Line and character spacing. Adobe ILLUSTRATOR CS2
જાહેરાત
જાહેરાત
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
385
Line and character spacing
Leading
The vertical space between lines of type is called
leading
(rhymes with
sledding
). Leading is measured from the baseline of one line of text to the baseline of the line above it.
Baseline
is the invisible line on which most letters sit.
The default auto-leading option sets the leading at 120% of the type size (for example, 12-point leading for 10-point type). When auto-leading is in use, Illustrator displays the leading value in parentheses in the Leading menu of the
Character palette. You can change this default auto-leading by choosing Justification from the Paragraph palette menu and specifying a percentage from 0 to 500.
By default, leading is a character attribute, which means that you can apply more than one leading value within the same paragraph. The largest leading value in a line of type determines the leading for that line.
Note:
When working with horizontal Asian type, you can specify how leading is measured, either from baseline to baseline or from the top of one line to the top of the next. (See “To specify how leading is measured in Asian type” on page 415.)
To set the leading
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the leading applies to new text you create.
2
In the Character palette, set the Leading option ( for vertical text).
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To shift the baseline
Shifting the baseline is especially useful when you’re hand-setting fractions or adjusting the position of a picture font.
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the shift applies to new text you create.
2
In the Character palette, set the Baseline Shift option ( for vertical text). Positive values move the character’s baseline above the baseline of the rest of the line; negative values move it below the baseline.
-6 -2 0 2
Type with different Baseline Shift values
6
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
386
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
“To raise or lower the first baseline in a text area” on page 366
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
Kerning and tracking
Kerning
is the process of adding or subtracting space between specific pairs of characters.
Tracking
is the process of loosening or tightening the spacing between the characters in selected text or an entire block of text.
You can automatically kern type using metrics kerning or optical kerning.
Metrics kerning
(called Auto kerning in
Illustrator) uses kern pairs, which are included with most fonts. Kern pairs contain information about the spacing of specific pairs of letters. Some of these are: LA, P., To, Tr, Ta, Tu, Te, Ty, Wa, WA, We, Wo, Ya, and Yo. Illustrator uses metrics kerning by default so that specific pairs are automatically kerned when you import or type text.
Some fonts include robust kern-pair specifications. However, when a font includes only minimal built-in kerning or none at all, or if you use two different typefaces or sizes in one or more words on a line, you may want to use the
optical kerning
option. Optical kerning adjusts the spacing between adjacent characters based on their shapes.
A
B
C
D
E
Kerning and tracking options
A.
Original text
B.
Text with optical kerning
C.
Text with manual kerning between W and a
D.
Text with tracking
E.
Cumulative kerning and tracking
You can also use
manual kerning,
which is ideal for adjusting the space between two letters. Tracking and manual kerning are cumulative, so you can first adjust individual pairs of letters, and then tighten or loosen a block of text without affecting the relative kerning of the letter pairs.
When you click to place the insertion point between two letters, Illustrator displays kerning values in the Character palette. Metrics and optical kerning values (or defined kern pairs) appear in parentheses. Similarly, if you select a word or a range of text, Illustrator displays the tracking values in the Character palette.
Tracking and kerning are both measured in 1/1000 em, a unit of measure that is relative to the current type size. In a 6-point font, 1 em equals 6 points; in a 10-point font, 1 em equals 10 points. Kerning and tracking are strictly proportional to the current type size.
Note:
Values for kerning and tracking affect Japanese text, but normally these options are used to adjust the aki between roman characters. (See “Working with aki” on page 407.)
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
387
See also
“To turn fractional character widths off or on” on page 387
To adjust kerning
❖
Do any of the following:
•
To use a font’s built-in kerning information for selected characters, select Auto for the Kerning option ( for vertical text) in the Character palette.
•
To automatically adjust the spacing between selected characters based on their shapes, select Optical for the
Kerning option in the Character palette.
•
To adjust kerning manually, place an insertion point between two characters, and set the desired value for the
Kerning option in the Character palette. (Note that if a range of text is selected, you can’t manually kern the text.
Instead, use tracking.)
•
To turn off kerning for selected characters, set the Kerning option in the Character palette to 0 (zero).
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To adjust tracking
1
Select the range of characters or the type object that you want to adjust.
2
In the Character palette, set the Tracking option ( for vertical text).
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To turn fractional character widths off or on
By default,
fractional character widths
are used between characters. This means that the spacing between characters varies, and will sometimes use only fractions of whole pixels.
