Using Live Presenter. Texas Instruments TI-NSPIRE CAS, TI-Nspire CX, TI-nspire CX CAS, TI-Nspire
广告
广告
Using Live Presenter
In the TI-Nspire™ Navigator™ Teacher Software, Live Presenter enables teachers to project and present actions on a selected handheld in realtime. Teachers can choose to project their own handheld screen or any student’s handheld screen to show work as it is being performed and discuss the step-by-step process with the class. During the live presentation, you can show the TI-Nspire™ handheld being displayed and show the keys as they are pressed by the presenter.
Teachers can also control what appears on the presentation screen: student’s name, handheld display, or keypress history. Teachers can also record the Live Presenter session and save the file as a movie for later use.
While Live Presenter is active, all other student handhelds are unaffected by the presentation and can be used.
Before starting Live Presenter
Live Presenter is accessible from the Class workspace. To use Live
Presenter:
• Ensure student handhelds are connected.
• Begin a class.
• Ensure students are logged in.
Starting Live Presenter
Make sure the student selected to be the presenter is logged into an active class session. Although only one person can present at a time, you can select anyone to present as long as they are logged in and the class session is active.
` From the Class workspace, select a student in the class, then select
Tools > Live Presenter.
` To present the teacher handheld, ensure you are logged in, then select
Tools > Live Presenter
.
Note: If you have not set teacher preferences, go to
File > Teacher
Preferences
. For more information on using a handheld, refer to the handheld guidebooks available at education.ti.com/guides.
Starting Live Presenter from Class Screen Capture window
You can also start Live Presenter from the Class Screen Capture window:
Using Live Presenter 281
1. From the Class workspace, click , then select
Capture Class
.
The Select Individual(s) window opens.
2. Check the "Logged in only" box to display all students currently logged in.
Note: If you selected a logged in student in the Class workspace, that student’s name is highlighted in the Select Individual(s) window. To select all students in the class, click
3. Click
OK
.
The Class Screen Capture window opens.
.
4. Select a student who is logged in, then click .
The Class Screen Capture window opens in Live Presenter mode. By default, the window opens in full-screen view. Use the minimize and maximize buttons in the upper right corner to adjust the size of the window.
Â
À
Á
Ã
Ä
Å
Exploring Live Presenter mode
By default, Live Presenter opens with all panes active. You can select to show or hide the Handheld pane and the Keypress History.
282 Using Live Presenter
À Menu bar. Only options applicable to Live Presenter are available from the File menu and the View menu:
• Select
File > Close
to close Live Presenter.
• Select
Edit > Copy
to copy the keys in the Keypress History pane. You can also press
Ctrl + C
(Macintosh®:
“ + C).
• Select
View > Show Student Names
to hide student names if they are showing or show student names if they are hidden.
• Select
View > Live Presenter
to access options for working with Live Presenter.
Note: Other menu options are enabled when viewing captured screens.
Á Tool bar. Only tools applicable to Live Presenter are selectable.
In Live Presenter you can:
• Click to stop Live Presenter.
• Select to hide student names.
to show student names or deselect
Â
Handheld pane. Displays the presenter’s handheld type. As the presenter presses keys on their handheld, the keys in the display turn red so viewers can follow along. The last key pressed remains highlighted until a different key is pressed.
Note: In Live Presenter, the handheld pane does not function like the TI-SmartView™ emulator. You cannot use a mouse to click or select keys—the presenter must press the keys on their handheld.
à Display pane. Displays the presenter’s handheld screen. If you selected to show the student name, the name is shown under the screen.
Using Live Presenter 283
Ä View options:
• Click to record the session. Click to stop the recording.
• Select to show the handheld pane. Deselect to hide the handheld pane. When you hide the handheld, the Keypress History is shown in this pane.
• Select to show the Keypress History pane. Deselect to hide the Keypress History pane.
Note: To view only the handheld screen, deselect and .
Å
Keypress History pane. As the presenter presses keys on their handheld, the keypress sequence is shown left to right.
Note: If the handheld is hidden, the keys pressed are shown in the left pane and this pane closes.
Hiding and showing student names
If showing, the student name is shown under the handheld screen in Live
Presenter. student name is shown here
284 Using Live Presenter
The student name is shown in the same format selected in Capture Class.
If you select to show or hide student names in Capture Class, the student name will be shown or hidden when you start Live Presenter.
To hide the student name in Live Presenter:
` Deselect
by clicking the check box.
The student name is hidden.
Hiding and showing the presenter handheld
By default, the handheld is shown when you start Live Presenter.
