Using the Class Workspace. Texas Instruments TI-NSPIRE CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire
تبلیغات
تبلیغات
Using the Class Workspace
Use this workspace to add and manage classes and students, and to exchange files with students.
À
Á
Â
Ä
Ã
Å
Æ Ç
À
Menu.
Contains tools for working with documents and modifying system settings.
Á
Workspace Selector
. Click here to choose between the Content,
Class, Documents, Review, and Portfolio workspaces.
Note: Some tasks you perform may prevent you from immediately changing workspaces. If a dialog box awaits a response from you, enter your response and then change workspaces.
Â
Class Workspace toolbar
. Shows frequently performed tasks. Each of these are explained in more detail in "Using menus and toolbar icons" later in this chapter.
Ã
Class Record
. Document actions are shown here. You can open a document in the Review workspace; save a document to the Portfolio workspace; send, collect, and delete files; and view document properties.
Ä
Class session controls.
Choose a class from a list of available classes.
You can begin, pause, resume, or end a class.
Using the Class Workspace 245
Å
Classroom area.
Shows the students in your class, which ones are logged in, and the status of file transfers for selected files in the Class
Record. You can view the students by Seating Chart or by Student List.
Æ
Status bar
. See additional details below.
Ç
Student View.
Lets you display the students in the classroom area in
Seating Chart view or Student List view.
Understanding the status bar
The status bar gives you information about the network status and the student login status.
Network status
Student login status
The network status shows how many TI-Nspire™ CX Wireless Network
Adapters and TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Cradles are currently connected to the system. You can click here to launch the Network Manager window.
The student login status shows how many students are currently logged into class, and how many students are assigned to the current class.
If class is not in session, the student login status shows "Class not started."
Student view lets you view the current classroom in the seating chart view or the seating list view. The seating chart view shows your students as student icons with display names. The student list view shows your students in a table that contains their display names, first name, last name, user name, and student ID.
Adding classes
When you start using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software, one of the first things you should do is create your classes. Make sure you create a class for each of the class periods you plan to teach with the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software.
You can use a mix of TI-Nspire™ CX, TI-Nspire™ CX CAS, TI-Nspire™, and
TI-Nspire™ CAS handhelds in the same class.
Adding a class
1. Use the Workspace selector to select the Class workspace.
2. Click
Class > Add a Class
.
246 Using the Class Workspace
The Add Class dialog box opens.
3. Enter a class name.
4. Click
Add Class
.
The new class appears in the Add Class dialog box.
Note: If you want to import students from a list into a class you have created, see the instructions below.
5. Continue adding classes, and click
Finish
when you are done.
Importing students
When you add a class, you can import a list of students into the class. You must import students while you are adding classes, in the Add Class dialog box.
Note: You can always add individual students to any class at any time.
See "Adding students to classes" later in this chapter.
You can import a comma-separated value (CSV) file or a *.txt file. The
CSV or .txt file must have all of these headers in this order:
Using the Class Workspace 247
First Name
Last Name
User Name
Password
Display Name
Student ID
1. Highlight the class you just created.
2. Click
Import Students
.
The Open dialog box opens.
3. Select the file that contains the students you want to import.
4. Click
Open
.
The Import Status dialog box opens telling you how many students the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software successfully imported.
5. Click
OK
.
Note: If some students did not import successfully, click
View Details
to determine the problem.
248 Using the Class Workspace
Removing classes
If you have a class you no longer need, you can remove it from the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software. When you remove a class, the software removes the class and removes the files on the hard drive that correspond to that class. If you have students who are not part of any other classes, the software removes those students as well.
Note:
You cannot undo the removal of a class.
Removing a class
1. If you have a class session running, end it.
2. From the Class Session list, select the class you want to remove.
3. Click
Class > Remove Class
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software asks if you are sure you want to remove the class.
4. Click
Remove
.
Adding students to classes
After you create your classes, you need to add students to the classes.
You can add students to an active class session, or you can add students to any class at any time.
If this is your first time using the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software, the classroom area may be empty. The software prompts you to add a class, and to add students to the class. You can click the prompt
in the classroom area to add students, or you can follow the steps below at any time.
Note:
The instructions below explain how to add students after you create a class. You can also add students when you create a class by importing them.
