be colour managed. Do this with all documents that will be printed by us.
Other documents will be unaffected. For Mac users – if the profile is not in the list, install it into the following folder and check again –
Macintosh HD > Library > Application
Support > Adobe > Color > Profiles >
Recommended.
When these documents are reopened a Profile or Policy Mismatch window will probably appear, see screenshot top right, as the document now most likely has colour management settings that are different from how your InDesign is configured. This is asking how you want to handle the difference in profiles between your default colour profiles and the profiles now used by that document. You may be asked about this twice for each document – once for the RGB settings and once for the CMYK settings. To overcome these warnings always choose Leave the document as is. This keeps the profiles you have assigned to those documents. Choosing the other setting ( Adjust the document to match current colour settings) will undo that. If you had never seen the Profile or Policy Mismatch window before you will only see it when you open the documents you are preparing for us.
To install our PDF export preset, choose
Adobe PDF Presets from the File menu, then Define. Next, press Load and browse to find the .joboptions file you downloaded, then
Open. If you see a warning “The preset specifies source profiles that don’t match the current color settings file” you can safely ignore it – if you have assigned our profiles to your document(s) it will not be an issue. Installing the file creates a PDF Export Preset called Henry_Ling(PDFX-
1a), select this from the top of the Export
PDF dialogue box when making a PDF and all the settings will automatically be set to our specifications. This will create a PDF/X-1a:2003 compliant PDF file with crop marks turned on, composite CMYK colour space (any RGB colours will be converted to CMYK but any Pantone colours will be retained), graphics downsampled to an appropriate resolution, a 3mm bleed allowance on each edge and any transparency effects flattened at an appropriate resolution.
11
InDesign’s Preflight feature
InDesign can check your document for things that will affect the quality of print, such as missing fonts, low resolution images and RGB colours. Choose File > Preflight (in versions
2 to CS3) to run the check before you make your PDF and investigate and avoid as many problems as possible. Please make us aware of any problems you can’t fix. NB This will not be able to look inside any EPS or PDF files in your document, so any RGB or low resolution images inside those files will not be reported.
InDesign CS4 and above has an improved preflight feature, called Live Preflight, where your document is being checked as you work on it.
You can download our preflight profile here – to
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS install, unzip the .idpp file then in InDesign go to Window > Output > Preflight. Next, in the
Preflight window that opens click the options icon in the top right hand corner and choose
Define Profiles. In the next window click the option arrow and Load Profile. Select our file and press Open, then OK. Back in the
Preflight window, select our preset from the
Profile: area and click the paperclip symbol to embed the preflight profile into your document.
Next, click the options icon, choose Preflight
Options and make sure for When Opening
Documents that Use Embedded Profile is selected. When you want to preflight your document open the Preflight panel and any problems are displayed and a solution suggested.
NB Our preflight profile requires the document to have a 3mm bleed allowance – this can be added via File > Document Setup if your document doesn’t have it. EPS and PDF files in your document will be examined for low resolution images but only one image will be reported (if more than one low resolution image is found the one reported will be indicated as (lowest), meaning this is the lowest but there are other low resolution images present.
RGB will not be found in EPS or PDF files. It is probably best to preflight any PDF files you plan to use in InDesign with Acrobat Professional first
if you have it (see the Adobe Acrobat/Adobe Reader
section).
12
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
QuarkXPress
In QuarkXPress versions 7 and above you can export directly to PDF – this is our preferred output method. See settings on following pages for the various different versions of QuarkXPress
– the files made by these settings are suitable for digital or litho (conventional) printing on coated paper. If you are producing files for a job on uncoated
paper please contact us.
QuarkXPress 7–10, 2015 and 2016
Quark upgraded colour management in version
7, improving the results over previous versions.
Also, colour management is always on in
QuarkXPress 7 and above so must be configured to suit our needs.
To do so, first open a document you are producing which will be printed by us and
(with no other documents open) open the colour management options – this is found under QuarkXPress > Preferences > Print
Layout > Colour Manager on a Mac and
Edit > Preferences > Print Layout > Colour
Manager on Windows. Your Colour Manager settings should match the screenshots right. Save the document – when you output the file using our settings it will be colour managed. Do this with all documents that will be printed by us.
Other documents will be unaffected.
NB If you are trying to match a job that was previously processed in a version of
QuarkXPress prior to 7 then we recommend using QuarkXPress Emulate Legacy as your Source Setup (in the Colour Manager options) for that document. That is provided to process colours in a similar way as previous versions. For all new documents we recommend using QuarkXPress 7.0 Default as this will give better results than using than
QuarkXPress Emulate Legacy. Also, Quark versions 10 onwards use a different colour engine to versions 7–9 so you may get a slightly different
RGB>CMYK conversion between older and newer versions.
Click here to download settings required to make a suitable PDF file from QuarkXPress versions 7–10, 2015 and 2016. Unzip the files to your desktop.
QuarkXPress 7–9 Colour Manager options
QuarkXPress 10, 2015 and 2016 Colour Manager options
The CMYK .icc profile must be loaded onto your system before loading our PDF preset files otherwise the PDFs will not be made correctly.
To load the colour profile we use in this guide
(“ISO Coated v2 (ECI)”);
13
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
• Windows: Right-click the .icc file and choose
Install Profile. NB No confirmation is given.
• Mac OS X: The .icc file should be placed in
Macintosh HD > Users > [username] >
Library > ColorSync > Profiles.