Showing the handheld enables the class to see which keys are pressed during the presentation. When the handheld is shown:
• The key turns red in the display so that the class can follow along when the presenter presses a key.
• The last key pressed remains highlighted until a different key is pressed.
• The keys on the handheld display are not pressable or clickable. This visual display only shows what the presenter presses on their handheld.
Hiding the handheld display
` To hide the handheld, deselect
Show Handheld
in the View Options bar.
The handheld is hidden and the Keypress History is shown in the left pane.
Using Live Presenter 285
Showing the handheld
` If the handheld is hidden, select
Show Handheld
to show the presenter’s handheld in the left pane.
The handheld is displayed in the left pane and the Keypress History pane opens under the handheld screen if selected.
Viewing Keypress History
By default, the Keypress History pane is open under the handheld screen when you start Live Presenter.
• As keys are pressed during the live presentation, they appear in the
Keypress History pane.
• As keys are pressed, they are displayed from left-to- right, then topto-bottom.
• If the presenter presses the same key more than once, each repeated key press is shown in the Keypress History pane. If the presenter presses and holds one key (as when moving the cursor), then the key is recorded only one time.
• You can copy the keys captured in the Keypress History pane to the clipboard and then paste the images into another document. You can also clear the Keypress History pane. (Students are not able to do this.)
286 Using Live Presenter
• During lengthy live presentation sessions, the keys pressed may expand beyond the display area. When this happens, a scroll bar appears so you can review all keys pressed during the session.
Hiding Keypress History
` To hide the Keypress History pane, deselect Show Keypress History.
The Keypress History pane closes.
Showing Keypress History
` If the Keypress History pane is hidden, click the check box to select
Show Keypress History
.
• If the handheld is shown, the Keypress History pane opens below the presenter’s handheld screen.
• If the handheld is hidden, the Keypress History is displayed in the pane to the left of the presenter’s handheld screen.
Copying Keypress History
You can copy the keys captured in the Keypress History pane to the clipboard then paste the images of the keys into a Microsoft® Word document or PowerPoint presentation.
Using Live Presenter 287
1. In the Keypress History pane, select the keys you want to copy.
2. Select
Edit > Copy
or press
Ctrl + C
(Macintosh®: “ + C).
Images of the keys are copied to the clipboard.
Clearing Keypress History
To clear the Keypress History pane:
` Select
View > Live Presenter > Clear Keypress History
.
The keys displayed in the Keypress History pane are removed.
Showing the handheld screen only
To show only the presenter’s handheld screen during the Live Presenter session:
` Deselect the
Show Handheld
and the
Show Keypress History
options.
The Handheld and Keypress History panes close and the handheld screen is displayed in the window.
288 Using Live Presenter
Recording the live presentation
You can record and save the live presentation as a movie (.avi file).
Movies are useful way to present demonstrations to a class, provide additional tutoring for difficult concepts, or provide a way for students who missed the class to review the lesson. When you record the presentation, only the handheld screen is captured. The handheld display and the keys pressed are not recorded. When you save a recorded presentation, the file is saved with the .avi (Audio Video Interleave) file extension.
Starting the recording
View > Live Presenter > Start Recording
.
Recording begins. When clicked, the button changes to
Stop
Recording
. All of the presenter’s work on the handheld screen is recorded until you stop the recording.
Stopping and saving the recording
Complete the following steps to stop the recording and save the movie file.
1. Click or select
View > Live Presenter > Stop Recording
.
The Save dialog box opens. The default name for the movie is
"presentation" and the default save location is the class folder for the class that is active. You can change both the file name and the storage location.
Note: If you don’t want to save the recording, click
Cancel
.
Using Live Presenter 289
2. Navigate to the folder where you want to save the .avi file if different from the default folder.
3. Type a new name for the file.
4. Click
Save
.
The file is saved in the designated folder.
Playing and sharing the recording
Once the recording is saved as an .avi file, you can play it on your computer. You can also send the file to others as an email attachment.
To play the recording on your computer:
1. Using your file browser, navigate to the folder where you saved the presentation (.avi) file.
2. Double-click the .avi file name.
Your default media player opens and the movie plays.
Note: If the .avi file format is not compatible with your default player, an error message is displayed.
Stopping Live Presenter
` To stop Live Presenter, click
Presenter > Stop Presenter.
or select View > Live
The presentation window closes and the Class workspace is displayed.
The class is still active. When you are ready to end the class, click
.
290 Using Live Presenter
广告