1. Select the class to which you want to add students.
• If class is in session, the student will be added to the current class.
You have the option of adding the student to other classes.
• If class is not in session, use the Class Session controls to select the class to which you want to add the student.
Using the Class Workspace 249
2. Click
Class > Add Student
or click
Add Student
The Add Student dialog box opens.
.
3. Enter the student’s first name and last name.
4. Enter a user name.
Note:
The user name you choose must be unique. It cannot exist in the current class or any other class.
5. If you want your student to create their own password, select
Student Chooses
.
-or-
If you want to create a password for your student, select the blank password entry box and enter a new password.
6. (Optional) Enter a display name.
Note:
If you leave the display name blank, the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software uses the student’s first name as the display name.
7. (Optional) Enter a student ID.
8. (Optional) Assign the student to other classes: a) Click
Assign Classes
.
The Assign Classes dialog box opens.
250 Using the Class Workspace
b) Select the check boxes of the student’s classes.
c) Clear the check boxes of the classes to which the student does not belong.
d) Click
OK
.
9. If you need to add another student, click
Add Next Student
and repeat steps 3 - 8.
10. Click
Finish
.
Removing students from classes
As necessary, you can remove students from your classes. When you remove students, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software only removes them from the selected class. If the students are in other classes, they remain in those classes until you remove them.
Notes:
• You cannot remove students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ network.
• You cannot undo the removal of students.
• You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking the student icon in the classroom area and choosing an action from the menu.
To remove a student from a class, follow these steps.
1. Click the student you want to remove.
2. Click
Class > Remove Student,
or click
Remove Student
.
The software asks if you are sure you want to remove the student.
Using the Class Workspace 251
3. Click
Yes
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software removes the student.
Beginning and ending a class session
A class session is the period when the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software is active for a specific class. While a class session is running, you can perform communication functions with the selected class. You cannot use TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software to interact with your class until you begin a class session, and you cannot begin another class until you end the current one.
Beginning a class session
1. Click
Class > Select Class
, or click the Classroom Session list.
A list of available classes displays.
2. Select the class you want to begin.
3. Click
Begin Class
.
Pausing a class session
There are times you may want to pause a class. Pausing a class suspends all activity on the student’s handhelds, and they receive a message telling them class is paused. When you resume class, the message clears and the students are able to use their handhelds. The students remain logged in when you pause a class.
` To pause a class in session, click
Pause Class
.
` To resume the class, click
Resume Class.
Ending a class session
When class is over, or before you start another class, you need to end the current class session. Ending a class stops all file communication between your computer or handheld and the students’ handhelds. When you end a class, the students receive a message on their handhelds saying class is ended, and the students are automtically logged off.
` To end a current class session, click
End Class
.
252 Using the Class Workspace
Changing the student view
In the classroom area, you can view the students in the selected class in either the Student List view or the Seating Chart view. The Student List view shows your students in a table that contains their display names, first name, last name, user name, and student ID. The Seating Chart view shows your students as student icons with display names. You can change the class view at any time.
Changing the class view to Student List
` Click
View > Student List
or click in the status bar.
The view changes to Student List.
Changing the class view to Seating Chart
` Click
View > Seating Chart
or click in the status bar.
The view changes to Seating Chart view.
Using the Class Workspace 253
Arranging the seating chart
Initially, the classroom area arranges the students in the Seating Chart view in the order that you added them. However, you can rearrange the students so that they have the same seating arrangement in the classroom area as they do in your actual classroom. You can rearrange the seating chart at any time.
Arranging students in the seating chart
1. Select the class from the Class Session list.
2. Click
View > Seating Chart
.
The classroom area displays your class in the Seating Chart view.
3. Within the classroom area, drag each student’s icon to the location that you want.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software moves the student icons to the new locations.
The software rememebers the student positions the next time you start the same class.
Note:
Do not place one student’s icon on top of another students’ icon. If you do this, you will only be able to see one of the student’s icons.
Checking student login status
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software lets you view the students’ login status from the Seating Chart view. The color of the icon by your students’ display names indicates their login status as well as the class status:
Icon Class status
Class session not started.
Student status
N/A
Color
Grey
Class session started.
Light blue
Class session started.
Student not logged in.
