Using the Documents Workspace. Texas Instruments TI-NSPIRE CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire
Reklaam
Reklaam
Using the Documents Workspace
Use this workspace to create, modify, and view TI-Nspire™ and
PublishView™ documents, and to demonstrate mathematical concepts.
À
Á
Â
Ã
Å
Ä
Æ
Ç
À
Menu
. Contains tools for working with documents and modifying system settings.
Á
Workspace Selector
. Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Note: Some tasks you perform may prevent you from immediately changing workspaces. If a dialog box awaits a response from you, enter your response and then change workspaces.
Â
Documents Workspace toolbar
. Shows frequently performed tasks.
Each of these are explained in more detail in "Using menus and toolbar icons" later in this chapter.
Ã
Documents toolbox.
Contains tools such as the Tool Palette, Page
Sorter, TI-SmartView™, Utilities, and Content Explorer. Click each icon to access the available tools.
Ä
Toolbox panel.
Options for the selected tool are displayed in this area. For example, click the Tool Palette icon to access tools needed to work with the active application.
Using the Documents Workspace 83
Å
Class session controls.
Choose a class from a list of available classes.
You can begin, pause, resume, or end a class.
Æ
Workspace.
Shows the current document and enables you to perform calculations, add applications, and add pages and problems. Only one document at a time is active (selected). Multiple documents appear as tabs.
Ç
Status bar.
Shows the current problem number, enables you to access document settings, toggle between Computer mode and Handheld mode, and adjust the contrast or scaling of documents in the workspace.
Using the Documents Toolbox
The Documents Toolbox contains tools needed for working with
TI-Nspire™ documents and PublishView™ documents.
When you click a toolbox icon, the associated tools appear in the toolbox panel. Refer to the following table for information about each tool.
Icon
Tool Palette
Page Sorter
What you can do
In a TI-Nspire™ document, the Tool Palette provides a menu of tools available for working with an application. The tools are specific to the active application.
In a PublishView™ document, the Tool Palette allows you to insert TI-Nspire™ applications or documents, multimedia objects, image files, and video files into a
PublishView™ document.
Displays all the problems in a document and all the pages in each problem.
Move to another page by clicking on the desired page.
You can rearrange and delete pages, copy a page from one problem and paste it into another, and copy a problem from a document and paste it into another.
Note: In a PublishView™ document, the Page Sorter is not available.
84 Using the Documents Workspace
Icon
Content
Explorer
What you can do
TI-SmartView™
Demonstrate concepts on the handheld to the class.
The TI-Smartview™ tool works almost the same as the handheld.
Note: Content is only displayed on the
TI-Smartview™ small screen when the document is in
Handheld Only or Handheld + SideScreen modes.
Utilities
Provides access to the following utilities:
• Math Templates
• Symbols
• Catalog
• Math Operators
• Unit Conversions
• Libraries
Displays a list of files and folders on your computer and on connected handhelds. You can use the
Content Explorer to create and manage lesson bundles, and transfer documents between your computer and connected handhelds without changing workspaces.
Exploring the Tool Palette
The tool palette provides a menu of tools available for working with an application. The tools are specific to the active application. In the following example, the tool palette is open showing the application menu for the Calculator application.
Using the Documents Workspace 85
À
Á Â
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Tool Palette.
Provides a menu of tools available for working with an application. Click
¢
to open the sub-menu for each option.
Â
Click to close and click open the Tool Palette.
86 Using the Documents Workspace
Exploring the Page Sorter Panel
The following example shows the Documents Toolbox with the Page
Sorter open.
À
Á
Â
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Click the minus sign (-) to collapse the view. Click the plus sign (+) to open the view and show the problems and pages in the document.
Â
Scroll bar. The scroll bar is active when there are too many pages to show in the panel.
Exploring the TI-SmartView™ Panel
Use the TI-Smartview™ tool to demonstrate concepts on the handheld to the class. The TI-Smartview™ tool works almost the same as the handheld.
