Using the Content Workspace. Texas Instruments TI-NSPIRE CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire
Διαφήμιση
Διαφήμιση
Using the Content Workspace
Use this workspace to move, copy, and transfer content between your computer and connected handhelds.
À
Á
Â
Ä
Ã
Å
Æ
Ç
À
Menu
- Contains tools for working with documents and modifying system settings.
Á
Workspace Selector
. Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Note: Some tasks you perform may prevent you from immediately changing workspaces. If a dialog box awaits a response from you, enter your response and then change workspaces.
Â
Content Workspace toolbar
. Shows frequently performed tasks. Each of these are explained in more detail in "Using menus and toolbar icons"later in this chapter.
Ã
Resources pane
. Select content here. You can select from files on your computer, web content, and connected handhelds.
Ä
Class session controls. Choose a class from a list of available classes.
You can begin, pause, resume, or end a class.
Using the Content Workspace 35
Å
Content Pane.
Shows what you have selected in Resources. You can resize this pane by selecting the splitter bar between this pane and the Preview Pane.
` Use your context menu or select
Options
in the Content pane to perform common tasks related to the item or area you select, or to change how the information displays.
` To open an item from the Content pane, double-click on that item.
` To sort on a column of items in the Content pane, click on the top of that column.
` Search within any item selected in Resources. Type the search keyword in the Search box at the top right of the Content pane and press
Enter
.
Æ
Preview Pane
. Shows more information about the content you have selected in the content pane. The content appearing in this pane varies, depending on the item you have selected. You will see the name and a description of the selected item; actions you can perform; and files included, if applicable (such as lesson bundle files).
Ç
Status bar
. See additional details below.
Understanding the status bar
The status bar gives you information about the network status and the student login status.
Network status
Student login status
The network status shows how many TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network
Adapters and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles are currently connected to the system. You can click here to launch the Network Manager window.
The student login status shows how many students are currently logged into class, and how many students are assigned to the current class.
If class is not in session, the student login status shows "Class not started."
36 Using the Content Workspace
Á
Â
Ã
Exploring the Resources pane
À
À
Local Content
. Helps you navigate to the correct file on your computer. Local Content expands and collapses to show these folders:
• Desktop
• My Documents (PC)
• Documents (Macintosh®)
When you select an item in Local Content, the file structure appears in the Content pane. When you select an item in the Content pane, it previews the item in the Preview pane.
You can add your own shortcuts in Local Content.
Á
Links
. You can add your own links to this section. There are also a few existing links to Texas Instrument sites. Links from the latest version of the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher software are added when you upgrade.
` Click on any link to open the link in a new browser.
Note: You can add your own links to the Links section, but you cannot save website links to the Web Content section.
` For those users in the United States, you can search US standards or textbooks by selecting the search option from Links.
Using the Content Workspace 37
Â
Web Content
. Links to Texas Instruments activities that are available to a user who is connected to the Internet. You can save material that you find on these sites to your computer and share items through
Local Content pane and Connected Handhelds. You cannot save website links to the Web Content section.
Note: The web content available to you varies depending on your region. If there is no online content, this section will not appear.
When you select an item in Web Content, the list of activities display in the Content pane, with a preview of the activity selected appearing in the Preview pane.
Ã
Connected Handhelds
. When you select Connected Handhelds in the left pane, the Content pane displays detailed information about each handheld including a name, battery status for the rechargeable and
AAA batteries, the storage space, and the OS in use. Error messages also appear showing, for instance, connection errors.
Exploring the Content pane
By default, the Desktop and My Documents folders are listed. Use the
Content pane as you would a file manager to navigate to folders and files on a computer.
À
Á
Â
À
Toolbar
. Tools used to locate folders and files.
38 Using the Content Workspace
Á
Content pane
. Lists the folders and files from the location you have selected in Resources: your computer, web content, or connected handhelds.
Â
Preview pane
. Shows details about a selected folder or file in the
Content pane.
Using the content pane tool bar
The Content pane tool bar provides tools needed to locate folders and files.
À Á Â Ã Ä
À
Options
. Click
¤
to open the drop-down menu to access options for working with files and folders.
Á
Look in
: field. Contains the path and name of the current folder and file. Click
¤
to view a history of accessed folders.
Â
Click to move up a level in the folder hierarchy.