NB In OSX 10.7+ the User’s Library folder is hidden by default. To temporarily make it visible in order to access it: with either the desktop or a Finder window as the front-most application, hold down the option/alt key and select the Go menu. Library will be listed as one of the items in the menu. Click it, and a Finder window will open showing the contents of the Library folder. When you close the Library folder’s Finder window, the folder will be hidden from view again. If you find the
Library folder does not contain the ColorSync or
Profiles folder just create them.
In OSX 10.9+ you can easily make it permanently visible – when in Finder with your Home folder (the folder named as per your user name) visible, select View, then select Show View Options, then check the box Show Library Folder.
Before proceeding check QuarkXPress recognises the newly installed profile(s) open the Profile Manager in QuarkXPress
( Utilities > Profile Manager) – if the new profile doesn’t appear in the list then press
Update. If it still doesn’t appear after restarting your computer, create a folder in the Documents area of your computer and save the .icc file into it. Back in Profile Manager use the Auxiliary
Profile Folder option – press Browse and browse to select the folder containing the profile.
QuarkXPress Profile Manager options
Press Update to make it scan the folder for profiles. The new profile should then appear in the list. Don’t proceed to installing the PDF preset until Quark has recognised the .icc profile.
To load the PDF settings file into
QuarkXPress go to Edit > Output
Styles > Import and load the Henry_Ling(39L) file. Press Save. Our output style will create a file with crop marks turned on, DeviceN colour space
(any RGB colours will be converted to CMYK but any Pantone colours will be retained, colourised images and Multi-Inks will output correctly), graphics downsampled to an appropriate resolution, 3mm bleed allowance on each edge and with transparency effects flattened at an appropriate resolution.
To export a PDF directly from QuarkXPress, check it is configured to export to PDF rather than to PostScript – in the PDF options in
Preferences (Preferences is found under the
QuarkXPress menu on the Mac and the Edit menu on Windows) make sure Direct to
PDF is selected and not Create PostScript for Later Distilling. Also, tick the Log
Errors checkbox.
Export your document to PDF by going to
File > Export > Layout as PDF and choose our Henry_Ling(39L) settings from the PDF
Style drop-down box.
Our settings make PDF files to the PDF/X-1a standard. PDF/X is an ISO standard for graphic content exchange – to find out more click here.
Quark introduced transparency features in version 7. Transparency is not supported in PostScript or QuarkXPress PDFs (since an intermediate PostScript file is made) so has to be ‘flattened’ before the PDF can be made.
Flattening is the process where transparent objects are converted to opaque objects with the same appearance. Although the PDF format supports ‘live’ (i.e. unflattened) transparency
QuarkXPress always flattens any transparency when exporting PDFs so you need to be aware of flattening issues if you use transparency. Our presets include flattening settings to suit our equipment. If you are going to use transparency effects in your design please see here for Quark’s own advice regarding handling transparency.
While QuarkXPress was the most popular program for making-up pages for years it has a few issues you should be aware of, particularly if you use older versions. See table over detailing these problems and offering some solutions.
Best be aware of these issue while working in
QuarkXPress as even preflighting the PDF file will not necessarily highlight all these issues.
14
Problem
Bold or italic characters don’t look right in your final file.
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Solution
Don’t stylise fonts in QuarkXPress, i.e. don’t use the ‘bold’ and/or ‘italic’ command in the
Measurements palette ( ) unless you know you have the correct bold or italic font files loaded.
For example, if you are using the font Minion Pro don’t use the ‘bold’ or ‘italic’ command in the
Measurements palette unless you actually have a Minion Pro Bold or Italic font loaded on the system. If the appropriate bold or italic font file is not available QuarkXPress will fake the effect.
These faux fonts often don’t look much like the proper versions and will not necessarily output correctly on our equipment. Best to always choose bold/italic etc fonts from the font sub-menu (see pic below) rather than styling the current font using .
If you do have the proper font files available to QuarkXPress and then stylise the plain font in the Measurements palette QuarkXPress should automatically use the proper font instance – you can check it has done this in the Utilities > Usage dialogue box, by looking in the More Info section of the Fonts area when you have a particular font selected. In the two examples below the first is correct (Minion Pro «Italic» is using an italic face – MinionPro-It.otf) but the second is not
(Trajan Pro «Italic» is using TrajanPro-Regular.otf) and so QuarkXPress will make a faux italic.
Colour images look ‘washed out’ in final file.
(QuarkXPress 6 only)
If RGB images are included in a document and you make a Composite CMYK PDF file
QuarkXPress will convert them to CMYK when it makes the file. It does not do a good job unless you have turned on and correctly configured the QuarkXPress Colour Management module.
Following our instructions will overcome this. Always review the PDF file before submitting it.
15
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Adobe Photoshop
Even if you are using a page layout program like
QuarkXPress or InDesign to convert your colour images from RGB to CMYK, it is best to check that your images have ICC profiles first, if colour fidelity is important to you. These will be used by QuarkXPress/InDesign to convert the colour values of your image to our destination profile
(so called as it describes our printing presses – the destination for your files). Using an image in
QuarkXPress/InDesign without a profile may lead to unexpected results as our PDF export settings in those programs will convert your images to our destination profile, and for that to work optimally it needs to know what colour it is converting it
from. See Appendix I for a description of colour
management and colour profiles.
Opening in Photoshop is a good way to check what profile (if any) images use. If you are going to open your images in Photoshop you need to make sure you either don’t unnecessarily change any colour management the images already have, and, if you are going to convert images from
RGB, that you convert it to the correct profile.
If you are working on your images in
Photoshop, before saving them you may want to convert them to one of our destination profiles.
