Freescale Development Studio IDE User Guide
Reklamë
Reklamë
CodeWarrior™
Development Studio
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Revised: 20 February 2007
Freescale™ and the Freescale logo are trademarks of Freescale Semiconductor, Inc. CodeWarrior is a trademark or registered trademark of Freescale Semiconductor, Inc. in the United States and/or other countries. All other product or service names are the property of their respective owners.
Copyright © 2004–2007 by Freescale Semiconductor, Inc. All rights reserved.
Information in this document is provided solely to enable system and software implementers to use Freescale Semiconductor products. There are no express or implied copyright licenses granted hereunder to design or fabricate any integrated circuits or integrated circuits based on the information in this document.
Freescale Semiconductor reserves the right to make changes without further notice to any products herein. Freescale
Semiconductor makes no warranty, representation or guarantee regarding the suitability of its products for any particular purpose, nor does Freescale Semiconductor assume any liability arising out of the application or use of any product or circuit, and specifically disclaims any and all liability, including without limitation consequential or incidental damages. “Typical” parameters that may be provided in Freescale Semiconductor data sheets and/or specifications can and do vary in different applications and actual performance may vary over time. All operating parameters, including “Typicals”, must be validated for each customer application by customer's technical experts. Freescale Semiconductor does not convey any license under its patent rights nor the rights of others. Freescale Semiconductor products are not designed, intended, or authorized for use as components in systems intended for surgical implant into the body, or other applications intended to support or sustain life, or for any other application in which the failure of the Freescale Semiconductor product could create a situation where personal injury or death may occur. Should Buyer purchase or use
Freescale Semiconductor products for any such unintended or unauthorized application, Buyer shall indemnify and hold
Freescale Semiconductor and its officers, employees, subsidiaries, affiliates, and distributors harmless against all claims, costs, damages, and expenses, and reasonable attorney fees arising out of, directly or indirectly, any claim of personal injury or death associated with such unintended or unauthorized use, even if such claim alleges that Freescale
Semiconductor was negligent regarding the design or manufacture of the part.
Corporate Headquarters
How to Contact Us
World Wide Web
Technical Support
Freescale Semiconductor, Inc.
7700 West Parmer Lane
Austin, TX 78729
U.S.A.
http://www.freescale.com/codewarrior http://www.freescale.com/support
Table of Contents
I Introduction
1 IDE User’s Guide Overview 17
Special note for Solaris and Linux users. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20
2 CodeWarrior IDE Overview 21
II Projects
3 Working with Projects 29
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 3
Table of Contents
4 Project Window 41
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .48
5 Working with Files 57
6 Dockable Windows 63
7 Workspaces 73
8 Creating Console Applications 77
4
III Editor
9 CodeWarrior Editor 83
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table of Contents
Version Control System Menu . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 87
10 Editing Source Code 91
Code Completion Configuration . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 96
11 Navigating Source Code 105
Remove Markers Window. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 108
12 Finding and Replacing Text 113
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 5
Table of Contents
Using the Find String in the Replace String . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .134
Remembering Sub-expressions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .135
6
IV Browser
13 Using the Browser 147
14 Using Class Browser Windows 153
15 Using Other Browser Windows 165
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table of Contents
16 Using Browser Wizards 175
The New Member Function Wizard . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 180
V Debugger
17 Working with the Debugger 187
18 Manipulating Program Execution 203
Working with Breakpoint Templates. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 212
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 7
Table of Contents
Sound Point (Windows OS). . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .220
19 Working with Variables 229
20 Working with Memory 237
Register Details Window (Windows OS) . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .247
21 Working with Debugger Data 253
22 Working with Hardware Tools 261
8 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table of Contents
23 Profiler 295
Finding Performance Problems. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 313
Profile Times Vary Between Runs . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 314
Problems while Profiling Inline Functions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 315
Profiling Library Could not be Found. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 315
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 9
Table of Contents
VI Compilers and Linkers
24 Compilers 325
25 Linkers 329
VII Preferences and Target Settings
26 Customizing the IDE 333
Pre-Defined Variables in Command Definitions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .338
10 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table of Contents
27 Working with IDE Preferences 353
28 Working with Target Settings 389
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 11
Table of Contents
29 Preference and Target Settings Options 415
30 Register Details Window XML Specification 453
Register Details Window XML Specification. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .453
Accessing the XML Files from CodeWarrior . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .461
12 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table of Contents
Adding Multiple BITFIELD Attributes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 463
Adding BFVALUE Attributes . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 465
Completing the New XML File. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 467
VIII Menus
31 IDE Menus 473
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 13
Table of Contents
32 Menu Commands 503
Index 539
14 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Introduction
This section consists of these chapters:
•
•
I
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 15
16 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE User’s Guide Overview
1
This chapter of the CodeWarrior™ IDE User’s Guide is a high-level description of documentation and training resources for learning to use the IDE.
•
Documentation Structure —a guide to the various CodeWarrior manuals available.
This guide notes the location of generic and specific product documentation.
•
—some common typographical conventions used in this manual and other CodeWarrior documentation.
Release Notes
Please read the release notes, which contain important last-minute additions to the documentation. The Release Notes folder is located on the CodeWarrior CD.
Licensing
Web-based licensing is available. It is a server licensing solution that generates FlexLM v8 or later based license keys automatically over the world wide web through a registration/activation process. You can register and activate permanent, node-locked license keys.
CodeWarrior products are shipped to customers with registration cards that contain a unique registration number. Products that ship with a one year annual support certificate will also have a unique registration number.
During product installation you will be instructed to register at http:// www.freescale.com/cwregister
. You can also reach the registration website by selecting the Help > Register Product menu command from the IDE’s main menu.
Registration from the website collects the registration code and verifies it against the correct product and gathers contact information.
An email will be sent to you with the License Authorization Code and instructions. In the
IDE you can select Help > License Authorization... to display the License Authorization dialog box.
shows the License Authorization dialog box.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 17
IDE User’s Guide Overview
Documentation Structure
Figure 1.1 License Authorization
Enter the License Authorization Code and select an ethernet address from the Node lock
ID for license list, if one exists. After entering the authorization code, the CodeWarrior
IDE will make an HTTP call to the CodeWarrior licensing server with the activation code and generate the permanent license keys. The resulting license keys are automatically updated into the license.dat text file of the CodeWarrior product executing the authorization. You can also manually edit the license.dat file per instructions provided in the License_Install.txt file in the root folder of your CodeWarrior installation path. If the
IDE evaluation period expires prior to activation, you will have to manually edit the license.dat file.
Documentation Structure
CodeWarrior products include an extensive documentation library of user guides, targeting manuals, and reference manuals. Take advantage of this library to learn how to efficiently develop software using the CodeWarrior programming environment.
Documentation Formats
CodeWarrior documentation presents information in various formats:
• Print—Printed versions of CodeWarrior manuals, including the IDE User’s Guide,
MSL C Reference, C/C++ Reference, and product-focused
Targeting manuals.
• PDF (Portable Document Format)—Electronic versions of CodeWarrior manuals.
The CodeWarrior CD Documentation folder contains the electronic PDF manuals.
18 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE User’s Guide Overview
Manual Conventions
• HTML (Hypertext Markup Language)—HTML or Compressed HTML (.CHM) versions of CodeWarrior manuals.
Documentation Types
Each CodeWarrior manual focuses on a particular information type:
• User guides—User guides provide basic information about the CodeWarrior user interface. User guides include information that supports all host platforms on which the software operates, but do not include in-depth platform-specific information.
• Targeting manuals—Targeting manuals provide specific information required to create software that operates on a particular platform or microprocessor. Examples include the Targeting Windows, Targeting Java, and Targeting DSP56800 manuals.
• Reference manuals—Reference manuals provide specialized information that supports coding libraries, programming languages, and the IDE. Examples include the C Compiler Reference, MSL C Reference, and Extending the CodeWarrior IDE manuals.
• Core manuals—Core manuals explain the core technologies available in the
CodeWarrior IDE. Examples include:
– IDE User’s Guide
– C/C++ Compilers Reference
– MSL C Reference and MSL C++ Reference
– Extending the CodeWarrior IDE
– Command-Line Tools Reference
Manual Conventions
This section explains conventions in the IDE User’s Guide.
Figure Conventions
The CodeWarrior IDE employs a virtually identical user interface across multiple hosts.
For this reason, illustrations of common interface elements use images from any host.
However, some interface elements are unique to a particular host. In such cases, clearly labelled images identify the specific host.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 19
IDE User’s Guide Overview
Manual Conventions
Keyboard Conventions
The CodeWarrior IDE accepts keyboard shortcuts, or key bindings, for frequently used operations. For each operation, this manual lists corresponding key bindings by platform.
Hyphens separate multiple keystrokes in each key binding.
Special note for Solaris and Linux users
The Solaris and Linux IDE use Macintosh symbols to represent modifier keys in key bindings.
shows the relationship between the Macintosh symbols and the
equivalent modifier keys on Solaris and Linux computers. Solaris and Linux computers can map a modifier key to any key on the keyboard. The preceding table reflects the default modifier key configuration for these computers. Remember that custom mappings supersede the default configuration noted in the table.
Table 1.1 Macintosh Modifier-Key Equivalents for Solaris and Linux
Symbol Macintosh
Name
Control
Solaris
Equivalent
Control
Linux Equivalent
Ctrl
Option Alt Alt
Command Meta Alt
Shift Shift Shift
20 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
CodeWarrior IDE Overview
2
The CodeWarrior™ Integrated Development Environment (IDE) provides an efficient and flexible software-development tool suite. This chapter explains the advantages of using the CodeWarrior IDE and provides brief descriptions of the major tools that make up the
IDE.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
Development Cycle
A software developer follows a general development process:
• Begin with an idea for new software
• Implement new idea in source code
• Have the IDE compile source code into machine code
• Have the IDE link machine code and form an executable file
• Correct errors (debug)
• Compile, link, and release a final executable file.
The stages of the development cycle correspond to one or more chapters in this manual.
depicts the development cycle as a flowchart.
stages and their corresponding sections in this manual.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 21
CodeWarrior IDE Overview
Development Cycle
Figure 2.1 Development Cycle Diagram
Start
Create
Edit
Compile
Compile
Errors?
Yes
No
Link
Yes
Link Errors?
Debug
No
Legend
Start or End of the process
Development Cycle stage
Decision stage
Process flow
Yes
Debug Errors?
No
Release
End
22 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
CodeWarrior IDE Overview
CodeWarrior IDE Advantages
Table 2.1 Stage Descriptions, Related User’s Guide Sections
Stage
Create
Edit
Compile
Link
Debug
Release
Description
Create the initial project, source files, and build targets.
Related Sections
•
•
•
•
•
Transform your project into working source code, organize interface elements, and correct errors.
Compile the source code into machine format that operates on the target host.
Link the separate compiled modules into a single binary executable file.
Find and resolve all coding and logic errors that prevent the program from operating as designed.
Release for public use.
Beyond the scope of this manual.
CodeWarrior IDE Advantages
• Cross-platform development
Develop software to run on multiple operating systems, or use multiple hosts to develop the same software project. The IDE runs on popular operating systems, including Windows, Macintosh, Solaris, and Linux. The IDE uses virtually the same graphical user interface (GUI) across all hosts.
• Multiple-language support
Choose from multiple programming languages when developing software. The IDE supports high-level languages, such as C, C++, and Java, as well as in-line assemblers for most processors.
• Consistent development environment
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 23
CodeWarrior IDE Overview
IDE Tools Overview
Port software to new processors without having to learn new tools or lose an existing code base. The IDE supports many common desktop and embedded processor families, including x86, PowerPC, MIPS, and many others.
• plugin tool support
Extend the capabilities of the IDE by adding a plugin tool that supports new services.
The IDE currently supports plugins for compilers, linkers, pre-linkers, post-linkers, preference panels, version controls, and other tools. plugins make it possible for the
CodeWarrior IDE to process different languages and support different processor families.
IDE Tools Overview
The CodeWarrior IDE is a tool suite that provides sophisticated tools for software development. This section explains the standard tools available in the IDE:
• a project manager
• an editor
• a search engine
• a source browser
• a build system
• a debugger
explains the purpose of these tools and lists corresponding CodeWarrior IDE features.
24 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
CodeWarrior IDE Overview
IDE Tools Overview
Table 2.2 IDE Tools and Features
Tool
Project
Manager
Editor
Search
Engine
Source
Browser
Purpose
Manipulate items associated with a project
Create and modify source code
Find and replace text
Manage and view program symbols
CodeWarrior IDE Features
• Handles top-level file management for the software developer
• Organizes project items by major group, such as files and targets
• Tracks state information (such as filemodification dates)
• Determines build order and files to be included in each build
• Coordinates with plugins to provide version-control services
• Uses color to differentiate programminglanguage keywords
• Allows definition of custom keywords for additional color schemes
• Automatically verifies parenthesis, brace, and bracket balance
• Allows use of menus for navigation to any function or into the header files used by the program
• Finds a specific text string
• Replaces found text with substitute text
• Allows use of regular expressions
• Provides file-comparison and differencing functionality
• Maintains a symbolics database for the program. Sample symbols include names and values of variables and functions.
• Uses the symbolics database to assist code navigation
• Links every symbol to other locations in the code related to that symbol
• Processes both object-oriented and procedural languages
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 25
CodeWarrior IDE Overview
IDE Tools Overview
Table 2.2 IDE Tools and Features ( continued)
Tool
Build
System
Purpose
Convert source code into an executable file
Debugger
Resolve errors
CodeWarrior IDE Features
• Uses compiler to generate object code from source code
• Uses linker to generate final executable file from object code
• Uses symbolics database to provide source-level debugging
• Supports symbol formats such as
CodeView, DWARF (Debug With Arbitrary
Records Format), and SYM (SYMbolic information format)
26 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Projects
This section consists of these chapters:
•
•
•
•
•
•
II
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 27
28 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
3
Working with Projects
This chapter explains how to work with projects in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. Projects organize several file types associated with a computer program:
• Text files—files that contain any kind of text. Sample text files include Read Me files and source files.
• Source files—files that contain source code only. Sample source files include C++ files and Java files.
• Library files—files that contain special code designed to work together with a particular programming language or operating environment.
• Generated files—files created by the IDE while building or debugging the project.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
About Projects
The IDE uses build targets and a Project Manager to organize source code and support files. This section explains both components.
Project Manager
The IDE gathers source, library, resource, and other files into a project. The Project
Manager manipulates the information stored in the project.
diagrams Project Manager interactions with IDE tools. Table 3.1
explains the interactions.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 29
Working with Projects
About Projects
Figure 3.1 Project Manager
Search
Engine
Source
Browser
Symbolics Information
The build system generates symbolics information for a program.
The debugger generates a database from the symbolics information.
Editor
Compiler
Build System
Linker
Legend
Main IDE tool
Support tool
Information that the
IDE generates
Debugger
Development flow
IDE internal data flow
Additional information
Table 3.1 Project Manager Interactions
IDE Tool
Editor
Compiler
Project Manager Interactions
• Coordinates internal data flow among editor windows, search engine, and source browser
• Matches find-and-replace results between related header files and source files
• Associates functions and variables with corresponding source code
• Synchronizes a symbolics database of program functions, variables, and values with source code
• Coordinates internal data flow between symbolics database and source browser
• Determines files to include in build process
30 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Projects
About Projects
Table 3.1 Project Manager Interactions ( continued)
IDE Tool
Linker
Debugger
Project Manager Interactions
• Sends compiled object code to linker for conversion to executable code
• Sets the link order for processing compiled object code
• Matches debugging data to source code
• Updates symbolics database to reflect changing values during a debug session
Build Targets
For any given build, the project manager tracks:
• files and libraries
• link order
• dependencies
• compiler, linker, and other settings
The IDE stores this information in a build target. As the project changes, the project manager automatically updates the build target. The project manager also coordinates program builds, using the build-target information to call the appropriate tools in the correct order with the specified settings.
For example, the project manager directs the build system to compile only those source files that rely on information in a modified file.
Note that all of this operation happens automatically. The software developer does not need to remember makefile syntax or semantics, and never has to debug makefile syntax errors. The IDE simplifies the process, making it easier to develop software.
The project manager also supports multiple build targets within the same project file. Each build target can have its own unique settings, and even use different source and library files. For example, it is common to have both debug and release build targets in a project.
shows a sample project with debug and release build targets.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 31
Working with Projects
Managing Projects
Figure 3.2 Project with Multiple Build Targets
Project
Build Target - Debug
File #1 File #2
File #3 Object Code
Settings Browser Data
Note that both build targets share
File #1 and File #2.
Build Target - Release
File #1 File #2
File #4 Object Code
Settings Browser Data
Managing Projects
Use these tasks to manage projects:
• Create a new project
32 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Projects
Managing Projects
• Open existing project
• Save project
• Close project
• Inspect an open project
• Print an open project
Creating New Projects using Project Stationery
Use the project stationery provided with the IDE to quickly create new projects. The stationery contains everything needed for a minimal, ready-to-run project. Use project stationery as a foundation upon which to add features for each new project.
1. Choose File > New.
2. Click the Project tab and select a project type.
3. Enter a project name (include the .mcp extension) in the Project Name field and set the Location for the new project.
4. Click OK in the New window.
5. Select the appropriate project stationery from the New Project window.
6. Click OK in the New Project window.
The IDE uses the selected stationery as a template to create a new project.
Creating New Projects from Makefiles
Use the Makefile Importer wizard to convert most Visual C nmake or GNU make files into projects. The wizard performs these tasks:
• Parses the makefile to determine source files and build targets
• Creates a project
• Adds the source files and build targets determined during parsing
• Matches makefile information, such as output name, output directory, and access paths, with the newly created build targets.
• Selects a project linker
1. Choose File > New.
2. Click the Project tab.
3. Select Makefile Importer Wizard.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 33
Working with Projects
Managing Projects
4. Enter a project name (include the .mcp extension) in the Project Name field and set the Location for the new project.
5. Click OK in the New window.
6. Enter the path to the makefile in the Makefile location field or click Browse to navigate to the makefile.
7. Choose the tool set used for makefile conversion and linker selection.
• Tool Set Used In Makefile—Choose the tool set whose build rules form the basis of the makefile.
• CodeWarrior Tool Set—Choose the linker tool set to use with the generated project.
8. Select the desired diagnostic settings.
• Log Targets Bypassed—Select to log information about makefile build targets that the IDE fails to convert to project build targets.
• Log Build Rules Discarded—Select to log information about makefile rules that the IDE discards during conversion.
• Log All Statements Bypassed—Select to log targets bypassed, build rules discarded, and other makefile items that the IDE fails to convert.
9. Click Finish, then Generate.
The Makefile Importer wizard performs the conversion process and displays additional information.
Creating Empty Projects
Unlike project stationery, empty projects do not contain a pre-configured collection of template source files, library files, or build targets. Empty projects allow advanced software engineers to custom-build new projects from scratch.
NOTE
Avoid creating empty projects. Instead, modify a project created with project stationery. Project stationery pre-configures complicated settings to quickly get started.
1. Choose File > New.
2. Click the Project tab and select Empty Project.
3. Enter a project name (include the .mcp extension) in the Project Name field and set the Location for the new project.
4. Click OK in the New window.
34 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Projects
Managing Projects
The IDE creates an empty project. Add files and libraries, create build targets, and choose the appropriate target settings to complete the new project.
Opening Projects
Use the IDE to open previously saved projects. CodeWarrior projects normally end in the extension of .mcp. Open projects to add, remove, or modify files to enhance the capabilities of the final executable file.
1. Choose File > Open.
2. Find and select the project to open.
3. Click Open.
The IDE opens the project and displays its Project window.
NOTE
The IDE prompts you for confirmation to update projects created in older
CodeWarrior versions.
Opening Projects Created on Other Hosts
CodeWarrior projects whose names end in .mcp are cross-platform. However, the object code stored inside each project folder is not cross-platform. Use these procedures to properly open the project on a different host computer.
1. If not present, add the .mcp filename extension to the project name.
2. Copy the project folder from the original host to the new host.
3. Delete the Data folder inside the newly copied project folder.
4. Open the newly copied project on the new host IDE.
5. Recompile the project to generate new object code.
Saving Projects
The IDE automatically saves projects and updates project information after performing these actions:
• Closing the project
• Applying or saving a preference or target-setting option
• Adding, deleting, or compiling a file
• Editing group information
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 35
Working with Projects
Managing Projects
• Removing or compacting object code
• Quitting the IDE
Inspecting Project Files
Use the Project Inspector command to review and configure source-file attributes and target information in the Project Inspector window.
1. Select a file in the Project window.
2. Open the Project Inspector window, as explained in
.
Table 3.2 Opening the Project Inspector Window
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select View > Project Inspector.
Select Window > Project Inspector.
Select Window > Project Inspector.
Select Window > Project Inspector.
3. Examine the source-file attributes and target settings.
• Click the Attributes tab to view the file attributes.
• Click the Targets tab to view the build targets that use the file.
Printing Projects
The Project Manager can print a complete listing of the Files, Designs, Link Order, or
Targets tab currently displayed in the Project window.
1. Select the Project window.
2. Click the Files, Designs, Link Order, or Targets tab.
3. Choose File > Print.
4. Set the print options in the print dialog.
5. Print the Project window contents.
The IDE prints the contents of the selected tab.
36 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Projects
Managing Projects
Choosing a Default Project
The IDE allows multiple open projects at the same time. However, a given source file can belong to more than one open project, making it ambiguous as to which project a sourcefile operation applies.
To resolve ambiguity, choose the default project to which the IDE applies operations.
1. If only one project is open, it automatically becomes the default project.
2. If more than one project is open, choose Project > Set Default Project to select the desired default project.
In ambiguous situations, the IDE applies operations to the selected default project.
Exporting Projects to XML Files
The IDE can export a project to an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file. Use this capability to store projects in text-oriented environments, such as a version control system.
1. Bring the project to export forward (in focus).
2. Choose File > Export Project.
3. Name the exported XML file and save it in the desired location.
The IDE converts the project to an XML file.
Importing Projects Saved as XML Files
The IDE can import a project previously saved in Extensible Markup Language (XML) format. Use this capability to recreate projects stored in text-oriented environments, such as a version control system.
1. Choose File > Import Project.
2. Create a new folder in which to save the converted project and all of its generated files.
3. Find the XML file that you want to import.
4. Save the XML file in the newly created folder.
The IDE converts the XML file to a project.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 37
Working with Projects
Advanced Projects
Closing Projects
Use the Close command to close a CodeWarrior project file at the end of a programming session. The IDE automatically saves changes to a closed project.
1. Select the Project window to close.
2. Close the project.
• Choose File > Close.
• Click the close box in the Project window.
Advanced Projects
Advanced projects deal with these topics:
• Custom project stationery—modified project stationery tailored to advanced programming needs.
• Subprojects—projects within projects.
• Strategies—obtaining the maximum benefit from advanced projects.
Custom Project Stationery
Use custom project stationery to develop streamlined templates to meet advanced programming needs.
• Pre-configure new project stationery to include often-used files, libraries, and source code
• Configure build targets and options to any desired state
• Set up a reusable template to use for creating projects
NOTE
Custom project stationery requires in-depth knowledge about project structure and operation. Before creating custom stationery, be sure to fully understand existing project stationery included with the CodeWarrior product.
38
Creating Custom Project Stationery
Use custom project stationery to develop a convenient template for creating new projects.
An efficient way to develop custom stationery is to modify existing project stationery and save it under a new name in the Stationery or Project Stationery folder.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Projects
Advanced Projects
1. Follow the usual process for creating a project from project stationery.
See
Creating New Projects using Project Stationery for more information.
2. Choose File > Save A Copy As.
3. Find the Project Stationery folder in the CodeWarrior installation.
4. Create a folder inside the Project Stationery folder to store the newly created project.
5. Save the project to its new folder. Use a descriptive project name with the .mcp extension.
6. Customize the newly saved project so that it becomes a template for creating other projects:
• Add source files to the project. Save these files in the same folder as the project itself.
• Add build targets for building the project with frequently used settings.
• Configure other project preferences as desired.
7. Close the customized project to save it.
8. Open the customized project folder inside the Project Stationery folder.
9. Find and delete the _Data folder.
The IDE now treats the customized project as project stationery. The descriptive name appears in the Project tab of the New window.
Subprojects
A subproject is a project nested inside a parent project. Subprojects organize source code for the IDE to build prior to building the parent project. For example, the IDE builds subprojects for an application’s plugins before building the parent project for the application itself.
Adding Subprojects to a Project
Use a subproject to organize a separate set of source files and build targets inside a parent project.
1. Open the parent project in which to add a subproject.
2. Click the Files tab in the Project window.
3. If the parent project has more than one build target, use the build-target list box in the
Project window toolbar to choose the desired build target.
4. Add a separate project to the Project window:
• Drag and drop the .mcp file of the separate project into the Project window, or
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 39
Working with Projects
Advanced Projects
• Choose Project > Add Files to add the .mcp file of the separate project.
The IDE treats the added project as a subproject. The subproject appears in the Files view of the parent Project window.
Opening Subprojects
The IDE can open a subproject from the parent Project window. Use this feature to more conveniently open the subproject.
1. Double-click the subproject in the Files view of the parent Project window.
2. The IDE opens the subproject in its own Project window.
Strategies
Projects can organize files into build targets or subprojects. Each of these structures has its own advantages. Choose the structure best suited to the programming need.
Build Targets
Build targets organize collections of files inside a project. Build targets have these advantages:
• Using multiple build targets inside a single project allows access to all source code for that project.
• Build targets organize different collections of build settings for a single project.
• Each project accommodates up to 255 build targets.
Subprojects
Subprojects incorporate separate, standalone projects into parent projects. Subprojects have these advantages:
• Subprojects separate distinct parts of a complex program, such as an application and its various plugins.
• Using subprojects streamlines a complicated build. For example, create a project that builds all plugins for an application. Add this project as a subproject of the main application. The IDE then builds all plugins before building the main application.
• Use subprojects to break down a complicated project that approaches the 255 buildtarget limit. Organize related build targets into different subprojects to improve build speed.
40 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
4
Project Window
This chapter explains how to work with the Project window in the CodeWarrior™ IDE.
The Project window provides these features:
• view and modify all files created for use with a computer program.
• manipulate files arranged by type.
• control the way the IDE handles files.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management
•
About the Project Window
The Project window organizes files in a computer program. Use this window to control various aspects of each file. The window includes these items:
• Project window toolbar
• Tabs
• Columns
shows a sample Project window. Table 4.1
explains the items in the Project
window.
NOTE
The number and names of the tabs in the Project window depend on the current build target and on the installed IDE plugins.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 41
Project Window
About the Project Window
Figure 4.1 Project Window
Table 4.1 Project Window Items
Icon Item
Current Target
Target
Settings
Synchronize
Modification
Dates
Make
Debug
Run
42
Explanation
Use to specify the build target that you want to modify.
Click to view and edit the settings for the current build target. You can also display settings for a target selected in Targets tab.
Click to check the modification dates of each project file and mark those files that need compilation.
Click to compile and link all modified and manually selected (touched) project files.
Click to debug the current build target.
Click to compile and link the current build target, then run the program.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Project Window
Project Window Pages
Table 4.1 Project Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Project
Inspector
Explanation
Click to view project information and edit file-specific information.
Files
Link Order
Frameworks
(Mac OS only)
Targets
Click to display the Files page. This page shows a list of files in the project and their associated properties.
Click to display the Link Order page. This page shows the link order of files in the current build target.
Click to display the Frameworks page.
This page shows available programming frameworks to link against. The
Frameworks tab appears only for projects that support frameworks.
Click to display the Targets page. This page shows a list of all build targets, subprojects, and target-linking information.
Project Window Pages
The Project window uses pages to organize items:
• Files
• Link Order
• Targets
• Frameworks (for projects supporting code frameworks - Mac OS only)
Files Page
The Files page shows information about individual files in a project. The Files page shows information about these file types:
• Text files—files that contain any type of text. Sample text files include Read Me files and source files.
• Source files—files that contain source code only. Sample source files include C++ files and Java files.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 43
Project Window
Project Window Pages
• Library files—files that contain special code designed to work together with a particular programming language or operating environment.
explains the items in the Files page.
Table 4.2 Files Page Items
Icon Item
Touch
File
Code
Data
Target
Debug
Checkou t Status
Explanation
Indicates the touch status of each file. Click in this column to toggle touching a file. Touching a file manually selects it for compilation during the next build. Click the Touch icon to sort files by touch status.
Displays a hierarchical view of the file and group names used by the project. Click the column title to sort files by name.
Double-click a file to open it. Use the hierarchical controls to display and hide group contents.
Displays the size, in bytes or kilobytes, of the compiled executable object code for files and groups. Click the column title to sort files by code size.
Displays the size, in bytes or kilobytes, of non-executable data in the object code for files in the project. Click the column title to sort files by data size.
Indicates whether each file belongs to the current build target.
Click in this column to toggle inclusion status. A black dot indicates that a file is included with current build target. Click the Target icon to sort files by inclusion status. The Target column appears only when the project has more than one build target.
Displays debugging status. Click in this column to toggle generation of debugging information for a file or group. Click the Debug icon to sort files by debugging status.
Displays icons representing the current file status in a versioncontrol system. The Checkout Status column appears only when the project uses a version-control system to manage files.
44 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Project Window
Project Window Pages
Table 4.2 Files Page Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Interface s
Sort
Order
Explanation
Click to display a list of files inside a group or a list of
#include
files inside a source file. Choose a file to open it.
Click to toggle sorting between ascending and descending order for the active column. The icon indicates the current sort order.
Viewing a File Path
To distinguish between two files that have identical names but reside in different folders, examine the file path.
To view the complete path of a file, perform the task explained in
Table 4.3 Viewing a File Path
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Right-click the filename and select
Open in Windows Explorer
Control-click the filename and select File Path.
Click and hold on the filename, then select File Path.
Click and hold on the filename, then select File Path.
The File Path submenu shows the path to the file.
File Management
The project window lists all files found for all targets. If access paths are different for each target and a file with the same name exists in each path, the project window will list the occurrence of each file.
For example, if two header files named example.h are used with two targets (TargetA and TargetB) and exist in separate locations for each target, you will see two entries of example.h
in the project window. If both targets use the same file in one location, then a single entry will appear in the project window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 45
Project Window
Project Window Pages
Select a file in the Files tab of the project window and view the Project Inspector window to reveal the path for the selected file, and which targets use the file. You can also select a file and click the right mouse button to display a context menu. Select Open in Windows
Explorer (Windows) or File Path (Linux/Solaris/Mac) to display the path.
If a black dot is present in the target column for a listed file, then it is in the current target.
You can select this dot to toggle whether or not to include this file with the current target.
Double-click a source file to open it in the editor.
If you enable the Save project entries using relative paths option in the Target Settings panel, file locations will be stored using a relative path from the access paths defined in the Access Paths panel. If disabled, the IDE remembers project entries only by name. This can cause unexpected results if two or more files share the same name. In this case, researching for files by selecting the Project > Re-search for Files menu command could cause the IDE to find the file in a different access path.
NOTE
If you use source files with the same name in different locations, you should enable the Save project entries using relative paths option.
Duplicate file names can also appear in the Files tab of the project window if a file is not found on one of the access paths. This can happen if an access path has been removed from the User Paths group in the Access Paths target settings panel. When the access path is removed, a duplicate appears in the project window. The duplicate entry remains displayed until the access path is restored.
If a project with several targets (for example Debug and Release target) uses the same file, that file is shown as a single entry. If you remove the access path for that file, then a duplicate entry will appear in the file list. This duplicate represents a missing file for the current target. The second file entry is still available for the other target. Restore the access path and choose Project > Re-search for Files to remove the duplicate entry in the list.
The Project > Re-search for Files command speeds up builds and other project operations. The IDE caches the location of project files after finding them in the access paths. Re-search for Files forces the IDE to forget the cached locations and re-search for them in the access paths. This command is useful if you moved several files and you want the IDE to find the files in their new locations.
If the Save project entries using relative paths option is enabled, the IDE does not reset the relative-path information stored with each project entry, so re-searching for files looks for source files in the same location. If the files are not there, the IDE only re-searches for header files. To force the IDE to also re-search for source files, choose the Project >
Reset Project Entry Paths menu command. If the Save project entries using relative
paths option is disabled, the IDE re-searches for both header files and source files.
The Reset Project Entry Paths command resets the location information stored with each project entry and forces the IDE to re-search for project entries in the access paths. This command does nothing if the Save project entries using relative paths option is disabled.
46 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Project Window
Project Window Pages
NOTE
If the IDE is unable to locate or resolve the location of project files, a Rescued items folder will appear. The IDE tries to locate the missing files and creates new references. This can happen when project data information, access paths. or other location settings in target settings panels are missing or have been compromised, for example, if the location of a project and related data directory have changed. One way this can happen is if a project has been committed to a source repository by one person and checked out to a different location by another person and a new project data folder is created.
Link Order Page
The Link Order page shows information about the order in which the IDE links project files. Manipulate the files in this page to change the link order. For example, if file B depends on file A in order to function, move file B below file A in the
Link Order page.
explains the items in the Link Order page.
Table 4.4 Link Order Page Items
Item
Synchronize
Modification
Dates
Synchronize
Status
Explanation
To update the modification dates of files stored in a project, click the checkmark icon.
Use the Synchronize Modification Dates command to update files modified outside of the CodeWarrior IDE, perhaps by a third-party editor that cannot notify the CodeWarrior IDE of changes.
To update version-control status information, click the Pencil icon.
Targets Page
The Targets page presents information about the build targets in a project. Use this page to create, manage, or remove build targets. Different build targets can store different IDE settings. For example, two build targets can handle the same project. One build target handles debugging the software, while the other build target handles building the software for final release.
explains items in the Targets page.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 47
Project Window
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management
Table 4.5 Targets Page Items
Item
Targets
Explanation
Displays all build targets and subprojects that the IDE processes to create a binary file. These icons denote build-target status:
• active build target
Link
• inactive build target
Indicates the dependencies between build targets and subprojects.
File, Group, Layout, and Target
Management
Use these tasks to manage files, groups, layouts, and targets:
• Create an item.
• Delete an item.
• Move an item.
• Rename an item.
• Touch an item.
• Manage items.
• Set default items.
• Configure item settings.
Removing Files/Groups/Layouts/Targets
The Remove command deletes files, groups, layouts, and build targets from the Project window. Removing files from the Files tab removes them from the project itself and from all build targets that use the files. Removing a file from the Link Order, Segments, or
Overlays tab only removes the file from the current build target.
48 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Project Window
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management
Removing files/groups/layouts/targets from a project
1. Click the Files, Designs, or Targets tab in the Project window.
2. Select the item to remove.
3. Remove the selected item from the project, as Table 4.6
explains.
Table 4.6 Removing Selected Item from a Project
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select Edit > Delete
Select Edit > Clear
Select Edit > Remove
Select Edit > Remove
The IDE removes the selected item from the project. For deleted files, the IDE updates all build targets that formerly used the file. For deleted build targets, the IDE deletes buildtarget information and leaves files intact.
Removing files from a build target
1. Click the Link Order, Segments, or Overlays tab in the Project window.
2. Select the item to remove.
3. Remove the selected item from the active build target, as Table 4.7
explains.
Table 4.7 Removing Selected Item from Active Build Target
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select Edit > Delete
Select Edit > Clear
Select Edit > Remove
Select Edit > Remove
The IDE removes the file from the build target, but leaves the file itself intact. The file can be re-assigned to other build targets in the project.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 49
Project Window
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management
Moving Files/Groups/Layouts/Targets
Reposition files, groups, layouts, or build targets in the Files, Design, Link Order, or
Targets pages with the cursor.
1. Select one or more files, groups, layouts, or build targets to move with the pointer.
2. Drag the selected items to a new position in the current page, using the focus bar as a guide.
3. Release the mouse button.
The IDE repositions the selected files, groups, layouts, or build targets to the new location.
NOTE
In the Link Order page, repositioning files changes the link order that the
Make command uses to build the final executable file.
Renaming Files/Groups/Targets
The Rename command renames files, groups, or build targets in the project.
Rename files
1. Open the file to rename.
2. Choose File > Save As.
3. Type a new filename in the Name text box.
4. Click Save.
The IDE saves the file under the new name. The new filename appears in the Project window. Subsequent modifications affect the renamed file, leaving the original file intact.
Rename one or more groups
1. Click the Files tab in the Project window.
2. Select the group(s) to rename.
3. Press the Enter key.
4. Type a new name into the Enter Group Name text box of the Rename Group window.
50 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Project Window
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management
5. Click OK.
The IDE renames the group. For selections of more than one group, the Rename
Group window appears for each group.
Rename build targets
1. Click the Targets tab in the Project window.
2. Choose Edit > targetname Settings.
3. Select Target Settings in the Target Settings Panels list.
4. Type a new name in the Target Name text box.
5. Click Save.
The Project window displays the new build target name.
Touching Files and Groups
The Touch command manually selects source files or groups for compilation during the next Bring Up To Date, Make, Run, or Debug operation. A red check mark in the Touch column of the Project window indicates a touched file.
1. Click the Files tab in the Project window.
2. Touch a source file or group for compilation.
Click the Touch column next to the file or group name.
OR
Choose Touch from the Interface menu for the file or group.
A red check mark appears in the Touch column next to the file or group name.
Touch all project files for recompiling
1. Perform the task explained in Table 4.8
.
Table 4.8 Touching All Project Files for Recompiling
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Do this…
Alt-click the Touch column.
Option-click the Touch column.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 51
Project Window
File, Group, Layout, and Target Management
Table 4.8 Touching All Project Files for Recompiling ( continued)
On this host…
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Alt-click the Touch column.
Alt-click the Touch column.
2. Red check marks appear next to all files and groups.
Untouching Files and Groups
The Untouch command manually excludes source files or groups from compilation during the next Bring Up To Date, Make, Run, or Debug operation.
1. Click the Files tab in the Project window.
2. Untouch a source file or group to remove it from the compilation list.
Click the red check mark in the Touch column next to the file or group name.
OR
Choose Untouch from the Interface menu for the file or group.
The red check mark disappears from the Touch column next to the file or group name.
Untouch all project files
1. Perform the task explained in Table 4.9
.
Table 4.9 Untouching All Project Files
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Alt-click a red checkmark in the Touch column.
Option-click a red checkmark in the Touch column.
Alt-click a red checkmark in the Touch column.
Alt-click a red checkmark in the Touch column.
2. The red checkmarks next to all files and groups disappear.
52 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Project Window
Build-Target Management
Build-Target Management
These tasks help you manage build targets:
• Create a build target.
• Remove a build target.
• Set the default build target.
• Rename a build target.
• Configure build-target settings.
Creating Build Targets
The Create Target command adds new build targets to a project.
1. Open the Project window.
2. Click the Targets tab in the Project window.
3. Choose Project > Create Target.
4. Type a name in the Name text box of the New Target window.
5. Select the Empty target or Clone Existing Target radio button as desired.
• Empty Target—create a new build target from scratch.
• Clone Existing Target—duplicate an existing build target in the New Target window.
6. Click OK.
The IDE adds the new build target to the project.
Removing Build Targets from a Project
You can remove unneeded build targets from the Project window.
1. Click the Targets tab in the Project window.
2. Select the item to remove.
3. Remove the selected build target, as explained in
.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 53
Project Window
Build-Target Management
Table 4.10 Removing Selected Build Target
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select Edit > Delete
Select Edit > Clear
Select Edit > Delete
Select Edit > Delete
The IDE removes the build target.
Setting the Default Build Target
The CodeWarrior Project Manager can handle up to 255 build targets in a single project.
One build target must be defined as the default target when more than one project is open.
The default target is the target affected by project commands, such as Make and Run.
The Project menu
1. Choose Project > Set Default Target > buildtarget.
2. A checkmark indicates the default target.
Using the Project window toolbar
1. Enable the Project window.
2. Choose the build-target name from the Current Target pop-up menu.
The Targets page
1. Enable the Project window.
2. Click the Targets tab.
3. Click the desired build-target icon.
The icon changes to indicate that the build target is now the default.
Renaming Build Targets
The Rename command renames build targets in a project.
54 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
1. Click the Targets tab in the Project window.
2. Choose Edit > targetname Settings.
3. Select Target Settings in the Target Settings Panels list.
4. Type a new name in the Target Name text box.
5. Save the new name.
The new build-target name appears in the Project window.
Project Window
Build-Target Management
Configuring Build Target Settings
The Target Settings panel options determine:
• The compiler used to process the project and produce object code
• The linker used to combine object code and produce a binary file
• The pre-linker and post-linker options that further process the object code
• The name assigned to a build target
Follow these steps to configure build-target settings.
1. Choose Edit > targetname Settings.
The targetname value changes to reflect the name of the active build target in the project.
2. Select Target Settings from the Target Setting Panels list.
3. Specify target options as desired.
4. Save the new options
The panels available in the Target Settings Panels list update to reflect the choices in the Target Settings panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 55
Project Window
Build-Target Management
56 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
5
Working with Files
This chapter explains how to work with files in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. Most computer programs use these file types:
• Text files—files that contain any type of text. Example text files include Read Me files and source files.
• Source files—files that contain source code only. Example source files include C++ files and Java files.
Managing Files
These tasks manage files:
• Create a new file.
• Open an existing file.
• Save a file.
• Close a file.
• Print a file.
• Revert a file to a previously saved state.
Creating Text Files (Windows)
The New command opens a window from which you create new text files. You can use new text files as source files in a project or as plain-text files.
1. Select File > New.
The New window appears.
2. Click the File tab in the New window.
3. Select Text File in the list.
4. Type a filename in the File name text box.
5. Click Set to specify the location to save the new file.
6. Click OK.
The IDE creates the new text file and displays its contents in a new editor window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 57
Working with Files
Managing Files
TIP
Use the Customize IDE Commands window to add the New Text File menu command to the File menu. Adding this menu command reduces the process of creating a new text file to one step: select File > New Text File. See
Customizing the IDE for more information about using the Customize IDE Commands window.
58
Creating Text Files (Macintosh, Solaris, Linux)
The New Text File command creates new text files. You can use new text files as source files in a project or as plain-text files.
Select File > New Text File to create a new text file. The IDE creates the new text file and displays its contents in a new editor window.
Opening Source Files
The Open command opens one or more editable source files. Each open file appears in its own editor window.
NOTE
The CodeWarrior editor cannot open files that prohibit editing. For example, the editor cannot open library files.
From the File menu
1. Choose File > Open.
2. Windows: Use the Files of type pop-up menu to select All Files.
3. Select a file.
4. Click Open.
The IDE displays the file in an editor window.
From the Project window
1. Perform one of these:
• Double-click a filename in the Files tab of the Project window,
• Select a filename from the Group list box, or
• Select an interface filename from the Interface menu.
2. The IDE finds, opens, and displays the selected source file in an editor window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Files
Managing Files
From an Editor Window
1. Select an interface filename from the Interface menu.
2. The IDE selects, opens, and displays the source file in an editor window.
NOTE
The menu does not show files that do not contain source code or are not yet compiled.
Using Find and Open Files
1. In an editor window, select the name of an interface file, for example stdio.h.
2. Choose File > Find and Open File.
The IDE finds, opens, and displays the source file in an editor window.
To open a recent file or project
1. Choose File > Open Recent > recentfilename | recentprojectname.
2. The IDE finds and opens the selected source file or project.
Saving Files
Use the Save command to save source files to ensure their continued existence between development sessions.
1. Choose File > Save.
NOTE
If the file has no title, a save dialog appears. Type a filename and specify a location for the file, then click Save.
2. The IDE saves the file.
Saving All Modified Files
Use the Save All command to save the contents of all modified files. This command is useful for saving all files at the same time, rather than saving each file individually.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 59
Working with Files
Managing Files
1. Save all currently opened and modified files, as explained in
Table 5.1 Saving All Currently Opened and Modified Files
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select File > Save All
While pressing Option, select File > Save All
Select File > Save All
Select File > Save All
2. The IDE saves the files.
Saving File Copies
Use the Save a Copy As command to save a back-up copy of a project or file before modifying the original. Working on a copy of the original file provides a way to return to the original copy should modifications fail.
1. Choose File > Save A Copy As.
2. Type a new filename in the Name text box.
3. Click Save.
The IDE creates a copy of the file under the new name, leaving the original file unchanged.
60
Closing Files
The Close command closes open source files. Close editor windows to close a file.
1. Select an editor window to close.
2. Close the file window.
• Choose File > Close, or
• Click the close box.
NOTE
The IDE displays an alert if the file is modified. The alert asks whether to save changes to the file.
The IDE closes the file window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Files
Managing Files
Closing All Files
The Close All command closes all currently open files. This command is useful for closing all files at the same time, rather than closing each file individually.
1. Close all currently open files, as explained in
Table 5.2 Closing All Currently Open Files
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select Window > Close Al
l
or
Window > Close All Editor Windows.
While pressing Option, select File > Close All.
Select File > Close All or File > Close All Editor Windows
Select File > Close All or File > Close All Editor Windows
2. The IDE closes the files.
Printing Source Files
The Print command prints the entire contents of a selected file window.
1. Activate the desired editor window to print.
2. Choose File > Print.
3. Set print options in the Print dialog.
4. Click OK or Print to print the file.
The IDE prints the selected file.
NOTE
Use the same process to print the contents of a window, such as a Project window.
Printing Source-File Selections
The Print command prints the currently selected contents in an editor window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 61
Working with Files
Managing Files
1. Activate the desired editor window to print.
2. Select the portion of text to print.
3. Choose File > Print.
4. Set print options in the Print dialog.
5. Click OK or Print
The IDE prints the selected text in the file.
Reverting Files
Use the Revert command to replace the current file with its previously saved version.
1. Choose File > Revert.
2. Click OK in the Revert changes to file dialog.
62 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
6
Dockable Windows
This chapter explains how to work with dockable windows in the Windows-hosted
CodeWarrior™ IDE.
NOTE
Dockable windows is not available on Linux and Solaris platforms.
Use dockable windows to do these tasks:
• Organize—attach, or dock, various windows to the edges of the screen for quick access.
• Group—dock windows of the same type to create a single window with multiple tabs, where each tab represents one of the original docked windows.
NOTE
The dockable windows feature is available in Multiple Document Interface
(MDI) mode only. This feature is not available in Floating Document Interface
(FDI) mode. Toggle the
Use Multiple Document Interface
Extras preference panel to change between these two modes.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
About Dockable Windows
You can dock certain windows to the edges of the main frame window of the IDE.
explains possible states for dockable windows. Figure 6.1
shows the different window states.
In MDI mode, the IDE occupies a main window frame, or client area. IDE windows normally appear within this client area as you work. These windows are called child
windows of the IDE’s client area.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 63
Dockable Windows
About Dockable Windows
Table 6.1 Window States
State
Docked
Floating
MDI Child
Characteristics
• Attached to the left, right, top, or bottom edge of the client area
• restricted to the client area
• resizable
• has a dock bar instead of a title bar
• Rests above all docked windows and MDI child windows
• movable outside the client area, like a floating palette
• has a thin title bar
• does not have Minimize or Maximize buttons
• Normal child window of the client area, when running in MDI mode
• restricted to the client area
64 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 6.1 Window States
Dockable Windows
About Dockable Windows
Docked window
MDI child window
Floating window
explains the difference between dockable windows and non-dockable windows.
In this table, the term non-modal refers to a window that does not require your attention before allowing the IDE to proceed with other operations.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 65
Dockable Windows
Working with Dockable Windows
Table 6.2 Differences between Dockable, Non-Dockable Windows
Window Type
Dockable
Non-dockable
Required Criteria
All of these:
• non-modal
• resizable
• maximizable
Any of these:
• modal
• non-resizable
• non-maximizable
Sample Windows
• Thread
• Project
• Component Catalog
• IDE Preferences
• Find
• About Box
NOTE
The default setting for project windows is to dock to an edge of the client area.
You can undock these windows.
Compound windows that have more than one pane dock as a group. You cannot separately dock individual panes from these windows. For example, you can dock the Thread Window, but you cannot dock the Stack Crawl pane separately from the Thread Window.
Working with Dockable Windows
You can dock windows in one of two ways:
• dragging a floating window to a docking position
• using a contextual menu to dock a window
You can resize docked windows and undock them to floating windows or MDI child windows.
This section explains how to perform tasks with dockable windows.
Docking a Window by Using a Contextual Menu
Use a contextual menu to dock a floating window or MDI child window to one of the four edges of the client area.
66 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Dockable Windows
Working with Dockable Windows
1. Right-click the window title bar.
A contextual menu appears.
2. Choose Docked from the contextual menu.
NOTE
The Docked command appears in the contextual menu for dockable windows only.
The window docks to an edge of the client area. You can resize the docked window or move it to a different edge of the client area.
Docking a Window by Using Drag and Drop
You can drag a docked window or a floating window to one of the four edges of the client area to dock it.
1. Drag the window to one edge of the client area.
Drag a floating window by its title bar. Drag a docked window by its dock bar.
2. A window outline appears near the client-area edge, showing the final position after you release the window.
Use the outline as a visual cue that the IDE will dock the window. If an outline does not appear, you cannot dock the window.
3. Release the window to dock it to the edge.
The window appears in the position indicated by the window outline.
Docking Windows of the Same Kind
You can dock two or more windows of the same kind inside a single docked window. In this arrangement, tabs inside the single docked window represent each of the original docked windows. You can undock each tab individually from the single docked window.
1. Dock the first of two or more windows of the same kind to an edge of the client area.
2. Dock the second window to the same edge as the first window.
Use the window outline that appears as a visual cue that the IDE will dock the second window to the same edge as the first window.
3. Dock subsequent windows to the same edge as the first window.
Each additional docked window appears as a tab inside the first docked window. Click a tab to view its contents. The frontmost tab appears in bold font.
shows two projects represented as tabs in a single docked window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 67
Dockable Windows
Working with Dockable Windows
Figure 6.2 Two Projects in a Single Docked Window
68
Undocking a Window
Use a contextual menu to undock a window from an edge of the client area to a floating window or MDI child window.
1. Right-click the tab inside the docked window that represents the window you want to undock.
A contextual menu appears.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Dockable Windows
Working with Dockable Windows
Figure 6.3 Contextual Menu
2. Choose Floating or MDI Child from the contextual menu.
• Floating—undock the window so that it becomes a floating window
• MDI child—undock the window so that it becomes an MDI child window of the client area
The window undocks and becomes the chosen window type.
Alternately, double-click the tab to undock the corresponding window to a floating window.
Floating a Window
Use a contextual menu to float a docked window or MDI child window.
1. Right-click the tab in the docked window or the title bar of the MDI child window.
A contextual menu appears.
2. Choose Floating from the contextual menu.
NOTE
The Floating command appears in the contextual menu for floatable windows only.
The window becomes a floating window (that you can drag outside the client area).
Alternately, double-click the tab in a docked window to float its corresponding window.
Unfloating a Window
Use a contextual menu to dock a floating window or make it an MDI child window.
1. Right-click the title bar of the floating window.
A contextual menu appears.
2. Choose Docked or MDI Child from the contextual menu.
• Docked—dock the floating window
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 69
Dockable Windows
Dock Bars
• MDI child—unfloat the window so that it becomes an MDI child window
The window unfloats and becomes the chosen window type.
Alternately, drag the floating window to an edge of the client area to dock it.
Making a Window an MDI Child
Use a contextual menu to make a docked window or floating window an MDI child window.
1. Right-click the tab in the docked window or the title bar of the floating window.
A contextual menu appears.
2. Choose MDI Child from the contextual menu.
The docked window or floating window becomes an MDI child window.
Suppressing Dockable Windows
Suppress dockable windows to drag a window to any location onscreen without docking it to an edge of the client area.
1. Hold down the Ctrl key while dragging or floating an MDI child window.
The thin window outline that normally indicates docked-window placement becomes a heavy window outline. Use this heavy outline as a visual cue that the IDE suppresses dockable windows.
2. Release the window at its final position.
The window appears in the position indicated by the heavy window outline.
3. Release the Ctrl key.
Dock Bars
A docked window has a dock bar instead of a title bar. Use the dock bar to perform these tasks:
• move the docked window to a different edge of the client area
• collapse or expand view of the docked window
• close the docked window
70 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Dockable Windows
Dock Bars
Figure 6.4 Dock Bar
Collapsing a Docked Window
If two or more distinct docked windows occupy the same edge of the client area, you can collapse one docked window to view contents of other docked windows.
1. Dock two or more windows to the same edge of the client area.
The windows’ contents must appear in separate docked windows, not as tabs in a single docked window.
2. Click the collapse button on the dock bar of the docked window that you want to collapse.
3. The docked window collapses to hide its contents.
Expanding a Docked Window
If you previously collapsed a docked window, you can expand it and view its contents.
1. Click the expand button on the dock bar:
2. The docked window expands to restore its original view.
Moving a Docked Window
Use the gripper in a docked window’s dock bar to move the docked window to a different edge of the client area.
1. Drag the docked window by the gripper in its dock bar:
2. Release the docked window at its new position.
Closing a Docked Window
Close a docked window directly from its dock bar.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 71
Dockable Windows
Dock Bars
1. Click the close button on the dock bar:
2. The docked window closes.
Re-opening the window restores its docked position.
72 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
7
Workspaces
This chapter explains how to work with workspaces in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. Use workspaces to do these tasks:
• Organize—save the state of all windows onscreen for later reuse
• Migrate across computers—transfer your workspace from one computer to another
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
About Workspaces
A workspace stores information about the current state of the IDE. This information consists of the size, location, and the docked state (Windows) of IDE windows. If you save a workspace during an active debugging session, the workspace also stores information about the state of debugging windows.
The IDE can use a default workspace, or it can use a workspace that you create. The IDE works with one workspace at a time. You can save and re-apply a workspace from one
IDE session to the next.
Using Workspaces
Use menu commands to perform these workspace tasks:
• save a new workspace
• open an existing workspace
• close the current workspace
Using the Default Workspace
Use the default workspace to preserve IDE state from one session to the next. The IDE saves and restores the default workspace automatically.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 73
Workspaces
Using Workspaces
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
The IDE Preferences window opens.
2. Select IDE Extras in the IDE Preference Panels list.
The IDE Extras preference panel appears.
3. Enable the
option.
• Checked—the IDE saves its state at the time you quit, then restores that state the next time you launch the IDE
• Unchecked—the IDE always launches with the same default state: no windows visible
Saving a Workspace
Save a workspace to store information about the current state of onscreen windows, recent items, and debugging.
1. Arrange your workspace.
Move windows to your favorite positions and start or finish a debugging session.
2. Choose File > Save Workspace.
A Save dialog box appears.
3. Enter a name for the current workspace
NOTE
Add the extension .cww to the end of the workspace name, for example, myworkspace.cww
. This extension helps you readily identify the workspace file. The Windows-hosted IDE requires this extension to recognize the file as a CodeWarrior workspace.
4. Save the workspace to a location on your hard disk.
The IDE now uses your saved workspace. In subsequent programming sessions, you can open the workspace.
Opening a Workspace
Open a workspace to apply its settings to the IDE.
1. Choose File > Open Workspace.
An Open dialog box appears.
74 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Workspaces
Using Workspaces
2. Open the workspace.
Use this dialog box to navigate your hard disk and select a workspace file. These files end in the .cww extension.
The IDE opens the selected workspace and applies its settings.
Saving a Copy of a Workspace
Save a copy of a current workspace under a different name.
1. Open an existing workspace.
2. Choose File > Save Workspace As.
A Save As dialog box appears.
3. Enter a name for the copy of the current workspace
NOTE
Add the extension .cww to the end of the workspace name, for example, myworkspace.cww
. This extension helps you readily identify the workspace file. The Windows-hosted IDE requires this extension to recognize the file as a CodeWarrior workspace.
4. Save the workspace to a location on your hard disk.
The IDE saves a copy of the current workspace under the name you specified.
Closing a Workspace
Close the current workspace after you finish working with it.
1. Choose File > Close Workspace.
2. The IDE closes the current workspace.
NOTE
You cannot close the default workspace, however, the IDE Extras preference panel contains an option that determines whether the IDE uses the default workspace.
You can now open a different workspace or quit the IDE.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 75
Workspaces
Using Workspaces
Opening a Recent Workspace
You can list recently used workspaces in the Open Recent submenu. The IDE Extras preference panel contains an option that determines the number of recent workspaces that the submenu will list.
1. Choose File > Open Recent.
A submenu appears. This submenu lists recently opened projects, files, and workspaces. A checkmark appears next to the active workspace.
2. Choose a recent workspace from the Open Recent submenu.
The IDE applies the workspace that you select.
76 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
8
Creating Console
Applications
This chapter explains how to work with console applications in the CodeWarrior™ IDE.
Console applications provide these benefits to novice programmers:
• Simplicity—console applications are computer programs that use a simple text-mode interface. The simplicity of console-mode applications free novice programmers to learn a programming language without having to learn graphical user interface programming at the same time.
• Foundation—understanding console applications provides the basis for more advanced computer programming. Advanced programmers readily understand console applications.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for working with console applications.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
About Console Applications
A console application is a simple, text-based computer program. Console applications do not usually employ a graphical user interface (GUI). Instead, the applications rely on plain-text input and output in a terminal window.
Console applications are ideal for novice programmers. The applications are easier to program because they lack a GUI. If problems arise, the programmer can use text-based feedback together with the debugger to correct problems.
Creating Console Applications
Create a console application to begin working with a text-based computer program. The
CodeWarrior IDE provides pre-configured project stationery for creating console applications. Project stationery simplifies the project-creation process. This section explains how to create a console application.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 77
Creating Console Applications
Creating Console Applications
Creating a Console Application
Use the New command to create a new project. The project stores information about the files in the console application.
1. Choose File > New.
The New window appears.
2. Click the Project tab.
3. Select a project stationery file.
4. Enter a project name in the Project name field and add the .mcp extension.
For example, name the project test.mcp.
5. Click Set.
Save the project in the desired location.
6. Click OK.
The New Project window appears.
7. Select a specific stationery file.
8. Click OK.
The IDE creates a console application from the selected stationery. The Project window for the console application appears.
9. Expand the Sources group.
This group contains placeholder source files.
10. Remove placeholder source files.
For example, select main.c and choose Edit > Remove.
11. Create a new source file, as explained in Table 8.1
.
Table 8.1 Creating a New Source File
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Press Ctrl-N
Press Command-N
Press Meta-N
Press Meta-N (File > New Text File)
78 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Creating Console Applications
Creating Console Applications
12. Enter source code.
For example, enter the source code of
.
Listing 8.1 Sample Source Code
#include <stdio.h> int main( void )
{ printf(“Hello World!”); return 0;
}
13. Save the source file, as Table 8.2
explains.
Table 8.2 Saving the Source File
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Press Ctrl-S (File > Save)
Press Command-S
Press Meta-S
Press Meta-S (File > Save)
Enter a name for the source code. For example, enter Hello.c. Then click Save.
14. Choose Project > Add Hello.c to Project...
The Add Files window appears.
15. Add the file to all build targets in the project.
Select all checkboxes to add the file to all build targets, then click OK.
16. Drag the source file inside the Sources group.
17. Choose Project > Run.
The IDE compiles, links, then runs the console application.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 79
Creating Console Applications
Creating Console Applications
80 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Editor
This section contains these chapters:
•
•
•
•
III
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 81
82 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
9
CodeWarrior Editor
This chapter explains how to work with the editor in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. Use the editor to perform these tasks:
• Manage text files—the editor includes common word-processing features for creating and editing text files. Sample text files include Read Me files and release notes.
• Manage source files—the editor includes additional features for creating and editing source files. The IDE processes source files to produce a program.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
Other Editor Window Components
Editor Window
Use the editor window to create and manage text files or source files. The window contains these major parts:
• Editor toolbar
• Text-editing area
• Line and column indicator
• Pane splitter controls
shows the editor window. Table 9.1
explains the items in the editor window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 83
CodeWarrior Editor
Editor Window
Figure 9.1 Editor Window
Table 9.1 Editor Window Items
Icon Item
Explanation
Displays a list of referenced interface files or header files for the source file.
Displays a list of functions defined in the source file.
Displays a list of markers defined in the file.
Displays file-format options and a syntaxcoloring toggle.
84 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table 9.1 Editor Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
CodeWarrior Editor
Editor Window
Explanation
Displays a list of available Version
Control System (VCS) commands.
Choose a command to apply to the source file.
Displays the complete path to the file.
This icon indicates an unchanged file since the last save.
This icon indicates a file with modifications not yet saved.
Displays breakpoints for the file. Red dot indicates a user-specified breakpoint.
Right-click on breakpoints column to bring up context menu.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Shows the text or source-code content of the file.
Displays the current line and column number of the text-insertion cursor
Drag to split the window into panes.
85
CodeWarrior Editor
Editor Toolbar
Editor Toolbar
Use the editor toolbar to complete these tasks:
• Open interface and header files
• Find function definitions
• Set and clear markers
• Modify file formats
• Control syntax coloring
• Execute version-control operations
• Determine a file’s save state
This section explains how to expand and collapse the toolbar, and how to perform each toolbar task.
86
Expanding and Collapsing the Editor Window Toolbar
To expand the editor window toolbar, click this icon in the right-hand top corner of the editor window.
To collapse the Editor Window Toolbar, click this icon in the right-hand top corner of the Editor window.
Interfaces Menu
The Interfaces menu lists the source files included in the current source file.
for information on navigating source code with the Interfaces menu.
Functions Menu
The Functions menu lists the functions (routines) defined in the current file.
for information on navigating source code with the Functions popup.
Markers Menu
The Marker menu lists markers placed in the current file. Use markers to scroll to specific items in source code and find code segments by intuitive names.
See Using Markers for information on navigating source code with Markers.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
CodeWarrior Editor
Editor Toolbar
Document Settings Menu
The Document Settings menu shows whether the IDE applies syntax coloring to the window text, as well as the format in which the IDE saves the file.
Using the Document Settings Menu
Use the Document Settings pop-up to toggle syntax coloring on or off for the current file, and set the EOL (end-of-line) format for saving a text file.
The EOL formats are:
• Macintosh: <CR>
• DOS: <CR><LF>
• UNIX: <LF>
To toggle syntax coloring
• Choose Document Settings > Syntax Coloring.
The editor window updates to display the new syntax color setting.
To specify the EOL format for the file
• Choose the EOL format for the file.
The IDE applies the specified EOL format to the file the next time it gets saved.
Version Control System Menu
In editor windows, the version control pop-up menu lists options provided by a version control system (VCS) compatible with the IDE. Use a VCS to manage multiple versions of files. VCS packages are available separately for use with the IDE.
Using the Version Control System Menu
Use the Version Control System (VCS) pop-up menu to access version control commands related to the editor window’s file. If a version control system is not enabled for a project, the only item on the VCS menu is No Version Control Available.
• Choose VCS > VCScommand
The IDE executes the VCS command.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 87
CodeWarrior Editor
Other Editor Window Components
Other Editor Window Components
Use other editor window components to perform these tasks:
• Determine the path to a file.
• Determine the modification status of a file.
• Set or clear breakpoints.
• Edit text or source code.
• Find the text-insertion point.
This section explains these additional editor window components.
Path Caption
The Path caption shows the path to the active file. The directory delimiters follow host conventions. For example, slashes separate directories for a path on a Windows computer and backslashes are used on Linux and Solaris.
File Modification Icon
The File Modification icon indicates the save status of the file:
• The icon indicates an unchanged file since the last Save.
• The icon indicates a file with modifications not yet saved.
Breakpoints Column
The Breakpoints column shows breakpoints defined in the current file. Each marker in the column indicates the line of source code at which the debugger suspends program execution.
Text Editing Area
The text editing area behaves the same way as it does in a word processor. Enter text or source code, perform edits, and copy or paste selections.
88 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
CodeWarrior Editor
Other Editor Window Components
Line and Column Indicator
The Line and Column indicator shows the current position of the text-insertion point.
Click the indicator to specify a line to scroll into view.
Pane Splitter Controls
Use the pane splitter controls to perform these tasks:
• Add panes to editor windows.
• Adjust pane size.
• Remove panes from editor windows.
This section explains how to perform each task.
Adding Panes to an Editor Window
Use the Pane Splitter controls to add additional view panes in an editor window and view two or more sections of a source file at the same time.
1. Click and drag a Pane Splitter control to add a view pane.
2. The IDE adds a new view pane to the editor window.
Resizing Panes in an Editor Window
Use the Pane Resize controls to resize the panes in an editor window.