Using the Documents Workspace 87
À
Á
Â
Note: Content is only displayed on the TI-Smartview™ small screen when the document is in Handheld Only view, or in Handheld + SideScreen view and the document workspace is in Handheld mode.
Ã
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Handheld Selector. Click
¤
to select which handheld to show in the panel:
• TI-Nspire™ CX
• TI-Nspire™ Touchpad
• TI-Nspire™ Clickpad
Select how to show the handheld:
• Normal
• High contract
• Outline
Â
View selector. Click
¤
to select the handheld view:
• Handheld only
• Keypad + SideScreen
• Handheld + SideScreen
Note: You can also change these options in the TI-SmartView™
Options window. Click
File > Settings > TI-Smartview Options
to open the window.
Ã
When the Handheld Only display is selected, check
Always in front
to keep the display in front of all other open applications.
88 Using the Documents Workspace
Changing TI-SmartView™ options
You can change the location of the folder used to save TI-SmartView™ files on your computer. You can also change the keypad, faceplate, and view options.
To change TI-SmartView™ options:
1. Click
File > Settings > TI-Smartview Options.
2. Click
Browse
to change the folder used to save TI-SmartView™ files.
Choose the desired folder and click
OK
. By default, the files and folders in this location appear in the My Documents folder.
3. Make changes to keypad, faceplate, and view as desired.
4. Click
OK
.
Exploring the Utilities panel
The Utilities panel provides access to the math templates and operators, special symbols, catalog items, and libraries that you need when working with documents. In the following example, the Math templates tab is open.
Using the Documents Workspace 89
À
Á
Â
Ã
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Math Templates are open. Double-click a template to add it to a document. Click the Math Template tab to close the template view.
To open the Symbols, Catalog, Math Operators, and Libraries , click the tab.
Â
Wizards On check box. Turn this option on to use a wizard to enter function arguments.
Ã
Tabs for opening views where you can select and add symbols, catalog items, math operators, and library items to a document. Click the tab to open the view.
Exploring the Content Explorer panel
Use the Content Explorer panel to:
• See a list of files on your computer
• See a list of files on any connected handheld
• Create and manage lesson bundles
• Update the OS on connected handhelds
• Transfer documents between your computer and connected handhelds without changing workspaces.
90 Using the Documents Workspace
À
Á
Â
Å
Æ
Ã
Ä
À
The Documents Toolbox menu.
Á
Shows files on your computer and the name of the folder where the files are located. Click
¤
to navigate to another folder on the computer.
Â
The list of folders and files within the folder named in the
Look In:
field. Right-click on a highlighted file or folder to open the context menu listing available actions for that file or folder.
Ã
Click to close the list of files. Click to open the list of files.
Ä
Options menu. Click
¤
to open the drop-down menu of actions you can perform on a selected file:
• Open an existing file or folder
• Move (navigate) up one level in the folder hierarchy
• Create a new folder
• Create a new lesson bundle
• Rename a file
• Copy a selected file
• Paste a file copied to the clipboard
• Delete the selected file
• Select all files in a folder
Using the Documents Workspace 91
• Package a lesson
• Refresh the view
• Install OS
Å
Connected handhelds. Lists the connected handhelds. Multiple handhelds are listed if more than one handheld is connected to the computer.
Æ
The name of the connected handhelds. To display the folders and files on a handheld, double-click the name.
Click
¤
to navigate to another folder on the handheld.
Using the workspace
The space on the right side of the window provides an area for creating and working with TI-Nspire™ and PublishView™ documents. This space provides a view of the document so that you can add pages, add applications, and perform all work. Only one document at a time is active.
You can view TI-Nspire™ documents in one of two modes: Computer mode or Handheld mode. Both modes remember the last size and file location you used.
•
Handheld mode
. View documents as they appear on the handheld screen. The screen size is limited as it would be on the handheld.
92 Using the Documents Workspace
•
Computer mode
. This is the default view in the software.
Understanding the status bar
The status bar provides information about the current document, and enables you to toggle between between Handheld and Computer mode, and adjust the view of the document.