If you are going to re-use your images (for example on a web site or in another publication by a different printer) you may want to leave them as RGB and let QuarkXPress/InDesign convert them to our destination profile for the job we are printing. That way you can re-use your RGB files which gives you more flexibility compared to re-using CMYK files converted to our destination profile.
If the images are only being used for this print job you can get the best quality by converting to our destination profile in
16
Photoshop. Our destination profiles are ISO
Coated v2 for CMYK images and Dot Gain 15% for greyscale images, printing on coated paper
– please contact us if you are using uncoated paper.
The greyscale profile is installed by default in
Photoshop – to install our CMYK profile;
• Windows: Right-click the .icc file and choose
Install Profile. NB No confirmation is given.
• Mac OS X: The .icc file should be placed in
Macintosh HD > Users > [username] >
Library > ColorSync > Profiles.
NB In OSX 10.7+ the User’s Library folder is hidden by default. To temporarily make it visible in order to access it – with either the desktop or a Finder window as the front-most application, hold down the option/alt key and select the Go menu. Library will be listed as one of the items in the menu. Click it, and a Finder window will open showing the contents of the Library folder. When you close the Library folder’s Finder window, the folder will be hidden from view again. If you find the
Library folder does not contain the ColorSync or
Profiles folder just create them.
In OSX 10.9+ you can easily make it permanently visible – when in Finder with your Home folder (the folder named as per your user name) visible, select View, then select Show View Options, then check the box Show Library Folder.
Check to make sure Photoshop can see the profile by going to Edit > Color Settings and in the Working Spaces section go to the CMYK: area and click on the drop-down box to the right of it. Our profile – “ISO
Coated v2 (ECI)” – should appear in the list.
If it does, press Cancel to leave the window
without making any changes. If not, restart
Photoshop and try again. For Mac users if that still doesn’t work copy the profile into this additional folder and check again –
Macintosh HD > Library > Application
Support > Adobe > Color > Profiles >
Recommended.
To show what profile an image is using when in Photoshop you can choose to display it at the bottom of the document window – next to the zoom percentage. Click the arrow and choose
Document Profile from the list of options. See screenshot above.
In Photoshop colour management is always on so should be configured so you can at least see what Photoshop is doing with the colours.
In Edit > Color Settings we recommend changing the Color Management Policies section to match the screenshot below. Make a
note of your original settings in case you want to go back. What this does is keep an image’s ICC profile even if it is different from Photoshop’s default profile, and warn you when it finds such discrepancies when opening an image. This will make sure you are always aware of an image’s colour management.
Opening images
When you open an image in Photoshop, after changing the Colour Management Policies settings
above, one of three things will happen;
1. If Photoshop doesn’t ask about profiles then the image must have the same profile as your working space. This is good – your image has a profile.
2. If a dialogue box appears saying the image does not have an embedded profile then choose Leave as is (don’t colour manage) and press OK. As soon as it is open in Photoshop assign an appropriate profile using Edit > Assign Profile. Select whichever profile makes the image look
“correct”. There’s no way of knowing what the source space of the image actually was if it is not saved with the file, but intelligent guesses are ‘sRGB’ or ‘Adobe RGB’ for RGB images and ‘US Web Coated SWOP’ or ‘Euroscale
Coated’ for CMYK. If there are a lot of images all without profiles then it might be worth asking whoever created the files, as choosing the wrong profile can seriously influence how the colour appears.
3. If a dialogue box appears saying the image has an embedded profile that does not match
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS the working space then choose Use the embedded profile (instead of the working space). Press OK to open into
Photoshop.
Once you have the image open in Photoshop you can either leave it as RGB for QuarkXPress/
InDesign to convert to CMYK or convert to
CMYK in Photoshop (if appropriate, as discussed earlier). If leaving in RGB and you are saving the image because you have either assigned a missing profile or made some changes, make sure you save the image with a profile. Check that the ICC Profile: box is ticked on in the
Save dialogue. This will save the ICC profile with the image so it is available to the colour management process in the next program, be it a page layout application or another image editing application.
Converting to Destination Profile
Once you have an image open in Photoshop with an appropriate profile and you have decided to
‘convert’ the image to our CMYK or greyscale profile (the merits of which were discussed earlier) use Edit > Convert to Profile. As long as the image has the correct source profile and is converted to the correct destination profile (our CMYK/greyscale profile) then there should be little, if any, colour shift. See screenshot above right for settings. The Intent setting gives you some options into how
Photoshop converts colours from one space to another, especially relating to how it deals with colours which will be out of gamut in the destination space . Relative Colorimetric is usually best but sometimes Perceptual is useful, especially for RGB colours out of gamut in CMYK.
Converting to profile is intended not to change the appearance of your image but to change the values so that the original appearance can be maintained on a particular device (our presses in this case). After converting the colour but before saving you should apply some sharpening. This should be done last, after all the pixel transformations involved in editing, colour conversion and resampling have been done.
When you are saving your images check that the ICC Profile: box is ticked on in the
Save dialogue. This will save the ICC profile with the image so it is available to the colour management process in the next program, be it a page layout application or another image editing application.
17
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Microsoft Word
Print jobs created in Microsoft Word generally have a bad name in the print industry as Word is really designed for general word processing duties rather than professional prepress.
However, if Word is all that is available to you for making-up pages it can be made to produce acceptable work if you are aware of its shortcomings
and work around them.
