Editing text. Adobe ILLUSTRATOR CS2
Annonce
Annonce
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
373
3
For Spacing, type a value in points. Higher values remove the extra space from between characters positioned on sharp curves or angles.
Type without spacing adjustment (left) compared to type with spacing adjustment (right)
Note:
The Spacing value has no effect on characters positioned on straight segments. To change spacing of characters anywhere along the path, select them, and then apply kerning or tracking.
Editing text
To insert the cursor in text
❖
Select any type tool, and click in the text.
See also
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To show or hide nonprinting characters
Nonprinting characters include hard returns (line breaks), soft returns (line breaks), tabs, spaces, nonbreaking spaces, double-byte characters (including spaces), discretionary hyphens, and the end-of-text character.
To make the characters visible as you format and edit type, choose Type > Show Hidden Characters. A check mark indicates that nonprinting characters are visible.
To specify curly or straight quotes
Typographer’s quotes
, often referred to as curly quotes, blend in with the curves of the font. Typographer’s quotes are traditionally used for quotation marks and apostrophes.
Straight quotes
are traditionally used as abbreviations for feet and inches.
1
Choose File > Document Setup, and choose Type from the pop-up menu at the top of the dialog box.
2
Do one of the following, and click OK:
•
To use straight quotes, deselect Use Typographer’s Quotes.
•
To use typographer’s quotes, select Use Typographer’s Quotes, choose the language for which you want to set quotes, and choose options for Double Quotes and Single Quotes.
Note:
You can set quote options for multiple languages. These quotes are applied to text based on the language you assign using the Character palette or Default Language preference.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
374
You can use the Smart Punctuation command to replace straight quotes with typographer’s quotes.
See also
“Assigning languages to text” on page 377
“To use smart punctuation” on page 376
To check spelling
1
Choose Edit > Check Spelling.
2
To set options for finding and ignoring words, click the arrow icon at the bottom of the dialog box and set the options as desired.
3
Click Start to begin checking the spelling.
4
When Illustrator displays misspelled words or other possible errors, do one of the following:
•
Click Ignore or Ignore All to continue spell-checking without changing a certain word.
•
Select a word from the Suggestions list or type the correct word in the top text box, and then click Change to change only that occurrence of the misspelled word. You can also click Change All to change all occurrences of the misspelled word in your document.
•
Click Add to have Illustrator store an acceptable but unrecognized word in the dictionary so that subsequent occurrences are not considered misspellings.
5
When Illustrator finishes checking your document, click Done.
Illustrator can check for spelling errors in a variety of languages, based on the language that you assign to words.
See also
“Assigning languages to text” on page 377
“To edit the spelling dictionary” on page 374
To edit the spelling dictionary
1
Choose Edit > Edit Custom Dictionary.
2
Do any of the following, and click Done:
•
To add a word to the dictionary, type the word in the Entry text box, and click Add.
•
To remove a word from the dictionary, select the word in the list, and click Delete.
•
To modify a word in the dictionary, select the word in the list. Then type the new word in the Entry text box, and click Change.
To find and replace text
1
Do one of the following:
•
To search the entire document, deselect all objects.
•
To limit the search to a type object, select the object.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
375
•
To limit the search to a range of characters, select the characters.
2
Choose Edit > Find and Replace.
3
Enter the text string you want to find and, if desired, the text string with which to replace it.
You can choose a variety of special characters from the pop-up menus to the right of the Find and Replace With options.
4
To customize how Illustrator searches for the specified text string, select any of the following options:
Match Case
Searches only for text strings that exactly match the uppercase and lowercase text in the Find text box.
Find Whole Word
Searches only for entire words that match the text in the Find text box.
Search Backwards
Searches the file from the bottom to the top of the stacking order.
Check Hidden Layers
Searches for text in hidden layers. When this option is deselected, Illustrator ignores text in hidden layers.
Check Locked Layers
Searches for text in locked layers. When this option is deselected, Illustrator ignores text in locked layers.
5
Click Find to begin the search.
6
If Illustrator finds an instance of the text string, do one of the following:
•
Click Replace to replace the text string, then click Find Next to find the next instance.
•
Click Replace & Find to replace the text string and find the next instance.
•
Click Replace All to replace all instances of the text string in the document.
7
Click the close icon to close the dialog box.
To find the next instance of a text string when the Find And Replace dialog box is closed, choose Edit > Find Next.
To change capitalization styles
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change.
2
Choose one of the following in the Type > Change Case submenu:
UPPERCASE
to change all characters to uppercase.
Note:
The UPPERCASE command causes discretionary ligatures to revert to normal text. This also occurs with the Title
Case and Sentence Case commands when a discretionary ligature appears at the beginning of a word.
lowercase
to change all characters to lowercase.
Title Case
to capitalize the first letter of each word.
Sentence Case
to capitalize the first letter of each sentence.