Ã
Click to create a new folder. The new folder is added to the list.
Type a name for the folder and and press
Enter
.
Ä
Search
. Enter a search keyword or phrase and press
Enter
to find all files containing that word or phrase.
Using the Preview pane
In the Content workspace, detail about a selected folder, file, or lesson bundle is displayed in the Preview pane.
Using the Content Workspace 39
À Á
À
A thumbnail preview of the selected folder, file, or lesson bundle. If a lesson bundle is empty, this space is blank. If you selected a folder that does not contain supported files, an error message is displayed.
Á
If a document has multiple pages, use the forward arrow to preview the next page. The backward arrow becomes active so you can move backward through the pages. If working with a lesson bundle, you can choose to preview a TI-Nspire™ document within the bundle.
Â
If a lesson bundle is selected the
Files
window appears above the
Details
window listing the files in the lesson bundle. You can doubleclick a file to open it.
Â
Ã
Ã
If a folder is selected, the
Details
window shows the name of the folder, the path where the folder is located, and the date modified.
40 Using the Content Workspace
For document files and lesson bundle files, the
Details
window shows the name, the date the file was modified, the file size, and whether or not the file is read only.
Using shortcuts
Use this option to add drives, folders, or lesson bundles containing frequently used files to the Local Content list. If a selected folder does not contain TI-Nspire™ (.tns or .tnsp) files, an error message is displayed.
Adding a shortcut
To access files on a drive, you must add the shortcut to the Local Content pane. To add a shortcut:
1. Navigate to the folder that contains the frequently used files.
then
Create Shortcuts
.
The folder is added to the list of folders under the Local Content heading in the Resources pane.
Deleting a shortcut
To delete a shortcut:
1. From the Local Content list, select the folder to be deleted.
2. Right-click on the selected folder to open the context menu, then click
Remove Shortcut
.
Note:
You cannot remove default shortcuts.
Working with Links
By default, the Links list contains a list of links to Texas Instruments web sites. Click a link to launch your web browser and access the web site.
Using the Links toolbar
When you select Links in the Resource pane, the tools on the toolbar are specific to working with links. Use these tools to add, edit, or delete links from the list. You can also move a link up or down in the list.
Using the Content Workspace 41
Click
¤
to open the drop-down menu to access options for working with links.
Click this icon to add a link to the list.
Select an existing link, then click this icon to edit the link’s attributes.
Click this icon to delete a link. You cannot delete a default link.
Select a link and click this icon to move the link up in the list.
Select a link and click this icon to move the link down in the list.
Adding a link
Complete the following steps to add a link to the list of Links in the
Resource pane.
1. Click to open the Add Link dialog box.
2. Type the name of the link.
3. Type the URL in the Address field.
4. Click
Add Link
.
The link is added to the bottom of the list of existing links.
42 Using the Content Workspace
Editing an existing link
Complete the following steps to edit an existing link.
1. Select the link you want to change.
2. Click to open the Edit Link dialog box.
3. Make needed changes to the name of the link or to the URL.
4. Click
Edit Link
.
The changes are applied to the link.
Removing a link
Complete the following steps to delete a link.
1. Select the link you want to delete.
2. Click .
3. Click
Remove Link
when the confirmation window opens.
The link is removed from the list.
Note: You cannot delete a default link.
Moving links up or down in the list
You can change the order of the links in the list to suit your needs.
f Click
to move a selected link up one place in the list.
f Click
to move a selected link down one place in the link.
then
Move to Top of List
to relocate a selected link to the top of the list.
Using the Content Workspace 43
then
Move to Bottom of List
to relocate a selected link to the bottom of the list.
Using Web Content
Web Content provides links to online activities on Texas Instruments web sites. You can save material found on these web sites to your computer and share items using the Local Content pane and Connected Handhelds.
Information provided for each activity includes the name of the activity, the author, the date the activity was posted, the size of the file, and the source.
Note: An Internet connection is required to access Texas Instruments web sites.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Ä
À
Tool bar.
Á
Column headings.
Â
List of available activities.
Ã
List of the files contained in the activity.
Ä
Details about the selected activity. A description of the file is also shown.
44 Using the Content Workspace
Sorting the list of activities
Use the column headings to sort the information in the list of activities or add additional column headings. By default the list is displayed in alphabetical order by Name.
• Click the Name heading to list activities in reverse alphabetical order.