In most situations, fractional character widths provide the best spacing for type appearance and readability. However, for type in small sizes (less than 20 points) displayed online, fractional character widths can cause type to run together or have too much extra space, making it difficult to read.
•
To set type spacing for the entire document in whole-pixel increments, choose System Layout from the Character palette menu.
•
To re-enable fractional character widths, choose Fractional Widths from the Character palette menu.
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
388
Underline, strikethrough, caps, superscripts, and subscripts
To underline or strike through text
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
In the Character palette, click the Underline button or the Strikethrough button .
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
To apply all caps and small caps
When you format text as small caps, Illustrator automatically uses the small-cap characters designed as part of the font, if available. Otherwise, Illustrator
synthesizes
the small caps using scaled-down versions of the regular capital letters.
Regular capital letters (top) compared to small-cap letters (bottom)
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
Choose All Caps or Small Caps from the Character palette menu.
To specify the size for synthesized small caps, choose File > Document Setup, and choose Type from the pop-up menu at the top of the dialog box. For Small Caps, type a percentage of the original font size for text to be formatted as small caps. (The default value is 70%.)
To change the capitalization style of text to uppercase, lowercase, title case, or sentence case, use the Type > Change
Case command.
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
“To change capitalization styles” on page 375
To create superscripts or subscripts in non-OpenType fonts
Superscript
and
subscript
text (also called
superior
and
inferior
text) is reduced-size text that is raised or lowered in relation to a font’s baseline.
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, any new text you create will be rendered as superscripts or subscripts.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
389
2
Choose Superscript or Subscript from the Character palette menu.
If you’re using an OpenType font, use the Position menu in the OpenType palette to set superscript and subscript type.
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
To change the size and position of superscripts or subscripts
When you create superscript or subscript type, Illustrator applies a predefined baseline shift value and type size. The values applied are percentages of the current font size and leading, and are based on settings in the Type section of the Document Setup dialog box.
1
Choose File > Document Setup, and choose Type from the pop-up menu at the top of the dialog box.
2
Specify the following values for Superscript and Subscript, and then click OK:
•
For Size, type a percentage of the font size for superscripted and subscripted text.
•
For Position, type a percentage of the regular leading to specify how much the superscript and subscript text will move.
Special characters
About character sets and alternate glyphs
Typefaces include many characters in addition to the ones you see on your keyboard. Depending on the font, these characters can include ligatures, fractions, swashes, ornaments, ordinals, titling and stylistic alternates, superior and inferior characters, old-style figures, and lining figures. A
glyph
is a specific form of a character. For example, in certain fonts, the capital letter A is available in several forms, such as swash and small cap.
There are two ways to insert alternate glyphs:
•
The
Glyphs palette
lets you view and insert glyphs from any typeface.
•
The
OpenType palette
lets you set up rules for using glyphs. For example, you can specify that you want to use ligatures, titling characters, and fractions in a given text block. Using the OpenType palette is easier than inserting glyphs one at a time and ensures a more consistent result. However, the palette works only with OpenType fonts.
See also
“To highlight alternate glyphs in the text” on page 390
About the Glyphs palette
You use the Glyphs palette to view the glyphs in a font and insert specific glyphs in your document. To display the palette, choose Window > Type > Glyphs.
By default, the Glyphs palette displays all the glyphs for the currently selected font. You can change the font by selecting a different font family and style at the bottom of the palette. If any characters are currently selected in your document, you can display alternate characters by selecting Alternates For Current Selection from the Show menu at the top of the palette.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
390
A
B C D
Glyphs palette
A.
Show menu
B.
Font family
C.
Font style
D.
Zoom buttons
When you select an OpenType font in the Glyphs palette, you can restrict the palette to display certain kinds of glyphs by selecting a category from the Show menu. You can also display a pop-up menu of alternate glyphs by clicking the triangle in the lower right corner of the glyph box where applicable.
Pop-up menu for alternate glyphs
See also
“To work with palettes” on page 31
To insert a character using the Glyphs palette
1
Using a type tool, click to place the insertion point where you want to enter the character.
2
Double-click the character you want to insert in the Glyphs palette.
To replace a character with an alternate glyph
1
In the Glyphs palette, choose Alternates For Current Selection from the Show pop-up menu.
2
Using a type tool, select a character in your document. The Glyphs palette displays alternate glyphs, if they’re available.
3
Double-click a glyph in the Glyphs palette.
Note:
Additional replacement options are available for Asian glyphs.