1. Click and drag a vertical or horizontal Pane Resize control.
2. The IDE resizes the selected view pane.
Removing Panes from an Editor Window
Use the Pane Resize controls to remove additional view panes from an editor window.
1. Remove an editor window pane.
• Double-click the Pane Resize control to remove the pane, or
• Click and drag the Pane Resize control to the left or top edge of the editor window.
2. The IDE removes the view pane from the editor window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 89
CodeWarrior Editor
Other Editor Window Components
90 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
10
Editing Source Code
This chapter explains how to edit source code in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. The IDE provides these features to help you edit source code:
• Select and indent text—the editor can select text by line, routine, or rectangular selection. The editor also handles text indentation.
• Balance punctuation—the editor can find matching pairs of parentheses, brackets, and braces. Most programming languages, such as C++, produce syntax errors for punctuation that lacks a counterpart.
• Complete code—the IDE can suggest ways to complete the symbols you enter in a source file
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
Text Manipulation
Use these tasks to manipulate text files:
• Select text
• Overstrike text
• Use virtual space
• Indent text
This section explains how to perform each task.
Selecting Text in Editor Windows
The editor lets you select text in several ways while you edit source files.
NOTE
Enable the Left margin click selects line option in the Editor Settings preference panel to use the right-pointing arrow cursor.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 91
Editing Source Code
Text Manipulation
Lines
Follow these steps to select a line of text:
• Triple-click anywhere on a line, or
• Click the right-pointing cursor in the left margin of the line.
Multiple lines
Follow these steps to select multiple lines of text:
• Drag the cursor over several lines of text and release, or
• Position the cursor at the beginning of a selection range, then Shift-click the end of the selection range to select all text between the two points, or
• Drag the right-pointing cursor to select lines of text.
Rectangular text selections
explains how to select rectangular portions of text.
Table 10.1 Selecting a Rectangular Portion of Text
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Alt-drag the cursor over the portion of text.
Command-drag the cursor over the portion of text.
Alt-drag the cursor over the portion of text.
Alt-drag the cursor over the portion of text.
Entire routines
Follow these steps to select an entire routine:
1. Hold down the Shift key.
2. Choose a function name from the Function list menu.
Overstriking Text (Windows OS)
Use the Overstrike command to toggle between text insertion and text overwriting mode when entering text. Press the Ins key to toggle overstrike mode.
92 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Editing Source Code
Text Manipulation
Using Virtual Space
Use the Virtual Space feature to place the cursor anywhere in the white space of a line of source code and enter text at that position.
For example, consider the line of C++ code shown in Listing 10.1
Listing 10.1 Sample C++ Source Code
void aFunction (const char * inMessage) virtualspace
Toggling virtual space changes the cursor behavior:
• enabled—clicking in the virtualspace places the cursor at the location that you clicked. You can enter text at that location.
• disabled—clicking in the virtualspace places the cursor after the last character on the line (in the example, after the closing parenthesis). To place the cursor beyond this character, you must repeatedly press the space bar on your keyboard.
To use virtual space, follow these steps:
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
The IDE Preferences window opens.
2. Select Editor Settings in the IDE Preference Panels list.
The Editor Settings preference panel appears.
3. Select the Enable Virtual Space option:
4. Click Apply or Save to save your changes to the preference panel.
5. Close the IDE Preferences window.
Indenting and Unindenting Text Blocks
Use the Shift Left and Shift Right commands to shift a selected block of text to the left or right. You can indent or unindent one or more lines using these commands. The Tab Size option specifies the amount of indentation.
1. Select the text to be shifted.
2. Indent or unindent the selected text.
• To unindent text: Choose Edit > Shift-Left.
• To indent text: Choose Edit > Shift-Right.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 93
Editing Source Code
Punctuation Balancing
Symbol Editing Shortcuts
You can use the browser contextual menu to enhance source-code editing in the IDE. Use this menu to streamline text entry in editor windows. You can enter the first few letters of a function name, then use the browser contextual menu to complete the entry.
The IDE also provides these keyboard shortcuts with the browser enabled:
• Find symbols with prefix—find symbols matching the selected prefix
• Find symbols with substring—find symbols matching the selected substring
• Get next symbol—obtain the next symbol from the browser database
• Get previous symbol—obtain the previous symbol from the browser database
See the IDE Quick Reference card for more information about these keyboard shortcuts.
Punctuation Balancing
Balance punctuation to ensure that each opening parenthesis, bracket, or brace has a corresponding closing counterpart. This section explains how to balance punctuation.
Balancing Punctuation
Use the Balance option when editing source code to make sure that every parenthesis (( )), bracket ([ ]), and brace ({ }) has a mate.
1. Position the cursor between the suspect punctuation.
2. Check for the matching punctuation.
• Choose Edit > Balance
OR
• Double-click the parenthesis, bracket, or brace character to check for a matching character.
From a text insertion point, the editor searches forward until it finds a parenthesis, bracket, or brace, then it searches in the opposite direction until it finds the matching punctuation.
When double-clicking on a parenthesis, bracket, or brace, the editor searches in the opposite direction until it finds the matching punctuation.
When it finds a match, it highlights the text between the matching characters. If the insertion point is not enclosed or if the punctuation is unbalanced, the computer beeps.
94 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Editing Source Code
Punctuation Balancing
Toggling Automatic Punctuation Balancing
shows the Editor Settings. Use these settings to enable or disable the
punctuation balancing feature.
Figure 10.1 Editor Settings (Balance While Typing)
To toggle automatic punctuation balancing, follow these steps:
1. Select Edit > Preferences.
This opens the IDE Preferences window.
2. In the IDE Preference Panels list, select Editor Settings.
3. In the Other Settings area of Editor Settings, select or clear the Balance While
Typing checkbox.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 95
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
Code Completion
Use code completion to have the IDE automatically suggest ways to complete the symbols you enter in a source file. By using code completion, you avoid referring to other files to remember available symbols.
C/C++ Code Completion will function more effectively when “Language Parser” is selected for the “Generate Browser Data From” option in the Build Extras target settings panel for a project. Java Code Completion is not affected by this setting.
Code Completion Configuration
You can activate, deactivate, and customize code-completion operation. These tasks are associated with code completion:
• Activate automatic code completion
• Trigger code completion from the IDE menu bar
• Trigger code completion from the keyboard
• Deactivate automatic code completion
Activating Automatic Code Completion
Activate automatic code completion to have the IDE display a Code Completion window that helps you complete the symbols you enter in source code. The Code Completion preference panel configures the Code Completion window behavior.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
The IDE Preferences window appears.
2. Select the Code Completion preference panel in the IDE Preference Panels list.
Selecting this option configures the IDE to automatically open the Code Completion window.
field.
This delay determines how long the IDE waits between the time you type a trigger character and the time the Code Completion window appears. If you perform any action during this delay time, the IDE cancels the Code Completion operation.
5. Save your preferences.
Click the Save or Apply button.
96 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
The Code Completion window now appears automatically to help you complete code in editor windows.
Triggering Code Completion from the IDE Menu
Trigger code completion from the main menu to open the Code Completion window.
1. Bring forward an editor window.
2. Begin typing or place insertion point at end of source code that you want to complete.
3. Choose Edit > Complete Code
The Code Completion window appears. Use it to complete the symbol at the insertion point.
Triggering Code Completion from the Keyboard
To open code completion from the keyboard:
1. Bring forward an editor window.
2. Begin typing or place insertion point at end of source code to complete.
3. Press the appropriate code completion shortcut key combination.
lists the default code completion key bindings for each IDE host. Use the
Customize IDE Commands panel to change these key bindings.
Table 10.2 Code Completion Key Bindings
Host
Windows
Macintosh
Linux/Solaris
Get Next
Completion
Alt-/
Control-/
Control-/
Get Previous
Completion
Alt-Shift-/
Control-Shift-/
Control-Shift-/
Complete Code
Alt-.
Control-.
Control-.
Deactivating Automatic Code Completion
Deactivate automatic code completion to prevent the IDE from displaying the Code
Completion window as you edit source code. The Code Completion preference panel configures Code Completion window behavior.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 97
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
You can still manually trigger code-completion functionality from the keyboard or from the main menu.
NOTE
To dismiss the Code Completion window after it automatically opens, press the
Esc key or click outside the active editor window.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Code Completion preference panel in the IDE Preference Panels list.
Clearing this option prevents the IDE from automatically opening the Code
Completion window.
4. Save your preferences.
Click the Save or Apply button.
Code Completion Window
The Code Completion window displays possible symbols based on the context of the insertion point. For example, in Java you can complete code for any Java class, method, and variable from any package that has been imported or is being used elsewhere in the project.
shows the Code Completion window. Table 10.3
Code Completion window.
explains the icons that appear in the Code
Completion list.
98 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 10.2 Code Completion Window
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
Table 10.3 Code Completion Window Items
Icon Item
Code
Completion list
Disclosure
Triangle
Resize Bar
Documentation pane
Explanation
Lists available variables and methods or functions along with their corresponding return types or parameters. This list changes based on the context of the insertion point in the active editor window. Icons help distinguish items in the list.
Click to toggle display of Documentation pane for programming languages that support it.
Drag to resize the Code Completion list and the
Documentation pane.
Displays summary information or documentation for the selected item in the Code Completion list.
This pane appears only for programming languages that support summary information or documentation.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 99
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
Table 10.4 Code Completion Window Icons
Icon Code Type
Class
Icon
Function
Global Variable
Language Keyword
Local Variable
Constant
Code Type
Method
Namespace
None
Package
Variable
100
Navigating the Code Completion Window
Navigate the Code Completion window by mouse or keyboard. You can perform these tasks:
• Resize the window
• Navigate the window by keyboard
• Refine the Code Completion list by keyboard
1. Bring forward an editor window.
2. Place the insertion point at the end of the source code to complete.
3. Choose Edit > Complete Code or use keyboard shortcut.
The Code Completion window appears.
4. Use the mouse to resize the Code Completion window (Mac and Windows).
The new window size remains in effect until you refine the Code Completion list or close the Code Completion window. You refine the Code Completion list by typing additional characters in the active editor window.
5. Use the keyboard to navigate the Code Completion list.
explains how to navigate the Code Completion list by keyboard.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
Table 10.5 Navigating Code Completion List by Keyboard
Key
Up Arrow
Down Arrow
Page Up
Page Down
Action
Select the previous item
Select the next item
Scroll to the previous page
Scroll to the next page
6. Use the keyboard to refine the Code Completion list.
The Code Completion list updates as you add or delete characters in the active editor window. Continue adding characters to narrow the list, or delete existing characters to broaden the list. Press the Backspace key to delete characters.
Selecting an Item in the Code Completion Window
Select an item in the Code Completion window to have the IDE enter that item in the active editor window at the insertion point.
1. Bring forward an editor window.
2. Place the insertion point at the end of the source code to complete.
3. Choose Edit > Complete Code.
4. Select an item in the Code Completion list.
5. Enter the item into the active editor window.
Press the Return or Enter keys on the keyboard or double-click the item to have the
IDE insert that item into the editor window.
Completing Code for Data Members and Data Types
Complete code for data members for programming languages that support it. For a list of data members type the period (.) character and activate the code completion window.
shows an example of helping you select the correct data type depending on
what code has been typed in the source file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 101
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
Figure 10.3 Code Completion List of Data Types
102
Completing Code for Parameter Lists
Complete code for parameter lists for programming languages that support it. For example, you can complete code for parameter lists by typing the open parenthesis ( character.
1. Bring forward an editor window.
2. Place the insertion point at the end of the function or method to complete.
3. Type an open parenthesis to trigger a parameter-list.
4. The Code Completion window appears.
The upper portion of this window lists different (overloaded) versions of the function or method. The lower portion shows possible parameter lists for the selected function or method in the top portion. Use this window to complete the parameter list for the function or method.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 10.4 Code Completion for Parameter Lists
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
Completing Code for Pragmas
In the Mac or Windows hosted IDE you can display a list of pragmas in the code completion window.
1. Bring forward an editor window.
2. In your source file, type #pragma followed by a space.
3. Activate the code completion window (cntrl . or Alt .).
The code completion window will display list of pragmas.
Figure 10.5 Code Completion for Pragmas
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 103
Editing Source Code
Code Completion
104 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Navigating Source Code
11
This chapter explains how to navigate source code in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. Navigate source code to accomplish these tasks:
• Find specific items—the editor finds interface files, functions, and lines of source code.
• Go to a specific line—the editor can scroll to a specific line of source code.
• Use markers—the editor allows labelling of specific items of text. These labels, or markers, provide intuitive navigation of text.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for navigating source code.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
Finding Interface Files, Functions, Lines
•
•
•
•
Reference Templates (Macintosh)
Finding Interface Files, Functions, Lines
Find interface files, functions, and lines of source code to expedite programming. You can find these types of items:
• interface files
• functions
• lines of source code
Finding Interface Files
Find interface (header) files referenced by the current source code. Some programming languages, such as C++, use interface files in conjunction with source code. Interface files typically define functions or objects used in the source code. Interface files also separate function or object declarations from implementations. This section explains how to find interface files.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 105
Navigating Source Code
Finding Interface Files, Functions, Lines
Using the Interface Menu
Use the Interface menu in editor windows to open interface or header files referenced by the current file. The project file must be open for the Interface menu to operate.
1. Click the Interface menu.
2. Select the filename of the interface file that you want to open.
If found, the file is opened in an editor window. If not found, an alert sounds.
NOTE
Only source code interface files can be opened. Libraries and pre-compiled header files can not be opened.
Locating Functions
Find functions to expedite source-code editing. Most source files contain several functions that divide a complicated task into a series of simpler tasks. The editor allows scrolling to individual functions within the current source file. This section explains how to find functions.
Using the Functions Menu
Use the Functions menu in editor windows to quickly navigate to specific functions or routines in the current source file.
1. Click the Functions menu.
2. Select the function name to view.
The editor scrolls to display the selected function.
Alphabetizing Functions Menu with the Mouse and Keyboard
The default behavior of the Functions menu is to list functions in order of appearance in the source file. You can use the mouse and keyboard to list functions in alphabetical order.
explains how to use the mouse and keyboard to alphabetize functions in the
Functions menu.
106 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Navigating Source Code
Going Back and Forward
Table 11.1 Alphabetizing the Functions list
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Ctrl-click the Functions menu.
Option-click the Functions menu.
Alt-click the Functions menu.
Alt-click the Functions menu.
Alphabetizing Functions Menu Order
The default behavior of the Functions menu is to list functions in order of appearance in
the source file. You can select the
option in the Editor Settings preference panel to list functions in alphabetical order.
1. Open the IDE Preferences window.
Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Editor Settings preference panel.
option.
4. Save your modifications to the Editor Settings panel.
Going Back and Forward
Go back and forward in source files to edit existing code. Most source files contain more than one screen of code. The editor always counts the number of lines in the source files.
Go to a particular line to scroll a particular item into view.
Going to a Line
Use the Goto Line command to navigate to a specific source line in an editor window if you know its number. Lines are numbered consecutively, with the first line designated as line 1. The Line Number control at the bottom of the editor window shows the line number where the text insertion point is positioned.
1. Open the Line Number window.
• Click the Line and Column Indicator control in bottom left corner of editor window, or
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 107
Navigating Source Code
Using Markers
• Choose Search > Go To Line
2. Type a line number in the Line Number text box.
3. Click OK.
NOTE
If a line number does not exist, the insertion point jumps to the last line of the source file.
Using Markers
Markers behave like labels in the editor, identifying specific parts of source code. Use these tasks to work with markers:
• Add markers to a source file
• Navigate to a marker
• Remove some or all markers from a source file
Remove Markers Window
Use the Remove Markers window to manage the use of destination markers in source
shows the Remove Markers window.
explains the items in the window.
Figure 11.1 Remove Marker Window
108 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Navigating Source Code
Using Markers
Table 11.2 Remove Markers Window Items
Item
Markers list
Remove button
Cancel button
Done button
Explanation
Displays a list of all markers in the current source file.
Click to remove all selected markers.
Click to close the Remove Markers window without applying changes.
Click to close the Remove Markers window and apply changes.
Adding Markers to a Source File
Use the Add Marker command to add a marker to a file to identify specific line locations by name.
1. Position the cursor on a line.
2. Click on Marker icon and select Add Marker.
3. Type a name for the new marker.
4. Click Add.
The IDE adds the marker to the file.
Navigating to a Marker
Once you add a marker, you can use the Marker menu to return to it later.
1. Select the marker name from the Marker menu.
2. The editor window scrolls to display the selected marker.
Removing a Marker from a Source File
Use the Remove Marker command to remove one or more markers from a source file.
1. Click Marker icon and select Remove Markers
2. Select the marker name to remove from the list.
3. Click Remove.
The IDE removes the selected marker.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 109
Navigating Source Code
Symbol Definitions
Removing All Markers from a Source File
Use the Remove Marker command to remove one or more markers from a source file.
1. Click Marker icon and select Remove Markers
2. Select all markers in the Markers list, as explained in
.
Table 11.3 Selecting All Markers in Markers List
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Shift-click each marker name in the list.
Select Edit > Select All.
Select Edit > Select All.
Select Edit > Select All.
3. Click Remove.
The IDE removes all markers.
Symbol Definitions
You can find a symbol definition in your project’s source code. For the Mac OS, you can also look up a symbol definition using the online documentation viewer in the IDE Extras selection in the IDE Preferences panel.
Supported online reference viewers include HTMLHelp (Windows) and QuickHelp (Mac
OS), as well as older online help systems such as QuickView (Mac OS) and THINK
Reference (Mac OS).
TIP
You can also use the browser to look up symbol definitions.
Figure 11.2 Find Definition
110 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Navigating Source Code
Reference Templates (Macintosh)
Looking Up Symbol Definitions
To look up the definition of a selected symbol, follow these steps:
1. Choose Search > Find Definition
2. Enter the symbol definition.
3. Click OK.
CodeWarrior searches all files in your project for the symbol definition.
If CodeWarrior finds a definition, it opens an editor window and highlights the definition for you to examine.
TIP
To return to your original location after viewing a symbol definition, press Shift-
Ctrl B (Windows) or Shift-Command B (Mac OS) or Meta-Shift B (Linux/
Solaris). This key binding is equivalent to the Go Back menu command.
Mac OS, Solaris, and Linux You can also use the Find Reference and Find Definition
& Reference commands to look up symbol definitions. After you select a symbol and choose the Find Reference command, CodeWarrior searches the online documentation for the symbol definition. After you select a symbol and choose the Find Definition &
Reference command, the IDE searches both the project files and the online documentation for the symbol definition. If CodeWarrior does not find a definition or reference, it notifies you with a beep.
Reference Templates (Macintosh)
If you look up a routine (such as an operating system call) in the QuickView or THINK
Reference online viewers, you can paste the template for the call into the editor window at the text-insertion point. If you know the name of the call that you want to add, but are not familiar with the call parameters, this technique is useful.
shows a sample routine template.
Listing 11.1 Sample Routine Template
SetRect (r, left, top, right, bottom);
Inserting a Reference Template
To insert a reference template into your code, follow these steps:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 111
Navigating Source Code
Reference Templates (Macintosh)
1. From the online viewer window, type the routine name that you want to insert.
2. Select the name you just typed.
3. Choose Insert Reference Template from the Edit menu.
The IDE searches for the routine in either QuickView (Mac OS) or THINK Reference
(Mac OS), starting the required application if it is not already running. If the IDE finds the routine, the IDE copies the template to the active editor window and replaces the text you selected with the template.
112 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
12
Finding and Replacing Text
This chapter explains how to work with the find-and-replace features in the
CodeWarrior™ IDE.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
Multiple-File Find and Replace
•
•
•
•
Single-File Find
Use the Find window to search for text within a single file:
• The Find operation returns a single instance of matching text.
• The Find All operation returns all instances of matching text.
shows the Find window. Table 12.1
explains the items in the Find window.
Figure 12.1 Find Window
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 113
Finding and Replacing Text
Single-File Find
Table 12.1 Find Window Items
Item
Find text/list box
Find button
Find All button
Cancel button
Match whole word checkbox
Case sensitive checkbox
Regular expression checkbox
Stop at end of file checkbox
Search up checkbox
Search selection only checkbox
All text option button
Explanation
Enter a search string. Click the arrow symbol to select a search string that you entered previously.
Click to start a search operation using the string in the Find text/list box.
Click to search for all matches in the active editor window.
Click to close the Find window without performing a search.
Check to search for whole-word matches only, ignoring matches within words.
Clear to search for all matches of the search string, including matches within words.
Check to consider text case during the search. The search operation distinguishes between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
Clear to disregard text case during the search. The search operation does not distinguish between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
Check to treat the search string as a regular expression.
Clear to treat the search string as plain text.
Check to stop a search at the end of a file and not wrap around to the beginning of the file.
Clear to wrap around to the beginning of the file and continue a search. The search stops at the first match or at the current cursor position.
Check to perform a search operation back from the current selection.
Clear to perform a search operation forward of the current selection
Check to search only the currently selected text and not the entire file.
Clear to search the entire file.
Select to search all text in the file.
114 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Single-File Find and Replace
Table 12.1 Find Window Items ( continued)
Item
Code only option button
Comments only option button
Explanation
Select to search only source code in the file.
Select to search only comments in the file.
Searching Text in a Single File
Use the Find command to search for text in the active editor window.
1. Click Search > Find.
The Find window appears.
NOTE
(Mac OS, Solaris, and Linux) Use the Customize IDE Commands window to activate the Find menu command.
2. Enter search text into Find text/list box.
3. Set search options.
4. Click the Find or Find All button to start the search.
The IDE searches the current file until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in the editor window, or multiple matches appear in a
Search Results window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
TIP
If you clicked the Find button to start the search, click Search >
Find Next to find the next match in the file.
Single-File Find and Replace
Use the Find and Replace window to perform these tasks:
• Search a single file.
• Replace found text in a single file.
shows the Find and Replace window. Table 12.2
explains the items in the Find and Replace window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 115
Finding and Replacing Text
Single-File Find and Replace
Figure 12.2 Find and Replace Window
Table 12.2 Find and Replace Window Items
Item
Find text/list box
Replace with text/list box
Find button
Replace button
Replace All button
Cancel button
Match whole word checkbox
Case sensitive checkbox
Explanation
Enter a search string. Click the arrow symbol to select a search string that you entered previously.
Enter the replacement string. Click the arrow symbol to select a replacement string that you entered previously.
Click to start a search operation using the string in the Find text/list box.
Click to replace the current match with the replacement string.
Click to replace all matches with the replacement string.
Click to close the Find and Replace window without performing a search.
Check to search for whole-word matches only, ignoring matches within words.
Clear to search for all matches of the search string, including matches within words.
Check to consider text case during the search. The search operation distinguishes between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
Clear to disregard text case during the search. The search operation does not distinguish between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
116 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Single-File Find and Replace
Table 12.2 Find and Replace Window Items ( continued)
Item
Regular expression checkbox
Stop at end of file checkbox
Search up checkbox
Search selection only checkbox
Explanation
Check to treat the search string as a regular expression.
Clear to treat the search string as plain text.
Check to stop a search at the end of a file and not wrap around to the beginning of the file.
Clear to wrap around to the beginning of the file and continue a search. The search stops at the first match or at the current cursor position.
Check to perform a search operation back from the current selection.
Clear to perform a search operation forward of the current selection
Check to search only the currently selected text and not the entire file.
Clear to search the entire file.
Select to search all text in the file.
All text option button
Code only option button
Comments only option button
Select to search only source code in the file.
Select to search only comments in the file.
Replacing Text in a Single File
Use the Replace command to replace matching text.
1. Click Search > Replace or Search > Find and Replace.
The Find window appears.
2. Enter search text into the Find text/list box.
3. Enter replacement text into the Replace with text/list box.
4. Set search options.
5. Find and replace text:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 117
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace a. Click the Find button to search for matching text.
The IDE searches the current file until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in the editor window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
b. Click the Replace or Replace All button to replace the matching text.
Click the Replace button to replace the current match. Click the Replace button repeatedly to replace subsequent matches. Click the Replace All button to replace all matching text in the file.
To replace consecutive matches, click the Find button to find the first match, then repeatedly click the Replace button. To replace one match at a time, or to replace nonconsecutive matches, click the Find button to find a match, then click the Replace button as needed.
TIP
If you clicked the Find button to start the search, click Search >
Find Next to find the next match in the file.
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Use the Find in Files window to perform these tasks:
• Search several files.
• Replace found text in multiple files, folders, symbolics files, or projects.
• Replace found text in files within a specific build target.
shows the Find in Files window. Table 12.3
explains the items in the window.
118 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.3 Find in Files Window
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Table 12.3 Find in Files Window Items
Item Explanation
Find text/list box
Replace with text/list box
Find button
Enter a search string. Click the arrow symbol to select a search string that you entered previously.
Enter the replacement string. Click the arrow symbol to select a replacement string that you entered previously.
Find All button
Replace button
Click to start a search operation using the string in the Find text/list box.
Click to search for all matches in the selected items.
Click to replace the current match with the replacement string.
Replace All button Click to replace all matches with the replacement string.
Stop button Click to stop the current operation.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 119
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Table 12.3 Find in Files Window Items ( continued)
Item
Match whole word checkbox
Case sensitive checkbox
Explanation
Check to search for whole-word matches only, ignoring matches within words.
Clear to search for all matches of the search string, including matches within words.
Check to consider text case during the search. The search operation distinguishes between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
Clear to disregard text case during the search. The search operation does not distinguish between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
Check to treat the search string as a regular expression.
Clear to treat the search string as plain text.
Regular expression checkbox
All text option button
Code only option button
Comments only option button
Select to search all text in the selected items.
Select to search only source code in selected items.
Select to search only comments in selected items.
tab
tab
Click to bring forward the In Folders page. Use this page to search specific folders in the host file system.
Click to bring forward the In Projects page. Use this page to search active projects and build targets.
Click to bring forward the In Symbolics page. Use this page to search files containing symbolics (debugging and browsing) information generated by the IDE.
Click to bring forward the In Files page. Use this page to search files contained in custom file sets.
In Folders
Use the In Folders page to search folder contents for matching text.
explains the items in the page.
120 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.4 Find in Files Window, In Folders Page
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Table 12.4 Find in Files Window, In Folders Items
Item
Search in text/list box
Browse button
Search sub-folders checkbox
Explanation
Enter the path to the folder that you want to search. Click the arrow symbol to select a path that you entered previously.
Click to open a dialog box that lets you pick the folder that you want to search.
Check to search sub-folders of the selected folder.
By type text/list box
Clear to search the selected folder only, ignoring any subfolders it may contain.
Enter the filename extensions of the files that you want to search. Click the arrow symbol to select a set of filename extensions.
The search ignores files whose filename extensions do not appear in this text/list box.
Searching for Text Across Multiple Folders
Use the In Folders page to search for text in folder contents.
1. Click Search > Find in Files.
The Find in Files window appears.
2. Enter search text into the Find text/list box.
3. Enter replacement text into the Replace with text/list box.
4. Set general search options.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 121
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
5. Set the In Folders page search options: a. Enter a folder path into the Search in text/list box, or click the Browse button to select a folder.
b. Check or clear the Search sub-folders checkbox.
c. Enter filename extensions into the By type text/list box.
6. Find and replace text: a. Click the Find or Find All button to search for matching text.
The IDE searches the specified folder contents until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in an editor window, or multiple matches appear in a Search Results window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
b. Click the Replace or Replace All button to replace the matching text.
Click the Replace button to replace the current match. Click the Replace button repeatedly to replace subsequent matches. Click the Replace All button to replace all matching text.
To replace consecutive matches, click the Find button to find the first match, then repeatedly click the Replace button. To replace one match at a time, or to replace nonconsecutive matches, click the Find button to find a match, then click the Replace button as needed.
TIP
If you clicked the Find button to start the search, click Search >
Find Next to find the next match.
In Projects
Use the In Projects page to search active projects and build targets for matching text.
shows the In Projects page. Table 12.5
explains the items in the page.
122 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.5 Find in Files Window, In Projects Page
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Table 12.5 Find in Files Window, In Projects Items
Item
Project list box
Target list box
Project sources checkbox
Project headers checkbox
System headers checkbox
Search cached subtargets checkbox
File list
Explanation
Specify the projects that you want to search.
Specify the build targets that you want to search.
Check to search the source-code files of selected projects.
Clear to ignore source-code files of selected projects.
Check to search the header files of selected projects.
Clear to ignore header files of selected projects.
Check to search system header files.
Clear to ignore system header files.
Check to search sub-targets that the IDE cached for the selected build targets.
Clear to ignore the sub-targets that the IDE cached for the selected build targets.
This list shows files that the IDE will search. To remove a file from this list, select it and press Backspace or Delete. To open a file in this list, double-click its name.
Searching for Text across Multiple Projects
Use the In Projects page to search for text in active projects and build targets.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 123
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
1. Click Project > Make.
The IDE updates the project data to correctly list source-code files, header files, and build targets in the In Projects page of the Find in Files window.
2. Click Search > Find in Files.
The Find in Files window appears.
3. Enter search text into the Find text/list box.
4. Enter replacement text into the Replace with text/list box.
5. Set general search options.
6. Set the In Projects page search options: a. Use the Project list box to specify the projects that you want to search.
b. Use the Target list box to specify the build targets that you want to search.
c. Check or clear the checkboxes to refine your search criteria.
d. Remove files from the File list as needed.
7. Find and replace text: a. Click the Find or Find All button to search for matching text.
The IDE searches the specified projects and build targets until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in an editor window, or multiple matches appear in a Search Results window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
b. Click the Replace or Replace All button to replace the matching text.
Click the Replace button to replace the current match. Click the Replace button repeatedly to replace subsequent matches. Click the Replace All button to replace all matching text.
To replace consecutive matches, click the Find button to find the first match, then repeatedly click the Replace button. To replace one match at a time, or to replace nonconsecutive matches, click the Find button to find a match, then click the Replace button as needed.
TIP
If you clicked the Find button to start the search, click Search >
Find Next to find the next match.
In Symbolics
Use the In Symbolics page to search files containing symbolics information for matching
shows the In Symbolics page. Table 12.6
explains the items in the page.
124 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.6 Find in Files Window, In Symbolics Page
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Table 12.6 Find in Files Window, In Symbolics Items
Item
Symbolics list box
Symbolics list
Explanation
Specify the symbolics files that you want to search.
This list shows the symbolics files that the IDE will search. To remove a file from this list, select it and press Backspace or Delete.
To open a file in this list, double-click its name.
Searching for Text across Multiple Symbolics Files
Use the In Symbolics page to search for text in symbolics files. You must generate browser data in order to search symbolics files.
1. Enable browser data for the build targets that you want to search.
Use the Build Extras target settings panel to Generate Browser Data From a compiler or language parser, then Apply or Save your changes. Configuring this option enables browser data.
2. Click Project > Debug.
Starting a debugging session causes the IDE to generate browser data for the project.
NOTE
The IDE does not generate browser data for some files, such as libraries.
3. Click Debug > Kill.
The debugging session ends.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 125
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
4. Click Search > Find in Files.
The Find in Files window appears.
5. Enter search text into the Find text/list box.
6. Enter replacement text into the Replace with text/list box.
7. Set general search options.
8. Set the In Symbolics page search options: a. Use the Symbolics list box to specify the symbolics files that you want to search.
b. Remove symbolics files from the Symbolics list as needed.
9. Find and replace text: a. Click the Find or Find All button to search for matching text.
The IDE searches the specified symbolics files until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in an editor window, or multiple matches appear in a Search Results window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
b. Click the Replace or Replace All button to replace the matching text.
Click the Replace button to replace the current match. Click the Replace button repeatedly to replace subsequent matches. Click the Replace All button to replace all matching text.
To replace consecutive matches, click the Find button to find the first match, then repeatedly click the Replace button. To replace one match at a time, or to replace nonconsecutive matches, click the Find button to find a match, then click the Replace button as needed.
TIP
If you clicked the Find button to start the search, click Search >
Find Next to find the next match.
In Files
Use the In Files page to search file sets for matching text.
shows the In Files page.
explains the items in the page.
126 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.7 Find in Files Window, In Files Page
Finding and Replacing Text
Multiple-File Find and Replace
Table 12.7 Find in Files Window, In Files Items
Item Explanation
File Set list box Specify the file set that you want to search. Select New File Set to create a new set.
File Set list This list shows the files that the IDE will search. To remove a file from this list, select it and press Backspace or Delete. To add files to this list, click the Add Files button, or drag and drop files and folders into the list. To open a file in this list, double-click its name.
Add Files button
Clear List button
Save This Set button
Click to open a dialog box that lets you add files to the current file set.
To enable this button, select from the File Set list box an existing file set or the New File Set option.
Click to clear the current File Set list. To enable this button, select from the File Set list box a file set that has at least one file.
Remove a Set button
Click to save the current file set under a specific name. The file set must have at least one file. The name appears in the File Set list box.
To enable this button, modify the current file set or select an existing file set from the File Set list box.
Click to open a dialog box that lets you remove file sets that you created previously. The removed file sets no longer appear in the File
Set list box. To enable this button, select from the File Set list box an existing file set or the New File Set option.
Searching for Text across Multiple Files
Use the In Files page to search for text in file sets.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 127
Finding and Replacing Text
Search Results Window
1. Click Search > Find in Files.
The Find in Files window appears.
2. Enter search text into the Find text/list box.
3. Enter replacement text into the Replace with text/list box.
4. Set general search options.
5. Set the In Files page search options: a. Use the File Set list box to specify the file set that you want to search.
b. Use the buttons to manage the File Set list as needed.
c. Remove files from the File Set list as needed.
6. Find and replace text: a. Click the Find or Find All button to search for matching text.
The IDE searches the specified files until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in an editor window, or multiple matches appear in a Search Results window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
b. Click the Replace or Replace All button to replace the matching text.
Click the Replace button to replace the current match. Click the Replace button repeatedly to replace subsequent matches. Click the Replace All button to replace all matching text.
To replace consecutive matches, click the Find button to find the first match, then repeatedly click the Replace button. To replace one match at a time, or to replace nonconsecutive matches, click the Find button to find a match, then click the Replace button as needed.
TIP
If you clicked the Find button to start the search, click Search >
Find Next to find the next match in the file.
Search Results Window
Use the Search Results window to explore multiple matches that the IDE finds. The IDE opens this window automatically after it finds multiple matches. Also use this window to stop searches in progress.
shows the Search Results window. Table 12.8
window.
128 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.8 Search Results Window
Finding and Replacing Text
Search Results Window
Table 12.8 Search Results Window Items
Icon Item
Result Count text box
Search Criteria text box
Warnings button
Stop button
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Explanation
Shows the total number of search results.
Shows the search criteria.
Click to display complier and linker warnings in the Results pane. The text box to the right of this button shows the total number of warnings.
Click to stop the search in progress.
129
Finding and Replacing Text
Text-Selection Find
Table 12.8 Search Results Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Previous Result button
Explanation
Click to select the previous search result.
Next Result button
Click to select the next search result.
Results pane
Source Code pane disclosure triangle
Pane resize bar
Lists individual search results.
Click to show or hide the Source
Code pane.
Source Code pane
Drag to resize the Results and
Source Code panes.
Shows the source code corresponding to the selected item in the Results pane. This pane operates the same as an editor window without pane-splitter controls.
Text-Selection Find
After you use the Find, Find and Replace, or Find in Files windows to perform a successful search, you can use menu commands to apply the same search criteria to additional searches. This way, you do not have to open the windows again to use the same search criteria. You select text in the active editor window to define the search string.
Using the Find Next Command
When searching for text, you can use the Find Next command to have the IDE find the next match:
130 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Text-Selection Find
1. Start a search with the Find, Find and Replace, or Find in Files windows.
2. After the IDE finds a match, click Search > Find Next to find a subsequent match.
NOTE
Find Next always searches forward and ignores the Search up checkbox.
Using the Find Previous Command
When searching for text, you can use the Find Previous command to have the IDE find the previous match. You must enable the Find Previous command in the Customize IDE
Commands window.
1. Click Edit > Commands & Key Bindings.
The Customize IDE Commands window opens.
2. Click the Commands tab in the Customize IDE Commands window.
3. Expand the Search item in the Commands pane tree structure.
4. Select the Find Previous item in the expanded list.
Scroll as needed in order to see the Find Previous item. After you select the Find
Previous item, its settings appear in Details pane.
5. Check the Appears in Menus checkbox.
The Find Previous command will appear in the Search menu in the main IDE menu bar.
6. Click Save to confirm your changes.
7. Close the Customize IDE Commands window.
You can now select the Find Previous command in the Search menu. You can also use the key binding associated with the command.
NOTE
(Macintosh) Hold down the Shift key in order to click
Search > Find Previous.
Changing the Find String
Use the Enter Find String command to change the current find string.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 131
Finding and Replacing Text
Regular-Expression Find
1. Select the text that you want to use as the new find string.
2. Click Search > Enter Find String.
The selected text replaces the find string that you specified in the Find, Find and
Replace, or Find in Files windows.
You can now use the new find string to perform find and replace operations.
Searching with a Text Selection
Use the Find Selection command to search the active editor window for selected text.
1. Select the text that you want to use as the search string.
2. Click Search > Find Selection.
The IDE searches the active editor window until it finds a match or reaches the end of the search. A single match appears highlighted in the editor window. The IDE beeps if it does not find any matching text.
You can also use the Find Next and Find Previous commands to search for additional matching text.
Regular-Expression Find
Use regular expressions to search text according to sophisticated text-matching rules. A
regular expression is a text string used as a mask for matching text in a file. To use regular expressions, select Regular expression in the Find, Find and Replace, or Find in Files windows. Certain characters are operators with special meanings in a regular expression.
TIP
For an in-depth description of regular expressions, refer to Mastering Regular
Expressions by Jeffrey E.F. Friedl, published by O’Reilly & Associates, Inc. On a
UNIX system, also refer to the man pages for regexp.
explains the regular-expression operators that the IDE recognizes.
Table 12.9 Recognized Regular-Expression Operators
Operator
.
*
Name
match any match zero or more
Explanation
Matches any single printing or non-printing character except newline and null.
Replaces the smallest/preceding regular expression with a sub-expression.
132 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Regular-Expression Find
Table 12.9 Recognized Regular-Expression Operators ( continued)
Operator
+
?
\n
|
^
$
[...]
(...)
-
Name
match one or more match zero or one back reference alternation match beginning of line match end of line list group range
Explanation
Repeats the preceding regular expression at least once and then as many times as necessary to match the pattern.
Repeats the preceding regular expression once or not at all.
Refers to a specified group (a unit expression enclosed in parentheses) in the find string. The digit n identifies the nth group, from left to right, with a number from 1 to
9.
Matches one of a choice of regular expressions. If this operator appears between two regular expressions, the
IDE matches the largest union of strings.
Matches items from the beginning of a string or following a newline character. This operator also represents a
NOT operator when enclosed within brackets.
Matches items from the end of a string or preceding a newline
character.
Defines a set of items to use as a match. The IDE does not allow empty lists.
Defines an expression to be treated as a single unit elsewhere in the regular expression.
Specifies a range. The range starts with the character preceding the operator and ends with the character following the operator.
shows various examples of using regular expressions to match particular text
in a text sample.
Table 12.10 Regular Expression Examples
Example
Type
Matching simple expressions
This regular expression...
ex
[(][.]stack[)]
...matches this text...
ex
(.stack)
...in this text sample:
sample text
ADDR(.stack)
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 133
Finding and Replacing Text
Regular-Expression Find
Table 12.10 Regular Expression Examples ( continued)
Example
Type
Matching any character
This regular expression...
var.
Repeating expressions
Grouping expressions c.t
s*ion s+ion
...matches this text...
var1 var2 cut cot ion ssion sion ssion ris r is sag bag lag
Choosing one character from many ris r( i)s
[bls]ag
[[aeiou][0-9] [2 u9
[^bls]ag
Matching line beginnings and endings
[-ab]V
^([\t]*cout)
(l*;)$ rag aV -V cout
cout l;
;
...in this text sample:
cout << var1; cout << var2; cin >> cutF; cin >> cotG; information the session confusion the session surprise theVar is sagging bag lagged cout << a[2] << u9; sagging rag lagged aVal-Val; cout << "no tab";
cout <<
"tab"; a-ct; a = battLvl; b-ct;
Using the Find String in the Replace String
Use the & operator to incorporate matching text into a replacement string. The IDE substitutes the matching text for the & operator. Use \& to indicate a literal ampersand in the replacement string.
134 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
shows examples of using the find string in the replace string of regular
expressions.
.
Table 12.11 Find String, Replace String Examples
Find string
var[0-9] tgt
Replace string
my_&
\&target
Matching text
var1 tgt
After replacement
my_var1
&target
Remembering Sub-expressions
Use the \n construct to recall sub-expressions from the find string in the replacement string. The digit n ranges from 1 to 9 and represents the nth sub-expression in the find string, counting from left to right. Enclose each sub-expression in parentheses.
Consider these sample definitions:
• Find string: \#define[ \t]+(.+)[ \t]+([0-9]+);
• Replace string: const int \1 = \2;
• Sub-expression \1: (.+)
• Sub-expression \2: ([0-9]+)
These definitions show a replacement operation that recalls two sub-expressions. Table
shows the result of applying these sample definitions to some text.
Table 12.12 Remembering Sub-Expressions
Before replacement
\1 matches this text
#define var1 10; var1
#define a 100; a
\2 matches this text
10
100
After replacement
const int var1 = 10; const int a = 100;
Comparing Files and Folders
The IDE can compare files or folder contents and graphically show you the differences between them. You can perform these tasks:
• Compare two files.
• Compare the contents of two folders.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 135
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
You perform the comparison by specifying a source item and a destination item. You can apply or unapply the changes in the source item to the destination item.
Comparison Setup
You use the Compare Files Setup window to enter information about the files or folders
that you want to compare. Figure 12.9
shows the Compare Files Setup window. Table
Figure 12.9 Compare Files Setup Window
Table 12.13 Compare Files Setup Window Items
Item
Source box
Destination box
Case sensitive checkbox
Explanation
Click the Choose button to specify the source file or folder for the comparison, or drag and drop a file or folder into the box. Click the selector to the left of the Choose button to specify a file in an open editor window.
Click the Choose button to specify the destination file or folder for the comparison, or drag and drop a file or folder into the box. Click the selector to the left of the Choose button to specify a file in an open editor window.
Check to consider text case during the compare operation.
The comparison distinguishes between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
Clear to disregard text case during the compare operation.
The comparison does not distinguish between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case.
136 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
Table 12.13 Compare Files Setup Window Items ( continued)
Item
Ignore extra space checkbox
Only show different files checkbox
Compare text file contents checkbox
Compare button
Explanation
Check to consider extra spaces and tabs during the compare operation.
The comparison distinguishes differences in the number of spaces and tabs in the compared files.
Clear to disregard extra spaces and tabs during the compare operation.
The comparison does not distinguish differences in the number of spaces and tabs in the compared files.
Check to have the Folder Compare Results window show only the differences between the compared folders. The Files in Both Folders pane stays blank.
Clear to have the Folder Compare Results window show all files from the compared folders as well as the differences between those folders.
The Files in Both Folders pane shows the common files between the compared folders.
Check to identify differences in terms of a byte-by-byte comparison of the files.
Clear to identify differences in terms of only the sizes and modification dates of the files.
Click to compare the specified files or folders.
Choosing Files to Compare
Use the Compare Files command to specify two files that you want to compare.
1. Click Search > Compare Files.
The Compare Files Setup window appears.
2. Specify a source file for the comparison.
Click the Choose button in the Source box or drag and drop the file into the Source box. To specify a file in an open editor window, click the selector in the Source box.
3. Specify a destination file for the comparison.
Click the Choose button in the Destination box or drag and drop the file into the
Destination box. To specify a file in an open editor window, click the selector in the
Destination box.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 137
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
4. Configure the checkboxes in the Text Compare Options group.
Check the Case sensitive checkbox to distinguish between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case. Check the Ignore extra space checkbox to disregard extra spaces or tabs in the files.
5. Click the Compare button.
The IDE performs the file comparison. The File Compare Results window appears.
138
Choosing Folders to Compare
Follow these steps to specify two folders that you want to compare:
1. Click Search > Compare Files.
The Compare Files Setup window appears.
2. Specify a source folder for the comparison.
Click the Choose button in the Source box or drag and drop the folder into the Source box.
3. Specify a destination folder for the comparison.
Click the Choose button in the Destination box or drag and drop the folder into the
Destination box.
4. Configure the checkboxes in the Text Compare Options group.
These options apply to the files inside the compared folders. Check the
Case sensitive checkbox to distinguish between a capital letter and the same letter in lower case. Check the Ignore extra space checkbox to disregard extra spaces or tabs in the files.
5. Configure the checkboxes in the Folder Compare Options group.
These options apply to the contents of the compared folders. Check the
Only show different files checkbox to have the Folder Compare Results window show only the files that differ between the source folder and destination folder. Check this option to have the Files in Both Folders pane of the Folder Compare Results window stay blank.
Check the Compare text file contents checkbox to have the IDE perform a contentbased comparison of the text files in the compared folders. Check this option to have the Folder Compare Results window show differences in terms of file content instead of file sizes and modification dates.
6. Click the Compare button.
The IDE performs the folder comparison. The Folder Compare Results window appears.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
CAUTION
The compare operation ignores folders matching the criteria that you specify in the Shielded Folders preference panel.
File Comparison
The IDE file-comparison feature identifies additions, changes, and deletions between two text files. In addition, this feature allows you to apply the differences in the source file to the destination file.
You can also use this feature to merge changes between two versions of the same text file.
Specify one version of the text file as the source file and the other version of the text file as the destination file. Then you can apply changes from the source file to the destination file.
The destination file becomes the merged file.
After you use the Compare Files Setup window to specify two files for comparison, click the Compare button. The File Compare Results window appears. This window shows the differences between the source file and destination file. You can apply or unapply those differences to the destination file.
The File Compare Results window shows file differences in the form of highlighted portions of text. The highlighting tracks with the text as you scroll through the compared files.
shows the File Compare Results window. Table 12.14
explains the items in the window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 139
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
Figure 12.10 File Compare Results Window
Table 12.14 File Compare Results Window Items
Item
Source pane
Icon
N/A
Destination pane N/A
Pane resize bar
Explanation
Shows the contents of the source file.
You cannot edit the contents of this pane.
Shows the contents of the destination file.
You can edit the contents of this pane.
Drag to resize the Source and
Destination panes.
Apply button
Unapply button
Click to apply the selected Differences pane items to the destination file.
Click to unapply the selected Differences pane items from the destination file.
140 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
Table 12.14 File Compare Results Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Undo button
Explanation
Click to undo your last text edit in the
Destination pane.
Redo button
Differences pane
N/A
Click to redo your last text edit in the
Destination pane.
Shows the differences between the Source pane and the Destination pane. Select an item to highlight it in the Source and
Destination panes. Applied items appear in an italicized font
Applying File Differences
Use the Apply Difference command to apply the selected items in the Differences pane to the destination file.
NOTE
You cannot alter the source file. You can change the destination file by applying differences from the source file or by editing the contents of the
Destination pane.
1. Select the items in the Differences pane that you want to apply to the destination file.
2. Click Search > Apply Difference or click the Apply button in the File Compare
Results window.
The Destination pane updates to reflect the differences that you applied to the destination file. The applied items in the Differences pane change to an italicized font.
TIP
Use the Customize IDE Commands window to assign a key binding to the Apply
Difference command. This way, you can use the keyboard to apply differences.
Unapplying File Differences
Use the Unapply Difference command to unapply the selected items in the Differences pane from the destination file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 141
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
NOTE
You cannot alter the source file. You can change the destination file by unapplying differences from the source file or by editing the contents of the
Destination pane.
1. Select the items in the Differences pane that you want to unapply from the destination file.
Items that you can unapply appear in an italicized font.
2. Click Search > Unapply Difference or click the Unapply button in the File Compare
Results window.
The Destination pane updates to reflect the differences that you unapplied from the destination file. The unapplied items in the Differences pane no longer appear in an italicized font.
TIP
Use the Customize IDE Commands window to assign a key binding to the
Unapply Difference command. This way, you can use the keyboard to unapply differences.
Folder Comparison
The IDE folder-comparison feature identifies the differences between the contents of two folders. It reports the files in both folders, the files only in the source folder, and the files only in the destination folder.
You can also use this feature to analyze the differences between two different releases of a folder of software. Specify one release of the software folder as the source folder and the other release of the software folder as the destination folder. Then you can analyze the differences between the source and destination folders.
After you use the Compare Files Setup window to specify two folders for comparison, click the Compare button. The Folder Compare Results window appears and shows the differences between the source folder and destination folder.
The Folder Compare Results window shows folder differences in the form of three panes. Italicized items in these panes indicate non-text files.
shows the Folder Compare Results window. Table 12.15
in the window.
142 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 12.11 Folder Compare Results Window
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
Table 12.15 Folder Compare Results Window Items
Item
Pane Expand box
Pane
Collapse box
Pane resize bar
Icon Explanation
Click to enlarge the pane to fill the window.
Click to reduce an expanded pane to its original size.
Drag to resize the panes on either side of the bar.
Files in Both
Folders pane
N/A Shows the items that are in both the source folder and the destination folder. A bullet next to an item indicates that the item content differs between the two folders.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 143
Finding and Replacing Text
Comparing Files and Folders
Table 12.15 Folder Compare Results Window Items ( continued)
Item
Files Only in
Source pane
Files Only in
Destination pane
Selected item group
Icon
N/A
N/A
N/A
Explanation
Shows the items that are in the source folder only.
Shows the items that are in the destination folder only.
Shows file and difference information for the selected item in the window panes.
Examining Items in the Folder Compare Results Window
You can use the Folder Compare Results window to open text files and compare file differences.
Double-click a text file to view and change its contents in an editor window.
A file whose contents differ between the source and destination folders has a bullet next to its name. Double click the file to open a File Comparison Results window. Use this window to examine the differences between the file contents.
144 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Browser
This section contains these chapters:
•
•
•
•
IV
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 145
146 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
13
Using the Browser
This chapter explains how to work with the browser in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. Use the browser to perform these tasks:
• Generate a browser database—the browser stores collected symbol information in a browser database for the project. You can generate browser data from the compiler or the language parser.
• Collect symbol information—symbols include functions, variables, and objects.
Enable the browser to collect information about the symbols in a project.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for working with the browser.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
Browser Database
The browser database contains information about symbols in a program, which include
(depending on program language) global variables, functions, classes, and type declarations, among others.
Some IDE windows require that the project contain a browser database. For example, the
Class Hierarchy window only displays information for a project that contains a browser database. This section explains how to configure a project to generate its browser database.
NOTE
Generating a browser database increases the project’s size. To minimize the project’s size, generate the browser database only for targets you frequently use.
Browser Data
Browser data contains symbolic and relationship information about the project code. The browser uses this data to access the code information.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 147
Using the Browser
Browser Database
Use the Generate Browser Data From menu (
settings panel to enable and disable browser data generation. This drop-down menu provides these options, which determine how the IDE generates browser data:
• None—The IDE does not generate browser data. Use None to disable browser data.
Select None to generate faster compiles (with no browser features).
• Compiler—The Compiler generates the browser data. While it compiles more slowly, the compiler generates the most accurate browser data.
• Language Parser—The Code Completion plugin associated with the project’s programming language generates the browser data.
Figure 13.1 Generate Browser Data From Menu
148
Generating Browser Data
You can select an option in the Generate Browser Data From drop-down menu to establish what the IDE uses to generate browser data for a project file.
To generate browser data, follow these steps:
1. Choose Edit > Target Settings.
2. From the Target Settings Panels list, select Build Extras.
3. Choose Compiler or Language Parser from the Generate Browser Data From menu.
NOTE
Some compilers do not generate browser data.
a. Compiler—The compiler generates browser data and the following associated item appears.
If you enable Dump internal browse information after compile, the generated browser data appears in a log window after you compile a file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using the Browser
Browser Database b. Language Parser—The Code Completion plugin associated with the project’s programming language generates the browser data. Browser data and the #include pop-up window update as you edit.
NOTE
Choose Language Parser for C/C++ code completion.
The Prefix and Macro files (
) are applicable to C/C++ Code
Completion.
Figure 13.2 Generate Browser Data From Language Parser
• Prefix file—Similar to that used in the C/C++ Language Settings panel, the
Prefix file contains header files that help the C/C++ Code Completion plugin parse code. The Prefix file should only include text files (not pre-compiled header files).
• Macro file—Contains C/C++ macro files that help the Code Completion plugin resolve any #ifdefs found in the source code or in the header files.
4. If you selected Compiler, choose Project > Bring Up To Date or Make.
The IDE generates browser data for the project.
If you selected Language Parser, the IDE generates browser data in the background.
Disabling Browser Data
Select None to disable browser data and stop the IDE from generating browser information for the project.
1. Choose Edit > Target Settings.
2. Select Build Extras from the Target Settings Panels list.
3. In the Generate Browser Data From drop-down menu, select None.
4. Click Save.
5. Choose Project > Make.
The IDE stops generating browser information.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 149
Using the Browser
Browser Symbols
Browser Symbols
Navigate browser symbols to open browser views, find symbol definitions, and examine inheritance.
You can navigate browser symbols in these ways:
• Use the Browser contextual menu to open various browser windows for a selected symbol.
• Double-click a symbol name in the Class Browser window to open the file that contains the declaration of that symbol.
• Use the class hierarchy windows to determine the ancestors or descendants of a selected symbol.
Browser Contextual Menu
Use the IDE’s browser contextual menu to enhance source-code editing in the IDE. Use this menu to streamline text entry in editor windows. You can enter the first few letters of a function name, then use the browser contextual menu to complete the entry.
Using the Browser Contextual Menu
1. Open the browser contextual menu, as explained in
.
Table 13.1 Opening Browser Contextual Menu
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Right-click a symbol name.
Click and hold on a symbol name.
Click and hold on a symbol name.
Click and hold on a symbol name.
2. Select a command from the contextual menu.
150 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using the Browser
Browser Symbols
Identifying Symbols in Browser Database
As a shortcut, you can use browser coloring to help recognize if a symbol resides in the browser database. When you activate a browser, you can see browser-database symbols because they appear in the editor and browser windows according to the colors you select.
TIP
The default color setting is identical for all eight types of browser-database symbols. You can choose a different color for each symbol type.
To change the browser symbol colors the editor uses, follow these steps:
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Text Colors panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select the Activate Syntax Coloring option.
4. Select the Activate Browser Coloring option.
5. Click the color swatch next to the symbol name to set that symbol's color.
6. Click Save.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 151
Using the Browser
Browser Symbols
152 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
14
Using Class Browser
Windows
This chapter explains how to work with the Class Browser windows in the CodeWarrior™
IDE. Use the Class Browser to perform these tasks:
• View browser data—the class browser collects information about the elements of a computer program. Such elements include functions, variables, and classes. The class browser displays these elements in organized lists.
• Show data relationships—the class browser shows the relationships between classes, data members, and methods. The class browser also updates the display to reflect changes in class scope.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for working with Class Browser windows.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
•
•
Class Browser window
Use the Class Browser window to view information about the elements of a computer program. This section explains how to use the Class Browser window to view browser data.
shows the Class Browser window. Table 14.1
explains the items in the window.
explains the options in the Browser Access Filters list box.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 153
Using Class Browser Windows
Class Browser window
Figure 14.1 Class Browser Window
Table 14.1 Class Browser Window Items
Item
Go Back button
Icon
Go Forward button
Browser
Contents button
Class
Hierarchy button
Single Class
Hierarchy
Window button
154
Explanation
Click to return to the preceding browser view.
Click to move to the succeeding browser view.
Click to open the Browser Contents window.
Click to open the Multi-class Hierarchy window.
Click to open the Single-class Hierarchy window for the selected class.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Class Browser Windows
Class Browser window
Table 14.1 Class Browser Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Browser
Access Filters list box
Show Inherited
Display toggle buttons
Alphabetical
Explanation
Select filters for displaying items in class-browser panes.
Select to show inherited items in the
and
. Clear to hide inherited items from these panes.
Lists all classes in the project browser database.
Lists all member functions defined in the currently selected class.
Lists all data members defined in the selected class.
Displays source code for the currently selected item.
Displays various status messages and other information.
Toggles the Classes display between alphabetical and hierarchical listings.
Hierarchical
New Item button
Pane Expand box
Pane Collapse
Box
Classes Pane button
Class
Declaration button
Opens wizards to create new items
(e.g., classes, data members, member functions).
Expands the pane to the width of the full window.
Collapses the pane to its original size.
Lists all classes in the project browser database.
Opens a window that shows declarations for all classes in the project.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 155
Using Class Browser Windows
Class Browser window
Table 14.1 Class Browser Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Open File button
VCS list pop-up
Explanation
Opens the current source file in a new editor window.
With a version control system enabled, choose the version-control command to execute on the displayed source file.
Table 14.2 BrowserAccess Filters
Filter Icon
View as implementor
View as subclass
View as user
Show public
Show protected
Show private
•
•
•
•
Show items with this access:
Public Private Protected
• •
•
•
•
Viewing Class Data from Browser Contents Window
To view class data for a project in the Browser Contents window, follow these steps:
156 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Class Browser Windows
Class Browser window
1. Open the Browser Contents window, as explained in
Table 14.3 Opening Browser Contents Window
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select
View > Browser Contents
.
Select
Window > Browser Contents
.
Select
Window > Browser Contents
.
Select
Window > Browser Contents
.
2. Select a class in the Browser Contents window.
3. Open a contextual menu for the selected class, as explained in
.
Table 14.4 Opening Contextual Menu for Selected Class
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Right-click the selected class.
Control-click the selected class.
Click and hold on the selected class.
Click and hold on the selected class.
A contextual menu like the one shown in
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 157
Using Class Browser Windows
Class Browser window
Figure 14.2 Browser Contents Window, Contextual Menu
158
4. Select Open browser for class classname from the contextual menu.
The classname is the name of the class that you selected.
A Class Browser window appears.
Viewing Class Data from Hierarchy Windows
To view class data from a hierarchy window, follow these steps:
1. Open a Single-Hierarchy or Multi-Class Hierarchy window: a. Click the Single Class Hierarchy Window button or
in the browser toolbar, b. Click the Class Hierarchy button
in the browser toolbar.
2. In the Single- or Multi-Class Hierarchy window, double-click a class name.
A Class Browser window appears.
Expanding Browser Panes
Click the Pane Expand box (just above the scroll bar in the upper right-hand corner of the pane) to expand the Classes, Function Members, Data Members, or Source panes in a
Browser window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Class Browser Windows
Classes Pane
1. Click the Pane Expand box to expand a pane.
This pane expands to fill the Browser window.
2. Use the enlarged pane to view data.
Alternately, you can use the resize bar between the panes to enlarge each pane.
1. Rest the cursor over the resize bar.
The cursor icon changes to this:
2. Hold down the mouse button.
3. Drag the resize bar to enlarge or shrink the pane.
Collapsing Browser Panes
Click the Pane Collapse box (just above the scroll bar in the upper right-hand corner of the pane) to collapse the Classes, Function Members, Data Members, or Source panes in a
Browser window.
1. Click the Pane Collapse box to collapse a pane.
The chosen pane collapses to its original size.
2. You can now view other panes in a Browser window.
Alternately, you can use the resize bar between the panes to collapse each pane.
1. Rest the cursor over the resize bar.
The cursor icon changes to this:
2. Hold down the mouse button.
3. Drag the resize bar to collapse the pane.
Classes Pane
Use the Classes pane to perform these tasks:
• Create a new class
• Toggle viewing of classes
• Sort classes
shows the Classes pane. Table 14.5
the pane.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 159
Using Class Browser Windows
Classes Pane
Table 14.5 Classes Pane Items
Item
New Item
Icon Explanation
Click to create a new class using the New Class Wizard.
Sort
Alphabetical
Sort
Hierarchical
Click to sort the Classes list in alphabetical order.
Click to sort the Classes list in hierarchical order.
Creating a New Class
Use the New Class wizard to specify the name, declaration, and location for a new class.
Click Finish in any screen to apply default values to any remaining parameters and complete the process. The New Class wizard creates the files that define the class.
1. From the Classes pane, click the New Item button .
2. Enter the Name and Location in the New Class window.
3. To create a more complex class, click Next (optional).
Follow the on-screen directions to further define the class.
4. Click Finish to complete the New Class process.
Showing the Classes Pane
Use the Show Classes button to expand the Classes pane.
1. Click the Show Classes button:
2. The Classes pane appears in the Class Browser window.
Hiding the Classes Pane
Use the Hide Classes button to collapse the Classes pane.
160 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Class Browser Windows
Member Functions Pane
1. Click the Hide Classes button:
2. The Classes pane disappears from the Class Browser window.
Sorting the Classes List
Use the Sort Alphabetical and Sort Hierarchical commands to specify the sort order of classes in the Classes pane. The displayed icon always represents the alternate sort order.
For example, when the Classes list appears in alphabetical order, the Sort Hierarchical icon is visible.
• Click the Sort Alphabetical icon .
The IDE sorts the Classes list in alphabetical order.
• Click the Sort Hierarchical icon .
The IDE sorts the Classes list in hierarchical order.
Member Functions Pane
Use the Member Functions pane to perform these tasks:
• Create a new member function
• Determine the inheritance type of a member function
Table 14.6 Member Function, Data Member Identifier Icons
Icon Meaning
static
The member is…
a static member virtual pure virtual or abstract a virtual function that can be overridden, or an override of an inherited function a member function that must be overridden in a subclass to create instances of that subclass
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 161
Using Class Browser Windows
Data Members Pane
Creating a New Member Function
Use the New Member Function wizard to specify the name, return type, and parameters for a new member function. Click Finish in any screen to apply default values to any remaining parameters and complete the process.
1. Click the New Item button in the Member Functions pane.
2. Enter the Member Function Declarations in the New Member Function window.
3. Click Next.
4. Enter Member function file locations and Include Files information.
5. Click Finish.
6. Review the settings summary, then click Generate.
The IDE adds the new member function to the class declaration.
Data Members Pane
Use the Data Members pane to create a new data member. This section explains how to create the data member.
Click the New Item button in the Data Members pane to open the New Data Member wizard. See
for a complete list of identifier icons that appear in the Data
Members pane.
162
Creating a New Data Member
Use the New Data Member wizard to specify the name, type, and initializer for the new data member. Specify other options to further refine the data member. Click Finish in any screen to apply default values to any remaining parameters and complete the process.
1. From the Data Members pane, click the New Item button:
2. Enter the Data Member Declarations in the New Data Member window.
3. Click Next.
4. Enter Data Member file locations and #include files information.
5. Click Finish.
6. Review the settings summary, then click Generate.
The IDE adds the new data member to the class declaration.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Class Browser Windows
Source Pane
Source Pane
Use the Source pane to view the source code that corresponds to the selected class, member function, or data member. This section explains the items in the
Source pane.
shows the Source pane. Table 14.7
the pane.
For information on editing source code, see
Table 14.7 Source Pane Items
Icon Item
Open File
Explanation
Click to open the current source file in a new editor window.
VCS menu Enable a version-control system in order to activate this menu. Use this menu to select and execute a version-control command on the source file.
Status Area
Use the status area to perform these tasks:
• Toggle viewing of the Classes pane
• View class declarations
• View classes according to public, private, or protected access
shows the status area. Table 14.8
explains items in the status area.
Table 14.8 Status Area Items
Item
Show Classes Pane
Icon Explanation
Click to display the Classes pane in the Class
Browser window.
Hide Classes Pane Click to hide the Classes pane in the Class
Browser window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 163
Using Class Browser Windows
Status Area
Table 14.8 Status Area Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Class Declaration
Access Filter Display
Explanation
Click to show the declaration of the current class.
Displays the access state of the current class.
164 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
15
Using Other Browser
Windows
This chapter explains how to work with the Class Hierarchy windows in the
CodeWarrior™ IDE. Use Class Hierarchy windows to perform these tasks:
• View hierarchical browser data—the class hierarchy window shows a graphical representation of hierarchical structure. Object-oriented languages, such as C++ and
Java, allow hierarchical relationships between classes.