Click the heading again to return to A to Z order.
• Click the Author heading to list the activities in alphabetical order by author name.
• Click the Posted Date heading to list the activities in order from newest to oldest or from oldest to newest.
• Click the Size heading to list the activities according to file size.
• Click the Source heading to list the activities in order by source.
• Right-click a column heading to add column headings. Choose from the following options: Description, Grade Level, Subject Area, Device,
Activity Time, Subject, Topic, and Category.
Filtering the list of activities
By default, all available activities are listed in the Content pane. Options on the tool bar enable you to filter the activities by subject, topic, and category. You can also search for an activity using a keyword search.
To find all activities related to a particular subject:
1. In the Subject field, click
¤
to open the drop-down menu.
2. Select a subject.
All activities related to the selected subject are listed.
3. To narrow the search, click
¤
in the Topic field to view and select a topic related to the subject selected.
4. Use the Category field to narrow the search even further. Click
¤
to select a category related to the selected subject and topic.
Using keywords to search for an activity
Complete the following steps to search for an activity using a keyword or phrase.
1. Type a keyword or phrase in the "Filter by Keyword" field.
2. Press
Enter
.
All activities that contain the keyword or phrase are listed.
Using the Content Workspace 45
Opening an activity
1. Select the activity you want to open.
2. Double-click the activity to open it, or click , then select
Open
.
The Open Activity dialog box opens with a list of all documents related to the selected activity.
You can open a .tns or .tsnp in the TI-Nspire™ software. Other files such as Microsoft® Word and Adobe® PDF files will open in their respective applications.
3. Double-click the activity to open it, or click
¢
, then select
Open
.
The selected .tns document opens in the Documents workspace.
Saving an activity to your computer
Complete the following steps to save an activity to your computer.
1. Select the activity you want to save. The file details are displayed in the bottom half of the window.
2. Click
Save this Activity to Computer
.
3. When the Save Selected Files dialog opens, navigate to the folder where you want to save the file.
46 Using the Content Workspace
4. Click
Save
. A copy of the activity is saved to your computer as a lesson bundle.
Copying an activity
Complete the following steps to copy an activity. Once the activity is copied to the clipboard, you can paste the activity into a folder on your computer, then drag the activity to your list of shortcuts in the Local
Content pane.
1. Click the activity you want to copy to select it.
2. Use one of the following methods to copy the activity to the clipboard:
• Select the activity with your mouse, then drag it to a folder in the
Local Content list.
• Click ,
Copy
.
• Right-click, then select
Copy
from the context menu.
• Right-click on a file in the Files list, then select
Copy
.
• Click , which is located in the tool bar.
The activity is copied to the clipboard.
3. Open a folder on your computer, then select
Edit > Paste
to copy the activity to the selected folder.
Sending an activity to a connected handheld
Complete the following steps to send a selected activity to connected handhelds.
1. Select the file you want to send to connected handhelds. The file details are displayed in the bottom half of the window.
2. Use one of the following options to send the file to the selected handhelds:
• To "drag and drop" the file, click the file to select it, then drag it to the Selected Handhelds label to transfer to the file to all connected handhelds. To transfer the file to a specific handheld, drag the file to a specific handheld name.
• To transfer the file using Transfer Tool:
Note: You can not use the Transfer Tool to transfer files to handhelds while a class is in session.
Using the Content Workspace 47
– From the tool bar, click ,
Handhelds
.
– Click ,
The Transfer Tool opens.
Send to Connected Handhelds
.
3. Select the file, then click
Start Transfer
.
The Status window opens and the Stop Transfer button is enabled.
The selected files and folders are transferred to the selected handhelds.
4. When the transfer is complete, close the Transfer Tool.
Working with connected handhelds
You can use the Content workspace to perform a number of tasks. To use the features described in this section, your handhelds must be turned on and connected by one of these means:
• The TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station
• TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradle
• TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network Adapter
• A direct connection through a standard USB cable
Note: The tasks in this section can only be performed by TI-Nspire™ handhelds. TI-84 handhelds are not supported in these tasks.
48 Using the Content Workspace
Viewing content on connected handhelds
When you select a handheld in the Resources pane, all files and folders on the handheld appear in the Content pane. When a .tns file is selected, you will have to click for screen capture preview within the Preview pane.