See also
“To replace Asian characters with a different glyph form” on page 407
To highlight alternate glyphs in the text
1
Choose File > Document Setup, and choose Type from the pop-up menu at the top of the dialog box.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
391
2
Select Substituted Glyphs, and click OK. Substituted glyphs in the text are highlighted.
OpenType fonts
The OpenType font standard was developed jointly by Adobe and Microsoft, and it brings the advantages of the
PostScript Type 1 and TrueType font formats into a new format that takes advantage of Unicode character encoding.
OpenType fonts use a single font file for both Windows and Macintosh computers, so you can move files from one platform to another without worrying about font substitution and other problems that cause text to reflow.
OpenType fonts display the icon (look in the Type > Font menu).
When working with an OpenType font, you can automatically substitute alternate glyphs, such as ligatures, small capitals, fractions, and old style proportional figures, in your text. In Illustrator, these options are available in the
OpenType palette; in InDesign and Photoshop, these options are in the Character palette menu.
Automatic alternate glyph substitution in an OpenType font
OpenType fonts may include an expanded character set and layout features to provide richer linguistic support and advanced typographic control. Feature-rich OpenType fonts from Adobe with support for central European (CE) languages can be distinguished by the word “Pro,” which is part of the font name and appears in application font menus. OpenType fonts that don’t contain central European language support are labeled “Standard,” and are desig nated by an “Std” suffix in the fonts’ menu names. All OpenType fonts can also be installed and used alongside
PostScript Type 1 and TrueType fonts.
The OpenType palette
You use the OpenType palette to specify how you want to apply alternate characters in OpenType fonts. For example, you can specify that you want to use standard ligatures in new or existing text. To display the palette, choose
Window > Type > OpenType.
Keep in mind that OpenType fonts vary greatly in the kinds of features they offer; not all options in the OpenType palette are available in every font. You can view the characters in a font using the Glyphs palette.
I
J
K
A B C D E F G H
OpenType palette
A.
Standard Ligatures
B.
Contextual Alternates
C.
Discretionary Ligatures
D.
Swash
E.
Stylistic Alternates
F.
Titling Alternates
G.
Ordinals
H.
Fractions
I.
Palette menu
J.
Figure type
K.
Character position
Note:
Additional features may be available for Asian OpenType fonts.
You can access additional commands and options in the OpenType palette menu. To use this menu, click the triangle
in the upper right corner of the palette.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
392
See also
“To set Asian OpenType font attributes” on page 406
“To work with palettes” on page 31
To use superscripts and subscripts in OpenType fonts
1
Select the characters you want to change to superscript or subscript. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
Make sure that an OpenType font is selected. One way to determine if a font is an OpenType font is to look in the
Type > Font menu; OpenType fonts display the icon.
3
In the OpenType palette, choose an option from the Position pop-up menu:
Default Position
Uses the default position for the current font.
Superscript/Superior
Uses raised characters (if available in the current font).
Subscript/Inferior
Uses lowered characters (if available in the current font).
Numerator
Uses characters designed as fraction numerators (if available in the current font).
Denominator
Uses characters designed as fraction denominators (if available in the current font).
See also
“OpenType fonts” on page 391
“The OpenType palette” on page 391
To choose a number style in OpenType fonts
1
To change the style of existing numbers, select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
Make sure that an OpenType font is selected.
3
In the OpenType palette, choose an option from the Figures pop-up menu:
Default Figure
Uses the default style for the current font.
Tabular Lining
Uses full-height figures all of the same width (if available for the current font). This option is appro priate in situations where numbers need to line up from one line to the next, as in tables.
Proportional Lining
Uses full-height figures with varying widths (if available for the current font). This option is recommended for text that uses all caps.
Proportional Oldstyle
Uses varying-height figures with varying widths (if available for the current font). This option is recommended for a classic, sophisticated look in text that doesn’t use all caps.
Tabular Oldstyle
Uses varying-height figures with fixed, equal widths (if available for the current font). This option is recommended when you want the classic appearance of old-style figures, but need them to align in columns, as in an annual report.
See also
“OpenType fonts” on page 391
“The OpenType palette” on page 391
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
393
About ligatures and contextual alternates
Ligatures
are typographic replacement characters for certain letter pairs. Most fonts include ligatures for standard letter pairs such as fi, fl, ff, ffi, and ffl. In addition, some fonts include discretionary ligatures for letter pairs such as ct, st, and ft. Although the characters in ligatures appear to be joined, they are fully editable and do not cause the spell checker to flag a word erroneously.