We have found later versions of the program –
Word 2007 onwards – have more shortcomings than previous versions in terms of creating files for print. If you have older versions available to you (Word versions XP or 2003) you might be better to use them, assuming you can live without the features of the newer versions. In terms of outputting high quality PDF files the new versions don’t really offer any improvements, only introduce new shortcomings. Our instructions cover the steps required to overcome these shortcomings as much as possible.
By default Henry Ling Limited is not keen to receive documents from Word. Rather, we have found it is more cost effective in the long-run for the customer to supply PDFs, thus avoiding costly work here getting around some of its drawbacks.
This need not be difficult and if the correct steps are taken the PDF file we receive will give us no more problems, and incur no more expense, than a file created from a professional prepress program costing many times as much.
If quality is not your prime concern – consistency in the text layout, quality of the images and accuracy of the colour – then you can just make a PDF (see over) and not worry about the following workarounds. However,
always check you are happy with the PDF before supplying it and tell us you want us to convert any RGB colours. Otherwise, see below for
18 workarounds required to deal with Word’s shortcomings. If you are concerned about colour accuracy then we recommend not using Word – all versions have problems in this regard.
Text flow
The first problem to be aware of is that Word will flow the text based on whatever printer is selected at the time. Consequently, when you select a different printer the text in your document may flow differently, which could push words or whole lines from one page to another. The most successful method of working round this problem is to always output your pages using the method you will use to supply the finished files to us (output to PDF), which should mean that the layout never changes. Always outputting to PDF (and then when you want a hard copy printout printing it from Adobe Acrobat/Reader) may take a little longer but avoids any chance of the text flow changing. Deselecting Use printer metrics to lay out document (found in
Tools > Options > Compatibility up to Word
2003, in Word 2007 click the Office button then
Word options > Advanced > Compatibility/
Layout Options, in Word 2010 go to File >
Options > Advanced > Compatibility/
Layout Options – this option is unavailable in
Word 2013 and above), can help this problem but it is still recommended that you only ever print the document to PDF.
Colour
Another problematic area for Word is colour.
See Appendix I for a detailed description of RGB
and CMYK colour spaces, but please be aware that if you supply files in RGB that are to be printed in colour then we must (like any other printer) convert the files to CMYK before we can print them, and colours can change during that process. Word can only work with RGB colours and cannot create CMYK or spot colours at all. If you have CMYK images you want to use in Word the only way to avoid Word converting them to
RGB is if they are saved as an EPS (Encapsulated
PostScript) file and you are outputting your PDF using a third party PDFing tool (see PDFing section below for specifics). As EPS files are essentially mini-PostScript files Word doesn’t recognise them as normal images and can’t alter their content, which is good, although Word is not always happy to use EPS files. Try a couple of images as a test, checking Word can import them and they output to PDF correctly, before saving all your images as EPS files.
Please note most desktop printers will not be able to print EPS images directly (and only the low resolution screen preview will output) – another reason to make a PDF and print from that to see the full resolution images.
Image quality/resolution
A further problem is how Word handles images.
By default when you insert an image into your document Word embeds the image into the document. Once images are embedded into the document they are compressed, which will reduce the quality slightly (which may be noticeable if the images have already been compressed) and in Word 2007 and above their resolution in the PDF will be capped at around
200dpi (which is a little low for a PDF being printed professionally). Rather than embedding images, when placing images you can choose to link to the original image files on your
computer – this allows the program access to their full resolutions and without compression.
Professional page layout programs link images by default.
To link image files rather than embed them
– when you are importing your picture click the arrow on the right hand side of the Insert button. This will give you the option to Insert or Link to File – choose the latter (see
below). Obviously this means that the image files must stay in the same place (and have the same name) once you have linked them, otherwise the program won’t be able to display or print the image, so it makes sense to organise where the image files are going to stay before linking them.
If an image file is renamed or moved Word will
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS not warn you when you open the document.
Missing images in Word will not display in the document or in the PDF.
PDFing: Word 2007–2016
Note that when images are embedded into a Word
2007–2016 document their resolutions will always be capped at about 200dpi (see details left) regardless of which method you use to create the PDF.
Word 2007–2016 provides the ability to save directly to PDF files. We don’t recommend using this method if your document contains images as this will cap all image resolutions at about
200dpi (even images that are linked rather than
embedded) and CMYK EPS files will be converted back to RGB. If your document contains no
images then this method is perfectly acceptable but otherwise we recommend you use an alternative method to export a PDF from Word.
To save a PDF directly from Word 2007–2016 using the “Save As” method, go to File > Save
As and choose PDF as the Save as type: and choose a file name and location. Choose
Standard in the Optimise for: section then press the Options button and use the settings
from the screenshot in Appendix III.
If you have a copy of Adobe Acrobat installed you will have an Adobe PDF or Acrobat menu in your Word toolbar. This uses Acrobat Distiller and is the best way to create a PDF from Word
(when our settings are used). This will give you full resolution images (when images are linked rather than embedded) and CMYK EPS files will
be CMYK in the PDF. See Appendix III for how to
configure and use this feature.
Other third-party methods of creating PDFs,
as covered in the Acrobat Distiller/PDF printer
section, will also give you high resolution images
(if your images are linked rather than inserted) and CMYK EPS files will stay CMYK in your PDF.
PDFing: Word 2003 and previous
These versions don’t feature a way to save direct to PDF so you will have to use thirdparty software to do this. These will give you full resolution images and CMYK EPS files will remain CMYK in the PDF – no need to link any images, embedding will be fine.
If you have a copy of Adobe Acrobat installed you will have an Adobe PDF or Acrobat menu in your Word toolbar. This uses Acrobat Distiller and is the best way to create a PDF from Word
(when our settings are used). See Appendix III for
how to configure and use this feature.