À Á Â Ã Ä Å
À
Network status
. shows how many TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network
Adapters and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles are currently connected to the system. You can click here to launch the Network Manager window.
Á
Student login status
. The student login status shows how many students are currently logged into class, and how many students are assigned to the current class. If class is not in session, the student login status shows "Class not started."
Â
Problem and page number
. References the current document.
Ã
Settings
. Click here to view or change General or Graphs & Geometry settings.
Ä
Document View
. Toggle between Handheld mode and Computer mode.
Using the Documents Workspace 93
Å
Boldness/Scale
. When working with a document in Computer mode, use the
Boldness
slider to make the lines and text of a document thicker or thinner.
When working with a document in Handheld mode, use the
Scale
slider to increase the size of the document in the workspace, up to
200%.
Viewing and changing document settings
Settings control how information is displayed in TI-Nspire™ and
PublishView™ documents.
• General settings control how all numbers, including elements or matrices and lists, are displayed. You can change the default settings at any time and you can specify the settings for a specific document.
• Graphs & Geometry settings control how information is displayed in open problems and in subsequent new problems. When you change the Graphs & Geometry settings, the selections become the default settings for all work in these applications.
Changing General settings
Complete the following steps to customize the general settings that are applied to your document.
1. Create a new document or open an existing document.
2. From the status bar, double-click
Settings,
or select
File > Settings >
Document Settings
to open the Document Settings window.
When you open Document Settings the first time, the default General
Settings are displayed.
94 Using the Documents Workspace
3. Press Tab or use your mouse to move through the list of settings. Click
¤
to open the drop-down list to view the available values for each setting.
Field
Display Digits
Angle
Value
• Float
• Float1 - Float12
• Fix0 - Fix12
• Radian
• Degree
• Gradian
Exponential Format • Normal
• Scientific
• Engineering
Real or Complex Format • Real
• Rectanglular
• Polar
Using the Documents Workspace 95
Field
Calculation Mode
Vector Format
Base
Unit System (CAS)
Value
• Auto
• CAS: Exact
• Approximate
Note: Auto mode displays an answer that is not a whole number as a fraction, except when a decimal is used in the problem. Exact mode (CAS) displays an answer that is not a whole number as a fraction or in symbolic form, except when a decimal is used in the problem.
• Rectangular
• Cylindrical
• Spherical
• Decimal
• Hex
• Binary
• SI
• Eng/US
4. Use the mouse to click and select the desired setting.
5. Choose one of the following options:
• To apply the customized settings to all documents, click
Make
Default
.
• To apply the settings to the current document only, click
OK
.
• To restore default settings, click
Restore
.
• Click
Cancel
to close the window without making changes.
Changing Graphs & Geometry settings
Complete the following steps to customize the application settings for graphs and geometry.
1. Create a new document or open an existing document.
2. From the status bar, double-click
Settings
or select
File > Settings >
Document Settings
to open the Document Settings window.
3. Click Graphs & Geometry to view the current settings.
96 Using the Documents Workspace
4. Press Tab or use your mouse to move through the list of settings. Click
¤
to open the drop-down list to view the available values for each setting.
Field
Display Digits
Graphing Angle
Geometry Angle
Values
• Auto
• Float
• Float1 - Float12
• Fix0 - Fix12
• Auto
• Radian
• Degree
• Gradian
• Auto
• Radian
• Degree
• Gradian
5. Use the mouse to select the desired setting.
6. Click a check box to enable or disable an option.
Checkbox
Automatically hide plot labels
Operation when selected
Plot labels are displayed only when selected, grabbed, or hovered.
Using the Documents Workspace 97
Checkbox
Show axis end values
Show tool tips for function manipulation
Automatically find a point of interest
Operation when selected
A numeric label is displayed at the least and greatest values visible on an axis
Shows helpful information as you manipulate function graphs
Shows zeros, minima, and maxima for graphed functions and objects while tracing function graphs.
7. Choose one of the following options:
• To apply the customized settings to all documents, click
Make
Default
.
• To apply the settings to the current document only, click
OK
.