Contextual alternates
are alternate characters included in some script typefaces to provide better joining behavior.
For example, when using Caflisch Script Pro with contextual alternates enabled, the letter pair “bl” in the word
“bloom” is joined so that it looks more like handwriting.
There are two ways to insert ligatures and contextual alternates in text: using the Glyphs palette and using the
OpenType palette. You can also search for and replace standard letter pairs with ligatures using the Type > Smart
Punctuation command.
See also
“About character sets and alternate glyphs” on page 389
To use ligatures and contextual alternates
1
Select the characters or type objects to which you want to apply the setting. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
Make sure that an OpenType font is selected.
3
In the OpenType palette, do any of the following:
•
Click the Standard Ligatures button to enable or disable ligatures for standard letter pairs (such as fi, fl, ff, ffi, and ffl).
•
Click the Discretionary Ligatures button to enable or disable optional ligatures (if available in the current font).
•
Click the Contextual Alternates button to enable or disable contextual alternates (if available in the current font).
See also
“OpenType fonts” on page 391
“The OpenType palette” on page 391
To use swashes, titling alternates, or stylistic alternates
Many OpenType fonts include stylized characters that let you add decorative elements to type. Swashes are characters with exaggerated flourishes. Titling alternates are characters (usually all in capitals) designed for use in large-size settings, such as titles. Stylistic alternates are stylized characters that create a purely esthetic effect.
1
Select the characters or type objects to which you want to apply the setting. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
Make sure that an OpenType font is selected.
3
In the OpenType palette, do one of the following:
•
Click the Swash button to enable or disable swash characters (if available in the current font).
•
Click the Stylistic Alternates button to enable or disable stylistic alternates (if available in the current font).
•
Click the Titling Alternates button to enable or disable titling alternates (if available in the current font).
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
394
See also
“OpenType fonts” on page 391
“The OpenType palette” on page 391
To format fractions and ordinals
When using an OpenType font, you can automatically format ordinal numbers with superscript characters (for example, ). Characters such as the superscript “a” and “o” in the Spanish words
segunda
( ) and
segundo
( ) are also typeset properly. You can also convert numbers separated by a slash (such as 1/2) to a shilling fraction
(such as ).
1
Select the characters or type objects to which you want to apply the setting. If you don’t select any text, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
Make sure that an OpenType font is selected.
3
In the OpenType palette, click the Ordinals button to enable or disable ordinals or the Fractions button to enable or disable fractions. These buttons have an effect only if ordinals and fractions are available in the font.
See also
“OpenType fonts” on page 391
“The OpenType palette” on page 391
Scaling and rotating type
To adjust the scale of type
You can specify the proportion between the height and width of the type, relative to the original width and height of the characters. Unscaled characters have a value of 100%. Some type families include a true
expanded font
, which is designed with a larger horizontal spread than the plain type style. Scaling distorts the type, so it is generally preferable to use a font that is designed as condensed or expanded, if one is available.
1
Select the characters or type objects you want to change. If you don’t select any text, the scale applies to new text you create.
2
In the Character palette, set the Vertical Scaling option or the Horizontal Scaling option .
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
To rotate type
•
To rotate the characters within a type object by a specific number of degrees, select the characters or type objects you want to change. (If you don’t select any text, the rotation applies to new text you create.) In the Character palette, set the Orientation option .
•
To change horizontal type to vertical type, and vice versa, select the type object and choose Type > Type
Orientation > Horizontal or Type > Type Orientation > Vertical.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
395
•
To rotate an entire type object (both the characters and the type bounding box), select the type object and use the bounding box, Free Transform tool, Rotate tool, Rotate command, or Transform palette to perform the rotation.
•
To rotate multiple characters in vertical Asian text, use the tate-chu-yoko option to rotate multiple characters.
See also
“Character palette” on page 381
“Tate-chu-yoko” on page 408
“Rotating objects” on page 273
Formatting paragraphs
About the Paragraph palette
You use the Paragraph palette to change the formatting of columns and paragraphs. To display the palette, choose
Window > Type > Paragraph.
To set options with numeric values in the Paragraph palette, you can use the up and down arrows or edit the value directly in the text box. When you edit a value directly, press Enter or Return to apply a value, Shift+Enter or
Shift+Return to apply a value and then highlight the value just edited, or Tab to apply a value and move to the next text box in the palette.