Student logged in.
Dark blue
254 Using the Class Workspace
Sorting student information
The Student List view in the classroom area shows the information for students in the selected class. It includes your students’ display names, first names, last names, user names, and student IDs. In the Student List view, you can sort your students’ information by each of these categories.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software sorts the information alphabetically from A-Z or Z-A and numerically from 1-9 or 9-1. You can sort student information at any time.
Sorting student information
1. Select the class that contains the student information you want to sort.
Note:
If you have a class session running, you must end it to select the class.
2. In the menu, click
View > Student List
.
3. Click the column title of the list you want to sort.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software sorts the selected list.
4. If you want to sort the selected information in the opposite order, click the column title again.
Changing the classes assigned to a student
Occasionally your students may move to a different class, or they may take more than one of your classes. The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software lets you change your students’ classes when necessary.
Note:
You cannot change the classes of students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network.
Changing a student’s class
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
2. Click the student you want to edit.
3. Click
Class > Edit Student, or click
Edit Student
The Student Properties dialog box opens.
.
Using the Class Workspace 255
4. Click
Assign Classes
.
The Assign Classes dialog box opens.
5. Select the check boxes of the student’s classes.
6. Clear the check boxes of the classes to which the student does not belong.
7. Click
OK
.
8. In the Student Properties dialog box, click
OK
.
256 Using the Class Workspace
Changing student names and identifiers
After you add your students, you may find that you need to change one of their names or identifiers. In the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software, there are five different names and identifiers associated with your students, including:
• First name
• Last name
• User name
• Display name
• Student ID
This section covers how to change any of these types of names and identifiers.
Note:
You cannot change the account information of students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network.
Note: You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking the student and choosing an action from the menu.
Changing a student’s names or identifiers
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
Note:
If you have a class session running, you must end it to select the class.
2. Click the student you want to edit.
3. Click
Class > Edit Student, or click
Edit Student
The Student Properties dialog box opens.
.
Using the Class Workspace 257
4. Click the field of the name or identifier you want to change.
5. Make the necessary changes.
6. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for any other names or identifiers you want to change.
7. Click
OK
.
Moving students to another class
If any of your students move to a different class, you can move them within the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software as well.
Note:
You cannot move students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ network.
Note: You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking the student and choosing an action from the menu.
Moving a student to another class
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
Note:
If you have a class session running, you must end it to move the student.
2. Click the student you want to move.
3. Click
Edit > Cut
or click
Cut
.
258 Using the Class Workspace
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software removes the student from the class and places his or her student account information on the
Clipboard.
4. From the Class Session list, select the class where you want to move the student.
5. Click
Edit > Paste
or click
Paste
.
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software moves the student to the selected class.
Copying students to another class
When you have students in more than one of your classes, you may find it convenient to simply copy them from one class to another. Copying students saves you the time of entering all of their information again.
Note:
You cannot copy students who are logged in to the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ network.
Note: You can access many of the student account items by right-clicking the student and choosing an action from the menu.
Copying a student to another class
1. Select a class to which the student belongs.
Note:
If you have a class session running, you must end it to select the class.
2. Click the student you want to copy.
3. Click
Edit > Copy
or click
Copy
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software copies the student onto the clipboard.
4. From the Current Class drop-down list, select the class to which you want to copy the student.
5. Click
Edit > Paste
or click
Paste
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software copies the student to the selected class.
Using the Class Workspace 259
Exploring the Class Record
From the Class Record, you can open a document in the Review workspace; save a document to the Portfolio workspace; send, collect, and delete files; and view document properties.
Â
À
Ã
Á
À
File action. The icons indicate the status of a file as follows.
Sent to class.
Collected from class.
Saved to portfolio.
Redistributed to class.
Quick Poll.
Unprompted.
260 Using the Class Workspace
Deleted from student’s handheld.
Á
File name. The names of files and folders used in this class.
Â
Status. The progress of an action. For example, "23 of 25" indicates that 23 out of 25 students have received a file.
Ã
Menu options. Click for quick access to certain menu items. This icon gives you the same options as a right-click.
Sending files to a class
You can send folders and TI-Nspire™ document files (.tns),
LearningCheck™ files (.edc) and CABRI™ files (.fig) to your whole class, members of the class currently logged in, or to individual students. Class must be in session for you to send files.