• To restore default settings, click
Restore
.
• Click
Cancel
to close the window without making changes.
Sending files to a class
You can send folders and TI-Nspire™ document files (.tns),
LearningCheck™ files (.edc) and CABRI™ files (.fig) to your whole class, members of the class currently logged in, or to individual students. Class must be in session for you to send files.
When you send a file to the whole class, all students currently logged in will receive the file immediately. Students not logged in will receive the file when they log in.
Note: File types .edc and .fig are converted to .tns files when they are sent to the class.
1. From the Content Explorer, navigate to the file you want to send to the handheld.
2. Click the file to select it.
3. Click
Send to Class
, send the file to the class.
File >Send to > Send to Class
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
to
98 Using the Documents Workspace
4. Select the student(s) to whom you want to send the file:
• To send the file to the whole class, click
Class
. To send the file only to class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only
checkbox.
• To send the file to an individual student, click
Individuals
then click the student.
and
Note:
If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the software already has them selected.
• Use the
Send to handheld folder
drop-down list to toggle between the class folder or the top level folder on the handheld.
5. Click
Finish
.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record in the Class workspace.
Sending files to a handheld
You can send folders, lesson bundles, and TI-Nspire™ document files
(.tns), LearningCheck™ files (.edc) and CABRI™ files (.fig) to connected handhelds.
Note: File types .edc and .fig are converted to .tns files when they are sent to the handheld.
Using the Documents Workspace 99
1. From the Content Explorer, navigate to the file you want to send to the handheld.
2. Click the file to select it.
3. Select
File >Save to Handheld
to open the Save to Handheld window.
Working with Lesson Bundles
Many lessons or activities contain multiple files. For example, teachers usually have a teacher version of a file, a student version, assessments, and sometimes supporting files. A lesson bundle is a container that enables teachers to group all files needed for a lesson together. In the
Documents workspace, you can view, edit, demonstrate, and save updates to .tns files in a lesson bundle. You can use lesson bundles to:
• Add any type of file (for example, .tns, .tnsp, .doc, .pdf, .ppt) to a lesson bundle. You can send lesson bundles to connected handhelds; however, only the .tns files are sent to the handheld.
• View all the files in a lesson bundle using the TI-Nspire™ Software.
• Group all files associated with one lesson in one place.
• E-mail one lesson bundle file to teachers or students instead of looking for and attaching multiple files.
In the Documents workspace, options for working with lesson bundles are in the Content Explorer.
Creating a new lesson bundle
Complete the following steps to create a new lesson bundle.
1. Click
Explorer.
in the Documents Toolbox panel to open the Content
2. Click
Bundle.
to open the drop-down menu, then select
New Lesson
The new lesson bundle file is created and placed in your list of files.
3. Type a name for your lesson bundle and press
Enter
to save the file.
Adding files to a lesson bundle
By default, lesson bundles are empty when created. Use any of the following methods to add files to a lesson bundle:
• "Drag and drop" any file into a selected lesson bundle. This method moves the file to the lesson bundle. If you delete the lesson bundle,
100 Using the Documents Workspace
the file is deleted from your computer. You can recover the file from the Recycle Bin.
• Copy and paste any file into a selected lesson bundle.
• Use the "Add files to lesson bundle" option. This method copies the selected files into the lesson bundle. The file is not moved from its original location.
Using the Add files to lesson bundle option
To add files to the bundle using the Add files to lesson bundle option:
1. From the Content Explorer, double-click the lesson bundle file to open the lesson bundle window. The window name reflects that name of the lesson bundle.
2. Click
Add Files to Lesson Bundle
to open the Add window.
3. Use the file manager to navigate to and select the file you want to add to the lesson bundle.
• You can select multiple files at one time if they are located in the same folder.
• If files are located in different folders, you can add them one at a time.
Using the Documents Workspace 101
• You cannot create a folder within a lesson bundle or add a folder to a lesson bundle.
• You cannot add a lesson bundle to a lesson bundle.
4. Click
Add
to add the file to the bundle.