À
Â
Ã
Á
Ä
À
Workspace selector - Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Á
Connected Handhelds - Shows all handhelds that are connected and turned on.
Â
Options - Available options vary depending on the task you select under Resources.
Ã
Content pane - When Connected Handhelds is selected, the Content pane shows details about handhelds that are connected and turned on:
• Name of handhelds
• Li-ion (rechargeable) battery charge (Critical 2%, 25%, 50%, 75%,
100%, or "--" to indicate no battery is present)
• AAA battery charge (Critical 2%, 25%, 50%, 75%, 100%, or "--" to indicate no battery is present)
• Storage / Size - The amount of space left and available on the handheld
Using the Content Workspace 49
• OS version - The operating system in use
Ä
Preview Pane - Illustrates the selected handheld. If you click on a handheld file in the Content pane, the Preview pane shows a preview of that file.
When you select a handheld, all files and folders on the handheld appear in the Content pane. When a file or folder is selected, the details are displayed in the Preview pane. Click the icon to preview the document.
Details about the selected folder or file are shown in the
Preview
pane.
Details for selected folder Details for selected file
` To view the files in a folder, double-click the folder name in the
Content pane. The files in the folder are listed in the Content pane.
` To preview the contents of a .tns file, select
Click here to preview document
.
50 Using the Content Workspace
Using Identify Selected to locate handhelds
If you are using the TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or the TI-Nspire™ CX
Docking Station, you can use this feature to locate handhelds.
1. Be sure that the handhelds are turned on and that the docking station is connected to your computer.
2. Use the Workspace selector to select the Content Workspace.
3. Click
Tools > Identify Selected
or right-click on the handheld in the
Content pane.
Both LED lights on the TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station or TI-Nspire™
Docking Station under the slot where the handheld is located will blink for 30 seconds.
Performing tasks on connected handhelds
You can perform tasks on connected handhelds in the same way you do in other areas of the software:
• Toolbar icons
• Edit menu
• Drag and drop
• Keyboard shortcuts
• Context menu option
Note: For easier reading, descriptions here do not always show every way to perform a task.
For more information about working with handhelds, including connecting and saving to handhelds, please see Working with documents
in the TI-Nspire™ Software.
Managing files on a connected handheld
When working with files on connected handhelds in the Content workspace, use the Options drop-down menu or the context menu to manage files.
Option
Open
How it Works
Open a file on a connected handheld:
• Select the file you want to open.
• Select
Open
. The document opens in the Documents
Workspace.
Using the Content Workspace 51
Option How it Works
Save to
Computer
Save a copy of the selected file on your computer.
• Select the file you want to save.
• Select
Save to Computer
. The Save Select File dialog box opens.
• Navigate to the folder where you want to save the file.
• Click
Save
.
Copy/Paste Create a copy of a file:
• Select the file you want to copy.
• Select
Options > Copy
to copy the file to the clipboard.
• To paste the file in another location, navigate to the new location, then select
Options > Paste
.
Note: If you don’t select a new location, the copied file is pasted with a new name "Copy of ..."
Delete Delete a file on a connected handheld:
• Select the file you want to delete.
• Select
Delete
.
• Click
Yes
when the Warning dialog opens. Click
No
to cancel.
Refresh To refresh the list of files, select
Options > Refresh
.
Rename
Up a Level
To rename a file on a connected handheld:
• Select the file you want to rename.
• Select
Rename
• Type the new name and press
Enter
.
Go up a level. This option is available when you select a file inside a folder.
New Folder Create a new folder:
• Click
New Folder
.
• Type a name for the new folder.
• Press
Enter
.
52 Using the Content Workspace
Renaming handhelds
You can rename the handhelds that you store in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software.
Note: Renaming a handheld does not affect student login information.
1. Right-click on the handheld(s) in the Content pane.
2. Select
Rename
.
3. Edit the name(s).
4. Press
Enter
to go to the next name to edit.
To exit the Edit mode, click on an area of the screen outside the handheld names. You will also leave the Edit mode after you click
Enter
on the last name you edit.
Working with lesson bundles
Many lessons or activities contain multiple files. For example, teachers usually have a teacher version of a file, a student version, assessments, and sometimes supporting files. A lesson bundle is a container that enables you to group all files needed for a lesson together. Using lesson bundles enables you to:
• Add any type of file (for example, .tns, .tnsp, .doc, .pdf, .ppt) to a lesson bundle. You can send lesson bundles to connected handhelds; however, only the .tns files are sent to the handheld.