When you send a file to the whole class, all students currently logged in will receive the file immediately. Students not logged in will receive the file when they log in.
Note: File types .edc and .fig are converted to .tns files when they are sent to the class.
1. Click
Tools > Send to class
or click
Send to class
The Select file(s) to send dialog box opens.
.
Using the Class Workspace 261
2. Click the
Files
tab to choose files, or click the
Folders
tab to choose folders.
Note: You can send only files or folders, not a combination of files and folders. When you send folders to the students’ handhelds, only the .tns files will transfer.
3. To choose the files or folders you want to send, do one of the following:
• Navigate to the file or folder you want to send and click it. To select multiple files or folders, press and hold the Ctrl key
(Macintosh®: “) while clicking each file name.
• Type the name of the file or folder in the
File name
or
Folder name
box. Folder names may use alphanumeric characters. You can enter slashes ( / and \ ), but double slashes ( // and \\ ) and some special characters (? | : * " " < > | ) are not allowed.
Note:
You can also drag and drop files from a file browser window onto the Class Record to send files.
4. Click
Next
.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
5. Select the student(s) to whom you want to send the file:
• To send the file to the whole class, click
Class
. To send the file only to class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only
checkbox.
262 Using the Class Workspace
• To send the file to an individual student, click
Individuals
then click the student.
and
Note:
If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the software already has them selected.
• Use the
Send to handheld folder
drop-down list to toggle between the class folder or the top level folder on the handheld.
6. Click
Finish
.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record.
Collecting files from students
You can collect handheld-compatible files (such as .tns files) from your students’ handhelds to your computer. Class must be in session for you to collect files. If any students are not logged in, the files you collect are automatically transferred when they log in.
You can collect selected files from the Class Record, or you can collect recent files that have been sent to the class from the Transfer Tool by using the
Tools
menu or icon. When you collect files from the menu or icon, you have the option of deleting the collected files from your students’ handhelds.
Collecting files from the Class Record
1. From the Class Record, choose the file or files that have been sent to class.
Using the Class Workspace 263
2. Click on any of the highlighted files and choose
Collect from
Class
.
The file transfer appears in the Class Record.
Collecting files from the menu or icon
1. Click
Tools > Collect from Class
or click
Collect from Class
The Select file(s) to collect dialog box opens.
.
2. To choose the files or folders you want to collect, do one of the following:
• Click
Recent Files
and navigate to the file you want to collect and click it. To select multiple files or folders, press and hold the Ctrl key (Macintosh®:
“) while clicking each file name.
• Click
Enter Filename
and type the name of the file in the
File name
box and then click
Add
.
3. Click
Next
.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
264 Using the Class Workspace
4. Select the student(s) from whom you want to collect the file:
• To collect the file from the whole class, click
Class
. To collect the file only from class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only
checkbox.
• To collect the file from an individual student, click
Individuals
and then click the student.
Note:
If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the software already has them selected.
5. If you want to remove the file from the students’ handhelds after you collect it, select
Delete from handheld after collecting
.
6. Click
Finish
.
The collected file appears in the Class Record.
Managing Unprompted actions
When a student logged into a class session sends you a file outside of a collection, an Unprompted action is created.
These files, which are stored in a database, display in the Class Record until they are removed.
Using the Class Workspace 265
Reviewing and opening Unprompted actions
Unprompted actions are named "Unprompted" followed by the month and date. Each class session contains all .tns files sent from students in one Unprompted folder.
The latest Unprompted action appears at the top of the Class Record for the most recent files sent by a student during a class session. During the next class session, more recent Unprompted actions appear in the Class
Record above the previous action.
To open the Unprompted action:
1. Double-click the action or right-click and choose
Record Item
Properties
.
The Unprompted dialog opens. By default, no items in the
Unprompted action are selected.
2. From the Unprompted dialog, you can view one or more items, save the items to Portfolio, remove the items, export the items to another file location, or do nothing.
Viewing items in an Unprompted action
1. From the Unprompted dialog, click on the checkbox to the left of the item(s) you want to view.
Note:
You can also click on the View icon beside an item to quickly access the item.
2. Click
View
.
The items open as read-only files.