• Analyze inheritance structure—the class hierarchy window shows the inheritance structure of classes. This structure reveals the data-handling capabilities of a particular class.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for working with Class Hierarchy windows.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
Multiple-Class Hierarchy Window
•
•
•
Multiple-Class Hierarchy Window
Use the Multi-Class Hierarchy window to visually examine the structure of every class in the browser database. Each class name appears in a box, and lines connect boxes to indicate related classes. The left-most box is the base class, and subclasses appear to the right.
shows the Multi-Class Hierarchy window. Table 15.1
explains the items in the window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 165
Using Other Browser Windows
Multiple-Class Hierarchy Window
Figure 15.1 Multi-Class Hierarchy Window
Table 15.1 Multi-Class Hierarchy Window Items
Icon Item
Hierarchy Control
Explanation
Click to expand or collapse the subclasses displayed for a specific class.
Ancestor menu Click and hold on class or subclass box to display a menu. Select a class from menu to display that class.
Line button Click to toggle the lines that connect classes between diagonal and straight lines.
Viewing Browser Data by Inheritance
Use a Hierarchy window to view data in graphical form and better understand class relationships. Use the expand and collapse arrows to enlarge or shrink the class views.
166 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Other Browser Windows
Multiple-Class Hierarchy Window
1. Activate the browser.
2. Update the browser database by using the Bring Up To Date, Make, Run, or Debug command.
3. Open a graphical Hierarchy window, as explained in Table 15.2
.
Table 15.2 Opening Hierarchy Window
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select View > Class Hierarchy
Select Window > Class Hierarchy
Select Window > Class Hierarchy
Select Window > Class Hierarchy Window
Printing Class Hierarchies
To print the contents of a Class Hierarchy window, save an image of the window contents, then print the image file from a graphics-processing application.
The IDE saves the image in a graphics-file format based on the host platform, as shown in
.
Table 15.3 Host Platform Graphics-File Formats
Host
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Graphics-File Format
EMF (Enhanced Metafile)
PICT (Picture)
PICT (Picture)
PICT (Picture)
1. Open the Class Hierarchy window.
2. Choose File > Save a Copy As.
3. Save the image to a file.
4. Open the image file in an graphics-processing application.
5. Print the image file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 167
Using Other Browser Windows
Single-Class Hierarchy Window
The graphics-processing application prints the image of the class hierarchy.
Changing Line Views in a Hierarchical Window
Use the Diagonal Line and Straight Line commands to change the appearance of the connecting lines between classes and subclasses in a hierarchical window display.
• Click the Diagonal Line icon .
The Hierarchical window display updates to use diagonal lines.
• Click the Straight Line icon .
The Hierarchical window display updates to use straight lines.
Single-Class Hierarchy Window
Use the Single-Class Hierarchy window to examine the structure of a single class in the browser database. The Single-Class Hierarchy window operates identically to the Multi-
Class Hierarchy window, but restricts the display to a single class.
The Single-Class Hierarchy window contains the same components as the Multi-Class
Hierarchy window.
168 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 15.2 Single-Class Hierarchy Window
Using Other Browser Windows
Browser Contents window
Opening a Single-Class Hierarchical window
Use one of these methods to open a Single-Class Hierarchical window:
• Click the Show Single-Class Hierarchy icon in a Browser toolbar.
• Use the Browser Contextual menu in one of these windows:
– New Class Browser window
– Browser Contents window
– Multi-Class Hierarchical window
A Single-Class Hierarchical window appears
Browser Contents window
Use the Browser Contents window to view browser data sorted by category into an alphabetical list. This section explains how to use the Browser Contents window to view browser data.
shows the Browser Contents window. Table 15.4
explains the items in the window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 169
Using Other Browser Windows
Browser Contents window
Figure 15.3 Browser Contents Window
Table 15.4 Browser Contents Window Items
Item
Symbols list box
Icon
Symbols list
170
Explanation
Select the type of symbol to display in the Symbols list.
Double-click a symbol name to display the source file in a new editor window that defines the symbol.
Viewing Browser Data by Contents
Use the Browser Contents window to display symbol information stored in the browser database, listed in alphabetical order. You can choose from these categories:
• classes
• constants
• enumerations
• functions
• global variables
• macros
• function templates
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Other Browser Windows
Symbols Window
• type definitions
1. Activate the browser.
2. Use the Bring Up To Date, Make, Run, or Debug command to update the browser database.
3. Open the Browser Contents window, as explained in Table 15.5
Table 15.5 Opening Browser Contents Window
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select
View > Browser Contents
Select
Window > Browser Contents
Select
Window > Browser Contents
Select
Window > Browser Contents
4. Select a category from the Category list pop-up.
The symbol information for the selected category appears in alphabetical order in the
Symbols list.
Symbols Window
The Symbols window displays information from project browser databases. With the browser enabled, the IDE generates a browser database for a project during the build process.
The Symbols window displays symbols that have multiple definitions in the browser database. For example, the window displays information about multiple versions of overridden functions in object-oriented code.
explains the items in the window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 171
Using Other Browser Windows
Symbols Window
Figure 15.4 Symbols Window
Table 15.6 Symbols Window Items
Item
Explanation
Provides one-click access to common browser commands and class-filtering commands.
Displays a list of all symbols with multiple declarations.
Displays the source code for the currently selected item.
Opening the Symbols Window
Use the Symbols window to list all implementations, whether overridden or not, of any symbol that has multiple definitions. You can access the Symbols window by using a contextual menu.
172 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Other Browser Windows
Symbols Window
1. Open a contextual menu, as explained in Table 15.7
.
Table 15.7 Opening Symbols Window
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Right-click the symbol name.
Control-click the symbol name.
Click and hold on the symbol name.
Click and hold on the symbol name.
2. Select Find all implementations of from the contextual menu that appears.
3. The Symbols window opens.
Symbols toolbar
Most of the Symbol toolbar items are identical to those in the
Symbols pane
The Symbols pane lists symbols with multiple definitions in the browser database. Select a symbol from the list to view its definition in the Source pane.
Source pane
The Source pane used in the Symbols window is identical to the one used by the Class
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 173
Using Other Browser Windows
Symbols Window
174 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
16
Using Browser Wizards
When you create a new class, member function, or data member in the IDE, you use browser wizards. These wizards provide the steps to help you complete the process.
This chapter provides information on these wizards:
•
•
The New Member Function Wizard
•
NOTE
Most wizard pages contain default settings. To accept all current settings in the wizard, click Finish in any screen. The wizard displays a summary of all current settings for the new project. Click Generate to accept the current settings and create the new item, or click Cancel to return to the wizard to modify settings.
New Class Wizard
shows the New Class wizard Name and Location page. Use this page to
specify the name, declaration, and location for a new class. Click Finish in any screen to apply default values to remaining parameters to complete the process. The New Class wizard creates the files that define the class.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 175
Using Browser Wizards
New Class Wizard
Figure 16.1 New Class Wizard Name, Location
Using the New Class Wizard
To use the New Class Wizard, follow these steps:
1. Open the Class Browser window, as Table 16.1
Table 16.1 Opening Class Browser Window
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Select View > Class Browser
Select Window > Class Browser
Select Window > New Class Browser
Select Window > New Class Browse
r
2. Select Browser > New Class.
176 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Browser Wizards
New Class Wizard
NOTE
You can also click the New Item icon create a new class.
in the Class Browser window to
3. In the New C++ Class wizard, enter Name and Location information: a. Class Name—Enter a name for the class in this field.
b. Declaration File—This menu lets you specify whether the file is a New File, which is a new declaration file, or Relative to class, which is a declaration that depends on an existing file in the project.
If you choose the New File option, type in the path where you want to save the file.
Alternatively, click Set next to the field to choose the path in which to save the file.
If you choose the Relative to class option, select Before or After to establish the order of the new class in relation to existing classes. In the field next to the Before and After drop-down selection, type the name of the class you want to relate to the new class. Alternatively, click Set next to this field, type the name of a class in the window that opens, and then click Select.
NOTE
If you want to use a separate file to define the members of the new class, type the path to the separate file in the field below the Use separate file for
member definitions checkbox. Alternatively, choose Existing to use a standard dialog box to select the file. To create a new, separate file, choose
New and save the new file to a location on your hard disk.
4. Click Next. The Base Classes and Methods page (
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 177
Using Browser Wizards
New Class Wizard
Figure 16.2 New Class Wizard Base Class, Methods
178
5. Enter Base Classes and Methods information.
Enter a list of base classes for the new class: a. Access—From this drop-down menu, choose an access type, Public, Protected, or
Private, for the constructor and destructor.
b. Constructor parameters—Enter a list of parameters for the constructor.
c. Virtual destructor—Click this checkbox to create a virtual destructor for the new class.
d. As an option, you can enter the required namespaces for the base classes and the constructor parameters in the field labeled Namespaces required for the base
classes and constructor parameters.
Or,
If needed, you can specify the base classes and constructor parameters.
6. Click Next. The Include Files page ( Figure 16.3
) appears.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 16.3 New Class Wizard Include Files
Using Browser Wizards
New Class Wizard
7. Enter Include Files information.
Specify additional header #include files for the new class: a. Include files that will automatically be added for base classes—This field shows you a list of #include files that the IDE automatically adds to find the base classes.
b. Additional header include files—Enter a list of other include files for the new class in addition to those in the previous field. Separate each file in the list with a comma.
8. Click Next. The Targets page (
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 179
Using Browser Wizards
The New Member Function Wizard
Figure 16.4 New Class Wizard Targets
9. Enter Targets information:
Select the checkbox next to the build target’s name in the list to add the class files to a specific build target.
10. Click Finish.
Review the settings summary.
11. Click Generate.
The New Member Function Wizard
shows the New Member Function wizard Member Function Declaration
page. Use this page to specify the name, return type, and parameters for a new member function. Enter additional information in the wizard fields to refine the function definition.
180 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 16.5 New Member Function Wizard
Using Browser Wizards
The New Member Function Wizard
Using the New Member Function Wizard
To use the New Member Function wizard, follow these steps:
1. Open the Class Browser window, as Table 16.2
Table 16.2 Opening Class Browser Window
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Select View > Class Browser
Select Window > Class Browser
Select Window > New Class Browser
Select Window > New Class Browser
2. Select Browser > New Member Function.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 181
Using Browser Wizards
The New Member Function Wizard
3. In the New C++ Member Function window, enter the Member Function
Declaration.
a. Name—Type a name for the member function.
b. Return Type—Enter an appropriate function return type.
c. Parameters—Type a list of function parameters.
d. Namespaces required for parameters (optional)—Type a list of namespaces required for parameters.
4. Click Next. The File Locations page (
Figure 16.6 New Member Function Wizard File Locations
182
5. Enter Member Function File Locations and Include Files information.
6. Click Finish.
7. Review settings summary, then click Generate.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Using Browser Wizards
The New Data Member Wizard
The New Data Member Wizard
shows the New Data Member wizard Declaration page. Use this page to
define the new data-member declaration, and to specify new data member file locations.
The wizard offers additional options to further define the function.
Figure 16.7 New Data Member wizard
Using the New Data Member Wizard
To use the New Data Member wizard, follow these steps:
1. Open the Class Browser window, as Table 16.3
Table 16.3 Opening Class Browser Window
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Do this...
Select View > Class Browser
Select Window > Class Browser
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 183
Using Browser Wizards
The New Data Member Wizard
Table 16.3 Opening Class Browser Window ( continued)
On this host...
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Select Window > New Class Browser
Select Window > New Class Browser
2. Select Browser > New Data Member.
3. In the New C++ Data Member window, enter the Name, Type, Namespaces
required for type (optional), Initializer, and Modifiers.
a. Name—Type a name for the data member in this field.
b. Type—Enter an appropriate data-member type in this field.
c. Namespaces required for type (optional)—(Optional) Enter a list of namespaces required for the type in the Type field. A sample namespace is std.
d. Initializer—(Optional) Enter an initial value for the data member in this field.
Sample initializers are 100 and inConstructorParameterName.
e. Modifiers—Select the access level and type for the new data member.
4. Click Next. The File Locations page appears.
5. Specify Data Member File Locations.
This section lets you specify file locations associated with the new member functions, including these fields: Declaration, Definition, Include file automatically added for
member type, and Additional header include files.
a. Declaration—This field shows you the data member’s declaration file location. b. Definition—This field is not available in this wizard.
c. Include file automatically added for member type—This field indicates whether an include file will be automatically added for the data-member type.
d. Additional header include files—Enter in this field a list of other include files for the new data member, in addition to the file listed in the previous field. Example files are <string> and YourHeader.h.
6. Click Finish.
7. Review settings summary, then click Generate.
184 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Debugger
This section contains these chapters:
•
•
Manipulating Program Execution
•
•
•
•
•
V
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 185
186 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
17
Working with the Debugger
This chapter explains how to work with the debugger in the CodeWarrior™ IDE to control program execution. The main component of the debugger is the Thread window, which shows these items:
• Common debugging controls—step, kill, start, and stop program execution
• Variable information—see the variables in the executing code, their values, and their addresses
• Source code—see the source code under debugger control
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
About the Debugger
A debugger controls program execution and shows the internal operation of a computer program. Use the debugger to find problems while the program executes. Also use the debugger to observe how a program uses memory to complete tasks.
The CodeWarrior debugger provides these levels of control over a computer program:
• Execution of one statement at a time
• Suspension of execution after reaching a specific point in the program
• Suspension of execution after changing a specified memory value
After the debugger suspends program execution, use various windows to perform these tasks:
• View the function-call chain
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 187
Working with the Debugger
About Symbolics Files
• Manipulate variable values
• View register values in the computer processor
About Symbolics Files
A symbolics file contains debugging information that the IDE generates for a computer program. The debugger uses this information to control program execution. For example, the debugger uses the symbolics file to find the source code that corresponds to the executing object code of the computer program.
Symbolics files contain this information:
• Routine names
• Variables names
• Variable locations in source code
• Variable locations in object code
The IDE supports several types of symbolics files. Some programs generate separate symbolic files, while others do not. For example, when you use CodeView on Windows, the IDE places the symbolics file inside the generated binary file.
Thread Window
The debugger suspends execution of processes in a computer program. The Thread window displays information about a suspended process during a debug session.
Use the Thread window to perform these tasks:
• View the call chain for a routine
• View routine variables, both local and global
• View a routine in terms of its source code, assembly code, or a mix of both types of code
explains the items in the window.
188 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 17.1 Thread Window
Working with the Debugger
Thread Window
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 189
Working with the Debugger
Thread Window
Table 17.1 Thread Window Items
Item
Debug / Run
/ Resume button
Icon
Stop button
Kill button
Step Over button
Step Into button
Step Out button
Breakpoints button
Expressions button
Symbolics button
Pane
Expand box
Pane
Collapse box
190
Explanation
Click to perform these tasks:
• Continue execution up to the next breakpoint, watchpoint, or eventpoint
• Run the program until it exits
• Continue execution of a currently stopped program
Click to stop (pause) program execution.
Click to terminate program execution and close the Thread window.
Click to execute the current line, including any routines, and proceed to the next statement.
Click to execute the current line, following execution inside a routine.
Click to continue execution to the end of the current routine, then follow execution to the routine’s caller.
Click to open the Breakpoints window.
Click to open the Expressions window.
Click to open the Symbolics window.
Click to enlarge the pane to fill the window.
Click to reduce an expanded pane to its original size.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with the Debugger
Thread Window
Table 17.1 Thread Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Pane resize bar
Stack pane
Variables pane
Variables
Pane Listing button
Explanation
Drag to resize the panes on either side of the bar.
Shows the current routine calling chain, with the most current routine name at the bottom
Shows local and global variables that the current routine uses.
Click this icon to switch among these display states:
• All—show all local and global variables in the code
• Auto—show only the local variables of the routine pointed to by the current-statement arrow
• None—show no variables. Use this display state to improve stepping performance for slow remote connections
Click to show or hide the Source pane.
Source pane disclosure triangle
Source pane
Source File button
Currentstatement arrow
Dash
Shows the executing source code. This pane operates the same way as an editor window, however, you cannot edit the contents of the pane or use pane-splitter controls.
Click to edit the contents of the Source pane in an editor window.
Points to statement that debugger will execute next.
Appears to left of each line at which you can set a breakpoint or eventpoint. Click the dash to set a breakpoint on that line.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 191
Working with the Debugger
Common Debugging Actions
Table 17.1 Thread Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Functions list box
Line and
Column button
Source list box
Explanation
Click to show a list of functions declared in the file. Select a function to highlight it in the
Source pane.
Shows the current line and column number of the text-insertion cursor. Click to specify a line to show in the Source pane.
Click to specify how to display source code in the Source pane:
• Source—programming-language statements appear exclusively in the pane
• Assembler—assembly-language instructions appear exclusively in the pane
• Mixed—each programminglanguage statement shows its corresponding assemblylanguage instructions
Common Debugging Actions
This section explains how to perform common debugging actions that correct source-code errors, control program execution, and observe memory behavior:
• Start the debugger
• Step into, out of, or over routines
• Stop, resume, or kill program execution
• Run the program
• Restart the debugger
192
Starting the Debugger
Use the Debug command to begin a debugging session. The debugger takes control of program execution, starting at the main entry point of the program.
Select Project > Debug or click the Debug button (shown at left) to start the debugger.
After you start the debugging session, the IDE opens a new Thread window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with the Debugger
Common Debugging Actions
NOTE
Some projects require additional configuration before the debugging session can begin. The IDE might prompt you for permission to perform this configuration automatically.
Stepping Into a Routine
Use the Step Into command to execute one source-code statement at a time and follow execution into a routine call.
Select Debug > Step Into or click the Step Into button to step into a routine.
After the debugger executes the source-code statement, the current-statement arrow moves to the next statement determined by these rules:
• If the executed statement did not call a routine, the current-statement arrow moves to the next statement in the source code.
• If the executed statement called a routine, the current-statement arrow moves to the first statement in the called routine.
• If the executed statement is the last statement in a called routine, the currentstatement arrow moves to the statement that follows the calling routine.
Stepping Out of a Routine
Use the Step Out command to execute the rest of the current routine and stop program execution after the routine returns to its caller. This command causes execution to return up the calling chain.
Select Debug > Step Out or click the Step Out button to step out of a routine.
The current routine executes and returns to its caller, then program execution stops.
Stepping Over a Routine
Use the Step Over command to execute the current statement and advance to the next statement in the source code. If the current statement is a routine call, program execution continues until reaching one of these points:
• the end of the called routine
• a breakpoint
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 193
Working with the Debugger
Common Debugging Actions
• a watchpoint
• an eventpoint that stops execution
Select Debug > Step Over or click the Step Over button to step over a routine.
The current statement or routine executes, then program execution stops.
Stopping Program Execution
Use the Break or Stop command to suspend program execution during a debugging session.
Select Debug > Break, Debug > Stop, or click the Stop button to stop program execution.
The operating system surrenders control to the debugger, which stops program execution.
Resuming Program Execution
Use the Resume command to continue executing a suspended debugging session. If the debugging session is already active, use this command to switch view from the Thread window to the executing program.
Select Project > Resume or click the Debug button to resume program execution.
The suspended session resumes, or the view changes to the running program.
NOTE
The Resume command appears only for those platforms that support it. If your platform does not support this command, you must stop the current debugging session and start a new session.
194
Killing Program Execution
Use the Kill command to completely terminate program execution and end the debugging session. This behavior differs from stopping a program, as stopping temporarily suspends execution.
Select Debug > Kill or click the Kill button to kill program execution.
The debugger terminates program execution and ends the debugging session.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with the Debugger
Symbol Hint
Running a Program
Use the Run command to execute a program normally, without debugger control.
Select Project > Run or click the Run button to begin program execution.
The debugger does not control program execution as the program runs.
Restarting the Debugger
Use the Restart command after stopping program execution. The debugger goes back to the beginning of the program and begins execution again. This behavior is equivalent to killing execution, then starting a new debugging session.
Select Debug > Restart to restart the debugger.
Symbol Hint
The symbol hint shows information about variable values. This information appears
automatically while the debugger is active. Figure 17.2
shows such a symbol hint.
Select the
Show variable values in source code
preference panel to use the symbol hint.
Figure 17.2 Symbol Hint
The symbol hint shows the current variable
Toggling the Symbol Hint
Turn on the symbol hint to view information about program variables in source views.
1. Click Edit > Preferences.
The IDE Preferences window appears.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 195
Working with the Debugger
Contextual Menus
2. Select Display Settings in the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Check or clear the Show variable values in source code checkbox.
Check the checkbox to use the symbol hint. Clear the checkbox to stop using the symbol hint.
4. Click Apply or Save to confirm your changes to the preference panel.
5. Close the IDE Preferences window.
Using the Symbol Hint
During a debugging session, use the symbol hint to view information about program variables.
To use the symbol hint, rest the cursor over a variable in a source view. After a brief pause, the symbol hint appears and shows the current variable value.
Contextual Menus
Contextual menus provide shortcuts to frequently used menu commands. The available menu commands change, based on the context of the selected item.
Sample uses of contextual menus for debugging include:
• changing the format of variables displayed in variable panes
• manipulating breakpoints and the program counter in source panes
• viewing memory in separate windows
TIP
Experiment using the contextual menu in various IDE windows to discover additional features.
shows a sample contextual menu in a source view.
196 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 17.3 Contextual menus
Working with the Debugger
Multi-Core Debugging
Using Contextual Menus
Use contextual menus to apply context-specific commands to selected items. Right-click,
Control-click, or click and hold on an item to open a contextual menu for that item. The contextual menu appears, displaying menu commands applicable to the selected item.
Multi-Core Debugging
The IDE allows simultaneous debugging of multiple projects. This feature provides multicore debugging capability for some embedded processors. By configuring each project to operate on a single core, the IDE can debug multiple cores by debugging multiple projects.
Configuring multi-core debugging involves these tasks:
• configuring specific target settings for each project
• for some cores, specifying a configuration file for initializing multi-core debugging
For more information, see the Targeting documentation.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 197
Working with the Debugger
Data Viewer Plugins
Data Viewer Plugins
Data Viewers are plugins that include an user interface to show a custom view of data.
These plugins are often platform specific. Data editors are data viewers that also let you modify and write data.
The IDE will keep a registry of plugins that can view particular types. The plugins will register themselves with the IDE and indicate which formats and platforms they support.
When a variable or memory address is selected, you can choose the plugin from the Data menu.
A Data Viewer plugin may also designed without a custom user interface. This type of viewer would override the built in debugger methods of showing a variable value as text and parsing an edited value back into variable data.
External Builds Support
The IDE performs these tasks on external makefiles:
• Build
• Debug
• File Management in Project Manager window
• Source Browsing
• Error Lookup
The IDE can build an external makefile and debug its output. A linker plugin will enable the IDE to manage a command line and targets associated with a makefile. The command line is executed when a build step is initiated. The linker plugin will also supply the executable to use for debugging.
The linker plugin will provide a preference panel named External Build that is used to configure a target. The preference panel provides text fields for you to configure the command line for the target (which will enable building), specify the working directory and the output file used to launch a debugging session, and the debug platform.
The linker plugin is generic so that it can be used regardless of the target CPU and OS.
The list of available debugger preference panels will be updated by the IDE when you select the debug platform.
shows the External Build Target preference panel.
198 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 17.4 External Build Target Panel
Working with the Debugger
External Builds Support
Use this panel to enter the following information:
• Build command line to be executed in the build step
The command line will be sent to the OS shell and will contain all parameters and/or switches that are necessary for proper building of the make file.
• Build directory in which command line will be executed.
• Output file name—Executable to be launched in the debug step. The file will be relative to the output directory specified in the Target Settings preference panel.
• Debug platform—The debugger platform represents the combination of OS and CPU that your build is targeting. “Unspecified/Remote debugging” is the default, which indicates you have not specified a debug platform. In most cases, not specifying a platform will result in not being able to debug. However, some platforms may allow debugging if no additional debugger preference panel is used. If only one platform entry exists with the “Unspecified” option, then it will become the default entry.
After the IDE converts the makefile into a CodeWarrior project, source files can be added in the project manager window. Files that appear in the project manager will be parsed by the language parser and will supply Source Browsing information, such as code completion.
When a build step is initiated, the linker plugin will gather output after the command line begins executing. Output is directed to the IDE and displayed in a read-only Build Output
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 199
Working with the Debugger
External Builds Support
Window. A build output window, such as
, is displayed for each target. The
build output window can be displayed manually by selecting the menu command View >
Build Output (Windows) or Window > Build Output (Linux/Solaris/Mac). This command is enabled for targets that use the external build linker.
Figure 17.5 Build Output Window
200
If multiple build steps are performed on the same target, the output from each build step will be appended to the build output window. Each block of output will be separated by “-
---Build started----” and “----Done----” tags.
The build output window will allow users to navigate directly to the location of a compilation error. Double-click a line that contains an error message or press Enter when the cursor is in the line. If the IDE determines that a valid error message exists on the selected line, the source file is opened to the line on which the error occurred.
Click the right mouse button in the build output window to display a context menu.
• The Copy command will copy selected text to the clipboard. If no text is selected then the line that contains the cursor will be copied.
• The Clear All command will clear contents of output window.
• The Go To Error command will navigate to the error location. This is identical to double-clicking.
External Build Wizard
show the two pages of the External Build wizard. This wizard
prompts you for project-creation information based on external make files. The wizard collects data about the make file and creates a CodeWarrior project with a single target.
The target is then configured to build the user-specified make file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with the Debugger
External Builds Support
The wizard can be launched by selecting File > New... and selecting External Build
Wizard. The New... dialog will collect the name and location of the project before launching the wizard.
Figure 17.6 External Build Wizard Page 1
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 201
Working with the Debugger
External Builds Support
Figure 17.7 External Build Wizard Page 2
202
If the Output filename entry is blank, you can still finish the wizard, but no debugging can be done until you enter an output file in the External Build target panel. You can also finish the wizard if the Debug platform choice is set to “Unspecified”. Although, no debugging can be performed until you specify a debug platform in the External Build target panel.
Completing the wizard will generate a new CodeWarrior IDE project and configure it for use with the external make file. The wizard will automate these tasks:
• Create project with single target named “External makefile”
• Set Linker to external make file linker
• Define settings in External Build target panel based on data collected from wizard
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
18
Manipulating Program
Execution
This chapter explains how to use breakpoints, watchpoints, and eventpoints to manipulate execution of your program in the CodeWarrior™ IDE:
• Breakpoints—halt program execution on a line of source code that you specify. You can set a breakpoint that always halts program execution, or you can set a breakpoint that halts program execution if a condition that you specify is true.
• Eventpoints—perform a task during program execution on a line of source code that you specify. Eventpoints can play sounds, run scripts, log data, and perform other operations.
• Watchpoints—halt program execution after a location in memory is accessed
• Special breakpoints—these internal breakpoints halt program execution in special cases, such as halting program execution at the main() function or for a C++ exception.
After you set these items in your source code, you start a debugging session to use them.
As program execution arrives at each of these items, the debugger can halt execution, perform a task, or update data.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
Breakpoints
You use breakpoints to halt program execution on a specific line of source code. After you set a breakpoint at a key point in the program, you can halt its execution, examine its current state, and check register and variable values. You can also change values and alter the flow of normal program execution. Setting breakpoints helps you debug your program and verify its efficiency.
You can use these types of breakpoints:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 203
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
• regular breakpoints—halt program execution
• conditional breakpoints—halt program execution after meeting a condition that you specify
• temporary breakpoints—halt program execution and then remove the breakpoint that caused the halt
You can also create breakpoint templates to simplify the process of setting complex breakpoints. A breakpoint template has all the properties of a breakpoint, except for its location in source code. After you define a breakpoint template, you can have the debugger use the template as the basis for each breakpoint you set in your source code.
Breakpoints have enabled and disabled states. Table 18.1
explains these states.
Table 18.1 Breakpoint States
State
Enabled
Icon
Disabled
Explanation
Indicates that the breakpoint is currently enabled. The debugger halts program execution at an enabled breakpoint. Click the icon to disable the breakpoint.
Indicates that the breakpoint is currently disabled. The debugger does not halt program execution at a disabled breakpoint. Click the icon to enable the breakpoint.
Breakpoints Window
Use the Breakpoints window to set breakpoints. Figure 18.1
explains items in the window.
You can change the sort order of items in the Breakpoints window by clicking the column titles. Click the sort order button next to the rightmost column title to toggle between ascending and descending sort order.
204 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 18.1 Breakpoints Window
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
Click an icon in this column to disable or enable a group
Click an icon in this column to disable or enable the Condition associated with the item.
Shows projects that the item affects (when it affects more than one project).
Table 18.2 Breakpoints Window Items
Icon Item
Create
Breakpoint
Template
Create
Breakpoint
Group
Explanation
Click to create a new breakpoint template in the Templates page.
You can create complex breakpoints based on properties you define in the breakpoint template.
Click to create a new group in the Groups page of the Breakpoints window.
Clicking this button is equivalent to clicking Breakpoints > Create
Breakpoint Group.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 205
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
Table 18.2 Breakpoints Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Set Default
Breakpoint
Template
Rename
Breakpoint
Breakpoint
Properties
Groups tab
Instances tab
Templates tab
Explanation
Click to designate the selected item in the
Templates page as the default breakpoint template. The debugger uses this template as the basis for creating new breakpoints.
Clicking this button is equivalent to clicking Breakpoints > Set Default
Breakpoint Template with the
Breakpoints window frontmost.
Click to rename the selected item in the
Breakpoints window.
Clicking this button is equivalent to clicking Breakpoints > Rename
Breakpoint with the Breakpoints window frontmost.
Click to view more information about the selected breakpoint, such as name, associated condition, and number of hits during execution.
Clicking this button is equivalent to clicking Breakpoints > Breakpoint
Properties with the Breakpoints window frontmost.
Click to display the Groups page. This page lets you work with breakpoints, eventpoints, watchpoints, and internal breakpoints.
Click to display the Instances page. This page lets you set breakpoints, eventpoints, and watchpoints on a perthread or per-process basis.
Click to display the Templates page. This page lets you define breakpoint templates and specify a default breakpoint template.
206 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
Table 18.2 Breakpoints Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Active
Inactive
Explanation
These items affect program execution.
Click the icon to make inactive.
These items do not affect program execution. Click the icon to make active.
Opening the Breakpoints Window
Use the Breakpoints window to view a list of breakpoints currently set in your projects.
To open the Breakpoints window, click View > Breakpoints or Window > Breakpoints
Window.
NOTE
Double-click a breakpoint in the Breakpoints window to display its associated source-code line in an editor window.
Saving the Contents of the Breakpoints Window
You can save the contents of the Breakpoints window. This feature is useful for saving sets of breakpoint data, then later re-opening those sets.
To save contents of the Breakpoints window, click File > Save or File > Save As.
Clicking File > Save As lets you specify the name and path to save the file that stores the contents.
Working with Breakpoints
This section explains how to work with breakpoints in your source code and in the
Breakpoints window.
Setting a Breakpoint
Use the Set Breakpoint command to set a breakpoint. A regular breakpoint suspends program execution. The debugger does not execute the line of source code that contains the regular breakpoint.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 207
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
The default breakpoint template in the Templates page of the Breakpoints window determines the type of breakpoint that the debugger sets. The Auto Breakpoint default breakpoint template defines a breakpoint that halts program execution at a line of source code. You can change the default breakpoint template to a breakpoint template that you specify.
shows some source code and the Breakpoints column to the left of the source
code. Breakpoint icons appear in this column.
Figure 18.2 Setting Breakpoints
Breakpoints column
208
Click the dash icon to set an active breakpoint at this line.
To set a breakpoint at a line of source code, click the Breakpoints column next to that line.
The active breakpoint icon appears in the column. After you debug the project, the debugger halts program execution at the line that has the active breakpoint icon.
TIP
You can also set a breakpoint for selected results in the Search Results window and for selected items in the Symbolics window.
If you debug your project first, dash icons appear in the Breakpoints column next to source-code lines at which you can set breakpoints. Click a dash icon to set a breakpoint at that line. The dash changes to an active breakpoint icon.
NOTE
Setting a breakpoint in a file affects execution of all build targets that include that file.
Viewing Breakpoint Properties
After you set a breakpoint, you can view and modify its properties. Table 18.3
breakpoint properties.
To view properties for a breakpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window and click
Breakpoints > Breakpoint Properties.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
Table 18.3 Breakpoint properties
Property
Breakpoint Type
Serial number
Condition
Hit Count
File-Info
Name
Original Process
Original-Target
Times Hit
Times Left
Thread
Hardware
Explanation
The type of item, such as Auto Breakpoint.
The non-persistent serial number that uniquely identifies the item in the IDE. Use this number to identify the item in scripting languages.
This number is not the same number that the debugger plugins use to identify the item.
The conditional expression associated with the item. This conditional expression must evaluate to true in order for the item to perform its specified action.
Displays the number of times that program execution arrived at the breakpoint before the program stopped.
The path to the file that contains the item.
The name of the item, which appears in the Breakpoints window.
The IDE creates a default name based on the item properties, but you can change this name to a more meaningful one. Use this name to identify the item in scripting languages.
The persistent identifier for the active process at the time you set the item. If information about the active process was not available at the time you set the item, this identifier shows the process at the time the item affected program execution.
The path to the build target that contains the item.
The number of times that this item affected program execution.
The number of times remaining for this item to affect program execution.
The thread in which the item takes effect.
The hardware on which to use the item. For example, set this property to Prefer Hardware to specify that the breakpoint is a hardware breakpoint.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 209
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
Disabling a Breakpoint
Disable a breakpoint to prevent it from affecting program execution. The disabled breakpoint remains at the source-code line at which you set it, so that you can enable it later. Disabling the breakpoint is easier than clearing it and re-creating it from scratch.
To disable a breakpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window, or click the cursor on the source-code line that contains the breakpoint, and click Debug >
Disable Breakpoint.
The enabled breakpoint icon changes to a disabled breakpoint icon (shown at left).
The disabled breakpoint icon indicates that the breakpoint does not halt program execution.
Enabling a Breakpoint
Enable a breakpoint to have it halt program execution. Enabling a breakpoint that you previously disabled is easier than clearing it and re-creating it from scratch.
To enable a breakpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window, or click the cursor on the source-code line that contains the breakpoint, and click Debug >
Enable Breakpoint.
The disabled breakpoint icon changes to an enabled breakpoint icon (shown at left).
The enabled breakpoint icon indicates that the breakpoint halts program execution.
Clearing a Breakpoint
Use the Clear Breakpoint command to clear a breakpoint.
To clear a breakpoint in source code, click the cursor on the source-code line that contains the breakpoint and click Debug > Clear Breakpoint. You can also click the active breakpoint icon in the Breakpoints column to clear the breakpoint.
To clear a breakpoint in the Breakpoints window, select its name from the list in the
Groups, Instances, or Templates pages and press Delete.
Clearing All Breakpoints
Use the Clear All Breakpoints command to clear all breakpoints from your projects.
210 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
To clear all breakpoints, click Debug > Clear All Breakpoints. The Breakpoints window reflects your changes.
Setting a Temporary Breakpoint
Use the Temporary Breakpoint command to set temporary breakpoints. Unlike a regular breakpoint that halts execution each time you debug a project, a temporary breakpoint halts execution only once. The debugger removes the temporary breakpoint after halting program execution. Setting a temporary breakpoint is equivalent to using the Run To
Cursor command.
To set a temporary breakpoint at a line of source code, Alt-click or Option-click the dash icon next to that line. The dash icon changes to an active breakpoint icon. After you debug the project, the debugger halts program execution at the line that has the active breakpoint icon. After execution halts, the active breakpoint icon reverts to a dash icon.
Setting a Conditional Breakpoint
Use the Condition column of the Breakpoints window to set a conditional breakpoint. A
conditional breakpoint has an associated conditional expression.
The debugger evaluates the expression to determine whether to halt program execution at that breakpoint.
A conditional breakpoint behaves in two different ways:
• If the expression evaluates to true (a non-zero value), the debugger halts program execution.
• If the expression evaluates to false (a zero value), program execution continues without stopping.
Follow these steps to set a conditional breakpoint:
1. Set a breakpoint that you want to associate with a conditional expression.
2. Depending upon operating system, click View > Breakpoints or Window >
Breakpoints Window.
3. In the Groups or Instances pages of the Breakpoints window, find the breakpoint that you want to associate with a conditional expression.
4. In the Condition column adjacent to a specific breakpoint, double-click to display a text box in the blank area.
5. Enter an expression in the text box.
During subsequent debugging sessions, the debugger evaluates the expression to determine whether to halt program execution at the conditional breakpoint.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 211
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
NOTE
Alternatively, drag-and-drop an expression from a source view or from the
Expression window into the Breakpoints window.
To signal a breakpoint to happen after the nth execution of the instruction, you can enter the keywords “Hit Count” in the condition text box. For example, enter Hit Count > 5 for the breakpoint action to occur after the instruction has executed five times.
Setting a Thread-Specific Conditional Breakpoint
The CodeWarrior debugger supports thread-specific breakpoints. Depending on what the protocol supports, there are several different ways it's supported. You can setup a special condition on a breakpoint. Enter mwThreadID == threadID, where mwThreadID is a keyword recognized by the core debugger and threadID is the number that represents the
ID of the thread that you want to stop.
Working with Breakpoint Templates
This section explains how to define breakpoint templates, specify a default template, and delete templates.
A breakpoint template defines all properties of a breakpoint except for its location in source code. For example, you can define a breakpoint template that stops execution only
10 times, and only if an associated conditional expression evaluates to false.
The default breakpoint template is the breakpoint template that the debugger uses as the basis for new breakpoints that you set. For example, if you define a breakpoint template named Thread Break, you can specify it as the default breakpoint template. After you do this, the Thread Break template properties apply to all new breakpoints that you set in your source code.
The initial default breakpoint template is Auto Breakpoint, which defines the regular breakpoint that halts program execution at a line of source code. You can change the default breakpoint template from Auto Breakpoint to any of your breakpoint templates.
You can also change the default breakpoint template back to
Auto Breakpoint.
Creating a Breakpoint Template
Use the Templates page of the Breakpoints window to define breakpoint templates. You define a breakpoint template by using an existing breakpoint as a starting point.
To define a breakpoint template, follow these steps:
212 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Breakpoints
1. Set a breakpoint in your source code.
2. Click View > Breakpoints or Window > Breakpoints Window.
The Breakpoints window appears.
3. Click the Groups tab.
4. Select the name of the breakpoint that you just set.
The debugger gives the breakpoint a default name that includes the name of the file in which you set the breakpoint and the line at which you set the breakpoint.
5. Click the Create Breakpoint Template button in the toolbar of the
Breakpoints window.
6. Click the Templates tab of the Breakpoints window.
The new breakpoint template appears in this page with the name New Template.
You can rename the breakpoint template by selecting it and clicking Breakpoints >
Rename Breakpoint, or clicking the Rename Breakpoint button in the Breakpoints window toolbar.
NOTE
You cannot rename the Auto Breakpoint template.
Deleting a Breakpoint Template
Use the Templates page of the Breakpoints window to delete breakpoint templates that you no longer need.
To delete a breakpoint template, follow these steps:
1. Click View > Breakpoints or Window > Breakpoints Window.
The Breakpoints window appears.
2. Click the Templates tab of the Breakpoints window.
3. Select the breakpoint template that you want to delete.
4. Click Edit > Delete or Edit > Clear.
NOTE
You cannot delete the Auto Breakpoint template, because it defines the regular breakpoint.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 213
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
Specifying the Default Breakpoint Template
Use the Templates page of the Breakpoints window to specify the default breakpoint template. The debugger uses this template as the basis for creating new breakpoints in your source code.
The initial default breakpoint template is Auto Breakpoint, which defines the regular breakpoint. You can specify any one of your breakpoint templates, or Auto Breakpoint, as the default breakpoint template.
To specify the default breakpoint template, follow these steps:
1. Click View > Breakpoints or Window > Breakpoints Window.
The Breakpoints window appears.
2. Click the Templates tab of the Breakpoints window.
3. Select the breakpoint template that you want to specify as the default breakpoint template.
4. Click Breakpoints > Set Default Breakpoint Template or click the Set Default
Breakpoint Template icon in the Breakpoints window toolbar.
The debugger now uses the breakpoint template that you specified as the basis for creating new breakpoints in your source code.
Eventpoints
You use eventpoints to perform a task when program execution arrives at a specific line of source code or when an associated conditional expression evaluates to true. You can set an eventpoint that performs a task such as running a script, playing a sound, or collecting trace data. An eventpoint is equivalent to a breakpoint that performs a task other than halting program execution.
You can use several kinds of eventpoints. The Breakpoints column represents these eventpoints with various icons. You can set more than one eventpoint on the same line of source code. The Breakpoints column shows all eventpoints that you set for each line.
explains the eventpoints and shows their corresponding icons.
214 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
Table 18.4 Eventpoints
Eventpoint
Icon Explanation
Logs or speaks a string or expression and records messages to the Log window
Pauses execution long enough to refresh debugger data
Runs a script, application, or other item
Skips execution of a line of source code
Plays a sound
Stops collecting trace data for the Trace window
Starts collecting trace data for the Trace window
You can also create breakpoint templates to simplify the process of setting complex eventpoints. Creating a breakpoint template for an eventpoint is nearly identical to creating a breakpoint template for a breakpoint. The difference is using an eventpoint instead of a breakpoint as the starting point for creating the breakpoint template.
Eventpoints have enabled and disabled states.
explains these states.
Table 18.5 Eventpoint States
State Icon
Enabled See
Disabled
Explanation
Indicates that the eventpoint is currently enabled. The debugger performs the specified task at an enabled eventpoint. Click the icon to disable the eventpoint.
Indicates that the eventpoint is currently disabled. The debugger does not perform the specified task at a disabled eventpoint. Click the icon to enable the eventpoint.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 215
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
TIP
You can set an eventpoint in the Thread window and for selected variables in the
Symbolics window.
Log Point
A Log Point logs or speaks a string or expression. A Log Point can also record messages to the Log window. You can configure the message that appears in the log window.
Setting a Log Point
To set a Log Point, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the Log Point.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Log Point.
The Log Point Settings window (
Figure 18.3 Log Point Settings Window
216
3. Enter the text of your log message in the Message text box.
4. Check at least one of these checkboxes:
• Log Message—check to have the IDE display your message in a Message window when program execution reaches the Log Point
• Speak Message (Windows OS)—check to have the IDE use the sound capabilities of the host operating system to speak the message that you enter in the Message text box.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
NOTE
(Windows) Install the Speech software development kit (SDK) in order to have the Speak Message feature work correctly.
• Treat as Expression—check to have the IDE evaluate the text you enter in the
Message text box as an expression. For example, if you enter the name of a variable in the Message text, the debugger writes the value of that variable in the console output window.
• Stop in Debugger—check to stop program execution in the debugger
5. Click the OK button to confirm your settings.
Example use: If you want to display the value of a variable each time some code is executed, set a log point, check the Log Message and Treat as expression boxes and enter the variable name in the edit box, then click OK.
Clearing a Log Point
To clear a Log Point, follow these steps:
1. Select the Log Point that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Log Point, or select the Log
Point by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Log Point.
Pause Point
A Pause Point suspends program execution long enough to refresh debugger data. For example, without setting a pause point, you must wait for the debugger to halt program execution before it can refresh data. Setting a Pause Point, however, lets you pause the debugging session to give the debugger time to refresh the data.
Setting a Pause Point
To set a Pause Point, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the
Pause Point.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Pause Point.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 217
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
Clearing a Pause Point
To clear a Pause Point, follow these steps:
1. Select the Pause Point that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Pause Point, or select the Pause
Point by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Pause Point.
Script Point
A Script Point runs a script, application, or other item. After you set a Script Point at a line of source code, its associated action occurs when program execution arrives at that line.
For example, you can set a Script Point that performs these actions:
• (Windows) execute a file as if you had used a Windows command line
• (Mac OS) launch an AppleScript or application
Setting a Script Point
To set a Script Point, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the
Script Point.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Script Point.
The Script Point Settings window(
) appears.
Figure 18.4 Script Point Settings Window
218 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
3. Use the list box to specify Commands or Script File.
Specify Commands (Windows) if you intend to enter a command line that executes a file. Specify Script File if you intend to enter a path to a script file.
4. Enter the text of your Script Point in the text box.
Enter a command line or a path to a script file.
5. Check Stop in Debugger if you want to stop program execution in the debugger.
6. Click the OK button to confirm your settings.
Clearing a Script Point
To clear a Script Point, follow these steps:
1. Select the Script Point that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Script Point, or select the Script
Point by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Script Point.
Skip Point
A Skip Point prevents the debugger from executing a line of source code. This eventpoint is useful when you are aware of a line that you need to fix, but would like to go ahead and debug the rest of the program. You can set a Skip Point at that line and have the debugger execute the rest of the project without executing that particular line.
NOTE
Skip Points do not work with the Java programming language.
Setting a Skip Point
To set a Skip Point, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the Skip Point.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Skip Point.
Clearing a Skip Point
To clear a Skip Point, follow these steps:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 219
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
1. Select the Skip Point that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Skip Point, or select the Skip
Point by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Skip Point.
Sound Point (Windows OS)
A Sound Point is an audible alert. You can set a Sound Point so that when you step or run through code, the IDE plays a sound when program execution arrives at the line that has a
Sound Point. Unlike a Log Point set to Speak Message, which speaks the message you specify, the Sound Point plays a simple notification sound.
Setting a Sound Point
To set a Sound Point, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the
Sound Point.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Sound Point.
The Sound Point Settings window (
Figure 18.5 Sound Point Settings Window
220
3. Use the Sound to Play list box to specify the notification sound that you want the IDE to play when program execution arrives at the Sound Point.
4. Check Stop in Debugger if you want to stop program execution in the debugger.
5. Click the OK button to confirm your settings.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
Clearing a Sound Point
To clear a Sound Point, follow these steps:
1. Select the Sound Point that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Sound Point, or select the
Sound Point by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Sound Point.
Trace Collection Off
A Trace Collection Off eventpoint stops the collection of trace data. This eventpoint is useful when you want trace collection to stop when program execution reaches a line of source code that you specify.
Setting a Trace Collection Off Eventpoint
To set a Trace Collection Off eventpoint, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the
Trace Collection Off eventpoint.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Trace Collection Off.
Clearing a Trace Collection Off Eventpoint
To clear a Trace Collection Off eventpoint, follow these steps:
1. Select the Trace Collection Off eventpoint that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Trace Collection Off eventpoint, or select the Trace Collection Off eventpoint by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Trace Collection Off.
Trace Collection On
A Trace Collection On eventpoint starts the collection of trace data. This eventpoint is useful when you want trace collection to start when program execution reaches a line of source code that you specify.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 221
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
222
Setting a Trace Collection On Eventpoint
To set a Trace Collection On eventpoint, follow these steps:
1. Click the cursor on the line of source code at which you want to set the
Trace Collection On eventpoint.
2. Click Debug > Set Eventpoint > Set Trace Collection On.
Clearing a Trace Collection On Eventpoint
To clear a Trace Collection On eventpoint, follow these steps:
1. Select the Trace Collection On eventpoint that you want to clear.
Click the cursor on the line of source code that has the Trace Collection On eventpoint, or select the Trace Collection On eventpoint by name in the Breakpoints window.
2. Click Debug > Clear Eventpoint > Clear Trace Collection On.
Working with Eventpoints
This section explains how to work with eventpoints in your source code and in the
Breakpoints window.
Viewing Eventpoint Properties
After you set an eventpoint, you can view and modify its properties.
To view properties for an eventpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window and click
Breakpoints > Breakpoint Properties.
Disabling an Eventpoint
Disable an eventpoint to prevent it from performing its specified action. The disabled eventpoint remains at the source-code line at which you set it, so that you can enable it later. Disabling the eventpoint is easier than clearing it and re-creating it from scratch.
To disable an eventpoint, follow these steps:
1. Select the eventpoint that you want to disable.
Select the eventpoint by name in the Breakpoints window, or click the cursor on the source-code line that contains the eventpoint.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Eventpoints
2. Click Debug > Disable Eventpoint.
The Disable Eventpoint menu appears.
3. From the menu, click the Disable Eventpoint command, where Eventpoint is the type of eventpoint that you want to disable.
The enabled eventpoint icon changes to a disabled eventpoint icon (shown at left).
The disabled eventpoint icon indicates that the eventpoint does not perform its specified action.
Enabling an Eventpoint
Enable an eventpoint to have it perform its specified action during program execution.
Enabling an eventpoint that you previously disabled is easier than clearing it and recreating it from scratch.
To enable an eventpoint, follow these steps:
1. Select the eventpoint that you want to enable.
Select the eventpoint by name in the Breakpoints window, or click the cursor on the source-code line that contains the eventpoint.
2. Click Debug > Enable Eventpoint.
The Enable Eventpoint menu appears.
3. From the menu, click the Enable Eventpoint command, where Eventpoint is the type of eventpoint that you want to enable.
The disabled eventpoint icon changes to its original eventpoint icon ( Table 18.4
). The enabled eventpoint icon indicates that the eventpoint will perform its specified action.
Setting a Conditional Eventpoint
Use the Condition column of the Breakpoints window to set a conditional eventpoint. A
conditional eventpoint has an associated conditional expression.
The debugger evaluates the expression to determine whether the eventpoint performs its specified action.
A conditional eventpoint behaves in two different ways:
• If the expression evaluates to true (a non-zero value), the eventpoint performs its specified action.
• If the expression evaluates to false (a zero value), the eventpoint does not perform its specified action.
Follow these steps to set a conditional eventpoint:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 223
Manipulating Program Execution
Watchpoints
1. Set an eventpoint that you want to associate with a conditional expression.
2. Click View > Breakpoints or Window > Breakpoints Window.
The Breakpoints window appears.
3. In the Groups or Instances pages of the Breakpoints window, find the eventpoint that you want to associate with a conditional expression.
4. Double-click the Condition column in align with the eventpoint.
5. Enter an expression in the Condition text box.
During subsequent debugging sessions, the debugger evaluates the expression to determine whether the eventpoint performs its specified action.
NOTE
Alternatively, drag-and-drop an expression from a source view or from the
Expression window into the Breakpoints window.
Watchpoints
You use watchpoints (sometimes referred to as access breakpoints or memory breakpoints) to halt program execution when your program reads or writes to a specific memory location. You can then examine the call chain, check register and variable values, and step through your code. You can also change values and alter the flow of normal program execution.
NOTE
You cannot set watchpoint on local variable, because the debugger cannot detect watchpoints for variables stored on the stack or in registers.
You can create breakpoint templates to simplify the process of setting complex watchpoints. Creating a breakpoint template for a watchpoint is nearly identical to creating a breakpoint template for a breakpoint. The difference is using a watchpoint instead of a breakpoint as the starting point for creating the breakpoint template.
Watchpoints have enabled and disabled states.
explains these states.
224 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Watchpoints
Table 18.6 Watchpoint States
State
Enabled
Icon
Disabled
Explanation
Indicates that the watchpoint is currently enabled. The debugger halts program execution at an enabled watchpoint. Click the icon to disable the watchpoint.
Icon disappears, indicating that the watchpoint is currently disabled. The debugger does not halt program execution at a disabled watchpoint. Click the icon to enable the watchpoint.
NOTE
For most hardware debug targets, you may set a maximum of one watchpoint at any time. However, different hardware targets may let you set two or more.
Consult your targeting manual for watchpoint information specific to your target.
Setting a Watchpoint
Use the Set Watchpoint command to set a watchpoint. A watchpoint suspends program execution when the memory location that you specify changes value.
The debugger does not execute the line of source code that contains the watchpoint.
NOTE
The watchpoint implementation differs between CodeWarrior products, and the steps below may not completely describe your watchpoint setting process.
For example, some products let you specify additional watchpoint parameters such as whether you are setting a read or a write watchpoint.
To set a watchpoint on a memory range, follow these steps:
1. Click Project > Debug.
A debugging session starts.
2. Click Data > View Memory.
A Memory window appears.
3. Select a range of bytes in the Memory window.
Do not double-click the range of bytes.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 225
Manipulating Program Execution
Watchpoints
4. Click Debug > Set Watchpoint.
An underline appears beneath the selected range of bytes, indicating that you set a watchpoint in that range.
TIP
You can change the color of the watchpoint underline in the Display Settings panel of the IDE Preferences window
To set a watchpoint on a variable in the thread window or variable window, follow these steps:
1. Make the thread window or variable window active.
2. Right-click the variable in the variables pane.
A drop-down menu appears
3. Select Set Watchpoint.
Viewing Watchpoint Properties
After you set a watchpoint, you can view and modify its properties.
To view properties for a watchpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window and click
Breakpoints > Breakpoint Properties.
Disabling a Watchpoint
Disable a watchpoint to prevent it from affecting program execution. The disabled watchpoint remains at the memory location at which you set it, so that you can enable it later.
To disable a watchpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window, or select the range of bytes in the Memory window at which you set the watchpoint, and click Debug > Disable
Watchpoint.
The enabled watchpoint icon disappears, which indicates a disabled watchpoint.
Enabling a Watchpoint
Enable a watchpoint to have it halt program execution when its associated memory location changes value. Enabling a watchpoint that you previously disabled is easier than clearing it and re-creating it from scratch.
226 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Manipulating Program Execution
Watchpoints
To enable a watchpoint, select its name in the Breakpoints window, or select the range of bytes in the Memory window at which you set the watchpoint, and click Debug > Enable
Watchpoint.
The enabled watchpoint icon appears (shown at left), which indicates an enabled watchpoint.
Clearing a Watchpoint
Use the Clear Watchpoint command to clear a watchpoint.
To clear a watchpoint in the Memory window, select range of bytes at which you set the watchpoint and click Debug > Clear Watchpoint.
To clear a watchpoint in the Breakpoints window, select its name from the list in the
Groups or Instances pages and press Delete.
Clearing All Watchpoints
Use the Clear All Watchpoints command to clear all watchpoints from your projects.
To clear all watchpoints, click Debug > Clear All Watchpoints. The Breakpoints window reflects your changes.
Setting a Conditional Watchpoint
Use the Condition column of the Breakpoints window to set a conditional watchpoint. A
conditional watchpoint has an associated conditional expression.
The debugger evaluates the expression to determine whether to halt program execution at that watchpoint.
A conditional watchpoint behaves in two different ways:
• If the expression evaluates to true (a non-zero value), the debugger halts program execution when the memory location associated with the watchpoint changes value.
• If the expression evaluates to false (a zero value), program execution continues without stopping.
Follow these steps to set a conditional watchpoint:
1. Set a watchpoint that you want to associate with a conditional expression.
2. Click View > Breakpoints or Window > Breakpoints Window.
The Breakpoints window appears.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 227
Manipulating Program Execution
Special Breakpoints
3. In the Groups or Instances pages of the Breakpoints window, find the watchpoint that you want to associate with a conditional expression.
4. Double-click the Condition column adjacent to the watchpoint.
5. Enter an expression in the Condition text box.
During subsequent debugging sessions, the debugger evaluates the expression to determine whether to halt program execution at the conditional watchpoint.
NOTE
Alternatively, drag-and-drop an expression from a source view or from the
Expression window into the Breakpoints window.
Special Breakpoints
Special breakpoints halt program execution for very specific reasons:
• program execution arrives at the beginning of the function main()
• a C++ or Java exception occurs
• an event occurs that the debugger plugin defines as a break event
You cannot change or delete special breakpoints, but you can enable and disable them.
Disabling Special Breakpoints
Disable special breakpoints to prevent them from affecting program execution.
To disable special breakpoints, click the Active icon to the left of the Special group in the Groups page of the Breakpoints window.
The active icon changes to an inactive icon, which indicates that the special breakpoints are disabled.
Enabling Special Breakpoints
Enable special breakpoints to have them halt program execution.
To enable special breakpoints, click the Inactive icon (shown at left) to the left of the Special group in the Groups page of the Breakpoints window.
The inactive icon changes to an active icon, which indicates that the special breakpoints are enabled.
228 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
19
Working with Variables
This chapter explains how to work with variables in a CodeWarrior™ IDE debugging session. The following windows show various types of information about variables.
• Global Variables window—shows information about global and static variables in your project
• Variable window—shows information for an individual variable in your project
• Expressions window—shows variable values and lets you form calculation expressions based on those values
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
Global Variables Window
The Global Variables window shows all global and static variables for each process that you debug. You can open separate Global Variables windows for each process in the same build target. Use the window to observe changes in variable values as the program executes.
shows the Global Variables window. Table 19.1
window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 229
Working with Variables
Global Variables Window
Figure 19.1 Global Variables Window
Table 19.1 Global Variables Window Items
Item
File
Variables
Explanation
Lists source files that declare global or static variables. Click a source file to view its static variables. Click Global Variables to view all global variables declared in the program.
Lists variables according to the file selected in the File pane.
Double-click a variable to display it in a separate
Variable window.
230
Opening the Global Variables Window
Use the Global Variables window to display global variables declared in a program or static variables declared in source files that comprise the program.
To open the Global Variables window, select View > Global Variables or Window >
Global Variables Window.
Viewing Global Variables for Different Processes
You can open a separate Global Variables window for each process that the same parent application creates.
To open the Global Variables window for a particular process, follow these steps:
1. Click Project > Debug.
A debugging session starts.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Variables
Variable Window
2. In the Thread window toolbar, use the Process list box to specify the process that has the global variables that you want to examine.
3. Click View > Global Variables or Window > Global Variables Window.
Repeat these steps for each process that has global variables that you want to examine.
Variable Window
A Variable window allows manipulation of a single variable or variable hierarchy used in source code. For a local variable, the window closes after program execution exits the routine that defines the variable.
Figure 19.2 Variable Window
Opening a Variable Window
1. Select a variable in any window pane that lists variables.
2. Open a Variable window:
• Select Data > View Variable, or
• Double-click the variable.
A Variable window appears. Double-click a value to change it.
TIP
Use Variable windows to monitor individual variables independently of other windows. For example, use a Variable window to continue monitoring a variable that leaves the current scope of program execution in the Thread window.
Alternatively, use a contextual menu to open a variable window, as Table 19.2
explains.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 231
Working with Variables
Variable Window
Table 19.2 Opening a Variable Window by Using a Contextual Menu
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Right-click the variable and select View Variable.
Control-click the variable and select View Variable.
Click and hold on the variable, then select View Variable.
Click and hold on the variable, then select View Variable.
Manipulating Variable Formats
You can change the way the Variables window displays data. For example, you can add labels to variable data so that those labels appear in the Variables window and clarify the displayed data.
For example, suppose you have the structure that Listing 19.1
defines.
Listing 19.1 Sample Structure Definition
struct Rect { short short short short
}; top; left; bottom; right;
The Variables window might show an instance of the Rect structure like this: myRect 0x000DCEA8
You can create an XML file that defines a new way to display the structure, as Listing 19.2
shows.
Listing 19.2 Sample Variable Format Definition
<variableformats>
<variableformat>
<osname>osWin32</osname>
<runtimename>runtimeWin32</runtimename>
<typename>Rect</typename>
<expression>
"{T: " + ^var.top +
" L: " + ^var.left +
232 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Variables
Expressions Window
" B: " + ^var.bottom +
" R: " + ^var.right +
"}{H: " + (^var.bottom - ^var.top) +
" W: " + (^var.right - ^var.left) + "}"
</expression>
</variableformat>
</variableformats>
Given this new variable format definition, the Variables window now shows the same myRect
instance like this: myRect {T: 30 L: 30 B: 120 R: 120}{H: 90 W: 90}
To manipulate variable formats, you place an XML file that defines the new format inside the VariableFormats directory at
CodeWarrior/Bin/Plugins/Support/VariableFormats/ where CodeWarrior is the path to your CodeWarrior installation.
The IDE reads the XML files in this directory to determine how to display variable data.
explains the main XML tags that the IDE recognizes.
Table 19.3 Variable Format XML Tags
Tag
variableformats variableformat osname runtimename typename expression
Explanation
A group of variable format records.
An individual variable format record.
The operating system that defines the scope of this record.
The runtime that defines the scope of this record.
The name of the Type that this record will format.
The expression that reformats the variable display. The IDE evaluates this expression to determine the format that it applies to the variable. The IDE replaces all occurrences of the ^var placeholder with the name of the variable.
Expressions Window
The Expressions window ( Figure 19.3
) helps you monitor and manipulate these kinds of
items:
• global and local variables
• structure members
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 233
Working with Variables
Expressions Window
• array elements
explains items of this window.
Figure 19.3 Expressions Window
Table 19.4 Expressions Window Items
Item
Expression column
Value column
Explanation
Lists expressions and expression hierarchies. Click the hierarchical controls to expand or collapse the expression view.
Shows the current value of each corresponding expression. Double-click a value to change it.
234
Opening the Expressions Window
Use the Expressions window to inspect frequently used variables as their values change during a debugging session.
To open the Expressions window, select View > Expressions or Window > Expressions
Window.
Alternatively, click the Expressions button in the Thread window toolbar to open the Expressions window.
Adding Expressions
The Expressions window handles various ways of adding expressions for inspection.
To add an expression to the Expressions window, do this:
• Select the desired expression and choose Data > Copy to Expression, or
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Variables
Expressions Window
• Use the contextual menu with a selected expression, or
• Drag and drop an expression from another window into the Expressions window.
The Expressions window reflects the added expression. Drag expressions within the window to reorder them.
Adding a Constant Value to a Variable
You can enter an expression in the Expressions window that adds a constant value to a variable. Suppose x is a short integer type in the variable context of some function scope in C++ code. You can enter the expression x+1 and the IDE computes the resulting value just as you would compute it on a calculator.
1. Select the variable to which you want to add a constant value.
For example, select x.
2. Enter an expression that adds a constant value to the variable.
For example, append +1 to x so that the resulting expression is x+1.
The IDE adds the constant value to the variable and displays the result in the Expressions window.
Making a Summation of Two Variables
You can enter an expression in the Expressions window that computes the sum of two variables. Suppose x is a short integer type in the variable context of some function scope in C++ code. You can enter the expression x+y and the IDE computes the resulting value just as you would compute it on a calculator.
1. Select the variable to which you want to add another variable.
For example, select x.
2. Enter an expression that adds a second variable to the first variable.
For example, append +y to x so that the resulting expression is x+y.
The IDE computes the sum of the two variables and displays the result in the Expressions window.
Removing Expressions
The Expressions window handles various ways of removing expressions that no longer require inspection.
To remove an expression from the Expressions window:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 235
Working with Variables
Expressions Window
• Select the expression and choose Edit > Delete or Edit > Clear, or
• Select the expression and press the Backspace or Delete key.
The Expressions window updates to reflect the removed expression.
NOTE
Unlike the Variable window, the Expressions window does not remove a local variable after program execution exits the routine that defines the variable.
236 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
20
Working with Memory
This chapter explains how to work with memory in a CodeWarrior™ IDE debugging session. The following windows show various types of information about memory:
• Memory window—shows the memory that your project manipulates as it executes
• Array window—shows the contents of arrays that your project manipulates as it executes
• Registers window—shows the register contents of a processor
• Register Details window—shows a graphical representation of processor registers and explains register contents
• Cache window—shows processor or instructor cache data
• Trace window—shows collected trace information
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
Memory Window
The Memory window manipulates program memory content in various data types. Use this resizable window to perform these tasks:
• View memory
• Change individual memory bytes
• Set watchpoints
NOTE
Arbitrarily changing memory contents could degrade the stability of the IDE, another program, or the operating system itself. Understand the consequences of manipulating memory.
shows the Memory window. Table 20.1
explains the items in the window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 237
Working with Memory
Memory Window
Figure 20.1 Memory Window
Table 20.1 Memory Window Items
Icon Item
Display
View
Memory Space
(for processors that support multiple memory spaces)
Previous Memory
Block
Next Memory
Block
Address
238
Explanation
Enter a symbol representing the starting address of memory to display. Valid symbols include addresses and non-evaluating expressions, such as main or x.
Select the data format in which to view memory contents.
Choose the memory space in which to view selected variables or source code.
Click to view the preceding block of memory.
Click to view the succeeding block of memory.
Displays a contiguous range of memory addresses, beginning with the address entered in the Display field.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table 20.1 Memory Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Hex
Ascii
Word Size
Page
(for processors that support multiple pages)
Working with Memory
Memory Window
Explanation
Displays a hexadecimal representation of the memory addresses shown in the Address pane.
Displays an ASCII representation of the memory addresses shown in the
Address pane.
Select the bit size of displayed words.
Select the memory-space page in which to view source code.
Viewing and Changing Raw Memory
Use the View Memory command to view and change the raw contents of memory.
1. Select an item or expression that resides at the memory address to be examined.
2. Choose Data > View Memory.
A new Memory window appears.
3. Select Raw data from the View list pop-up.
The contents of memory at the selected location appears in both hexadecimal and
ASCII.
