Variables window. Model Technology Special EE/SE, Elite EE/SE
Iklan
Iklan
Variables window
Variables window
The Variables window is divided into two window panes. The left pane lists the names of HDL items within the current process. The right pane lists the current value(s) associated with each name. The pathname of the current process is displayed at the bottom of the window. (The internal variables of your design can remain hidden if you wish, see
"Source code security and -nodebug"
HDL items you can view
The following HDL items for VHDL and
Verilog are viewable within the Variables window.
VHDL items
constants, generics, and variables
Verilog items
register variables
The names of any VHDL composite types
(arrays and record types) are shown in a hierarchical fashion. Hierarchy also applies to
Verilog vector memories. (Verilog vector registers do not have hierarchy because they are not internally represented as arrays.)
Hierarchy is indicated in typical ModelSim fashion with plus (expandable) and minus
(expanded). See
"Tree window hierarchical view"
for more information.
To change the value of a VHDL variable, constant, generic or Verilog register variable, move the pointer to the desired name and click to highlight the selection.
Then select Edit > Change from the Variables window menu. This brings up a dialog box that lets you specify a new value. Note that "Variable Name" is a term that is used loosely in this case to signify VHDL constants and generics as well as
VHDL and Verilog register variables. You can enter any value that is valid for the variable. An array value must be specified as a string (without surrounding quotation marks). To modify the values in a record, you need to change each field separately.
Click on a process in the Process window to change the Variables window.
ModelSim EE/SE User’s Manual ModelSim EE Graphic Interface
10-209
Variables window
The Variables window menu bar
The following menu commands are available from the Variables window menu bar.
File menu
Save As
Environment
Close save the variables tree to a text file viewable with the ModelSim
notepad
(CR-104)
Follow Process Selection: update the window based on the selection in the
; Fix to Process: maintain the current view, do not
update close this copy of the Variables window; you can create a new window with
View > New from the "The Main window menu bar"
Edit menu
Copy
Sort
Select All
Unselect All
Expand Selected
Collapse Selected
Expand All
Collapse All
Change
Justify Values
Find...
copy the selected items in the Variables window sort the variables tree in either ascending, descending, or declaration order select all items in the Variables window deselect all items in the Variables window expands the hierarchy of the selected item collapses the hierarchy of the selected item expands the hierarchy of all items that can be expanded collapses the hierarchy of all expanded items change the value of the selected HDL item justify values to the left or right margins of the window pane find specified text string within the variables tree; choose the Name or Value field to search and the search direction: forward or reverse
10-210
ModelSim EE Graphic Interface ModelSim EE/SE User’s Manual
Variables window
View menu
Wave/List/Log place the Selected Variables or Variables in Region in the
, or logfile
Window menu
Initial Layout
Cascade
Tile Horizontally
Tile Vertically
Icon Children
Icon All
Deicon All
Customize
<window_name> restore all windows to the size and placement of the initial full-screen layout cascade all open windows tile all open windows horizontally tile all open windows vertically icon all but the Main window icon all windows deicon all windows use
to define and add a button to either the menu bar, tool bar, or status bar of the specified window lists the currently open windows; select a window name to switch to, or show that window if it is hidden; when the source window is available, the source file name
is also indicated; open additional windows from the "View menu"
Main window, or use the
view
command
(CR-180)
ModelSim EE/SE User’s Manual ModelSim EE Graphic Interface
10-211
Unduh
Iklan