Setting preferences. Adobe InDesign CS5, InDesign CS5.5
Advertentie
Advertentie
USING INDESIGN
Workspace
For a video tutorial about using ConnectNow, see Using ConnectNow to share your screen (7:12) . (This demonstration is in Dreamweaver.)
Setting preferences
About preferences and defaults
Preferences include settings such as panel positions, measurement options, and display options for graphics and typography. Preference settings specify how InDesign documents and objects behave initially.
Set general preferences
This section covers preference settings in the General tab of the Preferences dialog box. For information on other preferences, search for the appropriate setting.
1 Choose Edit > Preferences > General (Windows) or InDesign OS), and then choose the type of preferences you want to specify.
2
3 In the Font Downloading and Embedding section, specify a threshold to trigger font subsetting based on the number of glyphs a font contains. This setting affects font downloading options in the Print and Export dialog boxes.
4 In the When Scaling section, you can determine how scaled objects are reflected in panels and how the content of scaled frames behaves.
•
the frame reverts its percentage to 100%. (See “ Scale objects ” on page 419.)
• Select Adjust Scaling Percentage to display the original point size with the new point size in parentheses when you scale text. If this option is selected when you scale graphics frames, the percentage size of both the frame and image changes.
5 Click Reset All Warning Dialogs to display all warnings, even the ones you’ve already checked not to display. (As warnings appear, you can select a check box to prevent the warning from appearing again.)
Set defaults
If you change settings when no documents are open, your changes set the defaults for new documents. If a document is open when you change settings, the changes affect only that document.
Similarly, if you change settings when no objects are selected, your changes set the defaults for new objects.
Change default settings for new documents
1 Close all documents.
2 Change any menu items or panel or dialog box settings.
40
Last updated 11/16/2011
USING INDESIGN
Workspace
If you use the same page size and language for most of your documents, you can change these defaults with no document open. For example, to change the default page size, close all documents, choose File > Document Setup, and select a desired page size. To set a default dictionary, close all documents, choose Edit > Preferences > Dictionary
41
Specify default settings for new objects in a document
1 With document open, choose Edit > Deselect All.
2 Change any menu items or panel or dialog box settings.
Restore all preferences and default settings
When InDesign is behaving erratically, deleting preferences (also referred to as “trashing preferences” or “removing preferences”) often solves the problem.
It’s a good idea to make a backup copy of the preference files called InDesign Defaults and InDesign SavedData.
Instead of removing your preferences, you can copy these backup files over the problematic corrupt preference files and not lose any customizations.
Mike Witherell provides a detailed list of which files are affected when you restore preferences in Adobe InDesign
Presets (PDF, English only).
❖ Do one of the following:
• (Windows) Start InDesign, and then press Shift+Ctrl+Alt. Click Yes when asked if you want to delete preference files.
• (Mac delete preference files.
Various program preferences and default settings are stored in the Adobe InDesign preferences files. These files, including the InDesign Defaults file, are saved each time you exit from InDesign. For manual deletion or renaming, the locations of the preference files are as follows:
• Mac OS
InDesign SavedData Users/[user]/Library/Caches/Adobe InDesign/Version [version]/InDesign SavedData
InDesign Defaults Users/[user]/Library/Preferences/Adobe InDesign/Version [version]/InDesign Defaults
• Windows XP
InDesign SavedData \Documents and Settings\[username]\Local Settings\Application
Data\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]\Caches
InDesign Defaults \Documents and Settings\[username]\Application Data\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]
• Windows Vista or Windows 7
InDesign SavedData Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]\Caches\InDesign
SavedData
InDesign Defaults C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\Adobe\InDesign\Version [version]\InDesign
Defaults
About InDesign styles and presets
•
Creating paragraph and character styles. (See “ Add paragraph and character styles ” on page 199.)
Last updated 11/16/2011
Downloaden
Advertentie