• View all the files in a lesson bundle using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™
Teacher Software.
• Group all files associated with one lesson in one place.
• E-mail one lesson bundle file to teachers or students instead of looking for and attaching multiple files.
Using the Content Workspace 53
Creating a new lesson bundle
Complete the following steps to create a new lesson bundle.
1. In the Content workspace, navigate to the folder in Local Content where you want to save the lesson bundle.
File > New Lesson Bundle
.
The new lesson bundle file is created with a default name and placed in your list of files.
3. Type a name for your lesson bundle and press
Enter
to save the file.
Adding files to a lesson bundle
By default, lesson bundles are empty when created. Use any of the following methods to add files to a lesson bundle:
• "Drag and drop" any file into a selected lesson bundle. This method moves the file to the lesson bundle. If you delete the lesson bundle, the file is deleted from your computer. You can recover the file from the Recycle Bin.
• Copy and paste any file into a selected lesson bundle.
• Use the "Add files to lesson bundle" option. This method copies the selected files into the lesson bundle. The file is not moved from its original location.
Using the Add files lesson bundle option
To add files to the bundle using the Add files to lesson bundle option:
1. In the content pane, select the lesson bundle name. The file details are displayed in the Preview pane.
Note: If the lesson bundle already contains files, the first file in the lesson bundle is also shown in the Preview pane.
54 Using the Content Workspace
2. To open the lesson bundle window:
• Double-click the lesson bundle file.
-or-
• Right-click the name of the lesson bundle to open the context menu, then select
Open
.
3. Click
Add Files to Lesson Bundle
to open the Add window.
Note: You can also click
Add Files to Lesson Bundle
in the Preview
Pane.
Using the Content Workspace 55
4. Use the file manager in the Add window to navigate to and select the file you want to add to the lesson bundle.
• You can select multiple files at one time if they are located in the same folder by pressing and holding the Ctrl key (Macintosh®: “) while clicking each file name.
• If files are located in different folders, you can add them one at a time.
• You cannot create a folder within a lesson bundle or add a folder to a lesson bundle.
• You cannot add a lesson bundle to a lesson bundle.
5. Click
Add
to add the file to the bundle.
The file is copied to the lesson bundle and the file name is listed in the lesson bundle window.
6. Repeat this process until all needed files are added to the lesson bundle.
Selecting files to create a lesson bundle
Within the software, you can select multiple files in a folder, then create the lesson bundle. You cannot add a folder or a lesson bundle to a lesson bundle.
1. In the Content workspace, navigate to the folder that contains the files you want to bundle.
2. Select the files. To select multiple files, select the first file then hold down the
Shift
key and select the last file in the list. To select random files, select the first file, then hold down the
Ctrl
key (Macintosh®:
“) and click the other files to select them.
56 Using the Content Workspace
selected
.
4. A new lesson bundle is created and placed in the open folder. The lesson bundle contains copies of the selected files.
5. Type a name for the lesson bundle and press
Enter
.
Opening a lesson bundle
To view and work with files within a lesson bundle, complete one of the following steps to open the lesson bundle file.
f Double-click the lesson bundle name.
f Select the lesson bundle, then right-click and select
Open
from the context menu.
f Select the lesson bundle, click
, then select
Open
.
f Select the lesson bundle, then press Ctrl + O. (Macintosh®: “ + O).
When you open a lesson bundle, the files in the bundle are displayed in a separate window.
Note: You cannot open a lesson bundle outside of the TI-Nspire™ software. For example, if you open the folder using the file manager on your computer and double-click the lesson bundle name, it does not automatically launch the software.
Opening files within a lesson bundle
You can open any file within a lesson bundle on your computer if you have the program associated with the file type.
• When you open a .tns or .tnsp file, the file opens in the Documents workspace in the TI-Nspire™ software.
• When you open another file type, it launches the application or program associated with that file. For example, if you open a .doc file, it opens in Microsoft® Word.
Use one of the following options to open a file within a lesson bundle:
Using the Content Workspace 57
f Double-click the lesson bundle, then double-click a file within the lesson bundle.
f Within a lesson bundle, select the file, then click
¢
or right-click the file name and select
Open
from the context menu.