To print directly to PDF from Word 2003 and previous without the Adobe PDF/Acrobat
menu see the Acrobat Distiller/PDF printer section
of this guide to setup a free PDF printer. Print to
this printer to create your PDF file. See the Adobe
Acrobat/Adobe Reader section for things to look for
when checking your PDF.
19
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Microsoft Publisher
Microsoft Publisher has many of the same problems as Microsoft Word as the programs probably share a lot of code. However, if
Publisher is all that is available to you for makingup pages it can be made to produce acceptable work if you are aware of its shortcomings and work
around them.
We have found later versions of the program –
Publisher 2013 onwards – have more shortcomings than previous versions in terms of creating files for print. If you have older versions available to you (Publisher versions 2003–2010) you might be better to use them, assuming you can live without the features of the newer versions. In terms of outputting high quality PDF files the new versions don’t really offer any improvements, only introduce new shortcomings. Our instructions cover the steps required to overcome these shortcomings as much as possible.
By default Henry Ling Limited is not keen to receive documents from Publisher. Rather, we have found it is more cost effective in the long-run for the customer to supply PDFs, thus avoiding costly work here getting around some of its drawbacks. This need not be difficult and if the correct steps are taken the PDF file we receive will give us no more problems, and incur no more expense, than a file created from a professional prepress program costing many times as much.
If quality is not your prime concern – consistency in the text layout, quality of the images and accuracy of the colour – then you can just make a PDF (see over) and not worry about the following workarounds. However,
always check you are happy with the PDF before supplying it and tell us you want us to convert any RGB colours. Otherwise, see below for
20 workarounds required to deal with Publisher’s shortcomings. If you are concerned about colour accuracy then we recommend not using
Publisher – all versions have problems in this regard.
Text flow
The first problem to be aware of is that Publisher will flow the text based on whatever printer is selected at the time. Consequently, when you select a different printer the text in your document may flow differently, which could push words or whole lines from one page to another.
The most successful method of working round this problem is to always output your pages using the method you will use to supply the finished files to us (output to PDF), which should mean that the layout never changes. Always outputting to PDF (and then when you want a hard copy printout printing it from Adobe Acrobat/
Reader) may take a little longer but avoids any chance of the text flow changing.
Colour
Another problematic area for Publisher is
colour. See Appendix I for a detailed description
of RGB and CMYK colour spaces, but please be aware that if you supply files in RGB that are to be printed in colour then we must (like any other printer) convert the files to CMYK before we can print them and colours can change during that process. Where possible it is best to start with CMYK colours to begin with. Publisher versions 2003–2010 are best for colour reproduction. They work in the RGB colour space by default but you can set your document(s) to CMYK mode which means the colours it offers in the toolbar will be CMYK rather than RGB but you can (unfortunately) still choose RGB colours if you drill down in the menus. If you want to include CMYK (and/ or spot colours) in your job then ideally change the colour mode as soon as you create the document.
To change the colour settings of a document go to Tools > Commercial Printing
Tools > Color Printing (Publisher 2003 and
2007) or File > Info > Commercial Print
Settings > Choose Color Model (Publisher
2010) then choose whatever setting matches your requirement (either Process Colors (CMYK) or Process Colors plus spot colors. If your document already contains items when this change is made their colours will be converted
(and will probably change) and any tints will become solid! NB If you are using spot colours all spots must be defined in the Color Printing dialogue and not by the tools in the toolbar. Any spot colours not defined via the Color Printing dialogue will not appear as spots in the final output – you can apply the spot colour to your objects via the toolbar but not create them.
For most versions of Publisher if you have
CMYK images you want to use the only way to ensure they are not converted to RGB when
Publisher makes the PDF is to save them as EPS files. As EPS files are essentially mini-PostScript files Publisher doesn’t recognise them as normal images and can’t alter their content, which is good, although it is not always happy to use EPS files. Try a couple of images as a test, checking
Publisher can import them and they output to
PDF correctly, before saving all your images as
EPS files.
Please note most desktop printers will not be able to print EPS images directly (and only the low resolution screen preview will output) –
another reason to make a PDF and print from that to see the full resolution images.
Publisher 2013 and above don’t have RGB or
CMYK ‘modes’ – you can add RGB, CMYK or spot colours to your document but they will be converted to RGB when the PDF is made – see
PDFing section for your version of Publisher below for more details.
PDFing: Publisher 2016
If you have a copy of Adobe Acrobat installed you will have an Adobe PDF or Acrobat menu in your Publisher toolbar. This uses Acrobat
Distiller and is the best way to create a PDF from
Publisher (when our settings are used). This will allow full resolution images and CMYK EPS files will remain CMYK in the PDF (all other image
types will be output as RGB). See Appendix III for
how to configure and use this feature.
The second best method to PDF is to print
directly to a free PDF printer (see the Acrobat
Distiller/PDF printer section of this guide for more
details). This will allow full resolution images and CMYK EPS files will remain CMYK in the
PDF (all other image types will be output as
RGB).
