Leading. Adobe InDesign CS5, InDesign CS5.5
Publicité
Publicité
USING INDESIGN
Typography
Highlight substituted fonts in your document
If the Select Substituted Fonts preferences option is selected, text formatted with missing fonts appears in pink highlighting so that you can easily identify text formatted with a missing font.
1
2
Choose Edit > Preferences > Composition (Windows®) or InDesign OS®).
Document installed fonts
Fonts in a Document Fonts folder that is in the same location as an InDesign document are temporarily installed when the document is opened. The Package command can generate a Document Fonts folder when you want to share your document or move it to a different computer.
Fonts in the Document Fonts folder are not the same as fonts available from the standard operating system font locations. They are installed when the document is opened and supersede any font of the same PostScript name.
However, they supersede only fonts within the document. Fonts installed by one document are not available to other documents. When you close the document, the fonts that were installed for the document are uninstalled. Document installed fonts are listed in a submenu of the Font menu.
Some Type1 fonts are not available in the document. In addition, Mac OS fonts are not available when running
InDesign in Windows.
For a video on using document installed fonts, see http://tv.adobe.com/go/4955/ .
More Help topics
Multiple master fonts
Multiplemaster fonts are customizable Type 1 fonts whose typeface characteristics are described in terms of variable design axes, such as weight, width, style, and optical size.
Some multiple master fonts include an optical size axis, which lets you use a font specifically designed for optimal readability at a particular size. Generally, the optical size for a smaller font, such as 10 point, is designed with heavier serifs and stems, wider characters, less contrast between thick and thin lines, taller x height, and looser spacing between letters than the optical size for a larger font, such as 72 point.
1
2
Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign OS).
249
Leading
About leading
The vertical space between lines of type is called leading . Leading is measured from the baseline of one line of text to the baseline of the line above it. Baseline is the invisible line on which most letters—that is, those without descenders— sit.
The default auto-leading option sets the leading at 120% of the type size (for example, 12-point leading for 10-point type). When auto-leading is in use, InDesign displays the leading value in parentheses in the Leading menu of the
Character panel.
Last updated 11/16/2011
USING INDESIGN
Typography
C
A
B
o
ffi
cers take them away: good guard,Until their greater pleasures
fi
rst be known
Th
at are to censure them
.
CORDELIA:
We are not the
fi
rst Who, with best meaning, have incurr'd the worst
.
Leading
A.
Leading
B.
Text height
C.
Larger text size of one word increases leading for that one line.
Change leading
By default, leading is a character attribute, which means that you can apply more than one leading value within the same paragraph. The largest leading value in a line of type determines the leading for that line. However, you can select a preferences option so that leading applies to the entire paragraph, instead of to text within a paragraph. This setting does not affect the leading in existing frames.
Change leading of selected text
1 Select the text you want to change.
2 Do any of the following:
• In the Character panel or Control panel, choose the leading you want from the Leading menu .
• Select the existing leading value and type a new value.
• While creating a paragraph style, change the leading using the Basic Character Formats panel.
If InDesign ignores the leading change, it may be due to Vertical Justification or Align To Baseline Grid being selected.
Choose Object > Text Frame Options and make sure Vertical Justification is set to Top, and make sure Do Not Align
To Baseline Grid is selected in the Paragraph panel, Control panel, or paragraph style.
You can also adjust vertical space by aligning text to the baseline grid. When baseline grid is set, the baseline grid setting takes precedence over the leading value.
Change the default leading percentage
1 Select the paragraphs that you want to change.
2 Choose Justification from the Paragraph panel menu or from the Control panel menu.
3 For Auto Leading, specify a new default percentage. The minimum value is 0%, and the maximum value is 500%.
Apply leading to whole paragraphs
1 Choose Edit > Preferences > Type (Windows) or InDesign OS).
2
Note: When you use a character style to apply leading to text, the leading affects only the text to which the style is applied, not the entire paragraph, regardless of whether the Apply Leading To Entire Paragraph option is selected.
250
Last updated 11/16/2011
Télécharger
Publicité