Managing files in a lesson bundle
You can open, copy/paste, delete, and rename files in an existing lesson bundle. To locate and work with files in an existing lesson bundle:
1. In the content pane, select the lesson bundle name. The Files window shows the file details in the Preview pane.
2. In the Preview pane, select the file name in the Files window and click
¢
to open the context menu.
3. Select the action you want to perform:
• Click
Open
. TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents open in the
Documents workspace. When you open another file type, it launches the application or program associated with that file.
• Click
Copy
to place the file in the clipboard.
• Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a connected handheld, then right-click and select
Paste
to place the copied file in a new location.
58 Using the Content Workspace
• Click
Delete
to delete the file from the lesson bundle. Use caution when deleting a file from a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
• Click
Rename
to give the file a new name. To cancel this action, press the
Esc
key.
• To add more files to the lesson bundle, click
Add Files to Lesson
Bundle
.
• Click
Refresh
to update the list of files in the bundle.
• Select
Package Lesson Bundle
to create a .tilb file. A .tilb file is a packaged file that contains all the contents of a lesson bundle and allows you to e-mail it.
• Click
Send to Connected Handhelds
to open the Transfer Tool and send the selected file to a handheld. Only .tns files can be sent to handhelds.
Managing lesson bundles
Use the options menu or the context menu to copy, delete, rename, or send a lesson bundle to connected handhelds. You can also create a shortcut to the lesson bundle.
Note: You cannot add a folder or a lesson bundle to a lesson bundle.
1. Select
Local Content
in the Resources pane.
2. In the Content pane, navigate to the lesson bundle you want to work with, then right-click to open the context menu or click the menu of options.
to open
Using the Content Workspace 59
3. Select the action you want to perform:
• Click
Open
to open the lesson bundle.
• Click
Copy
to place the lesson bundle file in the clipboard.
• Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a connected handheld, then right-click and select
Paste
to place the copied file in a new location.
• Click
Delete
to delete the lesson bundle. Use caution when deleting a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
• Click
Refresh
to update the list of files in the bundle.
• Click
Rename
to give the lesson bundle a new name. To cancel this action, press the
Esc
key.
• To move up a level in the folder hierarchy, click
Up a Level
.
• To add the lesson bundle to the list of shortcuts in Local Content, select
Create Shortcut
.
• To add more files to the lesson bundle, select
Lesson Bundles
>
Add Files to Lesson Bundle
.
• Select
Lesson Bundles > Package Lesson Bundle
to create a .tilb file.
• Click
Send to Connected Handhelds
to open Transfer Tool and send the lesson bundle to connected handheld. Only .tns files are sent to the handheld.
Packaging lesson bundles
Packaging lesson bundles creates a "package" folder with a .tilb file. This file contains all contents of the lesson bundle. You must package the lesson before you can e-mail the lesson bundle (.tilb file) to colleagues or students.
To package a lesson from the Content workspace:
1. Select
Local Content
in the Resources pane.
2. Select the lesson bundle you want to package in the Content pane.
The Lesson Bundle details are displayed in the Preview pane.
3. Use one of the following methods to create the package:
• From the Preview pane, click
¢
in the Files window, then select
Package Lesson Bundle
.
• From the Content pane, Right-click the lesson bundle name, then select
Lesson Bundles > Package Lesson Bundle
.
60 Using the Content Workspace
A dialog box opens confirming that the lesson bundle was created.
4. Click
Yes
to open the folder where the lesson package is stored. Click
No
to skip this step and close the dialog box.
E-mailing a lesson bundle
After a lesson bundle is packaged, you can e-mail the .tilb file to other teachers or students. To attach the lesson bundle to an e-mail:
1. In your e-mail client, select attach, then navigate to the Lesson Bundle
.tilb folder.
2. Make sure you open the package folder and select the .tilb file to attach to the email. You cannot email the .tilb folder.
Sending files to a class
You can send folders and TI-Nspire™ document files (.tns),
LearningCheck™ files (.edc) and CABRI™ files (.fig) to your whole class, members of the class currently logged in, or to individual students. Class must be in session for you to send files.
When you send a file to the whole class, all students currently logged in will receive the file immediately. Students not logged in will receive the file when they log in.
Note: File types .edc and .fig are converted to .tns files when they are sent to the class.