Removing individual items from an Unprompted action
The Class Record displays items in Unprompted actions until you remove the Unprompted action. Even if you have exported or saved items, its
Unprompted action continues to display until you remove it. To remove items from an Unprompted action:
1. From the Class Record, double-click on the Unprompted action to open it.
2. From the Unprompted dialog, click on the checkbox to the left of the item(s) you want to remove.
3. Click
Remove
.
266 Using the Class Workspace
Removing an entire Unprompted action
You can remove an Unprompted action from the Class Record. This removes all items contained within the Unprompted action, as well as removing the Unprompted action from the Class Record.
1. From the Class Record, click on the Unprompted action to highlight it.
2. Click
Remove from Class Record
.
Exporting Unprompted action items
You can export items from the database to the file system. To export items from an Unprompted action:
1. From the Class Record, double-click on the Unprompted action to open it.
2. Select the files you want to export.
3. Click
Export
.
A file browser opens.
4. Select the location for the export.
5. Click
Select Folder
.
Saving files to a Portfolio record
You can save collected, unprompted, and Quick Poll files to a Portfolio record.
1. From the Class Record, select the files.
2. Click and select
Save selected to Portfolio
.
The
Save to Portfolio
dialog opens.
3. Select to save the files to a new Portfolio column or add them to an existing Portfolio column.
• To add the files to a new Portfolio column, click Add as new
portfolio column and type the name for the new portfolio column.
• To save the files to an existing Portfolio column, click
Add to existing portfolio column
and select the column name you want from the drop-down list.
4. Click
Save
.
Note:
The files you have saved in Portfolio display in the Class Record until you remove them using the Remove command.
Using the Class Workspace 267
Deleting files from handhelds
When necessary, you can delete files from your students’ handhelds. You can delete files that were sent to the class, collected from the class, or sent from the Transfer Tool. Class must be in session for you to delete files from the students’ handhelds.
1. Click
Tools > Delete from class
or click
Delete from class
.
The Select file(s) to delete dialog box opens.
2. To choose the files you want to delete, do one of the following:
• Click
Recent Files
and navigate to the file you want to delete and click it. To select multiple files or folders, press and hold the Ctrl key (Macintosh®:
“) while clicking each file name.
• Click
Enter Filename
and type the name of the file in the
File name
box and then click
Add
.
3. Click
Next
.
The Select individual(s) dialog box opens.
268 Using the Class Workspace
4. Select the student(s) whose files you want to delete.
• To delete the file from the whole class’s handhelds, click
Class
. To delete the file only from class members who are currently logged in, check the
Logged in only
checkbox.
• To delete the file from an individual student’s handheld, click
Individuals
and then click the student.
Note:
If you had any students selected in the classroom area, the software already has them selected.
5. Click
Finish
.
The file deletion appears in the Class Record.
Checking the status of file transfers
When you are sending or collecting files, you may want to check to see which of your students have received or sent their files.
1. In the Class Record, click the file whose status you want to check.
In the classroom area, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software indicates the status of your students as follows:
• A green background indicates that students have sent/received the file.
Using the Class Workspace 269
• A yellow background indicates that a student received the collect or delete action, but they do not have the file on their handheld.
• A red background indicates that students have not yet sent/received/deleted the file.
Note:
You can also see the file transfer status in the file’s Properties dialog box.
Canceling file transfers
If you change your mind about a file transfer, you can cancel the transfer in the Class Record. Canceling file transfers stops the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software from transferring more files. Any files that transfer before you cancel remain on the students’ handhelds.
1. In the Class Record, click the file whose transfer you want to cancel.
2. Click
Tools > Delete from Class
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software asks if you’re sure you want to remove the action.
3. Click
Delete
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software stops the file transfer and removes the file from the Class Record list.
Deleting items from the Class Record
The Class Record maintains a list of all of the actions you have performed in your class. Items remain in this list until you delete the items or you delete the class. You can remove items from the Class Record at any time.
Note: If you remove a collected file list from the Class Record without first saving it to Porfolio, the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ software deletes those students’ files.
1. In the Class Record, click the item you want to delete.
2. Click
Remove from Class Record
.
Note:
If you are deleting an item that is still in progress, the softwre asks if you are sure you want to delete the item. Click
Delete
.