Scroll through memory by selecting the Address, Hex, or ASCII pane of the Memory window and then use the up and down arrow keys. Display a different memory location by changing the expression in the Display field.
Change the word size displayed in the Memory window by using the Word Size list pop-up. The choices are 8, 16, and 32 bits.
Change the contents of a particular memory location by double-clicking on that location in either the hexadecimal or ASCII pane of the Memory window. Replace the current value by entering a hexadecimal value in the Hex pane or a string of ASCII characters in the ASCII pane.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 239
Working with Memory
Memory Window
Alternatively, use a contextual menu to view and change memory, as explained in
.
Table 20.2 Opening a Memory Window by Using a Contextual Menu
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Right-click the item and select View Memory.
Control-click the item and select View Memory.
Click and hold on the item, then select View Memory.
Click and hold on the item, then select View Memory.
Viewing Memory Referenced by a Pointer
Use the View Memory command to inspect memory referenced by a pointer; including an address stored in a register.
1. Select a pointer in a source window.
2. Choose Data > View Memory.
A new Memory window appears.
3. Select Raw data from the View list pop-up.
The contents of memory referenced by the pointer appears in both hexadecimal and
ASCII.
Viewing Different Memory Spaces
Use the Page list pop-up to view a particular memory space.
NOTE
This feature is available only for processors that support multiple memory spaces.
1. Select the name of a variable or function in a source window.
2. Choose Data > View Memory.
A Memory window appears.
3. Select a memory space from the Page list pop-up.
240 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Memory
Memory Window
4. Select Raw data from the View list pop-up if inspecting a variable. Select
Disassembly, Source, or Mixed from the View list pop-up if inspecting source code.
The Memory window displays the selected memory-space page.
Setting a Watchpoint in the Memory Window
To set a Watchpoint using the Memory window, follow these steps:
1. Run/Debug your program.
2. Choose Data > View Memory.
This opens the Memory window.
3. Select a range of bytes in the Memory window.
Do not double-click the range of bytes.
4. Choose Debug > Set Watchpoint.
NOTE
A red line appears under the selected variable in the Variable window, indicating that you have set a Watchpoint. You can change the color of this line in the Display Settings panel of the IDE Preferences window (Edit > IDE
Preferences).
Clearing Watchpoints from the Memory window
To clear a Watchpoint from the Memory window, follow these steps:
1. Select a range of bytes in the Memory window.
2. Choose Debug > Clear Watchpoint.
To clear all Watchpoints from the Memory window:
1. Open the Memory window.
You do not have to select a range of bytes.
2. Choose Debug > Clear All Watchpoints.
NOTE
All Watchpoints clear automatically when the target program terminates or the debugger terminates the program. Watchpoints will reset next time the program runs.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 241
Working with Memory
Array Window
Array Window
An Array window allows manipulation of a contiguous block of memory, displayed as an array of elements. The window lists array contents sequentially, starting at element 0.
The Array window title shows the base address bound to the array. The base address can bind to an address, a variable, or a register. An array bound to a local variable closes after the routine that defines the variable returns to the calling routine.
For array elements cast as structured types, a hierarchical control appears to the left of each element. Use these hierarchical controls to expand or collapse the display of each element’s contents.
shows an Array window. Table 20.3
explains the items in the window.
Figure 20.2 Array window
Table 20.3 Array Window Items
Icon Item
Hierarchical control
Bind To
242
Explanation
Click to collapse the view of the information pane.
Select the base address of the array: Address, Variable, or
Register.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Table 20.3 Array Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Array size
Struct
Member
Element
Value
Location
Working with Memory
Array Window
Explanation
Enter the number of elements to display in the Array window.
Select a specific member to show in each element, or show all members.
Shows the array elements in a hierarchical list.
Shows the value of each array element.
Shows the address in memory of each array element.
Opening an Array Window
Use the View Array command to manipulate a memory block in an Array window.
1. Select the array that you want to view.
2. Select Data > View Array.
A new Array window appears.
TIP
Drag and drop a register or variable name into an Array window to set the base address. Use the View Memory As command to interpret memory displayed in an
Array window as a different type.
Alternatively, use a contextual menu to open an Array window, as
Table 20.4 Opening an Array Window by Using a Contextual Menu
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Do this…
Right-click the array and select View Array.
Control-click the array and select View Array.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 243
Working with Memory
Registers Window
Table 20.4 Opening an Array Window by Using a Contextual Menu ( continued)
On this host…
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Click and hold on the array, then select View Array.
Click and hold on the array, then select View Array.
Registers Window
The Registers window reveals a hierarchical view of these register types:
• general registers—contents of the central processing unit (CPU) of the host computer
• floating-point unit (FPU) registers—contents of the FPU registers
• registers specific to the host computer
You can use the Register window to perform these tasks:
• expand the hierarchical items in the window and view their contents
• select and modify register values
• view documentation for individual registers (depending on the register)
shows a sample Registers window.
Figure 20.3 Registers Window
244 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Memory
Registers Window
General Registers
The General Registers are the register contents of the central processing unit (CPU) of the host computer. The exact listing of these registers depends on the host CPU and current build target. See the Targeting documentation for additional information.
FPU Registers
The FPU Registers are the register contents of the floating-point unit (FPU) of the host computer. The exact listing of these registers depends on the host FPU and current build target. See the Targeting documentation for additional information.
Host-specific Registers
The Registers window also lists additional register contents for registers specific to the host. The exact listing of these registers depends on the host computer and current build target. See the Targeting documentation for additional information.
Opening the Registers Window
Open the Registers window to inspect and modify various register contents.
explains how to open the Registers window.
Table 20.5 Opening the Registers Window
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Select View > Registers
Select Window > Registers Window
Select Window > Registers Window
Select Window > Registers Window
Viewing Registers
View registers to inspect and modify their contents.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 245
Working with Memory
Registers Window
1. Open the Registers window.
2. Expand the hierarchical list to view register groups.
Expanding the list shows the register groups that you can view or change.
3. Expand a register group.
Expanding a group shows its contents, by register name and corresponding value.
Changing Register Values
Change register values during program execution in order to examine program behavior.
1. Open the Registers window.
2. Expand the hierarchical list to view the names and corresponding values of the register that you want to modify.
3. Double-click the register value that you want to change.
The value highlights.
4. Enter a new register value.
5. Press Enter or Return.
The register value changes.
Changing Register Data Views
Change register data views to see register contents in a different format. For example, you can change the view of a register from binary to hexadecimal format.
1. Open the Registers window.
2. Expand the hierarchical list to view the names and corresponding values of the register.
3. Select the register value that you want to view in a different format.
The value highlights.
4. Select Data > View as format, where format is the data format in which you want to view the register value. The register value changes format.
Available formats depend on the selected register value.
5. Select Data > View as Default to restore the original data format.
Alternatively, you can use a contextual menu to change the data format, as Table 20.6
explains.
246 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Memory
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
Table 20.6 Changing Data Format by Using a Contextual Menu
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Right-click the register value and select View as format .
Control-click the register value and select View as format .
Click and hold on the register value and select
View as
format
.
Click and hold on the register value and select
View as
format
.
Opening Registers in a Separate Registers Window
Open registers in a separate Register Window to narrow the scope of registers that appear in a single window.
1. Open the Registers window.
2. Expand the hierarchical list to view the register or register group that you want to view in a separate Registers window.
3. Double-click the register or register group.
4. A new Registers window opens.
The new Registers window lists the name and value of the register that you doubleclicked, or the names and values of the register group that you double-clicked.
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
The Register Details window lets you view detailed information about individual bits of registers from 2 bits to 32 bits in size. This window shows information for both system registers and memory-mapped registers. To open the Register Details window, click View
> Register Details or Window > Register Details Window.
The Register Details window has fields that describe the register, its bitfields, and the values of those bitfields. XML files in the Registers folder of your CodeWarrior installation provide the information that appears in the window. The Registers folder is inside the Support folder. The Support folder is inside the Plugins folder of your
CodeWarrior installation.
shows the Register Details window. Table 20.7
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 247
Working with Memory
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
Figure 20.4 Register Details Window
Table 20.7 Register Details Window Items
Icon Item
box
Register
Name
Address text box
248
Format list box
Explanation
Enter the name or full path to the XML file for the register you want to view, or click the
Browse button to open a dialog box that you can use to specify the file.
Shows the name of the register depicted in the window.
Enter the starting address of the register values that you want to see in the Register
Display.
An error message appears if you enter an invalid starting address.
Specify the data format for bit values in the
Register Display:
• Binary
• Character
• Decimal
• Unsigned Decimal
• Hexadecimal
• Default—have the IDE determine the best format
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Memory
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
Table 20.7 Register Details Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Explanation
Shows a depiction of the register that you specify in the Description File text box, including individual register bits and their values.
Bitfield
Name list box
Bit Value text box
Bit Value
Modifier list box
Description
Specify a bitfield to highlight in the Register
Display. The Description portion of the window reflects available information for the bitfield.
Select None to have the Description portion of the window reflect information for the entire register and not a bitfield in that register.
Shows the current value of the bits in the
Bitfield Name list box, according to the format that you specify in the Format list box.
Click the spin buttons to increment or decrement the current value, or enter a new value in the text box.
Changing the value changes only the
Register Display. You must click the Write button to write the new value to the register itself.
Specify a new value for the selected bitfield, or view a brief explanation of specific bitfield values.
Changing the value changes only the
Register Display. You must click the Write button to write the new value to the register.
Shows a description of the register or a selected bitfield in the register.
Use the Description File text box to specify
the register.
Use the Text View list box to view specific register information, such as register descriptions, bitfield descriptions, and register details.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 249
Working with Memory
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
Table 20.7 Register Details Window Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Revert button
Read button
Write button
Reset
Value button
list box
Explanation
Click to change a modified value in the
Register Display to its original value.
If you clicked the Write button to write a new value to the register, you cannot revert that value.
Click to have the Register Display reflect current bit values from the register itself.
Click to write the bit values in the Register
Display to the register.
After you write new values to the register, you cannot revert them.
Click to restore the default value for the selected bitfield.
The IDE disables this button if the selected bitfield does not have a default value.
Use to specify information that appears in the Description portion of the window.
Description File
Enter in this text box the name of the register that you want to see in the Register Display of the Register Details window. Alternatively, enter the full path to the register description file on your computer, or click the Browse button to open a dialog box that lets you specify the register description file. The text box is not case sensitive.
After you enter a name or path, the debugger searches for a matching register description file in the Registers folder of your CodeWarrior installation and the project access paths.
If the debugger finds a matching file, the Register Display updates the information in the
Register Details window. If the debugger does not find a matching name, an error message appears.
For example, to view the contents of the Opcode register, you can:
• type Opcode in the Description File text box and press Enter or Return, or
• type the full path to the opcode.xml file in the Registers folder and press
Enter or Return.
250 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Memory
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
The debugger matches your entry with the opcode.xml file in the Registers folder. The
Register Display in the Register Details window updates its information to show Opcode register details.
The debugger also updates the Register Display to show the current values in the register.
If the debugger fails to update the display, an error message appears.
Register Display
This display shows the current contents of 32 bits of register data, starting at the address that you specify in the Address text box. The data appears according to the format that you specify in the Format list box.
The Register Display groups the 32 bits of data into register bitfields. Clicking one of the bits selects its associated bitfield. Additional information about the bitfield, such as its name and permissions, appears in the Description portion of the Register Details window.
Text View
Use this list box to change the information that appears in the Description portion of the
Register Details window:
• Auto—select to have the IDE determine which information to display in the window
• Register Description—select to show information about the entire register, such as the name of the register itself and the meaning of its contents
• Bitfield Description—select to show information about the selected bitfield in the
, such as the name of the bitfield and its access permissions
• Register Details—select to show in-depth information about the current register, such as its name, its bit values, and bit-value explanations
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 251
Working with Memory
Register Details Window (Windows OS)
252 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
21
Working with Debugger
Data
This chapter explains how to work with data that the CodeWarrior™ IDE debugger generates. The following windows show various types of debugger data.
• Symbolics window—shows information that the debugger generates for a program
• Processes window—shows individual processes and tasks that the debugger can control
• Log window—shows messages generated during the debugging session
This chapter contains these sections:
•
•
•
Symbolics Window
The Symbolics window displays information that the debugger generates for the active file. Symbolics information includes data about program variables, functions, data structures, and source files.
Select whether you want browser data generated by the compiler or the language parser, by choosing Edit > targetname Settings... and selecting the Build Extras target settings panel. Select the option from the Generate Browser Data From list. Symbolics information will be generated during the next build or debugging session.
To view the Symbolics window, start a CodeWarrior debug session (Project > Debug from CodeWarior menu bar), then select View > Symbolics.
shows the Symbolics window. Table 21.1
explains items in the window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 253
Working with Debugger Data
Symbolics Window
Figure 21.1 Symbolics Window
Table 21.1 Symbolics Window Items
Icon Item
Debugger toolbar
Executables pane
Files pane
Functions pane
Source pane
254
Explanation
Contains buttons that represent common debugging commands, such as stepping through code.
Lists recently used executable files that contain symbolics information.
Lists source files in build target being debugged, for selected executable file.
Lists functions declared in the file selected in the Files pane.
Displays source code in the file selected in the Files pane.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Debugger Data
Symbolics Window
Opening the Symbolics Window
The Symbolics window displays information generated by the IDE for a file.
To open the Symbolics window, do one of these tasks:
• Select View > Symbolics or Window > Symbolics window.
• Open a symbolics file. The IDE typically appends .xSYM or .iSYM, to the names of these files.
• Open an executable file for which the IDE previously generated symbolics information. The IDE typically appends .exe or .app to these files.
Alternatively, click the Symbolics button in the Thread window toolbar to open the Symbolics window.
Using the Executables Pane
The Executables pane lists recently opened executable files for which the IDE generated symbolics information.
To use the pane, select an executable file in the list. The Files pane updates to display information for the selected executable file.
Using the Files Pane
For the selected executable file, the Files pane lists the source files in the build target being debugged.
To use the pane, select a file in the list. The Functions pane and Source pane update to display information for the selected file.
Using the Functions Pane
The Functions pane lists functions declared in the selected file in the Files pane.
To use the pane, select a function in the list. The Source pane updates to display source code for the selected function.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 255
Working with Debugger Data
System Browser Window
Using the Source Pane
The Source pane displays source code for the selected function in the Functions pane, using the fonts and colors specified in the IDE Preferences window.
To use the pane, select a function in the Functions pane. The corresponding source code appears in the Source pane.
If the selected function does not contain source code, the Source pane displays the message Source text or disassembly not available.
NOTE
Use the Source pane in the Symbolics window to view source code, copy source code, and set breakpoints. Use an editor window to modify the source code. Use a Thread window to view the currently executing statement.
System Browser Window
The System Browser window shows system level information about processes executing on various machines, like the host computer or the hardware under debugger control. The window shows this information:
• running processes
• tasks for selected processes
• some hidden processes
Click on the expand icon for a process to view all tasks assigned to the selected process.
Processes under debugger control appear in bold. Double-click a task to open it in a new
Thread window, or choose the task name and click the Stack Crawl Window button.
shows the System Browser window. Table 21.2
explains items in the window.
NOTE
If the System Browser window does not show processes for a specific machine, you must start a debugging session for that machine. For example, you might need to debug a project that runs on external hardware in order to see executing processes for that hardware.
256 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 21.2 System Browser Window
Working with Debugger Data
System Browser Window
Table 21.2 System Browser Window Items
Icon Item
Attach to
Process
Explanation
Click to have the debugger control the selected process.
Stack
Crawl window
Refresh
No
Refresh
Expand
Click to open a Thread window for the selected process.
This icon indicates that information for selected item is periodically updated. Click this icon to toggle between refresh and no refresh.
This icon indicates that information is not updated for the selected item.
Click to expand a process and list related tasks.
Opening the System Browser Window
Use the System Windows or System menu command to view and manipulate active processes on a selected machine. If multiple machines are available, select each machine from the System Windows submenu to display multiple System Browser windows. If you choose a machine that is already open, the existing window will be brought to the front.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 257
Working with Debugger Data
Log Window
NOTE
The System Browser window appears on platforms that support it.
explains how to open the System Browser window.
Table 21.3 Opening the System Browser Window
Menu Bar Layout
Windows
Macintosh (also applies to
Linux/Solaris)
Do this…
Select View > System
Select Window > System Windows
Attaching Debugger to a Process
Click the Attach to Process button to assign a selected process to a new debugging session. This assignment allows the debugger to control processes that it does not otherwise recognize. For example, you can click the Attach to Process button to assign dynamic link libraries or shared libraries to the debugger.
1. Select a process to attach to the debugger.
2. Click Attach to Process
3. Select an executable to attach to the process.
4. Click OK to display the Stack Crawl (Thread) window for the process.
The debugger assumes control of the selected process. Processes under debugger control appear in bold.
Log Window
The Log window displays messages during program execution. Select the Log System
Messages option in the Debugger Settings panel to activate the Log window.
The IDE allows you to save Log window contents to a .txt (text) file and copy text from the Log window to the system clipboard.
Windows-hosted Log window messages include:
• Dynamic Link Library (DLL) loading and unloading
• debugging printf() messages
Macintosh-hosted Log window messages include:
258 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
• PowerPC™ code fragments
• DebugStr() messages
shows a Windows-hosted Log window.
Figure 21.3 Log Window
Working with Debugger Data
Log Window
Opening the Log Window
Use the Debugger Settings preference panel to enable the message logging option. The
Log window records these types of messages for a program during a debugging session:
• the start of new tasks
• routine entry and exit
• Windows: DLL loading and unloading, and debug printf() messages
• Macintosh: PowerPC code-fragment loading and DebugStr() messages
1. Select the Log System Messages option in the Debugger Settings target settings preference panel.
2. Select Project > Debug.
The Log window appears. It allows you to select, copy, and save logged text to a file for later analysis. See the Targeting documentation for additional information.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 259
Working with Debugger Data
Log Window
260 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
22
Working with Hardware
Tools
This chapter explains the CodeWarrior™ IDE hardware tools. Use these tools for board bring-up, test, and analysis.
NOTE
Not all products support all the IDE features this chapter describes, such as the
Flash programmer window, hardware diagnostic window, and logic analyzer.
Some screen captures in this chapter were taken on a Windows PC; their actual appearance varies slightly on other host platforms.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Flash Programmer Window
The Flash Programmer window lists global options for the flash programmer hardware tool. These preferences apply to every open project file.
shows the Flash Programmer window. Table 22.1
explains the items in the window.
To open the Flash Programmer window, click Tools > Flash Programmer.
The Flash Programmer window contains these panels:
•
•
•
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 261
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
•
•
Figure 22.1 Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.1 Flash Programmer Window Items
Item
Flash
Programmer pane
Show Log
Explanation
Shows a list of panel names. Click a panel name to display that panel.
Load Settings
Save Settings
Click to display a text file that logs flash programmer actions. Check the Enable Logging checkbox in the Options group to enable this button.
Click to restore previously saved settings for the current panel.
Click to save settings for the current panel to a file.
262 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.1 Flash Programmer Window Items ( continued)
Item
OK
Cancel
Explanation
Click to save changes to all panels and close the window.
Click to discard changes to all panels and close the window.
Target Configuration
The Target Configuration panel configures general flash programmer settings.
shows the Target Configuration panel.
Figure 22.2 Target Configuration Panel
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 263
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.2 Target Configuration Panel Items
Item
Default Project
Default Target
Use Custom
Settings checkbox.
Explanation
Shows the current default project in the IDE.
Shows the default build target. Clear the Use Custom Settings checkbox to have the IDE use connection settings from the build target for connecting to the hardware.
Check to specify the connection information that you want to use for connecting to the hardware. In this case, the IDE can connect to the hardware without using settings from a project.
Clear to use the connection information stored in the default project for connecting to the hardware. You cannot clear the checkbox if you do not have an active default project or default target.
Connection information includes the information that you specify in the Target Processor list box, the Connection list box, and the Use Target Initialization text box.
Use to specify the hardware processor.
Target Processor text/list box
Connection list box
Use Target
Initialization checkbox and text box
Target Memory
Buffer Address text box
Use to specify the method that the IDE uses to connect to the hardware.
Check to specify an initialization file for the hardware connection.
Enter the initialization file path in the text box, or click the Browse button to open a dialog box that you can use to specify the initialization file path.
Clear if you do not want to use an initialization file for the hardware connection.
Specify the starting address of an area in RAM that the flash programmer can use as a scratch area. The flash programmer must be able to access this starting address through the remote connection (after the hardware initializes).
The flash programmer should not modify any memory location other than the target memory buffer and flash memory.
For example, the flash programmer uses the target memory buffer to download and execute the flash device driver.
264 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.2 Target Configuration Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Target Memory
Buffer Size text box
Enable Logging checkbox
Verify Target
Memory Writes checkbox
Explanation
Specify the size of an area in RAM that the flash programmer can use as a scratch area, starting at the address you specify in the
Target Memory Buffer Address text box.
The flash programmer should not modify any memory location other than the target memory buffer and flash memory.
Check to have the IDE generate detailed status information during flash operations. Checking this checkbox enables the
Show Log button.
Clear to disable logging of detailed status information during flash operations. Clearing this checkbox disables the
Show Log button.
Click the Show Log button to view the status information.
Check to have the IDE verify all write operations to the hardware
RAM by reading the result of each write operation.
Clear to have the IDE perform write operations without verifying them.
Flash Configuration
The Flash Configuration panel configures settings for the flash device on the hardware
shows the Flash Configuration panel.
explains the items in the panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 265
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Figure 22.3 Flash Configuration Panel
Table 22.3 Flash Configuration Panel Items
Item
Flash Memory
Base Address text box
Device pane
Explanation
Enter the base address of the beginning of flash memory on the hardware device. Enter the address based on the perspective of the hardware device.
Shows an alphabetical list of supported flash device types. Select a device type from this pane. Your selection determines the contents of the Organization and Sector Address Map panes.
266 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.3 Flash Configuration Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Organization pane
Sector Address
Map pane
Explanation
Shows a list of supported layouts of flash memory in the hardware design, based on your selection in the Device pane. Each list item is of the form
ChipCapacity x
DataBusWidth x
NumberOfChipsInLayout
. Select an organization from this pane. Your selection determines the contents of the Sector Address Map pane.
For example, 2048Kx8x2 indicates a chip capacity of 2048 kilobytes, a byte-wide interface to the data bus, and a 2-chip hardware layout.
For hardware layouts of 2 or more chips, assume an interleaved organization. For example, for a 2048Kx16x2 organization, there are 2 chips on a 32-bit bus, and each chip provides 16 bits of data.
Shows a map of sector addresses that reflects your selections in the Device and Organization panes and your entry in the Flash
Memory Base Address text box. This map is for informational purposes only.
Program / Verify
The Program / Verify panel lets you program an image into flash memory and verify the programming operation.
shows the Program / Verify panel.
explains the items in the panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 267
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Figure 22.4 Program / Verify Panel
Table 22.4 Program / Verify Panel Items
Item
Use Selected
File
File Type
Explanation
Check to specify a file to program into flash memory. Enter the file path in the text box, or click the Browse button to locate the file path.
Clear to have the IDE program flash memory with the file that the default build target determines.
The file determines the address to which the IDE programs flash memory. If you specify a file that does not contain address information, such as a binary file, the IDE programs flash memory at address zero. Check the Apply Address Offset checkbox to specify an address offset from zero.
Select the file type. Options are: Auto Detect, Binary/Raw Format,
Elf Format, or Motorola S-Record Format.
268 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.4 Program / Verify Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Restrict Address
Range
Start text box
End text box
Apply Address
Offset checkbox
Offset text box
Flash Base
Address
Flash Base +
Offset
Explanation
Check to use the Start and End text boxes to specify the address range in which you want the IDE to program flash data. If you use a binary file to program flash data, the flash programmer ignores data outside the address range that you specify.
Clear to have the IDE determine the address range in which to program flash data.
Enter the starting address of the range that you want the flash programmer to use for programming flash data.
Check the Restrict Address Range checkbox to enable this text box.
Enter the ending address of the range that you want the flash programmer to use for programming flash data.
Check the Restrict Address Range checkbox to enable this text box.
Check to specify an offset at which to program flash data. The IDE adds this offset to the starting address that the file specifies. The flash programmer begins programming flash data at the starting address plus the offset.
Clear to have the flash programmer begin programming flash data at the starting address that the file specifies. In this case, the IDE does not add an offset to the starting address.
Enter the offset to add to the starting address that the file specifies.
The flash programmer begins programming flash data at the resulting address.
Check the Apply Address Offset checkbox to enable this text box.
Shows the base address of the beginning of flash memory on the hardware device. This address is the same address that you specify in the Flash Memory Base Address text box of the Flash
Configuration panel.
Shows the resulting address of adding the offset value that you specify in the Offset text box to the Flash Base Address value.
The flash programmer begins programming flash data at this resulting address.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 269
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.4 Program / Verify Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Status
Program button
Verify button
Explanation
Shows flash programmer progress information. Click the Details button to show more thorough progress information.
Click to have the flash programmer program flash data into the hardware device. The Status reflects flash programmer progress.
The flash programmer does not check for blank flash memory before it begins programming the flash data.
Click to have the IDE verify the data that the flash programmer programmed into the hardware device. The verify operation reads the flash data from the hardware device and compares that data against the image file on disk. The Status reflects flash programmer progress.
Erase / Blank Check
The Erase / Blank Check panel lets you erase an image from flash memory and check for
shows the Erase / Blank Check panel. Table 22.5
explains items in the panel.
270 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 22.5 Erase / Blank Check Panel
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.5 Erase / Blank Check Panel Items
Item
All Sectors checkbox and list
Erase Sectors
Individually checkbox
Status
Explanation
Check to apply the erase or blank check operation to the entire flash memory.
Clear to specify sectors that you want to erase or check for blanks. Select sectors in the list below the checkbox.
Check to have the flash programmer ignore chip erase commands and erase each individual sector instead.
Clear to have the flash programmer obey chip erase commands and erase all sectors at once.
Check the All Sectors checkbox to enable this checkbox.
Shows flash programmer progress information. Click the Details button to show more thorough progress information.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 271
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.5 Erase / Blank Check Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Erase button
Blank Check button
Explanation
Click to have the flash programmer erase the sectors that you specified. The Status reflects flash programmer progress.
Click to have the flash programmer perform these tasks:
• upload the sectors that you specified to the hardware device
• compare the uploaded sectors against 0xff
• report the values that do not match 0xff.
The Status reflects flash programmer progress.
Checksum
The Checksum panel lets you calculate checksum values. Figure 22.6
shows the
Checksum panel.
explains items in the panel.
Figure 22.6 Checksum Panel
272 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Flash Programmer Window
Table 22.6 Checksum Panel Items
Item
File on Target
File on Host
Memory
Range on
Target
Entire Flash
Start text box
Size text box
Status
Calculate
Checksum
Explanation
Select to have the flash programmer read the file that you specified in the Use Selected File text box of the Program / Verify panel. The flash programmer reads this file to determine the required memory regions of the flash device for the checksum operation.
The Restrict Address Range and Apply Address Offset information that you specify in the Program / Verify panel also apply to this option button.
Select to have the flash programmer read the file on the host computer. The flash programmer reads this file to determine the required memory regions of the flash device for the checksum operation.
The Restrict Address Range and Apply Address Offset information that you specify in the Program / Verify panel also apply to this option button.
Select to have the flash programmer read the range that you specify in the Start and Size values in the Address Range group. The flash programmer uses this memory range for the checksum operation.
Select to have the flash programmer read the entire contents of flash memory. The flash programmer uses this data for the checksum operation.
Enter the starting address of the range that you want the flash programmer to use for the checksum operation.
Select Memory Range on Target option to enable this text box.
Enter the size of the address range that you want the flash programmer to use for the checksum operation. This size is relative to the starting address that you specify in the Start text box.
Select Memory Range on Target option to enable this text box.
Shows flash programmer progress information. Click the Details button to show more thorough progress information.
Click to have the flash programmer calculate the checksum according to your specifications. At the end of the checksum operation, the
Status shows the calculated checksum.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 273
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Hardware Diagnostics Window
The Hardware Diagnostics window lists global options for the hardware diagnostic tools.
These preferences apply to every open project file.
shows the Hardware Diagnostics window.
explains items in the window.
To open the Hardware Diagnostics window, click Tools > Hardware Diagnostics.
The Hardware Diagnostics window has these panels:
•
•
•
•
Figure 22.7 Hardware Diagnostics window
274 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.7 Hardware Diagnostics Window Items
Item
Hardware
Diagnostics pane
Load Settings
Save Settings
OK button
Cancel button
Explanation
Shows a list of panel names. Click a panel name to display that panel in the Hardware Diagnostics window.
Click to restore previously saved settings for the current panel.
Click to save settings for the current panel to a file.
Click to save changes to all panels and close the window.
Click to discard changes to all panels and close the window.
Configuration
The Configuration panel configures general flash programmer settings. Figure 22.8
shows the Configuration panel. Table 22.8
Figure 22.8 Configuration Panel
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 275
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.8 Configuration Panel Items
Item
Default Project
Default Target
Use Custom
Settings checkbox.
Explanation
Shows the current default project in the IDE.
Shows the default build target in the IDE. Clear the Use Custom
Settings checkbox to have the IDE use the connection settings from the build target for diagnosing the hardware.
Check to specify the connection information that you want to use for diagnosing the hardware. In this case, the IDE can connect to the hardware without using settings from a project.
Clear to use the connection information stored in the default project for connecting to the hardware. You cannot clear the checkbox if you do not have an active default project or default target.
Connection information includes information that you specify in the
Target Processor list box, the Connection list box, and the Use
Target Initialization text box.
Use to specify the hardware processor.
Target
Processor text/list box
Connection list box
Use Target
Initialization checkbox and text box
Use to specify the method that the IDE uses to connect to the hardware.
Check to specify an initialization file for the hardware connection.
Enter the initialization file path in the text box, or click the Browse button to locate the initialization file path.
Clear if you do not want to use an initialization file for the hardware connection.
Memory Read / Write
The Memory Read / Write panel configures diagnostic tests for performing memory reads and writes over the remote connection interface.
Read / Write panel.
explains items in the panel.
276 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 22.9 Memory Read / Write Panel
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.9 Memory Read / Write Panel Items
Item
Read
Write
Byte
Word
Long Word
Target Address
Explanation
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform read tests.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform write tests.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform bytesize operations.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform word-size operations.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform long-word-size operations.
Specify the address of an area in RAM that the hardware diagnostic tools should analyze. The tools must be able to access this starting address through the remote connection (after the hardware initializes).
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 277
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.9 Memory Read / Write Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Value to Write
Status
Access Target button
Explanation
Specify the value that the hardware diagnostic tools write during testing.
Select the Write option to enable this text box.
Shows hardware diagnostic progress information. Click the Details button to show more progress information.
Click to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform specified tests.
The Status shows test results.
Scope Loop
The Scope Loop panel configures diagnostic tests for performing repeated memory reads and writes over the remote connection interface. The tests repeat until you stop them. By performing repeated read and write operations, you can use a scope analyzer or logic analyzer to debug the hardware device.
shows the Scope Loop panel.
explains items in the panel.
After the first 1000 operations, the Status shows the estimated time between operations.
NOTE
For all values of Speed, the time between operations depends heavily on the processing speed of the host computer.
For Read operations, the Scope Loop test has an additional feature. During the first read operation, the hardware diagnostic tools store the value read from the hardware. For all successive read operations, the hardware diagnostic tools compare the read value to the stored value from the first read operation. If the Scope Loop test determines that the value read from the hardware is not stable, the diagnostic tools report the number of times that the read value differs from the first read value.
278 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 22.10 Scope Loop Panel
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.10 Scope Loop Panel Items
Item
Read
Write
Byte
Word
Long Word
Target
Address
Value to Write
Explanation
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform read tests.
Select to perform write tests.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform bytesize operations.
Select to perform word-size operations.
Select to perform long-word-size operations.
Specify the address of an area in RAM that the hardware diagnostic tools should analyze. The tools must be able to access this starting address through the remote connection (after the hardware initializes).
Specify the value that the hardware diagnostic tools write during testing.
Select the Write option to enable this text box.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 279
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.10 Scope Loop Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Speed slider
Status
Begin Scope
Loop button
Explanation
Move to adjust the speed at which the hardware diagnostic tools repeat successive read and write operations. Lower speeds increase the delay between successive operations. Higher speeds decrease the delay between successive operations.
Shows hardware diagnostic progress information. Click the Details button to show more thorough progress information.
Click to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform your specified tests. The Status shows test results.
Memory Tests
The Memory Tests panel lets you perform three different tests on the hardware:
•
•
•
shows the Memory Tests panel. Table 22.11
You can specify any combination of tests and number of passes to perform. For each pass, the hardware diagnostic tools perform the tests in turn, until all passes are complete. The tools tally memory test failures and display them in a log window after all passes are complete. Errors resulting from memory test failures do not stop the testing process, however, fatal errors immediately stop the testing process.
280 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 22.11 Memory Tests Panel
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.11 Memory Tests Panel Items
Item
Walking 1’s
Address
Bus Noise
Start:
End:
Byte
Explanation
Check to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform the
Clear to have the diagnostic tools skip the Walking Ones test.
Check to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform the Address
test.
Clear to have the diagnostic tools skip the Address
test.
Check to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform the
test.
Clear to have the diagnostic tools skip the Bus Noise test.
Enter the starting address of the range that you want to test.
Enter the ending address of the range that you want to test.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform bytesize operations.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 281
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
Table 22.11 Memory Tests Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Word
Long Word
Passes
Show Log
Use Target
CPU
Target
Scratch
Memory Start
Target
Scratch
Memory End
Status
Begin Test
Explanation
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform word-size operations.
Select to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform long-word-size operations.
Enter the number of times that you want to repeat the specified tests.
Click to display a text file that logs memory test actions.
Check to have the hardware diagnostic tools download the test code to the hardware device. Enter in the Target Scratch Memory Start and Target Scratch Memory End text boxes the memory range that you want to use on the hardware device. The CPU on the hardware device executes the test code in this memory range.
Clear to have the hardware diagnostic tools execute the test code through the remote connection interface.
Execution performance improves greatly if you execute the test code on the hardware CPU, but requires that the hardware has enough stability and robustness to execute the test code.
Specify the starting address of an area in RAM that the hardware diagnostic tools can use as a scratch area. The tools must be able to access this starting address through the remote connection (after the hardware initializes).
Specify the ending address of an area in RAM that the hardware diagnostic tools can use as a scratch area. The tools must be able to access this address through the remote connection (after the hardware initializes).
Shows memory test progress information. Click the Details button to show more thorough progress information.
Click to have the hardware diagnostic tools perform the memory tests that you specified. The Status reflects memory test progress.
Walking Ones
This test detects these memory faults:
• Address Line—The board or chip address lines are shorting or stuck at 0 or 1. Either condition could result in errors when the hardware reads and writes to the memory
282 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window location. Because this error occurs on an address line, the data may end up in the wrong location on a write operation, or the hardware may access the wrong data on a read operation.
• Data Line—The board or chip data lines are shorting or stuck at 0 or 1. Either condition could result in corrupted values as the hardware transfers data to or from memory.
• Retention—The contents of a memory location change over time. The effect is that the memory fails to retain its contents over time.
The Walking Ones test includes four subtests:
• Walking Ones—This subtest first initializes memory to all zeros. Then the subtest writes, reads, and verifies bits, with each bit successively set from the least significant bit (LSB) to the most significant bit (MSB). The subtest configures bits such that by the time it sets the MSB, all bits set to a value of 1. This pattern repeats for each location within the memory range that you specify. For example, the values for a byte-based Walking Ones subtest occur in this order:
0x01, 0x03, 0x07, 0x0F, 0x1F, 0x3F, 0x7F, 0xFF
• Ones Retention—This subtest immediately follows the Walking Ones subtest. The
Walking Ones subtest should leave each memory location with all bits set to 1. The Ones Retention subtest verifies that each location has all bits set to 1.
• Walking Zeros—This subtest first initializes memory to all ones. Then the subtest writes, reads, and verifies bits, with each bit successively set from the LSB to the
MSB. The subtest configures bits such that by the time it sets the MSB, all bits are set to a value of 0. This pattern repeats for each location within the memory range that you specify. For example, the values for a byte-based Walking Zeros subtest occur in this order:
0xFE, 0xFC, 0xF8, 0xF0, 0xE0, 0xC0, 0x80, 0x00
• Zeros Retention—This subtest immediately follows the Walking Zeros subtest. The
Walking Zeros subtest should leave each memory location with all bits set to 0. The
Zeros Retention subtest verifies that each location has all bits set to 0.
Address
This test detects memory aliasing. Memory aliasing exists when a physical memory block repeats one or more times in a logical memory space. Without knowing about this condition, you might conclude that there is much more physical memory than what actually exists.
The address test uses a simplistic technique to detect memory aliasing. The test writes sequentially increasing data values (starting at one and increasing by one) to each successive memory location. The maximum data value is a prime number and its specific value depends on the addressing mode so as to not overflow the memory location.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 283
Working with Hardware Tools
Hardware Diagnostics Window
The test uses a prime number of elements to avoid coinciding with binary math boundaries:
• For byte mode, the maximum prime number is 2
8
-5 or 251.
• For word mode, the maximum prime number is 2
16
-15 or 65521.
• For long word mode, the maximum prime number is 2
32
-5 or 4294967291.
If the test reaches the maximum value, the value rolls over to 1 and starts incrementing again. This sequential pattern repeats throughout the memory under test. Then the test reads back the resulting memory and verifies it against the written patterns. Any deviation from the written order could indicate a memory aliasing condition.
Bus Noise
This test stresses the memory system by causing many bits to flip from one memory access to the next (both addresses and data values). Bus noise occurs when many bits change consecutively from one memory access to another. This condition can occur on both address and data lines.
Address lines
To force bit flips in address lines, the test uses three approaches:
• Sequential—This approach works sequentially through all of the memory under test, from lowest address to highest address. This sequential approach results in an average number of bit flips from one access to the next.
• Full Range Converging—This approach works from the fringes of the memory range toward the middle of the memory range. Memory access proceeds in this pattern, where + number and - number refer to the next item location (the specific increment or decrement depends on byte, word, or long word address mode):
– the lowest address
– the highest address
– (the lowest address) + 1
– (the highest address) - 1
– (the lowest address) + 2
– (the highest address) - 2
• Maximum Invert Convergence—This approach uses calculated end point addresses to maximize the number of bits flipping from one access to the next. This approach involves identifying address end points such that the values have the maximum inverted bits relative to one another. Specifically, the test identifies the lowest address with all 0x5 values in the least significant nibbles and the highest address with all 0xA values in the least significant nibbles. After the test identifies these end
284 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Working with a Logic Analyzer points, memory access alternates between low address and high address, working towards the center of the memory under test. Accessing memory in this manner, the test achieves the maximum number of bits flips from one access to the next.
Data lines
To force bit flips in data lines, the test uses two sets of static data, a pseudo-random set and a fixed-pattern set. Each set contains 31 elements—a prime number. The test uses a prime number of elements to avoid coinciding with binary math boundaries. The sets are unique to each addressing mode so as to occupy the full range of bits.
• The test uses the pseudo-random data set to stress the data lines in a repeatable but pattern-less fashion.
• The test uses the fixed-pattern set to force significant numbers of data bits to flip from one access to the next.
The subtests execute similarly in that each subtest iterates through static data, writing values to memory. The test combines the three address line approaches with the two data sets to produce six unique subtests:
• Sequential with Random Data
• Sequential with Fixed Pattern Data
• Full Range Converging with Random Data
• Full Range Converging with Fixed Pattern Data
• Maximum Invert Convergence with Random Data
• Maximum Invert Convergence with Fixed Pattern Data
Working with a Logic Analyzer
(Windows OS) This section explains how to set up your project to connect to a logic analyzer and how to use the IDE to issue commands to the logic analyzer. For more information about setting up the logic analyzer to transmit information to the IDE, refer to the Targeting documentation.
Configuring the Project
Use the Analyzer Connections target settings panel (
project to connect to a logic analyzer.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 285
Working with Hardware Tools
Working with a Logic Analyzer
Figure 22.12 Analyzer Connections Settings Panel
Use the Connection list box to specify the logic analyzer connection that you want to use.
Click the Edit Connection button to configure the parameters of the connection.
shows the window that appears when you click the Edit Connection button. Table
explains options in this window.
NOTE
Each build target supports only one connection to a logic analyzer. If you want your project to have more logic analyzer connections, create a build target for each additional connection.
286 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 22.13 Editing a Logic Analyzer Connection
Working with Hardware Tools
Working with a Logic Analyzer
Table 22.12 Logic Analyzer Connection Options
Option
Name
Debugger
Connection Type
Analyzer Type
Host Name
Analyzer
Configuration File
Analyzer Slot
Explanation
Enter the name that you want to assign to this collection of options.
Use to specify the debugger to use with the logic analyzer.
Use to specify the connection method to the logic analyzer.
Use to specify the type of logic analyzer.
Enter the Internet Protocol (IP) address of the logic analyzer.
Enter the name of the configuration file that the logic analyzer requires.
Enter the slot name that identifies the logic analyzer location.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 287
Working with Hardware Tools
Working with a Logic Analyzer
Table 22.12 Logic Analyzer Connection Options ( continued)
Option
Trace Support
File
Analyzer Can
Cause Target
Breakpoint
Target Breakpoint
Can Cause
Analyzer Trigger
Explanation
Enter the name of the file that the logic analyzer requires to support the collection of trace data.
Check to allow the logic analyzer to cause a hardware breakpoint.
Clear to prevent the logic analyzer from causing a hardware breakpoint.
Check to allow a hardware breakpoint to trigger the logic analyzer.
Clear to prevent a hardware breakpoint from triggering the logic analyzer.
Using the Logic Analyzer
The IDE can work with a logic analyzer in these ways:
•
Connect —establish a connection to the logic analyzer
•
Arm —enable the logic analyzer to collect trace data
•
Disarm —disable the logic analyzer from collecting trace data
•
Update Data —retrieve the latest data from the logic analyzer
•
Disconnect —close connection to the logic analyzer
Before you can use the IDE to work with a logic analyzer, you must use the Analyzer
Settings target settings panel to configure a connection to the logic analyzer.
The IDE requires this information in order to correlate collected trace data with currently running source code.
Connect
This command uses the connection options that you specified in the Analyzer Settings target settings panel to perform these tasks:
1. Establish a connection to the logic analyzer.
2. Load the configuration file that you specified in the Analyzer Configuration File text box (the load process might take several minutes).
3. Requests additional information from you as required (for example, for an Agilent connection, the IDE asks you to select the machine that you want to use).
4. Retrieves all data that will appear in the Trace window.
288 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Working with a Logic Analyzer
Click Tools > Logic Analyzer > Connect to use this command. You cannot use this command if you are already connected to a logic analyzer.
Arm
This command instructs the logic analyzer to perform a Run All operation. This operation prepares the logic analyzer to collect trace data. Click Tools > Logic Analyzer > Arm to use this command. You cannot use this command if the IDE has not established a connection to the logic analyzer, or if you already armed the logic analyzer.
Disarm
This command instructs the logic analyzer to perform a Stop All operation, if it is still running. This operation stops the logic analyzer from collecting trace data. Click Tools >
Logic Analyzer > Disarm to use this command. You cannot use this command if the IDE has not established a connection to the logic analyzer.
NOTE
You must use the Disarm command in order to update trace data in the IDE.
Update Data
This command retrieves the most recent trace data from the logic analyzer in order to display that data in the Trace window of the IDE. Click Tools > Logic Analyzer >
Update Data to use this command. The Trace window flushes its previous data and updates its display with the newly retrieved trace data. You cannot use this command until you first Disarm the logic analyzer.
NOTE
The Update Data command does not update the column labels in the Trace window. If you change the labels in the logic analyzer, you must disconnect from it in the IDE and then reconnect to it. After you disconnect and reconnect, the Trace window reflects your changes to the column labels.
Disconnect
This command disconnects the IDE from the logic analyzer, it the connection still exists.
Click Tools > Logic Analyzer > Disconnect to use this command. After you disconnect the IDE from the logic analyzer, the Trace window flushes its data. You cannot use this command if you are not currently connected to a logic analyzer.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 289
Working with Hardware Tools
Trace Window
Trace Window
After you configure your project to use a logic analyzer and collect trace data, you use the
Trace window (
) to view the collected data. The trace window shows up to
100,000 states or trace frames, beginning with the most recent frame.
The IDE determines the column labels that appear in the Trace window at the time it connects to the logic analyzer. If you update these labels in the logic analyzer, your changes do not appear in the Trace window if you update data. In the IDE, you must disconnect from the logic analyzer and reconnect to it in order to update the column labels in the Trace window.
After you use a logic analyzer to collect trace data, open the Trace window by clicking
Data > View Trace.
Figure 22.14 Trace Window
Cache Window
Use the Cache window (
) to view cache information for the target processor.
Click Data > View Cache to open the Cache window.
NOTE
The View Cache menu might have additional supported commands, depending on the target processor. For example, you might be able to click Data > View
290 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Profile Window
Cache > Instruction Cache or Data > View Cache > Data Cache to view these two types of cache concurrently.
Figure 22.15 Cache Window
Profile Window
Use the Profile window ( Figure 22.16
) to examine profile data that you collect from
executing code. Examining this data helps you improve the performance of your project.
You use profiler Application Programming Interface (API) calls or #pragma directives in your source code to turn on the profiler, collect profiling data, and turn off the profiler.
For more information, refer to
NOTE
The Profiler is only available if the target supports it. This feature is dependent upon support by the target-specific compiler and a profiling library.
To open the Profile window, add the appropriate API calls or #pragma directives to your source code, then debug your project. The Profile window opens automatically.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 291
Working with Hardware Tools
Command Window
Figure 22.16 Profile Window
Command Window
The IDE supports a command-line interface to some of its features. You can use the command-line interface together with the TCL scripting engine. You can also issue a command line that saves a log file of command-line activity.
The Command window in the IDE shows the standard output and standard error streams of command-line activity.
shows the Command window.
Figure 22.17 Command Window
292
Opening the Command Window
Use the Command window to view the standard output and standard error streams of command-line activity.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Hardware Tools
Command Window
To open the Command window, click View > Command Window.
Issuing Command Lines
Use the Command window to issue command lines to the IDE. For example, enter debug
to start a debugging session.
To issue a command line, bring forward the Command window, type the command line, and press Enter or Return. The IDE executes the command line that you entered.
If you work with hardware as part of your project, you can use the Command window to issue command lines to the IDE while the hardware is running.
NOTE
Enter help to see a list of available commands and a brief explanation of each command. Enter help command to see a detailed explanation of the command
. Detailed information is provided in the IDE Automation Guide.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 293
Working with Hardware Tools
Command Window
294 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
23
Profiler
The CodeWarrior active profiler lets you analyze how processor time is distributed during your program’s execution. With this information, you can determine where to concentrate your efforts to optimize your code most effectively.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
•
•
Overview
This section provides you with general information about what a profiler is, different kinds of profilers, and a typical strategy you would follow to measure program performance.
Topics discussed are:
•
—a brief description of profilers and what they do
•
—different kinds of profilers, their strengths and weaknesses
•
—an outline you should follow when profiling your own code
•
Profiling Code —three steps to follow when profiling code
What Is a Profiler?
Speed and performance are important issues in most software projects. In most cases, code that does not work quickly does not work well.
Programmers have regularly observed that 10% of their code does 90% of the work.
Reworking code to make it more efficient is not a trivial task. You should concentrate on improving that core 10% of your code first, and improve the infrequently-used code later, if at all.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 295
Profiler
Overview
How would you like to know precisely where your code spent its time? That is what a profiler does for you—it gives you clues. More than clues, the CodeWarrior profiler gives you hard and reliable data.
A good profiler analyzes the amount of time your code spends performing various tasks.
Armed with this information, you can apply your efforts to improving the efficiency of core routines.
A profiler can also help you detect bottlenecks—routines your data passes through to get to other places—and routines that are just inordinately slow. Identifying these problems is the first step to solving them.
Types of Profilers
The simplest profilers count how many times a routine is called. They do not report any information about which routines are called by other routines, or the amount of time spent inside the various routines being profiled.
Clearly a good profile of the runtime performance of code requires more information than a raw count. More advanced profilers perform statistical sampling of the runtime environment. These profilers are called passive or sampling profilers.
A passive profiler divides the program being profiled into evenly-sized “buckets” in memory. It then samples the processor’s program counter at regular intervals to determine which bucket the counter is in.
The main advantage of a passive profiler is that it requires no modification to the program under observation. You just run the profiler and tell it what program to observe. Also, passive profilers distribute the overhead that they incur evenly over time, allowing the post-processing steps to ignore it. On the other hand, they cannot sample too frequently or the sampling interrupt will overwhelm the program being sampled.
Passive profilers have a significant disadvantage. Although useful, bucket boundaries do not line up with routine boundaries in the program. This makes it difficult if not impossible to determine which routines are heavily used. As a result, passive profilers generate a relatively low-resolution image of what is happening in the program while it runs.
In addition, because they rely on a statistical sampling technique, the program must run for a long enough period to collect a valid sample. As a result, they do not have good repeatability—that is, the results you get from different runs may vary unless the sampling period is long.
The most advanced and accurate profilers are called active profilers. The CodeWarrior profiler is an active profiler.
An active profiler tracks the precise amount of time a program spends in each individual routine, measured directly from the system clock.
296 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Overview
To perform this magic, an active profiler requires that you modify the code of the program to be observed. An active profiler gains control at every routine entry and exit. There must be a call to the profiler at the beginning of each profiled routine. The profiler can then track how much time is spent in the routine.
This approach has significant advantages over a passive profiler. An active profiler can report high-resolution results about exactly what your program is doing. An active profiler also tracks the dynamic call tree of a program. This information can be very useful for determining the true cost of calling a routine. The true cost of a routine call is not only the time spent in the routine, it is also the time spent in its children—the subsidiary routines it calls, the routines they call, and so on to whatever depth is necessary.
Because it uses measurements and not statistical sampling, an active profiler is much more accurate and repeatable than a passive profiler.
The requirement that you must modify the actual source code might seem like a significant disadvantage. With the CodeWarrior profiler, this disadvantage is minimal. Activating the profiler for an entire program—or for a range of routines within a program—is simple.
The compiler does most of the work, inserting the necessary calls to the profiler itself. You do have to recompile the project when you turn on profiling.
Finally, active profilers generate a large amount of raw information. This can lead to confusion and difficulty interpreting the results. The Profiler window that is part of the
CodeWarrior profiler system handles these difficulties with aplomb. You can view and sort the data in whatever way best suits your needs.
A Profiling Strategy
You use a profiler to measure the runtime performance of your code. What is usually important is how your code’s performance measures up to some standard. When approaching the problem of measuring performance, you might want to take these three steps:
1. Establish your standards.
For example, you might decide that you want the program to load in less than ten seconds, or check the spelling of a five-page document that contains no misspellings in
15 seconds. Also decide on the platform you will use for testing, since processor speeds vary.
2. Determine how to measure time.
Your measurement device may be no more complicated than a stopwatch, or you may need to add some simple code to count ticks. At this phase you want to test the code in as close to its finished form as possible, so measure time in a way that is accurate enough to suit your needs, and that has the lowest impact on your code’s natural performance. You do not want to run a full-blown profile here, because profiling can add significant overhead, thus slowing down your code’s raw performance.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 297
Profiler
Using the Profiler
3. Run the tests and measure results.
If you meet your performance goals, your job is done. If your code does not meet your goals, then it is time to profile your code.
Profiling Code
To profile your code, you do three things:
1. Run a profiler on the area of the code you want tested.
This might be a single routine, a group of routines that perform a task, or even the entire application. What you profile depends upon what you are testing.
2. Analyze the data collected by the profiler and improve your code.
You study the results of your profiling and look for problems and room for improvement.
The profiling process is iterative. You repeat these two steps until you achieve the performance gain you need to meet your goals.
The rest of this manual discusses how to perform these two steps—profile your code and analyze the results—using the CodeWarrior profiler system.
3. Retest your code to verify results
When you are satisfied that you have reached your goals, you have one more step to perform. You should run your original tests—without the profiler of course—to verify that your code in its natural state meets your performance goals.
The CodeWarrior profiler will help you meet those goals quickly and easily.
Using the Profiler
The CodeWarrior profiler lets you analyze how processor time is distributed during your program’s execution. With this information, you can determine where to concentrate your efforts to optimize your code most effectively.
This section discusses the following principal topics:
•
What It Does —an overview of the principle features of the profiler
•
—basic information on the elements of the profiler and about how to use the profiler in your own code
•
Profiling Made Easy —a step-by-step guide to using the profiler
298 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Using the Profiler
What It Does
The CodeWarrior profiler is a state-of-the-art, user-friendly, analytical tool that can profile
C or C++ code.
For every project, from the simplest to the most complex, the profiler offers many useful features that help you analyze your code. You can:
• turn the profiler on and off at compile time
• profile any routine, group of routines, or an entire project
• track time spent in any routine
• track time spent in a routine and the routines it calls—its children
• track execution paths and times in a dynamic call tree
• collect detailed or summary data in a profile
• use precision time resolutions for accurate profiling
• track the stack space used by each routine
How It Works
The CodeWarrior profiler is an active profiler. The profiling system consists of three main profiler components:
• a statically-linked code library of compiled code containing the profiler
• an Application Programming Interface (API) to control the profiler
• the Profiler window to view and analyze the profile results
Details of the API are discussed in Profiler Function Reference The Profiler window is
The rest of this section will discuss the general profiling process. Subsequent sections describe how to carry out the profiling process for your particular target.
To use the profiler, you do these things:
• Include the correct profiler library and files in your CodeWarrior project
• Modify your source code to make use of the profiler API
• Use the API to initialize the profiler, to dump the results into a file, and to exit the profiler
• Use the Profiler window to view the results
You can profile an entire program if you wish or, adding compiler directives to your code, you can profile any individual section of your program.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 299
Profiler
Using the Profiler
You modify the original source code slightly to initialize the profiler, dump results, and exit the profiler when through. You may modify the source code more extensively if you wish to profile individual portions of your code.
Then the compiler and linker—using a profiler library—generate a new version of your program, ready for profiling. While it runs, the profiler generates data. Your program will run a little more slowly because of the profiler overhead (sometimes a lot more slowly), but that is taken into account in the final results. When complete, you use the Profiler window to analyze the data and determine what changes are appropriate to improve performance. You can repeat the process as often as desired until you have turned your code into a fast, efficient, well-oiled machine.
See also
Profiling Made Easy
This section takes you step by step through the general process of profiling an application.
To profile an application, you:
•
Add a profiler library to the project
•
•
Include the profiler API interface
•
•
•
In the steps that follow, we detail precisely what to do in both C and C++. These steps may seem a little complicated. Do not be alarmed. Using the CodeWarrior profiler is actually easier than reading about how to do it.
1. Add a profiler library to the project
The code that performs the profiler magic has been compiled into libraries. The precise library that you add to your code depends on the target for which you are profiling code and on the kind of code you are developing.
2. Turn on profiling
You can use the following methods to turn profiling on or off: a. Project-Level Profiling
To turn on profiling for an entire project, use the project settings. In the Project
Settings dialog, choose the processor you are generating code for under the Code
Generation option. Check the Profiler Information checkbox, as shown in
300 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Using the Profiler
. With profiling on, the compiler generates all the code necessary so that every routine calls the profiler.
Figure 23.1 Processor Preferences Options for PowerPC
b. Routine-Level Profiling
To profile certain routines (rather than the entire project), use the appropriate profiler API calls for your target to initialize the profiler, set up profiling, and immediately turn profiling off. You can then manually turn profiling on and off by placing profiler calls around the routine or routines you want to profile. For
example, you could modify your code to look like Listing 23.1
Listing 23.1 Profiling a Routine
void main()
{
...
err = ProfilerInit(...); if (err == noErr)
{
ProfilerSetStatus(FALSE); // turn off profiling until needed.
// more code....
// now you reach routine you want to profile
ProfilerSetStatus(TRUE); // turn on profiling foobar(); // this routine is profiled and shows up in viewer
ProfilerSetStatus(FALSE); // turn profiling off again
// more code....
ProfilerTerm();
}
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 301
Profiler
Using the Profiler
}
Assuming that profiling is on for an entire project, you can turn off profiling at any time. First, use an appropriate call to turn off profiling. Then use another call to turn it on. Turn it on just before calling the routine or routines you are interested in.
Turn it off when those routines return. It is really that easy.
Alternatively, you can use #pragma statements in C/C++. These are not as useful as using profiler API calls. For example, suppose you have two routines—foo() and bar()—that each call a third utility routine, barsoom(). If you use compiler directives to turn on profiling for foo() and barsoom(), the result you get will include the time for barsoom() when called from bar() as well.
3. Include the profiler API interface
To use the profiler, you add at least three profiler-related calls to your code. These calls are detailed in the next three steps. The process varies slightly for the different languages and targets.
Source files that make calls to the profiler API must include the appropriate header file for your target. For example, to profile an entire application, you would add this line of code to the source file that includes your main() function:
#include <profiler.h>
TIP
You do not have to include the header file in every file that contains a profiled function, only in those that actually make direct profiler API calls.
4. Initialize the profiler
At the beginning of your code, you call the appropriate function for your target. See
to find out the precise function name that you need for your specific target.
5. Dump the profile results
Obviously, if you profile code you want to see the results. The profiler dumps the results to a data file. The data is in a proprietary format understood by the profiler.
6. Exit the profiler
When you are all through with the profiler, before exiting the program you should terminate the profiler by calling the correct profiler API function. On most platforms,
302 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Configuring if you initialize the profiler and then exit the program without terminating the profiler, timers may be left running that could crash the machine.
The call to terminate the profiler stops the profiler and deallocates memory. It does not dump any information. Any collected data that has not been dumped is lost when you call the function to terminate the profiler.
Having performed these quick steps, you simply compile your program and run it. The
IDE automatically opens this file in the Profiler window when the dump is complete.
You can later re-open the file in the IDE to view the info again.
In summary, the process of using the CodeWarrior profiler is quite easy. You add the requisite library, turn on profiling, include the header file, initialize the profiler, dump the results, and exit. It is a remarkably painless and simple process that quickly gets you all the data you need to perform a professional-level analysis of your application’s runtime behavior.
Configuring
This reference section discusses how to use the profiler libraries, APIs, and compiler options.
The sections in this section are:
•
Profiler Libraries and Interface Files —the libraries and interface files that you add to
your code in order to use the profiler
•
Profiling Special Cases —special cases to consider when profiling code
Profiler Libraries and Interface Files
You can find all of the profiler libraries and interface files in the Profiler folder. The profiling code that actually keeps track of the time spent in a routine exists in a series of libraries. Depending upon the nature of your project and the platform for which you are writing code, you link in one or another of these libraries as appropriate. The libraries you use must match your settings in the Target settings panel.
The profiler.h file is the header file for the profiler API for C and C++. Include this file to make calls to control the profiler
Profiling Special Cases
The profiler handles recursive and mutually recursive calls transparently. The profiler also warns you when profiling information was lost because of insufficient memory. (The profiler uses memory buffers to store profiling data.)
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 303
Profiler
Configuring
For leading-edge programmers, the profiler transparently handles and reliably reports the times for abnormally terminated routines exited through the C++ exception handling model (try, throw, catch) or the ANSI C library setjmp() and longjmp() routines.
This section describes special cases you may encounter while profiling your code:
•
Profiling Code with #pragma Statements
•
Initializing Profiler with ProfilerInit()
•
Terminating Profiler with ProfilerDump()
•
Profiling Abnormally Terminated Functions
•
Profiling Code with #pragma Statements
You can substitute #pragma statements for profiler API function calls to profile your C/
C++ code on the function level. However, this is not as useful as the profiler calls. See
Routine-Level Profiling for more information.
Setting the “Generate Profiler Calls” Processor preference option sets a preprocessor variable named __profile__ to 1. If profiling is off, the value is zero. You can use this value at compile time to test whether profiling is on.
Instead of, or in addition to, setting the option in the Processor preferences, you can turn on profiling at compile time. The C/C++ compiler supports three preprocessor directives that you can use to turn compiling on and off at will.
#pragma profile on
#pragma profile off
#pragma profile reset enables calls to the profiler in functions that are declared following the pragma disables calls to the profiler in functions that are declared following the pragma sets the profile setting to the value selected in the preferences panel
You can use these directives to turn profiling on for any functions you want to profile, regardless of the settings in the Processor preferences. You can also turn off profiling for any function you do not want to profile.
Initializing Profiler with ProfilerInit()
At the beginning of your code, you call ProfilerInit() to initialize the profiler.
shows the prototypes for ProfilerInit() for C/C++.
304 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Configuring
Table 23.1 ProfilerInit() Prototypes
C/C++ long ProfilerInit(
ProfilerCollectionMethod method,
ProfilerTimeBase timeBase,
short numFunctions, short
stackDepth);
The parameters tell the profiler how this collection run is going to operate, and how much memory the profiler should allocate for its data buffers. Each parameter and its purpose is given in
.
Table 23.2 ProfilerInit() Parameters
Parameter
method timeBase numFunctions stackDepth
Purpose
collect detailed or summary data time scale to use in measurements maximum number of routines to profile approximate maximum depth of deepest calling tree
The collection method may be either collectDetailed or collectSummary. If you collect detailed data, you get information for the calling tree—the time in each routine and each of its children in the calling hierarchy. Summary data collects data for the time spent in each routine without regard to the calling chain. Collecting detailed data requires more memory.
The timeBase may be one of the following values:
• ticksTimeBase
• microsecondsTimeBase
• timeMgrTimeBase
• PPCTimeBase
• win32TimeBase
• bestTimeBase
The bestTimeBase option automatically selects the most precise timing mechanism available on the computer running the profiled software. Not all of these values are
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 305
Profiler
Configuring supported on all target platforms. Refer to the Targeting Manual for your product to determine which time bases are available for use.
The numFunctions parameter is the approximate number of routines to be profiled.
The stackDepth parameter is the approximate maximum depth of your calling chain.
You do not need to know the precise values ahead of time. If the profiler runs out of memory to hold data in its buffers, the profiler loses some data but notifies you of this in the results. You can then modify the parameters in the call to ProfilerInit() to increase the buffers and preserve all your data.
The profiler allocates buffers in the profiled application’s heap based on the method of collection, the number of routines, and the depth of the calling tree. On platforms where it is possible, the profiler will allocate memory outside of the application’s heap, which helps reduce the profiler’s effect on the application.
The call to ProfilerInit() returns a non-zero error value if the call fails for any reason. Use the return value to ensure that memory was allocated successfully before continuing with the profiler. Typically you would add this call as conditionally compiled code so that it compiles and runs only if profiling is on and the call to
ProfilerInit()
was successful.
You call ProfilerInit() before any profiling occurs. Typically you make the call at the beginning of your code.
See also Time and Timebases and Memory Usage
Calling ProfilerInit() in C/C++
In C/C++, the call would be at the beginning of your main() function.
The call might look like this: if (!ProfilerInit(collectDetailed, bestTimeBase, 20, 5))
{
// your profiled code
}
Of course, your parameters may vary depending upon how many routines you have and the depth of your calling chains.
Terminating Profiler with ProfilerDump()
The profiler dumps its data to a file when you call ProfilerDump(). The file appears in the current default directory, usually the project directory.
You provide a file name when you call ProfilerDump(). You may dump results as often as you like. You can provide a different file name for intermediate results (if you have multiple calls to ProfilerDump()), or use the same name. If the specified file
306 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Configuring already exists, a new file is created with an incrementing number appended to the file name for each new file. This allows the dump to be called inside a loop with a constant file name. This can be useful for dumping intermediate results on a long task.
ProfilerDump()
does not clear accumulating results. If you want to clear results you can call ProfilerClear().
A typical call to ProfilerDump() would be placed just before you exit your program, or at the end of the code you are profiling. The prototypes for ProfilerDump() are listed in
Table 23.3 ProfilerDump() Prototypes
C/C++ long ProfilerDump(
unsigned char *filename);
Calling ProfilerDump()
There is only one parameter: char*. The parameter points to a C-style string for filename. The IDE automatically adds a .cwp extension to the file name.
Profiling Abnormally Terminated Functions
The profiler correctly reports data for abnormally terminated functions that exited through the C++ exception handling model (try, throw, catch) or the ANSI C library setjmp() and longjmp() routines. You do not have to do anything to get this feature, it is automatic and part of the profiler’s design.