1. From the Content pane, navigate to the file you want to send to the handheld.
2. Click the file to select it.
3. Click
Send to Class
, send the file to the class.
File >Send to > Send to Class
to
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
Using the Content Workspace 61
4. Select the student(s) to whom you want to send the file:
• To send the file to the whole class, click
Class
. To send the file only to class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only
checkbox.
• To send the file to an individual student, click
Individuals
then click the student.
and
Note:
If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the software already has them selected.
• Use the
Send to handheld folder
drop-down list to toggle between the class folder or the top level folder on the handheld.
5. Click
Finish
.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record in the Class workspace.
Understanding the rules of content transfer
Using the Content Workspace, you can transfer content between the web, your computer, and connected TI-Nspire™ handhelds.
Note: You cannot transfer content to a TI-Nspire™ handheld from a
TI-84 keypad.
Types of content you can transfer
Items you can manipulate include:
62 Using the Content Workspace
• Folders
• Supported files
.tco
.tcc
.tns
.tnc
.edc
.tno
.fig
.tilb
Methods you can use to transfer content
You can transfer content several ways (again, depending on the content):
• "Drag and drop"
• Copy and paste
• Save to Computer
• Send to Connected Handhelds
You can perform these tasks using the following methods:
• Dialog boxes that automatically launch when you transfer the content
• Menu options
• Context menu shortcuts (select the content and right-click your mouse for options)
• Standard computer keyboard shortcuts such as
Ctrl + C
to copy and
Ctrl + V
to paste, for example.
• Icons appearing on the workspace
Using menus and toolbar icons
The menu items are listed in the following table, as well as the corresponding toolbar icon and keyboard shortcut.
Toolbar icon
File
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Open
- Opens a supported file you have selected.
Windows®:
Ctrl + O
Macintosh®:
ì“
+
O
Using the Content Workspace 63
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Save to Computer
- Displays a file browser window to let you save an existing TI-Nspire™ file to your computer.
Send To Class
- Sends a selected file or folder to the class, if a class is in session.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + S
Macintosh®:
ì“
+
S
Send To Connected Handhelds
-
Sends a selected file or folder to a handheld, using the Transfer Tool.
Class can not be in session. Opens a dialog box on the handhelds to save the file.
New Folder
- Creates a new folder at the location you have selected.
New Lesson Bundle
- Creates a new lesson bundle at the location you have selected.
Windows®:
Ctrl + N
Macintosh®:
ì“
+
N
Windows®:
Ctrl + L
Macintosh®:
ì“
+
L
Add Files to Lesson Bundle
- Adds the selected file(s) to a selected lesson bundle.
Package Lesson Bundle
- Packages the selected lesson bundle.
Settings
8 Opens a dialog box that lets you change language.
Change Language
8 Select a different language.
Exit
- Closes all applications, with a prompt to save the current document.
Windows®:
Alt + F4
Macintosh®:
ì“
+
Q
64 Using the Content Workspace
Toolbar icon
Edit
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Copy
information.
Paste
- Copies the selected
- Inserts content, either cut or copied, at a chosen location.
Rename
- Lets you rename a file or folder.
Delete
- Deletes the selected objects, text, applications, pages, or problems.
Windows®:
Ctrl + C
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
C
Windows®:
Ctrl + V
Macintosh®:
ì“ + V
Windows®: F2
Delete key
Select All
- Select all items.
Content
8
Create Shortcut
- Customize the content under Local Content by creating shortcuts.
Remove Shortcut
- Remove shortcuts that you have created in
Local Content.
Note: You cannot remove default shortcuts.
Links
8
Add New Link
- Customize the links in the resources pane by creating a new link.
Windows®:
Ctrl + A
Macintosh®:
ì“ + A
Using the Content Workspace 65
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Remove Link
- Remove links that you have created in the resources pane.
Note: You cannot remove default links.
Edit Link
- Change the name of the link.
Keyboard shortcut
Move to Top of List
- Move the selected link to the top of the list of links.
Move Up
- Move the selected link up one level in the list of links.
Move Down
- Move the selected link down one level in the list of links.
Move to Bottom of List
- Move the selected link to the bottom of the list of links.
View
Local Content
- Changes the left panel to display a selected Local Content item.
Links
Web Content
- Changes the left panel to display a selected Web Content item.