270 Using the Class Workspace
Viewing file properties
Each file that you send or collect has a set of properties that you can view. These properties include the file’s name, size, date sent, and status.
You can view the file properties at any time.
1. Select the file in the Class Record.
2. Right-click the file in Class Record and select
Record Item Properties
.
The Properties dialog box opens displaying the file’s properties.
Resetting student passwords
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software maintains the privacy of your students’ passwords. Because of this, you cannot retrieve passwords for your students if they forget them. However, if necessary you can reset your students’ passwords. You can reset passwords for all of the students in a class or for individual students.
Note:
You cannot reset the passwords of students who are currently logged in to the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ network.
Resetting passwords for all students in a class
1. Select the students’ class.
2. Click
Class > Reset Student Password(s)
.
The Confirm Reset Passwords dialog box opens.
Using the Class Workspace 271
3. Click
OK
.
4. The next time your students log in, instruct them to enter passwords of their choosing.
Resetting passwords for individual students
1. Click the student you want to edit.
2. Click
Class > Edit Student,
or click
Edit Student
right-click the student and choose
Edit Student
from the menu.
The Student Properties dialog box opens.
3. Click the
Reset
button next to
Password
.
4. If you want the student to create his or her own password, select
Student Chooses
.
-or-
If you want to create a specific password for the student, select the blank password entry box and enter a new password.
5. Click
OK
.
The TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software resets the student’s password.
6. The next time the student logs in:
272 Using the Class Workspace
• If you selected Student Chooses, instruct the student to enter a password of his or her choosing.
• If you created a password for the student, tell the student the new password.
Using menus and toolbar icons
The menu items for the Class workspace are listed in the following table, as well as the corresponding toolbar icon and keyboard shortcut.
Toolbar icon
File
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Open in Review Workspace
- Opens a selected Quick Poll or collected file in the Review workspace.
Save Selected to Portfolio
- Saves a selected Quick Poll or collected file in the Portfolio workspace.
Collect Selected from Class
- Collects a sent or redistributed file selected in the Class Record from all students in class. Class must be in session.
Redistribute Selected to Class
- Sends a previously collected file to all students in the class. Class must be in session.
Send Missing
- Sends files or lesson bundles to students currently logged in, and did not receive the file last time it was sent to the class.
Collect Missing
- Collects files from students currently logged in, and did not send the file last time it was collected from the class.
Settings
8 Opens a dialog box that lets you change language and set or change your teacher preferences.
Using the Class Workspace 273
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Change Language
8 Select a different language.
Teacher Preferences
8 Set and manage your teacher account preferences. See Setting up the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software for more information on teacher preferences.
Exit
- Closes all applications, with a prompt to save the current document.
Windows®:
Alt + F4
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Q
Edit
Cut
- Cut selected information. Cut copies the content to the computer’s clipboard.
Copy
information.
Paste
- Copies the selected
- Inserts content, either cut or copied, at a chosen location.
Windows®:
Ctrl + X
Macintosh®:
“
+ X
Windows®:
Ctrl + C
Macintosh®:
ì“ + C
Windows®:
Ctrl + V
Macintosh®:
ì“ + V
Remove from Class Record
- Removes a selected item from the Class Record.
View
Seating Chart
- Changes the view in the classroom area to Seating Chart view.
Student List
- Changes the view in the classroom area to Student List view.
274 Using the Class Workspace
Toolbar icon
Tools
Menu option and what you can do Keyboard shortcut
Send to Class
- Opens a tool that allows you to send files or folders to the class. Class must be in session.
Collect from Class
- Opens a tool that allows you to collect files that have previously been sent to the class. Class must be in session.
Delete from Class
- Opens a tool that allows you to collect files that have previously been sent to or collected from the class. Class must be in session.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + S
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Shift + S
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + C
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Shift + C
Windows®:
Ctrl + Shift + D
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Shift + D
Delete All
- Opens a tool that allows you to delete all folders and files at once for the entire class or for selected students. Class must be in session.
Quick Poll
- Opens a tool that allows you to send a quick poll to students with connected handhelds.
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + Q
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + Q
Live Presenter
- Opens a tool that lets you display your handheld screen or a student’s handheld screen, and record their actions. See Live Presenter for more information.