The worst option is to create a PDF direct from Publisher 2016 (using Microsoft’s “Save As”
PDF method). This will result in all colour (even
CMYK EPS files and CMYK colours created within Publisher) being converted to RGB in the PDF. To do this go to File > Save As and choose PDF as the Save as type: and choose a file name and location. Next, press the
Options button and match the settings shown
in Appendix III. These settings are based on the
built-in Commercial Press settings but will give slightly higher quality output. Unfortunately there’s no way to save these settings so you must check/re-enter them each time you re-open
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS the program. Once you have entered the PDF settings but before you close the dialogue box press Print Options and turn on the Allow
Bleeds option (the PDF will not be output if you tick the Crop Marks option). To allow the bleed to appear on your PDF you have to increase the paper size – choose Custom as the Size and then increase both the Width and Height by 0.6cm (0.24”). This will create a PDF 3mm larger on each edge than your trimmed size, which will be trimmed off by us as bleed.
PDFing: Publisher 2013
Publisher 2013 will struggle to output any
CMYK in a PDF, even if you link to CMYK EPS image files. The best option is to use the built-in
PDFing, where at least CMYK colours defined within Publisher will output as CMYK. Using third-party PDFing tools will not output any
CMYK.
To create a PDF using Microsoft’s “Save As”
PDF method go to File > Save As and choose
PDF as the Save as type: and choose a file name and location. Next, press the Options
button and match the settings shown in Appendix
III. These settings are based on the built-in
Commercial Press settings but will give slightly higher quality output. Unfortunately there’s no way to save these settings so you must check/reenter them each time you re-open the program.
Once you have entered the PDF settings but before you close the dialogue box press Print
Options and turn on the Allow Bleeds option (the PDF will not be output if you tick the
Crop Marks option). To allow the bleed to appear on your PDF you have to increase the paper size – choose Custom as the Size and then increase both the Width and Height by
0.6cm (0.24”). This will create a PDF 3mm larger on each edge than your trimmed size, which will be trimmed off by us as bleed.
PDFing: Publisher 2010
To output CMYK your document should be created as Process Colors (CMYK) or
Process Colors plus spot colors.
The best way to create a PDF from
Publisher 2010 is using Microsoft’s “Save As”
PDF method (third-party PDFing tools are not recommended). Go to File > Save As and choose PDF as the Save as type: and choose a file name and location. Next, press the
Options button and match the settings shown
in Appendix III. These settings are based on the
built-in Commercial Press settings but will give slightly higher quality output. Unfortunately there’s no way to save these settings so you must check/re-enter them each time you re-open the program. Once you have entered the PDF settings but before you close the dialogue box press Print Options and turn on the Crop
Marks and Allow Bleeds options. To allow those marks to appear on your PDF you have to increase the paper size – choose Custom as the Size and then increase both the Width and
Height by 3cm (1.18”). That will output a PDF with crop marks and 3mm bleed.
PDFing: Publisher 2003
To output CMYK your document should be created as Process Colors (CMYK) or
Process Colors plus spot colors.
Publisher 2003 doesn’t feature a way to save direct to PDF so you will have to use thirdparty software to do this. This will give you full resolution images, CMYK EPS files will remain
CMYK in the PDF, bleed and crop marks.
Note that there’s no need to link any images, embedding will be fine.
21
If you have a copy of Adobe Acrobat installed you will have an Adobe PDF or Acrobat menu in your Publisher toolbar. This uses Acrobat
Distiller and is the best way to create a PDF from
Publisher (when our settings are used). See
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Appendix III for how to configure and use this
feature.
To print directly to PDF from Publisher 2003
first see the Acrobat Distiller/PDF printer section
of this guide to create or configure your PDF printer. Then, in Publisher go to File > Print, and then Advanced Print Settings and follow the settings shown in the screenshots in
22
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Pages (Apple iWork)
Pages is the page layout program in Apple’s iWork suite. This can be used to make-up your pages and is able to export directly to PDF.
To create a PDF first confirm that everything is how you want it to appear in your document.
It is not usually cost effective for us to make corrections to the PDF. By default Henry Ling
Limited is not keen to receive documents from this program. Rather, we have found it is more cost effective in the long run for the customer to supply ‘finished’ files (i.e. PDFs) to us. Make sure you check the PDF through in Adobe
Acrobat/Adobe Reader before supplying it (see
the Adobe Acrobat/Adobe Reader section for more
information.
To create a PDF go to the File menu, then
Export. Make sure PDF is selected as the format then Image Quality: is set to Best. Ignore the Security Options. Press Next, then choose a file name and location for your PDF file and press Export. See screenshot below.
Pages will not convert RGB colour elements in your document to CMYK colour when it makes the PDF, so bear in mind that there may be some colour shift when we convert the colours to
CMYK. See Appendix I for a description of RGB/
CMYK.
23
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
Serif PagePlus
Serif PagePlus is a low cost but feature-packed page layout program (Windows only) that can export direct to PDF. We have created a preset file which can be downloaded and installed into
PagePlus – using this preset to export your PDF will mean it is made using suitable settings for us.
To download our PDF export preset (which
PagePlus refers to as a “Publish profile”) click here. Download the file, unzip it to your desktop and then in PagePlus, with a document open, press the Publish PDF button (or go to File > Publish as PDF). The Publish
PDF dialogue box appears – at the foot of the
General tab, click the drop-down box next to Publish profile: and choose Browse.
Browse to find our file on your desktop, select it and choose Open. That will install the file onto your system. When you are making a PDF file for us please choose “Henry_Ling” from the
Publish profile: area when exporting the
PDF. See screenshot right.
Some versions of PagePlus have some limitations regarding colour management. See table below for details on how each version performs. Because of these restrictions;
• PagePlus X5 and earlier – we only recommend using RGB images (with ICC profiles). Using
CMYK images with our PDF export preset will
not produce accurate colour, even when the images use the same ICC profile as our PDF export preset.