- Changes the left panel to display a selected My Links item.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + C
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Shift + C
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + L
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Shift + L
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + W
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Shift + W
66 Using the Content Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Connected Handhelds
- Changes the left panel to display a selected item from a connected handheld.
Refresh
- Refreshes the view to display any changes and updates in the menus, text, and so forth.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + H
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Shift + H
Windows®:
Ctrl + R
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
R
Up a Level
- When viewing a Local
Content item, lists all levels available so you can move up a level.
Show Columns
- Shows the columns in the current content pane view. A bullet next to an item denotes sort status.
Sort by
- When viewing web content, lets you sort by subject matter.
Tools
Quick Poll
- Opens a tool that allows you to send a quick poll to students with connected handhelds. Class must be in session.
Screen Capture
8 Capture the screen of the active page of a current document, or a student’s connected handheld, or an entire class of connected handhelds.
Capture Class
- Captures the screens of selected student handhelds or the entire class in the active class session. The captured images are located in the Class
Capture tool.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + Q
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + Q
Using the Content Workspace 67
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Capture Page
- Captures the active page of the current document. The captured image is located in the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + J
Macintosh®:
ì“ + J
Capture Selected Handheld
-
Captures the screen of a selected student or teacher handheld. The captured image is located in the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool.
Transfer Tool
- Opens a tool that allows you to send files to multiple students at once when a class is not in session.
Windows®:
Ctrl + T
Macintosh®:
ì“ + T
Identify Selected
Handheld - Enables you to locate a handheld in the
TI-Nspire™ Docking Station or
TI-Nspire™ CX Docking Station.
Install Handheld OS
- On a handheld you have selected, allows you to select an OS file that you have downloaded and install it on the handheld.
Network Manager
- Opens a tool that lets you check the status of wireless adapters and cradles, and lets you add or remove wireless adapters, cradles, and access points from the classroom system.
Class
Select Class
8 Displays a list of available classes for you to select.
Begin/End Class
- Begins a class sesion.
If a class session is currently running, ends the class session.
68 Using the Content Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Pause/Resume Class
- Pauses a class session. If a class session is paused, resumes the class session.
Student Name Format
8 Allows you to choose how student names are displayed, either by Last Name, First
Name; User Name; Display Name;
Student ID; or hidden.
Window
Keyboard shortcut
Reset Workspace Layout
- Returns your workspace to its original layout.
Content Workspace
- Opens the
Content Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to manage content from your computer, links to websites, connected handhelds, or Texas
Instruments web content.
Class Workspace
- Opens the Class
Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to manage classes and students, use the class record panel, and exchange files with students.
Documents Workspace
- Opens the
Documents Workspace in the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software. Use this workspace to author documents and demonstrate mathematical concepts.
Review Workspace
- Opens the
Review Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to review a collected set of documents, manage student responses, and organize data.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 1
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Alt + 1
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 2
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 2
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 3
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 3
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 4
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 4
Using the Content Workspace 69
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Portfolio Workspace
- Opens the
Portfolio Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to save, store, review, and manage class assignments from students.
Screen Capture Window
- Opens the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool, where you can view page captures and selected handheld screen captures.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 5
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 5
Help
TI-Nspire™ Help
- Provides help information for this software.
Activate
... your trial copy of the software. This option is available only if you use a trial version of the software.
Manage Subscription
8
Purchase Now
- Purchase the software.
Reminder Settings
- Renew your license or change your reminder settings, if your software is already activated.
Register
- When connected to the
Internet, opens a page where you can register your product.
Download Latest Guidebook
- When connected to the Internet, opens a page where you can download the latest product guidebooks.
Visit education.ti.com
- When connected to the Internet, opens the
Texas Instruments Education
Technology site.
F1
70 Using the Content Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Visit Activities Exchange
- When connected to the Internet, opens the
Activities Exchange site.
Explore Online Troubleshooting
-
When connected to the Internet, opens the online troubleshooting site.
Run TI-Nspire Diagnostics
- Run diagnostics and send a report to TI support.
Check for Software Updates
- Locates software updates.
Check for Handheld OS Update
- Is active when a handheld is selected.
About
- Displays TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ product information.
Welcome Screen
- Opens the
Welcome Screen, which gives you quick links to commonly used features.
Keyboard shortcut
Using the Content Workspace 71
72 Using the Content Workspace
Λήψη
Διαφήμιση