Note:
The Sentence Case command assumes that the period (.), exclamation point (!), and question mark (?) characters mark the ends of sentences. Applying Sentence Case may cause unexpected case changes when these characters are used in other ways, as in abbreviations, filenames, or URLs. In addition, proper names may become lowercase.
If you’re using an OpenType font, you may want to take advantage of All Caps formatting to create more elegant type.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
376
See also
“To apply all caps and small caps” on page 388
To use smart punctuation
The Smart Punctuation command searches for keyboard punctuation characters and replaces them with their typographic equivalents. In addition, you can use the Smart Punctuation command to globally insert ligatures and fractions, if the font includes these characters.
If you’re using an OpenType font, use the OpenType palette instead of the Smart Punctuation dialog box typeset ligatures and fractions.
1
If you want to replace characters in specific text, rather than all text in the document, select the desired text objects or characters.
2
Choose Type > Smart Punctuation.
3
Select one or more of the following options:
ff, fi, ffi Ligatures
Renders ff, fi, or ffi letter combinations as ligatures.
ff, fl, ffl Ligatures
Renders ff, fl, or ffl letter combinations as ligatures.
Smart Quotes
Changes straight keyboard quotation marks into curly quotes.
Note:
The Smart Quotes option always replaces straight quotes with curly quotes, regardless of the Double Quotes and
Single Quotes settings in the Document Setup dialog box.
Smart Spaces
Eliminates multiple spaces after a period.
En, Em Dashes
Replaces a double keyboard dash with an en dash and a triple keyboard dash with an em dash.
Ellipses
Replaces three keyboard periods with ellipsis points.
Expert Fractions
Replace separate characters used to represent fractions with their single-character equivalents.
4
Select Entire Document to replace text symbols in the entire file or Text Only to replace symbols only in selected text.
5
(Optional) Select Report Results to see a list of the number of symbols replaced.
6
Click OK to search for and replace selected characters.
See also
“To use ligatures and contextual alternates” on page 393
“To format fractions and ordinals” on page 394
“To specify curly or straight quotes” on page 373
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
377
Language
Unicode
Illustrator supports
Unicode
, a standard that assigns a unique number to every single character, no matter which language or type of computer you use. Unicode is:
Portable
Letters and numbers will not change when you move the file from one workstation to another. Adding a foreign language to a document doesn’t cause confusion, because foreign characters have their own designations that don’t interfere with the encoding from other languages in the same project.
Platform-neutral
Because Windows and Macintosh operating systems now support Unicode, moving a file between the two platforms is easier. No longer will you need to proofread an Illustrator file just because you moved to it a
Windows computer from a Macintosh computer or vice versa.
Robust
Because Unicode-compliant fonts offer a larger number of potential characters, specialty type characters are readily available.
Flexible
With Unicode support, substituting a typeface in a project won’t result in substituted characters. With a
Unicode-compliant font, a
g
is a
g
no matter which typeface is used.
All of these things make it possible for a French designer to design for a client in Korea and hand the job off to a partner in the United States without having to struggle with the text. All the U.S. designer needs to do is enable the correct language in the operating system, load the foreign-language font, and continue the project.
Assigning languages to text
Illustrator uses Proximity language dictionaries for both spelling and hyphenation. Each dictionary contains hundreds of thousands of words with standard syllable breaks. You can assign a language to an entire document or apply a language to selected text.
A
B
C
Examples of hyphenation for different languages
A.
“Glockenspiel” in English
B.
“Glockenspiel” in Traditional German
C.
“Glockenspiel” in Reformed German
To apply a language to all text
1
Choose Edit > Preferences > Hyphenation (Windows) or Illustrator > Preferences > Hyphenation (Mac OS).
2
Select a dictionary from the Default Language pop-up menu, and click OK.
To assign a language to selected text
1
Select the text.
2
In the Character palette, choose the appropriate dictionary from the Language menu. If the Language menu isn’t showing, choose Show Options from the Character palette menu.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
378
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
Letterforms as graphic objects
Modifying letterforms as graphic objects
The Create Outlines command (and the same command as an effect—Outline Object) lets you turn type into a set of compound paths that you can edit and manipulate as you would any other graphic object. Create Outlines and
Outline Object are useful for changing the look of large display type, but they are rarely useful for body text or other type at small sizes.
These commands get font outline information from the actual font files installed on your system. When you create outlines from type, characters are converted in their current positions; they retain all graphics formatting such as their stroke and fill.
A
B
Modifying a letterform
A.
Original type object
B.
Type converted to outlines, ungrouped, and modified
Note:
You can’t convert bitmap fonts or outline-protected fonts to outlines.
When you convert type to outlines, the type loses its
hints
—instructions built into outline fonts to adjust their shape so that your system displays or prints them optimally at a wide range of sizes. Therefore, if you plan to scale the type, do so by adjusting its point size before converting it to outlines.
