Grouping, locking, and duplicating objects. Adobe InDesign CS5, InDesign CS5.5
Реклама
Реклама
USING INDESIGN
Frames and objects
To view hints on using the Gap tool, select the Gap tool and open the Tool Hints panel (Window > Utilities > Tool
Hints).
Distribute objects using Live Distribute
When transforming multiple selected objects, you can resize the space between the selected objects proportionally instead of resizing the actual objects. For example, if you want to change the spacing between five aligned rectangles, you can do so without using any Distribute commands.
For a video on using Live Distribute, see http://tv.adobe.com/go/4949/ .
1 Select the objects.
2 Start dragging a selection handle and hold down the Spacebar while dragging. Continue dragging to change the spacing between the objects.
428
Grouping, locking, and duplicating objects
Group or ungroup objects
You can combine several objects into a group so that they are treated as a single unit. You can then move or transform the objects without affecting their individual positions or attributes. For example, you might group the objects in a logo design so that you can move and scale the logo as one unit.
Grouped object
Groups can also be nested —grouped into subgroups within larger groups. Use the Selection, Direct Selection, and
Group Selection tools to select different levels of a nested group’s hierarchy.
If you’re working with a stack of overlapping objects, and you group some objects that aren’t adjacent in the stacking order, the selected objects will be pulled together in the stacking order, right behind the frontmost selected object. (For example, when objects are stacked as A, B, C, D from front to back, and you group B and D together, the stacking order becomes A, B, D, C.) If you group objects that exist on different named layers, all of the objects move to the frontmost layer on which you selected an object. Also, the objects you select must either be all locked or all unlocked.
1 Select multiple objects to be grouped or ungrouped. Selecting part of an object (for example, an anchor point) will group the entire object.
2 Choose either Object > Group or Object > Ungroup.
You can also use the Layers panel to add or remove objects from a group. See “ Layers ” on page 78.
If you’re not sure if an object is part of a group, select it using the Selection tool and look at the Object menu. If the
Object > Ungroup command is available, you’ve selected a group.
Last updated 11/16/2011
USING INDESIGN
Frames and objects
More Help topics
“ Arrange objects in a stack ” on page 407
“ Select nested or overlapping objects ” on page 406
Lock or unlock objects
You can use the Lock command to specify that you don’t want certain objects to move in your document. Locked objects stay locked when a document is saved, closed, and then reopened.
As long as an object is locked, it cannot be moved. However, you can select locked objects if you turn off the Prevent
Selection Of Locked Objects option in General preferences. When you select a locked object, you can change attributes such as color.
1 Select the object or objects that you want to lock in place.
2 Do any of the following:
• To lock the objects, choose Object > Lock.
• To unlock an object, click the lock icon.
• To unlock the objects on the current spread, choose Object > Unlock All On Spread.
You can also use the Layers panel to lock or unlock both objects and layers. When you lock a layer, the positions of all
objects on a layer are locked, and the objects cannot be selected. See “ Layers ” on page
More Help topics
“ Lock or unlock layers ” on page 83
Hide objects
Hidden objects are not printed or exported, and they cannot be selected.
❖ Do any of the following:
• To hide an object, select it and choose Object > Hide.
• To show hidden objects, choose Object > Show All On Spread.
Duplicate objects
You can duplicate objects using a number of different methods.
Duplicate an object using the Duplicate command
Use the Duplicate command to replicate a selected object instantly. The new copy appears on the layout slightly offset down and to the right from the original.
❖ Select an object or objects, and choose Edit > Duplicate.
429
Last updated 11/16/2011
USING INDESIGN
Frames and objects
Duplicate a selected object as you transform
You can duplicate an object each time you change its position, orientation, or proportions. For example, you can create a flower by drawing one petal, setting its reference point at the base of the petal, and repeatedly rotating at incremental angles, simultaneously duplicating to leave behind a new copy of the petal at each angle.
❖ During a transformation, do one of the following:
• If you’re dragging the Selection tool , the Rotate tool , the Scale tool , or the Shear tool , start
430
• If you’re specifying a value in the Transform or Control panel, press Alt+Enter (Windows) or Option+Return
• If you’re pressing arrow keys to move objects, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac
Use Step and Repeat to duplicate objects
Use the Step and Repeat command to instantly create rows or columns of duplicates. For example, you can fill a page with evenly spaced duplicates of a single business card design.
3
4
1
2
Select the object or objects you want to duplicate.
Choose Edit > Step and Repeat.
For Repeat Count, specify how many duplicates you want to make, not counting the original.
For Horizontal Offset and Vertical Offset, specify how far to shift the position of each new duplicate from the
To create a page full of duplicates, first use Step and Repeat with Vertical Offset set to 0 (zero); this will create one row of duplicates. Then select the entire row and use Step and Repeat with Horizontal Offset set to 0; this will repeat the row down the page.
Duplicate objects into a grid
By dragging and using modifier keys, you can create a grid of object identical to the object being duplicated.
For a video on using grid mode, see http://tv.adobe.com/go/4949/ .
1
2
Select an object.
3
Using the Selection tool, hold down Alt (Windows) or Option (Mac OS) and begin dragging.
While still dragging, release the Alt or Option key. Press the Left Arrow and Right Arrow keys to change the number of columns. Press the Up Arrow and Down Arrow keys to change the number of rows. Drag a rectangle to specify the size of the grid.
4 Release the mouse button.
Create nonprinting objects
You might want to create objects that appear onscreen, but will not be printed or appear in portable versions of the document.
You can also use layers to selectively hide or show elements in a document, and you can assign layers a non-printing status.
1
2
Select the object or text frame that you don’t want to be printed.
Last updated 11/16/2011
Завантажити
Реклама