However, there is a possibility of some errors in the reported results for an abnormally terminated function.
First, the profiler does not detect the abnormal termination until the next profiling call after the abnormal termination. Therefore, some additional time will be reported as belonging to the terminated function.
Second, if the next profiler event is a profiler entry, and the new stack frame for that function is larger than the frames that were abnormally exited, the profiler will not immediately detect that the original function was abnormally terminated. In that case the profiler will treat the function just entered as a child of the function abnormally terminated. The profiler will correct itself on the next profiling event without this property—that is, when the stack returns to a point smaller than it was when the abnormally terminated function exited.
Finally, remember that the profiler is not closed properly and the output file is not dumped when exit() is called. If you need to call exit() in the middle of your program and want the profiler output, call ProfilerDump().
If you are using the profiler, you should always call ProfilerTerm() before exit().
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 307
Profiler
Viewing Results
CAUTION
If a program exits after calling ProfilerInit() without calling
ProfilerTerm()
, timers may be left running that could crash the machine.
Debugging Profiled Code
It is possible to debug code that has calls to the profiler in it. However, the profiler does interfere with stepping through code. You may find it simpler to debug non-profiled code, and profile separately. In this section, we describe what happens when you step into and out of a profiled routine. In addition, we describe the effects that stopping in the debugger has on the profile results.
Stepping into a Profiled Routine
If you step into a profiled routine you may see assembly code instead of source code. The compiler has added calls to __PROFILE_ENTRY at the start of the routine. This is how the profiler knows when to start counting time for the routine.
If you step through the assembly code far enough to get to the code derived from the original source code, then switch the view from source to assembly and back again, you can see the original source code.
Stepping out of a Profiled Routine
If you single-step out of a routine being profiled, you may end up in the
__PROFILE_EXIT
assembly code from the profiler library. This is how the profiler knows when to stop counting time for the routine.
Effect of Stopping on Profile Results
If you stop in a profiled routine, the profiler counts all the time you spend in the debugger as time that routine was running. This skews the results.
CAUTION
If you debug profiled code, you should not to kill the code from the debugger. If you have called ProfilerInit() you should call
ProfilerTerm()
on exit. If you do not do so, you may crash your system.
Viewing Results
This section explains the ways you may view profile data. You will look at:
•
What It Does —the principle features of the profiler
308 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
•
—the profiler interface and how you can view data
•
—use the profiler to locate problems
Profiler
Viewing Results
What It Does
The Profiler window displays profiler output for you to analyze the results of your program’s execution. The profiler reads the dump files created by the calls in your code and displays the data in a form that you can use. Using the data display you can:
• sort data by any of several relevant criteria such as name, time in routine, percent of time in routine, and so forth
• open multiple profiles simultaneously to compare different versions of the profiled code
• identify trouble spots in the code
• view summary, detailed, or object-based data
How It Works
You open profile data files exactly as you open files in any application. You can use the
Open command from the File menu or drop the data file’s icon on the CodeWarrior IDE.
Whatever approach you take, when you open a file a window appears.
Profiler Window
The Profiler window allows you to view several elements of the profile data simultaneously, as shown in
.
Figure 23.2 Profiler Window
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 309
Profiler
Viewing Results
Profiler Window Data Columns
The profiler window contains a series of columns containing data from the profile. All times are displayed according to the resolution of the timer that you use to profile data.
The results in the window are only as precise as the timer used.
The times shown in the data columns are relative. Each time datum is reported to three decimal places. However, some timebases (most notably ticksTimeBase) are less
precise. See Time and Timebases
lists each of the columns in the profiler window (from left to right) and the information that column contains.
Table 23.4 Profile Window Data Columns
Column
Function name
Count
Time
%
+Children
%
Average
Maximum
Minimum
Contents
Routine name. (The profiler unmangles C++ function names.)
Number of times this routine was called.
Time spent in this routine, not counting time in routines that this routine calls.
Percent of total time for the Time column.
Time spent in this routine and all the routines it calls.
Percent of total time for the +Children column.
Average time for each routine invocation: Time divided by the number of times the routine was called.
Longest time for an invocation of the routine.
Shortest time for an invocation of the routine.
Sorting Data
You can view the data sorted by the value in any column. To change the sort order, click the column title. The heading becomes highlighted and data is sorted by the value in that column. Use the arrow control to change the direction of the sort (ascending/descending).
Multiple Windows
You can open any number of different profile windows simultaneously. This allows you to compare the results of different runs easily.
310 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Viewing Results
Window Views
In the tabs, you may choose to view the data in one of three ways: flat, detail, or class. Not all possibilities are available for all profiles.
Flat View
The flat view displays a complete, non-hierarchical, flat list of each routine profiled. No matter what calling path was used to reach a routine, the profiler combines all the data for the same routine and displays it on a single line.
shows a flat view.
Figure 23.3 Flat View
The flat view is particularly useful for comparing routines to see which take the longest time to execute. The flat view is also useful for finding a performance problem with a small routine that is called from many different places in the program. This view helps you look for the routines that make heavy demands in time or raw number of calls.
A flat view window can be displayed for any profile.
Detail View
The detail view displays routines according to the dynamic call tree, as
shows.
Figure 23.4 Detail View
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 311
Profiler
Viewing Results
Routines that are called by a given routine are shown indented under that routine. This means that a routine may appear more than once in the profile if it called from different routines. This makes it difficult to tell how much total time was spent in a routine.
However, you can use the flat view for that purpose.
The detail view is useful for detecting design problems in code; it lets you see what routines are called how often from what other routines. Armed with knowledge of your code’s underlying design, you may discover flow-control problems.
For example, you can use detailed view to discover routines that are called from only one place in your code. You might decide to fold that routine’s code into the caller, thereby eliminating the routine call overhead entirely. If it turns out that the little routine is called thousands of times, you can gain a significant performance boost.
In detail view, sorting is limited to routines at the same level in the hierarchy. For example, if you sort by routine name, the routines at the top of the hierarchy will be sorted alphabetically. For each of those first-level routines, its second-level routines will be sorted alphabetically underneath it, and so on.
The detail view requires that collectDetailed be passed to ProfilerInit() when collecting the profile. If collectSummary is used, you cannot display the data in detailed view.
Class View
The class view displays summary information sorted by class. Beneath each class the methods are listed. This is a two-level hierarchy. You can open and close a class to show or hide its methods, just like you can in the detail view.
When sorting in class view, functions stay with their class, just like subsidiary functions in detail view stay in their hierarchical position.
count.
Class view allows you to study the performance impact of substituting one implementation of a class for another. You can run profiles on the two implementations, and view the behavior of the different objects side by side. You can do the same with the flat view on a routine-by-routine basis, but the class view gives you a more natural way of accessing object-based data. It also allows you to gather all the object methods together and view them simultaneously, revealing the effect of interactions between the object’s methods.
312 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Viewing Results
Figure 23.5 Class View
Object view displays N/A (Not Available) in the +Children column for classes in a collectSummary
profile. This is because the detail information is missing from the file.
The class view requires that the profile contain at least one mangled C++ name. If there is none, you cannot use object view.
Finding Performance Problems
As you work with the profiler, you will see that the information provided quickly guides you to problem areas.
To look for time hogs, sort the view by either the Time column or the +Children column.
Then examine routines that appear near the top of the list. These are the routines that swallow the greatest percentage of your code’s time. Any improvement in these routines will be greatly magnified in your code’s final performance.
You may also want to sort based on the number of times a routine is called. The time you save in a heavily-used routine is saved each time it is called.
If stack size is a concern in your code, you can sort based on the Stack Space column. This lets you see the largest size the stack reached during the profile.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 313
Profiler
Troubleshooting
Troubleshooting
This section answers common questions about the profiler. So if you have a problem with the profiler, consult this section first. Other users may have encountered similar difficulties, and there may be a simple solution.
Profile Times Vary Between Runs
“I’m getting different results (within 10%) in the profiler every time I run my program.”
Background
There are two potential reasons that this may be happening. Both are time-related problems. The first problem that can occur is inadequate time in the function relative to the profiler resolution. The second problem is clock resonance.
Inadequate Time in the Function
If the function time that you are trying to measure is only 10 times greater than the resolution of the timebase, you will encounter this problem.
Solution
To solve this problem, increase the number of times your function is called, then the average the profiler computes will be more accurate.
Sometimes it is helpful to pull a routine out of a program, and into a special test program which calls it many times in a loop for performance tuning purposes.
However, this technique is susceptible to cache differences between the test and real program.
Clock Resonance
If the operations you are performing in your profiled code coincide with the incrementing of the profiler clock, the results can be distorted, and could show wild variations.
Solution
Avoid this problem by increasing the number of times your function is called.
314 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Troubleshooting
Problems while Profiling Inline Functions
“My inline functions are not getting inlined when I’m profiling my code. What’s happening?”
Background
When the compiler switch for profiling is turned on, the default setting for “don’t inline functions” is changed to true. This is so that these functions will have profiling information collected for them.
Solution
Place a #pragma dont_inline off in your source file to turn on function inlining again. You will not collect profile information for inline functions. In effect, a function can be inlined or profiled, but not both. The profiler cannot profile an inlined function.
TIP
If you use the #pragma dont_inline off in your code, you may see profile results for some inline functions.
When you declare an inline function, the compiler is allowed, but not required to inline the function. It is perfectly legal for the compiler to inline some functions, but not others. Data is collected only for the calls that were not inlined. The calls that were inlined have their time added into the time of the calling function.
Profiling Library Could not be Found
“While trying to profile my dynamically linked library (shared library), I get an error message saying that the profiling library could not be found.”
Background
This problem occurs when trying to use the profiling library to profile your dynamically linked library and the profiling library is not in the search path.
Solution
Add the profiling library to the search path. If you are using the CodeWarrior IDE, see the CodeWarrior IDE User’s Guide for information on search paths.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 315
Profiler
Reference
Reference
This section contains the detailed technical reference information you may need when using the profiler.
The topics discussed include:
•
Compiler Directives —handling compiler directives
•
—understanding memory usage
•
—the available time resolutions
•
—a reference for all of the profiler API functions
Compiler Directives
You can control routine-level profiling using compiler directives.
The C/C++ compiler supports three preprocessor directives that you can use to turn compiling on and off at will.
#pragma profile on
#pragma profile off
#pragma profile reset
Enables calls to the profiler in functions that are declared following the pragma.
Disables calls to the profiler in functions that are declared following the pragma.
Sets the profile setting to the value selected in the preferences panel.
You can use these directives to turn profiling on for any functions you want to profile, regardless of the settings in the Processor preferences. You can also turn off profiling for any function you do not want to profile.
As there are compiler directives to turn the profiler on and off, there are also directives to test if the profiler is on. You can use these tests in your code so that you can run your program with or without the profiler and not have to modify your code each time.
In C/C++, use the #if-#endif clause. For example: void main()
{
#if __profile__ // is the profiler on?
if (!ProfilerInit(collectDetailed, bestTimeBase, 20, 5))
{
#endif test(15);
#if __profile__
316 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Reference
}
#endif
}
ProfilerDump("Example.prof");
ProfilerTerm();
See also Routine-Level Profiling
Memory Usage
The profiler allocates two buffers in your program’s heap to hold data as it collects information about your code: one based on the number of routines, and one based on the stack depth. You pass these parameters in your call to ProfilerInit().
When possible, the profiler will allocate its memory outside of your program’s heap to reduce the impact of the profiler on your program. If this is not possible, the profiler’s memory buffers will be allocated in your program’s default heap. You must ensure that the heap is large enough to hold both your program’s dynamically allocated data and the profiler’s buffers.
In summary collection mode, the profiler allocates 64 bytes * numFunctions and 40 bytes * stackDepth.
In detailed collection mode, the profiler allocates 12 * 64 * numFunctions bytes and 40
* stackDepth bytes.
As an example, assume numFunctions is set to 100, and stackDepth to 10. In summary mode the profiler allocates buffers of 6,400 bytes and 400 bytes. In detailed mode it allocates buffers of 76,800 bytes and 400 bytes.
ProfilerGetDataSizes()
lets you query the profiler for the current size of the data collected in the function and stack tables. This information can be used to tune the parameters passed to ProfilerInit().
Time and Timebases
The timeBase may be one of the following values:
• ticksTimeBase
• microsecondsTimeBase
• timeMgrTimeBase
• PPCTimeBase
• win32TimeBase
• bestTimeBase
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 317
Profiler
Reference
The bestTimeBase option automatically selects the most precise timing mechanism available on the computer running the profiled software. Not all of these values are supported on all target platforms. Refer to the Targeting Manual for your product to determine which timebases are available for use.
When you call ProfilerInit(), the constant bestTimeBase tells the profiler to figure out the most precise timebase available on your platform and to use it.
Profiler Function Reference
This is a reference for all profiler functions mentioned in the text of this manual. The functions described in this section are:
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
The discussion of each function includes the following attributes:
• Description: A high-level description of the function
• Prototypes: The entire C/C++ prototypes for the function
• Remarks: Implementational or other notes about the function
ProfilerInit()
ProfilerInit()
prepares the profiler for use and turns the profiler on. The parameters tell the profiler how this collection run is going to operate, and how much memory to allocate. ProfilerInit() must be the first profiler call before you can call any other routine in the profiler API.
318 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Reference
Prototypes
typedef enum {
collectDetailed,
collectSummary
} ProfilerCollectionMethod; typedef enum {
bestTimeBase
} ProfilerTimeBase; long ProfilerInit(
ProfilerCollectionMethod method,
ProfilerTimeBase bestTimeBase,
long numFunctions,short stackDepth);
Remarks
ProfilerInit()
will allocate its memory outside of your program’s heap to reduce the impact of the profiler on your program. If this is not possible, the profiler’s memory buffers will be allocated in your program’s default heap. You must ensure that the heap is large enough to hold both your program’s dynamically allocated date and the profiler’s buffers.
ProfilerInit()
returns an error status that indicates whether or not the profiler was able to allocate its memory buffers. If the return value is 0, then memory allocation was successful. If a non-zero value is returned, then the allocation was not successful.
The method and timeBase parameters select the appropriate profiler options.
The numFunctions parameter indicates the number of routines in the program for which the profiler should allocate buffer storage. If the profiler is operating in detailed mode, this number is internally increased (exponentially), because of the branching factors involved. The stackDepth parameter indicates how many routines deep the stack can get.
A call to ProfilerInit() must be followed by a matching call to
ProfilerTerm()
.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 319
Profiler
Reference
ProfilerTerm()
ProfilerTerm()
stops the profiler and deallocates the profiler’s buffers. It calls
ProfilerDump()
to dump out any information that has not been dumped.
ProfilerTerm()
must be called at the end of a profile session.
void ProfilerTerm( void );
Remarks
If a program exits after calling ProfilerInit() you should call
ProfilerTerm()
. Failing to do so may lead to a crash on some platforms.
ProfilerSetStatus()
ProfilerSetStatus()
lets you turn profiler recording on and off in the program.
This makes it possible to profile specific sections of your code such as screen redraw or a calculation engine. The profiler output makes more sense if the profiler is turned on and off in the same routine, rather than in different routines.
void ProfilerSetStatus( short on );
Remarks
This routine and ProfilerGetStatus() are the only profiler routines that may be called at interrupt time.
Pass 1 to turn recording on and 0 to turn recording off.
ProfilerGetStatus()
ProfilerGetStatus()
lets you query the profiler to determine if it is collecting profile information. short ProfilerGetStatus( void );
Remarks
This routine and ProfilerSetStatus() are the only profiler routines that may be called at interrupt time.
ProfilerGetStatus()
returns a 1 if the profiler is currently recording, 0 if it is not.
320 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Profiler
Reference
ProfilerGetDataSizes()
ProfilerGetDataSizes()
lets you query the profiler for the current size of the data collected in the function and stack tables. This information can be used to tune the parameters passed to ProfilerInit().
Prototypes
void ProfilerGetDataSizes(
long *functionSize,
long *stackSize);
Remarks
If you have passed collectDetailed to ProfilerInit(),
ProfilerGetDataSizes()
returns the number of actual routines in the table, which may be larger than the value passed to ProfilerInit() in numFunctions
. This is because the profiler multiplies numFunctions by 12 when it allocates the table. The multiplication is done so that you can easily switch between collectDetailed and collectSummary methods without changing the parameters.
ProfilerDump()
ProfilerDump()
dumps the current profile information without clearing it.
long ProfilerDump( char* filename );
Remarks
This can be useful for dumping intermediate results on a long task. If the specified file already exists, a new file is created with an incrementing number appended to the filename. This allows the dump to be called inside a loop with a constant filename.
A non-zero value from ProfilerDump() indicates that an error has occurred.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 321
Profiler
Reference
ProfilerClear()
ProfilerClear()
clears any profile information from the buffers. void ProfilerClear( void );
Remarks
ProfilerClear()
retains the settings of collectionMethod and timeBase
that were set by ProfilerInit(). It does not deallocate the buffers.
322 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Compilers and Linkers
This section contains these chapters:
•
•
VI
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 323
324 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
24
Compilers
This chapter explains how to work with compilers in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. The IDE uses compilers to complete these tasks:
• Generate object code—the compiler translates source code into object code. Sample source code includes C++ files and Java files. Object code represents the same source instructions in a language that the computer directly understands.
• Flag syntax errors—the compiler highlights source code that generates syntax errors.
Syntax errors result from failing to follow valid structure in a programming language. In C++, a common syntax error is forgetting to end a statement with a semicolon.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for working with compilers.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
Choosing a Compiler
Choose a compiler to determine how the IDE interprets source code. The IDE uses a
plugin compiler architecture. This architecture provides these features:
• Modularity—the IDE associates a specific compiler plugin with a particular programming language or environment. For example, a compiler plugin exists for
C++ source code, and another compiler plugin exists for Java source code.
• Flexibility—as new programming languages develop, the IDE can use new compiler plugins.
The IDE associates common filename extensions with various plugin compilers. For example, most Java files have the filename extension .java. The IDE associates these files with the Java compiler. The File Mappings panel provides control over such associations.
Compiling Projects
Compile projects to process the source files that comprise a program and generate object code. The compiler flags syntax errors in the source files.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 325
Compilers
Compiling Projects
Use these tasks to compile projects:
• Compile source files.
• Set the build order or link order.
• Update a project or its files.
• Create an executable file from a project.
• Run an application created from the project.
• Remove object code.
This section explains how to perform each task.
Compiling Source Files
Use the Compile commands to compile source files into binary files. The IDE can compile a single file, multiple files, or all files in an open project.
1. Enable the Project window that contains the desired files to be compiled.
2. Select one or more files.
3. Choose Project > Compile.
The IDE compiles the selected files.
NOTE
The Project menu contains most commands for compiling and linking projects. However, depending on the project type, some commands might be disabled or renamed.
326
Setting the Build and Link Order of Files
Use the Link Order view in the Project window to specify the order in which the compiler and linker process files. Establishing the proper link order prevents link errors caused by file dependencies. The Link Order view is sometimes called the Segments view or Overlays view, depending on the target.
1. Click the Link Order tab in a Project window.
2. Click and drag files into the desired link order.
The IDE changes the link order. The build begins at the top of the link order, processes each file, and concludes at the bottom of the link order.
NOTE
The IDE uses the new link order during subsequent Update, Make, Run, and
Debug operations.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Compilers
Compiling Projects
Updating Projects
Use the Bring Up To Date command to compile, but not link, the newly added, modified, and touched files in a project. Unlike the Make and Run commands, the Bring Up To
Date command does not produce a binary file.
1. Select the project to update.
2. Choose Project > Bring Up To Date.
The IDE compiles all uncompiled project files.
Making Executable Files
Use the Make command to compile the newly-added, modified, and touched files in a project, then link them into a binary file. Unlike the Run command, the Make command does not execute the binary file. The Make command is useful for creating dynamic link libraries (DLLs), shared libraries, code resources, or tools.
1. Select the project to make.
2. Choose Project > Make.
The IDE processes the project and creates a binary file.
Running Application Projects
Use the Run command to perform these tasks:
• Compile and link a project (if necessary).
• Create a standalone application.
• Change project settings (if required).
• Save the application.
• Run the application.
Note, the Run command is not available if the project creates a non-executable file like a dynamic linked library (DLL), shared library, library, code resource, or tool.
1. Select the project to run.
2. Choose Project > Run.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 327
Compilers
Compiling Projects
Synchronizing File Modification Dates
Use the Synchronize Modification Dates command to update the modification dates of all files stored in a project. This command is useful for handling files from a third-party editor that does not share file-status information with the IDE.
1. Select the project window.
2. Choose Project > Synchronize Modification Dates.
The IDE checks the file-modification dates and marks modified files for recompilation.
Removing Object Code
Use the Remove Object Code command to remove binary object code stored in the project file and reduce project size.
1. Open the desired project.
2. Choose Project > Remove Object Code.
3. Set compaction options as desired.
• Select Recurse subprojects to remove object code from all subprojects in the project file.
• Select Compact targets to remove these items:
Target data files with the .tdt extension.
Browser data.
Dependency information.
Additional data cached by the IDE.
4. Select the method by which the IDE removes the object code.
• Click All Targets to remove object code from all build targets.
• Click Current Target to remove object code only from the active build target.
The IDE removes the specified object code from the project.
328 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
25
Linkers
This chapter explains how to work with linkers in the CodeWarrior™ IDE. The IDE uses linkers to complete these tasks:
• Combine code—the linker combines source-file object code with object code from library files and other related files. The combined code represents a complete computer program.
• Create a binary file—the linker processes the complete program and generates a binary file. Sample binary files include applications and shared libraries.
Read this chapter to learn more about typical tasks for working with linkers.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
Choosing Linkers
Choose a linker to determine the binary file type produced by the IDE. This list describes common binary files:
• Applications—applications, or executable files, represent a wide body of computer programs. Common applications include word processors, web browsers, and multimedia players.
• Libraries—libraries contain code for use in developing new computer programs.
Libraries simplify programming tasks and enhance re-usability.
• Specialized files—files designed for highly efficient operation in a specific context.
Such files usually support a particular combination of hardware and software to perform tasks.
The IDE provides various linkers for software development. The Target Settings panel contains an option for selecting a linker. The IDE maps to each linker a group of recognized filename extensions. These mappings determine how the IDE interprets each file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 329
Linkers
Linking Projects
Linking Projects
Link projects to process object code and generate a binary file. Refer to the CodeWarrior
Targeting documentation for more information about linkers for specific computer systems. This section explains general-purpose linker tasks.
Generating Project Link Maps
Use the Generate Link Map command to create a link-map file that contains function and cross-section information about the generated object code. The link map reveals the files, libraries, and functions ignored by the IDE while producing the binary output.
The IDE stores the link-map file in the project folder. The file uses the same name as the build target, with a .MAP or .xMAP extension.
1. Select the project window.
2. Choose Edit > targetname Settings...
3. Select the linker panel in the Target Settings Panels list.
4. Select the Generate Link Map option.
5. Click Save.
6. Choose Project > Make.
The IDE generates the link-map file.
330 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preferences and Target
Settings
This section contains these chapters:
•
•
•
•
Preference and Target Settings Options
•
Register Details Window XML Specification
VII
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 331
332 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
26
Customizing the IDE
The CodeWarrior™ IDE enables you to customize menus, toolbars, and key bindings to suit your programming preferences. Use the Customize IDE Commands window— which consists of the Commands, Toolbar Items, and Key Bindings tabs—to build your customizations.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
Customizing IDE Commands
You can customize the menu commands in the IDE’s menu bar, as well as control the appearance of specific menu commands, create new command groups to distinguish menu commands, and associate a command line (Windows, Solaris, and Linux) or a script or application (Mac OS) with a new menu command. The customized menu commands you create have access to IDE information, such as the current editor selection, the frontmost window, and the current project and its output file.
Select Edit > Commands & Key Bindings to access the Customize IDE Commands window.
shows the Customize IDE Commands window. Table 26.1
each button in the window. See the tasks in this chapter for more detailed information.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 333
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
Figure 26.1 Customize IDE Commands Window
Table 26.1 Customize IDE Commands Window Buttons
Button
New Group
New Command
Factory Settings
Revert
Export
Explanation
Click to add a new command group to the Commands list.
Click to add a new command setting within a group.
Click to restore default options for the current Customize IDE
Commands (Commands and Toolbar Items) lists.
Click to restore the most recently saved options for the current
Customize IDE Commands (Commands and Toolbar Items) lists.
Click to save a file that contains commands and key bindings to use later in the Customize IDE Commands lists.
334 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
Table 26.1 Customize IDE Commands Window Buttons ( continued)
Button
Import
Save
Explanation
Click to open a file that contains commands and key bindings to use in the current Customize IDE Commands lists.
Click to save customizations to the Customize IDE Commands list.
Commands Tab
Click the Commands tab at the top of the Customize IDE Commands window to display the commands view. Use this view to modify existing menu commands, and to create and remove command groups and menu commands.
Modifying Existing Commands
You can use the Commands tab of the Customize IDE Commands window to examine and modify existing command groups and menu commands. This view includes a
Commands list. This hierarchical list organizes individual menu commands into command groups. Click the hierarchical control next to a command group to expand that group and view its contents.
To examine a particular item, select it in the Commands list. Information for the selected item appears on the right-hand side of the Customize IDE Commands window. This window provides this information for each selected item:
• Name—This field shows the name of the selected item. If the IDE does not permit you to change the name of the selected items, this field is grayed out.
• Appears in Menus—Enable this checkbox to display the selected item in the specified position in the CodeWarrior menu bar. For example, enabling this checkbox for a menu command allows that menu command to appear under the related command group in the menu bar. Disabling the checkbox prevents the menu command from appearing in the menu bar under the command group.
• Action—This section shows information about the action the selected item performs.
For default menu commands, this section shows the command type, such as
Command or Hierarchical Menu. For customized menu commands that you create, this section lets you specify a command line (Windows, Solaris, and Linux) or a script (Mac OS) that runs after you choose the customized menu command.
• Key Bindings—This area consists of the Key Bindings list, the New Binding button, and the Auto Repeat checkbox.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 335
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
Creating a New Command Group
To create a new command group for menu commands, follow these steps:
1. Click the New Group button.
The IDE creates a new command group called New Group, adds it to the Commands list, and displays its information in the Customize IDE Commands window.
2. Rename the new command group in the Name field.
3. Use the Appears in Menus checkbox to toggle the availability of the new command group in the IDE menu bar.
Select the Appears in Menus checkbox to display the new command group in the menu bar. Clear the checkbox if you do not want the command group to appear in the menu bar.
4. Click Save.
The IDE saves your new command group. If you selected the Appears in Menus checkbox, your new command group appears in the menu bar.
Creating a New Menu Command
To create a new menu command, follow these steps:
1. Select the command group you want to contain the new menu command.
You must select an existing command group in the Commands list.
2. Click the New Command button.
The IDE creates a new menu command named New Command and places it within the selected command group. The information for the new menu command appears in the Customize IDE Commands window.
3. Enter a name for the new menu command.
You can change the default name of New Command, as
shows. Enter a new name in the Name field of the Customize IDE Commands window.
4. Use the Appears in Menus checkbox to toggle the availability of the new command within its command group.
5. Define the desired Action for the new menu command.
6. Click Save.
The IDE saves your new menu command. If you enabled the Appears in Menus checkbox, the new menu command appears within the selected command group.
336 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
Defining Command Actions (Windows)
shows Command Action fields, which let you associate an action with the new menu command:
Figure 26.2 Command Action Fields
• Execute—Enter in this field a command to run an application. Alternatively, click the ellipsis button next to the field to select the application using a standard dialog box.
• Arguments—Enter the arguments that the IDE must pass to the application specified in the Execute field. Alternatively, choose the desired arguments from the pop-up menu next to the field.
• Directory—Enter the working directory the IDE should use when it executes the application specified in the Execute field. Alternatively, choose the desired directory from the pop-up menu next to the field.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 337
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
Pre-Defined Variables in Command
Definitions
The IDE provides pre-defined variables for Windows, Solaris, and Linux (not Mac OS) to associate actions with commands. When you create a new command, you can use these pre-defined variables in command definitions to provide additional arguments that the
IDE passes to the application (which is specified in the Execute field).
NOTE
You can use variables that end with Dir as both argument and directory names.
shows a list of pre-defined argument variables;
defined directory variables.
Figure 26.3 Pre-Defined Argument Variables
338 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 26.4 Pre-Defined Directory Variables
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
explains pre-defined variables for command-line arguments.
Table 26.2 Pre-Defined Variables in Command Definitions
Variable
%sourceFilePath
%sourceFileDir
%sourceFileName
%sourceLineNumber
%sourceSelection
%sourceSelUpdate
Command-line output
sourceFilePath is the frontmost editor window's full path.
sourceFileDir is the frontmost editor window's directory.
sourceFileName is the frontmost editor window's filename.
sourceLineNumber is the line number of the insertion point in the front window.
sourceSelection is the path to a temporary file containing the currently selected text.
sourceSelUpdate is like sourceSelection, except the IDE waits for the command to finish and updates the selected text with the contents of the file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 339
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
Table 26.2 Pre-Defined Variables in Command Definitions ( continued)
Variable Command-line output
%projectFilePath
%projectFileDir
projectFilePath is the full path of the front project window.
projectFileDir is the directory of the front project window.
%projectFileName projectFileName is the filename of the front project window.
%projectSelectedFiles projectSelectedFiles passes the selected filenames in the project window.
%targetFilePath targetFilePath is the full path of the output file of the front project.
%targetFileDir targetFileDir is the directory of the output file of the front project.
%targetFileName
%currentTargetName
%symFilePath
%symFileDir
%symFileName
targetFileName is the filename of the output file of the front project.
currentTargetName passes the name of the current target of the frontmost window.
symFilePath is the full path to the symbolics file of the front project (can be the same as targetFile, such as CodeView).
symFileDir is the full directory to the symbolics file of the front project (can be the same as targetFile, such as CodeView)
symFileName is the full filename to the symbolics file of the front project (can be the same as targetFile, such as
CodeView)
340
Using a Pre-defined Variable
To use a pre-defined variable, follow these steps:
1. Create a new menu command.
The IDE creates a new menu command named New Command and places it within your selected command group. The information for the new menu command appears in the Customize IDE Commands window.
2. Enter a name for the new menu command.
3. Use the Appears in Menus checkbox to toggle the availability of the new command within its command group.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customizing IDE Commands
4. Define the Action for the new menu command.
a. Enter in the Execute field a command line to run an application.
b. Next to the Arguments field, click on the arrow icon and select an argument listed in the pop-up menu.
c. Next to the Directory field, click on the arrow icon and select a directory listed in the pop-up menu.
5. Click Save.
The IDE saves your new menu command with the pre-defined variables. If you enabled the Appears in Menus checkbox, the new menu command appears within the selected command group.
Defining Command Actions (Mac OS)
After you create a new menu command, the Customize IDE Commands window shows the Run App/Script field. This field appears in the Action section of the window.
1. Click the Choose button next to the field to display a standard Open dialog box.
2. Use the dialog box to select an application or script.
The IDE launches this application or script each time you choose the menu command.
The path to the selected application or script appears in the Run App/Script field.
Deleting Command Groups and Menu Commands
You can delete the command groups and menu commands that you create for the IDE.
Once removed, the command groups no longer appear in the IDE’s menu bar, and the menu commands no longer activate their associated command lines (Windows), applications or scripts (Mac OS).
NOTE
If you need to temporarily remove your customized command groups and menu commands, consider exporting your settings. If you export your settings, you do not need to reconstruct them if you want them in the future.
To delete a command group or menu command, follow these steps:
1. Select the command group or menu command you wish to delete.
If necessary, click the hierarchical control next to a group to expand and view its contents.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 341
Customizing the IDE
Customize Toolbars
2. Click Delete.
After clicking the Delete button, the selected command group or menu command disappears from the Commands list.
3. Click Save.
Clicking the Save button confirms the deletion. The IDE removes deleted command groups from its menu bar. Deleted menu commands disappear from their respective command groups.
Customize Toolbars
You can use the Toolbar Items page of the Customize IDE Commands window to put the commands you use often into your IDE toolbars.
The IDE toolbars contain a series of elements, each of which typically represents a menu command. After you click the element, the IDE executes the associated menu command.
The toolbar can also contain elements that execute actions other than menu commands.
Figure 26.5 Toolbar Items Page
342
This section explains these topics:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customize Toolbars
•
•
•
Kinds of Toolbars
The CodeWarrior IDE uses two toolbar types:
• Main toolbar (Windows OS)—This toolbar (
toolbar, is always available.
• Window toolbars—These toolbars appear in particular windows, such as the Project window toolbar (
) and the Browser window toolbar.
This distinction is important because you show, hide, clear, and reset the different toolbar types by using different sets of menu commands. These commands distinguish between the floating toolbar and the other window toolbars.
When you change one of these toolbar types, that change applies to every instance of that toolbar type you subsequently create. For example, if you modify the toolbar in an editor window, your changes appear in all editor windows opened thereafter.
Figure 26.6 Main Toolbar (Windows OS)
Figure 26.7 Project Window Toolbar
Toolbar Elements
A toolbar can contain these elements:
• Commands—buttons that you click to execute IDE menu commands
• Controls—menus, such as Document Settings, Functions, Header Files, Markers,
Version Control, and Current Target
• Miscellaneous—other elements, such as the File Dirty Indicator and File Path field
• Scripts (Mac OS)—buttons that you click to execute one of the scripts available through the Scripts menu
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 343
Customizing the IDE
Customize Toolbars
Click the Toolbar Items tab at the top of the Customize IDE Commands window to display the Toolbar view. Use this view to add new elements to a toolbar.
Modify a Toolbar
You can modify a toolbar in these ways:
• Add a toolbar element
• Remove a toolbar element
• Clear all elements on a toolbar
• Reset a toolbar
In certain circumstances there are restrictions on which elements you can add or remove from a toolbar. For example, you cannot add a second instance of an element to the toolbar.
After you modify a toolbar, the changes apply to every instance of that toolbar. For example, if you customize the Project window toolbar, those changes will affect every
Project window that you open, not just the toolbar in the active Project window. Your changes do not affect windows that are already open.
TIP
To display a ToolTip that names a toolbar element, rest the cursor over the element. On the Mac OS 9-hosted IDE, activate Balloon Help and rest the cursor over the element.
Adding a Toolbar Element
You add an element to a toolbar by dragging and dropping it from the Toolbar Items list onto a toolbar. This list is in the Toolbar Items view in the Customize IDE Commands window.
To add an element to a toolbar, follow these steps:
1. From the Toolbar Items list, select the icon next to the element that you want to add to a toolbar.
Make sure that the destination toolbar is visible.
2. Drag the element’s icon from the Toolbar Items list to the destination toolbar.
On the Windows-hosted IDE, if the destination toolbar accepts the element, a framing bracket appears in the toolbar. This framing bracket shows you where the new element will appear after you release the cursor. If the destination toolbar does not accept the element, the framing bracket does not appear.
344 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customize Toolbars
3. Release the element at the desired position.
After you release the element, the IDE inserts the element into the destination toolbar.
The toolbar might not accept an element for these reasons:
• The toolbar is full.
• The element already exists in the toolbar.
• The window does not support that element.
• The following elements can only be added to the editor window toolbar: Document
Settings, Functions, Header Files, Markers, Version Control menus, File Dirty
Indicator, and File Path field.
• The Current Target menu element can only be added to the Project window toolbar.
Removing a Toolbar element
To remove an element from a toolbar, follow these steps:
1. Display a contextual menu for the button that you want to remove, as
explains.
Table 26.3 Displaying Contextual Menu for a Toolbar Button
On this host...
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this...
Right-click the button.
Control-click the button.
Control-click the button.
Ctrl-click the button.
2. Select the Remove Toolbar Item command from the contextual menu.
The IDE removes the button from the toolbar.
Clearing All Buttons on Toolbars
You can clear all elements from a toolbar and build your own toolbar from scratch. Table
explains how to clear the main (floating) toolbar and window toolbars.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 345
Customizing the IDE
Customize Toolbars
Table 26.4 Clearing Toolbars
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this to clear the main toolbar…
Select View > Toolbars >
Clear Main Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Clear Floating Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Clear Floating Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Clear Floating Toolbar.
Do this to clear the window toolbar…
Select View > Toolbars >
Clear Window Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Clear Window Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Clear Window Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Clear Window Toolbar.
Reset Toolbars
Reset a toolbar to restore its default button set. Table 26.5
explains how to reset the main
(floating) toolbar and window toolbar by using menu commands.
Table 26.5 Resetting a Toolbar by Using Menu Commands
On this host… Do this to reset the main toolbar…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Select View > Toolbars >
Reset Main Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Reset Floating Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Reset Floating Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Reset Floating Toolbar.
Do this to reset the window toolbar…
Select View > Toolbars >
Reset Window Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Reset Window Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Reset Window Toolbar.
Select Window > Toolbar >
Reset Window Toolbar.
Alternatively, you can use a contextual menu to reset the main toolbar or a window
toolbar. Once you reset the toolbar, the IDE restores the default toolbar button set. Table
explains how to reset the main (floating) toolbar and window toolbar by using a contextual menu.
346 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customize Key Bindings
Table 26.6 Resetting a Toolbar by Using a Contextual Menu
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this to reset the main toolbar…
Right-click the toolbar and select Reset Toolbar.
Control-click the toolbar and select Reset Toolbar.
Click and hold on the toolbar, then select Reset Toolbar.
Click and hold on the toolbar, then select Reset Toolbar.
Do this to reset the window toolbar…
Right-click the toolbar and select
Reset Toolbar.
Control-click the toolbar and select
Reset Toolbar.
Click and hold on the toolbar, then select Reset Toolbar.
Click and hold on the toolbar, then select Reset Toolbar.
Customize Key Bindings
As
shows, you can customize the keyboard shortcuts, known as key bindings,
for various commands in the CodeWarrior IDE. You can bind a set of keystrokes to virtually any command. To activate the command, type its associated key binding. Use the
Customize IDE Commands window to change IDE key bindings.
You can also use the Customize IDE Commands window to look up default key bindings for specific commands, as well as change existing key bindings to better suit your needs.
Click the Commands tab at the top of the Customize IDE Commands window to display the Commands view. Use this view to configure key bindings for menu commands, editor actions, and other actions. You can also specify prefix keys.
This section has these topics:
• Modifying key bindings
• Adding key bindings
• Deleting key bindings
• Setting Auto Repeat for key bindings
• Exporting commands and key bindings
• Importing commands and key bindings
• Quote key prefix
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 347
Customizing the IDE
Customize Key Bindings
Figure 26.8 Customize IDE Commands—Key Bindings
348
Adding Key Bindings
Use the Customize IDE Commands window to specify additional key bindings for a particular command.
To add a key binding, follow these steps:
1. From the Commands list, select the command to which you want to add a new key binding.
Click the hierarchical controls next to the command categories to expand them as necessary so that you can see individual commands. Select the individual command you wish to modify.
NOTE
If you want to use your keyboard’s numeric keypad as part of the new key binding, enable the Numeric Keypad Bindings checkbox in the Customize
IDE Commands window.
2. Click New Binding. The Edit Key Binding dialog box ( Figure 26.9
) appears.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customize Key Bindings
Figure 26.9 Edit Key Binding Dialog Box
3. Create the key combination you would like to use for the selected command.
For example, to add the key combination Ctrl-8, hold down the Ctrl key and press the
8 key, then release both keys at the same time.
If you decide against the key combination that you just entered, or if you make a mistake, click Cancel in the Edit Key Binding dialog box. The IDE discards changes and returns you to the Customize IDE Commands window.
4. Click OK in the Edit Key Binding dialog box.
The new key binding appears in the Key Bindings list in the Customize IDE
Commands window.
5. Click Save in the Customize IDE Commands window to save your changes.
The new key binding is now available for use in the IDE.
Exporting Commands and Key Bindings
You can export to a file the custom commands and key bindings that you use with the
IDE. You can then import the file into another IDE running on a different computer in order to transfer all of your custom commands and key bindings. This process simplifies your setup on the other computer because you do not have to recreate your custom commands and key bindings manually.
NOTE
After you import your custom commands and key bindings into another computer, the IDE running on that computer first sets all its commands and key bindings to their default values, then imports your custom commands and key bindings.
To export your custom commands and key bindings, follow these steps:
1. Click Export in the Customize IDE Commands window.
After you click this button, a standard Save dialog box appears.
2. Select a location in which to save the Commands&KeyBindings.mkb file.
This file contains information about your custom commands and key bindings.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 349
Customizing the IDE
Customize Key Bindings
3. Click Save.
The IDE saves the Commands&KeyBindings.mkb file at the selected location.
TIP
You can rename the Commands&KeyBindings.mkb file, but remember to preserve the .mkb extension. Furthermore, the Windows-hosted version of the
CodeWarrior IDE uses this extension to properly recognize the commands and key bindings file.
350
Importing Commands and Key Bindings
You can import custom commands and key bindings from a previously exported file.
Commands&KeyBindings.mkb
is the default name of an exported file for custom commands and key bindings.
NOTE
After you import your custom commands and key bindings into another computer, the IDE running on that computer first sets all its commands and key bindings to their default values, then imports your custom commands and key bindings.
To import commands and key bindings, follow these steps:
1. Click Import in the Customize IDE Commands window.
After you click this button, a standard Open dialog box appears.
2. Use the dialog box to find and open the Commands&KeyBindings.mkb file that you want to import.
The IDE adds the custom commands and key bindings to the Customize IDE
Commands window.
Quote Key prefix
The Quote Key is a special prefix key that lets you use any character (such as a-z) as a command key without a modifier key, and still retain the ability to use that character normally, as in editor windows.
In typical use, a key equivalent involves two keys: a modifier key (such as the Ctrl key) combined with a printing key. However, the IDE does not require a modifier key.
For example, you can assign the 2 key (with no modifier) to a command. If you make this assignment, you can no longer type a 2 into your source code in the editor. This conflict occurs because the IDE now interprets the 2 as a command key instead of a printing key.
The Quote Key prefix provides the solution to such conflicts.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Customizing the IDE
Customize Key Bindings
You can configure the IDE to recognize any key as the Quote Key prefix. Despite its name, the Quote Key prefix does not have to be the key that creates the quote character
(").
After typing an assigned Quote Key prefix, the IDE interprets the next keypress as a keystroke, not as a command.
Returning to the earlier example, assume that you assign the 2 key to a command and the tilde key (~) to be your Quote Key prefix. To execute the command, you would type the 2 key. To enter the character 2 into source code, you would type the tilde key first, then the
2 key. To enter the tilde character into source code, you would press the tilde key twice.
WARNING!
The Quote Key only affects the next key or key combination that you type. You must use the Quote Key once for each bound key or key combination for which you want to type.
Assigning the Quote Key prefix
To assign the Quote Key prefix:
1. Click the expand control next to the Miscellaneous command group.
Miscellaneous is part of the Commands list in the Customize IDE Commands window.
2. Select the Quote Key item.
NOTE
If you want to use the numeric keypad as part of the new key binding, enable the Numeric Keypad Bindings checkbox in the Customize IDE Commands window.
3. Click New Binding to display the Edit Key Bindings dialog box.
4. Type the desired Quote Key prefix.
The keys you type appear in the dialog box. If you make a mistake or decide against the keys you typed, click Cancel to return to the Customize IDE Commands window.
5. Click OK in the Edit Key Binding dialog box.
The new Quote Key prefix appears in the Key Bindings list.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 351
Customizing the IDE
Customize Key Bindings
352 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
27
Working with IDE
Preferences
This chapter explains core CodeWarrior™ IDE preference panels and provides basic information on global- and project-level preference options. Consult the Targeting documentation for information on platform-specific preference panels.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
IDE Preferences Window
The IDE Preferences window (
) lists global IDE options. Table 27.1
explains the items of this window. These preferences, unless superseded by a Target Settings option, apply to every open project file. Select Edit > Preferences to open the IDE
Preferences window.
The IDE Preferences window lists preferences by group:
• General—configures overall IDE preferences, such as project builds, recent items, and third-party tools
• Editor—configures editor preferences, such as fonts, tabs, and syntax coloring
• Debugger—configures debugger preferences, such as window hiding during debugging sessions, low-level interactions, and variable highlighting
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 353
Working with IDE Preferences
IDE Preferences Window
Figure 27.1 IDE Preferences Window
Table 27.1 IDE Preferences Window Items
Item
IDE Preference
Panels list
Preference panel
Explanation
Lists preference panels, organized by group. Click the hierarchical control next to a group name to show or hide individual preference panels.
Shows options for the selected item in the IDE Preference Panels list.
Click to restore the default options for the current preference panel.
Click to restore the most recently saved options for the current preference panel.
Click to save an XML file that contains options for the current preference panel.
Click to open an XML file that contains options for the current preference panel.
354 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.1 IDE Preferences Window Items ( continued)
Item
OK (Windows)
Cancel
(Windows)
Apply (Windows)
Save (Macintosh,
Solaris, and
Linux)
Explanation
Click to save modifications to all preference panels and close the window.
Click to discard modifications to all preference panels and close the window.
Click to confirm modifications to all preference panels.
Click to save modifications to all preference panels.
General Panels
The General section of the IDE Preference Panels defines basic options assigned to a new project.
The General preference panels available on most IDE hosts include:
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
Build Settings
The Build Settings preference panel ( Figure 27.2
) provides options for customizing various aspects of project builds, including:
• file actions during project builds
• memory usage to accelerate builds
• local data storage of projects stored on read-only volumes
explains the items of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 355
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Figure 27.2 Build Settings Preference Panel
Table 27.2 Build Settings Preference Panel Items
Item Explanation
(Macintosh, Solaris, and
Linux)
Solaris, and Linux)
(Macintosh, Solaris, and Linux)
Select to have the IDE play an alert sound after completing a Bring Up To Date or Make command.
Choose the sound the IDE plays after successfully completing a Bring Up To Date or Make command.
Choose the sound the IDE plays after failing to complete a Bring Up To Date or Make command.
Choose to always build the project before running it, never build the project before running it, or ask for the desired action.
Select to automatically save the contents of all editor windows before starting a build.
Show message after building up-to-date project
Select to have the IDE display a message after successfully building a project.
(Macintosh)
Enter the kilobytes of memory to allocate to the file cache used for #include files during a project build.
356 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.2 Build Settings Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
(Windows and Macintosh)
Explanation
Enter the kilobytes of memory to allocate to the stack for execution of the IDE compiler thread. Increase the size when compiling heavily optimized code.
Select to specify a location to save project data if the project is on a read-only volume. Click Choose to select the location.
Concurrent Compiles
The Concurrent Compiles preference panel ( Figure 27.3
) controls execution of simultaneous IDE compilation processes. The IDE lists this panel in the IDE Preference
Panels list when the active compiler supports concurrency.
explains the items of this panel.
The IDE uses concurrent compiles to compile code more efficiently. The IDE improves its use of available processor capacity by spawning multiple compile processes, which allow the operating system to perform these tasks as needed:
• optimize resource use
• use overlapped input/output
For those compilers that support concurrency, concurrent compiles improve compile time on both single- and multiple-processor systems.
Figure 27.3 Concurrent Compiles Preference Panel
Table 27.3 Concurrent Compiles Preference Panel Items
Item
Explanation
Select to have the IDE run multiple compilation processes simultaneously.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 357
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.3 Concurrent Compiles Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Explanation
Select to allow the number of concurrent compiles suggested by the IDE.
Select to stipulate the number of concurrent compiles.
IDE Extras
The IDE Extras preference panel (
) provides options for customizing various aspects of the IDE, including:
• menu-bar layout
• the number of recent projects, document files, and symbolics files to remember
• use of a third-party editor
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 27.4 IDE Extras Preference Panel
358 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.4 IDE Extras Preference Panel Items
Item Explanation
Choose a layout that organizes IDE menus into a typical host-platform menu bar. Restart the IDE in order for menu-bar layout changes to take effect.
Enter the number of recently opened projects for the IDE to display in the Open Recent submenu.
Enter zero to disable this feature.
Enter the number of recently opened documents for the IDE to display in the Open Recent submenu. Enter zero to disable this feature.
Enter the number of recently opened symbolics files for the IDE to display in the Open Recent submenu. Enter zero to disable this feature.
Solaris, and Linux)
(Macintosh,
(Windows)
(Windows)
Enter the number of recently opened workspaces for the IDE to display in the Open Recent submenu. Enter zero to disable this feature.
Enter the number of ticks to wait before displaying contextual menus. A tick is 1/60 of a second.
Select to use a third-party text editor to edit source files.
Enter a command-line expression that runs the desired third-party text editor.
Launch Editor w/ Line # (Windows)
Enter a command-line expression that runs the desired third-party text editor and passes to that editor an initial line of text to display.
Use Multiple Document Interface
(Windows)
Select to have the IDE use the Multiple Document
Interface (MDI). Clear to have the IDE use the
Floating Document Interface (FDI). Restart the
IDE in order for interface changes to take effect.
(Macintosh, Solaris, and Linux)
Select to have zoomed windows fill the entire screen. Clear to have zoomed windows in a default size.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 359
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.4 IDE Extras Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
(Macintosh,
Solaris, and Linux)
Use External Editor (Macintosh,
Solaris, and Linux)
(Classic Macintosh)
(Classic Macintosh)
(Macintosh)
(Windows)
Explanation
Select to display the Scripts menu in the menu bar. Clear to remove the Scripts menu from the menu bar.
Select to use a third-party text editor to edit text files in the current project. Clear to use the editor included with the IDE.
Select to display the ToolServer menu in the menu bar. Clear to remove the ToolServer menu from the menu bar.
Select to display Balloon Help after resting the cursor over a toolbar icon. Clear to prevent
Balloon Help from appearing.
Select this option to have the IDE use the default workspace to save and restore state information.
Clear this option to have the IDE always start in the same state.
Choose an online browser application to view reference information and definitions.
Displays or hides Code and Data columns in project manager.
360
Using an External Editor on the Macintosh
To use an external editor on the Macintosh, the IDE sends AppleEvents to an alias file that points to the editor application. Manually configure the IDE to use an external editor.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
The IDE Preferences window appears.
2. Select the IDE Extras panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select the Use External Editor option.
4. Click Save.
The IDE is now prepared to use an external editor application. To specify the external editor to use:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
1. Find and open the CodeWarrior folder.
2. Create a folder named (Helper Apps) inside the CodeWarrior folder (if it does not already exist).
3. Make an alias of the desired editor application.
4. Place the alias file inside the (Helper Apps) folder.
5. Rename the alias file External Editor.
6. Restart the IDE in order for changes to take effect.
The IDE now uses the aliased external editor.
Help Preferences
The Help Preferences panel (
), available on the Solaris and Linux IDE hosts,
specifies the browser used for viewing IDE online help.
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 27.5 Help Preferences Panel
Table 27.5 Help Preferences Panel Items
Item
Choose...
Explanation
Enter a path to the browser to use for viewing IDE online help.
Alternatively, use the Choose... button.
Click to select the path to the browser to use for viewing IDE online help.
Plugin Settings
The Plugin Settings preference panel (
) contains options for troubleshooting third-party IDE plugins.
explains the items of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 361
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Figure 27.6 Plugin Settings Preference Panel
Table 27.6 Plugin Settings Preference Panel Items
Item
Disable third party COM plugins
Explanation
Choose the plugin diagnostics level the IDE generates the next time it loads plugins. Restart the
IDE in order for diagnostic-level changes to take effect. Options are None, Errors Only, and All Info.
Select to prevent the IDE from loading third-party
Common Object Model (COM) plugins.
Shielded Folders
The Shielded Folder preference panel ( Figure 27.7
) enables the IDE to ignore specified
folders during project operations and find-and-compare operations. The IDE ignores folders based on matching names with regular expressions defined in the preference panel.
explains the items of this panel; Table 27.8
expressions in this panel.
NOTE
If the Access Paths settings panel in the Target Settings window contains a path to a shielded folder, the IDE overrides the shielding and includes the folder in project operations and find-and-compare operations.
362 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 27.7 Shielded Folders Preference Panel
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.7 Shielded Folders Preference Panel Items
Icon Item
Shielded folder list
Add
Explanation
Lists folders that match the specified regular expression. The IDE skips these folders during project operations, findand-compare operations, or both.
Enter the regular expression used to shield folders from selected operations.
Select to have the IDE skip folders during project operations. A bullet appears in the corresponding column of the shielded folder list.
Select to have the IDE skip folders during find-and-compare operations. A bullet appears in the corresponding column of the shielded folder list.
Click to add the current Regular
Expression field entry to the shielded folder list.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 363
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.7 Shielded Folders Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Change
Remove
Explanation
Click to replace the selected regular expression in the shielded folder list with the current Regular Expression field entry.
Click to delete the selected regular expression from the shielded folder list.
2
Table 27.8 Default Regular Expressions in Shielded Folders Preference Panel
Regular Expression
\(.*\)
CVS
.*[_]Data
Explanation
Matches folders with names that begin and end with parentheses, such as the
(Project Stationery)
folder.
Matches folders named CVS . With this regular expression, the IDE skips Concurrent Versions
System (CVS) data files.
Matches the names of folders generated by the IDE that store target data information, such as a folder named
MyProject_Data
.
Source Trees
Use the Source Trees panel ( Figure 27.8
) to add, modify, and remove source trees (root paths) used in projects. Use source trees to define common access paths and build-target outputs to promote sharing of projects across different hosts. Source trees have these scopes:
• Global source trees, defined in the IDE Preferences window, apply to all projects.
• Project source trees, defined in the Target Settings window for a particular project, apply only to files in that project. Project source trees always take precedence over global source trees.
Except for the difference in scope, global and project source trees operate identically.
explains the items of this panel.
364 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 27.8 Source Trees Panel
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
Table 27.9 Source Trees Panel Items
Item
Source Tree list
Name
Choose
Add
Change
Remove
Explanation
Contains the Name and Path of currently defined source trees.
Enter a name for a new source tree or modify the name of a selected source tree.
Choose the source-tree path type.
Click to select or modify a source-tree path.
Click to add a new source-tree path to the Source Tree list.
Click to modify the selected source-tree name or path.
Click to delete the selected source tree from the Source Tree list.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 365
Working with IDE Preferences
General Panels
366
Adding Source Trees
Add source trees that define root paths for access paths and build-target output.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
The IDE Preferences window appears.
2. Select the Source Trees panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Enter in the Name field a name for the new source tree.
4. Choose the source tree Type:
• Absolute Path—defines a path from the root level of the hard drive to a desired folder, including all intermediate folders
• Environment Variable—(Windows, Solaris, and Linux) defines an environment variable in the operating environment
• Registry Key—(Windows) defines a key entry in the operating-environment registry
5. Enter the source-tree definition:
• For Absolute Path—Click Choose to display a subordinate dialog box. Use the dialog box to select the desired folder. The absolute path to the selected folder appears in the Source Trees preference panel.
• For Environment Variable—Enter the path to the desired environment variable.
• For Registry Key—Enter the path to the desired key entry in the registry.
6. Click Add.
The IDE adds the new source tree to the Source Trees list.
7. Click OK, Apply, or Save.
The IDE saves the source-tree changes.
Changing Source Trees
Change a source tree to update path information for a project. The IDE must be able to resolve source trees before building the project.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Source Trees panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select the desired source tree in the Source Trees list.
4. If needed, enter a new name for the selected source tree.
5. If needed, choose a new path type for the selected source tree.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
6. Click Change.
The IDE updates the source tree and displays changes in the Source Trees list. A reminder message to update source-tree references in the project appears.
7. Click OK, Apply, or Save.
The IDE saves the source-tree changes.
Removing Source Trees
Remove source trees that the project no longer uses. The IDE must be able to find the remaining source trees before building the project.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Source Trees panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select the source tree from the Source Trees list.
4. Click Remove.
The IDE updates the Source Trees list. A reminder message to update source-tree references in the project appears.
5. Click OK, Apply, or Save.
The IDE saves the source-tree changes.
Editor Panels
The Editor section of the IDE Preference Panels list defines the editor settings assigned to a new project.
The Editor preference panels available on most IDE hosts include:
•
•
•
•
•
Code Completion
The Code Completion preference panel ( Figure 27.9
) provides options for customizing the IDE code-completion behavior, including:
• automatic invocation and indexing
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 367
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
• window positioning and appearance delay
• case sensitivity
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 27.9 Code Completion Preference Panel
Table 27.10 Code Completion Preference Panel Items
Item
Window follows insertion point
(ticks)
Explanation
Select to automatically open the Code Completion window to complete programming-language symbols. Clear to manually open the window.
Select to have the Code Completion window follow the insertion point as you edit text. Clear to leave the window in place.
Select to have the Code Completion window display obsolete items in gray text. Clear to have the window hide obsolete items.
Select to have the IDE consider case when completing code. Clear to have the IDE ignore case.
Enter the number of ticks to wait before opening the
Code Completion window. A tick is 1/60 of a second.
368 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Code Formatting
The Code Formatting preference panel (
) provides options for customizing
editor code-formatting behavior, including:
• indenting
• syntax placement
• brace handling
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 27.10 Code Formatting Preference Panel
Table 27.11 Code Formatting Preference Panel Items
Item
Use Automatic Code
Formatting
Language Settings
Explanation
Check to have the editor automatically format your source code according to settings in this panel.
Clear to prevent the editor from automatically formatting your code.
Use to specify the language type that you want to format.
Your selection changes the other options in this panel to their default states for the selected language.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 369
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Table 27.11 Code Formatting Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Format braces
Place opening brace on separate line
Indent braces
Place “else” on same line as closing brace
Indent code within braces
Explanation
Check to have the editor automatically insert a closing brace when you type an opening brace. The editor places the cursor between the opening brace that you typed and the closing brace that it inserts.
Clear to prevent the editor from automatically inserting a closing brace when you type an opening brace.
Check to have the editor place on the next line an opening brace that you type.
Clear to prevent the editor from placing on the next line an opening brace that you type.
Check to have the editor indent braces by one tab stop from the previous line.
Clear to prevent the editor from indenting braces by one tab stop from the previous line.
Check to have the editor place else and else if text on the same line as the closing brace of the if or else if statement.
Clear to prevent the editor from placing else and else if
text on the same line as the closing brace of the if
or else if statement.
Check to have the editor indent code by one tab stop from the braces.
Clear to prevent the editor from indenting code by one tab stop from the braces.
370 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Table 27.11 Code Formatting Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Indent “case” within
“switch” statement
Close braces, brackets, and parentheses
Explanation
Check to have the editor indent case
statements by one tab stop inside a switch statement.
Clear to prevent the editor from indenting case statements by one tab stop inside a switch statement.
Check to have the editor automatically insert the corresponding closing character when you type an opening brace, bracket, or parenthesis. The editor places the cursor between the opening character and the closing character.
Clear to prevent the editor from automatically inserting the corresponding closing character when you type an opening brace, bracket, or parenthesis.
Editor Settings
The Editor Settings preference panel (
) provides options for customizing the editor, including:
• fonts, window locations, and insertion-point positions
• contextual menus
• additional editor-window features
explains the items of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 371
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Figure 27.11 Editor Settings Preference Panel
Table 27.12 Editor Settings Preference Panel Items
Item
(Macintosh)
Explanation
Select to retain font settings for each source file. Clear to apply default font settings each time the IDE displays the source file.
Select to retain the text-insertion position in each source file.
Select to retain the location and dimensions of each editor window.
Select to add Edit menu commands to contextual menus.
Select to add Browser menu commands to contextual menus. Also select in order to use the Insert Template
Commands option.
Select to add the
Insert Template
submenu to contextual menus. The submenu displays sourcedefined function templates.
372 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Table 27.12 Editor Settings Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Left margin click selects line
(Windows and Macintosh)
Explanation
Select to add Project menu commands to contextual menus.
Select to add VCS (Version Control System) menu commands to contextual menus.
Select to add Debug menu commands to contextual menus.
Select to flash the matching
(
,
[
, or
{
after typing
)
,
]
, or } in an editor window.
Select to allow multiple undo and redo operations while editing text.
Select to allow the C parser to recognize some nonstandard function formats and avoid skipping or misinterpreting some definition styles.
Select to allow drag-and-drop text editing.
Select to allow selection of an entire line of text by clicking in the left margin of the editor window.
Select to sort function names by alphabetical order in menus. Clear to sort function names by order of appearance in the source file.
Select to allow moving the text-insertion point beyond the end of a source-code line. Entering new text automatically inserts spaces between the former end of the line and the newly entered text.
Enter the number of ticks to flash a balancing punctuation character. A tick is1/60 of a second.
Choose the default end-of-line format used to save files.
Font & Tabs
The Font & Tabs preference panel (
) provides options for customizing
settings used by the editor, including:
• font and font size used in editor windows
• auto indentation and tab size
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 373
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
• tabs on selections and replacing tabs with spaces
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 27.12 Font & Tabs Preference Panel
Table 27.13 Font & Tabs Preference Panel Items
Item
(Windows)
Explanation
Choose the typeface displayed in editor windows.
Choose the font size displayed in editor windows.
Choose the IDE script system. The script system maps keyboard keys to characters of an alphabet.
Select to indent each line of selected text after pressing Tab.
Clear to replace selected text with a tab character after pressing Tab.
Enter the number of spaces to substitute in place of a tab character. This number applies to the Tab Inserts Spaces option.
374 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Table 27.13 Font & Tabs Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Explanation
Select to automatically apply the indentation level from the previous line of text to each new line created by pressing Enter or Return.
Select to insert spaces instead of a tab character after pressing Tab. The Tab Size option determines the number of inserted spaces.
Setting the Text Font
To set the text font, follow these steps:
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Font & Tabs panel in the Editor group in the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. In the Font Settings area of the IDE Preferences window, select a font type in the drop-down menu in the Font field.
4. Save your font in the IDE Preferences window.
• Windows: Click OK.
• Macintosh/Linux/Solaris: Click Save.
The foreground text changes to the new font.
Setting the Text Size
To set the text size, follow these steps:
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Font & Tabs panel in the Editor group in the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. In the Font Settings area of the IDE Preferences window, select the Size drop-down menu and choose a text point size (from 2 to 24 points).
4. Save your text size in the IDE Preferences window.
• Windows: Click OK.
• Macintosh/Linux/Solaris: Click Save.
The foreground text changes to the new size.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 375
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Text Colors
The Text Colors preference panel ( Figure 27.13
) customizes colors applied to elements of
source code displayed in editor windows, such as:
• default foreground and background in editor windows
• standard comments, keywords, and strings in source code
• custom-defined keywords
• browser symbols
explains the items of this panel.
Default settings provide a simple scheme of at least four source-code colors. If four colors do not provide sufficient detail, modify this preference panel to create more sophisticated color schemes.
Figure 27.13 Text Colors Preference Panel
376 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Table 27.14 Text Colors Preference Panel Items
Item
Set 1, Set 2, Set 3, Set 4
Edit
Classes
Constants
Enums
Functions
Globals
Explanation
Click the color swatch to display a dialog box. Use the dialog box to set the foreground color used in editor windows for text.
Click the color swatch to set the background color used in editor windows.
Select to apply custom colors to comments, keywords, strings, and custom keywords in text. Clear to use the
Foreground color for all text.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode comments.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode language keywords.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode string literals.
Click a color swatch to set the color used for the corresponding custom-keyword set.
Click to add, modify, or remove keywords from the corresponding custom-keyword set.
Select to apply custom colors to browser symbols in text.
Clear to use the Foreground color for all text.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode classes.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode constants.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode enumerations.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode functions.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode global variables.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 377
Working with IDE Preferences
Editor Panels
Table 27.14 Text Colors Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Macros
Templates
TypeDefs
Other
Explanation
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode macros.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode templates.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for sourcecode type definitions.
Click the color swatch to set the color used for other symbols not specified in the Activate Browser Coloring section.
378
Setting the Foreground Text Color
Use the Foreground Color option to configure the foreground text color displayed in editor windows.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Text Colors panel in the Editor group in the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Click the Foreground color box to set the editor’s foreground color.
4. Pick color.
5. Click OK in the Color Picker window.
6. Click OK or Save
The foreground text color changes to the new color.
Setting the Background Text Color
Use the Background Color option to configure the background color displayed by all editor windows.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Text Colors panel in the Editor group in the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Click the Background color box to set the editor’s background color.
4. Pick color.
5. Click OK in the Color Picker window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
6. Click OK or Save
The background text color changes to the new color.