You must convert all the type in a selection to outlines; you cannot convert a single letter within a string of type. To convert a single letter into an outline, create a separate piece of type containing only that letter.
To convert type to outlines
Converting type to outlines creates a compound path that you can modify.
1
Select the type object.
2
Choose Type > Create Outlines.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
379
See also
“Modifying letterforms as graphic objects” on page 378
“About compound paths” on page 307
Transforming type
You can rotate, reflect, scale, and shear type just as you do other objects. However, how you select the type affects the transformation results:
•
To transform the type along with its bounding path, select the type object.
•
To transform just the bounding path, but not the type it contains, select the type path.
Rotated type path (left) compared to rotated type and path (right)
See also
“Transforming objects” on page 290
To set anti-aliasing options for type
When you save artwork in a bitmap format—such as JPEG, GIF, or PNG—Illustrator rasterizes all objects at 72 pixels per inch and applies anti-aliasing to them. However, if your artwork contains type, the default anti-aliasing settings may not produce the desired results. Illustrator provides several options specifically for rasterizing type. In order to take advantage of these options, you must rasterize type objects before you save the artwork.
1
Select the type object, and do one of the following:
•
To permanently rasterize the type, choose Object > Rasterize.
•
To create the appearance of rasterization without changing the object’s underlying structure, choose Effect >
Rasterize.
2
Choose an anti-aliasing option:
None
to apply no anti-aliasing and maintain the hard edges of type when it is rasterized.
Type Optimized
to apply anti-aliasing that is best suited to type. Anti-aliasing reduces the appearance of jagged edges in the rasterized image and gives type a smoother on-screen appearance. However, it can also make small text difficult to read.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
380
Selecting type
About selecting type
You must select type before you can format or edit it. You can select one or more characters, an entire type object, or a type path.
•
Selecting characters lets you edit them, format them using the Character palette, apply fill and stroke attributes to them, and change their transparency. You can apply these changes to one character, a range of characters, or all characters in a type object. When characters are selected, they are highlighted in the document window and the word “Characters” appears in the Appearance palette.
•
Selecting a type object lets you apply global formatting options to all the characters in the object, including options from the Character and Paragraph palettes, fill and stroke attributes, and transparency settings. In addition, you can apply effects, multiple fills and strokes, and opacity masks to a selected type object. (This is not possible for individually selected characters.) When a type object is selected, a bounding box appears around it in the document window and the word “Type” appears in the Appearance palette.
•
Selecting a type path lets you adjust its shape and apply fill and stroke attributes to it. This level of selection is not available for point type. When a type path is selected, the word “Path” appears in the Appearance palette.
The Type Object Selection By Path Only preference determines the sensitivity of the selection tools when selecting type objects in the document window. When this preference is selected, you must click directly on the type path in order to select the type. When this preference is deselected, you can click anywhere in the type bounding box to select the type. You can set this preference by choosing Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or Illustrator > Preferences >
Type (Mac OS).
To select characters
❖
Select any type tool, and do one of the following:
•
Drag to select one or more characters. Shift-drag to extend or reduce the selection.
•
Position the pointer in a word, and double-click to select that word.
•
Position the pointer in a paragraph, and triple-click to select the entire line.
•
Select one or more characters, and choose Select > All to select all the characters in the type object.
See also
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To select type objects
❖
Do any of the following:
•
In the document window, click the type with the Selection tool or the Direct Selection tool . Shift-click to select additional type objects.
•
In the Layers palette, locate the type object you want to select and then click its right edge, between the target button and the scroll bar. Shift-click at the right edge of items in the Layers palette to add or remove objects to the existing selection.
•
To select all type objects in a document, choose Select > Object > Text Objects.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
381
See also
“Selection tool gallery” on page 262
To select a type path
1
Select the Direct Selection tool or the Group Selection tool .
2
If the type object is selected, click outside the object’s bounding box to deselect it.
3
Click on the type path, being careful not to click on the characters. (If you do click on a character, you will select the type object instead of the type path.)
Selecting a type path is easiest when you’re in Outline view.
See also
“Selection tool gallery” on page 262
Formatting characters
To change the color and appearance of characters
You can change the color and appearance of type objects by applying fills, strokes, transparency settings, effects, and graphic styles. The text remains editable as long as you don’t rasterize it.
1
Do one of the following:
•
To change the appearance of specific characters in a type object, select the characters.
•
To change the appearance of all characters in a type object, or to apply multiple fills and strokes, select the type object.
•
To fill or stroke a type path, select the type path.
2
Apply fills, strokes, transparency settings, effects, and graphic styles as desired.
Use the Control palette to quickly change the color of selected type.
Note:
When you change the color of a type object, Illustrator overwrites the attributes of individual characters in the type object.
See also
“About appearance attributes” on page 419
Character palette
You use the Character palette to apply options for formatting individual characters in your documents. To display the palette, choose Window > Type > Character.
Download
Annonce