A copy of the file is added to the bundle and is now listed in the lesson bundle window.
5. Repeat this process until all needed files are added to the lesson bundle.
Opening a lesson bundle
To view and work with files within a lesson bundle, complete one of the following steps to open the lesson bundle file.
f Double-click the lesson bundle name.
f Select the lesson bundle, then right-click and select
Open
from the context menu.
f Select the lesson bundle, click
, then select
Open
.
f Select the lesson bundle, then press Ctrl + O. (Macintosh®: “ + O).
When you open a lesson bundle, the files in the bundle are displayed in a separate window.
Note: You cannot open a lesson bundle outside of the TI-Nspire™ software. For example, if you open the folder using the file manager on your computer and double-click the lesson bundle name, it does not automatically launch the software.
Opening files within a lesson bundle
You can open any file within a lesson bundle on your computer if you have the program associated with the file type.
• When you open a .tns or .tnsp file, the file opens in the Documents workspace in the TI-Nspire™ software.
102 Using the Documents Workspace
• When you open another file type, it launches the application or program associated with that file. For example, if you open a .doc file, it opens in Microsoft® Word.
Use one of the following options to open a file within a lesson bundle: f Double-click the lesson bundle, then double-click a file within the lesson bundle.
f Within a lesson bundle, select the file, then click
¢
or right-click the file name and select
Open
from the context menu.
Managing files in lesson bundles
You can open, copy/paste, delete, and rename files in an existing lesson bundle. To locate and work with files in an existing lesson bundle:
1. In the Documents Tool box panel, open the Content Explorer.
2. Navigate to the folder where the lesson bundle is saved.
3. Click
¢
or double-click the lesson bundle name to open the New
Lesson Bundle window.
4. Select the file you want to work with and right-click to open the context menu.
5. Select the action you want to perform:
• Click
Open
to open the file in the workspace
• Click
Copy
to place the file in the clipboard.
• Navigate to a folder on your computer or select a handheld, then right-click and select
Paste
to place the copied file in a new location.
• Click
Delete
to delete the file from the lesson bundle.
• Click
Rename
to give the file a new name.
6. When finished, click
Close
to close the window.
Packaging lesson bundles
Packaging lesson bundles creates a "package" folder with a .tilb file. This file contains all contents of the lesson bundle. You must package the lesson before you can e-mail the lesson bundle (.tilb file) to colleagues or students.
To package a lesson from the Documents workspace:
1. Open the Content Explorer.
2. Navigate to the folder where the lesson bundle is saved.
Using the Documents Workspace 103
3. Select the lesson bundle you want to package.
4. Right-click to open the context menu, then select
Package Lesson
.
A dialog box is displayed confirming that the lesson bundle was created.
5. Click
Yes
to open the folder where the lesson package is stored. Click
No
to close the dialog box.
E-mailing a lesson bundle
After a lesson bundle is packaged, you can e-mail the .tilb file to other teachers or students. To attach the lesson bundle to an e-mail:
1. In your e-mail client, select the option needed to attach a file, then navigate to the .tilb folder.
2. Make sure you open the folder and select the .tilb file to attach to the email. You cannot email the .tilb folder.
Managing lesson bundles
Use the options menu or the context menu to copy, delete, rename, or send a lesson bundle to connected handhelds. You cannot add a folder to a lesson bundle.
1. In the Content Explorer, right-click the lesson bundle name or click
to open the context menu.
104 Using the Documents Workspace
2. Select the action you want to perform. If an action is not available, it is grayed out.
• Click
Open
to open the lesson bundle.
• Click
Up One Level
to navigate up one level in the folder hierarchy.
• You cannot add a folder to a lesson bundle. If you select
Open
Folder
, a new folder is added to the folder where the lesson bundle is stored.
• Select
New Lesson Bundle
to create a new lesson bundle. The new lesson bundle is not added to the existing lesson bundle—it is created in the same folder as the existing lesson bundle.
• Click
Rename
to change the name of the lesson bundle. Press the
Esc
key to cancel this action.
• Click
Copy
to copy the lesson bundle to the clipboard.