Activate Syntax and Browser Coloring
Use the Activate Syntax Coloring and Activate Browser Coloring options to configure the syntax and browser colors that all editor windows display.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Text Colors panel in the Editor group in the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select the checkbox next to the Activate Syntax Coloring or the Activate Browser
Coloring option.
4. Click on the colored box next to the option.
5. Pick color.
6. Click OK in the Color Picker window.
7. Click OK or Save
Debugger Panels
The Debugger section of the IDE Preference Panels defines the basic debugger settings assigned to a new project.
The Debugger preference panels available on most IDE hosts include:
•
•
•
•
Display Settings
The Display Settings preference panel (
) provides options for customizing
various aspects of the IDE Debugger, including:
• assignment of colors to changed variables and watchpoints
• viewing variable types
• displaying local variables
• using decimal values
• sorting functions
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 379
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
• using dynamic objects
explains the items in this panel.
Figure 27.14 Display Settings Preference Panel
Table 27.15 Display Settings Preference Panel Items
Item
Explanation
Click the color swatch to set the color that indicates a changed variable value.
Click the color swatch to set the color that indicates a changed watchpoint value.
Select to always show the type associated with each variable.
Select to display the Location column in the
Variables pane of the Thread window.
Select to show all local variables. Clear to have the debugger show only variables near the program counter.
380 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
Table 27.15 Display Settings Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Sort functions by method name in symbolics window
Attempt to show the dynamic runtime type of objects
Show variable values in source code
Default size for unbounded arrays
Scientific Notation for (1-9) or more 0s after “0.”
Explanation
Controls whether variables in variable windows, panes and expression displays are formatted using entries in XML files located in the VariableFormats support folder; such as the Windows_Formats.xml file.
Select to show hidden local variables. A hidden local variable is a variable that is in scope, but is hidden by a variable of the same name in a deeper scope.
Select to always show decimal values instead of hexadecimal values.
Select to sort functions of the form className::methodName in the Symbolics window by methodName . Clear to sort by className
.
Select to attempt to display the runtime type of the specified language objects. Clear to display the static type.
Select to show variable values in contextual menus in the source code.
Enter the default number of unbounded array elements to display in a View Array window.
Maximum number of zeros after a decimal point in a float value such as 0.034. For example, a value of 2 means 0.00045 will be displayed in scientific notation as 4.5e-4; a value of 3 will be displayed as 0.00045.
Does not change value precision, only value display.
Window Settings
The Window Settings preference panel ( Figure 27.15
) provides options for customizing how the debugger displays windows during debugging sessions, including non-debugging
and project windows. Table 27.16
explains the items of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 381
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
Figure 27.15 Window Settings Preference Panel
Table 27.16 Window Settings Preference Panel Items
Item
Minimize non-debugging windows
(Windows)
Collapse non-debugging windows
(Macintosh, Solaris, and Linux)
(Classic
Macintosh)
(Classic Macintosh)
Explanation
Select to leave all windows in place when starting a debugging session.
Select to minimize all non-debugging windows when starting a debugging session.
Select to collapse all non-debugging windows when starting a debugging session.
Select to hide, but not close, all non-debugging windows when starting a debugging session.
Select to close all non-debugging windows, except for the active project window, when starting a debugging session.
Select to prevent the IDE from hiding project windows when starting a debugging session.
Select to use a second monitor during debugging sessions.
Choose the monitor to display debugging windows. The coordinates in parentheses identify the selected monitor in the QuickDraw
®
coordinate space.
382 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
Table 27.16 Window Settings Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Move open windows to debugging monitor when debugging starts
(Classic Macintosh)
Open windows on debugging monitor during debugging (Classic
Macintosh)
Show threads in separate windows
Explanation
Select to move all open windows to the selected debugging monitor when a debugging session starts.
Select to display on the debugging monitor any window opened during a debugging session.
Show processes in separate windows
Select to display threads in separate Thread windows. Clear to show all threads in one window. Restart active debugging sessions in order for changes to take effect.
Select to display processes in separate windows.
Clear to show all processes in one window.
Global Settings
The Global Settings preference panel (
) provides options for customizing various global options for the debugger, including:
• file caching to accelerate debugger sessions
• automatic launch of applications and libraries
• confirmation of attempts to close or quit debugging sessions
explains the items of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 383
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
Figure 27.16 Global Settings Preference Panel
Table 27.17 Global Settings Preference Panel Items
Item
Confirm invalid file modification dates when debugging
Automatically launch applications when SYM file opens
Confirm “Kill Process” when closing or quitting
Select stack crawl window when task is stopped
Explanation
Select to maintain a cache of modified files between debugging sessions. Use this option to debug through the original source code for files modified since the last build.
Enter the number of days that the IDE maintains its file cache.
Click to delete the file cache maintained by the
IDE, freeing memory and disk space.
Select to have the IDE display a warning message when debugging a project with mismatched file modification dates.
Select to automatically launch the application program associated with an open symbolics file.
Select to prompt for confirmation before killing processes upon quitting a debugging session.
Select to bring forward the Stack Crawl window
(also known as the Thread window) after the debugger stops tasks.
384 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
Table 27.17 Global Settings Preference Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Don’t step into runtime support code
Explanation
Select to have the IDE not step into Main
Standard Library (MSL) runtime support code and instead directly step into your own code.
Select to have the IDE attempt to debug dynamically linked libraries (DLLs) loaded by the target application.
Remote Connections
The Remote Connections preference panel ( Figure 27.17
) configures general network settings for remote-debugging connections between the host computer and other
explains the items of this panel.
Use these general settings as the basis for defining more specific connections for individual projects in conjunction with the Remote Debugging settings panel. The Target
Settings window contains the Remote Debugging settings panel.
Figure 27.17 Remote Connections Preference Panel
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 385
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
Table 27.18 Remote Connections Preference Panel Items
Item
Remote Connection list
Add
Change
Remove
Explanation
Displays the name and connection type of all remote connections currently defined.
Click to add a new remote connection to the Remote
Connection list.
Click to change the settings of the selected remote connection.
Click to remove the selected remote connection from the
Remote Connection list.
Adding Remote Connections
Add a remote connection that defines a general network connection between the host computer and a remote computer.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Remote Connections panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Click Add.
The New Connection dialog box appears.
4. Enter the name for the general remote connection.
5. Choose from the Debugger pop-up menu the desired debugger for use with the remote connection.
6. Configure the Browse in processes window option as desired:
• selected—the IDE filters the Processes window list and the list of available debuggers for an opened symbolics file. The filter prevents an unavailable remote connection from appearing in either list.
• cleared—the IDE does not filter the Processes window list or the list of available debuggers for an opened symbolics file. Both available and unavailable remote connections appear in the lists.
7. Choose from the Connection Type pop-up menu the desired network protocol for the remote connection.
8. Enter the Internet Protocol address of the remote computer in the IP Address field.
386 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
9. Click OK.
The IDE adds the new remote connection to the Remote Connections list.
10. Click OK, Apply, or Save.
Changing Remote Connections
Change a remote connection to update network-connection information between the host and remote computer.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Remote Connections panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select from the Remote Connections list the remote connection that requires modification.
4. Click Change.
A dialog box appears with the current network settings for the selected remote connection.
5. If needed, enter a new name for the general remote connection.
6. If needed, choose from the Debugger pop-up menu a new debugger for use with the remote connection.
7. If needed, toggle the Browse in processes window option.
8. If needed, choose from the Connection Type pop-up menu a new network protocol for the remote connection.
9. If needed, enter a new Internet Protocol address for the remote computer.
10. Click OK.
The IDE updates the remote connection and displays changes in the Remote
Connections list.
11. Click OK, Apply, or Save.
Removing Remote Connections
Remove a remote connection that the project no longer uses.
1. Choose Edit > Preferences.
2. Select the Remote Connections panel from the IDE Preference Panels list.
3. Select from the Remote Connections list the obsolete remote connection.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 387
Working with IDE Preferences
Debugger Panels
4. Click Remove.
The IDE updates the Remote Connections list.
5. Click OK, Apply, or Save.
388 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
28
Working with Target
Settings
This chapter explains core CodeWarrior™ IDE target settings panels and provides basic information on target settings options for the current project’s build targets. Consult the
Targeting documentation for information on platform-specific target settings panels.
This chapter consists of these sections:
•
•
•
•
•
Target Settings Window
The Target Settings window (
) lists settings for the current project’s build
targets. These target settings supersede global preferences defined in the IDE Preferences window.
explains the items of this window.
The Target Settings window lists settings by group:
• Target—configures overall build target settings, such as names, browser caching, file mappings, and access paths
• Language Settings—configures programming language settings. Consult the
Targeting documentation for more information about these settings panels
• Code Generation (Windows)—configures processor, disassembler, and optimization settings for generating code
• Linker—configure linker settings for transforming object code into a final executable file. Consult the Targeting documentation for more information about these settings panels.
• Editor—configure custom keyword sets and colors
• Debugger—configure settings for executable files, program suspension, and remote debugging
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 389
Working with Target Settings
Target Settings Window
• Command-Line Extras (Linux/Solaris)—configure environmental variables for user applications and define custom tool commands (if necessary)
Figure 28.1 Target Settings Window
Table 28.1 Target Settings Window Items
Item
Target Settings Panels list
Settings panel
Explanation
Lists settings panels, organized by group. Click the hierarchical control next to a group name to show or hide a list of individual settings panels.
Shows options for the selected item in the
Target Settings Panels list.
Click to restore the default options for the current settings panel.
Click to restore the most recently saved options for the current settings panel.
390 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.1 Target Settings Window Items ( continued)
Item Explanation
OK (Windows)
Cancel (Windows)
Click to save an XML file that contains set options for the current panel.
Click to open an XML file that contains settings for the current panel.
Click to save modifications to all settings panels and close the window.
Click to discard modifications to all settings panels and close the window.
Apply (Windows) Click to confirm modifications to all settings panels.
Save (Macintosh, Solaris, and Linux) Click to save modifications to all settings panels.
Opening the Target Settings Window
Use the Target Settings window to modify build target options for the current project.
Choose Edit > targetname Settings to display the Target Settings window.
Target Panels
The Target group of the Target Settings Panels defines general target settings assigned to a new project.
The panels available on most IDE hosts include:
•
•
•
•
•
•
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 391
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Target Settings
The Target Settings panel ( Figure 28.2
) provides options for:
• setting the name of the current build target
• setting the linker, pre-linker, and post-linker for the build target
• specifying the project output directory for the final output file
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 28.2 Target Settings Panel
Table 28.2 Target Settings Panel Items
Item
Explanation
Enter a name (26 or fewer characters) for the selected build target as it will appear in the project window.
Select the linker to use on the current build target.
Select the pre-linker to use on the current build target.
Select the post- linker to use on the current build target.
392 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.2 Target Settings Panel Items ( continued)
Item Explanation
Choose
Clear
Shows the location where the IDE creates the output binary file. Click Choose to change this location.
Click to select the directory in which the IDE saves the output binary file.
Click to delete the current Output Directory path.
Save project entries using relative paths
Select to save project file entries using a relative path from a defined access path.
This option is helpful if the project has multiple files with the same name.
Access Paths
The Access Paths settings panel (
this panel.
NOTE
The Windows version of the Access Paths settings panel displays either User
Paths or System Paths, depending on the selected radio button. The Macintosh,
Solaris, and Linux versions of the Access Paths settings panel display both
User Paths and System Paths.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 393
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Figure 28.3 Access Paths Settings Panel
Table 28.3 Access Paths Settings Panel Items
Item
Explanation
Select to treat
#include <...>
statements the same as #include "..." statements.
Select to search for dependent files in the same location as the source file. If the dependent file is not found in this location, specified User and
System paths are searched. If this option is enabled, the Always Search User Paths should also be enabled.
The User Paths list shows currently defined userlevel access paths searched by
#include
"..." statements.
The System Paths list shows currently defined system-level access paths searched by
#include <...> statements.
394 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.3 Access Paths Settings Panel Items ( continued)
Item
(Macintosh)
Require Framework Style Includes
(Mac OS X)
Add
Change
Remove
Explanation
Select to treat
/
and
\
as subfolder separator characters. Clear to treat / and \ as ordinary text.
Select to require #include statements of the form LibraryName/HeaderFile.h
. Clear to allow statements of the form
HeaderFile.h
.
Click to restore the default user- and system-level access paths.
Choose the host platforms that can use the selected access path.
Click to add a user- or system-level access path.
Click to modify the selected user- or system-level access path.
Click to remove the selected user- or system-level access path.
The User Paths and System Paths lists display columns with status icons for each access
path. There are different types of access paths. Table 28.4
Table 28.4 User Paths, System Paths List Columns
Icon Name
Search status
Explanation
A checkmark icon indicates an active access path that the IDE searches.
Recursive search
No checkmark icon indicates an inactive access path that the IDE does not search.
A folder icon indicates that the IDE recursively searches subdirectories of the access path.
No folder icon indicates that the IDE does not recursively search the access path.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 395
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.4 User Paths, System Paths List Columns ( continued)
Icon Name
Framework
(Mac OS X development)
Explanation
An ƒ icon indicates that the access path points to a framework. Framework paths are implicitly recursive.
Access path
No ƒ icon indicates that the access path does not point to a framework.
Shows the full access path to the selected directory.
Access paths have these types:
• Absolute—the complete path, from the root level of the hard drive to the directory, including all intermediate directories
• Project—the path from the project file relative to the designated directory
• CodeWarrior—the path from the
CodeWarrior IDE relative to the designated directory
• System—the path from the operating system’s base directory relative to the designated directory
• Source tree—the path from a user-defined source tree relative to the designated directory
Build Extras
The Build Extras settings panel (
) contains options that define how the
CodeWarrior IDE builds a project.
explains the items of this panel.
396 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 28.4 Build Extras Settings Panel
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.5 Build Extras Settings Panel Items
Item Explanation
Select to have the IDE cache modification date information and use that information each time it builds a target. Builds are faster if file modification dates are cached.
Note that it is recommended to uncheck this option if you are using an external editor or using mounted directories.
For one-time changes to files (for example, those updated by a VCS tool outside of the IDE or editing a file with an external editor), you should check the modification date by clicking the “Synchronize
Modification Dates” button in the project window toolbar.
Select to improve multi-project updating and linking speed.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 397
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.5 Build Extras Settings Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Dump internal browse information after compile
Prefix file
Macro file
Explanation
Choose whether the IDE generates browser data for the project, and the method by which the IDE generates that data.
Select to have the IDE dump raw browser information for viewing. This option appears after selecting
Compiler from the Generate Browser Data From
popup menu.
Enter the path to your project’s prefix file. This options appears after selecting Language Parser from the
Generate Browser Data From pop-up menu.
Enter the path to your project’s macro file. This options appears after selecting Language Parser from the
Generate Browser Data From pop-up menu.
Select to use an external debugger instead of the
CodeWarrior debugger.
Click Browse to select the external debugger application. Alternatively, enter the path to the external debugger.
Enter any program arguments to pass to the external debugger when the IDE transfers control.
Click Browse to select an initial directory for the external debugger. Alternatively, enter the path to the initial directory.
Runtime Settings
The Runtime Settings panel ( Figure 28.5
) specifies a debugging application for non-
executable files. Dynamic linked libraries (DLLs), shared libraries, and code resources are sample non-executable files.
explains the items of this panel.
398 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Figure 28.5 Runtime Settings Panel
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.6 Runtime Settings Panel Items
Item
Host Application for Libraries &
Add
Change
Explanation
Click Choose to select the program for debugging non-executable files. Alternatively, enter the path to the application program. Click Clear to delete the current field entry.
Enter the path to a directory used for debugging the non-executable files. Leave this field blank to use the same directory that contains the non-executable files.
Enter a command line of program arguments to pass to the host application when the IDE transfers control.
Lists the environment variables that have been added to the build target.
Click to add the current Variable and Value pair to the
Environment Settings list.
Click to replace the selected entry in the Environment
Settings list with the current Variable and Value pair.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 399
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.6 Runtime Settings Panel Items ( continued)
Item
Remove
Explanation
Click to delete the selected environment variable from the Environment Settings list.
Enter a name for the environment variable. This name pairs with the information in the Value field.
Enter a value for the environment variable. This value pairs with the information in the Variable field.
File Mappings
The File Mappings settings panel (
) associates filename extensions with a
CodeWarrior plugin compiler. These associations determine whether the IDE recognizes a source file by its filename extension or file type. Use this settings panel to add, change, and remove file mappings.
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 28.6 File Mappings Settings Panel
400 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Target Panels
Table 28.7 File Mappings Settings Panel Items
Item
File Mappings list
Icon
Resource File flag
Launchable flag
Precompiled File flag
Explanation
Displays a list of currently defined mappings between filename extensions and plugin compilers.
Enter a file type (such as
TEXT
) for the file mapping.
Alternatively, click Choose to set the file type by selecting an example file. This file type also appears in the corresponding column of the File Mappings list.
Enter the filename extension (such as .cpp
) for the file mapping. This filename extension also appears in the corresponding column of the File Mappings list.
A bullet in this column denotes a resource file. The
IDE includes these resource files when building the final output file. Use the Flags pop-up menu to toggle this flag.
A bullet in this column denotes a launchable file. The
IDE opens launchable files with the application that created them. Double-click launchable files from the
Project window. Use the Flags pop-up menu to toggle this flag.
A bullet in this column denotes a precompiled file.
The IDE builds precompiled files before building other files. Use the Flags pop-up menu to toggle this flag.
Ignored By Make flag
Flags
A bullet in this column denotes a file ignored by the compiler during builds. For example, use this option to ignore text (
.txt
) files or document (
.doc
) files.
Use the Flags pop-up menu to toggle this flag.
Choose from this list the plugin compiler to associate with the selected file mapping. This compiler selection also appears in the corresponding column of the File Mappings list.
Choose from this pop-up menu the desired flags for the selected file mapping. A checkmark indicates an active flag. Bullets appear in the corresponding columns of the File Mappings list to reflect flag states.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 401
Working with Target Settings
Code Generation Panels
Table 28.7 File Mappings Settings Panel Items ( continued)
Icon Item
Add
Change
Remove
Explanation
Choose from this list the desired language to associate with the selected file mapping. The IDE applies the appropriate syntax coloring for the selected language.
Click to add the current File Type, Extension, Flags,
Compiler, and Edit Language entries to the File
Mappings list.
Click to change the selected item in the File
Mappings list to reflect the current File Type,
Extension, Flags, Compiler, and Edit Language entries.
Click to remove the selected item in the File
Mappings list.
Source Trees
The Source Trees settings panel in the Target Settings window defines project-specific root paths. These project-specific paths override the global root paths defined in the
Source Trees preference panel of the IDE Preferences window. Refer to
for information on adding, changing, or removing paths.
Code Generation Panels
The Code Generation group of the Target Settings Panels provides a single core panel for configuring optimization routines. Consult the Targeting documentation for more information about platform-specific settings panels.
Global Optimizations
The Global Optimizations settings panel (
optimizes object code. All optimization routines rearrange object code without affecting its logical execution sequence.
explains the items of this panel
NOTE
Always debug programs with optimization routines disabled. The IDE does not provide source views of optimized code.
402 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Code Generation Panels
The Global Optimizations panel is specific to CodeWarrior compilers. This panel is not appropriate for the Linux-hosted IDE, which uses gcc.
Figure 28.7 Global Optimizations Settings Panel
Table 28.8 Global Optimizations Settings Panel Items
Item
Faster Execution Speed
Smaller Code Size
Optimization Level slider
Explanation
Select to favor optimization routines that increase the execution speed of the final object code, at the expense of larger code size.
Select to favor optimization routines that reduce the size of the final object code, at the expense of slower execution speed.
Move to the desired optimization level. The IDE applies more optimization routines at higher optimization levels. The
Details field lists the active optimization routines.
The Details field lists individual optimization routines applied at the selected optimization
explains these optimizations and their availability at certain optimization levels.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 403
Working with Target Settings
Code Generation Panels
Table 28.9 Optimization Routines
Optimization Routine Explanation Optimization
Level
1, 2, 3, 4 Global Register Allocation or
Global Register Allocation
Only for Temporary Values
Dead Code Elimination
Branch Optimizations
Arithmetic Operations
Expression Simplification
Common Subexpression
Elimination
Copy Propagation or
Copy and Expression
Propagation
Peephole Optimization
Stores working values of heavily used variables in registers instead of memory.
Removes statements never logically executed or referred to by other statements.
Merges and restructures portions of the intermediate code translation in order to reduce branch instructions.
Replaces intensive computational instructions with faster equivalent instructions that produce the same result.
Replaces complex arithmetic expressions with simplified equivalent expressions.
Replaces redundant expressions with a single expression.
Replaces multiple occurrences of one variable with a single occurrence.
1, 2, 3, 4
1, 2, 3, 4
1, 2, 3, 4
1, 2, 3, 4
2, 3, 4
2, 3, 4
Dead Store Elimination
Live Range Splitting
Applies local optimization routines to small sections of code.
Removes assignments to a variable that goes unused before being reassigned again.
Reduces variable lifetimes to achieve optimal allocation.
Shorter variable lifetimes reduce register spilling.
2, 3, 4
3, 4
3, 4
404 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Editor Panels
Table 28.9 Optimization Routines ( continued)
Optimization Routine
Loop-Invariant Code
Motion
Strength Reduction
Loop Transformations
Loop Unrolling or
Loop Unrolling (Opt for
Speed Only)
Vectorization
Lifetime Based Register
Allocation or
Register Coloring
Instruction Scheduling
Repeated
Explanation Optimization
Level
3, 4 Moves static computations outside of a loop
Inside loops, replaces multiplication instructions with addition instructions.
Reorganizes loop object code in order to reduce setup and completion-test overhead.
Duplicates code inside a loop in order to spread branch and completion-test overhead over more operations.
For processors that support vector optimizations, translates computations with code-loop arrays into equivalent vector instructions.
In a particular routine, uses the same processor register to store different variables, as long as no statement uses those variables simultaneously.
Rearranges the instruction sequence to reduce conflicts among registers and processor resources.
Iterates the optimization routines listed between {* and *} .
3, 4
3, 4
3, 4
3, 4
3, 4
3, 4
4
Editor Panels
The Editor group of the Target Settings Panels provides a single core panel for configuring custom keywords within a project.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 405
Working with Target Settings
Editor Panels
Custom Keywords
The Custom Keywords settings panel ( Figure 28.8
) configures as many as four keyword
sets, each with a list of keywords and syntax coloring for a project. These project-specific settings supersede the global settings defined in the Text Colors preference panel of the
IDE Preferences window.
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 28.8 Custom Keywords Settings Panel
Table 28.10 Custom Keywords Settings Panel Items
Item
Keyword set 1,
Keyword set 2,
Keyword set 3,
Keyword set 4
Edit
Explanation
Click a color swatch to set the color used for the corresponding custom-keyword set.
Click to add, modify, or remove keywords from the corresponding custom-keyword set.
406
Adding a Keyword to a Keyword Set
To add a keyword to a keyword set, follow these steps:
1. Click Edit next to the desired keyword set.
A dialog box appears. This dialog box lists the current collection of keywords in the keyword set.
2. Enter the new keyword into the field at the top of the dialog box.
3. Click Add.
The new keyword appears in the keyword list.
4. Select Case Sensitive as desired.
When selected, the IDE treats the case of each keyword in the keyword set as significant. When cleared, the IDE ignores the case of each keyword in the keyword set.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
5. Click Done.
The IDE saves the modified keyword set.
Removing a Keyword from a Keyword Set
To remove a keyword from a keyword set, follow these steps:
1. Click Edit next to the desired keyword set.
A dialog box appears. This dialog box lists the current collection of keywords in the keyword set.
2. Select the obsolete keyword in the Custom Keywords list.
3. Press the delete key for your platform.
• Windows, Solaris, and Linux: Backspace
• Macintosh: Delete
4. Click Done.
The IDE saves the modified keyword set.
Debugger Panels
The Debugger group of the Target Settings Panels defines general debugger settings for the project. Consult the Targeting documentation for more information about platformspecific settings panels.
The Debugger panels available on most IDE hosts include:
•
•
•
Other Executables
The Other Executables settings panel ( Figure 28.9
) configures additional executable files
for the IDE to debug together with the current build target.
of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 407
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
Figure 28.9 Other Executables Settings Panel
Table 28.11 Other Executables Settings Panel Items
Icon Item
File list
Debug column
Explanation
Lists executable files that the IDE can debug together with the current build target.
Click in this column to toggle debugging of the corresponding executable file.
Add
Change
Remove
Click to select an executable file to add to the File list.
Click to change the selected entry in the File list.
Click to remove the selected entry in the File list.
Adding an Executable File to the File List
To add an executable file to the File list, follow these steps:
408 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
1. Click Add.
The Debug Additional Executable dialog box appears.
2. Enter in the File Location field the path to the executable file.
Alternatively, click Choose to display a dialog box. Use the dialog box to select the executable file. The path to the selected executable file appears in the File Location field.
3. Select Download file during remote debugging as desired.
When selected, the IDE downloads the executable file from a remote computer during the debugging session. Enter the path to the remote file. Alternatively, click Choose to select the file. Click Clear to delete the current entry.
4. Select Debug merged executable as desired.
When selected, the IDE debugs an executable file that merged with the project output.
Enter the path to the original executable file (prior to merging). Alternatively, click
Choose to select the file. Click Clear to delete the current entry.
5. Click Done.
The IDE adds the executable file to the File list.
Changing an Executable File in the File List
To change an executable file in the File list, follow these steps:
1. Select the desired path.
2. Click Change.
The Debug Additional Executable dialog box appears.
3. Modify the File Location field as desired.
4. Modify the Download file during remote debugging option as desired.
5. Modify the Debug merged executable option as desired.
6. Click Done.
The IDE modifies the executable file.
Removing an Executable File from the File List
To remove an executable file from the File list, follow these steps:
1. Select the obsolete path.
2. Click Remove.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 409
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
The IDE removes the executable file from the File list.
Debugger Settings
The Debugger Settings panel ( Figure 28.10
) configures activity logs, data-update
intervals, and other debugger-related options. Table 28.12
explains the items of this panel.
Figure 28.10 Debugger Settings Panel
Table 28.12 Debugger Settings Panel Items
Item
Location of Relocated Libraries and Code Resources
Explanation
Enter the path to code resources or relocated libraries required for debugging the project.
Alternatively, click Choose to select the required files.
Select to halt program execution at the beginning of a debugging session. Select the desired stop point:
Program entry point, Default language entry
point, or User specified.
Select to halt program execution upon entering the program.
410 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
Table 28.12 Debugger Settings Panel Items ( continued)
Item
User specified
Auto-target Libraries
Explanation
Select to halt program execution upon entering a default point defined by the programming language.
Select to halt program execution at a specified function or address. Enter the desired function name or address in the corresponding field. If you enter an address, ensure that it is correct and within your program.
Select to debug dynamically linked libraries (DLLs) loaded by the target application, at the expense of slower performance.
Select to have the IDE cache the symbolics information it generates for a project. Clear to have the IDE discard the information after each debugging session ends.
Select to log all system messages to a Log window.
Select to halt program execution at every watchpoint. Clear to halt program execution at watchpoints with changed values.
Enter the number of seconds n
to wait before updating the data displayed in debugging-session windows.
Remote Debugging
The Remote Debugging settings panel (
) configures target-specific network settings for remote-debugging connections between the host computer and other computers. Use this target-specific panel to build on the general connections defined in the
Remote Connections panel of the IDE Preferences window.
explains the items of this panel.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 411
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
Figure 28.11 Remote Debugging Settings Panel
Table 28.13 Remote Debugging Settings Panel Items
Item Explanation
Select to define (for the current build target) a remote-debugging connection in terms of a general connection. Choose from the Connection pop-up menu the desired general connection.
Enter the path to the directory in which to store downloaded files.
Launch remote host application
Select to launch an application on the remote computer to serve as a host application. Enter the path to the remote application.
412 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 413
Working with Target Settings
Debugger Panels
414 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
29
Preference and Target
Settings Options
Use this chapter to look up CodeWarrior™ IDE preference panel or target setting options and learn more about their capabilities. Option names are arranged in alphabetical order.
NOTE
This chapter covers options for the core IDE preference or target setting panels described in this manual.
A
Activate Browser Coloring
Select this option to activate coloring of browser symbols in editor windows. Clear the option to apply the default text color to all symbols. Click the color swatch next to a symbol to modify its color.
Activate Syntax Coloring
Select this option to activate coloring of Comments, Keywords, Strings, and Custom
Keyword Sets symbols in editor windows. Clear the option to apply the default text color to all symbols. Click the color swatch next to a symbol to modify its color.
Add Default
Click this button to restore the default user path or system path to the Access Paths panel.
Always Search User Paths
This option controls the search criteria the IDE uses to find system and user files.
• selected—the IDE treats searching for system files (such as #include <...>) the same as user files (#include "...").
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 415
Preference and Target Settings Options
416
• disabled—the IDE treats system paths differently from user paths.
Application
In this field enter the path to the external debugger that the IDE uses in place of the
CodeWarrior debugger. Alternatively, click Browse to open a dialog box. Use the dialog box to select the external debugger.
Arguments
In this field enter command-line arguments to pass to the external debugger at the beginning of a debugging session.
Attempt to show the dynamic runtime type of objects
Select this option to display runtime types for C++, Object Pascal, and SOM objects. Clear the option to display static types.
Auto Indent
Select this option to apply automatically the same indentation as the previous line for each new line of text created by pressing Enter or Return. Clear the option to always return to the left margin for each new line of text.
Auto Target Libraries
Select this option to have the IDE attempt to debug dynamically linked libraries (DLLs) loaded by the target application. The IDE debugs the DLLs that have symbolics information.
This option applies to non-project debugging sessions, such as debugging an attached process.
NOTE
Selecting this option may slow IDE performance. Clear the option to improve speed.
Automatic Invocation
Select this option to have the Code Completion window automatically open after typing specific programming-language characters in the active editor window. Clear the option to manually open the Code Completion window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
The specific characters that trigger opening of the Code Completion window depend on the programming language that you use. For example, typing a period after a Java class opens the Code Completion window, allowing you to complete the class invocation.
You can change the time it takes for the Code Completion window to appear after you type a trigger character. If you perform any activity during this delay time, the Code
Completion window is canceled.
See also:
•
Automatically launch applications when SYM file opens
Select this option to launch an application associated with an open symbolics file. The
IDE sets an implicit breakpoint at the main entry point of the application. Clear the option to open the symbolics file without launching the associated application.
explains how to skip launching the target program
Table 29.1 Bypass Launching the Target Program
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Press Alt while the IDE opens the symbolics file.
Press Option while the IDE opens the symbolics file.
Press Alt while the IDE opens the symbolics file.
Press Alt while the IDE opens the symbolics file.
B
Background
Click this color swatch to configure the background color of editor windows.
Balance Flash Delay
In this field enter the time, in ticks, to highlight a matching punctuation character during a
Balance while typing check. Each tick represents 1/60th of a second (16.67 milliseconds).
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 417
Preference and Target Settings Options
Sample tick values include:
• 0 (zero)—disables balance flashing
• 30—the default flash value (1/2 of a second)
• 999—the maximum-flash delay value
Balance while typing
Select this option to have the editor check for balanced parentheses, brackets, and braces in editor windows. For each closing parenthesis, bracket, or brace, the editor attempts to find the opening counterpart.
The IDE behaves differently, depending on whether it finds the counterpart:
• Found—the editor window scrolls to display the matching character, then returns to the insertion point. The Balance Flash Delay option determines how long the editor displays the matching character.
• Not found—the IDE beeps.
Browser Commands
Select this option to add Browser menu commands to contextual menus. Clear the option to remove commands from the contextual menus.
Browser Path
In this field enter a path to the browser to use for viewing IDE online help. The Netscape
Navigator® browser is the default application. The PATH environment variable specifies the path to the browser.
To change the default setting, or if the IDE cannot find Netscape Navigator, in the
Browser Path field enter a path to an alternate browser. Alternatively, click Set to select the path.
Build before running
Choose from this pop-up menu the way in which the IDE handles project builds before running the compiled application:
• Always—always build projects before running them.
• Never—never build projects before running them.
• Ask—ask each time how to proceed.
418 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
C
Cache Edited Files Between Debug Sessions
Select this option to maintain a cache of edited files between debugging sessions. Use this option to debug through the original source code for files modified since the last build.
In the Maintain files in cache field enter the number of days to keep the cached files.
Click Purge Cache to delete the current cache.
See also:
•
•
Cache Subprojects
Use this option to improve multi-project updating and linking.
• selected—the IDE increases its memory requirements in order to generate symbolics information for both the build targets and the subprojects within each build target.
• cleared—the IDE does not increase its memory requirements and does not generate symbolics information.
Cache symbolics between runs
Select this option to have the IDE maintain a cache of symbolics information generated for the project. The IDE refers to this cached symbolics information during subsequent debugging sessions. The cache improves IDE performance. Clear the option to force the
IDE to discard the symbolics information at the end of each debugging session.
Case sensitive
Select this option to have the IDE consider case when completing code. Clear the option to have the IDE ignore case.
The IDE can determine possible symbol matches according to case. For example, if you clear the Case sensitive option and type str in the active editor window, the IDE displays both string and String as possible matches. Selecting the option causes the
IDE to display only string as a possible match.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 419
Preference and Target Settings Options
420
Close non-debugging windows
Select this option to close non-debugging windows, except for the active project window, when starting a debugging session. At the end of the debugging session, the IDE automatically re-opens the closed windows.
Code Completion Delay
In this field enter the number of ticks to have the IDE wait from the time you type a trigger character to the time the Code Completion window opens. A tick is 1/60 of a second.
Performing any activity during this delay time cancels opening of the Code Completion window.
See also:
•
Collapse non-debugging windows
Select this option to collapse non-debugging windows when starting a debugging session.
At the end of the debugging session, the IDE automatically restores the collapsed windows.
Comments
Select the Activate Syntax Coloring option in order to configure this option. Use this option to configure the color of C, C++, and Java comments displayed in editor windows.
The IDE then uses the chosen color for comments placed between /* and */ or from // to the end of a line.
Click the color swatch next to Comments to set the color.
Compiler
Choose from this list pop-up the desired compiler for the selected File Type in the File
Mappings list. Select None to not associate the selected file type with any compiler.
Compiler thread stack
In this field enter the maximum kilobytes of stack size for the IDE to allocate to compiling and linking thread support.
The IDE threads all build processes, with compiling and linking occurring on a thread separate from the main application thread. This setting controls the compiler-thread stack size.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
To avoid frequent compiler crashes, such as when building very large or complex projects, increase the default compiler-thread-stack size.
Confirm invalid file modification dates when debugging
Select this option to keep track of source-file modification dates in a project. The IDE displays a warning message if the modification dates do not match. The message warns of possible discrepancies between object code and source code. Clear the option to prevent the IDE from displaying the warning message.
Confirm “Kill Process” when closing or quitting
Select the Confirm “Kill Process” when closing or quitting option to have the IDE prompt for confirmation before killing processes upon closing the Thread window or quitting the IDE. Clear the option to kill processes without prompting.
Context popup delay
In this field enter the minimum time, in ticks, to hold down the mouse button before IDE contextual menus appear. Each tick represents 1/60 of a second (16.67 milliseconds).
Sample tick values include:
• 0 (zero)—disables appearance of contextual menus
• 40—default popup delay value (2/3 of a second)
• 240—maximum popup delay value
D
Debugger Commands
Select this option to add Debug menu commands to IDE contextual menus. Clear the option to remove commands from the contextual menus.
Default file format
Choose from this list pop-up the default end-of-line (EOL) conventions used by the IDE to save files:
• Macintosh: <CR>
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 421
Preference and Target Settings Options
422
• DOS: <LF><CR>
• UNIX: <LF>
Default language entry point
Select this option to halt program execution upon entering a default point defined by the programming language. For example, C++ defines the main() function as the default point.
Default size for unbounded arrays
Enter in this field the default number of elements to display in View Array windows for unbounded arrays.
Disable third party COM plugins
Select this option to prevent the IDE from loading third-party Component Object Model
(COM) plugins. Clear the option to have the IDE load the plugins at start-up time.
Use this option to help troubleshoot problems with the IDE. If the problem goes away after disabling the plugins, then a conflict exists between the third-party plugins and the
IDE plugins.
Display deprecated items
Select this option to have the Code Completion window display obsolete programminglanguage items. Clear the option to have the window hide the obsolete items.
Deprecated items appear in gray text in the Code Completion window.
Do nothing
Select this option to leave all windows in place during a debugging session.
Do nothing to project windows
Select this option to prevent the IDE from manipulating project windows when starting a debugging session. Use this option to help debug multiple build targets or multiple projects.
Documents
In this field enter the number of recent documents to display in the Open Recent submenu.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Don’t step into runtime support code
Select this option to have the IDE bypass stepping into the Main Standard Library (MSL) runtime support code and instead directly step into your own code. Clear the option to have the IDE step into the MSL runtime setup code, then step into your own code.
Drag and drop editing
Select this option to allow dragging and dropping of text in editor windows. Clear the option to disable drag-and-drop text editing.
Dump internal browse information after compile
Select this option to view the raw browser information that a plugin compiler or linker provides for the IDE. Use this option to help develop plugins for use with the IDE.
NOTE
After enabling the Dump internal browse information after compile option, compile only single files or small files. Compiling an entire project can create huge internal browser information for the IDE to display.
E
Edit Commands
Select this option to add Edit menu commands to IDE contextual menus. Clear the option to remove the commands from the contextual menus.
Edit Language
Choose from this pop-up menu the programming language to associate with the selected file mapping. The selected language determines the syntax-color scheme. For example, choose C/C++ to apply the appropriate syntax-color scheme for C or C++ programminglanguage components.
Enable automatic Toolbar help
Select this option to display Balloon Help after resting the cursor over a toolbar button.
Clear the option to prevent Balloon Help from appearing.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 423
Preference and Target Settings Options
Enable remote debugging
Select this option to define a remote-debugging connection specific to the current build target. Choose from the Connection pop-up menu the general connection to use as the basis for the target-specific connection.
Enable Virtual Space
Use this option to configure the editor for handling spaces in different ways.
• selected—the editor allows moving the text-insertion point past the end of a line of text, using either the arrow keys or the mouse. After moving to the desired position, begin entering text. The editor automatically inserts spaces between the former end of the line and the newly entered text.
• cleared—the editor requires manual insertion of spaces to move past the end of a line of text.
Environment Settings
Use this section to specify environment variables to pass to your program as part of the environment parameter in your program’s main() function, or as part of environment calls. These environment variables are only available to the target program. When your program terminates, the settings are no longer available.
NOTE
The Environment Settings section appears only when you develop code for a
Windows build target. The section does not appear for any other build target.
Export Panel
Click this button to save to an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file the current state of the active preference or settings panel.
Extension
In this field enter a filename extension, such as the .c or .h , for a selected File Type in
the File Mappings list. Table 29.2
lists default filename extensions.
424 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Table 29.2 Default Filename Extensions
Type
Minimum CodeWarrior
Installation
Extension
.iSYM
.mch
.mcp
.SYM
Assembly
C and C++
.xSYM
.dbg
.exp
.iMAP
.MAP
.a
.asm
.dump
.c++
.cc
.hh
.hpp
.i
.icc
.m
.mm
Explanation
CodeWarrior Intel
®
Symbols
CodeWarrior Precompiled Header
CodeWarrior Project File
CodeWarrior Mac OS 68K Debug
Symbols
CodeWarrior Mac OS PPC Debug
Symbols
CodeWarrior Debug Preferences
Exported Symbol File
CodeWarrior Link Map
CodeWarrior Link Map
Assembly Source File (Windows and
Macintosh)
Assembly Source File
CodeWarrior Disassembled File
C++ Source File
C++ Source File
C++ Header File
C++ Header File
C Inline Source File
C++ Inline Source File
Object C Source File
Object C++ Source File
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 425
Preference and Target Settings Options
Table 29.2 Default Filename Extensions ( continued)
Type
Default C and C++
Default Java
Java
Extension
.c
.cp
.cpp
.h
.class
.jar
.jav
.java
.JMAP
Library
Script
.jpob
.mf
.a
.lib
.o
.o
.obj
.pch
.pch++
.so
.sh
.psh
.pl
Explanation
C Source File
C++ Source File
C++ Source File
C and C++ Header File
Java Class File
Java Archive File
Java Source File
Java Source File
Java Import
Mapping Dump
Java Constructor File
Java Manifest File
(Static) Archive Library (Solaris and
Linux)
Library File
Object File
(Windows and Macintosh)
Object (Relocatable) Library or Kernel
Module
(Solaris and Linux)
Object File
Precompiled Header Source File
Precompiled Header Source File
Shared Library (Linux)
Shell Script (Linux)
Precompile Shell Script (Linux)
Perl Script (Linux)
426 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Table 29.2 Default Filename Extensions ( continued)
Type
Mac OS X
Extension
.dylib
.a
.o
.plist
Explanation
Mach-O Dynamic Library
Mach-O Static Library
Mach-O Object File
Property List
F
Factory Settings
Click this button to change all modified options to their default values in the current preference or settings panel.
Failure
Choose from this pop-up menu a sound to play after a Bring Up To Date or Make operation fails.
File Type
Enter in this field the four-character file type for the selected file mapping in the File
Mappings list.
Find and compare operations
A bullet in the Find and compare operations column, whose label appears at left, indicates that the IDE ignores matching folders for find-and-compare operations.
Such operations include dragging a folder into fields in the Find window, or comparing folder contents.
Find Reference using
Choose from the Find Reference using options, an online browser application to look up references and definitions.
For example, use this option to look up documentation for language keywords:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 427
Preference and Target Settings Options
1. Select an online browser application, such as THINK Reference, with the Find
Reference using option.
2. Select a language keyword, such as boolean, in the source code.
3. Choose the Find Reference menu command. The IDE looks up reference information for the boolean keyword in the THINK Reference documentation.
Although they are not included with the CodeWarrior product, the IDE supports these online browser formats:
• Apple Help Viewer (CW manuals)
• Apple Help Viewer (Mac OS X API Ref)
• PalmQuest Reference (Palm Pilot)
• QuickView–such as Macintosh Programmer’s Toolbox Assistant (MPTA)
• THINK Reference
Font
Choose from the Font options the typeface to use for displaying text in editor windows.
This setting behaves in two different ways, depending on the current IDE state:
• No editor windows open—the setting modifies the default font. All editor windows take on the default font.
• Editor windows open—the setting modifies the font displayed in the frontmost editor window only. Other editor windows remain unaffected. The default font remains unchanged.
Font preferences
Select the Font preferences option to remember font settings for each file in a project.
Clear the option to use the default font settings every time the IDE opens each file. The
Font & Tabs preference panel defines the default settings.
Foreground
Use the Foreground option to configure the color of any text not affected by the Activate
Syntax Coloring or Activate Browser Coloring options.
Click the color swatch to change the current color.
428 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
G-I
Generate Browser Data From
Choose from this pop-up menu whether the IDE generates browser data, and from what source it generates that data.
Choose from these possibilities:
• None—Disable browser-data generation. Certain IDE features that use browser data will be unable to work with the project, but the project’s size will be smaller.
• Compiler—Have the IDE use the compiler to generate browser data. If you choose this option, you must Make the project in order to generate the browser data. The
IDE uses the compiler assigned to the project to generate browser data during the build process.
• Language Parser—Have the IDE use the language parser to generate the browser data. Certain IDE features, such as C/C++ Code Completion, function more effectively if you choose this option. The IDE uses the language parser assigned to the project to generate browser data.
NOTE
If you choose the Language Parser option, you can also have the IDE take into account your custom macro definitions. To do so, enter the path to your prefix file in the Prefix file field and the path to your macro file in the Macro
file field.
Grid Size X
In the Grid Size X field enter the number of pixels to space between markings on the xaxis of the Layout Editor grid.
Grid Size Y
In the Grid Size Y field enter the number of pixels to space between markings on the yaxis of the Layout Editor grid.
Hide non-debugging windows
Select the Hide non-debugging windows option to hide, but not close, non-debugging windows when starting a debugging session.
To reveal the hidden windows, do one of these tasks:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 429
Preference and Target Settings Options
• Use the Window menu, or
• Double-click the names of the hidden files in the Project window, or
• Perform lookups for symbols within the hidden windows.
At the end of the debugging session, the IDE automatically reveals the hidden windows.
Host Application for Libraries & Code Resources
The Host Application for Libraries & Code Resources field lets you specify a host application to use when debugging a non-executable file, such as a shared library, dynamic link library (DLL), or code resource. The application that you specify in this field is not the debugger application, but rather the application with which the non-executable file interacts.
Host Flags
The Host Flags list pop-up defines the host platforms which can use the selected access path. The settings include:
• None–no host can use this access path.
• All–all hosts can use this access path.
• Windows–only use this path for Windows build targets.
• Mac OS–only use this path for Mac OS build targets.
NOTE
Multiple hosts can be selected.
Import Panel
Click Import Panel to load the contents of a previously saved Extensible Markup
Language (XML) file into the active preference or settings panel.
Include file cache
Use the Include file cache option to specify the upper limit of kilobytes of memory used by the IDE for caching #include files and precompiled headers. The larger the value entered, the more memory the IDE uses to accelerate builds.
Initial directory
In this field enter the initial directory for use with the external debugger. Alternatively, click Browse to open a dialog box. Use the dialog box to select the initial directory.
430 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Insert Template Commands
Select the Insert Template Commands option to display the Insert Template submenu in contextual menus. The submenu displays source-defined function templates. Clear to remove the submenu from the contextual menus.
NOTE
Select the Browser Commands option in order to select the Insert Template
Commands option. Otherwise, the Insert Template Commands state has no effect.
Interpret DOS and Unix Paths
This option determines how the IDE treats filenames for interface files:
• Selected—the IDE treats the backslash (\) and the forward slash (/) characters as subfolder separator characters. In the example
#include "sys/socks.h" the IDE searches for a subfolder called sys that contains a socks.h file.
• Cleared—the IDE treats both the backslash and forward slash characters as part of the filename. Using the same example, the IDE now searches for a sys/socks.h filename.
K-L
Keywords
Use the Keywords option to configure the color of C, C++, and Java programming language’s keywords displayed in editor windows when the Activate Syntax Coloring option is enabled. Coloring does not include macros, types, variables defined by system interface files, or variables defined in source code. Click the color swatch next to
Keywords to set the color.
Launch Editor
Enter in the Launch Editor field a command-line expression that specifies the third-party text editor that the CodeWarrior IDE runs to edit text files.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 431
Preference and Target Settings Options
432
The IDE expands the %file variable of the command-line expression into the full file path. For example, to run the Emacs text editor to edit text files, enter this command-line expression: runemacs %file
Consult the documentation provided with the third-party text editor for more information about using command lines.
Launch Editor w/ Line #
Enter in the Launch Editor w/ Line # field a command-line expression that specifies the third-party text editor that the IDE runs to edit text files, and an initial line of text that the third-party editor displays upon running.
The IDE expands the %line variable of the command-line expression into an initial line of text for the third-party text editor to display. For example, to run the Emacs text editor to edit a text file, and to have the Emacs editor display the line provided to it by the IDE, enter this command-line expression: emacs %file %line
Consult the documentation provided with the third-party text editor for more information about using command lines.
Launch remote host application
Select this option to launch an application on the remote computer to serve as a host application. Enter the path to the remote host application.
Left margin click selects line
Select the Left margin click selects line option to use a right-pointing cursor, shown at left, to select entire lines of text from the left margin. Clear the option to disable use of the right-pointing cursor.
With the right-pointing cursor active, click in the left margin to select the current line, or click and drag along the left margin to select multiple lines.
Level
Choose from the Level options the amount of information reported for IDE plugins in development. This information is useful for diagnosing plugin behavior or for viewing information about the properties of installed plugins.
Choose one of these levels of plugin diagnostic information:
• None (default)—The IDE does not activate plugin diagnostics or produce output.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
• Errors Only—The IDE reports problems encountered while loading plugins. These problems appear in a new text file after the IDE starts up
• All Info—The IDE reports information for each installed plugin, such as problems with plugin loading, optional plugin information, and plugin properties. This information appears in a new text file after the IDE starts up. The text file also contains a complete list of installed plugins and their associated preference panels, compilers, and linkers.
The IDE allows saving and printing the text file. Use the file as an error reference for troubleshooting plugins. The text file also provides suggestions for correcting general plugin errors.
Linker
Use the Linker option menu to select the linker to use with the project. The choices available are always dependent on the plugin linkers that are available to the CodeWarrior
IDE.
To learn more about the linkers, see the appropriate Targeting manual.
Location of Relocated Libraries and Code
Resources
Enter in this field the path to the relocated libraries and code-resource files required for debugging the project. Alternatively, click Choose to display a dialog box. Use the dialog box to select the required files.
Log System Messages
Select this option to have the IDE maintain a log of all system messages generated during the debugging session. The Log window displays this platform-specific information. Clear the option to disable the log.
M
Maintain files in cache
Enter in the Maintain files in cache text box the number of days that the IDE maintains files in the file cache.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 433
Preference and Target Settings Options
Menu bar layout
Choose from the Menu bar layout options the desired configuration of menus listed in the
IDE:
• Windows—organizes the menu bar according to a typical Microsoft® Windows® arrangement
• Macintosh—organizes the menu bar according to a typical Apple® Mac® OS arrangement
Minimize non-debugging windows
Select the Minimize non-debugging windows option to minimize non-debugging windows to a reduced size when a debugging session starts. At the end of the debugging session, the IDE automatically restores the minimized windows.
NOTE
The Minimize non-debugging windows option is only available in MDI mode.
See also:
•
Use Multiple Document Interface
Monitor for debugging
Choose from the Monitor for debugging options the specific monitor to use during debugging sessions. The IDE displays debugging windows in the selected monitor. The coordinates in parentheses identify the selected monitor in QuickDraw space.
Move open windows to debugging monitor when debugging starts
Select the Move open windows to debugging monitor when debugging starts option to move all open windows to the selected debugging monitor after a debugging session starts. At the end of the debugging session, the IDE restores the moved windows to their original positions.
434 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
O
Open windows on debugging monitor during debugging
Select the Open windows on debugging monitor during debugging option to display on the debugging monitor any window that opens during the debugging session.
The IDE does not save the positions of windows closed on the debugging monitor during the debugging session. This behavior prevents window positions from gravitating to the debugging monitor.
Output Directory
Use the Output Directory caption to show the location the IDE places a final linked output file. The default location is the directory that contains your project file. Select
Choose to specify the location path.
P
Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ & ‘Make’
Select the Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ & ‘Make’ option to play a sound after a build operation completes. Choose different sounds for successful and unsuccessful builds using the Success and Failure pop-up options, respectively.
See also:
•
•
Post-linker
Use the Post-linker option to select a post-linker that performs additional work (such as format conversion) on the final executable file.
For more information see the appropriate Targeting manual.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 435
Preference and Target Settings Options
Pre-linker
Use the Pre-linker option to select a pre-linker that performs additional work on the object code in a project. This work takes place before the IDE links the object code into the final executable file.
For more information about the pre-linkers available, see the build targets Targeting manual.
Program Arguments
Use the Program Arguments field to enter command-line arguments to pass to the project at the beginning of a debugging session. Your program receives these arguments after you choose Project > Run.
Program entry point
Select this option to halt program execution upon entering the program.
Projects
Enter the number of recent projects to display in the Open Recent submenu.
Project Commands
Select the Project Commands option to add Project menu commands to contextual menus. Clear the option to remove the commands from the contextual menus.
Project operations
A bullet in the Project operations column, whose label appears at left, indicates that the IDE ignores matching folders for project operations. Such operations include dragging a folder into the Project window, building a project, or searching access paths after choosing File > Open.
Purge Cache
Click Purge Cache to delete the contents of the current file cache.
436 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
R
Recommended
Select the Recommended option to allow the number of concurrent compiles suggested by the IDE. This suggestion takes into account the number of active Central Processing
Units (CPUs) on the host computer.
Regular Expression
Enter in the Regular Expression field a text pattern to match against folder names. The
IDE excludes matching folders and their contents from selected project operations or findand-compare operations.
Relaxed C popup parsing
Use the Relaxed C popup parsing option to control the strictness of C coding conventions:
• Select the option to have the IDE recognize some non-standard functions that interfere with Kernighan-and-Ritchie conventions. The IDE displays the nonstandard functions in the Routine list pop-up.
• Clear the option to have the IDE recognize only functions that conform to
Kernighan-and-Ritchie conventions. The IDE displays only the standard functions in the Routine list pop-up.
For more information, refer to “Reference Manual,” of The C Programming Language,
Second Edition, by Kernighan and Ritchie, published by Prentice Hall.
NOTE
Toggle the Relaxed C popup parsing option to maximize recognition of functions, macros, and routine names in the source code.
Remote download path
Enter the path to the directory in which to store files downloaded from the remote host application.
Require Framework Style Includes
This option determines the strictness with which the IDE treats #include statements for frameworks:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 437
Preference and Target Settings Options
• selected—the IDE requires the framework in addition to the referenced header file.
In the example
#include <Cocoa/CocoaHeaders.h> the IDE requires the presence of Cocoa/ in order to find the CocoaHeaders.h file.
• cleared—the IDE requires only the referenced header file. Using the same example,
Cocoa/
becomes optional.
Revert Panel
Click Revert Panel to revert all modified options in the current preference or settings panel to the values present when the panel was originally opened.
S
438
Save open files before build
Select the Save open files before build option to automatically save files during project operations:
• Preprocess
• Precompile
• Compile
• Disassemble
• Bring Up To Date
• Make
• Run
Save project entries using relative paths
Use the Save project entries using relative paths option to store the location of a file using a relative path from one of the access paths. The settings include:
• enabled–the IDE stores extra location information to distinctly identify different source files with the same name. The IDE remembers the location information even if it needs to re-search for files in the access paths.
• disabled–the IDE remembers project entries only by name. This setting can cause unexpected results if two or more files share the same name. In this case, re-
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
searching for files could cause the IDE to find the project entry in a different access path.
Script
Choose from the Scripts options the script system (language) used to display text in editor windows. This setting behaves in two different ways, depending on the current IDE state:
• No editor windows open—the setting modifies the default script system. All editor windows take on the default script system.
• Editor windows open—the setting modifies the script system displayed in the frontmost editor window only. Other editor windows remain unaffected. The default script system remains unchanged.
Select stack crawl window when task is stopped
Select the Select stack crawl window when task is stopped option to automatically bring the Thread window to the foreground after the debugger stops a task. Clear the option to leave the Thread window in its previous position.
This option is useful for watching variable values change in multiple Variable windows as the debugger steps through code.
Selection position
Select the Selection position option to remember these items for each editor window:
• visible text
• insertion-point location
• selected text
Clear the option to open each editor window according to default settings and place the insertion point at the first line of text.
NOTE
The IDE must be able to write to the file in order to remember selection position.
Show all locals
Select the Show all locals option to display all local variables in Variable windows. Clear the option to show only variables near the program counter.
The Variables pane uses these display settings:
• Variables: All—shows all local variables in the code.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 439
Preference and Target Settings Options
• Variables: Auto—only shows the local variables of the routine to which the currentstatement arrow currently points.
• Variables: None—does not show variables. Use this setting to improve stepping performance for slow remote connections.
Show Code and Data Sizes
Enable this option in the IDE Extras panel of the IDE preferences panels to display the
Code and Data columns in the project manager window.
Show hidden locals
In previous versions of the CodeWarrior debugger, all local variables were displayed at all times in the local variables view. This meant that if there were multiple sub-scopes within a function that contained variables of the same name, all copies of these variables would be shown at all times. This made it difficult at times to determine which copy of a variable was the “current” one.
The CodeWarrior debugger now optionally filters out out-of-scope local variables in the local variables view. It is now possible to make the CodeWarrior debugger only display those variables that are actually “live” for the current location.
A new filter option (live) has been added to the existing options (all, auto, and none). The new option will attempt to filter out variables that are not currently in scope.
A hidden local variable is a variable that is in scope, but is hidden by a variable of the same name in a deeper scope. If the Show hidden locals option is checked, hidden locals are shown dimmed (greyed out).
function:
Listing 29.1 Hidden Locals Example
int main( void )
{ char varA = 'a'; int varB = 111; for (int loop1 = 0; loop1 < 10; loop1++)
{
/* loop-scoped variables that should hide all others */ char varA = 'b';
} float varB = 2.22;
.
.
.
440 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
}
.
.
.
When debugging this function, the earlier CodeWarrior debugger would show five variables at all times: loop1 : int varA : char varA : char varB : int varB : float
This could be confusing, since the different varA’s were not apparent in the local variables pane. With the new “live” filter, only those variables that are actually active at a given point in the function are displayed. Using the “live” filter, this display will look like this at the beginning of the function: varA : char varB : int and the display will look like this when inside the for loop: loop1 : int varA : char varB : float
Note in the second case that the varA and varB variables declared at the beginning of the function are still “live”, but they are hidden by the same-named variables declared within the for loop. If you would like these hidden variables to be displayed, check the “Show hidden locals” option; the variable list when inside the for loop looks like this: loop1 : int varA : char // displayed as dimmed varA : char varB : int // displayed as dimmed varB : float
NOTE
This feature ONLY works correctly if there is compiler and symbolics plugin support for sub-scopes within functions. At present, there are very few compilers that actually generate sub function-level scope information, so it is entirely possible that you will see no difference between the “live” and “all”
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 441
Preference and Target Settings Options
settings -- you will continue to have the “classic” CodeWarrior variable display with all variables shown.
Show message after building up-to-date project
Select the Show message after building up-to-date project option to have the IDE display a message after building an up-to-date project.
Show threads in separate windows
Select the Show threads in separate windows option to open a separate Thread window for each task. Clear the option to use one Thread window to display multiple tasks.
Show processes in separate windows
Select the Show processes in separate windows option to open a separate window for each process. Clear the option to use one window to display multiple tasks processes.
Show the component palette when opening a form
Select the Show the component palette when opening a form option to automatically display the Component Palette after opening a form in the Layout Editor. Clear the option to require manual opening of the Component Palette.
Show the object inspector when opening a form
Select the Show the object inspector when opening a form option to automatically open an Object Inspector window when opening a layout in the Layout Editor. Clear the option to require manual opening of the Object Inspector.
Show values as decimal
Select the Show values as decimal instead of hex option to display variable values in decimal form. Clear the option to display the values in hexadecimal form.
Show variable location
Select the Show variable location option to display the Location column in the Variables pane of the Thread window. Clear the option to hide the Location column.
442 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Show variable types
Select the Show variable types option to display the type associated with each variable in
Variable windows. Clear the option to hide the variable types.
Show variable values in source code
Select the Show variable values in source code option to show current values for variable names displayed in contextual menus. Clear the option to show variable names only.
Size
Choose from the Size options the font size used to display text in editor windows. This setting behaves in two different ways, depending on the current IDE state:
• No editor windows open—the setting modifies the default font size. All editor windows take on the default font size.
• Editor windows open—the setting modifies the font size displayed in the frontmost editor window only. Other editor windows remain unaffected. The default font size remains unchanged.
Sort functions by method name in symbolics window
Select the Sort functions by method name in symbolics window option to alphabetically sort functions by method name. Clear the option to alphabetically sort by class name. The sorting affects functions of the form className::methodName that appear in the
Symbolics window.
Since most C++ and Java source files contain methods that belong to the same class, select the option to simplify selection of functions by typing method names.
Stop at Watchpoints
Select this option to halt program execution at each watchpoint, regardless of whether the watchpoint value changed. Clear the option to halt execution at watchpoints with changed values.
Stop on application launch
Select this option to halt program execution at a specified point each time a debugging session begins.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 443
Preference and Target Settings Options
Strings
Use the Strings option to configure the color of anything that is not a comment, keyword, or custom keyword and displayed in editor windows when the Activate Syntax Coloring option is enabled. Sample strings include literal values, variable names, routine names, and type names.
Click the color swatch next to Strings to set the color.
struct Rect { short short short short
};
Smart Variable Formatting
The Variable Formatter is an IDE plugin that customizes the display of Variables based on format data it reads from an XML format file. For specific types of variables, the Variable
Formatter will replace the text shown next to the variable name to the results of an expression. For example, if you have a struct: top; left; bottom; right; then normally a variable of that type would look like this in the debugger: myRect 0x000DCEA8
If the Variable Formatter is given a format that looks like this:
<variableformat>
<typename>Rect</typename>
<expression>
"{T: " + ^var.top +
" L: " + ^var.left +
" B: " + ^var.bottom +
" R: " + ^var.right +
"}{H: " + (^var.bottom - ^var.top) +
" W: " + (^var.right - ^var.left) + "}"
</expression>
</variableformat> then the variable will be displayed with the result of the expression: myRect {T: 30 L: 30 B: 120 R: 120}{H: 90 W: 90}
When the IDE starts, the variable formatter plugin looks in the plugin's support folder for a
“Variable Formats” folder. It scans this folder for XML files and reads the variable formats for each one.
444 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Variable Format Tags:
variableformat - Identifies the start of a variable format record.
osName - Restricts format use to the indicated operating system. OS names are “osMac” and “osWin32”.
runtimename - Restricts format use to the indicated runtime model. Runtime names are
“runtimePPCCFM”, “runtimePPCMacho” and “runtimeWin32”.
cpuname - Restricts format use to the indicated CPU model. CPU names are
“cpuPowerPCBig”, “cpuJava” and “cpux86”.
typename - Identifies the name of the Type this record will format.
condition - Specifies a condition that must be met for the format to be used. This can be used to test for one element of data before attempting to format another element.
typenamematch - Specifies how to match type names to variable types. Possible values are: “ExactMatch”, “BeginsWith”, “EndsWith”, and “Contains”.
expression - Specifies an expression string. The expression will be evaluated and the result displayed next to the variable. Before evaluation, all instances of “^var” in the format string will be replaced with the name of the variable.
expressionformat - Specifies the data format to use when formatting an expression. The format names match the menu item names in the “Data” menu: “Pascal String”, “C
String”, “Character”, “Unicode” etc.
Sort function popup
Select the Sort function popup option to sort function names by alphabetical order in list pop-ups. Clear the option to sort function names by order of appearance in the source file.
Source relative includes
Select to search for dependent files in the same location as the source file. If the dependent file is not found in this location, specified User and System paths are searched. If this option is enabled, the Always Search User Paths should also be enabled. For example, if the compiler is currently scanning the main source file and discovers an include header file statement, the header file is searched for in the same location as the main file. If not found, the specified access paths will be searched. If the header file declared in the main file also contains an include statement for another header file, it too will be searched for in the same sequence.
Success
Choose from the Success options a sound to play after a Bring Up To Date or Make operation succeeds.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 445
Preference and Target Settings Options
Symbolics
Enter the number of recent symbolics files to display in the Open Recent submenu.
System Paths
Click the System Paths radio button to display the System Paths pane in the Access Paths preference panel.
Supported hosts:
• Windows: available.
• Macintosh: not available.
T
Tab indents selection
Use the Tab indents selection option to control how the editor inserts tabs into the currently selected lines of text:
• Select the option so that pressing Tab causes the editor to insert tab characters in front of each selected line of text. The editor thereby indents the selected text.
• Clear the option so that pressing Tab causes the editor to replace selected text with a tab character. The editor thereby overwrites the selected text.
Tab Inserts Spaces
Select the Tab Inserts Spaces option to have the editor insert spaces instead of tab characters into text. Clear the option to have the editor use tab characters.
The Tab Size option determines the number of spaces inserted by the editor.
Tab Size
Enter in the Tab Size field the number of spaces to substitute in place of a tab character in text. This number applies to the Tab Inserts Spaces option.
446 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Target Name
Use the Target Name text box to set or modify the name of the current build target. This name appears in the Targets view in the Project window. This name is not the name assigned to the final output file, that is set in the Linker panel for the build target.
Type
Choose from the Type options the desired source-tree path type:
• Absolute Path—This source-tree type is based on a file path.
• Environment Variable—This source-tree type is based on an existing environmentvariable definition. The Macintosh-hosted IDE cannot create or modify this sourcetree type.
• Registry Key—This source-tree type is based on an existing Windows registry key entry.
U
Update data every
n
seconds
Select this option to update the information displayed in debugging-session windows after a specified time interval. Enter the number of seconds n to elapse before the next update.
Clear this option to prevent data updates and keep the same window information throughout the debugging session.
Use Concurrent Compiles
Select the Use Concurrent Compiles option to run more than one compiling process at a time. Concurrent compiling makes better use of available processor capacity by allowing the operating system to optimize resource utilization, such as taking advantage of overlapped input/output.
