Checking Patients Out. e-MDs Solution Series 8.0
Anúncio
Anúncio
Checking Patients Out
When treatment is completed, a patient can be checked out by clicking his or her name in the Room
Status window and selecting Check Out from the menu. If Physician/Provider Start was never selected, the Check Out option will not be visible.
The patient’s name will then appear in the Check Out window of Tracking Board (on the left side). The name will not be highlighted if the note has been permanently signed off, but it will show up in
red
if it still needs to be signed.
The Bill? column indicates whether the user has marked the Visit or Order Note as Ready to Bill. This tells the billing staff that, even though the note is not permanently signed off, there will be no changes to the CPT or ICD-9 codes and an invoice can be created.
The Orders column displays status of any Physician orders from the associated note. This is the same column that shows the Room Status (clean or dirty). It enables tests and orders that may not have been completed prior to the patient being checked out to still be seen and dealt with from the Check Out window. As in the Room Status area, various icons denote a variety of order statuses. Users can click anywhere in the Order field and select the Show Orders menu option for a list of the Orders. To change the status of any order, click it for a status menu, and then click the appropriate menu option. The various order statuses are explained below:
This is a convenient end-of-day list for the physician. To reopen a note for signing, simply click the patient name and select the Collect Vitals/Visit Note menu option. There is no need to “move” the patient out of the Checked Out window (and no way to do so). At the end of the day (i.e. at midnight), this window will clear itself.
Viewing a Patient Photo
If a patient photograph has been saved with the Snapshot (Digicam) application, it will appear in the lower right corner of the Tracking Board window. See e-MDs Solution Series Utilities Guide for Snapshot
(Digicam) instructions. Clicking the photo will cause it to appear in an enlarged format to make it easier to recognize the patient. In addition to the photo, the appointment details for the patient will appear beneath the photo.
Notes:
• If the Show Patient Names is set to not show the patient names or to only the patient’s initials the patient photo will not appear. However the photo can still be seen by clicking in the photo area.
As long as the mouse button is held down the photo stay in view.
• If Tracking Board is set to hide rule-based reminders, the photo will not appear. To view both, click the fifth toolbar icon that looks like a blue person with a check mark.
Viewing Rule-Based Reminders
In Tracking Board, reminders generated by clinical rules display in the lower third of the window. To view an individual patient’s reminders, click the patient’s name. Rules display must be activated in order to view rule-based reminders. (The Show Rules icon looks like a person with a check mark next to it.)
Rule-based reminders are displayed in several views, and a set of action buttons is provided with each view. These views and action buttons are also available on the Reminders tab of the patient’s chart. For detailed information about the views and related action buttons, see the Rule-Based Reminders
(Automated)
section of chapter 3 in this user guide.
To read more about rules, see the
Using the Rule Manager chapter of this user guide.
e-MDs Solution Series Chart User Guide 8.0 R01
291
Download
Anúncio