Screen Capture
8 Opens a tool that lets you capture the screens of the entire class of connected handhelds.
Capture Class
- Captures the screens of selected student handhelds or the entire class in the active class session. The captured images are located in the Class
Capture tool.
Using the Class Workspace 275
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Capture Page
- Captures the active page of the current document. The captured image is located in the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + J
Macintosh®:
ì“ + J
Capture Selected Handheld
-
Captures the screen of a selected student or teacher handheld. The captured image is located in the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool.
Transfer Tool
- Opens a tool that allows you to send files to multiple students at once.
Windows®:
Ctrl + T
Macintosh®:
ì“ + T
Network Manager
- Opens a tool that lets you check the status of wireless adapters and cradles, and lets you add or remove wireless adapters, cradles, and access points from the classroom system.
Class
Select Class
8 Displays a list of available classes for you to select.
Begin/End Class
- Begins a class sesion.
If a class session is currently running, ends the class session.
Pause/Resume Class
- Pauses a class session. If a class session is paused, resumes the class session.
Add a Class
- Lets you add a new class.
Class must not be in session.
Import Class Data
- Lets you import class data from previous classes. Class must not be in session.
276 Using the Class Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Remove Class
- Lets you remove a selected class and all class data from the software. Class must not be in session.
Add Student
- Lets you add a new student to available classes. Class must not be in session.
Edit Student
- Opens the Student
Properties box on a selected student so you can edit their name, password, and ID, and assign them to additional classes.
Remove Student
- Removes a selected student from all classes. Class must not be in session.
Reset Student Passwords
- Resets the passwords for all selected students who are not logged in.
Student Name Format
8 Allows you to choose how student names are displayed, either by Last Name, First
Name; User Name; Display Name;
Student ID; or hidden.
Window
Keyboard shortcut
Reset Workspace Layout
- Returns your workspace to its original layout.
Content Workspace
- Opens the
Content Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to manage content from your computer, links to websites, connected handhelds, or Texas
Instruments web content
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 1
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 1
Using the Class Workspace 277
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Class Workspace
- Opens the Class
Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to manage classes and students, use the class record panel, exchange files with students, and monitor documents.
Documents Workspace
- Opens the
Documents Workspace in the
TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher
Software. Use this workspace to author documents and demonstrate mathematical concepts.
Review Workspace
- Opens the
Review Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to review or document a
Quck Poll, manage student responses, and organize data.
Portfolio Workspace
- Opens the
Portfolio Workspace in the TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ Teacher Software. Use this workspace to save, store, review, and manage class assignments from students.
Page Capture Window
- Opens the
TI-Nspire™ Screen Capture tool, where you can view page captures and selected handheld screen captures.
Keyboard shortcut
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 2
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 2
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 3
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 3
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 4
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 4
Windows®:
Ctrl + Alt + 5
Macintosh®:
ì“ + Alt + 5
Help
TI-Nspire™ Help
- Provides help information for this software.
Activate
... your trial copy of the software. This option is available only if you use a trial version of the software.
F1
278 Using the Class Workspace
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Manage Subscription
8
Purchase Now
- Purchase the software.
Reminder Settings
- Renew your license or change your reminder settings, if your software is already activated.
Register
- When connected to the
Internet, opens a page where you can register your product.
Download Latest Guidebook
- When connected to the Internet, opens a page where you can download the latest product guidebooks.
Visit education.ti.com
- When connected to the Internet, opens the
Texas Instruments Education
Technology site.
Visit Activities Exchange
- When connected to the Internet, opens the
Activities Exchange site.
Explore Online Troubleshooting
-
When connected to the Internet, opens the online troubleshooting site.
Run TI-Nspire Diagnostics
- Run diagnostics and send a report to TI support.
Check for Software Updates
- Locates software updates.
Check for Handheld OS Update
- Is active when a handheld is selected.
About
- Displays TI-Nspire™
Navigator™ product information.
Keyboard shortcut
Using the Class Workspace 279
Toolbar icon
Menu option and what you can do
Welcome Screen
- Opens the
Welcome Screen, which gives you quick links to content.
Keyboard shortcut
280 Using the Class Workspace
دانلود
تبلیغات