Both single- and multi-processor systems benefit from enabling concurrent compiles. On multiprocessor systems, the speed-up is significant.
Use Debugging Monitor
Select the Use Debugging Monitor option to view debugging windows on a second monitor after a debugging session starts. This option only appears when the second monitor is connected to the computer.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 447
Preference and Target Settings Options
Use default workspace
Select this option to have the IDE use the default workspace. The IDE uses the default workspace to save and restore window and debugging states from one session to the next.
For example, if you select this option and close the IDE with a project window visible onscreen, that project window reappears the next time you start the IDE.
Clear this option to have the IDE start with the same default state for each new session: no windows visible onscreen.
For example, if you clear this option and close the IDE with a project window visible onscreen, that project window does not appear the next time you start the IDE. Instead, the
IDE always starts without opening any windows.
Use External Debugger
Select this option to have the IDE use an external debugger application in place of the
CodeWarrior debugger.
Use External Editor
Select the Use External Editor option to use an external text editor to modify text files in the current project. Clear the option to use the text editor included with the IDE.
Use Local Project Data Storage
Select the Use Local Project Data Storage option to store (on the host computer) data associated with a project file on a read-only volume. Clear the option to store project data inside the same folder as the project file itself.
After loading a project file, the IDE creates or updates an associated project data folder.
The IDE stores intermediate project data in this folder. When building or closing a project, the IDE uses the information in the project data folder to update the project file.
By default, the IDE places the project data folder within the same folder as the project file.
However, the IDE cannot create or update a project data folder in a location that grants read-only privileges.
If you are creating one project to be accessed by multiple users that are running
CodeWarrior on separate machines, then each user should select this option to create a local data storage folder for the shared project. The folder containing the project file should be set to read-only. This will cause the target information to be stored locally on each user’s machine, instead of inside a folder next to the project file.
448 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Use modification date caching
Use the Use modification date caching option to determine whether the IDE checks the modification date of each project file prior to making the project. The settings include:
• enabled–the IDE caches the modification dates of the files in a project. At compilation time, the IDE refers to this cache to determine whether a specific file should be recompiled. This can shorten compilation time significantly for large projects.
• disabled–the IDE checks every file at each recompile of the project. Use this setting if using third-party editors to ensure that the IDE checks every file at compilation time.
Use Multiple Document Interface
Toggle this option to change the IDE interface:
• Selected—The IDE uses MDI (Multiple Document Interface). In this interface, the
IDE uses a main application window with a gray background. IDE windows appear inside the main application window. The gray background obscures your view of the desktop.
• Cleared—The IDE uses FDI (Floating Document Interface). In this interface, the
IDE does not use a main application window. You can see through the IDE user interface to your desktop. IDE windows appear above the desktop.
Use multiple undo
Select the Use multiple undo option to remember several undo and redo operations in editor windows. Clear the option to remember only the most recent undo or redo action.
The IDE stores undo and redo actions on a stack in first-in last-out (FILO) order, however, the stack size and capability are limited. For example, assume there are five undo actions on the stack (ABCDE). If the IDE redoes two actions (ABC), then performs a new action
(ABCF), the undo events (DE) are no longer available.
Use Script menu
Select the Use Script menu option to display the Scripts menu in the IDE menu bar.
Clear the option to remove the Scripts menu from the menu bar. The Scripts menu provides convenient access to IDE scripts.
For more information about scripting the IDE, refer to the CodeWarrior Scripting
Reference.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 449
Preference and Target Settings Options
Use Third Party Editor
Select the Use Third Party Editor option to use a third-party text editor to modify text files. Clear the option to use the text editor included with the IDE.
Enter in the Launch Editor and Launch Editor w/ Line # fields command-line expressions that specify information that the IDE passes to the third-party editor.
Consult the documentation provided with the third-party text editor for more information about using command lines.
See also:
•
•
Use ToolServer menu
Select the Use ToolServer menu option to display the ToolServer menu in the IDE menu bar. Clear the option to remove the ToolServer menu from the menu bar.
User Paths
Click this radio button to display the User Paths pane in the Access Paths preference panel.
User Specified
Select the User Specified option to stipulate the number of concurrent compiles to allow in the IDE. Enter the desired number in the text box beside the option.
NOTE
The IDE accommodates a maximum of 1024 concurrent compiles. However, there is a point where the host system becomes compute-bound, and allowing more processes only adds overhead. For a single-processor system, the practical limit is approximately 12 concurrent compiles.
V
450
Value
The Value text box defines the value of the variable defined in the Variable text box that will be passed to a host application when control is transferred to it by the IDE.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Preference and Target Settings Options
Variable
The Variable text box defines the name of a variable to be passed to a host application when control is transferred to it by the IDE.
Variable values change
Use the Variable values change option to configure the color of changed variables that appear in debugger windows. Click the color swatch to change the current color.
VCS Commands
Select the VCS Commands option to add VCS menu commands to contextual menus.
Clear the option to remove the commands from the contextual menus.
Refer to the documentation that came with the version control system to learn about using it with the CodeWarrior IDE.
W-Z
Watchpoint indicator
Use the Watchpoint indicator option to configure the color of watchpoints that appear in debugger windows. Click the color swatch to change the current color.
Window follows insertion point
Select this option to have the Code Completion window follow the insertion point as you edit text in the active editor window. Clear the option to leave the Code Completion window in place.
Window position and size
Select the Window position and size option to remember the location and dimensions of each editor window. Clear the option to open each editor window according to default settings.
NOTE
The IDE must be able to write to the file in order to remember window position and size.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 451
Preference and Target Settings Options
Working Directory
Enter the path to the default directory to which the current project has access. Debugging occurs in this location. If this field is blank, debugging occurs in the same directory as the executable file.
Workspaces
Enter the number of recent workspace files to display in the Open Recent submenu.
Zoom windows to full screen
Use the Zoom windows to full screen option to configure the behavior of the zoom box in the upper right-hand corner of all editor windows:
• Select the option to have the IDE resize a zoomed window to fill the entire screen.
• Clear the option to have the IDE resize a zoomed window to its default size.
452 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window
XML Specification
30
The CodeWarrior Register Details window provides online documentation about hardware registers up to 32 bits in length. This documentation helps programmers better understand the register and its constituent parts. Furthermore, the Register Details window can dynamically update its information to reflect changes in register state or changes in bitfield values.
The Register Details window documentation can include bitfield descriptions, descriptions that change based on certain conditions, and explanations of bitfield values. The same window handles both system registers and memory-mapped registers.
CodeWarrior parses XML files with specific tags to display the appropriate information in the window. This chapter describes the XML format understood by the Register Details window.
•
Register Details Window XML Specification
•
Accessing the XML Files from CodeWarrior
•
•
Register Details Window XML Specification
XML consists of elements, which are similar to tags in Hypertext Markup Language
(HTML). Each element contains attributes that give detailed information about the element structure. Some elements are required and some are optional.
As is the case with HTML, XML elements include tags that mark the beginning and end of the element, such as <ELEM> and </ELEM>. An alternate construct allows <ELEM> and
</>
to mark the beginning and end of the element, respectively.
Attributes can include numeric values, which you may enter in a variety of formats (
). The table shows sample values for each format. The table also describes additional requirements for valid values that the Register Details window can understand. For example, valid character values must be enclosed in single-quote marks, like this: 'c'
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 453
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification
Table 30.1 Numeric Attribute Value Formats
Value Format
Decimal
Hexadecimal
Octal
Binary
Character
Sample Values
123
and -334
0x12
and 0X12
012
0b11001
and 0B11
'c'
and 'XYZ'
Requirements
Preceded by 0x or 0X
Preceded by 0
Preceded by 0b or 0B
Enclosed in ''
Every XML file created for use with the Register Details window must conform to the
specification shown in Listing 30.1
. The specification defines the following types of elements:
•
•
•
Descriptions of these elements follow the specification.
Listing 30.1 Register Details Window XML Specification
<!DOCTYPE REGISTER [
<!ELEMENT REGISTER
<!ATTLIST REGISTER
NAME CDATA
BITRANGE
RESETVALUE
CDATA
CDATA
ADDRESS CDATA
DESCRIPTION CDATA
(BITFIELD+)>
#REQUIRED
#REQUIRED
#IMPLIED
#IMPLIED
#IMPLIED>
<!ELEMENT BITFIELD
<!ATTLIST BITFIELD
NAME
BITRANGE
CDATA
CDATA
(BFVALUE*)>
#REQUIRED
#REQUIRED
FORMAT
(binary|b|hex|h|decimal|d|unsigned|u|character|c
ACCESS
|value|v) "binary"
(read|r|write|w|readwrite|rw|reserved)
CONDITION
"readwrite"
CDATA
DESCRIPTION CDATA
#IMPLIED
#IMPLIED>
454 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification
]>
<!ELEMENT BFVALUE
<!ATTLIST BFVALUE
VALUE CDATA
DESCRIPTION CDATA
EMPTY>
#REQUIRED
#REQUIRED>
REGISTER
The REGISTER element describes the name, bitrange, reset value, address, and general description of the register. The italicized portions of the format are placeholders that indicate where you must supply additional information. The remainder of this section describes each REGISTER attribute.
Element Format
<REGISTER
NAME = " RegisterName"
BITRANGE = "
MSB:LSB|BitNumber"
RESETVALUE = " 0x11223344"
ADDRESS = "
0x10000+4"
DESCRIPTION = " RegisterDescription">
</REGISTER>
Attributes
NAME
This attribute specifies the register name. If the element does not include an
ADDRESS
attribute, CodeWarrior matches XML files based on the NAME attribute, and the register is assumed to be registered with the IDE under the NAME attribute.
If the element includes an ADDRESS attribute, the register is assumed to be memory mapped, and the debugger evaluates the ADDRESS attribute to find the address of the register, using the information in the NAME attribute for display purposes only.
This attribute is a required part of the REGISTER element.
You must enter a NAME attribute in the form
String
where String represents the name of the register.
BITRANGE
This attribute defines the register bitrange. If the bitrange is a single bit, enter the bit number. If the bitrange is longer than a single bit, enter the range separated by a
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 455
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification colon. For example, enter 0:6 to specify a range from 0 to 6. The bit ordering can be in any order, such as 0:31 or 31:0. This flexibility lets you accommodate varying product documentation, where bit ordering is sometimes reversed.
However, after specifying a particular bit order, each subsequent bitrange attribute in the BITFIELD element must follow the same order.
This attribute is a required part of the REGISTER element.
You must enter a BITRANGE attribute in the form
MSB:LSB or
BitNumber
where MSB:LSB refers to the range between the most-significant bit and the leastsignificant bit, and BitNumber refers to the single bit that represents the bitrange.
RESETVALUE
This attribute allows you to specify the register reset value.
This attribute is an optional part of the REGISTER element.
You must enter a RESETVALUE attribute in the form
Value
where Value represents the reset value of the register. Refer to
Table 30.1 on page 454 for more information about valid values.
ADDRESS
This attribute lets you specify that the register is a memory-mapped register. The
CodeWarrior expression evaluator determines the value of the attribute by evaluating the following items:
• mathematical operations
• boolean operations such as AND, OR, NOT, and XOR
• the values of registers whose names begin with a dollar sign ($)
• variables included in the generated symbolics file for the project
This attribute is an optional part of the REGISTER element.
You must enter a RESETVALUE attribute in the form
String
where String represents the name of the register.
DESCRIPTION
This attribute lets you provide a description for the register. This description can be of arbitrary length. The Description field in the Register Details window includes scrollbars, allowing you to view the entire description within the window.
456 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification
This attribute is an optional part of the REGISTER element.
You must enter a DESCRIPTION attribute in the form
String
where String represents the description of the register.
BITFIELD
The BITFIELD element describes the name, bitrange, format, access, condition, and general description of individual bitfields within the register. The italicized portions of the format are placeholders that indicate where you must supply additional information. The remainder of this section describes each BITFIELD attribute in detail.
NOTE
If you choose not to describe the register bitfields, or if the register does not have bitfields that require individual descriptions, you can leave the
BITFIELD
element empty in the XML file.
Element Format
<BITFIELD
NAME = " BitfieldName"
BITRANGE = "
(MSB:LSB|Number)"
FORMAT = " BitfieldFormat"
ACCESS = "
AccessFormat"
CONDITION = " Expression"
DESCRIPTION = "
BitfieldDescription">
</BITFIELD>
Attributes
NAME
This attribute specifies the bitfield name.
This attribute is a required part of the BITFIELD element.
You must enter a NAME attribute in the form
String
where String represents the name of the bitfield.
BITRANGE
This attribute defines the bitfield range. If the bitrange is a single bit, enter the bit number. If the bitrange is longer than a single bit, enter the range separated by a colon. For example, enter 0:6 to specify a range from 0 to 6. The bit ordering must
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 457
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification
follow the order you specified in the
element. See
BITRANGE for more information.
This attribute is a required part of the BITFIELD element.
You must enter a BITRANGE attribute in the form
MSB:LSB or
BitNumber
where MSB:LSB refers to the range between the most-significant bit and the leastsignificant bit, and BitNumber refers to the single bit that represents the bitrange.
FORMAT
This attribute determines the default format of the register values displayed in the
Register Details window. You can enter one of the following formats for this attribute:
• binary or b
• hex or h
• decimal or d
• unsigned or u
• character or c
• value or v
If you omit this attribute, CodeWarrior assumes a default binary format. If you choose the value format, the bitfield appears as the text description value, or else appears in binary format when no description is provided for the specified bitfield value.
This attribute is an optional part of the BITFIELD element.
You must enter a FORMAT attribute in the form
FullName
or
abbr
where FullName represents the full name of the format and abbr represents the abbreviation of that format.
ACCESS
This attribute lets you specify the bitfield access permissions. You can enter one of the following permissions for this attribute:
• read or r
• write or w
458 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification
• readwrite or rw
• reserved or ""
If you omit this attribute, CodeWarrior assumes a default readwrite access permission.
This attribute is an optional part of the BITFIELD element.
You must enter an ACCESS attribute in the form
FullName
or abbr where FullName represents the full name of the format and abbr represents the abbreviation of that format.
CONDITION
This attribute lets you provide a particular description for a bitfield, depending on whether a condition you specify is met. You specify a conditional Expression for the bitfield using the CONDITION attribute. CodeWarrior evaluates the expression, and if the expression is true, assumes that the bitfield attribute is valid.
This capability is useful for providing different descriptions for the same bitfield, based on the value of the Expression. For example, you can create two bitfield entries for the same register bit. Each bitfield entry has a distinct CONDITION attribute, allowing CodeWarrior to choose the appropriate BITFIELD element to display in the Register Details window.
This attribute is an optional part of the BITFIELD element.
You must enter a CONDITION attribute in the form
Expression where Expression represents the condition that CodeWarrior must evaluate
). The expression can refer to other registers by adding a dollar sign ($) to the beginning of each register name. The expression can also refer to the current register value by entering two dollar signs ($$) in the Expression. The Register
Details window replaces these dollar signs with the current register value. The
CodeWarrior expression evaluator also accepts local and global variables in the
Expression .
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 459
Register Details Window XML Specification
Register Details Window XML Specification
Table 30.2 Sample Expressions for CONDITION Attribute
Expression
CONDITION = "$$&0x80"
CONDITION = "!($$&0x80)"
CONDITION = "$MSR&0x8000"
CONDITION = "foo&0x10 >= 0"
Explanation
The current register value
AND ed with 0x80
The inversion of the current register value ANDed with 0x80
Another register value (the MSR register) ANDed with 0x8000
An expression using a variable named foo
DESCRIPTION
This attribute lets you provide a description for the bitfield. This description can be of arbitrary length. The Description field in the Register Details window includes scrollbars, allowing you to view the entire description within the window.
This attribute is an optional part of the BITFIELD element.
You must enter a DESCRIPTION attribute in the form
String
where String represents the bitfield description.
BFVALUE
The BFVALUE element lets you explain the individual values of a bitfield described by the
attribute in the BITFIELD element. The italicized portions of the format are placeholders that indicate where you must supply additional information. The remainder of this section describes each BFVALUE attribute.
NOTE
If you choose not to describe individual bitfield values, or if the bitfields do not require individual descriptions, you can leave the BFVALUE element empty in the XML file.
Element Format
<BFVALUE
VALUE = " BitfieldValue"
460 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
Accessing the XML Files from CodeWarrior
DESCRIPTION = "
BitfieldValueDescription">
</BFVALUE>
Attributes
VALUE
This attribute specifies the value of the bitfield to be described by the
attribute.
This attribute is a required part of the BFVALUE element.
You must enter a VALUE attribute in one of the following forms:
• decimal
• unsigned decimal
• hexadecimal (the value must begin with 0x or 0X)
• octal (the value must begin with 0)
• binary (the value must begin with 0b or 0B)
• character (enclosed in single quote marks, like this: 'c')
DESCRIPTION
This attribute lets you provide a description of the bitfield value specified by the
VALUE
attribute.
This attribute is a required part of the BFVALUE element.
You must enter a DESCRIPTION attribute in the form
String
where String represents the bitfield value description.
Accessing the XML Files from CodeWarrior
The CodeWarrior Register Details window searches a specific folder for relevant files.
You must place XML Register Details window files within the Registers folder in your CodeWarrior installation.
Windows
If necessary, create the Registers folder at the following location:
CodeWarrior\Bin\Plugins\Support\Registers
Mac OS
If necessary, create the Registers folder at the following location:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 461
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
Metrowerks CodeWarrior:CodeWarrior Plugins:Support:Registers
IDE plugins can provide access paths to the IDE to better control the placement of XML files within the Registers folder. For example, you can create sub-folders within the
Registers
folder for specific processors or processor variations and use the plugin access paths to search those sub-folders. These access paths are relative to the
Registers
folder.
The IDE looks up system registers by name. Memory-mapped registers can have any name, since that name is used for display purposes only.
A Sample XML File
This section provides examples of creating XML file for use with the Register Details window.
•
•
Adding Multiple BITFIELD Attributes
•
•
Creating the New XML File
When you create a new file, you usually follow these high-level steps:
1. Locate a base XML file.
Instead of creating a completely new XML file, you can adapt an existing XML file for use with the register you wish to document. For example, you can locate a simple, generic XML file and modify it to describe more sophisticated registers.
shows a sample base XML file that you can easily adapt to explain complex registers. Note that this generic base file lacks multiple bitfield attributes, conditional expressions, or individual bitfield value attributes.
Listing 30.2 Sample Base XML File
<REGISTER NAME="BAR"
BITRANGE="0:31"
DESCRIPTION="Breakpoint Address Register">
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="0:31"
DESCRIPTION="The address of the load/store cycle that generates the breakpoint.">
</BITFIELD>
462 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
</REGISTER>
2. Save the base XML file under a new name.
Use CodeWarrior to save a copy of the base XML file under a new name, and work with this newly named file for the remainder of the process. This step prevents you from accidentally modifying the original XML file.
3. Modify the base XML file to suit your needs.
After opening your copy of the base XML file, you can adapt the file to accurately document complicated register properties. For example, you can add multiple
BITFIELD
attributes, BFVALUE attributes, and conditional expressions to the base
XML file. The resulting file accurately and thoroughly describes the register. Such a file appears in
Adding Multiple BITFIELD Attributes
Multiple BITFIELD attributes divide the register into smaller ranges of bits, or
“bitfields.” Such bitfields can have various meanings depending on the register. For example, one bitfield of a register could refer to condition flag information, while another bitfield in the same register could refer to current state information.
Suppose you wish to document a “Memory Controller Base 2” register that contains twelve bitfields. Each bitfield has its own name and description.
Using the sample base XML file of
, you could begin adapting the file to your needs by adding eleven additional BITFIELD elements. Following the element formats
described in the Register Details Window XML Specification
, your first revision of the
base file might appear as shown in Listing 30.3
Listing 30.3 First Revision of Base XML File
<REGISTER NAME="BR2"
BITRANGE="0:31"
DESCRIPTION="Memory Controller Base Register 2.">
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="0:16"
NAME="BA"
DESCRIPTION="Place the BA bitfield description here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="17:19"
NAME="AT"
DESCRIPTION="Place the AT bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 463
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="20:21"
NAME="PS"
DESCRIPTION="Place the PS bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="22"
NAME="-"
DESCRIPTION="Make a note that this bitfield is reserved.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="23"
NAME="WP"
DESCRIPTION="Place the AT bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="24:25"
NAME="-"
DESCRIPTION="Make a note that this bitfield is reserved.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="26"
NAME="WEBS"
DESCRIPTION="Place the WEBS bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="27"
NAME="TBDIP"
DESCRIPTION="Place the TBDIP bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="28"
NAME="LBDIP"
DESCRIPTION="Place the LBDIP bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="29"
NAME="SETA"
DESCRIPTION="Place the SETA bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="30"
NAME="BI"
DESCRIPTION="Place the BI bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="31"
NAME="V"
464 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
DESCRIPTION="Place the V bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
/REGISTER>
Adding BFVALUE Attributes
The values in an individual bitfield can describe different things about a register. For example, a bitfield value of 00 might indicate that a certain process is used, while a bitfield value of 01 might indicate that the same process is not used.
To cater your descriptions to accurately reflect such changes in behavior, you can use multiple BFVALUE attributes within a BITFIELD element. Each BFVALUE provides a specific description based on the bitfield value. CodeWarrior determines the applicable description to display in the Register Details window.
Using the example discussed in previous sections, assume that six of the bitfields in the
“Memory Controller Base Register 2” could benefit from the use of BFVALUE attributes.
Following the element formats described in the Register Details Window XML
Specification , your second revision of the base file might resemble
.
Listing 30.4 Second Revision of XML Base File
<REGISTER NAME="BR2"
BITRANGE="0:31"
DESCRIPTION="Memory Controller Base Register 2.">
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="0:16"
NAME="BA"
DESCRIPTION="Place the BA bitfield description here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="17:19"
NAME="AT"
DESCRIPTION="Place the AT bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="20:21"
NAME="PS"
DESCRIPTION="Place the PS bitfield desciption here.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="00" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 00 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="01" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 01 here." />
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 465
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
<BFVALUE VALUE="10" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 10 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="11" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 11 here." />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="22"
NAME="-"
DESCRIPTION="Make a note that this bitfield is reserved.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="23"
NAME="WP"
DESCRIPTION="Place the AT bitfield desciption here.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 0 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 1 here." />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="24:25"
NAME="-"
DESCRIPTION="Make a note that this bitfield is reserved.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="26"
NAME="WEBS"
DESCRIPTION="Place the WEBS bitfield desciption here.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 0 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 1 here." />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="27"
NAME="TBDIP"
DESCRIPTION="Place the TBDIP bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="28"
NAME="LBDIP"
DESCRIPTION="Place the LBDIP bitfield desciption here.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 0 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 1 here." />
</BITFIELD>
466 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="29"
NAME="SETA"
DESCRIPTION="Place the SETA bitfield desciption here.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 0 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 1 here." />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD BITRANGE="30"
NAME="BI"
DESCRIPTION="Place the BI bitfield desciption here.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 0 here." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Place the description of the bitfield value of 1 here." />
</BITFIELD>
< <BITFIELD BITRANGE="31"
NAME="V"
DESCRIPTION="Place the V bitfield desciption here.">
</BITFIELD>
/REGISTER>
Completing the New XML File
Adding multiple BITFIELD attributes and the BFVALUE attributes further refines the
XML file register description. The final revision of an XML file involves completing the descriptions for each attribute.
Refining the example of previous sections, Listing 30.5
shows the final XML file. To use
this new file with the Register Details window, place the file in the Registers folder.
For more information about this folder, refer to Accessing the XML Files from
Listing 30.5 Sophisticated XML File
<REGISTER NAME="BR2"
BITRANGE="0:31"
DESCRIPTION="Memory Controller Base Register 2.">
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="0:16"
NAME="BA"
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 467
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
DESCRIPTION="Base Address. These bits are compared to the corresponding unmasked address signals among ADDR[0:16] to determine if a memory bank controlled by the memory controller is being accessed by an internal bus master. (The address types are also compared.)
These bits are used in conjunction with the A<[0:16] bits in the OR">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="17:19"
NAME="AT"
DESCRIPTION="Address type. This field can be used to require accesses of the memory bank to be limited to a certain address space type. These bits are used in conjunction with ATM bits in the OR.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="20:21"
NAME="PS"
DESCRIPTION="Port size.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="00" DESCRIPTION="32-bit port" />
<BFVALUE VALUE="01" DESCRIPTION="8-bit port" />
<BFVALUE VALUE="10" DESCRIPTION="16-bit port" />
<BFVALUE VALUE="11" DESCRIPTION="Reserved" />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="22"
NAME="-"
DESCRIPTION="Reserved.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="23"
NAME="WP"
DESCRIPTION="Write protect. An attempt to write to the range of addresses specified in a base address register that has this bit set can cause the TEA signal to be asserted by the bus-monitor logic (if enabled) causing termination of this cycle.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Both read and write accesses are allowed" />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Only read accesses are allowed. The CSx signal and TA are not asserted by the memory controller on write cycles to this memory bank. WPER is set in the
MSTAT register if a write to this memory bank is attempted." />
</BITFIELD>
468 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Register Details Window XML Specification
A Sample XML File
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="24:25"
NAME="-"
DESCRIPTION="Reserved">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="26"
NAME="WEBS"
DESCRIPTION="Write-enable/byte select. This bit controls the functionality of the WE/BE pads.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="The WE/BE pads operate as WE"
/>
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="The WE/BE pads operate as BE"
/>
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="27"
NAME="TBDIP"
DESCRIPTION="Toggle-burst data in progress. TBDIP determines how long the BDIP strobe will be asserted for each data beat in the burst of cycles.">
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="28"
NAME="LBDIP"
DESCRIPTION="Late-burst-data-in-progress (LBDIP). This bit determines the timing of the first assertion of the BDIP pin in burst cycles. Note: It is not allowed to set both LBDIP and TBDIP bits in a region's base registers; the behavior of the design in such cases is unpredictable.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Normal timing for BDIP assertion (assesrts one clock after negation of TS" />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Late timing for BDIP assertion (asserts after the programmed number of wait states" />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="29"
NAME="SETA"
DESCRIPTION="External transfer acknowledge.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="TA generated internally by memory controller" />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="TA generated by external logic. Note that programming the timing of CS/WE OE strobes may have no meaning if this bit is set." />
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 469
Register Details Window XML Specification
References
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="30"
NAME="BI"
DESCRIPTION="Burst inhibit. Note: Following a system reset, the BI bit is set in OR0.">
<BFVALUE VALUE="0" DESCRIPTION="Memory controller drives BI negated (high). The bank supports burst accesses." />
<BFVALUE VALUE="1" DESCRIPTION="Memory controller drives BI asserted (low). The bank does not support burst accesses." />
</BITFIELD>
<BITFIELD
BITRANGE="31"
NAME="V"
DESCRIPTION="Valid bit. When set, this bit indicates that the contents of the base-register and option-register pair are valid. The
CSignal does not assert until the V-bit is set. Note that an access to a region that has no V-bit set may cause a bus monitor timeout. Note also that following a system reset, the V-bit in BR0 reflects the value of ID3 in the reset configuration word.">
</BITFIELD>
</REGISTER>
References
For more information about XML, consult these references:
• XML: A Primer, by Simon St. Laurent, published by IDG Books Worldwide, Inc.
• Presenting XML, by Richard Light, published by Macmillan Computer Publishing.
• The XML Companion, by Neil Bradley, published by Addison-Wesley.
470 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menus
This section contains these chapters:
•
•
VIII
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 471
472 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
31
IDE Menus
This chapter is an overview of CodeWarrior™ IDE menus and their commands. The IDE provides two different arrangements of IDE menus, configurable in the IDE Extras preference panel:
• Windows menu layout
• Macintosh menu layout
This chapter lists the IDE menus under each menu layout. For each menu, a table shows this information:
• Menu command—the name of each command in the menu.
• Description—a short description of each command.
This chapter has these sections:
•
•
Windows Menu Layout
This section provides an overview of the menus and menu commands available in the
Windows menu layout.
File Menu
The File menu contains commands for opening, creating, saving, closing, and printing source files and projects. The File menu also provides different methods for saving edited
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.1 File Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Creates new projects using the New Project wizard or project stationery files.
Opens source and project files for editing and project modification operations.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 473
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.1 File Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Opens the file specified in the Find and Open File dialog or from the selected text in the active window.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command to
.
Closes the active window.
Saves the active file using the editor window’s filename.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command to
.
Saves all open editor windows.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to substitute this command
command.
Saves a copy of the active file under a new name and closes the original file.
Saves a copy of the active file without closing the file.
Discards all changes made to the active file since the last save operation.
Opens a workspace that you previously saved.
Closes the current workspace. (You cannot close the default workspace.)
Saves the current state of onscreen windows, recent items, and debugging.
Saves an existing workspace under a different name.
Imports the components from another catalog into the current catalog.
Closes the current catalog and its associated Catalog
Components window and Component Palette.
Imports a project file previously saved in extensible markup language format (XML) and converts it into project file format.
474 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.1 File Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Exports the active project file to disk in extensible markup language (XML) format.
Displays the Page Setup dialog for setting paper size, orientation, and other printer options.
Displays the Print dialog for printing active files, and the contents of Project, Message, and Errors & Warning window contents.
Displays a submenu of recently opened files and projects that can be opened in the IDE.
Quits the CodeWarrior IDE.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh
Quit CodeWarrior command in the CodeWarrior menu.
Edit Menu
The Edit menu contains all customary editing commands, along with some CodeWarrior additions. This menu also includes commands that open the Preferences and Target
Settings windows.
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.2 Edit Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Undoes the last cut, paste, clear, or typing operation.
If you cannot undo the action, this command changes to
Can’t Undo
.
Redoes the action of the last Undo operation.
If you cannot redo the action, this command changes to
Can’t Redo
.
Removes the selected text and places a copy of it on the
Clipboard.
Copies the selected text and places a copy of it on the
Clipboard.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 475
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.2 Edit Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Places the contents of the Clipboard at current insertion point or replaces the selected text.
Removes the selected text without placing a copy on the
Clipboard.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, this command does not appear. Instead, use the
command.
Selects all text in current editor window or text box for cut, copy, paste, clear, or typing operations.
Selects text between the nearest set of parenthesis, braces, or brackets.
Moves selected text one tab stop to the left.
Moves selected text one tab stop to the right.
Shortcut for selecting the previous item that appears in the Code Completion window.
Shortcut for selecting the next item that appears in the
Code Completion window.
Opens the Code Completion window.
Opens the IDE Preferences window where you can set general IDE, editor, debugger, and layout options.
Opens the project’s Target Settings window where you can set target, language, code generation, linker, editor, and debugger options.
(the name changes, based on the name of the active build target)
Opens the VCS Settings window to enable activation of a version control system and its relevant settings.
Opens the Customize IDE Commands window where you can create, modify, remove menus, menu commands, and key bindings.
476 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
View Menu
The View menu contains commands for viewing toolbars, the class browser, the Message
window, and debugging windows. Table 31.3
explains the command of this menu.
Table 31.3 View Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Use the Toolbars menu to show, hide, reset, and clear window and main toolbars.
Opens or brings to the front a Project Inspector window.
Opens or brings to the front a Browser Contents window.
Opens or brings to the front a New Class Browser window.
Opens or brings to the front a Class Hierarchy window.
Opens the Build Progress window.
Opens or brings to the front an Errors & Warnings window.
Opens the Symbolics window.
Opens or brings to the front a Processes window.
Opens or brings to the front the Breakpoints window. Use this window to view, create, modify, and remove breakpoints.
Opens or brings to the front a Register window.
Opens or brings to the front an Expressions window. Use to view, create, modify, and remove expressions.
Opens or brings to the front a Global Variables window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 477
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Search Menu
The Search menu contains commands for finding text, replacing text, comparing files, and navigating code.
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.4 Search Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Opens the Find and Replace window for performing searches in the active editor window.
Opens the Find and Replace window for replacing text in the active editor window.
Opens the Find in Files window for performing searches in the active editor window.
Finds the next occurrence of the find string in the active editor window.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Finds the next occurrence of the find string in the next file listed in the Find window’s File Set.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Replaces the Find text box string with the selected text.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
Finds the next occurrence of the selected text in the active editor window.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
Replaces the replace string in the Replace text box with the selected text.
478 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.4 Search Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Replaces the selected text with the Replace text box string, then performs a Find Next operation.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Finds all matches of the Find text box string and replaces them with the Replace text box string.
Searches for definition of the routine name selected in the active editor window using the project’s source files.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command to
Returns to the previous CodeWarrior browser view.
Moves to the next CodeWarrior browser view.
Opens the Go To Line dialog where you can specify by line number where to position the text insertion point.
Opens the Compare Files Setup window where you can choose to compare folders or files and merge their contents.
Adds, removes, or changes the selected text in the destination file to match the selected text in the source file.
Reverses the modifications made to the destination file by the Apply Difference command.
Project Menu
The Project menu contains commands for manipulating files, handling libraries,
compiling projects, building projects, and linking projects. Table 31.5
explains the commands of this menu.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 479
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.5 Project Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Adds the active window to the project.
Opens a dialog box that you can use to add multiple files to the active project.
Opens the Create Group dialog box that you can use to add a new file group to the active project. The new file group appears below the selected file or group.
Opens the Create Target dialog box that you can use to add a new build target to the active project. The new build target appears below the selected build target.
Opens the Create Segment/Overlay dialog box that you can use to add a new segment or overlay to the active project. The new segment or overlay appears below the selected one.
Opens the Create New Design dialog box that you can use to add a design to the active project. The new design appears in the Design tab of the project window.
Exports the current project to a GNU makefile.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, this command does not appear.
Checks the active editor window or selected files in the project window for compilation errors.
Preprocesses the active editor window or selected files in the project window and displays results in a new editor window.
Precompiles the active editor window or selected files in the project window and stores results in a new header file.
Compiles the active editor window or selected files in the project window.
Disassembles the active editor window or selected files in the project window and displays results in a new editor window.
Compiles all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active project.
480 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.5 Project Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active project, saving the executable file.
Stops the current compile and linking operation and cancels the remainder of the build process.
Removes object code from one or more build targets in the project.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Resets the cached locations of source files using the project access paths, and stores them for faster builds and project operations.
Resets the location of all source files in the active project using the project access paths.
Updates the modification dates of all source files in the active project.
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active window, then runs the built executable file.
or
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active window, then runs the built executable file.
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active window, then runs the built executable file.
Uses the Set Default Project menu to choose the default project when more than one project is open in the IDE.
Uses the Set Default Target menu to choose the default build target when more than one build target is present in the project file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 481
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Debug Menu
The Debug menu contains commands for managing program execution.
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.6 Debug Menu Commands
Menu command
or
Explanation
Pauses execution of the program in a debugging session to enable examination of register and variable contents
Terminates the current debugging session returning control to the IDE.
Terminates the current debugging session, then restarts the program from the beginning.
Executes each source line in the program, treating routine calls as a single statement and stopping the program at the next line of code.
Executes each source line in the program, following any subroutine calls.
Executes each source line in the subroutine and stops the program when the routine returns to its caller.
Sets a temporary breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Opens the Change Program Counter dialog box that you can use to move the current statement arrow to an address or symbol.
Sets a breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears the breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Sets an eventpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears the breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Opens the Set/Clear Breakpoint dialog box that you can use for setting or clearing breakpoints by address or symbol.
482 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.6 Debug Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
or
or
or
or
Explanation
Activates the disabled breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
De-activates the breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears all breakpoints currently set in the default build target of the active project.
Adds a Breakpoint Column to all project editor windows where you can set, view, or clear breakpoints.
Removes the Breakpoint Column from all project editor windows.
Sets a watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears the watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Activates the disabled watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
De-activates the watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears all watchpoints currently set in the default build target of the active project.
Configures the debugger to break at __throw() each time a C++ exception occurs.
Use this menu to select the Java exceptions on which the debugger breaks.
Establishes communication with an embedded device to start a debugging session.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, this command does not appear.
Data Menu
The Data menu contains commands that control how the CodeWarrior debugger displays data values. This menu appears only during a debugging session.
commands of this menu.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 483
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.7 Data Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Toggles the appearance of the data type on local and global variables displayed in Variable panes and Variable windows.
Updates data displays.
Creates a new expression entry in the Expressions window.
Copies the selected variable to the Expressions window.
Displays the View As dialog where the data type of the selected variable can be specified.
Displays the selected variable in a new Variables window.
Displays the selected array variable in a new Arrays window.
Displays the selected variable in a new Memory window.
Displays the View As dialog where the data type of the selected variable can be specified, then shown in a new
Memory window.
Toggles the data view among
,
Disassembly , View Mixed , and View Raw Data .
View data as source code.
View data as language disassembly.
View data as source code and its disassembly.
View data without applied formatting.
Views the selected variable in the default value format.
Views the selected variable as a binary value.
Views the selected variable as a signed decimal value.
Views the selected variable as an unsigned decimal value.
Views the selected variable as a hexadecimal value.
484 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Windows Menu Layout
Table 31.7 Data Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Views the selected variable as a character value.
Views the selected variable as a C string.
Views the selected variable as a Pascal string.
Views the selected variable as a Unicode string.
Views the selected variable as a floating point value.
Views the selected variable as an enumerated value.
Views the selected variable as a 32-bit fixed value.
Window Menu
The Window menu contains commands that manipulate IDE windows. Table 31.8
explains the commands of this menu.
The Window menu also lists the names of all open file and project windows. A checkmark appears beside the active window; an underline indicates a modified and unsaved file.
Table 31.8 Window Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Closes the active window.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command to
Closes all non-project windows.
When using the Windows menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to substitute this command for the
command.
Arranges all editor windows so that only the title bar is visible.
Tiles all editor windows horizontally on the screen so none overlap.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 485
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.8 Window Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Tiles all editor windows vertically on the screen so none overlap.
Saves the active browser windows settings and applies it to other browser windows as they are opened.
Help Menu
The Help menu contains commands for accessing the IDE’s online help. Table 31.9
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.9 Help Menu Commands
Menu command Explanation
Index
Search
Launches a help viewer to display the online help.
Click on a link to view a specific IDE topic.
Launches a help viewer to display a glossary of common terms used in the CodeWarrior help and manuals.
Launches a help viewer to a page for searching the
CodeWarrior help and manuals.
Launches a browser and automatically points you to the web site.
Displays the CodeWarrior IDE version and build number information.
Macintosh Menu Layout
This section provides an overview of the menus and menu commands available in the
Macintosh menu layout.
Apple Menu
The Apple menu (Mac OS 9.x.x and earlier) provides access to the CodeWarrior About box, shows system applications, and lists additional items.
486 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Select
to display the IDE version and build-number information.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this menu does not appear.
CodeWarrior Menu
The CodeWarrior Menu (visible in Mac OS X only) provides access to the CodeWarrior
About box, IDE preferences, and the command that quits the IDE.
explains the commands of this menu.
If you use the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this menu does not appear.
Table 31.10 Apple Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Displays the CodeWarrior IDE version and build number information.
Opens the IDE Preferences window where you can set general IDE, editor, debugger, and layout options.
Quits the CodeWarrior IDE.
File Menu
The File menu contains commands for opening, creating, saving, closing, and printing source files and projects. The File menu also provides different methods for saving edited
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.11 File Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Creates a new text file and displays it in a new editor window.
Creates new projects using the New Project wizard or project stationery files.
Opens source and project files for editing and project modification operations.
Displays a submenu of recently opened files and projects that can be chosen to open in the IDE.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 487
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.11 File Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Opens the file specified in the Find and Open File dialog or from the selected text in the active window.
Closes the active window.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command to
Saves the active file using the editor window’s filename.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command to
.
Saves a copy of the active file under a new name and closes the original file.
Saves a copy of the active file without closing the file.
Discards all changes made to the active file since the last save operation.
Opens a workspace that you previously saved.
Closes the current workspace. (You cannot close the default workspace.)
Saves the current state of onscreen windows, recent items, and debugging.
Saves an existing workspace under a different name.
Imports the components from another catalog into the current catalog.
Closes the current catalog and its associated Catalog
Components window and Component Palette.
Imports a project file previously saved in extensible markup language format (XML) and converts it into project file format.
Exports the active project file to disk in XML format.
Displays the Page Setup dialog for setting paper size, orientation, and other printer options.
488 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.11 File Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
(Classic Mac OS)
Explanation
Displays the Print dialog for printing active files, and the contents of Project, Message, and Errors & Warning window contents.
Quits the CodeWarrior IDE.
Edit Menu
The Edit menu contains all customary editing commands, along with some CodeWarrior additions. This menu also includes the commands that open the Preferences and Target
Settings windows.
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.12 Edit Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Undoes the action of the last cut, paste, clear or typing operation.
If you cannot undo the action, this command changes to
Can’t Undo
.
Redoes the action of the last Undo operation.
If you cannot redo the action, this command changes to
Can’t Redo
.
Removes the selected text and places a copy of it on the
Clipboard.
Copies the selected text and places a copy of it on the
Clipboard.
Places the contents of the Clipboard at current insertion point or replaces the selected text.
Removes the selected text without placing a copy on the
Clipboard.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this command does not appear. Instead, use the
command.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 489
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.12 Edit Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
(name changes, based on name of active build target)
Explanation
Selects all text in the current editor window or text box for cut, copy, paste, clear, or typing operations.
Selects text between the nearest set of parenthesis, braces, or brackets.
Moves selected text one tab stop to the left.
Moves selected text one tab stop to the right.
Shortcut for selecting the previous item that appears in the Code Completion window.
Shortcut for selecting the next item that appears in the
Code Completion window.
Opens the Code Completion window.
Inserts a routine template corresponding to the selected
Mac OS Toolbox call in the active window.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this command does not appear.
Opens the IDE Preferences window where you can set general IDE, editor, debugger, and layout options.
Opens the project’s Target Settings window where you can set target, language, linker, editor, and debugger options.
Opens the VCS Settings window to enable activation of a version control system and its relevant settings.
Opens the Customize IDE Commands window where you can create, modify, remove menus, menu commands, and key bindings.
Search Menu
The Search menu contains commands for finding text, replacing text, comparing files,
navigating code, and finding routine definitions. Table 31.13
explains the commands of this menu.
490 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.13 Search Menu Commands
Menu command
Explanation
Opens the Find and Replace window for performing find and replace operations on the active editor window.
Opens the Find in Files window for performing searches in the active editor window.
Finds the next occurrence of the find string in the active editor window.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
Finds the next occurrence of the find string in the next file listed in the Find window’s File Set.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Replaces the Find text box string with the selected text.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
Finds the next occurrence of the selected text in the active editor window.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Replaces the replace string in the Replace text box with the selected text.
Replaces the selected text with the Replace text box string, then performs a Find Next operation.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
Finds all matches of the Find text box string and replaces them with the Replace text box string.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 491
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.13 Search Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Explanation
Searches for the definition of the routine name selected in the active editor window using the project’s source files.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Shift key to change this command to
.
Searches for the definition of the routine name selected in the active editor window using the specified online help system.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this command does not appear.
Returns to the previous CodeWarrior browser view.
Moves to the next CodeWarrior browser view.
Opens the Go To Line dialog where you can specify by line number where to position the text insertion point.
Opens the Compare Files Setup window where you can choose to compare folders or files and merge their contents.
Adds, removes, or changes the selected text in the destination file to match the selected text in the source file.
Reverses the modifications made to the destination file by the Apply Difference command.
Project Menu
The Project menu contains commands for manipulating files, handling libraries,
compiling projects, building projects, and linking projects. Table 31.14
commands of this menu.
492 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.14 Project Menu Commands
Menu command
(name changes, based on name of selected item)
or
or
or
Explanation
Adds the active window to the project.
Opens a dialog that you can use to add multiple files to the active project.
Displays the Create Group dialog where you can add a new file group to the active project immediately after selected file or group.
Displays the Create Target dialog where you can add a new build target to the active project immediately after selected build target.
Displays the Create Overlay dialog where you can add a new memory overlay to the active project immediately after the selected overlay.
Displays the Create Segment dialog where you can add a new segment to the active project immediately after the selected segment.
Opens the Create New Design dialog box that you can use to add a design to the active project. The new design appears in the Design tab of the project window.
Checks the active editor window or selected files in the project window for compilation errors.
Preprocesses the active editor window or selected files in the project window and displays results in a new editor window.
Precompiles active editor window or selected files in project window and stores results in a new header file.
Compiles the active editor window or selected files in project window.
Disassembles the active editor window or selected files in the project window and displays the results in a new editor window.
Compiles all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active project.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 493
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.14 Project Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
or
Explanation
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active project; saving the executable file.
Stops the current compile and link operation and cancels the remainder of the build process.
Removes the object code from one or more build targets in the project.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Macintosh host, hold down the Option key to change this command
to Remove Object Code & Compact .
Resets the cached locations of source files using the project access paths, and storing them for faster builds and project operations.
Resets the location of all source files in the active project using the project access paths.
Updates the modification dates of all source files in the active project.
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active window, then runs the built executable file.
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active window, then runs the built executable file.
Compiles and links all marked or modified files in the current build target of the active window, then runs the built executable file.
Uses the Set Default Project menu to choose the default project when more than one project is open in the IDE.
Uses the Set Default Target menu to choose the default build target when more than one build target is present in the project file.
494 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Debug Menu
The Debug menu contains commands for managing program execution.
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.15 Debug Menu Commands
Menu command
or
or
Explanation
Terminates the current debugging session returning control to the IDE.
Terminates the current debugging session, then restarts the program from the beginning.
Executes each source line in the program, treating routine calls as a single statement and stopping the program at the next line of code.
Executes each source line in the program, following any subroutine calls.
Executes each source line in the subroutine and stops the program when the routine returns to its caller.
Pauses execution of the program in a debugging session to enable examination of register and variable contents.
Sets a breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears the breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Sets an eventpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears the breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Displays the Set/Clear Breakpoint dialog for setting or clearing breakpoints by address or symbol.
Activates the disabled breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
De-activates the breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 495
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.15 Debug Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
or
or
or
Explanation
Clears all breakpoints currently set in the default build target of the active project.
Adds a Breakpoint Column to all project editor windows where breakpoints can be set, viewed, and cleared.
Removes the Breakpoint Column from all project editor windows.
Sets a watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears the watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Activates the disabled watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
De-activates the watchpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Clears all watchpoints currently set in the default build target of the active project.
Sets a temporary breakpoint on the source line containing the insertion point.
Displays the Change Program Counter dialog where you can move the current statement arrow to an address or symbol.
Configures the debugger to break at __throw() each time a C++ exception occurs.
Use this menu to select which Java exceptions the debugger should break on.
Configures the IDE to use an external debugger instead of the CodeWarrior debugger.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this command does not appear.
496 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Data Menu
The Data menu contains commands that control how the CodeWarrior debugger displays
data values. This menu only appears during a debugging session. Table 31.16
commands of this menu.
Table 31.16 Data Menu Commands
Menu command
Description
Toggles the appearance of the data type on local and global variables displayed in Variable panes and
Variable windows.
Updates data displays.
Creates a new expression entry in the Expressions window.
Copies the selected variable to the Expressions window.
Displays the View As dialog where the data type of the selected variable can be specified.
Displays the selected variable in a new Variables window.
Displays the selected array variable in a new Arrays window.
Displays the selected variable in a new Memory window.
Displays the View As dialog where the data type of the selected variable can be specified, then shown in a new Memory window.
Toggles the data view among
,
Disassembly , View Mixed , and View Raw Data .
View data as source code.
View data as disassembled.
View data as source code and disassembled.
View data without applied formatting.
Views selected variable in default value format.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 497
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.16 Data Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Description
Views selected variable as a binary value.
Views selected variable as a signed decimal value.
Views selected variable as an unsigned decimal value.
Views selected variable as a hexadecimal value.
Views selected variable as a character value.
Views selected variable as a C string.
Views selected variable as a Pascal string.
Views selected variable as a Unicode string.
Views selected variable as a floating point value.
Views selected variable as an enumerated value.
Views selected variable as a 32-bit fixed value.
Views selected variable as a fract value.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this command does not appear.
Window Menu
The Window menu contains commands that manipulate IDE windows. This menu’s sections are:
• window commands to stack, tile, zoom, collapse, and save window positions.
• toolbar submenu for showing, hiding, resetting, and clearing window and floating toolbars.
• commands to open specific browser, IDE, and debugger windows.
• names of all open file and project windows.
explains the commands of this menu.
The Window menu also lists the names of all open file and project windows. A checkmark appears beside the active window; an underline indicates a modified and unsaved file.
498 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.17 Window Menu Commands
Menu command Description
Tile Editor Windows Vertically
Tiles all editor windows vertically on the screen so none overlap.
Restores the active editor window to its previous size and position.
Collapses the active editor window so that only its title bar is visible.
or
)
Expands the collapsed editor window to its previous size and position.
Saves the current browser-window settings for later reuse.
Use the Toolbars submenu to show, hide, reset, and clear window, main, and floating toolbars.
Arranges all editor windows so that only the title bar is visible.
Tiles all editor windows horizontally on the screen so none overlap.
Opens or brings to the front a Browser Contents window.
Opens or brings to the front a Class Hierarchy window.
Opens or brings to the front a New Class Browser window.
Opens or brings to the front a Build Progress window.
Opens or brings to the front an Errors & Warnings window.
Opens or brings to the front a Project Inspector window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 499
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Table 31.17 Window Menu Commands ( continued)
Menu command
Description
Opens or brings to the front a ToolServer Worksheet window.
When using the Macintosh menu layout on a Windows host, this command does not appear.
Opens or brings to the front a Symbolics window.
Opens or brings to the front a Processes window.
Opens or brings to the front an Expressions window.
Use to view, create, modify, and remove expressions.
Opens or brings to the front a Global Variables window.
Opens or brings to the front a Breakpoints window. Use to view, create, modify, and remove breakpoints.
Opens or brings to the front a Register window.
VCS Menu
The VCS (Version Control System) menu appears in the IDE’s menu bar when the Use
Version Control option is enabled. The CodeWarrior IDE can operate with many difference version control systems including CVS, Visual SourceSafe, and others.
This icon represents the VCS menu in the Macintosh-hosted IDE menu bar.
Refer to the documentation that came with the version control system to learn about using it with the CodeWarrior IDE.
Tools Menu
On the Mac OS hosted IDE, the Tools menu appears in the IDE’s menu bar after you enable the Use ToolServer menu checkbox in the IDE Extras preference panel. The Tools menu contains commands for controlling Apple® ToolServer™ and Macintosh
Programmer’s Workbench (MPW).
Macintosh: This icon represents the Tools menu in the Macintosh-hosted IDE menu bar.
500 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
Refer to Targeting Mac OS to learn about using ToolServer and MPW with projects.
Scripts Menu
The Scripts menu appears in the IDE’s menu bar after you enable the Use script menu checkbox in the IDE Extras preference panel and creates a (Scripts) folder in the
Metrowerks CodeWarrior
folder of your IDE installation.
The Scripts menu uses the directory structure of the (Scripts) folder to create a hierarchical menu. This hierarchical menu lists all scripts in the (Scripts) folder. Open a script-editing utility or a text editor to learn more about the scripts that might already exist in the (Scripts) folder.
Refer to the CodeWarrior Scripting Reference to learn about scripting the IDE.
Help Menu
The Help menu contains commands for accessing the IDE’s online help. Table 31.18
explains the commands of this menu.
Table 31.18 Help Menu Commands
Menu command
Index (Windows)
Search (Windows)
Description
Launches a help viewer to display the online help. Click on a link to view a specific IDE topic.
Opens the online help to the Index tab.
Opens the online help to the Search tab.
Launches a browser and automatically points you to the website.
Displays the CodeWarrior IDE version and build number information.
NOTE
Classic Macintosh: The Help menu contains additional menu commands for
Balloon Help and accessing Apple’s online help.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 501
IDE Menus
Macintosh Menu Layout
502 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
32
Menu Commands
This section presents an alphabetical listing of all available menu commands in the
CodeWarrior™ IDE. Menu commands that appear only on certain host platforms are documented. A menu command that has no host information is available on all hosts.
Use this listing as a reference to find information about a specific menu command.
A
About Freescale CodeWarrior
This command displays the CodeWarrior IDE version and build number information.
TIP
Click the Installed Products button in this window to view and save information about installed products and plugins for the CodeWarrior IDE. You can also use this window to enable or disable plugin diagnostics.
Add Files
The Add Files command opens a dialog which allows one or more files to be added to the project.
Add Window
The Add Window command adds the file in the active Editor window to the open project.
The name of the menu command changes, based on the name of the active window. For example, if the name of the active window is MyFile, the name of the menu command changes to Add MyFile to Project.
Align
Reveals the Align submenu with component alignment commands like Right Edges,
Vertical Centers, and others.
See also:
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 503
Menu Commands
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
All Exceptions
The All Exceptions command of the Java submenu tells the debugger to break every time an exception occurs. This behavior includes exceptions thrown by the virtual machine, your own classes, the debugger, classes in classes.zip, and so on. Java programs throw many exceptions in the normal course of execution, so catching all exceptions causes the debugger to break often.
Anchor Floating Toolbar
The Anchor Floating Toolbar command attaches the floating toolbar beneath the menu bar. Once attached, the anchored toolbar can not be moved again until it is unanchored.
See also: Unanchor Floating Toolbar
Apply Difference
The Apply Difference command applies the selected difference from the source file into the destination file.
B
504
Balance
The Balance command selects all text starting at the current insertion point and enclosed in parentheses (), brackets [], or braces {},
Bottom Edges
The Bottom Edges command of the Align submenu aligns the bottom edges of the selected components.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Break
The Break command temporarily suspends execution of the target program and returns control to the debugger.
Break on C++ Exception
The Break on C++ Exception command tells the debugger to break at __throw() each time a C++ exception occurs.
Break on Java Exceptions
The Break on Java Exceptions command reveals the Java Exceptions submenu.
See also:
•
Exceptions in Targeted Classes
•
.
Breakpoints or Breakpoints Window
These commands open the Breakpoints window.
Bring To Front
The Bring To Front command moves the selected objects so that they are displayed in front of all other objects.
Bring Up To Date
The Bring Up To Date command updates the current build target in the active project by compiling all of the build target’s modified and touched files.
Browser Contents
The Browser Contents command opens the Browser Contents window. This command is not available if the Enable Browser option is not activated.
Build Progress or Build Progress Window
These commands open the Build Progress window. Use it to monitor the IDE’s status as it compiles a project.
505
Menu Commands
C
Cascade
The Cascade command arranges open editor windows one on top of another, with their window titles visible.
Change Program Counter
The Change Program Counter command opens a window that lets you move the current-statement arrow to a particular address or symbol.
Check Syntax
The Check Syntax command checks the syntax of the source file in the active Editor window or the selected files in the open project window. If the IDE detects one or more errors, a Message window appears and shows information about the errors.
The Check Syntax command is not available if the active Editor window is empty or no project file is open.
Check Syntax does not generate object code.
explains how to abort the syntax-checking process:
Table 32.1 Aborting Syntax Checking
On this host…
Windows
Macintosh
Solaris
Linux
Do this…
Press Esc
Press Command-. (Command-Period)
Press Esc
Press Esc
Class Browser
The Class Browser command opens a Class Browser window. This command is unavailable if the Enable Browser option is not enabled.
506 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Class Hierarchy or Class Hierarchy Window
These commands open a Multi-Class Browser window. This command is unavailable if the Enable Browser option is not enabled.
Clear
The Clear command removes the selected text. This menu command is equivalent to pressing the Backspace or Delete key.
Clear All Breakpoints
The Clear All Breakpoints command clears all breakpoints in all source files belonging to the target program.
Clear All Watchpoints
The Clear All Watchpoints command clears all watchpoints in the current program.
Clear Breakpoint
The Clear Breakpoint command clears the breakpoint at the currently selected line. If the
Show Breakpoints option is enabled, the marker in the Breakpoints column of the Editor window disappears.
Clear Eventpoint
This command opens a submenu that lets you remove an eventpoint from the currently selected line. If the Show Breakpoints option is active, the Breakpoints column in the editor windows shows a marker next to each line with an eventpoint. The marker represents the eventpoint type.
Clear Floating Toolbar
The Clear Floating Toolbar command removes all shortcut icons from the floating toolbar. Once the toolbar is cleared, drag shortcut icons from the Commands and Key
Bindings window to the toolbar to create a custom floating toolbar.
Clear Main Toolbar
The Clear Main Toolbar command removes all shortcut icons from the main toolbar.
Once the toolbar is cleared, drag shortcut icons from the Commands and Key Bindings window to the toolbar to create a custom main toolbar.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 507
Menu Commands
Clear Watchpoint
The Clear Watchpoint command removes a watchpoint from the selected variable or memory range.
Clear Window Toolbar
The Clear Window Toolbar command removes all shortcut icons from the window toolbar. Once the toolbar is cleared, drag shortcut icons from the Commands and Key
Bindings window to the toolbar to create a custom window toolbar.
Close
The Close command closes the active window.
Close All
The Close All command closes all open windows of a certain type. The name of this menu command changes, based on the type of item selected. For example, select one of several open editor windows, the menu command changes its name to Close All Editor
Documents.
NOTE
Macintosh: Press the Option key to change Close to Close All.
Close Catalog
The Close Catalog command closes the current catalog and removes the catalog from the
Component Catalog window and the Component Palette.
Close Workspace
This command closes the current workspace.
You cannot close the default workspace, but you can choose whether to use it by toggling
preference panel.
Commands & Key Bindings
The Commands and Key Bindings command opens the Customize IDE Commands window.
508 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Complete Code
The Complete Code command opens the Code Completion window. Use this window to help you automatically complete programming-language symbols as you type them in the active editor window.
CodeWarrior Glossary
The CodeWarrior Glossary command opens and displays a list of vocabulary terms used by the CodeWarrior manuals and online help.
CodeWarrior Help
This command opens the online help for the CodeWarrior IDE.
Collapse Window
The Collapse Window command collapses the active window so that only its title is visible.
Compare Files
The Compare Files command opens the Compare Files Setup window. Use it to choose two files or folders for comparison and merging. After choosing the items, a comparison window appears that shows differences between the items.
Compile
The Compile command compiles selected source files into binary files. The IDE compiles source files that are:
• part of the current project and open in the active Editor window, or
• selected files, segments, or groups in a project window.
Connect
The Connect command establishes communication between the IDE and embedded hardware to begin a debugging session.
Copy
The Copy command copies selected text to the system Clipboard. If the Message Window is active, the Copy command copies all text in the Message Window to the Clipboard.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 509
Menu Commands
Copy to Expression
The Copy to Expression command copies the variable selected in the active pane to the
Expressions window.
Create Design
This command creates a new design in the current project. The new design appears in the
Design tab of the project window. You cannot create a design if each build target in the project already belongs to a design.
Create Group
The Create Group command creates a new group in the current project. This command is active when the Files view is visible in the project window.
Create Overlay or Create Segment
These commands create a new segment or overlay in the current project. This command is active when the Segments view or Overlays view is visible in the project window.
Create Target
The Create Target command creates a new build target in the current project. This command is active when the Targets view is visible in the project window.
Cut
The Cut command copies the selected text to the system Clipboard, replacing the previous
Clipboard contents, and removes it from the current document or text box.
Cycle View
Toggles view among various data formats.
See also:
•
•
•
•
510 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
D
Debug
This command compiles and links a project, then runs the CodeWarrior debugger with the project’s code. If debugging is active, the debugging window appears to examine program information and step through the code as it executes. If debugging is not active, the window appears, but the program executes without stopping in the debugger.
Delete
The Delete command removes selected text without placing it on the system clipboard.
This menu command is equivalent to pressing the Backspace or Delete key.
Disable Breakpoint
The Disable Breakpoint command de-activates the breakpoint at the currently selected line.
Disable Watchpoint
The Disable Watchpoint command de-activates a watchpoint for the selected variable or memory range.
Disassemble
The Disassemble command disassembles the compiled source files selected in the project window. After disassembling a file, the IDE creates a .dump file that contains the file’s object code. The .dump file appears in a new window after the IDE completes the disassembly process.
Display Grid
The Display Grid command toggles the visibility of grid lines in the layout window.
When checked, the grid lines appear, otherwise, no grid is visible.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 511
Menu Commands
E
Enable Breakpoint
The Enable Breakpoint command activates a breakpoint at the currently selected line.
The breakpoint appears in the left side of the editor window if the Breakpoint column is visible. The states of the breakpoint marker include:
• enabled breakpoint.
• disabled breakpoint.
• no breakpoint in line.
Enable Watchpoint
The Enable Watchpoint command activates a watchpoint for the selected variable or memory range.
Enabled watchpoints are indicated by an underline of the selected variable or range of memory. Disabled watchpoints have a grey underline. The underline’s color can be configured in the Display Settings preference panel of the IDE Preference window.
Enter Find String
The Enter Find String command copies selected text in the active window directly into the target search string. It will then appear in the Find text box of both the Find and
Replace and Find in Files windows. Once done, use any of the find commands to search for matches without opening any Find-related windows.
Enter Replace String
The Enter Replace String command copies the selected text in the active window directly into the target search string. It will then appear in the Replace with text box of both the Find and Replace and Find in Files windows. Once done, use any of the find commands to search for matches without opening any Find-related windows.
NOTE
Macintosh: Press the Shift key to change the Enter Find String command to the
Enter Replace String menu command.
512 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Errors & Warnings or Errors & Warnings Window
These commands open the Errors and Warnings window.
Exceptions in Targeted Classes
The Exceptions in Targeted Classes command of the Java submenu instructs the debugger to break on exceptions thrown by your own classes in the project. Choose this command to break on exceptions thrown by your classes, rather than exceptions that Java programs throw in the normal course of execution.
Exit
The Exit command exits the CodeWarrior IDE immediately, provided that:
• all changes to the open editor files are already saved, or
• the open editor files are not changed.
If a Project window is open, the IDE saves all changes to the project file before exiting. If an Editor window is open and changes are not saved, the CodeWarrior IDE asks if you want to save your changes before exiting.
Expand Window
The Expand Window command expands a collapsed window (a window with only its title visible). Only available when a collapsed window is currently active.
Export Project
The Export Project command exports a CodeWarrior project to a file in XML format.
The IDE prompts for a name and location to save the new XML file.
Export Project as GNU Makefile
This command exports a CodeWarrior project to a GNU makefile. The IDE displays a message that tells you the name of the makefile and its location on the hard disk.
Expressions or Expressions Window
These commands open an Expressions window.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 513
Menu Commands
F
Find
The Find command opens the Find and Replace window to perform find operations within the active file.
Find Definition & Reference
The Find Definition & Reference command searches for the definition of the selected routine name in the active Editor window. Searching starts within the source files belonging to the open project. If the IDE does not find a definition, a system beep sounds.
If the IDE does not find the routine definition within the project files, searching continues, using the online help system specified in the IDE Extras preference panel.
NOTE
Macintosh: Press the Option key to change the Find Definition menu command to the Find Definition & Reference menu command.
Find Definition
The Find Definition command searches for the definition of the selected routine name in the active window. Searching occurs in the source files belonging to the open project. If the IDE finds the definition, the source file that contains the definition appears in an Editor window, and the routine name appears highlighted.
If the IDE finds more than one definition, a Message window appears warning of multiple definitions. If the IDE does not find a definition, a system beep sounds.
NOTE
Select the Activate Browser option in the Build Extras target settings panel and re-compile the project in order to use the Find Definition command.
Find in Files
The Find in Files command opens the Find in Files window. This window allows you to perform find-and-replace operations across multiple files using specified search criteria.
514 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Find In Next File
The Find in Next File command searches for the next occurrence of the Find text box string in the next file listed in the Find in Files window.
Find In Previous File
This command searches for the next occurrence of the Find text box string in the previous file listed in the Find in Files window.
NOTE
(Macintosh) Press the Shift key to change the Find In Next File menu command to the Find In Previous File menu command.
Find Next
The Find Next command searches for the next occurrence of the Find text box string in the active window.
Find and Open File
The Find and Open File command opens the Find and Open File dialog. Enter a filename, click OK, and the IDE searches the current project access paths as specified in the Access Paths panel of the Target Settings window.
Find and Open ‘Filename’
The Find and Open ‘Filename’ command opens an existing text file, using the currently selected text in the Editor window as the filename.
Find Previous
The Find Previous command searches for the previous occurrence of the user defined string in the active window.