• PagePlus X6 and later – using RGB images
(with ICC profiles) or using CMYK images with the same ICC profile as our PDF export preset (FOGRA39) will produce accurate colour. Using CMYK images with ICC profiles different to that used by our PDF export preset will not produce accurate colour.
Please check, after installing and selecting our
Publish profile that on the Advanced tab the
Output Intent: is set to Coated FOGRA39, as per screenshot below.
Always check the PDF through before supplying the file to us, paying particular attention to any areas where transparency has been used. If colour accuracy is critical please bear in mind the above recommendations and request a hard copy colour proof of at least some pages.
Please note that PagePlus X5 and later support using layered tif images (including
Photoshop adjustment layers) and Photoshop
EPS files containing vector text. Vector text in
Photoshop PDFs will be rasterised.
Version
PagePlus X4
PagePlus X5
PagePlus X6
24
Create PDF/X file with preset?
Yes
Yes
Yes
RGB > CMYK conversion
Okay
Okay
Good
CMYK > CMYK conversion
Poor
Poor
Poor
Maintain CMYK colours when image
ICC = output ICC
Poor
Poor
Good
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
APPENDIX I Colour management
Until relatively recently colour in print was used sparingly due to the costs involved. Colour images were produced and manipulated by experts using expensive proprietary equipment to ensure that when the job was printed the colours were correct. Nowadays including colour in print jobs is much cheaper and within the reach of most customers. It’s now possible to produce colour files that would be suitable for professional printing without the need for expensive equipment and years of experience.
This has been made possible by technology allowing colour to be ‘managed’ throughout the process so that predictable results can be achieved more consistently.
The human eye has receptors in the retina which are sensitive to three different types of light – red, green and blue. In the absence of all of these three types of light we see black
(i.e. darkness). When we see full strength light of all three types we see white light. By receiving different amounts of these three colours the brain can experience almost every conceivable colour. Scanners, digital cameras and monitors work with colours in a red, green, blue (RGB)
colour space. A colour space (also known as a
‘colour model’) is a system for describing colours mathematically. The RGB colour space works by manipulating red, green and blue light to make your eye experience different colours. For example, the red, green and blue phosphors on televisions or monitors interact to make the colour image you see on-screen. Scanner and digital camera sensors break down light and record the red, green and blue components digitally.
In printing however, colours can only be represented by putting ink on paper. Since paper cannot emit red, green or blue light the printing process influences the RGB light received by your eye indirectly, by mixing inks together to absorb (i.e. remove) the red, green and blue components of light reflected from the paper surface. This reflected light enters your eye having had some or all of the red, green and blue components removed by the inks. Cyan, magenta, yellow inks are used as they absorb red, green and blue light respectively (they are known as the ‘opposing colours’ of red, green and blue).
Although a solid mass of cyan, magenta and yellow inks should absorb all the red, green and blue light, so the eye sees pure black, this is not the case as inks can never be made pure enough.
Also it would be an inefficient way to make black, using a lot of ink. So, black ink is used in the process – mixing Cyan, Magenta, Yellow and blacK (CMYK) inks together to give many other colours. This is known as “Four Colour Process” printing. When you print solid cyan, magenta, yellow and black inks you get a deep, rich black, as all the light has been absorbed. In contrast, in the RGB colour space when you add 100% red, green and blue light together it makes white light. It should be clear then that any files in the
RGB colour space in a job must be first converted to representative CMYK colours before they can be printed. Only by managing this process, the conversion from RGB light to CMYK inks, are you likely to get the results you expect.
Unfortunately, the range of colours made available by mixing CMYK inks together doesn’t quite match the range of colours available by mixing red, green and blue light (not least because ink pigments can never be made pure enough to actually achieve the range of colours theoretically possible by mixing CMYK inks).
This means that when you have some RGB colours in a file that fall outside the gamut (the total colour spectrum available) of CMYK then when the file is converted some colours are obviously going to have to change. Generally speaking these are bright, intense colours which, when converted to CMYK, will become duller and less vibrant. Equally, there are some colours available in CMYK that can’t be represented in
RGB.
RGB and CMYK colours are known as
device dependent colours as the colours made by a particular set of RGB or CMYK values are specific to a particular device – if the same values are used on a different device a slightly different colour will be experienced. The classic example of this is in a television showroom – televisions showing the same signal all display it slightly differently, even televisions of the same make and model. This is how, when colour management is not used, the perceived colour in a publication can change drastically from when it is first created to when it is printed. A colour management system (CMS) works by assigning actual colour meanings to the RGB or
CMYK numbers output on a particular device.
By determining the actual colour meaning of a set of RGB or CMYK values it enables that actual colour to be output on another device by changing the values that are input, to cater to the characteristics of that device.
This is made possible because the colour management system uses internally a colour space based on the human perception of colour rather than simply the RGB or CMYK values that are input to a device. This colour space is called
CIE L* a* b* (usually referred to as LAB). This was developed by colour scientists to describe
25
mathematically the colours experienced by people with normal colour vision when exposed to a specific colour under precisely specified viewing conditions. LAB colour is used by a CMS to represent the perceived colours that specific
RGB and CMYK values produce on a specific device. It translates the numbers between two devices – “to get this colour output on that device you need to input these set of numbers”.
To make this work the precise colour characteristics of each device needs to be known
– this information is stored in an ICC profile file
(usually referred to as “colour profiles” or just as “profiles”). Conforming to the International
Color Consortium specification these profiles describe the actual colours output from a specific device given specific input numbers.