• Navigate to another folder, then click
Paste
to copy the lesson bundle in another location.
• Click
Delete
to delete the lesson bundle. Use caution when deleting a lesson bundle. You should ensure files contained in the bundle are backed up if you need the files for future use.
•
Select All
highlights all files in the open folder. This action does not apply to lesson bundles.
• Click
Package Lesson
to create a .tilb file.
• Click
Refresh
to update the list of files in the open folder.
Sending lesson bundles to connected handhelds
1. In the Content Explorer, select the lesson bundle you want to send.
2. Using your mouse, "drag and drop" the lesson bundle file to a connected handheld. You can also copy the lesson bundle, then paste it to a connected handheld.
The lesson bundle is transferred to the handheld as a folder with the same name. Only supported files are transferred to the handheld.
Updating the handheld OS
You can install or update the operating system (OS) on a connected handheld from the Documents workspace. To install a handheld operating system, follow these steps.
1. Ensure the updated OS file is downloaded to your computer and that all work on the handheld is saved.
Using the Documents Workspace 105
2. Open the Content Explorer to see Connected Handhelds.
3. Select the handheld you want to update.
4. Click and then select
Install OS
or select
Tools > Install
Handheld OS
from the menu bar. The Select Handheld OS File dialog box opens.
5. Navigate to the folder where the operating system file is located.
6. Select the file name, then click
Install OS
.
• If you are upgrading a TI-Nspire™ CX handheld, select
TI-Nspire.tco
• If you are upgrading a TI-Nspire™ CX CAS handheld, select
TI-Nspire.tcc
• If you are upgrading a TI-Nspire™ handheld, select TI-Nspire.tno
• If you are upgrading a TI-Nspire™ CAS handheld. select
TI-Nspire.tnc
A progress screen is displayed.
7. When the operating system software has transferred to your handheld, click
OK.
You may now disconnect the handheld from your computer, and the operating system software will install itself onto your handheld.
Using menus and toolbar icons
The menu items for the Documents Workspace are listed in the following table, as well as the corresponding toolbar icon and keyboard shortcut.
106 Using the Documents Workspace
Toolbar icon
File
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
New TI-Nspire™ Document
a new TI-Nspire™ document.
New PublishView™ Document
Creates a new PublishView™ document.
Open Document
- Displays a file
- browser window to let you open an existing document.
Close
- Creates
- Closes the active document.
Save Document
- Displays a file browser window to let you save an existing TI-Nspire™ file to your computer. If you have previously saved the file, Save Document automatically saves the changes, in the same location and with the same name.
Save As
- Save an existing file with a new name.
Send To Handheld
- Save the document to a connected handheld.
Convert to
8 Convert a TI-Nspire™
(.tns) document to a PublishView™
(.tnsp) document, or convert a
PublishView™ document to a
TI-Nspire™ document.
Windows®:
Ctrl + N
Macintosh®:
“
+ N
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + N
Macintosh®:
“
+ Shift + N
Windows®:
Ctrl + O
Macintosh®:
ì“ + O
Windows®:
Ctrl + W
Macintosh®:
“
+ W
Windows®:
Ctrl + S
Macintosh®:
ì“ + S
Using the Documents Workspace 107
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Export
8 Export the file to a web page as a Java™ applet, or as html copied to the computer’s clipboard.
Send To Class
- Sends a selected file or folder to the class, if a class is in session.
Start / Stop Quick Poll
- Starts a poll if a question document is open and a class is in session. Stops a poll if one is currently active.
Keyboard shortcut
- Opens a dialog box that lets you choose options to print the current document.
Settings
8 Change a language, or edit and save document settings or
TI-SmartView™ options.
Change Language
8 Select a different language.
Document Settings
8 Set how numbers are displayed in documents, and set Graphs &
Geometry settings.
TI-SmartView Options
8 Change the settings for the TI-SmartView™ emulator.
Document Properties -
View and edit author and copyright information, and set the document as Read Only.
View Copyright Information -
View the copyright information for the current document.