A
B
C
F
D
E
G
Paragraph palette
A.
Alignment and Justification
B.
Left Indent
C.
First Line Left Indent
D.
Space Before Paragraph
E.
Hyphenation
F.
Right Indent
G.
Space
After Paragraph
You can access additional commands and options in the Paragraph palette menu. To use this menu, click the triangle in the upper right corner of the palette.
By default, only the most commonly-used options in the Paragraph palette are visible. To show all options, choose
Show Options from the palette menu. Alternatively, click the double triangle on the palette’s tab to cycle through the display sizes.
See also
“To work with palettes” on page 31
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
396
To align text
Area type and type on a path can be
aligned
with one or both edges of a type path.
1
To align existing text, select the type object or insert the cursor in the paragraph you want to change. If you don’t select a type object or insert the cursor in a paragraph, the alignment applies to new text you create.
2
In the Control palette or Paragraph palette, click an alignment button.
See also
“About the Paragraph palette” on page 395
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To justify text
Text is said to be
justified
when it is aligned with both edges. You can choose to justify all text in a paragraph excluding the last line, or you can justify text in a paragraph including the last line.
1
To justify existing text, select the type object or insert the cursor in the paragraph you want to change. If you don’t select a type object or insert the cursor in a paragraph, the justification applies to new text you create.
2
In the Paragraph palette, click a justification button.
See also
“About the Paragraph palette” on page 395
“Keys for working with type” on page 531
To adjust word and letter spacing in justified text
You can precisely control how Illustrator spaces letters and words and scales characters. Adjusting spacing is especially useful with justified type, although you can also adjust spacing for unjustified type.
1
Insert the cursor in the paragraph you want to change, or select a type object to change all of its paragraphs.
2
Choose Justification from the Paragraph palette menu.
3
Enter values for Word Spacing, Letter Spacing, and Glyph Spacing. The Minimum and Maximum values define a range of acceptable spacing for justified paragraphs only. The Desired value defines the desired spacing for both justified and unjustified paragraphs:
Word Spacing
The space between words that results from pressing the spacebar. Word Spacing values can range from 0% to 1000%; at 100%, no additional space is added between words.
Letter Spacing
The distance between letters, including kerning or tracking values. Letter Spacing values can range from –100% to 500%; at 0%, no space is added between letters, at 100% letter spacing an entire space width is added between letters.
Glyph Spacing
The width of characters (a
glyph
is any font character). Glyph Spacing values can range from 50% to
200%; at 100%, the height of characters is not scaled.
Spacing options are always applied to an entire paragraph. To adjust the spacing in a few characters but not an entire paragraph, use the Tracking option.
ADOBE ILLUSTRATOR CS2
User Guide
397
4
Set the Single Word Justification option to specify how you want to justify single-word paragraphs.
See also
“About the Paragraph palette” on page 395
“Leading” on page 385
To indent text
Indention
is the amount of space between text and the boundary of a type object. Indention affects only the selected paragraph or paragraphs, so you can easily set different indentions for different paragraphs.
1
To indent existing text, select the type object or insert the cursor in the paragraph you want to change. If you don’t select a type object or insert the cursor in a paragraph, the indention applies to new text you create.
2
In the Paragraph palette, enter a value for an indention option.
To create a hanging indention, enter a negative value for the First-line Indent option. When working with area type, you can also control indention using tabs or by changing the inset spacing for the type object.
When working with Japanese type, you can use the mojikumi setting instead of the Paragraph palette to specify the indent for the first line. If you specify the indent for the first line in the Paragraph palette, and specify mojikumi settings for the first line indent, the text is placed inside the total of both indents.
See also
“About the Paragraph palette” on page 395
“To change the margin around a text area” on page 366
“To set indents” on page 403
To adjust paragraph spacing
1
Insert the cursor in the paragraph you want to change, or select a type object to change all of its paragraphs. If you don’t insert the cursor in a paragraph or select a type object, the setting applies to new text you create.
2
In the Paragraph palette, adjust the values for Space Before( or ) and Space After ( or ).
Note:
If a paragraph begins at the top of a column, no extra space is added before the paragraph. In this case, you can increase the leading of the first line of the paragraph or change the inset spacing for the type object.
See also
“About the Paragraph palette” on page 395
“To set the leading” on page 385
Hanging punctuation
Hanging punctuation
makes the edges of text appear more even by moving punctuation marks outside the paragraph margins.
ડાઉનલોડ કરો
જાહેરાત