NOTE
Macintosh: Press the Shift key to change the Find Next menu command to the
Find Previous menu command.
Find Previous Selection
The Find Previous Selection searches for the previous occurrence of the selected text in the active editor window.
515
Menu Commands
NOTE
Macintosh: Press the Shift key to change the Find Selection menu command to the Find Previous Selection menu command.
Find Reference
The Find Reference command searches for the definition of the selected routine name in the active Editor window, using the online help system specified in the IDE Extras preference panel.
If the IDE does not find a definition, a system beep sounds.
Find and Replace
The Find and Replace command opens the Find and Replace window. Use this window to perform find-and-replace operations within the active file.
Find Selection
The Find Selection command searches for the next occurrence of the selected text in the active Editor window.
Freescale CodeWarrior Website
The CodeWarrior Website command launches a web browser and displays the
CodeWarrior web site.
G
516
Get Next Completion
The Get Next Completion command acts as a shortcut that bypasses using the Code
Completion window. Instead of scrolling through the Code Completion window to select the next symbol from the one currently selected, use this command to insert that next symbol directly into the active editor window.
Get Previous Completion
The Get Previous Completion command acts as a shortcut that bypasses using the Code
Completion window. Instead of scrolling through the Code Completion window to select
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
the previous symbol from the one currently selected, use this command to insert that previous symbol directly into the active editor window.
Global Variables or Global Variables Window
These commands open the Global Variables window. Use this window to view global variables for an entire project or for a single file. Click a filename in the Files list to display the file’s global variables in the Variables list.
Go Back
The Go Back command returns to the previous view in the CodeWarrior browser.
Go Forward
The Go Forward command moves to the next view in the CodeWarrior Browser (after you select Go Back command to return to previous view).
Go to Line
The Go to Line command opens the Line Number dialog box. Enter a specific line number to move the text-insertion point. If the line number specified exceeds the number of lines in the file, the text-insertion point moves to the last line in the file.
H
Hide Breakpoints
The Hide Breakpoints command conceals the Breakpoints column, which appears to the left of the source code shown in editor windows.
Hide Floating Toolbar
The Hide Floating Toolbar command conceals the IDE’s floating toolbar. After concealing the floating toolbar, the command changes to Show Floating Toolbar.
Hide Main Toolbar
The Hide Main Toolbar command conceals the IDE’s main toolbar. After concealing the main toolbar, the command changes to Show Main Toolbar.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 517
I
Menu Commands
Hide Window Toolbar
The Hide Window Toolbar command conceals the toolbar in the active window. After concealing the window toolbar, the command changes to Show Window Toolbar.
Horizontal Center
The Horizontal Center command of the Align submenu aligns the horizontal centers of the selected components.
Import Components
The Import Components command imports components from another catalog for use with the current catalog.
Import Project
The Import Project command imports project files previously saved in a XML file with the Export Project command.
Insert Reference Template
This command inserts a routine template corresponding to the selected Mac OS Toolbox call in the active window. The IDE uses the online reference database application specified in the Find Reference Using pop-up to search for the routine’s definition.
K-L
518
Kill
The Kill command terminates the target program and returns control to the debugger.
Left Edges
The Left Edges command of the Align submenu aligns the left edges of the selected components.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
M-N
Make
The Make command builds the selected project by compiling and linking its modified and touched files. The results of a successful build depend on the selected project type.
Maximize Window
Windows equivalent of Expand Window.
Minimize Window
Windows equivalent of Collapse Window.
New
The New command opens the New window. Use the New window to create new projects, files, components, and objects.
New Class
The New Class command opens the New Class wizard. Use this wizard to help create new classes in a project.
New Class Browser
The New Class Browser command opens a Browser window. The IDE grays out this menu command if the CodeWarrior browser is not activated. This menu command is equivalent to the Class Browser menu command.
New Data Member
The New Data Member command opens the New Data Member wizard. Use this wizard to help create new data members for a class.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 519
Menu Commands
New Event
The New Event command opens the New Event window. Use this window to help create new events for a selected class in a project.
New Event Set
The New Event Set command opens the New Event Set window to create a new event set for a selected class in a project.
New Expression
The New Expression command creates a new entry in the Expressions window, prompting entry of a new expression.
New Member Function
The New Member Function command opens the New Member Function wizard. Use this wizard to help create new member functions for a class.
New Method
The New Method command opens the New Method window. Use this window to create a new method for a selected class in a project.
New Property
The New Property command opens the New Property window. Use this window to create a new property for a selected class in a project.
New Text File
The New Text File command creates a new editable text file and opens an editor window.
No Exceptions
The No Exceptions command of the Java submenu instructs the debugger to not break when exceptions occur.
520 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
O
Open
The Open command opens an existing project or source file.
Open Recent
The Open Recent menu item reveals a submenu of recently opened projects and files.
Choose a file from the submenu to open that item.
If two or more files in the submenu have identical names, the submenu shows the full paths to those files in order to distinguish between them.
Open Scripts Folder
This command opens the (Scripts) folder. This command is only available if the Use
Scripts menu option is enabled.
Open Workspace
This command opens a workspace file that you previously saved.
P-Q
Page Setup
The Page Setup command sets the options used for printing CodeWarrior IDE files.
Paste
The Paste command replaces the selected text with contents of the system clipboard into the active Editor window or text box. If no text is selected, the IDE places the clipboard contents at the text-insertion point.
The Paste command is unavailable if the Message window is active.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 521
Menu Commands
Precompile
The Precompile command precompiles the text file in the active Editor window into a precompiled header file.
Preferences
The Preferences command opens the IDE Preferences window. Use this window to change the global preferences used by the CodeWarrior IDE.
Preprocess
This command preprocesses selected source files in any language that has a preprocessor, such as C, C++, and Java.
The Print command prints CodeWarrior IDE files, as well as Project, Message, and Errors and Warnings window contents.
Processes or Processes Window
These commands open the Processes window for those platforms that support it.
Project Inspector
Opens the Project Inspector window so that you can view information about your project.
You can also use this window to manipulate file-specific information.
Quit or Quit CodeWarrior
Mac OS command equivalent of Exit : See Exit .
R
522
Redo
After undoing an operation, you can redo it. For example, after choosing the Undo
Typing command to remove some text that you typed, you can choose Redo Typing to override the undo and restore the text.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
You can enable the Use multiple undo option in the Editor Settings preference panel to allow greater flexibility with regard to Undo and Redo operations. After enabling this option, you can choose Undo multiple times to undo multiple actions, and you can Redo multiple times to redo multiple actions.
Refresh All Data
This command updates the data that appears in all windows.
Register Details Window
The Register Details Window command opens the Register Details window, which allows you to view descriptions of registers, bit fields, and bit values.
Registers or Register Window
These commands reveal the Registers submenu, which can be used to view general registers or FPU registers.
See also: Register Details Window
Remove Object Code
The Remove Object Code command shows the Remove Object Code dialog box. Use this dialog box to remove binary object code from the active project, or to mark the project’s files for re-compilation.
Remove Object Code & Compact
This command removes all binaries from the project and compacts it. Compacting the project removes all binary and debugging information and retains only the information regarding the files that belong to the project and project settings.
Remove Selected Items
The Remove Selected Items command removes the currently selected items from the
Project window.
CAUTION
You cannot undo this command.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 523
Menu Commands
Replace
The Replace command opens the Find and Replace dialog box. Use this dialog box to perform find-and-replace operations within the active file.
Replace All
The Replace All command finds all occurrences of the Find string and replaces them with the Replace string. If no text is selected in the active Editor window and there is no text in the Find text box, the IDE dims this menu command.
Replace and Find Next
This command substitutes selected text with text in the Replace text box of the Find window, and then performs a Find Next operation. If no text is selected in the active
Editor window and there is no text in the Find field of the Find window, the IDE grays out this menu command.
Replace and Find Previous
This command substitutes selected text with the text in the Replace text box of the Find window, and then performs a Find Previous operation. If no text is selected in the active
Editor window and there is no text in the Find field of the Find window, the IDE grays out this menu command.
NOTE
(Mac OS) Press the Shift key to change the Replace and Find Next menu command to the Replace and Find Previous menu command.
Replace Selection
The Replace Selection command substitutes the selected text in the active window with the text in the Replace text box of the Find window. If no text is selected in the active
Editor window, the IDE grays out the menu command.
This menu command replaces one instance of a text string without having to open the Find window. Suppose that you replaced all occurrences of the variable icount with jcount
. While scrolling through your source code, you notice an instance of the variable icount
misspelled as icont. To replace this misspelled variable with jcount, select icont
and the Replace Selection menu command.
524 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Re-search for Files
The Project > Re-search for Files command speeds up builds and other project operations, the IDE caches the location of project files after finding them in the access paths. Re-search for Files forces the IDE to forget the cached locations and re-search for them in the access paths. This command is useful if you moved several files and you want the IDE to find the files in their new locations.
If the Save project entries using relative paths option is enabled, the IDE does not reset the relative-path information stored with each project entry, so re-searching for files finds the source files in the same location (the exception is if the file no longer exists in the old location). In this case, the IDE only re-searches for header files. To force the IDE to also re-search for source files, choose the Project > Reset Project Entry Paths menu command.
If the Save project entries using relative paths option is disabled, the IDE re-searches for both header files and source files.
Reset
The Reset command resets the program and returns control to the IDE.
Reset Floating Toolbar
The Reset Floating Toolbar command restores the default state of the floating toolbar.
Use this command to return the floating toolbar to its original default settings.
Reset Main Toolbar
The Reset Main Toolbar command restores the default state of the main toolbar. Use this command to return the main toolbar to its original default settings.
Reset Project Entry Paths
The Reset Project Entry Paths command resets the location information stored with each project entry and forces the IDE to re-search for the project entries in the access paths.
This command does nothing if the Save project entries using relative paths option is disabled.
Reset Window Toolbar
The Reset Window Toolbar command restores the default state of the toolbar in the active window. Use this command to return the toolbar to its original default settings.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 525
Menu Commands
Resize
The Resize command reveals the Resize submenu.
See also:
•
•
•
•
Restart
The Restart command terminates the current debugging session, then starts a new debugging session.
Restore Window
The Restore Window command restores a minimized window (a window reduced to an item in the task bar).
Resume
The Resume command switches from the IDE to the running application. This menu command only appears after the IDE starts a debugging session and the application being debugged is currently running.
Revert
The Revert command restores the last saved version of the active Editor window.
Right Edges
The Right Edges command of the Align submenu aligns the right edges of the selected components.
Run
The Run command compiles, links, creates a standalone application, and then runs that application. This command is unavailable if the project creates libraries, shared libraries, code resources, and other non-application binaries.
526 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
Run to Cursor
The Run to Cursor command sets a temporary breakpoint at the line of source code that has the text-insertion point, then runs the program.
S
Save
The Save command saves the contents of the active window to disk.
Save A Copy As
The Save A Copy As command saves the active window to a separate file. This command operates in different ways, depending on the active window.
Save All
The Save All command saves all currently open editor files.
NOTE
Mac OS: Press the Option key to change the Save command to the Save All menu command.
Save As
The Save As command saves the contents of the active window to disk under a different name.
Save Default Window
This command saves the window settings, such as position and size, of the active Browser or Search Results window. The IDE applies the saved settings to subsequently opened windows.
Save Workspace
This command saves the current state of onscreen windows, recent items, and debugging.
Use the dialog box that appears to name the workspace and navigate to a location in which to store the workspace file.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 527
Menu Commands
Save Workspace As
This command saves a copy of an existing workspace. Use this command to save the workspace under a different name.
Select All
The Select All command selects all text in the active window or text box. This command is usually used in conjunction with other Edit menu commands such as Cut, Copy, and
Clear.
Send To Back
The Send To Back command moves the selected window behind all other windows.
Set Breakpoint
The Set Breakpoint command sets a breakpoint at the currently selected line. If the Show
Breakpoints option is active, the Breakpoints column in the editor windows will display a marker next to each line with a breakpoint.
Set/Clear Breakpoint
The Set/Clear Breakpoint command displays the Set/Clear Breakpoints dialog that lets you set or clear a breakpoint at a particular address or symbol.
Set Default Project
The Set Default Project command sets a particular project as the default project when more than one project is open. This is the project that all commands are directed.
Set Default Target
The Set Default Target command allows you to specify a different build target within the current project. Choose the build target to work with from the submenu. This menu command is useful for switching between multiple build targets in a project and performing a build for each target.
Set Eventpoint
This command opens a submenu that lets you set an eventpoint at the currently selected line. If the Show Breakpoints option is enabled, the Breakpoints column in the editor
528 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
windows shows a marker next to each line with an eventpoint. The marker represents the eventpoint type.
Set Watchpoint
The Set Watchpoint command sets a watchpoint for the selected variable or memory range. Watchpoint variables are identified using an underline.
Shift Left
The Shift Left command shifts the selected source code one tab to the left. The amount of shift is controlled by the Tab Size option.
Shift Right
The Shift Right command shifts the selected source code one tab to the right. The amount of shift is controlled by the Tab Size option.
Show Breakpoints
The Show Breakpoints command displays the Breakpoints column in editor windows.
When active, the Breakpoints column appears along the left edge of all editor windows.
Show Floating Toolbar
The Show Floating Toolbar command displays the IDE’s floating toolbar. After displaying the floating toolbar, the command changes to Hide Floating Toolbar.
Show Main Toolbar
The Show Main Toolbar command displays the IDE’s main toolbar. After displaying the main toolbar, the command changes to Hide Main Toolbar.
Show Types
The Show Types command displays the data types of all local and global variables that appear in the active variable pane or variable window.
Show Window Toolbar
The Show Window Toolbar command displays the toolbar in the active window. After displaying the window toolbar, the command changes to Hide Window Toolbar.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 529
Menu Commands
Stack Editor Windows
The Stack Editor Windows command arranges open editor windows one on top of another, with their window titles visible.
Step Into
The Step Into command executes a single statement, stepping into function calls.
Step Out
The Step Out command executes the remainder of the current function, then exits to that function’s caller.
Step Over
The Step Over command executes a single statement, stepping over function calls.
Stop
This command temporarily suspends execution of the target program and returns control to the debugger.
Stop Build
The Stop Build command halts the build currently in progress.
Switch to Monitor
This command transfers control from the CodeWarrior debugger to an external third-party debugger.
Symbolics or Symbolics Window
These commands open the Symbolics window. Use this window to examine the executable files in a project.
Synchronize Modification Dates
The Synchronize Modification Dates command updates the modification dates stored in the project file. The IDE checks the modification date of each file in the project and marks
(for recompiling) those files modified since the last successful compile process.
530 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
T-U
Target Settings
The Target Settings command displays the Target Settings window. This window contains settings panels used by the active build target. The name of the menu command changes, based on the name of the current build target. For example, if the name of the current build target is ReleaseTarget, the name of the menu command changes to
ReleaseTarget Settings.
Tile Editor Windows
The Tile Editor Windows command arranges and resizes all open editor windows so that none overlap on the monitor, as
Figure 32.1 Tile Editor Windows Example
Tile Editor Windows Vertically
The Tile Editor Windows Vertically command resizes all open editor windows to be vertically long, and arranged horizontally across the monitor so that all are viewable.
Tile Horizontally
This command arranges open editor windows horizontally so that none overlap, as
shows.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 531
Menu Commands
Figure 32.2 Tile Horizontally Example
Tile Vertically
This command resizes open editor windows vertically and arranges them so that none
shows.
Figure 32.3 Tile Vertically Example
532
To Grid
The To Grid command of the Align submenu aligns selected components to a grid in the layout. You can display or hide the on screen grid.
To Largest Height
The To Largest Height command of the Resize submenu resizes the selected components to match the height of the component with the largest height.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
To Largest Width
The To Largest Width command of the Resize submenu resizes the selected components to match the width of the component with the largest width.
Toolbars
The Toolbars command reveals the Toolbars submenu.
See also:
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
•
ToolServer Worksheet
The ToolServer Worksheet command opens the ToolServer Worksheet window for use with the Apple® ToolServer™ application program.
The IDE can disable this command for these reasons:
• You did not install ToolServer on your computer.
• You installed ToolServer on your computer, but you did not start it.
Top Edges
The Top Edges command of the Align submenu aligns the top edges of the selected components.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 533
Menu Commands
To Smallest Height
The To Smallest Height command of the Resize submenu resizes the selected components to match the height of the component with the smallest height.
To Smallest Width
The To Smallest Width command of the Resize submenu resizes selected components to match the width of the component with the smallest width.
Unanchor Floating Toolbar
The Unanchor Floating Toolbar command detaches the floating toolbar from beneath the menu bar.
Unapply Difference
The Unapply Difference command reverses the action of the Apply Difference command in a file-comparison window.
Uncaught Exceptions Only
The Uncaught Exceptions Only command of the Java submenu instructs the debugger to break only on unhandled exceptions.
Undo
The Undo command reverses the last action. The name of this menu command changes based upon the editor settings as well as the most recent action. For example, after typing text in an open Editor window, the Undo command changes its name to Undo Typing.
Choose the Undo Typing command to remove the typed text.
By default, only one undo or redo action is allowed. If the Use multiple undo option is enabled, undo and redo can act upon multiple actions.
Ungroup
The Ungroup command separates a selected group so that you can move each component independently.
534 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
V-Z
Version Control Settings
The Version Control Settings command opens the VCS Settings window.
Vertical Center
The Vertical Center command of the Align submenu aligns the vertical centers of the selected components.
View Array
The View Array command creates a separate window to display a selected array.
View As
The View As command displays a selected variable in a specified data type.
View As Binary
The View As Binary command displays the selected variable as a binary value.
View As Character
The View As Character command displays the selected variable as a character value.
View As C String
The View As C String command displays the selected variable as a C character string.
View As Default
The View As Default command displays the selected variable in its default format, based on the variable’s type.
View As Enumeration
The View As Enumeration command displays the selected variable as an enumeration.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 535
Menu Commands
View As Fixed
The View As Fixed command displays the selected variable as a fixed-type numerical value.
View As Floating Point
The View As Floating Point command displays the selected variable as a floating-point value.
View As Fract
This command displays the selected variable as a fractional data type.
NOTE
The fractional data type is specific to the Mac OS.
View As Hexadecimal
The View As Hexadecimal command displays the selected variable as a hexadecimal value.
View As Pascal String
The View As Pascal String command displays the selected variable as a Pascal character string.
View As Signed Decimal
This command displays the selected variable as a signed decimal value.
View As Unicode String
The View As Unicode String command displays the selected variable as a Unicode character string.
View As Unsigned Decimal
The View As Unsigned Decimal command displays the selected variable as an unsigned decimal value.
536 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Menu Commands
View Disassembly
This command changes the data view to show language disassembly.
View Memory
The View Memory command displays the contents of memory as a hexadecimal/ASCII character dump.
View Memory As
The View Memory As command displays the memory that a selected variable occupies or the memory to which a selected register points.
View Mixed
This command changes the data view to show source code intermixed with assembly code.
View Raw Data
This command changes the data view to show raw data (instead of formatting that data as source code, disassembly, or another format).
View Source
This command changes the data view to show source code.
View Variable
The View Variable command creates a separate window to display a selected variable.
Zoom Window
The Zoom Window command expands the active window to its previously set size.
Choose Zoom Window a second time to return the window to its original size.
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 537
Menu Commands
538 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Index
Symbols
#include
#pragma directives, profiler 316
%file
%line
(Scripts)
.*[_]Data
.mcp
\(.*\)
^var
__throw()
A
about
Files page in Project window 43
special breakpoints 203 watchpoints 203
About Metrowerks CodeWarrior menu
Absolute Path option
in Source Trees preference panel 447 in Type list box 447
access breakpoint - refer to watchpoints 224
Access Paths settings panel 362
columns
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
options
Interpret DOS and Unix Paths 395
Require Framework Style Includes 395
Activate Browser Coloring option 415
Activate Browser option
and relation to Symbolics window 253
Activate Syntax Coloring option 415
activating automatic code completion 96
adding
gray background behind IDE. See Use
Multiple Document Interface, turning on.
advanced topics
,
539
All Info option, in Plugin Diagnostics 433
alphabetical sorting of Functions list pop-up 106
Always Search User Paths option 415
Analyzer Can Cause Target Breakpoint
Analyzer Configuration File text box 287
Analyzer Connections target settings panel 285
Anchor Floating Toolbar command 504
applications
for the console, about 77 for the console, creating 77
Apply Address Offset checkbox 269
arrays, setting default viewing size for
arrows
assigning
Attempt To Use Dynamic Type of C++, Object
Pascal And SOM Objects option 416
Auto Target Libraries option 416
Auto, of Text View list box 251
auto-complete code. See code completion.
Automatic Invocation option 416
Automatically Launch Applications When SYM
Auto-target Libraries option 416
B
background, desktop
removing from behind IDE. See Use
Multiple Document Interface, turning on.
seeing behind IDE. See Use Multiple
Document Interface, turning off.
Balance Flash Delay option 417
Balance While Typing option 417
BFVALUE
Bit Value Modifier list box 249
BITFIELD
Bitfield Description option
boxes
Break On C++ Exception menu command 505
Break on Java Exceptions command 505
540 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Breakpoint Properties button 206
breakpoint template, defined 204
breakpoint templates
breakpoints
setting conditional 211 setting temporary 211
Breakpoints column, in editor window 88
Breakpoint Properties button 206
Create Breakpoint Template button 205
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Set Default Breakpoint Template button 206
Breakpoints Window menu command 505
breakpoints, clearing 210 breakpoints, disabling 210 breakpoints, enabling 210
breakpoints, viewing properties for 208
Bring To Front menu command 505
Bring Up To Date
Bring Up To Date menu command 427
Browse In Processes Window option 386
Classes pane 159 collapsing panes 159
,
creating new member functions 180
,
printing class hierarchies 167
purpose of 147 setting options 147
Source pane 163 status area 163
viewing data by inheritance 166
541
browser database
Build Before Running option 418
Build Extras panel options
Use modification date caching 449
Build Extras settings panel 253
options
Dump internal browse information after
Generate Browser Data From 398
Use modification date caching 397
Build Extras target settings panel 514
Build Progress menu command 505
Build Progress Window menu command 505
Build Settings panel options
Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ &
Save open files before build 438
Show message after building up-to-date
Use Local Project Data Storage 448
Build Settings preference panel 355
options
Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ &
Save open files before build 356
Show message after building up-to-date
Use Local Project Data Storage 357
build system
Bus Noise test subtests
Maximum Invert Convergence 284
Sequential 284 bus noise, defined 284
Button
buttons
542 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
,
Create Breakpoint Template 205
Set Default Breakpoint Template 206
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
C
cache
Cache Edited Files Between Debug Sessions
Cache Symbolics Between Runs option 419
caching
#include
files 430 precompiled headers 430
,
Cancel button, in Remove Markers window 109
Change Program Counter menu command 506
changing
line views in a hierarchical window 168
register data views 246 register values 246
Checkbox
543
checkboxes
Analyzer Can Cause Target Breakpoint 288
Compare text file contents 137
Erase Sectors Individually 271
,
,
Target Breakpoint Can Cause Analyzer
Checkout Status column
in Files view of Project window 44
choosing
one character from many in regular
class browser
purpose of windows 153 working with windows 153
Class Browser menu command 506
class data
viewing from hierarchy windows 158
Class Hierarchy menu command 507
Class Hierarchy Window menu command 507
class hierarchy windows
purpose of 165 working with 165
classes
hiding pane for 160 showing pane for 160
classes.zip
Clear All Breakpoints menu command 507
Clear All Watchpoints menu command 507
Clear Breakpoint menu command 507
Clear Eventpoint menu command 507
Clear Floating Toolbar command in Toolbar
Clear Main Toolbar menu command 507
Clear Watchpoint menu command 508
Clear Window Toolbar command in Toolbar
clearing
544 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Clone Existing Target option 53
Close All Editor Documents menu command 508
Close Catalog menu command 508
Close Non-debugging Windows option 420
Close Workspace menu command 508
closing
code
disabling special breakpoints 228
enabling special breakpoints 228
viewing breakpoint properties 208
viewing eventpoint properties 222
viewing watchpoint properties 226
Code column
in Files view of Project window 44
code completion
activating automatic behavior 96 configuration 96
deactivating automatic behavior 97
triggering by keyboard 97 triggering from IDE menu bar 97
Code Completion Delay option 420
Code Completion preference panel 367
options
Window follows insertion point 368
code completion, triggering from IDE menu
Code Formatting preference panel 369
options
Close Braces, Brackets, And
Indent Case Within Switch
Place Else On Same Line As Closing
Place Opening Brace On Separate
Use Automatic Code Formatting 369
CodeWarrior
CodeWarrior Glossary command 509
CodeWarrior Help menu command 509
CodeWarrior IDE
,
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 545
Collapse Non-debugging Windows option 420
Collapse Window menu command 509
collapsing
Command Actions
Command Group
opening 292 command-line window 292
Commands
About Metrowerks CodeWarrior 503
546
Close All Editor Documents 508
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Errors And Warnings Window 513
Export Project as GNU Makefile 513
Find Definition & Reference 111
,
,
,
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
,
Remove Object Code & Compact 523
547
548
Single Class Hierarchy Window 154
Synchronize Modification Dates 530
Commands & Key Bindings menu command 508
Commands&KeyBindings.mkb file 349
Comments Only option button 115
Common Subexpression Elimination 404
Compare Files menu command 509
Compare Files Setup window 136
Compare Text File Contents checkbox 137
Ignore Extra Space checkbox 137
Only Show Different Files checkbox 137
Compare Text File Contents checkbox 137
comparing files
differences, applying 141 differences, unapplying 141
comparing files, explained 139
comparing folders
comparing folders, explained 142
comparison
destination item 136 source item 136
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
compiler
Compiler option, in Generate Browser Data From
compiler thread stack
and avoiding compiler crashes 421
Compiler Thread Stack field 420
Complete Code menu command 509
Component Object Model. See COM.
Concurrent Compiles panel options
Concurrent Compiles preference panel 357
options
condition, breakpoint property 209
conditional access breakpoint 227
conditional breakpoint, defined 211
conditional eventpoint, defined 223
conditional eventpoints
conditional watchpoint, defined 227
conditional watchpoints
configuring
projects for a logic analyzer 285
Confirm “Kill Process” When Closing Or
Confirm Invalid File Modification Dates When
Connection pop-up menu, in Remote Debugging
console applications
applications
creating console applications
console applications, about 77
constant
contents
Context Popup Delay option 421
Open In Windows Explorer command 45
controlling program execution 187
conventions
Copy And Expression Propagation 404
Copy To Expression command 510
Create Breakpoint Template button 205
Create Design menu command 510
Create Target menu command 510
creating
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 549
new data member 183 new data members 183
projects from makefiles 33 projects using stationery 33
cross-platform migration, and opening
Customize IDE Commands window 131
Numeric Keypad Bindings checkbox 351
CVS
D
data
Data column
in Files view of Project window 44
data columns
550
data members
,
data, for debugger, working with 253
database
deactivating automatic code completion 97
Debug column
in Files view of Project window 44
Clear All Breakpoints command 483
Disable Watchpoint command 483
choosing for an opened symbolics file 386
Debugger section, of IDE preference panels 379
options
Cache symbolics between runs 411
Default language entry point 411
Location of Relocated Libraries and
,
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Stop on application launch 410
Update data every n seconds 447
Update data every n seconds 411
debugging
default breakpoint template 212
Default File Format option 421
default filename extensions 425
Default Language Entry Point option
default size and position of windows, setting 527
Default Size For Unbounded Arrays option 422
default workspace
definition
of child windows 63 of client area 63
desktop background
removing from behind IDE. See Use
Multiple Document Interface, turning on.
seeing behind IDE. See Use Multiple
Document Interface, turning off.
Destination box 136 destination item, for comparison 136
details
,
development-process cycle for software 21
diagnostics
disabling for plug-ins 503 enabling for plug-ins 503
dialog boxes
difference from Single-Class Hierarchy
directives
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 551
Disable Breakpoint menu command 511
Disable Third Party COM Plugins option 422
Disable Watchpoint menu command 511
disabling
disclosure triangles
Display Deprecated Items option 422
options
Show tasks in separate windows 442
Show values as decimal instead of
Show variable values in source
Sort functions by method name in
Display Settings preference panel 379
options
Attempt to use dynamic type of C++,
Object Pascal and SOM objects 381
Default size for unbounded arrays 381
Show tasks in separate windows 383
Show values as decimal instead of
Show variable values in source
Sort functions by method name in
552
Do Nothing To Project Windows option 422
dock, defined 63 dockable windows 63
docking windows of the same kind 67
Document Settings list pop-up 87
document settings pop-up
documentation
Documents option
Don’t Step Into Runtime Support Code 423
Don’t Step Into Runtime Support Code
Done button, in Remove Markers window 109
drag and drop
Drag And Drop Editing option 423
Dump Internal Browse Information After
E
editing
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Editor section, of IDE preference panels 367
Editor Settings panel options
Left margin click selects line 432
Editor Settings preference panel 371
options
Left margin click selects line 373
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
collapsing toolbar in 86 expanding toolbar in 86
line and column indicator 89 pane splitter controls 89 removing panes from 89 resizing panes 89
editor windows
empty projects
Enable Automatic Toolbar Help option 423
Enable Breakpoint menu command 512
Enable Remote Debugging option 424
Enable Virtual Space option 424
Enable Watchpoint menu command 512
enabling
enlarging panes, in browser 158
Enter Find String menu command 512
Enter Replace String menu command 512
Entire Flash option button 273
Environment Settings option 424
Environment Variable option
of Source Trees preference panel 447
Environment Variable option, in Type pop-up
environment variables
553
Erase Sectors Individually checkbox 271
Errors And Warnings menu command 513
Errors And Warnings Window menu
Errors Only option
eventpoints
,
Sound Point, Speak Message 220
Trace Collection Off, clearing 221
Trace Collection Off, setting 221
Trace Collection On, clearing 222
Exceptions In Targeted Classes command in Java
executable files
adding to the Other Executables list 408
changing in the Other Executables list 409
removing from the Other Executables
execution
execution, killing 194 execution, resuming 194 execution, stopping 194
exit()
Expand Window menu command 513
expanding
Export Project as GNU Makefile menu
Export Project menu command 513
exporting
adding expressions 234 opening 234
Expressions Window menu command 513
external editor
F
fields
554 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
File
File column
in Files view of Project window 44
%file
File Compare Results window 139
File Mappings settings panel 400
options
File On Host option button 273
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
File On Target option button 273
file paths
file-info, breakpoint property 209
filename extensions
files
destination (for a comparison) 136
print selections 61 printing 61
untouching 52 untouching all 52
Files In Both Folders pane 143
Files Only In Destination pane 144
555
Find
Find and compare operations option
Find And Open ‘Filename’ menu command 515
Find and Open File command 515
Find and Replace
Find And Replace menu command 516
Find and Replace window
Comments Only option button 117
Regular Expression checkbox 117
Replace With text/list box 116
Search Selection Only checkbox 117
Stop At End Of File checkbox 117
Find Definition & Reference command 111
Find Definition & Reference menu command 514
Find Definition menu command 514
Find In Files menu command 514
Find in Files window
Comments Only option button 120
Search Sub-Folders checkbox 121
Search Cached Sub-Targets
Regular Expression checkbox 120
Replace With text/list box 119
Find In Next File menu command 515
Find In Previous File menu command 515
Find Next
556 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Find Previous
enabling in the Customize IDE Commands
Find Previous menu command 515
Find Previous Selection menu command 515
Find Reference menu command 516
Find Reference using option
Find Selection menu command 516
Find symbols with substring 94
Find window
Comments Only option button 115
Regular Expression checkbox 114
Search Selection Only checkbox 114
Stop At End Of File checkbox 114
finding text
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Flash Memory Base Address text box 266
flash programmer panels
Checksum panel
Entire Flash option button 273
File On Host option button 273
File On Target option button 273
Memory Range On Target option
Erase / Blank Check panel
Erase Sectors individually
Flash Configuration panel
Flash Memory Base Address text
Program / Verify panel
Apply Address Offset checkbox 269
557
Restrict Address Range checkbox 269
Use Selected File checkbox 268
Use Selected File text box 268
Target Configuration panel
Target Memory Buffer Address text
Target Memory Buffer Size text
Target Processor text/list box 264
Use Custom Settings checkbox 264
Use Target Initialization checkbox 264
Use Target Initialization text box 264
View Target Memory Writes
Floating Document Interface. See FDI.
Folder Compare Results window 142
Files In Both Folders pane 143
Files Only In Destination pane 144
Pane Expand box 143 pane resize bar 143
folders
options
Font & Tabs preference panel 373
options
Font option
Font Preferences option
Foreground option
format, for end of line (EOL) 421
formats
Framework column, in Access Paths panel 396
Full Range Converging subtest 284
function
functions
558 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
G
General section, of IDE preference panels 355
Generate Browser Data From option 429
Language Parser, Macro file 429
Language Parser, Prefix file 429
Generate Constructor and Destructor 178
Get Next Completion menu command 516
Get Previous Completion menu command 516
Global Optimizations settings panel 402
options
Global Register Allocation 404
Global Register Allocation Only For Temporary
Global Settings panel options
Select stack crawl window when task is
Global Settings preference panel options
Automatically launch applications
Cache Edited Files Between Debug
Confirm "Kill Process" when closing or
Confirm invalid file modification dates
Don’t step into runtime support
Select stack crawl window when task is
Global Variables menu command 517
opening 230 viewing for different processes 230
Global Variables Window menu command 517
going back 107 going forward 107 going to a particular line 107
gray background, adding behind IDE. See Use
Multiple Document Interface, turning on.
gray background, removing from behind IDE. See
Use Multiple Document Interface, turning off.
Grid Size X option
Grid Size Y option
grouping
groups
untouching 52 untouching all 52
H
hardware diagnostic panels
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 559
Bus Noise in address lines 284
Hardware Diagnostics window 274
Configuration panel
Target Processor text/list box 276
Use Custom Settings checkbox 276
Use Target Initialization checkbox 276
Use Target Initialization text box 276
Memory Read / Write panel
Memory Tests panel
Target Scratch Memory End text
Target Scratch Memory Start text
Scope Loop panel
hardware tools, working with 261
hardware, breakpoint property 209
headers
caching precompiled headers 430
options
Hide Breakpoints menu command 517
Hide Floating Toolbar command 517
Hide Main Toolbar command in Toolbar
Hide non-debugging windows option
Hide Window Toolbar command 518
hiding
Hierarchy Control 166 hierarchy window 166
hierarchy windows
560 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
hit count, breakpoint property 209
Host Application for Libraries & Code Resources option
Host Application For Libraries And Code
Resources field
how to
activate automatic code completion 96
add a constant to a variable 235
add a keyword to a keyword set 406
add expressions (Expressions window) 234
add markers to a source file 109
add panes to an editor window 89
adding subprojects to a project 39
alphabetize Functions list pop-up order 106
attach the debugger to a process 258
change line views in a hierarchical
change register data views 246 change register values 246
clear a Script Point 219 clear a Skip Point 219
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
clear a Sound Point 221 clear a Trace Collection Off eventpoint 221
clear a Trace Collection On eventpoint 222
collapse the editor window toolbar 86
complete code for data members 101
complete code for parameter lists 102
connect to a logic analyzer 289
create a breakpoint template 212
create a console application 78
create a new data members 162 create a new member function 162
create custom project stationery 38
create new projects from makefiles 33
create new projects using project
deactivate automatic code completion 97
delete a breakpoint template 213
disarm a logic analyzer 289 disconnect from a logic analyzer 289
dock a window by using a contextual
dock a window by using drag and drop 67 dock windows of the same kind 67
examine items in the Folder Compare
expand the editor window toolbar 86
561
562
export projects to XML files 37
generate project link maps 330
import projects saved as XML files 37
insert a reference template 111
look up symbol definitions 111
make a summation of two variables 235
manipulate variable formats 232
navigate Code Completion window 100
open a single-class hierarchical window 169
open projects 35 open projects created on other hosts 35
open registers in a separate Registers
open the Breakpoints window 207
open the Expressions window 234
open the Flash Programmer window 261
open the Global Variables window 230
open the Hardware Diagnostics window 274
open the Target Settings window 391
remove a keyword from a keyword set 407
remove a marker from a source file 109
remove all markers from a source file 110
remove panes from an editor window 89
replace text in a single file 117
resize panes in an editor window 89
save the contents of the Breakpoints
search for text across multiple files 127
search for text across multiple folders 121
search for text across multiple projects 123
search for text across multiple symbolics
search with a text selection 132
select item in Code Completion window 101
select lines 92 select multiple lines 92 select rectangular portions of lines 92
select text in editor windows 91
set a conditional breakpoint 211
set a conditional eventpoint 223
set a conditional watchpoint 227
set a temporary breakpoint 211
set a Trace Collection Off eventpoint 221
set a Trace Collection On eventpoint 222
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
specify the default breakpoint template 214
step into a routine 193 step out of a routine 193 step over a routine 193
toggle automatic punctuation balancing 95
trigger code completion by keyboard 97
trigger code completion from IDE menu
update data from a logic analyzer 289
use an external editor on the Macintosh 360
use the document settings pop-up 87
use the Executables pane in the Symbolics
use the Files pane in the Symbolics
use the Find Previous command 131
use the Functions list pop-up 106
use the Functions pane in the Symbolics
use the Interfaces list pop-up 106
view breakpoint properties 208
view browser data by contents 170
view browser data by inheritance 166
view class data from hierarchy window 158
view eventpoint properties 222
view global variables for different
view watchpoint properties 226
I
icon
icons
for data members 161 for member functions 161
IDE
,
Hardware Diagnostics window 274
project manager and build targets 29
target settings, working with 389
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 563
IDE Extras panel options
Use Multiple Document Interface 449
Zoom windows to full screen 452
IDE Extras preference panel 358
options
Enable automatic Toolbar help 360
Use Multiple Document Interface 359
Zoom windows to full screen 359
Use Third Party Editor option 450
IDE Preference Panels list 354
IDE Preference Panels, Font & Tabs 375
IDE Preference Panels, Font Settings 375
IDE preferences
564
Attempt to use dynamic type of C++, Object
Automatically launch applications when
Cache Edited Files Between Debug
Close Braces, Brackets, And
Close non-debugging windows 382
Collapse non-debugging windows 382
Confirm "Kill Process" when closing or
Confirm invalid file modification dates when
Default size for unbounded arrays 381
Disable third party COM plugins 362
Do nothing to project windows 382
Don’t step into runtime support code 385
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Enable automatic Toolbar help 360
Find and compare operations 363
Hide non-debugging windows 382
Indent Case Within Switch Statement 371
Left margin click selects line 373
Minimize non-debugging windows 382
Move open windows to debugging monitor
Open windows on debugging monitor during
Place Else On Same Line As Closing
Place Opening Brace On Separate Line 370
Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ &
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Save open files before build 356
Select stack crawl window when task is
Set 1, Set 2, Set 3, Set 4 377
Show message after building up-to-date
Show tasks in separate windows 383
Show values as decimal instead of hex 381
Show variable values in source code 381
Sort functions by method name in symbolics
Use Automatic Code Formatting 369
Use Local Project Data Storage 357
Use Multiple Document Interface 359
565
Window follows insertion point 368
Zoom windows to full screen 359
IDE Preference Panels list 354
Ignore Extra Space checkbox 137
Import Components menu command 518
Import Project menu command 518
importing
projects saved as XML files 37
Include file cache option
#include
indenting
566
Initial Directory field
Insert Reference Template menu command 518
Insert Template Commands option
inserting a reference template 111
inspecting
interface files
Interfaces list pop-up
in Files view of Project window 45
interrupt time
and profiler 320 interrupt time, and profiler 320
J
Java Exceptions Submenu
Java Exceptions submenu
Exceptions In Targeted Classes
Uncaught Exceptions Only command 534
K
keyboard shortcuts
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Find symbols with substring 94
keys
keywords
removing from a keyword set 407
Keywords option
L
Language Parser option, in Generate Browser
Launch Editor option
Launch Editor w/ Line # option
Launch Remote Host Application option
Remote Debugging settings panel 432
Layout Editor panel options
Show the component palette when
Show the object inspector when
layouts
Left margin click selects line option
Level option
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide libraries
Lifetime Based Register Allocation 405
line
line and column indicator, in editor window 89
%line
lines, selecting 92 lines, selecting multiple 92 lines, selecting rectangular portions of 92
link maps
Linker option
Linux
list of symbols in Browser Contents
list boxes
,
list menus
567
functions 86 interfaces 86 markers 86
list pop-up menus
list pop-ups
functions 86 interfaces 86 markers 86
lists
,
locating interface files 105 locating source code 105
Location of Relocated Libraries and Code
Resources option
Treat as Expression checkbox 217
Log System Messages option
Log Window
Log System Messages option 258
568
Disarm command 289 disarming 289
Disconnect command 289 disconnect from 289
Update Data command 289 updating data from 289
Logic Analyzer connection options
Analyzer Can Cause Target Breakpoint
Analyzer Configuration File text box 287
Target Breakpoint Can Cause Analyzer
Trace Support File text box 288
longjmp()
looking up symbol definitions 111
Loop Unrolling (Opt For Speed Only) 405
Loop-Invariant Code Motion 405
M
Mac OS
Macintosh
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Macro file option, in Generate Browser Data
Maintain Files In Cache option 419
Maintain Files in Cache option
makefiles
managing
manipulating program execution 203
adding to a source file 109 navigating to 109
removing all from source files 110
removing from source files 109
Markers list, in Remove Markers window 109
,
matching
any character with regular expressions 134
replace strings to find strings with regular
with simple regular expressions 133
Maximize Window menu command 519
Maximum Invert Convergence subtest 284
.mcp
making a window an MDI child 70
Member Function Declaration 182
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide member functions
Memory Range On Target option button 273
memory tests
Bus Noise 284 address lines 284
Bus Noise test
Full Range Converging subtest 284
Maximum Invert Convergence
Walking Ones test
Bus Noise test 284 address lines 284
Memory window 237 memory, working with 237
Menu menu
Menu bar layout option
menu commands
569
570
About Metrowerks CodeWarrior 503
Close All Editor Documents 508
Errors And Warnings Window 513
Export Project as GNU Makefile 513
Find Definition & Reference 514
,
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
,
Remove Object Code & Compact 523
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Synchronize Modification Dates 530
menu layouts
menu reference
Metrowerks Website command 516
571
Minimize non-debugging windows option
Minimize Window menu command 519
Monitor for debugging option
Move open windows to debugging monitor when debugging starts option
moving
files 50 groups 50 layouts 50 targets 50
Multi-Class Hierarchy window 165
Multiple Document Interface. See MDI.
multiple folders, searching 121
multiple projects, searching 123
multiple symbolics files, searching 125
multiple-file Find and Replace window 118
N
navigating
New C++ Data Member window 184
New C++ Member Function window 182
New Class Browser menu command 519
,
New Command Group
,
new data member functions
New Event Set menu command 520
New Expression menu command 520
New Member Function menu command 520
New Member Function wizard 162
new member functions
New Menu Command
New Text File menu command 520
None option
None option, in Generate Browser Data From
notes
Numeric Keypad Bindings checkbox
of Customize IDE Commands window 351
O
572 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
,
Only Show Different Files checkbox 137
Open In Windows Explorer command 45
Open Scripts Folder menu command 521
Open windows on debugging monitor during debugging option
Open Workspace menu command 521
a single-class hierarchical window 169
Hardware Diagnostics window 274
projects 35 projects from other hosts 35
opening last project (default workspace) 448
opening last project, preventing (default
openings
registers in a separate Registers window 247
optimizations
Common Subexpression Elimination 404
Copy And Expression Propagation 404
Global Register Allocation 404
Global Register Allocation Only For
Lifetime Based Register Allocation 405
Loop Unrolling (Opt For Speed Only) 405
Loop-Invariant Code Motion 405
option buttons
,
,
Access Paths settings panel 362
,
Attempt to use dynamic type of C++, Object
Automatically Launch Applications When
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 573
574
Browse in processes window 386
Build Extras settings panel 396
Build Settings preference panel 355
Cache Edited Files Between Debug
Cache symbolics between runs 419
choosing host application for non-executable
Close non-debugging windows 420
Code Completion preference panel 367
Code Formatting preference panel 369
Collapse non-debugging windows 420
Concurrent Compiles preference panel 357
Confirm “Kill Process” when closing or
Confirm invalid file modification dates when
Debugger preference panels 379
Default size for unbounded arrays 422
Disable third party COM plugins 422
Display Settings preference panel 379
Do nothing to project windows 422
Dump internal browse information after
Editor Settings preference panel 371
Enable automatic Toolbar help 423
File Mappings settings panel 400
Font & Tabs preference panel 373
Generate Browser Data From 429
Global Optimizations settings panel 402
IDE Extras preference panel 358
Other Executables settings panel 407
Plugin Settings preference panel 361
Remote Connections preference panel 385
Remote Debugging settings panel 411
Require Framework Style Includes 437
Set 1, Set 2, Set 3, Set 4 377
Shielded Folders preference panel 362
Source Trees preference panel 364
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Target Configuration panel 263
Use Multiple Document Interface 63
Window Follows Insertion Point 451
Window Settings preference panel 381
original process, breakpoint property 209 original-target, breakpoint property 209
Other Executables settings panel 407
Output Directory option
overstrike 92 overstriking text (Windows) 92 overtype. See overstrike.
overview
of IDE project manager and build targets 29
of project manager 25 of search engine 25
P
pages
,
pane resize bar
in File Compare Results window 140
in Folder Compare Results window 143
pane splitter controls, in editor window 89
panel
panels
panes
removing from editor window 89 resizing in an editor window 89
parameter lists
Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ & ‘Make’ option
Plugin Diagnostics
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 575
plug-in diagnostics
Plugin Settings panel options
Plugin Settings preference panel 361
options
Disable third party COM plugins 362
plug-ins saving information about those installed in
IDE 503 viewing those installed in IDE 503
pop-up menus
functions 86 interfaces 86 markers 86
pop-ups
Post-linker option
precompiled headers
preference panels
576
preferences
Attempt to use dynamic type of C++, Object
Automatically launch applications when
Cache Edited Files Between Debug
Close Braces, Brackets, And
Close non-debugging windows 382
Collapse non-debugging windows 382
Confirm "Kill Process" when closing or
Confirm invalid file modification dates when
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Default size for unbounded arrays 381
Disable third party COM plugins 362
Do nothing to project windows 382
Don’t step into runtime support code 385
Enable automatic Toolbar help 360
Find and compare operations 363
Hide non-debugging windows 382
IDE Preference Panels list 354
Indent Case Within Switch Statement 371
Left margin click selects line 373
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Minimize non-debugging windows 382
Move open windows to debugging monitor
Open windows on debugging monitor during
Place Else On Same Line As Closing
Place Opening Brace On Separate Line 370
Play sound after ‘Bring Up To Date’ &
Save open files before build 356
Select stack crawl window when task is
Set 1, Set 2, Set 3, Set 4 377
Show message after building up-to-date
Show tasks in separate window 383
Show values as decimal instead of hex 381
577
Show variable values in source code 381
Sort functions by method name in symbolics
Use Automatic Code Formatting 369
Use Local Project Data Storage 357
Use Multiple Document Interface 359
Window follows insertion point 368
Zoom windows to full screen 359
Prefix file option, in Generate Browser Data From
prefix keys
Pre-linker option
printing
process
process cycle
processes
viewing global variables for 230
Processes Window menu command 522
products saving information about those installed in
IDE 503 viewing those installed in IDE 503
Profile window
profiler
Profiler Function Reference 318
ProfilerClear()
ProfilerDump()
ProfilerGetDataSizes()
ProfilerGetStatus()
ProfilerInit()
ProfilerSetStatus()
ProfilerTerm()
ProfilerClear()
ProfilerDump()
ProfilerGetDataSizes()
ProfilerGetStatus()
ProfilerInit()
ProfilerSetStatus()
ProfilerTerm()
profiling
578 IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
setjmp()
program
killing execution 194 resuming execution 194
Program Arguments field
of Runtime Settings panel (Windows) 436
Program Arguments option
Program Entry Point option
program execution, manipulating 203
project
configuring for a logic analyzer 285
Project Commands option
Remove Object Code command 481
Project operations option
project stationery
Project window
Files view
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Synchronize Modification Dates toolbar
Target Settings toolbar button 42
projects
closing 38 creating custom stationery 38
creating using makefiles 33 creating using stationery 33
opening 35 opening from other hosts 35
reopening last one used (default
reopening last one used, preventing (default
579
strategies for 40 subprojects, strategies for 40
Projects option
properties
punctuation balancing, toggling 95
pure virtual
purpose
of Browser Contents window 169
of Classes pane in browser 159
of Multi-Class Hierarchy window 165
of Single-Class Hierarchy window 168
Q
580
QuickView, THINK Reference 111
R
,
Recursive Search column, in Access Paths
reference information
reference template 111 reference template, inserting 111 reference templates (Macintosh) 111
Refresh All Data menu command 523
REGISTER
Register Description option
Register Details option
Bit Value Modifier list box 249
Bitfield Description text view option 251
Register Description text view option 251
Register Details text view option 251
,
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
XML
Register Details Window command 247
Register Details Window menu command 523
Register Windows menu command 523
registers
changing data views of 246 changing values of 246
General Registers 245 host-specific 245
Registry Key option
of Source Trees preference panel 447
Registry Key option, in Type pop-up menu 447
Regular Expression checkbox 114
Regular Expression option
.*[_]Data
\(.*\)
choosing one character from many 134
CVS
grouping 134 matching any character 134
matching simple expressions 133
using the find string in the replace
Relaxed C popup parsing option
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
remembering last project (default
remembering last project, turning off (default
remote connections
Remote Connections preference panel 385
options
Remote Debugging settings panel 411
options
Launch remote host application 432
Remove button, in Remove Markers window 109
Remove Object Code & Compact menu
Remove Object Code menu command 523
removing
desktop background from behind IDE. See
Use Multiple Document Interface, turning on.
gray background from behind IDE. See Use
Multiple Document Interface, turning off.
581
renaming
files 50 groups 50 layouts 50 targets 50
reopening last project used
in default workspace 448 suppressing in the default workspace 448
,
Replace and Find Next menu command 524
Replace and Find Previous command 524
Replace With text/list box 116
replacing
Require Framework Style Includes 437
Reset Window Toolbar command in Toolbar
resetting
resize bars
Resize submenu
To Smallest Height command 534
resizing
restarting
Restore Window command (Windows) 526
Restrict Address Range checkbox 269
582
results
resuming program execution 194
reverting
preference panels 438 settings panels 438
routine
stepping into 193 stepping out of 193 stepping over 193
routine, selecting entirely 92
,
,
Run To Cursor menu command 527
running
Host Application For Libraries And Code
options
Host Application for Libraries & Code
,
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Program Arguments field (Windows) 436
S
Save Default Window menu command 527
Save open files before build option
Save project entries using relative paths option
,
Save Workspace As menu command 528
Save Workspace menu command 527
saving
information about installed plug-ins 503 information about installed products 503
Script Point Settings window
(Scripts)
Scripts option
search single characters with regular
using finds strings in replace strings with
Search Cached Sub-Targets checkbox 123
search engine
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
setting default size and position of 527
Source Code Pane disclosure triangle 130
Search Selection Only checkbox 114
Search Status column, in Access Paths panel 395
Search Sub-Folders checkbox 121
searching choosing one character from many in regular
expressions 134 grouping regular expressions 134
single characters with regular
using finds strings in replace strings with
with simple regular expressions 133
seeing desktop background behind IDE. See Use
Multiple Document Interface, turning off.
Select stack crawl window when task is stopped option
selecting
583
Code Completion window items 101
Selection position option
selections
serial number, breakpoint property 209
Set 1, Set 2, Set 3, Set 4 377
Set Breakpoint menu command 528
Set Default Breakpoint Template button 206
Set Default Project command 37
Set Default Project menu command 528
Set Default Target menu command 528
Set Eventpoint menu command 528
Set Watchpoint menu command 529
setjmp()
setting
setting default size and position of windows 527
settings
Cache symbolics between runs 411
Default language entry point 411
584
Dump internal browse information after
Generate Browser Data From 398
Host Application for Libraries & Code
Interpret DOS and Unix Paths 395
Require Framework Style Includes 395
Save project entries using relative paths 393
Stop on application launch 410
Target Settings Panels list 390
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Update data every n seconds 411
Use modification date caching 397
settings panels
,
setup
Shielded Folders panel options
Find and compare operations 427
Shielded Folders preference panel 362
options
Find and compare operations 363
Show all locals option
Show Breakpoints menu command 507
Show Floating Toolbar command 517
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Show Floating Toolbar command in Toolbar
Show message after building up-to-date project option
Show tasks in separate windows option
Show the component palette when opening a form option
Show the object inspector when opening a form option
Show values as decimal instead of hex option
Show variable location option
Show variable types option
Show variable values in source code option
Show Window Toolbar command 518
Show Window Toolbar command in Toolbar
showing
,
shrinking panes, in browser 159
Single Class Hierarchy Window 154
single-class hierarchical window
Single-Class Hierarchy window 168
difference from Multi-Class Hierarchy
single-file Find and Replace window 115
size
585
setting default for unbounded arrays 422
Size option
software
Solaris
Sort function popup option
Sort functions by method name in symbolics window option
Sort Order button
in Files view of Project window 45
sorting
Functions list pop-up (alphabetically) 106
,
,
Sound Point Settings window
Sound Point, Speak Message 220
source code
disabling special breakpoints 228
enabling special breakpoints 228
going to a particular line 107
586
viewing breakpoint properties 208
viewing eventpoint properties 222
viewing watchpoint properties 226
Source Code Pane disclosure triangle 130
source file
source files
source item, for comparison 136
,
Source Pane disclosure triangle 191
source trees
Source Trees panel options
Source Trees preference panel 364
Environment Variable option 447
Source Trees settings panel 364
special breakpoints
special breakpoints, disabling 228 special breakpoints, enabling 228
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Stack Editor Windows menu command 530
stack space, finding problems 313
starting
state
static
stationery
,
Status area
stepping into a routine 193 stepping out of a routine 193 stepping over a routine 193
Stop At End Of File checkbox 114
Stop at Watchpoints option
Stop On Application Launch option
stopping program execution 194
strategies
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
for build targets 40 for projects 40 for subprojects 40
Strings option
structure
submenus
subprojects
Success option
summation, of two variables 235
Switch To Monitor menu command 530
,
111 symbol definitions, looking up 111
symbol hint
toggling 195 turning off 195 turning on 195
symbol implementations
symbolics files
Symbolics option
opening 255 using the Executables pane 255
,
587
using the Files pane 255 using the Functions pane 255
Symbolics Window menu command 530
symbols
viewing all implementations 172
Symbols list
in Browser Contents window 170
Synchronize Modification Dates command 47
Synchronize Modification Dates menu
Synchronize Modification Dates toolbar
System Paths list
System Paths option
T
Tab indents selection option
Tab Inserts Spaces option
Tab Size option
tabs
588
Target Breakpoint Can Cause Analyzer Trigger
Target column
in Files view of Project window 44
Target Configuration panel 263
Target Memory Buffer Address text box 264
Target Memory Buffer Size text box 265
Target Name option
Target Processor text/list box 264
Target Scratch Memory End text box 282
Target Scratch Memory Start text box 282
target settings
Cache symbolics between runs 411
Default language entry point 411
Dump internal browse information after
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Generate Browser Data From 398
Host Application for Libraries & Code
Interpret DOS and Unix Paths 395
Require Framework Style Includes 395
Save project entries using relative paths 393
Stop on application launch 410
Target Settings Panels list 390
Update data every n seconds 411
Use modification date caching 397
options
Save project entries using relative
target settings panels
,
Target Settings Panels list 390
Target Settings toolbar button 42
Target Settings Panels list 390
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 589
,
tasks
activating automatic code completion 96
adding a constant to a variable 235
adding a keyword to a keyword set 406
adding expressions (Expressions
adding markers to a source file 109
adding panes to an editor window 89
adding subprojects to a project 39
alphabetizing Functions list pop-up
attaching the debugger to a process 258
changing an executable file 409
changing line views in a hierarchical
changing register data views 246 changing register values 246
changing remote connections 387
choosing folders to compare 138
clearing a Script Point 219 clearing a Skip Point 219
clearing a Trace Collection Off
clearing a Trace Collection On
590
collapsing the editor window toolbar 86
completing code for data members 101
completing code for parameter lists 102
connecting to a logic analyzer 289
creating a breakpoint template 212
creating a console application 78
creating a new data member 162
creating a new member function 162
,
creating custom project stationery 38
creating new projects from makefiles 33
creating new projects using project
deactivating automatic code completion 97
deleting a breakpoint template 213
disarming a logic analyzer 289 disconnecting from a logic analyzer 289
docking a window by using a contextual
docking a window by using drag and
drop 67 docking windows of the same kind 67
examining items in the Folder Compare
expanding the editor window toolbar 86
exporting projects to XML files 37
generating project link maps 330
going to a particular line 107
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
importing projects saved as XML files 37
inserting a reference template 111
looking up symbol definitions 111
making a summation of two variables 235
making a window an MDI child 70
manipulating variable formats 232
navigating Code Completion window 100
opening a single-class hierarchical
opening projects 35 opening projects created on other hosts 35
opening registers in a separate Registers
opening the Breakpoints window 207
opening the Command window 292
opening the Expressions window 234
opening the Flash Programmer window 261
opening the Global Variables window 230
opening the Hardware Diagnostics
opening the Processes window 256
opening the Profile window 291
opening the Registers window 245
opening the Symbolics window 255
opening the symbols window 172
opening the Target Settings window 391
overstriking text (Windows) 92
printing class hierarchies 167
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide removing a keyword from a keyword
removing a marker from a source file 109
removing all markers from a source file 110
removing an executable file 409
removing panes from an editor window 89
removing remote connections 387
replacing text in a single file 117
resizing panes in an editor window 89
resuming program execution 194
saving a copy of a workspace 75
saving the contents of the Breakpoints
searching for text across multiple files 127
searching for text across multiple
searching for text across multiple
searching for text across multiple symbolics
searching with a text selection 132
selecting item in Code Completion
selecting lines 92 selecting multiple lines 92 selecting rectangular portions of lines 92
selecting text in editor windows 91
setting a conditional breakpoint 211
setting a conditional eventpoint 223
setting a conditional watchpoint 227
setting a temporary breakpoint 211
591
592 setting a Trace Collection Off
setting a Trace Collection On
specifying the default breakpoint
stepping into a routine 193 stepping out of a routine 193 stepping over a routine 193
stopping program execution 194
suppressing dockable windows 70
toggling automatic punctuation balancing 95
triggering code completion by keyboard 97
triggering code completion from IDE menu
unapplying file differences 141
updating data from a logic analyzer 289
using an external editor on the
using the default workspace 73
using the document settings pop-up 87
using the Executables pane in the Symbolics
using the Files pane in the Symbolics
using the Find Next command 130
using the Find Previous command 131
using the Functions list pop-up 106
using the Functions pane in the Symbolics
using the Interfaces list pop-up 106
viewing breakpoint properties 208
viewing browser data by contents 170
viewing browser data by inheritance 166
viewing class data from hierarchy
viewing eventpoint properties 222
viewing global variables for different
viewing watchpoint properties 226
template, default for breakpoints 212 template, for breakpoints 212
templates, creating for breakpoints 212
templates, deleting for breakpoints 213
templates, reference (Macintosh) 111
templates, specifying the default for
temporary breakpoint, defined 211
text
searching with a selection 132
text blocks, indenting 93 text blocks, unindenting 93
text boxes
Analyzer Configuration File text box 287
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
,
Target Memory Buffer Address 264
Target Scratch Memory Start 282
Text Colors panel options
Text Colors preference panel options
Set 1, Set 2, Set 3, Set 4 377
text editing area, in editor window 88
,
Text View pop-up menu
Bitfield Description option 251
Register Description option 251
text/list boxes
,
third-party editor support 450
third-party text editors
Thread window
current-statement arrow 191 dash 191
Resume button 190 run button 190
Source Pane disclosure triangle 191
Variables Pane Listing button 191
thread, breakpoint property 209
__throw()
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 593
Tile Editor Windows command 531
Tile Editor Windows Vertically command 531
,
times hit, breakpoint property 209 times left, breakpoint property 209
To Smallest Height command in Resize
To Smallest Width command in Resize
toggling
toolbar
collapsing in editor window 86 expanding in editor window 86
Toolbar (Editor Window) Elements
toolbar buttons
Single Class Hierarchy Window 154
Synchronize Modification Dates 42
Toolbar submenu
Anchor Floating Toolbar command 504
Clear Floating Toolbar command 507
Clear Main Toolbar command 507
Clear Window Toolbar command 508
Hide Floating Toolbar command 517
594
Reset Window Toolbar command 46
Show Floating Toolbar command 517
Show Window Toolbar command 529
Toolbars
toolbars
tools
editor 25 project manager 25 search engine 25
ToolServer Worksheet command 533
touch
in Files view of Project window 44
touching
all files 51 all groups 51 files 51 groups 51
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
trace
working with logic analyzer 285
Trace Collection Off eventpoint 215
Trace Collection Off eventpoint, clearing 221
Trace Collection Off eventpoint, setting 221
Trace Collection On eventpoint 215
Trace Collection On eventpoint, clearing 222
Trace Collection On eventpoint, setting 222
Trace Support File text box 288
Treat as Expression checkbox 217
triggering
code completion by keyboard 97 code completion from IDE menu bar 97
turning off
turning on
Type list box
Type option
Type pop-up menu
Environment Variable option 447
types
U
Unanchor Floating Toolbar command 534
Unapply Difference command 141
unbounded arrays, setting default size for
Uncaught Exceptions Only command 534
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
untouching
a file 52 a group 52 all files 52 all groups 52
Update Data Every n Seconds option 447
Use Concurrent Compiles option 437
Use Custom Settings checkbox 264
Use Debugging Monitor option 447
Use Default Workspace option 448
Use External Debugger option 448
Use External Editor option 448
Use Local Project Data Storage option 448
Use modification date caching option 449
Use Multiple Document Interface option 63
turning off 359 turning on 359
Use Selected File checkbox 268
Use Selected File text box 268
Use Target Initialization checkbox 264
Use Target Initialization text box 264
Use Third Party Editor option 450
Use ToolServer Menu option 500
Use ToolServer menu option
User Paths list
using
595
Executables pane in the Symbolics
Files pane in the Symbolics window 255
Functions pane in the Symbolics
V
,
Variable Values Change option
variables
^var
adding a constant to 235 making a summation of 235
Variables Pane Listing button 191
VCS Commands option
VCS pop-up
Version Control Settings command 535
596
Version Control System. See VCS.
Vertical Center command in Align submenu 526
View As Unsigned Decimal menu command 535
,
View Disassembly menu command 537
view in profiler
View Target Memory Writes checkbox 265
View Variable menu command 537
viewing
all symbol implementations 172
browser data by inheritance 166
viewing installed plug-ins 503 viewing installed products 503
virtual
W
Walking Ones test
subtests
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Watchpoint Indicator option
watchpoints
setting conditional 227 watchpoints, clearing 227
watchpoints, disabling 226 watchpoints, enabling 226
watchpoints, viewing properties for 226
what is
window
Window Follows Insertion Point option 451
Restore Window command (Windows) 526
Window position and size option
Window Settings preference panel 381
options
Close non-debugging windows 382
Collapse non-debugging windows 382
Do nothing to project windows 382
Hide non-debugging windows 382
Minimize non-debugging windows 382
Move open windows to debugging
monitor when debugging starts 383
Open windows on debugging monitor
window types
Windowing panel options
Hide non-debugging windows 429
Minimize non-debugging windows 434
Move open windows to debugging
monitor when debugging starts 434
Open windows on debugging monitor
Windows
dock bars in dockable windows 70
dockable 63 dockable, about 63
docking with a contextual menu 66
Find and Replace (multiple-file) 118
Find and Replace (single-file) 115
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide 597
remembering size and position of 527
saving default size and position of 527
Wizards
wizards
,
working
Working Directory option
working with breakpoint templates 212
598
working with debugger data 253
working with dockable windows 66
workspace, defined 73 workspaces 73
Workspaces option
X
XML
exporting projects 37 importing projects 37
Register Details Window
BFVALUE
BITFIELD
REGISTER
Register Details window
Z
Zoom windows to full screen option
IDE 5.7 User’s Guide
Shkarko
Reklamë