Windows®:
Ctrl + P
Macintosh®:
“
+ P
108 Using the Documents Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Recent Documents -
Access recently opened documents.
Exit
- Closes all applications, with a prompt to save the current document.
Windows®:
Alt + F4
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Q
Edit
Undo
- Undo the last action performed.
Redo
- Reverses the Undo action.
Cut
- Cut selected information. Cut copies the content to the computer’s clipboard.
Copy
- Copy the selected information.
Copy also copies the content to the computer’s clipboard.
Paste
- Inserts content, either cut or copied, at a chosen location.
Windows®:
Ctrl + X
Macintosh®:
“
+ X
Windows®:
Ctrl + C
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
C
Windows®:
Ctrl + V
Macintosh®:
ì“ + V
Windows®: F2
Rename
- Lets you rename a file or folder.
Delete
- Deletes the selected objects, text, applications, pages, or problems.
Delete key
Using the Documents Workspace 109
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Page Layout
8 Select from different page layouts, swap application positions on a page, select applications, and group or ungroup open applications on a page.
Select Layout
- Select from a variety of layouts to view up to four applications at one time on the same page.
Select Application
- Select one application from the group on the page. The border is highlighted to indicate the selected application.
Swap Application
- Change the positions of multiple applications on a page.
Delete Application
- Delete one of the applications on a page.
Keyboard shortcut
Delete Page
- Delete a page from a problem.
Group
- Adds the next page to the current page. Group up to four applications in a single page.
Ungroup
- Separates the applications on the page to individual pages.
Color
8 Apply color to a background, a selected line, or text.
Fill
- Add color to the background of selected text.
110 Using the Documents Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Line
- Change the color of a line.
Keyboard shortcut
Text
- Change the color of selected text.
View
Insert
Computer
Computer mode.
Handheld
- View document in
- View document in
Handheld mode.
Windows®:
Alt +Shift+C
Macintosh®: option + Shift
+ C
Windows®:
Alt +Shift+H
Macintosh®: option + Shift
+ H
Scaling/Boldness
- In Handheld mode, adjust the document size to 100%,
150%, or 200%. In Computer mode, adjust the thickenss of text and lines to Normal, Bold, or Extra Bold.
Previous Page
- Navigate back one page in the document.
Next Page
- Navigate forward one page in the document.
Windows®:
Ctrl +
!
Macintosh®: option +
!
Windows®:
Ctrl +
"
Macintosh®: option +
"
Problem
- Add a problem to a document.
Using the Documents Workspace 111
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Page
- Add a page to a problem with one of the following applications:
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + I
Macintosh®:
ì“ + I
Calculator
Graphs
Geometry
Lists & Spreadsheet
Data & Statistics
Notes
Vernier DataQuest
Question
Image
- Insert an image into a document. (The application must support images).
Text
- Insert a text box into a
PublishView™ document.
Program Editor
8 Insert a new program; or open, import, or view an existing program.
112 Using the Documents Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Sensor Console
- Opens the sensor console on the bottom of the active application to accept data collection input.
Tools
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + D
Macintosh®:
ì“ + D
Quick Poll
- Opens a tool that allows you to send a quick poll to students with connected handhelds. Class must be in session.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + Q
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + Q
Quick Poll Options
8 Set options for an active Quick Poll session.
Allow Document Access
- Allow students to access the Scratchpad, other applications, and documents on their handhelds while in the
Quick Poll session.
Allow Resubmit
- Allow students to continue to submit answers to the Quick Poll until you stop the poll.
Screen Capture
8 Capture the screen of the active page of a current document, or a student’s connected handheld, or an entire class of connected handhelds.
Capture Class
- Captures the screens of selected student handhelds or the entire class in the active class session. The captured images are located in the Class
Capture tool.
Capture Page
- Captures the active page of the current document. The captured image is located in the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool.
Windows®:
Ctrl + J
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
J
Using the Documents Workspace 113
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Capture Selected Handheld
-
Captures the screen of a selected student or teacher handheld. The captured image is located in the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool.