This is often referred to as a device profile as the profile describes a specific device. A profile is created by outputting a special test image on the device, made up of dozens or hundreds of different colours. The actual colour of this output is then measured using a very sensitive colour measuring device and, using sophisticated software, compared to the actual colour values sent to the device. The two sets of numbers are used to make the ICC profile for that device which can be thought of as a translation table.
Not every possible colour is measured (that would make profiles too large to be practical) but sample colours throughout the full range of colours are measured and the colours in the gaps are extrapolated by the CMS.
If each device in the process is profiled in this manner then the CMS can manage the colour
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS as it passes from one device to another. For example, a CMYK image with a colour profile of a red apple displayed on screen – the red is composed of C:0 M:96 Y:98 K:0 in the file and you are happy how that red displays on your monitor. As the monitor has been profiled the CMS within the software displaying the image knows what colour values to display on the monitor to accurately display that CMYK colour. It converts the actual colour values (in
LAB) to whatever the destination device (in this instance RGB for your monitor) needs to display those LAB values. It can only do this because it knows the characteristics of the device using its profile. When you print the file on a profiled colour inkjet printer the CMS knows what colour values have to be sent to the printer to output the same red colour as you saw on your monitor.
The CMS knows what colours you actually saw when those CMYK values were displayed (thanks to the monitor’s profile) and sends what new set of colour values is required to reproduce those actual colours on the printer. It may have to change the outputs of the printer to C:4
M:100 Y:100 K:1 to ensure you see the red you expect when printed. This is how a CMS allows the colour data created by scanners or digital cameras to be transformed so that when printed it looks as close to the original capture as is technically possible. Achieving the exact same appearance using ink on paper as light emitted from a screen is not really possible.
Once you have turned colour management on in your programs, using suitable profiles is equally important in getting a good result. If the profiles available to the CMS are inaccurate then colour transformations between devices will be inaccurate. Ideally every device used throughout the process, by yourself and also by us, should be profiled and the profiles used as part of a CMS.
Profiling your own screens and printers has never been cheaper or easier but we appreciate that not everyone wants to take the time or money to do so, nor would it be cost-effective unless you plan to use it regularly. Devices like scanners, monitors and printers usually come with ICC profiles made by the manufacturer, specific to a particular model. They will not describe your particular device (no two devices are made exactly equal, and devices change over time) but are better than using no profile at all. Rather than individually profile each of our different printing presses we use a profile that describes the results you can expect given a standard set of printing conditions – when we meet these conditions on a press then this generic profile will give an accurate result.
So, colour management and profiles are very important and should be used whenever possible – they attach specific colour meaning to RGB or CMYK values. If a program handles an image with no colour profile it has no idea where the image came from and it can never accurately output it. Most software designed for image creation and page layout will be able to use colour profiles to manage the colour of your files – no extra software should be required.
26
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
APPENDIX II Configuring free PDF tools
Configurations for the CutePDF printer
Once installed you need to change some of the printer’s default settings – go to the Printer control panel and open the properties of the
CutePDF printer;
• Windows XP and Vista – go to
Start > Settings > Control
Panel > Printers, then doubleclick the CutePDF printer and choose
Printer > Properties.
• Windows 7 – go to Start > Devices and
Printers, then right-click on the CutePDF printer and choose Printer properties.
• Windows 8 – right-click on Windows/Start button and choose Control Panel then
Devices and Printers. Right-click on the CutePDF printer and choose Printer properties.
Once the printer properties are open, click
Printing Preferences from the General tab and then Advanced. Next, open up the
PostScript Options section at the bottom of the new window and change PostScript
Output Option to Optimize for
Portability. Press OK twice to take you back to the printer’s Properties screen again and then change to the Advanced tab and choose
Printing Defaults – select Advanced again and the same options as you did for
Printing Preferences.
Once done press OK twice again and then change to the Device Settings tab.
There, open up the Font Substitution
Table and scroll down making sure that all the fonts are set to <Don’t Substitute>, changing any as necessary. Then lastly change
Output Protocol to Binary and Add Euro
Currency Symbol to PostScript Fonts to Yes. Once you press OK you have configured the printer to suitable default settings.
27
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
APPENDIX III Configuring Microsoft Word/Microsoft Publisher
To export a PDF using the Adobe PDF or Acrobat
If you have a copy of Adobe Acrobat installed you will have an Adobe PDF menu in your Word/
Publisher toolbar. This uses Acrobat Distiller and can be used to export a PDF using our specific settings. To install our settings file (.joboptions) and use them, first download the Henry_Ling.
joboptions file from our Downloads page and extract out of the zip onto your desktop the appropriate file for your version of Acrobat. Open the Acrobat Distiller program and then drag the .joboptions file onto the main Distiller window and let go – that will install it and you should see “Henry_Ling(vX)” appearing in the Default Settings: area. That means it is installed, but those options must also be selected when the PDF is made.
Go to the Adobe PDF menu in Word/Publisher, choose Change Conversion Settings and under the Settings tab make sure “Henry_Ling(vX)” is selected in the Conversion Settings: drop-down box. Press OK and then go to Adobe PDF > Convert to Adobe PDF and that will make a PDF using our settings. Please check that our setting is still selected for any subsequent PDFs you make for us.
PDFing from Word 2007–2016, using Save As method;
28
(
PDFing from Publisher 2007–2016, using Save As method
Line art (1-bit) option not available in all versions);
H enry
L ing
L imited
– S uppLying
F iLeS
To print to PDF from Publisher 2003
29
Henry Ling Limited
© Henry Ling Limited 2017
ดาวน์โหลด
โฆษณา