Transfer Tool
- Opens a tool that allows you to send files to multiple students at once when a class is not in session.
Variables
- Insert a selected variable into the current document.
Windows®:
Ctrl + T
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
T
Windows®:
Ctrl + L
Macintosh®:
ì“ + L
Refresh Libraries
- Refreshes the list of storied libraries.
Install Handheld OS
- Allows you to select an OS file that you have downloaded and install it on the handheld you have selected.
Network Manager
- Opens a tool that lets you check the status of wireless adapters and cradles, and lets you add or remove wireless adapters, cradles, and access points from the classroom system.
Class
Select Class
8 Displays a list of available classes for you to select.
Begin/End Class
- Begins a class sesion.
If a class session is currently running, ends the class session.
Pause/Resume Class
- Pauses a class session. If a class session is paused, resumes the class session.
114 Using the Documents Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Reset Student Passwords
- Reset the password of a selected student. The student can not be currently logged in.
Student Name Format
8 Allows you to choose how student names are displayed, either by Last Name, First
Name; User Name; Display Name;
Student ID; or hidden.
Window
Keyboard shortcut
Reset Workspace Layout
- Returns your workspace to its original layout.
Content Workspace
- Opens the
Content Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to manage content from your computer, links to websites, connected handhelds, or Texas
Instruments web content.
Class Workspace
- Opens the Class
Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to manage classes and students, use the class record panel, and exchange files with students.
Documents Workspace
- Opens the
Documents Workspace in the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software. Use this workspace to author documents and demonstrate mathematical concepts.
Review Workspace
- Opens the
Review Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to review a collected set of documents, manage student responses, and organize data.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 1
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 1
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 2
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Alt + 2
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 3
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Alt + 3
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 4
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Alt + 4
Using the Documents Workspace 115
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Portfolio Workspace
- Opens the
Portfolio Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to save, store, review, and manage class assignments from students.
Application Menu
- Opens the application menu for the active page of a document in the Toolbox panel.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 5
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 5
Page Sorter
- Opens the page sorter and displays the pages of a problem in the Toolbox panel.
TI-SmartView Emulator
- Opens the
TI-SmartView™ emulator in the
Toolbox panel.
Content Explorer
Explorer panel in the Toolbox panel.
Utilities
- Opens the Content
- Opens the Utilities panel in the Toolbox panel.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + M
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + M
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + P
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Alt + P
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + E
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + E
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + O
Macintosh®:
ì“ +
Alt + O
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + U
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + U
Show Documents in Tiles/Tabs
-
Toggles the document view between showing in tiles or tabs. Includes the list of open documents.
Screen Capture Window
- Opens the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool, where you can view page captures and selected handheld screen captures.
116 Using the Documents Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
DocumentName.tns -
Lists the names of open documents, with a checkmark by the current document.
Help
Keyboard shortcut
TI-Nspire™ Help
- Provides help information for this software.
Activate
... your trial copy of the software. This option is available only if you use a trial version of the software.
Manage Subscription
8
Purchase Now
- Purchase the software.
Reminder Settings
- Renew your license or change your reminder settings, if your software is already activated.
Register
- When connected to the
Internet, opens a page where you can register your product.
Download Latest Guidebook
- When connected to the Internet, opens a page where you can download the latest product guidebooks.
Visit education.ti.com
- When connected to the Internet, opens the
Texas Instruments Education
Technology site.
Visit Activities Exchange
- When connected to the Internet, opens the
Activities Exchange site.
Explore Online Troubleshooting
-
When connected to the Internet, opens the online troubleshooting site.
F1
Using the Documents Workspace 117
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Run TI-Nspire Diagnostics
- Run diagnostics and send a report to TI support.
Check for Software Updates
- Locates software updates.
Check for Handheld OS Update
- Is active when a handheld is selected.
About
- Displays TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ product information.
Welcome Screen
- Opens the
Welcome Screen, which gives you quick links to commonly used features.
Keyboard shortcut
118 Using the Documents Workspace
Laadi alla
Reklaam